Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Quote from: paddyjohn on January 23, 2021, 11:58:50 PM
Jaysus lads enough of the Aldergrove bashing. A club who are doing their best through hard times for the parish and community. Yes it can be a rough set up but name me a perfect club?

A wee bit of respect for all our clubs wouldn't go a miss.

What's going on with their ground at the minute? There was meant to be houses being built on the land a while back. I think they're in limbo and can't really commit to improving facilities or the pitch if they don't know they're going to be moved on from their pitch.

Jesus lads! Aldergrove are a progressive club, intermediate champions recently and a yo yo club in div 1 but gaining loads of experience which will help improve them further..

Facilities wise they've better changing rooms than ours and I can remember not so so long ago that our own pitch, and other grounds like the Bear pit and similar surfaces.

In my playing days I can remember countless north Antrim and South west Antrim clubs were you got changed in the car, things have improved to the point that these places are as good if not better than some professional soccer grounds. 

Once they get a proper home I'm sure they'll surpass other facilities around the county

whatwillbwillb

Quote from: Dunsilly King on January 23, 2021, 06:38:32 PM
Quote from: whatwillbwillb on January 23, 2021, 05:23:08 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on January 23, 2021, 05:06:28 PM
Good of Ronan Clarke to drive to Crumlin to take Aldergrove.

Great Scalp to get, wish we could get him, not as far for a start for him to travel.

Don't see it ass great scalp, has he coached/won anything of note? Or than being an excounty player with a Celtic cross medal

FFs DK Ive met the lad over the last few years absolute gent, great way with him, kids lap him up and Aldergrove have an abundance of young talent like ourselves..and so what if he doesn't have a CV established yet gotta start somewhere...look at Madden and the likes 10 fortunes for services and won FA ..mercenaries one and all... Its not all about the facilities ours are well past their sell by date.

whatwillbwillb

And another thing while Im on, why so quiet on Gealfast situation lads? Come out of the woodwork and bash the shite outta Aldergrove , but not whats going on behind the scenes at CB and officer levels around PD and why he jumped!

bannside

It is not in our countys interest to have a full on discussion on this forum about Gaelfast. Every sports journalist in the country would be making hay on it come their next lazy news day. And once again Antrim Gaa would be a laughing stock. Is that really what anyone wants.

This shouldnt be mixed up with suppression of information.Or people being yes men. Its about trying to understand where the fault lines are, who is responsible, and how the situation can be corrected and put back on track. There are 4 partners involved in Gaelfast funding. In these exceptionally precarious times financially we need to ensure all those invested parties that these internal difficulties will be rectified.

Two very capable and respected people involved in the programme have stepped away. Neither have publicly articulated their views reasons....because...they still have the welfare and future of Antrim GAA at heart. They both have more than enough connections and clout to make sure that the people that need to know the facts have that information. We should respect that and take their lead in that regard.

If someone has overstepped their authority, or wrongly interfered with the way Gaelfast was being managed, then make no mistake this will be properly investigated and there should be no hiding place if anyone has overstepped their position.

Quote from: bannside on January 24, 2021, 10:52:53 AM
It is not in our countys interest to have a full on discussion on this forum about Gaelfast. Every sports journalist in the country would be making hay on it come their next lazy news day. And once again Antrim Gaa would be a laughing stock. Is that really what anyone wants.

This shouldnt be mixed up with suppression of information.Or people being yes men. Its about trying to understand where the fault lines are, who is responsible, and how the situation can be corrected and put back on track. There are 4 partners involved in Gaelfast funding. In these exceptionally precarious times financially we need to ensure all those invested parties that these internal difficulties will be rectified.

Two very capable and respected people involved in the programme have stepped away. Neither have publicly articulated their views reasons....because...they still have the welfare and future of Antrim GAA at heart. They both have more than enough connections and clout to make sure that the people that need to know the facts have that information. We should respect that and take their lead in that regard.

If someone has overstepped their authority, or wrongly interfered with the way Gaelfast was being managed, then make no mistake this will be properly investigated and there should be no hiding place if anyone has overstepped their position.

Where does Gaelfest go from here BS and what'll Croke Park be doing?

People hiding behind anonymous names on a public forum seeking information about people's reasons for stepping aside, shouldn't really be taken seriously.

There are lots of avenues this information can be found, if they are involved in their club or county I'm sure they could ask.

whatwillbwillb

Bannside lot time for you but get real on the last statement, who's gonna risk that one!!

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2021, 11:53:10 AM
People hiding behind anonymous names on a public forum seeking information about people's reasons for stepping aside, shouldn't really be taken seriously.

And again MR your still heavily involved like Bannside and credit again but you know they read this forum also so cant really expect you to call it out either!

bannside

Exactly MR. Every club has 2 delegates to CC, thats the group of people who ultimately hold the ultimate authority in any county. Ask your club delegate whats happening, thats the system. Even
The elected county executive officers report to this body, and seek approval, consent or ratification for all decisions. Thats the system. Anyone operating outside those confines deserve to and will get their knuckles wrapped if or when appropriate.

Belfast GAA man

why havE you such faith in our county leadershp?
Div 4 football 3 years / casement closed 10 years / 2 senior peoplE resigned from Gfast and I could go on
if we all kept Quiet we woul still have the brits on our streets

delgany

Quote from: Belfast GAA man on January 24, 2021, 01:19:32 PM
Div 4 football 3 years / casement closed 10 years / 2 senior peoplE resigned from Gfast and I could go on
County Committee Meeting Tomorrow night - 25th- so possibly an explanation will be given

Quote from: Belfast GAA man on January 24, 2021, 01:19:32 PM

Would it not be out of respect that washing washing your dirt in public is not a good thing? Or do you normally go about your business like that? Seems strange why you'd want to have that attention.

Like what's said already there are plenty of avenues to get the information you need. Why you feel dragging it out on an anonymous forum is probably not the best way forward

Belfast GAA man

So u thinK Croke who fork out  70% of the gaelfast moneY make their decisions after reading discussions boards ... wise up! too many yes men on this board  :)

Quote from: Belfast GAA man on January 24, 2021, 05:17:06 PM
So u thinK Croke who fork out  70% of the gaelfast moneY make their decisions after reading discussions boards ... wise up! too many yes men on this board  :)

What are you on about?

If you want to sit behind a computer screen and not name yourself and have a go at people, then dive in, no one is stopping you.

Belfast GAA man

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2021, 05:30:32 PM
Quote from: Belfast GAA man on January 24, 2021, 05:17:06 PM

What are you on about?

If you want to sit behind a computer screen and not name yourself and have a go at people, then dive in, no one is stopping you.
tut tut usual reply when Have no argument - Most people remain anonYmous on these boards and thats how they are run. So wat gives any of us confidence Co board can sort this out?
why dontu find a discussioN board where u have give your name and photo?