GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Topic started by: pedro on August 12, 2007, 11:16:52 AM

Title: Louth Club Football and Hurling
Post by: pedro on August 12, 2007, 11:16:52 AM
Right, I know there are not too many Louth men on this site but sure I'll start a thread anyway seeing as we're in the height of the club championship season.

First of all, I've been meaning to get this off my chest  for the last few years. Why do the county board insist on playin club championship matches so late on Saturday and Sunday evenings? I mean having the first game of the double header at 6.30pm and the second 7.45pm is an absolute disgrace. When we have the whole day to play why don't we have one match at, say 5pm and the second at 6.30?? For instance, Friday night, because of the rain it was getting dark at half eight, now tell me how a game starting at 7.45 is going to get finished on a pitch with no floodlights. We're lucky enough that it hasn't happened but what happens if someone gets a bad injury in the first match? Does the second game go ahead?

Anyhow, the referee made the right decision to call off the Pats/Glyde match last night, the pitch was like a swimming pool, how the Cooley/O'mahoneys game went ahead was beyond me, the pitch was way too dangerous for football.

Any other results on Champo games over the weekend?
Title: Re: Louth Club Football and Hurling
Post by: pedro on August 12, 2007, 11:44:45 PM
well sorry 5ive times for putting a club thread into the Local Gaa Discussion forum, how silly of me...
Post by: Lone Shark on August 15, 2007, 02:18:40 PM
What's the structure of this one - I see it's two groups of six, but how many from each group get into the knockouts?
Post by: Uladh on August 15, 2007, 02:49:57 PM

As far as i know LS its top in each group goes to the semis, 2nd & 3rd go to the two quarter finals.
Post by: Lone Shark on August 15, 2007, 03:34:20 PM
Cheers Uladh.

Will probably price this one up after this weekend - obviously that kind of thing is crucial.
Post by: pedro on August 15, 2007, 11:26:26 PM
Lone Shark, it is indeed the top in each group goes directly to semi-final and 2nd and 3rd goes into the quarters. You can put your money on the Pats (many peoples favourites) coming out top in the easiest Group B (depending on them beating Glyde tomorrow nite of course) and Cooley to come in 2nd with Kilkerley or Malachi's coming in 3rd.

In the other group it is near impossivle to call but should be clearer after this weekends games. At a hunch I would have Brides, Blues and anyone from Martins, Mattock, mary's to qualify - in other words, impossible to call!

My own bet - Pats to go the whole way, 6 men on county panel and possibly another 2 more next year, great defence and best player in the county in Paddy Keenan, Cooley won't be far away also. Really looking forward to the knockout stages this year, promises to be some great matches
Post by: pedro on August 24, 2007, 11:33:39 PM
yeah i think it has been tough on the county players, they have had a long year and then last years run with the Tommy Murphy Cup made it a long year also. But then again, if we were knocked out early in the year we'd all be giving out! makes you wonder how the likes of the Armagh/Cross boys do it

Goss s moving pretty well at the minute but you always get the feeling that he's only one game away from injuring himself again. Paddy K hasn't trained the last two weeks (apart from playing against the Glyde), suffering from some sort of groin strain which is a big worry for us as he keeps drivin the team on and he's our captain. I think its somethin to do with lack of rest mixed with the type of hard-running game he plays.

Speaking of Louth players, would there be any club players good enough to make the panel next year. Based on games you have seen of course??

Although i haven't seen him I hear Derek Maguire (Y. Irelands) is a good prospect, maybe trainin at a higher level could really bring him on. Conor Sheridan (Glyde) looked good against us but he kind of struggled on the seniors before.

I personally think that the Louth senior team is missing a few mean, hard b@st@rds
Post by: pedro on August 27, 2007, 10:59:15 PM
ah another poster!

I dont think anyone can take anythin away from the Joes last year and all from the Pats wouldnt begrudge them the victory but the defeat in the final last year still hurts everyone at the club and it is still felt that it is 'the one that got away'. But there's no doubt that the Joes were more up for it on the day and more tactically sound coupled with the fact that only Keenan and Eamonn Carroll played for the Pats.

Quotethere are a few from my own club that I would like seen given a chance to prove themselves. Niall Sharkey being one, considering the way he left the squad in 2005 and looked like finally making a break through. And then cast away once injured.

In fairness I dont think Sharkey would be near fit enough to get anywhere near the Louth panel. While I admire how good he WAS and the display of point-kickin he put on in the 2003 drawn final was amazing, I think his chance at the top level is gone. It's a pity because you always felt that he had a lot more to offer than was shown.

I have to say well done to our lads on the win over Kilkerley. They came in for an awful lot of abuse after the Glyde match but then again Kilkerley were poor so its hard to know where we really stand.

Louth Exile, seeing as you attend a lot of games (club) is there anyone out there good enough to break into the Louth panel for 2008??

Also LE and MidL, what is your general opinion of Eamon Mac?? Personally i think he's a fantastic manager and speaking to our Louth men they seem to be very happy witht the whole backroom team and set up. If I thought we would go back to where we were under Val Andrews (a first-class cowboy from all reports BTW) i dunno what I would do!!

Post by: Louth Exile on August 29, 2007, 11:37:38 AM
Pedro - re new additions to the panel, although i attend a good few games I would have to admit I am not greatest judge of new talent that can make it at county level. So many good club footballers just wont make it at county level. I know he is in the melting pot already, but I was very impressed with Adrian Reid on Sunday night.

Re: Eamonn Mac and his team: I was hugely impressed last year and this year in the league, right up until the Galway game. My feeling is that the wheels came off the wagon at the end of the league and it took a while to steady the ship which lead to our rather erratic championship. Limerick was a watershed, we went down there after the depletion to the panel and ground out a good victory which was very important and for a change we were coming out the right end of a tight finish. The thing that impresses me most about the management is that they very clearly pick on form and not reputation, also, they are not afraid to make switches and tend not to leave too late.

Although, Andrews did indeed bring us to the same stage in the championship this was more by accident that design! The best example I have (and this 100% true as one of the panel travelled home with us after the game) is the Monaghan game in Cavan. The panel assembled in Smamore that afternoon to travel to Brefni, naturally enough they expected light food to be organised, no the management hadn't thought of this!! They ended up having to ring a pub close to the grounds to lay on soup and sandwiches an hour before throw in!! Picture it, a pub full of Louth and Monaghan supporters and there is the Louth panel trekking through the pub to eat up the back! If you remember Monaghan were rampant in the first half and we clawed it back in the second half (in no small part due to Clarkes kicking). Was this partly down to how close to throw in the lads ate?
It was this lack of attention to detail that made Andrews a joke. Look at how many players returned to the panel last year who didn't play under Andrews and made vital contributions to the team.

I've started now..... Do you remember the qualifier game in Drogheda (I think it was Antrim) where Nicky Mc D was playing a great game, Andrews took him off and most of us in the crowd jeered this decision. Andrews looked around as if to saw "What did I do", complete rabbit in the headlights look on him. What happened later on.. He brings Nicky back in. The man was a joke.

Eamonn Mac is not the messiah that we might have thought he was after last year, but they are doing a good job and after my confidence in the management team being dented somewhat this year I am still fully behind them.

Anyway, to bring the thread back to club matters, I see the Glyde v O'Mahonys game is on this Thursday in Knockbridge, the only game I'll make to in Louth this week. I think the Glyde will probably just make it through. There is always the danger that a Joes v Glyde relegation play off could get very nasty!! No love lost there.

Looking through the other fixtures I wouldn't mind going to the O'Connells v Gaels match. There is a fair number of Gaels supporters who have ideas above there station as to how good their team is, this should be a good clash and I'd tentatively go for O'Connells.

Pedro... answer me this. What was the story with Sean Connor at full forward?? Radio said he had a mighty game. Could this be his breakthrough into the Louth first team as a forward??
Post by: pedro on August 29, 2007, 10:41:23 PM
QuoteAlso it would be worth noting, I was disappointed in the way Trevor O'Brien was treated this year. We could have done with his talent, but if he isn't even coming on as a sub whats the point.

While i think Trevor is an excellent football and has made valuable contributions to the team in the past (e.g. Cavan and Antrim in league 2006),  I recall seeing a picture of him in the local paper playing soccer and with the headlin "O'Brien takes xxx apart" or something to that effect. Even to myself it looked bad and maybe he didn't give the commitment that the rest of the team were offering.

QuoteDo you remember the qualifier game in Drogheda (I think it was Antrim) where Nicky Mc D was playing a great game, Andrews took him off and most of us in the crowd jeered this decision. Andrews looked around as if to saw "What did I do", complete rabbit in the headlights look on him. What happened later on.. He brings Nicky back in. The man was a joke.

Ha, I remember that! I actually thought it was Roscommon but that was an absolute joke.. Some of the stories  used to hear from our county men were just unbelievable, I mean our club had a better set up at the time!

QuoteLE, your right about A Reid. I was very disappointed that he was not used in qualifiers even tho he was a late comer to the squad. He is a very talented footballer and has loads of drive and ambition.

of all the players on the club scene he probably really is the only one who would stand out which maybe is a worry. I feel its always good to have a few club players disgruntled at not making the panel which makes them go out and prove a point to the management and gives them a real hunger.

QuotePedro... answer me this. What was the story with Sean Connor at full forward?? Radio said he had a mighty game. Could this be his breakthrough into the Louth first team as a forward??

Well LE, it was obvious that we had major problems in the forward in the last few games (especially against the Glyde) and we needed to freshen things up. Sean just happened to be partaking in some of the wee games at trainin and was showing up well so they just decided to take the gamble on it as we had nothin to lose. He had a hell of a game, scoring 1-2, got fouled for a penalty, a few frees and set up one or two more from play. However, it is hard to judge him solely on that game as Kilkerley were very poor but i'd imagine he'd be there for the next day. Couldn't see him out the field for Louth though!

How are all the Joes' lads injuries?? There was some bad one wasn't there especially to Smyth and Yore, if I'm right??

Predictions for the weekend
Blues vs Cooley - I'd slightly favour Cooley (begrudgingly of course), I think they will be very cynical to young Judge who is playing some stuff and that will limit the Blues scoring ability.
Mattock vs Malachi's - Its hard to look past Collon but Malachi's could cause problems, what they lack in ability, they make up for with sheer hard work.
Glyde vs O'mahoneys - I would think Glyde should come through this relatively handy with a belief that they are better than they have shown all year.

Oh, and any word if Mark Brennan and David Reid will be back in time for the semi-finals should Collon make it? We would than be playin them and it would be a boost if they were still in the states!!
Post by: Louth Exile on August 29, 2007, 11:05:52 PM
QuoteDo you remember the qualifier game in Drogheda (I think it was Antrim) where Nicky Mc D was playing a great game, Andrews took him off and most of us in the crowd jeered this decision. Andrews looked around as if to saw "What did I do", complete rabbit in the headlights look on him. What happened later on.. He brings Nicky back in. The man was a joke.

Ha, I remember that! I actually thought it was Roscommon but that was an absolute joke.. Some of the stories  used to hear from our county men were just unbelievable, I mean our club had a better set up at the time!

How are all the Joes' lads injuries?? There was some bad one wasn't there especially to Smyth and Yore, if I'm right??

Predictions for the weekend
Blues vs Cooley - I'd slightly favour Cooley (begrudgingly of course), I think they will be very cynical to young Judge who is playing some stuff and that will limit the Blues scoring ability.
Mattock vs Malachi's - Its hard to look past Collon but Malachi's could cause problems, what they lack in ability, they make up for with sheer hard work.
Glyde vs O'mahoneys - I would think Glyde should come through this relatively handy with a belief that they are better than they have shown all year.

You could well be right about it being the Roscommon game, wasn't sure which one it was. My enduring memory from the Roscommon game was that free at the end!!! What a laugh

Re: the injuries - Mossy Smyth is still hobbling around and I haven't been talkin to Tommy Yore in about a month but I know he is not back training yet. Brendan O'Donoghue returned from injury against Mattock and played the full game but still doesn't look fully right

Predictions:
Blues v Cooley - I'd have to go with the Blues, Judge was devasting against the Joes, if he gets some decent protection from the Ref they will go well.
Mattock v Mals - pretty much agree with your sentiments
Glyde v O'Mahonys - don't think there will be that much in it, but yes Glyde (hopefully)
Post by: pedro on August 30, 2007, 11:10:52 PM
Dammit! All of us over at the club tonight were hoping they's still be in the states should they win! Would definitely make our passage a lot easier!!

Lads, any thoughts on the standard of refereein in the county this year?? From a Pats point of view I thought the standard in our last two games was absolutely dreadful. Obviously I'll have a biased view but all of us felt that the referees were clearly against us in the two games (Glyde and Kilkerley). Now, I'm not saying for one minute that it affected the way we have played or the results (our brutal performance against the Glyde was completely down to ourselves) but are we getting penalised beacuse we're a bigger club or because we're favourites for many games?? I dunno, but just a thought
Post by: Armagh Exile on August 31, 2007, 11:35:04 AM
Could anyone give me directions to Rassan GFC pitch?
I will be coming from Armagh and have been told that I should go via Crossmaglen but could someone give me directions from Crossmaglen to Rassan.
Post by: Armagh Exile on August 31, 2007, 11:46:35 AM
Not sure Mid, but Donaghmoyne (Monaghan) are playing at Rassan this weekend.  Would it be Roche Emmetts pitch?
Post by: Louth Exile on September 01, 2007, 04:47:58 PM
Was at the Glyde / O'Mahonys game on Thursday night. The first half was very poor with Glyde only playing for the last five minutes of the half, they probably should have went in more than five points down given how poorly they played. Both teams had goal chances missed, Glyde blasting over the bar with an open goal and O'Mahony's hitting the cross bar. The turning point was early in the second half, off the ball incident and the Glyde centre half floored one of the O'Mahony's mid fielders, this got Glyde going (as you would expect with their type!!) They scored 1-3 without reply and when three points up were looking good until similar to Sunday O'Mahonys got a penalty on the edge of the square. Same as Sunday chucka dispatched well to the bottom corner. And when O'Brien pointed a free from over 50 yards out the momentum swung back in their favour. It was the second Glyde goal that won it for them.

Joes won't be too dissapointed, Glyde have a habit of dragging teams into their cynical way of playing football and with respect to the Sean's would rather face the town team.

Trevor O'Brien scored a great goal early in the 2nd half, from a very simple move straight down the midle that should have been defended better and when Glyde moved Gerard Sheerin from the forty to corner forward at half time he woke up and had a great game.
Post by: pedro on September 03, 2007, 11:51:25 PM
QuoteWith the Brides you need to rack up a good lead fast else you will be in trouble. They are a hard bet team, and no one ever seems to beat them by much even though they would not have many good footballers.

Thats one thing I really like about the Brides, they dont have the best players around but they get the best out of what they have and don't do any whinging anout it.  They hit, get hit and play on.

QuoteWhat is the story with Goss? Is he fit? Next week will depend on Paddy Keenan. While the Pats are far from a one man show, Keenan is a class act with the ability to win games by himself.

Well goss, being goss, is as fit as we would like and he has been relatively injury free all year so we're happy enough with him. On the other hand, PK is a worry. He still has a groin injury and hasn't trained since we played Glyde in a league match about 3-4 weeks ago. To win the championship we definitely need him at full tilt.

QuoteAs for McKenna, no different from last year. To think he is on the inter county circuit is unreal. So many mistakes. What did you make of the two men tackles?

He's on the inter-county circuit!!? that is a joke!! The two men tackles were a joke, fair enough if a lad gets hit let the play go on, or if there is a bit of rough play let them get on with it but the amount of times a player was surrounded by two (sometimes three) players and getting fouled only to get blown up for overcarrying was ridiculous, I'd say it could have been into double figures!!

Louth Exile, what do you make of the Joes chances against the Sean O'Mahoneys?? It would be some fall for grace for the club after last years heroics if they go down. Has this ever happened before??

Also lads, while at the Cooley/Blues game listening to the Blues and other neutrals giving out about Cooley (particularly their roughhouse tactics on Judge) got me thinking... Who are the most hated club in the county??

Obviously being biased I am going to say Cooley but I would nearly have the Glyde up there as well. There always seems to be a bit of a scuffle in all their games and the crying and whinging they do to the ref and each other would sicken ya!! Having said that, I know there are a few clubs who wouldn't be the best of friends with the Pats either!!
Post by: Louth Exile on September 04, 2007, 11:55:48 AM
1. Joes relegation situation:
I am not aware of it happening before, I'd imagine there should be some reference to it in either Argus or Democrat tomorrow as to whether this might be a first or not! With all due respect to the O'Mahonys, if the Joes can't beat them they don't deserve to be senior and this is common sentiment around the parish. A bit of history for ye lads...
1984- Joes made their first SFC final against the Fechins after being promoted the previous year, they lose the final and finish bottom of the league, going back down to intermediate until they won the championship in 1990.
1994 - lose the SFC final after a replay by two points to the Parnells. Having thought they were safe in the league, field a weakend team against Roche, all goes wrong from there on in and end up in a three way relegation playoff, getting the short straw the other two teams get two chances to avoid relegation, when Roche lose this first game they end up playing the Joes for the relegation spot. I'll never forget the game, it was in the clans on a dark Saturday afternoon, losing by two points with time pretty much up Ollie hoisted one in from 50 yards out, Alan O'Connor leapt into the air at the edge of the square and the 'hand of god' buried it to the net and kept us safe. I'll never forget that feeling, at time I thought it was better than sex (but I was a young fella, maybe I was just doing it wrong!)
This year and last... you know that story yourselves.

Championship finals and relegation have seemed to go hand in hand with the Joes!! It was always said that we were a championship team and with the current championship format have five group games... you know the rest. Maybe we have a certain arrogance that we are too good for the drop? What do you think lads, I'd be interested in your thoughts?

2. Most hated team in the county?
Everyone is going to have Cooley up their, but on a personal note it would be Glyde No.1 The darver lads in the parish and particularly the ones from around Duffy's cross can't stand them. Last thursday confirmed to me how bad their supporters are, because I wasn't doing any cheering at the game I could listen to just how putrid the S**te that comes out of their mouths is. Its only recently that I realised that there is a fair amount of ill will towards them around the county.

Because of our poor record against them in the championship we would not have been sorry to see the Parnells going down. In 13 most recent championship meetings the only win we have against them is the 1996 final!! Whereas we never appreciated their more physical brand of football and if it had not been for them we certainly would have won more in the 90's and the fact that they are a neighbouring parish... we actually wouldn't have much bad blood. Joes and Parnell boys would get on very well off the field.

We would have no ill feelings towards to either the Pats or Marys. The only thing I would have against the Marys is that you beat us in the 1995 semi final and delayed my holiday into the bargain! The Joes and Pats I think are quiet similar clubs, both have only 2 championships and have met each other in a couple of championship finals. I will be at the game on Sunday and will probably go for the Pats because I think you probably deserve it more than Mattock at the moment.

(that reminds me, there used to be some fierce fights with the Joes and mattock in the early to mid eighties, but that is all history now and there'd be no problem between the clubs)
Post by: Louth Exile on September 04, 2007, 10:46:55 PM
That is a hell of one Mid Louth alright, not too many would say that they wouldn't mind Cooley winning!

I thought the word would be out there about Ollie, you are right about 12 months in China, unfortunately he had to go the Thursday before the Mattock game! No doubt he is a massive loss, he is only 32 but has had to mind the beef string for the last couple of years. Despite having to mind himself I think the stats showed that he was on the ball more than any other player in last years final! The blues game was probably his last ever game and it was a good one. Skid is still moving well and we might get another year out of him, I'd have him on the forty tommorow night, it would give John O'Brien plenty to think about!

What are relations like between the Marys and the neighbouring junior sides? There is normally plenty of action there during the transfers.
Post by: pedro on September 06, 2007, 10:38:55 PM
Pats at 3/1  :o I remember the last time we were at those odds and we flopped big time (along with losing a wad of cash!)
I would have us at slight favourites but no way that strong!

As far as i know about Charlie, he has had serious trouble with injuries and although he has been a fantastic servant to Louth (i don't think we have replaced him in the middle either) he really struggled to make an impact in many games this year. Would be very sorry to see him go as he is a nice lad and always gave everything for the cause. I particularly remember his run up the line last year against Tyrone, getting tackled by two men and still beating them, crossing the ball to Stanfield who pointed.
This was just after Tyrone got the two goals. Just showed the sort of never-say-die attitude he has
Post by: Louth Exile on September 07, 2007, 12:04:56 PM
GUTTED  :'( :'(
Sean O'Mahonys - 0-12, St Josephs - 0-9
Not able to say any more than that
Post by: pedro on September 10, 2007, 05:47:19 PM
ah what a great day to be a Pats man!! Feels great after last nites performance, the buzz about the place was great and the lads really done us proud. Great game of football, played at a serious pace and was a much higher standard than the previous nites game. As for Paddy, what more can he do?? Unless he scores 5 points from midfield people will say he didnt play great. Sure himself and Paudie lorded it at midfield. its good to see that the rest of the team is beginning to stand up and not try to leave everything to PK.

As for the final there will be some sh!te talk the next two weeks but sure thats all part of it!! Let it roll!

5ive Times, you a Gers man or whats your connection? you follow much Louth football?
Post by: pedro on September 10, 2007, 11:52:47 PM
While I definitely have no problem with the do for the men of '57 but is it just me or is there some celebration or other nearly every year for this team??
I have the utmost respect for them and fair play but was there not somethin similar run over the last couple of years?

Any word on where the final is to be played? With Pats and Cooley in the senior and the Gers and Young Irelands in the minor I presume it will be at a north Louth venue. Personally I hope its in Dowdallshill, always great atmosphere there for the Pats/Cooley games.

What would be the view on the minor? I wouldnt have followed any of the minor football but by all reports both teams appear to have a few handy footballers

QuoteI have a feeling for Cooley though.

5ive Times we could have a falling out with talk like that!!  :D
Post by: Louth Exile on September 11, 2007, 11:28:20 AM
Ah didn't know that about the 57 night. They also had a reception in Croker before the Wicklow game, they deserve them all, its good that Dermot was able to attend the other two functions

I didn't realise that about the minors, amazing that clubs of that size, population and success are not contributing to the minor panel. Sounds like a bad set up alright.
Post by: Louth Exile on September 12, 2007, 03:07:39 PM
I think that is a fair point on the minors, Joes made the semis and not one lad on the panel!! Peter Brennan kicked 6 points last Sunday, four of them from play has made it onto the Senior team (can't say that for too much longer :'() Nial Henry made his championship debut this year and had a good game against no less a player than Hugh Mc Ginn and then there is Dara Smyth (Cian's younger brother) One of these would have been worthy to make the panel.

Yeah, Charlie made the announcment in the dressing rooms after the game on Thursday. He kinda felt that he has been struggling since the injury earlier in the year, he just hasn't been right this year and felt it was time. He has been a great servant to club (s) and county.
Post by: pedro on September 12, 2007, 10:29:16 PM
well they're fair points lads, maybe i'm just seein it from a different angle because i know there's no players from our club up to that level.

Sad to see Farrelly play his last championship game in what was a loss in relegation but it was forthcoming, a pity because, barring injuries, he would still offer a lot to club and county.

Is there any truth in the rumour that Cooley are appealing to Leinster Council in order to get Sean O'Neills red card rescinded?? I hear they caused war at the county board meetin the other night about it?? Obviously I would hate to see him getting it but if it was one of our players and there was some sort of loophole to get him off I'm sure we'd go down the same road.

I see in the paper there was trials matches for Louth '08 tonight. Any word on these? Who was asked etc.?
Post by: Louth Exile on September 13, 2007, 10:19:29 AM
Cooley should take their medicine!! Typical

I have to say, I think it is wild early to be planning for next year, even if it is just looking at fringe players.

Just something I was wondering on the way into work this morning, which club has been the longest in the Senior grade?? I figure it has to be either Cooley, Blues or Marys. Any ideas lads?
Post by: pedro on September 13, 2007, 07:18:26 PM
i know by right Cooley should accept the punishment but in fairness this is one area which the GAA as a whole needs to tighten up on. There have been too many high profile cases of players getting suspensions overturned which only serves to permeate down to club level. If it was our club and say Paddy K or Colin Goss was out I'm pretty sure they would look into getting them off. It may not be right but most clubs will do it. I imagine the Mary's would do it if it was Darren Clarke, same with the Joes with Ollie Mc.

Longest club senior?? I'm sure it has to be between the Blues and Cooley but thats only cuz they have the most history.

LE it does seem to be early to be starting for next year but maybe the work has to be done behind the scenes to try and find a few players that could get us to the next level. I still don't know who they are or where they come from though.
Post by: Louth Exile on September 14, 2007, 12:31:19 PM
If I get what you two are saying... you can foget about it ML, sure he'd have to go to the Joes if he was moving  :D

Anyway, I'm a fan of Eamonn Mc myself but I do believe he definitely had them back too early last year and you could see it in their performances in the championship when they looked like a tired team at times. It was good that they got a second wind in the qualifiers. I think part of problem here was that we were actually play Div 1 and he wanted to hit the ground running!

I know Melia is a fantastic trainer and he certainly was a big part in working the oracle in my own club last year. But I do know that he put the county lads through some heavy sessions in between games this year! Which didn't seem to make sense, but I believe that is what the manager wanted.

He has my vote of confidence, as pointed out, you are always going to get as already pointed out eg. Big Joe. Before this year there were plenty in Monaghan moaning about the Banty!! What do they think now
Post by: Louth Exile on September 14, 2007, 12:39:49 PM
Pedro, I think that it is time that you got an avatar, I say this cause I found a good one for you  :D :D

http://www.thepats.ie/images/Social/final06/final22.jpg

Post by: pedro on September 14, 2007, 07:22:49 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 14, 2007, 11:22:33 AM
Should have said next year may be his last. I think he has gone as far as he can with this panel.
By the way this is my opinion and not necessarily the opinion of anyone else, if you know what I mean.

I think thats a bit harsh 5ive times, you said earlier that Louth had a dire year but they still were a kick of a ball away from beating Cork, I reckon we would beat Sligo and then played Meath in a semi final. Thats hardly A dire year. However, I do think something went amiss during the league this year. We started off brilliantly and then stumbled through the rest of it. Whether this was down to the training the lads were doin i don't know.
I really think the Louth fans are unreal fickle. I mean, what had we got before we had eamonn? We were in the BOTTOM 3 in Ireland. Although we are in Div. 3 next year we stiull made it to the last twelve and we know we can compete with some of the bigger teams in Ireland. At this stage what more can Eamonn do? We are progressing but unless we win te All-Ireland people are gonna complain no matter who is the manager.

Quote from: Louth Exile on September 14, 2007, 12:39:49 PM
Pedro, I think that it is time that you got an avatar, I say this cause I found a good one for you  :D :D

http://www.thepats.ie/images/Social/final06/final22.jpg

Classic!! This photo actually surfaced recently in the dressing rooms, I'm sure Goss came in for plenty of abuse. Sayin that I wouldnt mess with him when he is in that sort of mood!
Post by: Louth Exile on September 14, 2007, 11:55:23 PM
I have a couple of classic pictures of Goss and D Connor all decked out in Joes colours  :D I'd post them up on the thread if only I could work out how to do it!
Post by: Louth Exile on September 19, 2007, 11:16:22 AM
You got to laugh at the Kingdom reference alright  :D
Do they not realise that for all Kerry's success they are not hated by the rest of the country and that they play attractive football without being over physical (with the exception of Paul Galvin of course  ;D)

Ray would be a big lose, hopefully he will be right.

That is some serious preparation from Cooley, although you can go too far, I think most lads would sleep better in their own bed the night before the game!

As you know yourself Pedro the Pats took a lot for granted last year and I can't imagine that they will make the same mistake again this year. The most important thing for the Pats is for them to be as clinical and ruthless as they were against Mattock
Post by: pedro on September 20, 2007, 10:58:44 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 15, 2007, 10:40:01 AM
Pedro, it doesnt matter how far a team like Louth, or my own team Down go in the qualifiers. They are never going to win the All Ireland through the qualifiers and when you look at their performance in Leinster this year, just like ours was in Ulster, it was dire. They struggled badly to beat Wicklow, in fact I think it went to a second replay. Then lost to Wexford and the final scoreline didnt reflect how poor Louth were on the day. Yes they had a decent run in the qualifiers, but at the end of the day there are no prizes for winning a couple of games in the qualifiers and Louth will only begin to make progress with a decent run in Leinster.

I dunno really what your tryin to say here 5ive Times. Louth, like Down, have not been near winning an All-Ireland for a long time but its not like they can come from being the 3rd worst team in the country (Louth) and go on to win the All-Ireland the next year. There has to be some kind of progress, an incremental improvement year on year which will push the team closer to winning something major. I'm sure you would be slating (or Down for that matter) Louth if they had to have adopted the attitute of "Well, we're knocked out of Leinster/Ulster, we're not going to win the All-Ireland now so we might as well call it quits for the year". I think Louth deserve some credit for going down to Limerick and Kildare and winning. Granted, they are no world beaters but surely that can only help the team (especially the younger members) for next year.

Ten to fifteen years ago where were Armagh?? Certainly not near All-Ireland winning standards but they stuck at it year after year and eventually it paid off for them. Hopefully something like that could happen the Wee County.
Post by: pedro on September 20, 2007, 11:04:54 PM
I definitely dont think there is any fear of the lads taking the foot off the pedal like they did last year. I expect both teams to come flying straight out of the blocks and the first ten minutes to be real hard-hitting and intense. Once the game opens up which I hope it does Paddy K , E Carroll and Ray Finnegan can get a bit of space to get in behind the Cooley defence.

I don't know lads, the more I think about it the more nervous I'm getting. I was super confident at the start of the week but we've already seen how Cooley can shut out the other teams star men (by fair or foul means) and I hope this will not happen to us.

Any word on O'Neill, just heard that his case has been referred back another 24hrs by the county board.
Post by: Louth Exile on September 21, 2007, 10:25:47 AM
Enjoy the build up Pedro, but you been a Pats man you'd more used to it any of the rest of us on here. Handy tip: Get smashed drunk the night before and the nerves won't be as bad on the big day, the adrenalin will keep you going.

Is Ray going to be alright??

Wasn't going to head but think I might go now, ye will probably slate me for this but, was going to go to Simmonstown v Skyrne in the Meath SFC Qtr finals instead! (I'll only make the 2nd half off it now with the 4pm throw in)
Post by: Louth Exile on September 21, 2007, 01:04:50 PM
Thats a great bit of prose ML, you should write that book, it would be a good one.

The kingdom bit is the one that always made me laugh  :D :D
Post by: amallon on September 21, 2007, 02:13:42 PM
Fantastic story.  I still don't understand why the meeting had to be at 6am
Post by: amallon on September 21, 2007, 02:37:46 PM
Absolute madness!  :D  If one of our neighbouring clubs did something like this we'd have a field day the slagging would just be too much.
Post by: amallon on September 21, 2007, 03:20:25 PM
Where is the game on Sunday?
Post by: amallon on September 21, 2007, 05:21:20 PM
And no fences at the front of the stand in Downdalshill!  Mouth waters!  ;)
Post by: Louth Exile on September 21, 2007, 05:31:02 PM
Ah its the boys on the hill you want to watch out for, mind you that wall is easily jumped too
Post by: twotwocharlie on September 21, 2007, 05:45:35 PM
who's in charge of st pats this year.
Post by: Louth Exile on September 22, 2007, 12:22:02 AM
Well it was Fitzer who was running the line the mattock game anyway
Post by: Owenmoresider on September 22, 2007, 10:55:01 PM
Lads, how is the peninsula divided between the two clubs, Cooley and Pat's? And isn't there a club up by Omeath now too?
Post by: Louth Exile on September 22, 2007, 11:30:48 PM
Quote from: pedro on September 22, 2007, 07:36:12 PM
Gerry Cumiskey is the manager of the Pats, Peter Fitzpatrick was brought in after they got rid of that cowboy Nudie Hughes, complete mouthpiece!!

Jaysus Pedro, anyone in Monaghan could of told ye that Nudie is a mouthpiece  :D

The mother just text me to remind me that this time next year we had the prematch buzz in the parish  :'( It was like Christmas Eve, except it comes every year, in the Joes case SFC finals only come around roughly every ten years  :D

Anyway, hope you enjoy the build up Pedro and hope it is a good game tommorow.

Quote from: Owenmoresider on September 22, 2007, 10:55:01 PM
Lads, how is the peninsula divided between the two clubs, Cooley and Pat's? And isn't there a club up by Omeath now too?

Pedro would answer this one for you better, but I'll tell you the way that I would see it
Bellurgan, Lordship and Ravensdale = Pats
Omeath = Cuchullain Gaels
The Rest = Kickhams !!

I think the Pats were only formed in the 60's (I'm open to correction) before this Cooley had the whole penninsula
Post by: pedro on September 23, 2007, 11:04:36 AM
LE I took your advice for going on the rip the last night but it has fone me no good, nerves are killing me!!

As a definit last post I will clear up the questions.

Basically Cooley has the pick from Martin's Pub to Greenore, Including Carlingford. Pats were formed in 1953 and many of the founders actually played on the same teams as the Kickhams. Our pick would be Lordship, Bellurgan, Ravensdale.

As regards Omeath, they were in a kind of no-mansland up until recently. Most of them declared for Cooley (some for the pats) but due to politics they were often overlooked for 'genuine Cooley men'. The same politics also made it hard for Carlingford men to make the team. When Cuchullainn Gaels were set up there catchment area consisted of Omeath and part of Carlingford. Now, Cooley objected to the forming of the club, claiming that they were going to poach some of their players and as such weaken the Cooley team (this despite the fact that Cooley fielded 3 teams). Anyway, Cuchallainn got the go-ahead and some of the so-called 'outcasts' from Cooley - boys that couldn't even get a game with the Juniors - began training with Cuchullainn figuring that they would at least get a bit of football. This coincided with Cooley getting to the final stages of the Junior Championship and to prevent the ex Cooley players from signing for Cuchullainns they promised them starting places on the Junior team. As such Cooley have brought players in from the wilderness who are never going to get a sniff of senior football and in turn prevented the Gaels from strengthening their senior team, something which was badly needed.

To highlight Cooley's treatment to the new club, I'll tell you this one. Cuchullainn Gaels were having their first night as a newly formed club. This was a big fundraiser for the club and many big names where there, Joe Brolly was doing MC, Tyrone players brought the Sam Maguire, Armagh boys brought the Ulster trophy, James Colgan (Down) had the AllIreland minor, Paddy Keenan had the Railway Cup, Francie Bellew donated his number 3 jersey from Cross which he wore when they won their 10th SFC. Anyway you get the picture, it was to be a big nite with auctions, donations etc. This night was planned for months in advance and what do Cooley do?? Not only did they snub an invitation from the Gaels but they booked their presentation night for the same night. This meant that Paddy Oliver (Co. Board Chairman) and Sean Kelly (GAA President at the time) had the duty to leave the Gaels' nite and go to Cooley to present them with their medals for the ACC Cup or league or whatever it was.

So much for neighbourly love eh??!

Anyhow, rant over. Time to get focussed for the big day, maybe a few wee ones in Fitzpatricks beforehand to calm the nerves!!

Naomh Padraig Abu!!
Post by: Louth Exile on September 23, 2007, 11:41:36 AM
That is not a bad bet alright, better value than what Loneshark is offering as well.

Nothing too surprising about the Kickhams/Gaels relationship there Pedro.

The weather ain't great here in Navan, hope its a bit better in Dundalk, better bring the cota mor anyway
Post by: Louth Exile on September 23, 2007, 11:45:56 AM
Well it ain't going to be as bad as the Clans field last year, the lads said it was in awful state.
Post by: twotwocharlie on September 23, 2007, 07:42:43 PM
is peter fitzpatrick in charge of St Pats ?
Post by: Louth Exile on September 23, 2007, 09:34:19 PM
Yeah, last years final was on the 8th of October, thought the pitch was in good shape and the overall level of organisation was good as well. Caught the second half of a game in Meath after it and could believe how hard the pitch was in Senchalstown.

Noticed a couple of things about the programme, they used the exact same picture of Paddy as they used last year. Also delighted to read what Paddy's biggest sporting disappointment was and Baby Goss comments on LMFM after the game as well  ;) But enough of that stuff.

On the minor game, only say the second half and thought the Gers were worthy champs. Wouldn't disagree with the MOM and the lads with me who were there for the whole game thought it about right. The YI penalty was a poor call by Matthews and I thought he really tried to make a game of it, but the Gers were having none of it. Well done to them

Its three out of the last five the Pats have won ML (Mattock in 05) but you are right, a massive achievement, particualry for a club who had never won it once before that.

I enjoyed the game and the atmosphere, with these two it was never going to be a classic and overall given how thought a game it would be to handle I thought that Ref did grand. Highlights are on TG4 tommorow night at 8.30

Karl White had a very good opening with a good point and brilliantly taken penalty. I thought he needed it given that he was poor against Mattock. The penalty which was ultimately the deciding factor was the right call. A feature of the first half was how much of the game was played in the Pats half, although the better side, their entire half forward line and midfiled played very deep, this meant on a number of occasions when they were in possesion they were reliant on working to near midfield and then driving it into the FF line. Cooley didn't do themselves any favours either, kicking a number of balls down the throats of the Finnegan lads and PK.
Was impressed with the long range free taking of the two Conors. Owen Z was a loss as he was playing a good game before having to go off, this of course coincided with big Sean coming on and gave Cooley a bit of impetus. Ray F was proabably best player in the first half, he was everywhere.

In the second half Goss had a great game, Mallon got on the ball a lot in the third qtr and Paddy the same in the fourth. One thing I will say about the ref is that he was edging towards the draw at the end and I think it was two minutes into injury time when Pats keeper had to pull off a save to maintain Pats three point advantage.

Well done to the Pats and enjoy the week. Hope ye can do the county proud in Leinster.
Post by: pedro on September 24, 2007, 11:11:02 AM
Lads I dont even know what I'm writing here!! i really cannot contain my happiness and this will go on for a full week!! I can tell you now that these players will enojy this week (too much probably!)  but they will definitely give the Leinster a good go.

P.S. - Thanks for your prayers lads, we neded them in the end!!  :D :D
Post by: Louth Exile on September 24, 2007, 03:05:45 PM
Managed to work out how to put pictures up on a thread, here are few good ones of Goss & D Connor from last year!!

(http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc220/JoesExile/100_0363.jpg)

(http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc220/JoesExile/100_0365.jpg)

(http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc220/JoesExile/100_0368.jpg)

If only they had transfered like they said they would  :D
Post by: Gold on September 25, 2007, 12:22:29 AM
watched the highlights on TG4--seemed very scrappy with lots of turnovers and basic errors--good crowd tho there seems to be a fierce rivalry there
Post by: Louth Exile on September 25, 2007, 10:32:39 AM
The coverage was poorly edited in IMHO, they didn't show cooley's first point which was a cracker, or their goal chance 2 mins into injury time that could have leveled the game. Pats kicked three 50's which is fair going in any game, they could have at least shown one of them. Sound engineer didn't seem to pick up just how much of an atmosphere there was
Post by: Louth Exile on September 25, 2007, 11:53:37 AM
They had two cameras, elevated to about the height of the back wall, just the far side of the press box, similar postion to where the camera is for the 03 Final on the youtube vid.
Post by: Louth Exile on September 27, 2007, 09:01:09 AM
You are right that is great news and fully deserved. I think it might be our first nomination, Anyone know??
Post by: Louth Exile on September 27, 2007, 05:15:49 PM
I was reading the full of this article in the Democrat at lunchtime
http://www.hoganstand.com/Louth/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=83946
A bit slanderous I would have thought, he doesn't name names, but I don't think he is talking about Pat Hamilton!

On the lighter side of things.........
http://www.hoganstand.com/Louth/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=83901
Post by: Louth Exile on September 27, 2007, 05:43:41 PM
You and I know that despite his seniority he doesn't really have the power to affect this, but sure that is never going to stop a cooley man having a snipe.
Post by: Louth Exile on September 27, 2007, 06:23:08 PM
You were at the Blues/Cooley game ML. I was talking to some of the Joes lads who were at it admitted that O'Neill's sending off was harmless enough in their opinion. What did you think?
Post by: pedro on September 29, 2007, 04:58:47 PM
Firstly congrats to PK, really really deserves it and great to see Louth getting recognised for their run last year.

Secondly, i think Gary Thornton should shut his mouth and take his beating fair and square. If his team is going to keep playing on the edge like they have been all year then they are due more red cards. If this was a small club like, say, Annaminnon (sp?) would they have gotten off? I don't think so. The club got what they wanted (O'Neill to be playing) and its a simple fact that they weren't good enough.

Now, seeing as O'Neill got off on a technicality (a mistake in the referee's report) does the Blues not have the right to go to Leinster Council or whoever and appeal Judges and Philips sending offs?? I know it may not be right but a precedent has been set in regards to this game and the GAA, yet again, have left themselves wide open.

It's just another example of the rulebook not being watertight
Post by: Louth Exile on October 03, 2007, 10:52:42 PM
Blues played Joes under lights tonight in Termonfeckin - Blues 5-16, Joes 3-5 (what a scorline!!)

I make it that this now puts Blues on top, joint with Cooley on points but with a better scoring difference
It also leaves the Joes bottom with Glyde, but after losing by 17 points they now have a worse scoring difference.
Do any of you know if scoring difference in anyway come into play?? I don't think so myself

Given that the Joes last game is against Cooley their next game against the Marys in Ardee is pretty much a must win!!
Next question, what is the reason for the Marys looking to move the game on Saturday??
Post by: Louth Exile on October 04, 2007, 10:50:16 AM
It is down to be played this Saturday and its the Marys that I was told were looking to move the fixture, but I wasn't told why
Post by: Louth Exile on October 04, 2007, 11:08:22 AM
Joes were advised that the fixture was this saturday, as does the website (which I have to say is dramatically improved in recent times)
http://www.sportsmanager.ie/t3.php?userid=20&report=1&reporttype=fixtures&sportid=1&club_id=&clubid=&nextweek=1&countyid=20&contentcountyid=20&contentsportid=1

The intermediate final is a fair point, sure it could always just be played in Dromiskin instead  ;)

Are you going to the final on Sunday? Won't make it myself, but I think Kelly & Co will do it, the Gaels arrogance could yet again be their undoing
Post by: Louth Exile on October 04, 2007, 12:00:40 PM
Where would the game be if it goes ahead next wednesday??

I see Mc Entegart is the ref: he is fond of the mid week games!
Post by: Louth Exile on October 04, 2007, 12:21:41 PM
Isn't amazing, clubs like Blues, Marys, Joes - none of us have lights! and both Marys and Joes have pumped very significant monies into our grounds in the last few years. I believe ours will be in at some stage next year.

Was very impressed with the Fechins set up last night, they must have got some bucks for the old pitch.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 04, 2007, 02:06:21 PM
The Gers is a good job alright, the new pitch is probably better to play on than the main one. We had a junior game their earlier in the year and the main pitch was in bad shape
Post by: Louth Exile on October 04, 2007, 02:54:03 PM
Ah, missed that part of your post, it was one of the first games in the season and most definitely not a new sod! They needed it

We have a crum rubber pitch, its a hell of a job in terms of keeping the pitch right during the winter. I remember one weekend a full set of fixtures were down to be played in both Louth and Meath. There was only two games went ahead between the two counties and our game in Dromiskin was one of them.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 05, 2007, 12:10:08 PM
 :D :D (I shouldn't laugh, it wasn't funny at the time)
Post by: Louth Exile on October 05, 2007, 12:33:00 PM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2005/0528/louth.html

One of my best mates brother got very badly burnt in the blaze, it has been a bit of a disaster area
Post by: pedro on October 07, 2007, 11:33:11 PM
Any word on results over the weekend lads?? Our league game against the Mals was called off because we would have had no team due to the Junior final today (which we lost)
Post by: Louth Exile on October 09, 2007, 02:48:35 PM
I share the office with a magheracloone man they would have nothing but good to say about him. He was over them when they won their only Monaghan SFC (other recent managers are Dudley Farrell & DJ Kane).
Apparently a very good man manger.

The marys lads who were away, back from their weekend trip ML??
Post by: Louth Exile on October 09, 2007, 03:07:43 PM
If it was only a few were missing we'd be happy  :-[
Post by: Louth Exile on October 09, 2007, 05:41:06 PM
He hasn't played since the O'Mahonys game.

I take it you are heading yourself?
Post by: Louth Exile on October 09, 2007, 11:03:42 PM
They pulled it out alright. The only game Melia played all year and he was my MOM, how can he still do that at 45! Talking to the brother afterwards and he told me they didn't even know he was going to play. Don't think he will be lining out against Cooley. Getting Skid back was another massive influence on the team, he's been out since he had to come off with a hamstring injury in the relegation playoff.

It was as physical as I have seen the Joes play in a long time. How is Kennan, looked bad coming off, looked like a possible broken jaw. Hope it isn't.

Hopefully Kilkerley can do us both a favour on Thursday night.

Where were you watching the game from yourself? I thought the pitch was in great shape. First time I was at a floodlight game in the Clans, thought they weren't up to it.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 09, 2007, 11:47:12 PM
Glad to hear that about Kennan, always thought he was a good player and was a big lose to you. Wouldn't have liked to have thought one of our lads did serious damage.

I was completely wrong about Kilkerley/Glyde, I thought this was an unplayed game. Better news, its their final game on Saturday, the same time as all the other final round games.

Wasn't far away from where you were, was in front of the Joes dugout.

He reffed the final last year and our game against the blues last week. I thought he did us no favours last week (although we were well bet) I thought if he gave any team a rub of the green tonight it was us. Both Drummer and Quigers came close to getting gate. Although by all reports from that end of the field that disputed point from ye at the end was a blatant wide, of course that is the umpires fault. Having said that we had one that end in the first half that all of us on the line thought was wide and he gave it. There was no complaining at the time including from yourselves though.

Penny has finally dropped in terms of the inside man  ::)  Will you have the lads back for the weekend??
(On a side note we are missing Sully for the last three games as he is away in the states)

The brother is regular wing back, he was wondering who no. 10 & 12 were??
Post by: Louth Exile on October 10, 2007, 12:32:54 AM
He is a commitee man who you speak about, came straight from work, mind you would be a bit to cold to be kitted out in the polo top on a night like that. The nerves get to him in tight games, therefore the smoking and the pacing away from the group. But I could see how he comes across as an exile alright.  :D

That is a class way of running the site, pity the ref from the other game didn't send his text! We'll know tommorow I'm sure.

Post by: Louth Exile on October 10, 2007, 10:47:27 AM
Who were your two wing forwards last night??
Post by: Louth Exile on October 10, 2007, 01:24:19 PM
The brother was just curious as to who he was marking last night?
Post by: Louth Exile on October 10, 2007, 02:34:15 PM
Thanks for that. My predictions for the weekend....

Cooley beat Joes
Glyde beat Kilkerley
Marys draw with Mattock

We all end up in a four way play off  :D
Post by: Louth Exile on October 10, 2007, 03:35:40 PM
It would great if Glyde did just lose, there wouldn't be too many around that would have any sympathy for them anyway. Given that we have to beat Cooley or rely on results it would be great if LMFM were covering the matches. However, I very much doubt this, whereas I think that their coverage on Sunday is good for a local station that show on a Saturday is a disaster, full of FA soccer, Why? If people want to knows whats going on the premiership today fm is the station for them
Post by: Louth Exile on October 10, 2007, 11:41:19 PM
Be the lord.. Pats 1-13, Mals 4-10 .. another team comes into the relegation/playoff mix on saturday

Anyone at the game??
Post by: pedro on October 11, 2007, 12:45:09 PM
Was at the Pats vs Mals game last nite, yep 4-10 to 1-13. Pats were down by ten poiints in the first half, they let in 4-7 from play in the first half alone! :o
They came  into it a bit better in the second half but left themselves with way too  much to do. I reckon we were missing about 7-9 players from the championship team last nite, most importantly PK, Goss, D Finnegan, S Connor, S Finnegan so take those players out of any team and you're kinda screwed!!

On a side note, I wouldnt put too much money on the Pats for their Leinster game(s). Serious injury problems and they seem to be affecting the county players more than anyone else. Goss hada scan on some stomach/groin problem, not sure how long he's out for. Sean Connor dislocated his shoulder at trainin and worst of all, PK is looking to be out possibly until Christmas with a combination of groin and shoulder injuries. Word has it he may need an op to rectify the groin. Not good!

Could this be down to too much being asked of our county players?? I know LE might say that it contributed to Charlie Farrelly retiring and possibly other problems to the mary's county men??

Anyone hear any word on the Louth/Armagh game? I've been told that brian Donnelly and Brian White had good games
Post by: Louth Exile on October 11, 2007, 01:48:39 PM
I haven't talked to Charlie myself in months, but he basically said that with the injury at the start of the year he was always struggling to get 100% and to be honest he never really hit top form this year with either club or county. After the year he had last year with club and county this year would have been a massive come down. He also recently built a new house in Dunleer, I can 100% understand his decision and he owes nobody anything.

Who are the Pats playing Leinster?? When and where???
Post by: pedro on October 31, 2007, 09:47:11 PM
Limerick - away
Down - home
Leitrim - home
Fermanagh - away
Longford - away
Sligo - home
Wexford - away

Right lads, I know there's a thread on the main board about the National league fixtures but I thought we'd get this thread going again.
What do yous think of the draw. I think it could have been worse but with us having four away games and only three at home could dause us problems. Our last four games i think will be tough expecially the away games agaiinst Ferm, Longford and Wexford. I still think we're a better team than Sligo and we also have them at home. I suppose if we have realistic ambitions we would want to be looking at qualifying out of this league but we'd have to avoid any mid-League slip-ups like this year