Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on November 14, 2017, 12:05:04 AM

Title: Bob Geldof
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 14, 2017, 12:05:04 AM
Deserves a thread of its own, I think.

Am I being a begrudger or is he really an insufferable West Brit bollox?
Title: Re: Bob Geldof
Post by: Itchy on November 14, 2017, 12:17:58 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on November 14, 2017, 12:05:04 AM

The later, self important dick. His music was over hyped shite too.
Post by: NetNitrate on November 14, 2017, 12:19:56 AM

He's right. The treatment of the Rohingya is horrific. As usual we Irish have to indulge in whataboutery and make it about his Knighthood. Of course the Shinners in council more worried about flying a Catalan flag than Rohingya babies burned alive.
Post by: The Subbie on November 14, 2017, 02:40:34 AM
Quote from: NetNitrate on November 14, 2017, 12:19:56 AM

He's right. The treatment of the Rohingya is horrific. As usual we Irish have to indulge in whataboutery and make it about his Knighthood. Of course the Shinners in council more worried about flying a Catalan flag than Rohingya babies burned alive.

How do you figure that?

Anyway Geldof is a **** , an utter utter west Brit ****.
The image of him flopping around the Thames been a **** to the fishermen during brexit speaks volumes, him and Farage having a bun fight is the proverbial 2 bald men arguing over a comb.

A Blackrock boy to the core, the f**king Jesuits have a f**king lot to answer for. Geldof is the very definition of an elitist "look at me and do what I say ****"

I notice he is happy to hang onto his KBE and ignore the human rights abuses that are welded to that particular gong by association.

Like I said a **** .
Post by: NetNitrate on November 14, 2017, 03:14:27 AM
Quote from: The Subbie on November 14, 2017, 02:40:34 AM

How do you figure that?

Anyway Geldof is a **** , an utter utter west Brit ****.
The image of him flopping around the Thames been a **** to the fishermen during brexit speaks volumes, him and Farage having a bun fight is the proverbial 2 bald men arguing over a comb.

A Blackrock boy to the core, the f**king Jesuits have a f**king lot to answer for. Geldof is the very definition of an elitist "look at me and do what I say ****"

I notice he is happy to hang onto his KBE and ignore the human rights abuses that are welded to that particular gong by association.

Like I said a **** .

Agreed he should give up his Knighthood given the paedophiles and war criminals it celebrates and is issued by. But he is still right about the genocide of the Rohingya and we don't need to distract  from that. So what if he is Blackrock  educated - many of out patriots, writers, famous figures had a fairly privileged background. Few came from a pig rearing, one acre of spuds background.

Post by: T Fearon on November 14, 2017, 06:12:02 AM
He returned the award on Monday,another reason for him not to like that particular day of the week?
Post by: omaghjoe on November 14, 2017, 06:58:16 AM
Why was she given the award in the first place? Does she have any association with Ireland or Dublin or was it just another one of these "lets make make ourselves relevant" attempts?
Post by: T Fearon on November 14, 2017, 07:03:15 AM
Exactly.You do get the impression that these things are done in Dublin for PR and Tourism promotion.
Post by: Asal Mor on November 14, 2017, 08:03:48 AM
I remember hearing on a radio show that Geldolf scored very badly on a website where waiters rate celebs who have eaten in their restaurants in terms of manners,kindness etc.
This is from the Telegraph.
" Talking about poverty has been a lucrative little earner for Sir Bob, judging by the $100,000 he charged once to give a speech in Melbourne about world suffering. For all his caring for the downtrodden, those who have lunched with him say he can be incredibly rude to waiters and waitresses."
Also, Live Aid is widely reported to have made things worse in Ethiopia thanks to Bob,despite many warnings, getting too cosy with its despotic leader,who spent a lot of the money raised on arms to crush resistance.
Post by: Minder on November 14, 2017, 08:14:34 AM
He said with a straight face "I'm not grandstanding here"
Post by: TheOptimist on November 14, 2017, 08:35:15 AM
Like him or not he is helping turn attention to the atrocities in Myanmar. Watched some of the newsnight film last night. It is sickening what is going on there at the minute. It reminds you how evil humanity can be and how sheltered we can be here.
Post by: Avondhu star on November 14, 2017, 08:51:13 AM
Quote from: Itchy on November 14, 2017, 12:17:58 AM

The later, self important dick. His music was over hyped shite too.
If he was Bono we might pay some attention to him.
Post by: AQMP on November 14, 2017, 09:06:22 AM
Quote from: TheOptimist on November 14, 2017, 08:35:15 AM
Like him or not he is helping turn attention to the atrocities in Myanmar. Watched some of the newsnight film last night. It is sickening what is going on there at the minute. It reminds you how evil humanity can be and how sheltered we can be here.

This has been in the news for a few months, BBC and RTE have covered it extensively.  Frankly if we need to rely on a complete "look at me" arsehole like Geldof for news then society is in a worse state than I thought.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on November 14, 2017, 09:36:52 AM

For that reason I was am giving him a pass on this one.   I think he is grandstanding but if that wakes a few people up to what is going on Myanmar, no harm at all.

Frankly, Bob has the profile that it will generate some media interest, much more interest than the council taking her one back.

/Jim.
Post by: vallankumous on November 14, 2017, 09:57:26 AM
Storm in a tea cup.
Post by: tonto1888 on November 14, 2017, 09:59:32 AM

I don't like him. He is a hypocrite but you are right. What is going on over there is disgusting and if it takes this idiot to highlight it for many people then its a good thing
Post by: seafoid on November 14, 2017, 10:00:05 AM
I think Geldof is fairly decent. Mr Hewson is a knob

Aung Sang Suu Kyi has been very disappointing.
Post by: TheOptimist on November 14, 2017, 10:11:17 AM
Quote from: AQMP on November 14, 2017, 09:06:22 AM

This has been in the news for a few months, BBC and RTE have covered it extensively.  Frankly if we need to rely on a complete "look at me" arsehole like Geldof for news then society is in a worse state than I thought.

It really is.

A good tweet I seen recently read like this

"KYLIE JENNER IS PREGNANT

Ok now that I got your attention, the entire country of Puerto Rico has no power because of the hurricane"

Sums alot of it up
Post by: Esmarelda on November 14, 2017, 11:31:48 AM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on November 14, 2017, 09:36:52 AM

For that reason I was am giving him a pass on this one.   I think he is grandstanding but if that wakes a few people up to what is going on Myanmar, no harm at all.

Frankly, Bob has the profile that it will generate some media interest, much more interest than the council taking her one back.

/Jim.
It'll attract attention for a couple of days. What are we as a country going to do about it? Maybe Bob might give a shout out for Syria too.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on November 14, 2017, 12:01:38 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on November 14, 2017, 11:31:48 AM

/Jim.
It'll attract attention for a couple of days. What are we as a country going to do about it? Maybe Bob might give a shout out for Syria too.

I don't think country will do much.  I think he had a wider audience in mind.  A report on this would get Myanmar in the news in the UK.

Maybe everyone will ignore it or maybe he is a man of principle.

/Jim.
Post by: AhNowRef on November 14, 2017, 12:08:42 PM

He's an absolute horror and is so "west british" Im certain he must be Conor Cruise Obrien & RD Edwards' illegitimate spawn  :o

And if he's going about giving honours back due to human rights issues then maybe he should have a look at his knighthood, the insufferable west brit brown nosing pr1ck ....
Post by: AZOffaly on November 14, 2017, 12:16:22 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on November 14, 2017, 12:01:38 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on November 14, 2017, 11:31:48 AM

/Jim.

I don't think country will do much.  I think he had a wider audience in mind.  A report on this would get Myanmar in the news in the UK.

Maybe everyone will ignore it or maybe he is a man of principle.

/Jim.

He is spot on with regard to Myanmar, however I take exception that he is a 'man of principle'. If he was principled on the basis of bloodshed, illegal wars, subjugating groups of people etc he wouldn't have taken the KBE.

Or perhaps he is principled like Groucho Marx. Those are my principles, and if you don't like them, well then I have others.
Post by: JoG2 on November 14, 2017, 12:28:11 PM
Looking forward to tomorrows target already!!  ;D

(http://fanfest.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/TWD_603_GP_0604_0210-750x480.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on November 14, 2017, 12:35:17 PM
He's a gobshite.

He's right about this, but he's still a gobshite.
Post by: Denn Forever on November 14, 2017, 12:39:53 PM

What's happened?
Post by: tonto1888 on November 14, 2017, 04:59:06 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on November 14, 2017, 12:39:53 PM

What's happened?

Gave back his freedom of Dublin because he didn't want to be associated with a murderer.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/nov/13/bob-geldof-renounces-honour-also-held-by-aung-san-suu-kyi
Post by: Owen Brannigan on November 14, 2017, 08:39:36 PM
No matter what you think of Geldof his actions and subsequent publicity have brought the issue of ethnic cleansing in Myanmar to the Board.  Just imagine we might even get around the considering the plight of the people in Yemen
Post by: armaghniac on November 14, 2017, 09:27:44 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on November 14, 2017, 08:39:36 PM
No matter what you think of Geldof his actions and subsequent publicity have brought the issue of ethnic cleansing in Myanmar to the Board.  Just imagine we might even get around the considering the plight of the people in Yemen

I suppose the difference is that nobody every though the Saudi leaders worth of international honours, whereas Aung Sang Suu Kyi was portrayed as a sort of Asian Mandela, which she obviously is not.
Post by: Orior on November 14, 2017, 09:42:06 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 14, 2017, 09:27:44 PM

I suppose the difference is that nobody every though the Saudi leaders worth of international honours, whereas Aung Sang Suu Kyi was portrayed as a sort of Asian Mandela, which she obviously is not.

Perhaps she was early in her career.

But then there is an old saying that power goes to the head. Probably coined during the Roman Empire.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 15, 2017, 05:11:25 PM
It's important that atrocities are highlighted so that there's a greater chance that something will be done. However I think Ziggy summed it up perfectly for me above.

I think the hypocrisy is what stands out here. Hand back your knighthood from one of the biggest killing machines in the history of the world. The phrase about taking the splinter out of someone else's eye comes to mind.

Post by: Itchy on November 15, 2017, 11:10:29 PM

No they haven't. Bob has brought Bob to the fore. No one of note will consider the plight of anyone in these counties sadly.
Post by: MoChara on December 14, 2017, 09:39:34 PM
https://www.rte.ie/news/dublin/2017/1214/927409-geldof/

;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: T Fearon on December 14, 2017, 09:59:52 PM
Myanmar? Is that that Wee girl,you know her,Myanmar from the fourth form?
Post by: omaghjoe on December 15, 2017, 06:38:47 AM
Wally!
;D ;D ;D
Post by: magpie seanie on December 15, 2017, 08:02:18 AM
Fair play to the Dublin City Council. Geldof's grandstanding had to have consequences. It was needless embarrassment for the City Council. He could have acted like a normal adult and did what U2 did - wrote to the council asking for Suu Kyi's award to be removed and explaining why.
Post by: seafoid on December 15, 2017, 08:14:51 AM
Geldof became his father, the orsehole he couldn't tolerate as a teenager.  Jaysus.
Post by: Avondhu star on December 15, 2017, 09:52:41 AM
How dare D.C
C. treat a knight of the realm like that?
Of course the Shinner seems to like the old ceremonial shite of having the British title of Ltd Mayor.
Taking the lead from Baron Adams
Post by: MoChara on December 15, 2017, 09:54:30 AM
Quote from: Avondhu star on December 15, 2017, 09:52:41 AM
How dare D.C
C. treat a knight of the realm like that?
Of course the Shinner seems to like the old ceremonial shite of having the British title of Ltd Mayor.
Taking the lead from Baron Adams

Theres an easy joke in there for someone about the summer of 69  ;D
Post by: ashman on December 15, 2017, 10:12:22 AM
Geldof is an insufferable pompous dose but I am sure DCC have other more pressing issues that require their attention .
Post by: rosnarun on December 15, 2017, 10:32:47 AM
if Geldof wanted to hand back his award he should have done so in the Shame  in that the woman he now call a murder had Geldolf as her champion.
this all smell very much like a smokescreen (if a smokescreen smells) to cover up his own poor judgement and the misery and deaths he has indirectly caused
Post by: longballin on December 15, 2017, 10:38:13 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on December 15, 2017, 10:32:47 AM
if Geldof wanted to hand back his award he should have done so in the Shame  in that the woman he now call a murder had Geldolf as her champion.
this all smell very much like a smokescreen (if a smokescreen smells) to cover up his own poor judgement and the misery and deaths he has indirectly caused

You've lost me on the 'misery and deaths he has indirectly caused'.   I'm not a fan of Geldof by any stretch but not sure what you mean.
Post by: rosnarun on December 15, 2017, 10:50:53 AM
Quote from: longballin on December 15, 2017, 10:38:13 AM

You've lost me on the 'misery and deaths he has indirectly caused'.   I'm not a fan of Geldof by any stretch but not sure what you mean.
quiet simple he was promoting Suu Kyi around the world ytelling every one what a wonderful woman and humanitarian she was .
now he has changed his mind  but has  to accept some of the back wash of her actions
Post by: longballin on December 15, 2017, 11:37:26 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on December 15, 2017, 10:50:53 AM

quiet simple he was promoting Suu Kyi around the world ytelling every one what a wonderful woman and humanitarian she was .
now he has changed his mind  but has  to accept some of the back wash of her actions

I think everyone thought she was until it turned out differently
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 15, 2017, 11:42:13 AM
Quote from: ashman on December 15, 2017, 10:12:22 AM
Geldof is an insufferable pompous dose but I am sure DCC have other more pressing issues that require their attention .
Ya know that's it in a nutshell. Short and sweet like a jackasses's gallop. ;D
Post by: T Fearon on December 15, 2017, 11:53:36 AM
Does Belgium not have a bigger claim on /responsibility for Geldoff than Ireland?

He did at least do a decent job at the Self Aid Concert in 1986 deputising for the then recently deceased Phil Lynott,as lead singer of Thin Lizzy during their set.
Post by: Itchy on December 15, 2017, 12:05:39 PM
Poor Bob. This is a crime against knobs with huge Egos.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 15, 2017, 12:19:17 PM
Fair dues to DCC...they called his bluff. He is an insufferable arse who is nothing but a self promoting ****. DCC have a major homelessness crisis to worry about and he is worried about this....he should be told to piss off and worry about his own rather than 'not saving' the World!!  Why not hand back the freedom in protetst to the continued failure of the government in his own country's to deal with the poverty and homelessness here?  Not enough air time for that!!
Post by: rosnarun on December 15, 2017, 01:03:21 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 15, 2017, 11:53:36 AM
Does Belgium not have a bigger claim on /responsibility for Geldoff than Ireland?

He did at least do a decent job at the Self Aid Concert in 1986 deputising for the then recently deceased Phil Lynott,as lead singer of Thin Lizzy during their set.
maybe but thast does no excuse him at all. it this sort of half ass celebrity politics usually that is cbrought on by the arrival of a new movie or album that gets my Goat . but if he was able to fill in for phill lynott that must be alright then.
hey look theres som puppies
Post by: Avondhu star on December 15, 2017, 01:28:19 PM
Quote from: longballin on December 15, 2017, 11:37:26 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on December 15, 2017, 10:50:53 AM

I think everyone thought she was until it turned out differently

They thought the same about the revolutionary comrades in South Africa and Zimbabwe. All well able to stick the head in the trough and tuck in.
And for those who claim Mandela wouldnt approve it reminds me of the Germans who said
" If Der Fuhrer knew about this he would be very angry"
Post by: Syferus on December 15, 2017, 01:37:08 PM
I nearly pissed myself laughing at this. A totally Irish response to a problem, get rid of Suu Kyi and expressly say that Geldof had a point, but also get a good dig in at Geldof for being a bit of a tit.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on December 15, 2017, 03:04:02 PM
A lovely bit of f**k you thrown in by DCC.  :D
I can´t stomach the man. How did we end up with him and Bono?! Can we swap them for the Boss?
Of course, Sir Bob could always win back his honour by actually doing something like organise a homeless event in Dublin, but that might only get him on RTE and he craves the BBC. It also isn't a world issue so who cares, it's just his home town with ordinary people suffering...
Post by: Snapchap on December 15, 2017, 03:37:22 PM
No matter what you think of Geldof his actions and subsequent publicity have brought the issue of ethnic cleansing in Myanmar to the Board.

In case you haven't noticed, this thread is named 'Bob Geldof' and absolutely no discussion anywhere in the last few days has been about the Myanmar situation. It has all been about Bob Geldof. Which is exactly what Bob Geldof was aiming to do with this whole stunt.

An egotistical, hypocritical lowlife. He is just beneath contempt. Full credit to DCC for showing him a well deserved middle finger.
Post by: red hander on December 15, 2017, 04:17:23 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on December 15, 2017, 03:37:22 PM
No matter what you think of Geldof his actions and subsequent publicity have brought the issue of ethnic cleansing in Myanmar to the Board.

In case you haven't noticed, this thread is named 'Bob Geldof' and absolutely no discussion anywhere in the last few days has been about the Myanmar situation. It has all been about Bob Geldof. Which is exactly what Bob Geldof was aiming to do with this whole stunt.

An egotistical, hypocritical lowlife. He is just beneath contempt. Full credit to DCC for showing him a well deserved middle finger.

Post by: Itchy on December 15, 2017, 06:00:36 PM
Quote from: red hander on December 15, 2017, 04:17:23 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on December 15, 2017, 03:37:22 PM

Absolutely. 
Post by: T Fearon on December 15, 2017, 06:13:34 PM
The Lord Mayor of Dublin was on BBC Radio Ulster's Talkback on lunchtime and took pelters from Cllr Mannix Flynn who inferred this was SF waging a personal vendetta against Geldoff.What's the story there? This was more venomous than a DUP V SF spat?
Post by: BennyCake on December 15, 2017, 06:38:43 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on December 15, 2017, 03:04:02 PM
A lovely bit of f**k you thrown in by DCC.  :D
I can´t stomach the man. How did we end up with him and Bono?! Can we swap them for the Boss?
Of course, Sir Bob could always win back his honour by actually doing something like organise a homeless event in Dublin, but that might only get him on RTE and he craves the BBC. It also isn't a world issue so who cares, it's just his home town with ordinary people suffering...

I blame the drink. Obviously the fathers of Bob and Bonzo spent too much time in the pub, and not enough time at home slapping their two dicks of sons!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on December 15, 2017, 06:46:13 PM
Both Bono and Geldof attended rugby playing schools so hardly that surprising.
Post by: square_ball on December 15, 2017, 06:57:38 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on December 15, 2017, 06:46:13 PM
Both Bono and Geldof attended rugby playing schools so hardly that surprising.

Yeooooooo
Post by: Syferus on December 15, 2017, 06:59:45 PM
Joshua Tree is still the greatest Irish album of all time.
Post by: Itchy on December 15, 2017, 07:54:08 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 15, 2017, 06:59:45 PM

No it's not
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 15, 2017, 08:32:34 PM

Love or hate Bono, at least U2 has done a bit of work and produced a steady stream of albums and still goes on tours that are sold out. Some of their songs are hits and some are misses, I think the Joshua Tree was a high point, but you can't argue with their creativity or willingness to adapt and evolve, which in my opinion is the measure of a good artist. It's more than you can say for Bob "only 45 people showed up for my gig in Milan" Geldof. He had a handful of mediocre singles out in the early 90s and since then he's done damn all musically. Seems to be still living on the laurels of his Live Aid work, a well-intentioned campaign that backfired and probably ended up hurting more Ethiopians than it helped.
Post by: armaghniac on December 15, 2017, 08:53:45 PM
As Bob himself said, someone is always looking at you (oh oh).
Post by: Syferus on December 15, 2017, 09:16:43 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 15, 2017, 08:32:34 PM

Love or hate Bono, at least U2 has done a bit of work and produced a steady stream of albums and still goes on tours that are sold out. Some of their songs are hits and some are misses, I think the Joshua Tree was a high point, but you can't argue with their creativity or willingness to adapt and evolve, which in my opinion is the measure of a good artist. It's more than you can say for Bob "only 45 people showed up for my gig in Milan" Geldof. He had a handful of mediocre singles out in the early 90s and since then he's done damn all musically. Seems to be still living on the laurels of his Live Aid work, a well-intentioned campaign that backfired and probably ended up hurting more Ethiopians than it helped.

It's a pity because Bannana Republic was a great song and you'd not have bet on U2 and Bono outstripping him so totally musically back then.

Ironically Geldof was criticising the very time period Seafoid is lionising in the US thread.
Post by: trileacman on December 15, 2017, 11:18:04 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 15, 2017, 08:32:34 PM

Extrapolate that?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 16, 2017, 01:55:24 AM
"...aid expert David Rieff argues that guilt-stricken donations helped fund a brutal resettlement programme that may have killed up to 100,000."

Cruel to be kind? (https://www.theguardian.com/world/2005/jun/24/g8.debtrelief)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 16, 2017, 09:23:46 AM

Oh Jazes - me eyes!