GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Heshs Umpire on February 23, 2015, 08:48:01 PM

Title: 2015 Laois Under 21 Football team
Post by: Heshs Umpire on February 23, 2015, 08:48:01 PM
Championship Wednesday night away to Wexford.
Would be nice to get a win even though the poisoned chalice of a game v Dublin waits the winners!
Title: Re: 2015 Laois Under 21 Football team
Post by: Unlaoised on February 24, 2015, 09:42:32 AM
Where about in Wexford are we been dragged I hear the u21s are not too bad this year!

Players like Dean Cullen,James Moore,Darren Fitz,Evan O Carroll etc
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 24, 2015, 11:53:41 AM
It's in Bellefield, Enniscorthy on Wednesday night at 7-30.
If you type Árd Na Gréine, Bellefield, Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford into google maps or your Sat Nav it will get you there.

(http://i57.tinypic.com/4u8g9y.jpg)
Post by: OTF on February 24, 2015, 05:47:31 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 24, 2015, 11:53:41 AM
It's in Bellefield, Enniscorthy on Wednesday night at 7-30.
If you type Árd Na Gréine, Bellefield, Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford into google maps or your Sat Nav it will get you there.

(http://i57.tinypic.com/4u8g9y.jpg)

How're  you Junior
Do you know anything about the u21's
Post by: scaldy on February 24, 2015, 06:45:11 PM
THE TEAM V WEXFORD adam reilly knowles lennon  conor dunne paddy sullivan  conor hogan dowling cullen alan farrell kingston moore murphy keane ocarroll tom shields..
Post by: redsetanta on February 24, 2015, 06:56:36 PM
Is there no one from the Arles parish on the panel aside from Paul Kingston?
Post by: Heshs Umpire on February 24, 2015, 07:10:54 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on February 24, 2015, 06:56:36 PM
Is there no one from the Arles parish on the panel aside from Paul Kingston?
Farrell at midfield is Ballylinan?
Post by: Unlaoised on February 25, 2015, 09:08:11 AM
Laois Under 21 team to play Wexford tonight
1. Adam O Reilly Mountmellick
2. Liam Knowles Stradbally
3. Kieran Lennon Timahoe
4. Conor Dunne Portlaoise
5. Patrick O Sullivan Portarlington
6. Conor Hogan Courtwood
7. Robbie Dowling The Heath
8. Dean Cullen Portlaoise
9. Alan Farrell (C) Ballylinan
10. Paul Kingston Arles Killeen
11. James Moore Ballyfin
12. Nigel Murphy Emo
13. Evin Keane The Heath
14. Evan O Carroll Crettyard
15. Tom Sheils Stradbally

Anybody know the subs?
Post by: Unlaoised on February 25, 2015, 09:14:20 AM
This was the highly fancied Laois team at Minor level that crashed out to Wicklow 3 years ago

Adam O'reilly, Mark Cahill, Conor Dunne, Rory Fennell, Conor Hogan, Martin Scully, Robert Dowling, Ciaran Mcevoy, James Nerney, James Moore, Mark Lyons, Evan Carroll, Eoin Lowry, Paul Kingston, Niall Mullins. SUBS: James Bartley for Scully, N. Murphy for Fennell, Alan Farrell for J. Moore, Dean Cullen for E. Lowry,
Post by: Unlaoised on February 25, 2015, 09:23:45 AM
I see there is only two from the u21 Champions sarsfields Ballyfin/Mountmellick

Where is Darren Fitz?Niall Mullen,the young Sensation Sean Moore he got (3-3) in Intermediate final,(1-3)in u21 final,Con Maher,Ciaran Duff?..

From the runners up St.Joes there was an Adam Campion chap who was good also Danny Hickey and Micheal Kehoe??

From what I seen in the U21 last year they were some of the best players on show!
Post by: Unlaoised on February 25, 2015, 09:27:28 AM
To answer my own question I just got the Subs sent to me now this minute

Aaron Cooney,Adam Campion,Michael Keogh,Danny Hickey all St. Joseph's
Eoin Buggie- Stradbally,Ruaidrí C Fennell-Rosenallis,Daniel O Reilly-Graiguecullen
Niall Mullen and Con Maher  of Mountmellick
Post by: Uisce on February 25, 2015, 09:45:58 AM
Looks like a strong team on paper! Some serious threat in the forwards especially.

Hard to imagine they will get a huge Laois support going to Wexford on a Wednesday evening but best of luck to the lads and hopefully they can come away with the win.
Post by: redsetanta on February 25, 2015, 10:17:48 AM
That Sean Moore fella, I think someone mentioned that he is of Dublin stock. Has he gone back to the capital?
Post by: Unlaoised on February 25, 2015, 11:00:18 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on February 25, 2015, 10:17:48 AM
That Sean Moore fella, I think someone mentioned that he is of Dublin stock. Has he gone back to the capital?

No I think your mixing up Sean George who is about 23 and gone from Mountmellick back to Ballymun Kickams he has won an u21 medal with Dublin

Sean Moore is from Ballyfin he might be only 18 or so his brother James is lining out at centre forward tonight
Post by: Heshs Umpire on February 25, 2015, 12:03:04 PM
Marty Scully and Eoin Lowry are big losses. Would be far more confident if those two were available.
Post by: OTF on February 25, 2015, 01:38:26 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on February 25, 2015, 12:03:04 PM
Marty Scully and Eoin Lowry are big losses. Would be far more confident if those two were available.

Are they injured Hesh.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on February 25, 2015, 01:49:11 PM
Quote from: OTF on February 25, 2015, 01:38:26 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on February 25, 2015, 12:03:04 PM

Are they injured Hesh.

Don't know, sorry.
Post by: Faugheen on February 25, 2015, 02:26:12 PM
Did Eoin Lowry come on as a sub for the seniors against Cavan... only lasted 10 mins, came off with a hamstring injury.
Post by: OTF on February 25, 2015, 08:54:08 PM
Well done lads,that a fine win on the road.
Post by: Unlaoised on February 25, 2015, 10:10:07 PM
Superb win will give the lads a great boost for the weekend
Post by: Heshs Umpire on February 25, 2015, 10:14:39 PM
Great result - didn't make it to Wexford as visiting a sick relative but big boost for us!

Bring on the Dubs!
Post by: SCFC on February 25, 2015, 11:20:33 PM
Greetings all. I was Shane Cooke Fan Club on Laoistalk, have gone for an abbreviated version here!
Great win for 21's in Enniscorthy tonight, thrilled for Derek Conroy, one of the nice guys in football. 
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 26, 2015, 12:37:28 AM
Good display in the second half from Laois tonight after a slow enough first half. We went 4 points behind and were being outplayed until Tom Shiels scored a goal with the fist which drove us on and we levelled it at half time.

We really looked up for it at the start of the second half and scored three points on the trot. They came back but we really started to dominate midfield with some great work by Alan Farrell and the forwards started to get some good ball. Wexford seemed to tire a bit and we really started to play and scored a few more goals towards the end.
This win should give them the confidence which seemed to be lacking early on in the game and we finished strongly but a start like that next day will not be good enough but i'm sure Derek Conway will let them know that..

Great to see a few from Laoistalk finding their way over here... Howdy guys.. :D
Post by: Unlaoised on February 26, 2015, 09:53:46 AM
Derek Conroy I think you mean Junior....

Yeah a great win Was Dean Cullen injured after 15 minutes or why was he taken off?

Will Eoin Lowry and Martin Scully be back for the Dubs...

I hope a few can go and watch them in O'Moore Park next wednesday!
Post by: scaldy on February 26, 2015, 10:43:14 AM
Dean cullen and Rob dowling  where only getting over a dose neither of them looked up to there best,Evan Carroll i thought was immense wexford could not handle him at all, first team in a while to go and get a good win away fro home.. 
Post by: Unlaoised on February 26, 2015, 11:17:47 AM
Who were the named subs on the programe Scaldy?

Who performed well ?

The half forward line looked like it had a good day?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 26, 2015, 12:06:01 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on February 26, 2015, 09:53:46 AM
Derek Conroy I think you mean Junior....

Of course I do, sorry for that slip, I must be getting old.... :-[
This was the Laois team and subs used.

A O'Reilly; L Knowles, K Lennon, C Dunne; P O'Sullivan, C Hogan, R Dowling; D Cullen, A Farrell (0-1); P Kingston (0-4, two frees), J Moore (0-3), N Murphy; E Keane (1-0), E O'Carroll (1-1), T Shiels (2-2, two frees).

Subs: N Mullen (0-1) for Cullen (20); A Campion for Dowling (ht); D O'Reilly for Murphy (50); C Maher for Moore (54).
Post by: Unlaoised on February 26, 2015, 12:13:59 PM
Were you at the game Junior??

Did the programme only have the 24 named I heard we had 28 togged out?

Post by: redsetanta on February 26, 2015, 02:32:02 PM
Great to be on here reading about a win for Laois football. The Dubs will be a far bigger test but hopefully they go out and do themselves proud. We have a decent set of forwards so if the backs can keep the Dubs scoring down we might be in with a shout. It will take a serious effort though. They will need a good crowd there as the Dubs will bring a fair few considering how many live in the county.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 28, 2015, 12:46:14 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on February 26, 2015, 12:13:59 PM
Were you at the game Junior??

Did the programme only have the 24 named I heard we had 28 togged out?

Got there late, bad road conditions and didn't get a programme but there certainly seemed to be more than 24 on the panel.

This is the team and panal that were named.

1. Adam O Reilly,         Mountmellick
2. Liam Knowles,          Stradbally
3. Kieran Lennon,         Timahoe
4. Conor Dunne,           Portlaoise
5. Patrick O Sullivan,    Portarlington
6. Conor Hogan,           Courtwood
7. Robbie Dowling,       The Heath
8. Dean Cullen,            Portlaoise
9. Alan Farrell,   (C)      Ballylinan
10. Paul Kingston,        Arles Killeen
11. James Moore,         Ballyfin
12. Nigel Murphy,         Emo
13. Evin Keane,            The Heath
14. Evan O Carroll.       Crettyard
15. Tom Sheils,            Stradbally
16. Aaron Cooney,        St. Joseph's
17. Adam Campion,      St. Joseph's
18. Eoin Buggie,           Stradbally
19. Ruaidrí C Fennell,    Rosenallis,
20. Niall Mullen,           Mountmellick
21. Daniel O Reilly,        Graiguecullen
22. Con Maher,              Mountmellick
23. Michael Keogh,        St. Joseph's
24. Danny Hickey,        St. Joseph's
Post by: Barney Army on March 03, 2015, 09:14:53 PM
Is the team named? Lowry back from injury?
Post by: Unlaoised on March 04, 2015, 11:27:34 AM
Anyone know the team?
Post by: Giovanni on March 04, 2015, 11:43:01 AM
You'd have to imagine it would be very similar to the last day out. It's a big night for the lads. I hope they can give a good account of themselves and I think they can. There seems to be a few goals in the full forward line, which is obviously a big plus.
Post by: Unlaoised on March 04, 2015, 12:49:02 PM
Hope Lowry and scully are back to add strenght to the team...O'Carroll will probably have to play out the field but i'd love to see him in at full forward
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on March 05, 2015, 12:03:00 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B_RtAMFXAAA_Y2u.jpg:large)

Great effort by the lads tonight, were behind by seven points early on with Dublin cruising but we never gave up and went in at half time only 3 points behind at 2-5 to 1-11, the goals coming from Tom Sheil and Alan Farrell.

We scored four points without reply in the second half and actually led 2-9 to 1-11. We missed three scoreable points in that period which could have really put us in the driving seat but instead Dublin came at us and rattled off seven points in a row and a goal just at the end to finish off a brave challenge by our lads.

The final score was 2-21 to 2-10 but it was a close game for long periods and not as one sided as the scoreline suggests.

Post by: TomBoy on March 05, 2015, 07:26:34 AM
Credit where it is due, this Laois team performed strongly for 30 minutes against a Dublin team who are All-Ireland minor champions in this age group. We started very slowly and went 4 or 5 points down within six minutes. But after that the lads battled back to eventually take a one point lead in the 40th minute, before missing three very scorable shots, after which the Dubs class seen them push on.

A few positives came to mind while watching the game. Alan Farrell was outstanding in midfield, he was always willing to carry the ball if needs be and he constantly supported the man on the ball. Evan O'Carroll's workrate was incredible. I have never seen a lad get through as much work as he did in the first half. Ultimately, I think he tired towards the end as a result but as very solid performance from him. I thought Dicey O'Reilly was very impressive also. Some of the forward movement was a joy to watch with men taking the ball off shoulders at pace. The foot passing was pacey and accurate and some of the point taking was good.

But, I felt Dublin were always that gear or two ahead of us. They easily cut through our defence when they pleased. And even though I thought some of our forward movement was impressive, theirs was on a different level altogether. They are a very strong outfit with excellent players, both physically and mentally in terms of their vision and ability.

A large number of this team are available for u21 next year and I think credit has to go to Derek Conroy who had this team well prepared. An 11 point beating didn't reflect the game which was hard fought for the majority of the match. This has probably been one of the better u21 campaigns in recent years, compared to the 20 point drubbings we have received from the Dubs and Kildare in the past.
Post by: Giovanni on March 05, 2015, 12:21:36 PM
Couldn't make the game last night but followed on Twitter. Delighted to see them make a good fist of it.

Agree with TomBoy about Evan O Carroll. With the seniors over the last few games, I thought himself and Graham Brody showed great maturity and work rate for such young lads. Although the team wasn't doing great, those two lads stood out for me. Great to see a few coming through like that. Congrats to Derek Conroy too on a job well done.
Post by: Unlaoised on March 05, 2015, 01:13:49 PM
Good report by Tomboy it sums it up well...

Laois done very well to come back from what looked like it was going to be a very one sided game after 10 minutes.

Laois seemed to tire on the 45 minute mark to a man they were out on their feet whereas Dublin looked like they would play all night.

They are physically much stronger than our lads its noticeable in the tackle most of the Dubs have Arms and Legs like tree trunks they look like Professional soccer players on the pitch if I'm honest.
Although we have some big tall chaps only a few our our lads look as conditioned as them which is understandable when you know the money thats pumped into the Dublin set up from an early age...

On the Plus side
We never gave up and took the lead on 10 minutes into the second half.

Evan O'Carroll was outstanding and was the best player on the pitch especially in the first half and most of the second Dublin brought on a stopped to try and stop him and the number 20 was lucky to stay on the pitch.

Young Lennon at full back done well on the Much talked about McHugh from Dublin.

Hogan from Courtwood was decent at number 6.

Farrell was excellent along side O'Carroll in a midfield battle that Laois won against the Two Dublin Senior footballers.

Moore was good in the first half linking well with O'carroll but faded.

Eoin Lowry looked like he was still carrying a leg but he won all the ball that went into him he missed two great goal chances in the first half and looked rusty but never gave up.

Tom Shiel was impressive in spells but missed 3 scoreable frees at vital times he did however get a cracking goal from a tight angle which lead to a great roar from the Laois support that was there.

Kingston took one glorious point in the first half and took on his man to give Laois the lead in the second with a Superb score agian and he battled well all game...

Derek Conroy must be credited for having this Laois team well prepared and I think we would give most teams in Leinster a game if not beat them apart from what is the Machine they call Dublin.

Roll on next Sunday Laois football has got another boost for me after this!

Evan O'Carroll deserves special praise for the effort and performance I hope he can keep this going for the year!

Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on March 05, 2015, 01:27:34 PM
Just moved to laois so went along to watch last night. Would agree with a lot the previous posts in terms of the positives from the match. Where laois could have improved was stopping the short kick outs, which at times they did very well but switched off too often. The full forward line for me didnt do enough or tackle hard enough when Dublin were coming out of defensive. The first goal no. 15 pretty much let his man walk past him which started the move.

The 3 missed scores were a turning point but even still I think Laois need to bring on 5 fresh players around the 40 minute mark to deal with Dublin fitness levels and orate full & half forward line more.

Overall very enjoyable match and Laois can be very proud of their performance. I think I heard a lot of the panel underage again next year.

Post by: Teo Lurley on March 05, 2015, 01:37:14 PM
A good, battling performance. We should get a few of these lads coming through for the seniors in the next few years. O'Carroll is obviously already there and a few more on the panel. Not many teams will give Dublin a game this year I don't think. Even though it was an 11 point defeat in the end you have to be a little bit encouraged. It's a huge improvement on the last few years anyway.
Post by: redsetanta on March 05, 2015, 05:32:53 PM
Great battling display from Laois and as others have said those 3 poor efforts for scores just after Laois took the lead played into Dublins hands. IF Laois had gone 3 or 4 points up maybe a bit of doubt would have upset the dubs.

Hopefully the GAA will pull back with the funds they are ploughing into Dublin and send it to counties who also need it. Anyow maybe these lads will mature and progress to the senior side. Good to see something like 2-07 from play.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on March 05, 2015, 07:43:24 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B_Up5jNXEAAGNbp.jpg)

Derek Conroy speaking to Jack Nolan after the game last night.
https://t.co/QSSx9O9QLm (https://t.co/QSSx9O9QLm)
Post by: County Man on March 06, 2015, 12:22:45 PM
Want to commend the players and management on Wednesday nights brave display. Put a lot of pride back into Laois football which is badly needed.

Evan O'Carroll put in a massive shift and showed true leadership with his 2 excellent points early in the second half. Also a mention for Alan Farrell who looked lively and also got a fine goal early on to bring Laois into the game.

The scoreline flattered Dublin but they do look like a serious outfit who will take some stopping going forward this year.
Post by: SCFC on March 15, 2015, 09:10:16 PM
Great effort by the lads last week - there looks to be a few potential seniors in there. And a lot of them under 21 next year too, I believe.