Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: trailer on October 24, 2023, 11:15:42 AM

Title: Self Improvement Gurus
Post by: trailer on October 24, 2023, 11:15:42 AM
Saw the clip of Jake Humprhey and Gordon Ramsay were Ramsay talks about having to sell his Porsche to get a deposit for a flat as his father in law wouldn't lend him the money. Both come across as f**king arseholes. Humphrey seems to frame himself as some against all odds, high performance character, maybe he is, but he comes out with a lot of nonsense. 5am starts bullshit.

But it got me thinking there now seems to be a proliferation of these absolute rods and rodettes selling some 10x bullshit self improvement course that promises to catapult your life into the realm of a trillionaire.

You need to get up at 4am, meditate on a treadmill, run a half marathon, journal, drink some monkey dung coffee bean and get into the office at 5:30. #winning

Tom Smyth, Kym Calvert, Grant Cardone and many others. Complete frauds who at least appear to be making a clean fortune from people. It's the modern day equivalent of magic beans. You have to just manifest it.

On TikTok and other social media you can spot other arseholes pivoting into this space. Many are PTs who are largely unintelligent, incoherent conspiracy lovers.

Has anyone done any of these courses? Or any first hand experience?   
Title: Re: Self Improvement Gurus
Post by: gallsman on October 24, 2023, 11:34:47 AM
Quote from: trailer on October 24, 2023, 11:15:42 AMSaw the clip of Jake Humprhey and Gordon Ramsay were Ramsay talks about having to sell his Porsche to get a deposit for a flat as his father in law wouldn't lend him the money. Both come across as f**king arseholes. Humphrey seems to frame himself as some against all odds, high performance character, maybe he is, but he comes out with a lot of nonsense. 5am starts bullshit.

But it got me thinking there now seems to be a proliferation of these absolute rods and rodettes selling some 10x bullshit self improvement course that promises to catapult your life into the realm of a trillionaire.

You need to get up at 4am, meditate on a treadmill, run a half marathon, journal, drink some monkey dung coffee bean and get into the office at 5:30. #winning

Tom Smyth, Kym Calvert, Grant Cardone and many others. Complete frauds who at least appear to be making a clean fortune from people. It's the modern day equivalent of magic beans. You have to just manifest it.

On TikTok and other social media you can spot other arseholes pivoting into this space. Many are PTs who are largely unintelligent, incoherent conspiracy lovers.

This **** needs a sledgehammer to the face asap. Absolute f**king spoofer. Was calling himself The Wolf of Belfast at one stage.

Was wondering how long it would be before that interview came up on the board. Humphrey is an unbearable bollocks.
Post by: tintin25 on October 24, 2023, 11:51:58 AM
I think there is some merit in what they are saying and it's not all total BS, however; you'll find the majority of their material in any decent book.  I attended a course myself, however; it wasn't to do with manifestation or anything like that but was more about empowerment and self improvement in the work place etc - found it very helpful.  I've noticed there are more and more in GAA circles that seem to be preaching the whole mindfulness and gratitude thing too.
Post by: toby47 on October 24, 2023, 02:13:00 PM
Personal Trainer turning into lifestyle coaches. Then going on to tell people how to grow their businesses, then becoming mindset coaches. Full of shite the lot of them.
Post by: general_lee on October 24, 2023, 02:35:15 PM
Big fan of that Andy Malone clown from Newry. You know he's made it as a proper big shot when he's flat out making TikToks with only Facebook ma's and people laughing at him for an audience.
Post by: tintin25 on October 24, 2023, 02:53:47 PM
Going off the manifestation topic,  but I'm seeing corporate companies bring in your buck from Rory's Stories for talks - now that's just pure stupidity and a waste of money.
Post by: LC on October 24, 2023, 04:36:19 PM
Would have a keen interest in this field and indeed would have made a few changes in my life in recent years which have helped me a lot e.g. getting up early, going to the gym 3 times a week, taking up running plus business wise things have improved year on year.  There are some decent pod casts / books out there which you can get a few nuggets that help give you a bit of focus at times on all such fronts.

For by gym membership and an apple podcast subscription that has been the height of the outlay.  The fact that people are gullible enough to pay some of the individuals listed above several ££££s is frightening.
Post by: gallsman on October 24, 2023, 06:05:33 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on October 24, 2023, 02:53:47 PMGoing off the manifestation topic,  but I'm seeing corporate companies bring in your buck from Rory's Stories for talks - now that's just pure stupidity and a waste of money.

Another gobshite of epic proportions. Social media engagement was dying, took a barrel load of criticism for how unfunny his sketches were and then pivoted to being a mental health advocate.
Post by: jcpen on October 24, 2023, 06:15:43 PM
No doubt those who have issues with people promoting getting up early and working out/running etc are fat fcuks whose only form of exercise is reaching for the remote control.
Post by: gallsman on October 24, 2023, 06:38:09 PM
Quote from: jcpen on October 24, 2023, 06:15:43 PMNo doubt those who have issues with people promoting getting up early and working out/running etc are fat fcuks whose only form of exercise is reaching for the remote control.

Exercise and more and better sleep are healthy. Well done all those guys on their valuable insights and for imparting them to an ignorant population. Now check out this week's sponsor.

Grifters every last one of them.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2023, 06:43:38 PM
Tom Smyth of "Ophrah Winfrey" fame.  ;D  What a rocket!

https://www.instagram.com/reel/Cw7c88iIx4-/?igshid=MzRlODBiNWFlZA==

Post by: gallsman on October 24, 2023, 06:52:56 PM
Leave him alone. He gets up early to go to the gym. Give him your life savings at a seminar and you can be as successful as him too.
Post by: LC on October 24, 2023, 07:06:51 PM
Winners win   ;)
Post by: Kidder81 on October 24, 2023, 07:08:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 24, 2023, 06:05:33 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on October 24, 2023, 02:53:47 PMGoing off the manifestation topic,  but I'm seeing corporate companies bring in your buck from Rory's Stories for talks - now that's just pure stupidity and a waste of money.

Another gobshite of epic proportions. Social media engagement was dying, took a barrel load of criticism for how unfunny his sketches were and then pivoted to being a mental health advocate.

I know a girl who was doing a bit of singing, wasn't really working out so she started on Instagram trying to be a "life coach", preaching about being happy, the "best version" of yourself & material things didn't matter.

She was trying to get eejits to pay to go to her "mindful workshops", mustn't have worked out as  she has done a full 360& it's all now about manifestation and she said she has made a few hundred grand by wanting it to happen 😞.

It's a bit like being a medium, preying on peoples vulnerabilities.

My rule is if someone is offering advice and wants paid for it, it's a grift.

We have a few in the GAA circle not far off it on the circuit at the minute.
Post by: JoG2 on October 24, 2023, 07:18:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2023, 06:43:38 PMTom Smyth of "Ophrah Winfrey" fame.  ;D  What a rocket!

https://www.instagram.com/reel/Cw7c88iIx4-/?igshid=MzRlODBiNWFlZA==

Now that was a laugh out loud clip 😂
Post by: thewobbler on October 24, 2023, 09:01:30 PM
As a phenomenon it has the same basis as cocaine i.e. it's a sign that there's too much much money sloshing around, and it hasn't brought the desired happiness.
Post by: RedHand88 on October 24, 2023, 09:07:52 PM
This is the greatest new thread I've seen in a long time. Fantastic work.

Don't get me started on Tom Smyth the wolf of Belfast. There was someone in work who was singing his praises. The same someone was on his 3rd job in a year and had his ma doing his washing at 26. #winnerswin
Post by: Armagh18 on October 24, 2023, 09:08:48 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 24, 2023, 11:34:47 AM
Quote from: trailer on October 24, 2023, 11:15:42 AMSaw the clip of Jake Humprhey and Gordon Ramsay were Ramsay talks about having to sell his Porsche to get a deposit for a flat as his father in law wouldn't lend him the money. Both come across as f**king arseholes. Humphrey seems to frame himself as some against all odds, high performance character, maybe he is, but he comes out with a lot of nonsense. 5am starts bullshit.

This **** needs a sledgehammer to the face asap. Absolute f**king spoofer. Was calling himself The Wolf of Belfast at one stage.

Was wondering how long it would be before that interview came up on the board. Humphrey is an unbearable bollocks.
Can't stand that Smyth fella. Involved with a few dodgy boys as well isn't he?

Ah well fair play they seem to be earning coin the same boys
Post by: Armagh18 on October 24, 2023, 09:10:16 PM
Quote from: general_lee on October 24, 2023, 02:35:15 PMBig fan of that Andy Malone clown from Newry. You know he's made it as a proper big shot when he's flat out making TikToks with only Facebook ma's and people laughing at him for an audience.
Another tool. But in fairness you'd get a good laugh at him
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 09:11:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 24, 2023, 06:52:56 PMLeave him alone. He gets up early to go to the gym. Give him your life savings at a seminar and you can be as successful as him too.

This guy used to go to DW gym I went to!!

Fecking nuts, he'd be on the the phone like your comedian from trigger happy, Dom Joly, HELLO!!! Then shout his business across the room! 

One line about, pressure makes diamonds!!

Mate sends me the odd clips! Crackers, had scammed a few over the years so any tool supports that shit is... a tool
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2023, 09:16:24 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on October 24, 2023, 07:08:21 PM

I know a girl who was doing a bit of singing, wasn't really working out so she started on Instagram trying to be a "life coach", preaching about being happy, the "best version" of yourself & material things didn't matter.

She was trying to get eejits to pay to go to her "mindful workshops", mustn't have worked out as  she has done a full 360& it's all now about manifestation and she said she has made a few hundred grand by wanting it to happen 😞.

Do any men believe in manifesting wealth and all that shite or is it just women? Make a few quid and get a fancy motor etc. on HP so people think you're rolling in it and that there must be something in manifesting wealth so you sign up. Snake oil.

All this crap basically boils down to getting off your hole and making things happen.

Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2023, 09:19:07 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 09:11:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 24, 2023, 06:52:56 PMLeave him alone. He gets up early to go to the gym. Give him your life savings at a seminar and you can be as successful as him too.

This guy used to go to DW gym I went to!!

Fecking nuts, he'd be on the the phone like your comedian from trigger happy, Dom Joly, HELLO!!! Then shout his business across the room! 

One line about, pressure makes diamonds!!

Mate sends me the odd clips! Crackers, had scammed a few over the years so any tool supports that shit is... a tool
You should watch some of his "day in the life..." videos on Instagram. You'd seriously think it's a Fast Show sketch.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2023, 09:23:01 PM
He and others are homing on the get rich quick merchants who basically in the main can't be arsed working hard to earn.

Yeah the term work smarter not harder but you gotta start working first!
Post by: gallsman on October 24, 2023, 10:25:40 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on October 24, 2023, 09:07:52 PMThis is the greatest new thread I've seen in a long time. Fantastic work.

Don't get me started on Tom Smyth the wolf of Belfast. There was someone in work who was singing his praises. The same someone was on his 3rd job in a year and had his ma doing his washing at 26. #winnerswin

TAKE MASSIVE ACTION
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2023, 10:42:05 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 24, 2023, 10:25:40 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on October 24, 2023, 09:07:52 PMThis is the greatest new thread I've seen in a long time. Fantastic work.

TAKE MASSIVE ACTION
Or I'll send the boys round.
Post by: marty34 on October 24, 2023, 11:16:42 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2023, 09:16:24 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on October 24, 2023, 07:08:21 PM

Do any men believe in manifesting wealth and all that shite or is it just women? Make a few quid and get a fancy motor etc. on HP so people think you're rolling in it and that there must be something in manifesting wealth so you sign up. Snake oil.

All this crap basically boils down to getting off your hole and making things happen.

Don't get me started on clowns who have the fancy number plates.

That's an extension of all the stuff above.

Post by: gallsman on October 25, 2023, 06:50:24 AM
Tom is doing a seminar in the Westbury on November 1st. For 25 quid he'll change your life!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 25, 2023, 08:40:29 AM
Quote from: gallsman on October 25, 2023, 06:50:24 AMTom is doing a seminar in the Westbury on November 1st. For 25 quid he'll change your life!

If he's made it, why bother showing people how to make it? All very confusing.

Post by: johnnycool on October 25, 2023, 08:45:20 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 25, 2023, 08:40:29 AM
Quote from: gallsman on October 25, 2023, 06:50:24 AMTom is doing a seminar in the Westbury on November 1st. For 25 quid he'll change your life!

These self help guru's who've "made it" and only too willing to tell you how you can make it as well, for a small fee obviously

Is this lad Jordan Peterson a different level totally to these other snake oil salemen/women?

Post by: trailer on October 25, 2023, 08:47:01 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on October 25, 2023, 08:45:20 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 25, 2023, 08:40:29 AM

These self help guru's who've "made it" and only too willing to tell you how you can make it as well, for a small fee obviously

Is this lad Jordan Peterson a different level totally to these other snake oil salemen/women?

Ahhy he's different. He's more against the woke stuff.
Post by: gallsman on October 25, 2023, 08:50:59 AM
Peterson is also actually successful. I imagine he's set for life.

These other lads lease supercars and big houses so they can shoot their videos and carry on as if they're multi millionaires but what they're really doing is trying to flog something (a premium tier, seminars, a self published book etc), for which they need relentless social media engagement and therefore pump out endless "content".

Tom had a cracking video where he went to America to meet his hero, Grant Cardone. Basically turned up at the office and behaved as if everyone knew him. Was determined to meet Grant however possible, despite him being in a different city at the time.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 25, 2023, 09:05:54 AM
I think to be successful you need a work ethic a bitta luck and a idea that people will latch onto or need.

There are certain things in life that are always needed and will never go away, if you are selling them, or manufacturing them, then its how you do that successfully will determine how well you do. Its not rocket science or you don't need to go to the Europa Hotel and hear how you can harness your inner crap or whatever they say..

Birth and death

There is money in prams and coffins  ;)
Post by: RedHand88 on October 25, 2023, 10:12:18 AM
Quote from: gallsman on October 25, 2023, 08:50:59 AMPeterson is also actually successful. I imagine he's set for life.

These other lads lease supercars and big houses so they can shoot their videos and carry on as if they're multi millionaires but what they're really doing is trying to flog something (a premium tier, seminars, a self published book etc), for which they need relentless social media engagement and therefore pump out endless "content".

Tom had a cracking video where he went to America to meet his hero, Grant Cardone. Basically turned up at the office and behaved as if everyone knew him. Was determined to meet Grant however possible, despite him being in a different city at the time.

I saw this  ;D was hilarious.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2023, 01:13:00 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 25, 2023, 08:50:59 AMPeterson is also actually successful. I imagine he's set for life.

;D  I'll be watching this later. He is comedy gold!

There was a programme on last night (might have been a Spotlight Special) about some chap from Lisburn called James Blake who is a "marketing influencer". He says that everytime he buys a new car (Lambo, Audi R8 etc.) or watch he has to relentlessly post "content" about it to get engagement and engagement means cash from Insta etc. It must be exhausting! I'm not sure who the audience is for this crap.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on October 25, 2023, 01:34:17 PM
I was blissfully unaware of Messrs Malone and Smyth until I read this thread...
Post by: trailer on October 25, 2023, 01:48:37 PM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on October 25, 2023, 01:34:17 PMI was blissfully unaware of Messrs Malone and Smyth until I read this thread...

Andy Malone is something else all together. Man isn't near square.
Post by: gallsman on October 25, 2023, 02:53:12 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2023, 01:13:00 PM;D  I'll be watching this later. He is comedy gold!

https://youtu.be/gFM_ZhAPtwA?si=BFIFM9lPDBVXZBnT

Good luck lasting all 50 mins.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2023, 01:13:00 PMI'm not sure who the audience is for this crap.

Morons, that's who. There are endless "genres" of the twats but ultimately they're all at the same thing. Instagram "mummy bloggers" are the worst.

There's a gobshite Oxford academic on Twitter who's one of these PhDs who insists on being called doctor. She not infrequently asks people to unfollow and refollow her (to "check something", but in reality to juke the "new follower" stats) while retweeting her endlessly shite straight-out-of-a-textbook opinions.
Post by: Saffrongael on October 25, 2023, 03:25:34 PM
"Control the controllables" is one I have heard a fella in Antrim Gaa circles using more than once, as if he has split the atom
Post by: LC on October 25, 2023, 03:30:36 PM
I seen a lot of TS content where he is up at the crack of dawn and then 'jet setting' on an Easyjet from Belast to Manchester / London......some operator.
Post by: Saffrongael on October 25, 2023, 03:38:31 PM
Was he not a loyalist hood at some stage ?
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2023, 03:41:34 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 25, 2023, 02:53:12 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2023, 01:13:00 PM;D  I'll be watching this later. He is comedy gold!

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2023, 01:13:00 PMI'm not sure who the audience is for this crap.

Morons, that's who. There are endless "genres" of the twats but ultimately they're all at the same thing. Instagram "mummy bloggers" are the worst.

There's a gobshite Oxford academic on Twitter who's one of these PhDs who insists on being called doctor. She not infrequently asks people to unfollow and refollow her (to "check something", but in reality to juke the "new follower" stats) while retweeting her endlessly shite straight-out-of-a-textbook opinions.
@OxfordDiplomat by any chance? She's a dose. Followed her briefly a few years ago but was an awful arsehole so got binned in quick time.

Post by: johnnycool on October 25, 2023, 04:13:22 PM
I know it's slightly different but sometimes you shouldn't laugh at these hoors, my twins used to watch this American/Chinese Kid and his ma and Da doing mundane enough shíte, Ryans World and it turns out the bolloxes were earning millions per year from their channel...

Post by: gallsman on October 25, 2023, 05:20:26 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2023, 03:41:34 PM@OxfordDiplomat by any chance? She's a dose. Followed her briefly a few years ago but was an awful arsehole so got binned in quick time.

That's her.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 25, 2023, 05:35:52 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on October 25, 2023, 04:13:22 PMI know it's slightly different but sometimes you shouldn't laugh at these hoors, my twins used to watch this American/Chinese Kid and his ma and Da doing mundane enough shíte, Ryans World and it turns out the bolloxes were earning millions per year from their channel...

It's still crap regardless of the earnings and the dumbing down of life!!

My wife would watch endless videos on TikTok, I told her it will give her dementia lol
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on October 25, 2023, 06:50:30 PM
Tiktok v Milltown. Tough choice 🤣🤣🤣
Post by: Eire90 on October 25, 2023, 07:41:24 PM
what about your living breathing man from newry declan is he into that stuff
Post by: marty34 on October 25, 2023, 08:09:48 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 25, 2023, 09:05:54 AMI think to be successful you need a work ethic a bitta luck and a idea that people will latch onto or need.

There are certain things in life that are always needed and will never go away, if you are selling them, or manufacturing them, then its how you do that successfully will determine how well you do. Its not rocket science or you don't need to go to the Europa Hotel and hear how you can harness your inner crap or whatever they say..

Birth and death

Define success?

Surely not money?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 25, 2023, 08:18:45 PM
Quote from: marty34 on October 25, 2023, 08:09:48 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 25, 2023, 09:05:54 AMI think to be successful you need a work ethic a bitta luck and a idea that people will latch onto or need.

Birth and death

Define success?

Surely not money?

Success in your career will provide plenty of things, job satisfaction, self worth, happiness, status among your peers, longevity, stability and with that money, how much you earn is down to you..

How many people love going to work?

I really enjoy working.

Haven't took a 'sickie' in 24 years and it pretty much sums up my list above

Post by: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2023, 08:35:06 PM

Off to a bad start when he pointed the camera at a BA plane saying he was getting on this beauty then it shows him getting on an Aer Lingus flight.
Post by: Saffrongael on October 25, 2023, 08:48:34 PM
You just know it's going to go tits up and the guard will slip & he will make the front page of the Sunday World, after battering some fella with a baseball bat when being on the gear for three days
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 25, 2023, 08:50:34 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2023, 08:35:06 PM

Off to a bad start when he pointed the camera at a BA plane saying he was getting on this beauty then it shows him getting on an Aer Lingus flight.
[/quot
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 25, 2023, 08:35:06 PM

I like the sound of my own voice but.... This guy is Olympic level
Post by: RedHand88 on October 25, 2023, 09:22:48 PM
I watched his video of him going around LA, implying that he's so truly blessed to be seeing the sights like the Chinese theatre, Rodeo drive etc. I've been to these places. They are the stereotypical tacky touristy spots you expect them to be. Same with New York and times square. Meh. You're not that special mate. What we have here is a classic case of a man filming his holiday and posting it on YouTube.
Post by: tintin25 on October 25, 2023, 09:26:45 PM
I tell ya, there's a lot to be said for living a simple, stress free life.  I'm seeing more of this crap on LinkedIn too.
Post by: Saffrongael on October 25, 2023, 09:31:13 PM
https://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sunday-life/news/cops-close-case-over-incident-at-premises-run-by-businessman-with-flats-in-belfast/455805025.html

"Convicted fraudster"

Police in England are no longer investigating an allegation of assault made against a fraudster turned businessman who runs a serviced apartments firm with flats in Belfast.
Tom Smyth previously dismissed claims he attacked a resident at one of his company's properties in Manchester as "fake news".

The matter is no longer being investigated by Greater Manchester Police.

It is understood the force was "unable to identify a suspect" and has now brought the investigation to a close.

Smyth, who had 19 houses confiscated by organised crime cops, is the managing director of Dream Apartments, which has locations across the UK, including Belfast, Liverpool, Newcastle and Manchester.

He spoke out last December to deny shoving the man during a row over conditions at the apartment block. Mr Smyth and Dream Apartments also deny the individual was a resident or customer

Greater Manchester Police confirmed it had been called to a report of an assault.

Speaking to Sunday Life at the time, Smyth strongly denied assaulting the man and insisted he would be exonerated by CCTV. His solicitor also contacted us to say they had spoken with a third party who had reviewed the CCTV and did not see any physical altercation.

It is understood a number of residents at the block were unhappy with conditions said to include stains on carpets, walls and bedding, damaged furniture and access problems. The company said in December: "We are pleased to confirm that the apartments at our Manchester location are undergoing an upgrade as part of a phased refurbishment plan. We look forward to welcoming guests for a short break or an extended stay."

The Serious Organised Crime Agency (Soca) was granted a recovery order against Smyth in 2012 for 19 fraudulently obtained properties.

Mr Justice Treacy deemed his portfolio to be from the proceeds of crime. The recovered assets included his family home at Ballynure and 18 other buy-to-let houses in Co Antrim and Liverpool. Soca said he obtained the properties through mortgage fraud, tax evasion and money laundering. The businessman uses brash social media videos to promote his lifestyle and business interests.

Post by: toby47 on October 26, 2023, 09:22:34 AM
Quote from: tintin25 on October 25, 2023, 09:26:45 PMI tell ya, there's a lot to be said for living a simple, stress free life.  I'm seeing more of this crap on LinkedIn too.

Jeez it's another load of shite too isn't it
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 26, 2023, 10:12:04 AM
What I like about Linkedin is people offering me jobs!!!!

Post by: imtommygunn on October 26, 2023, 10:26:03 AM
LinkedIn is riddled with crap. I am really successful and you could be too. Just get up at 4 am every day, ignore your family , go to the gym, pretend you don't ignore your family, go to work and be laser focused then go to bed at 8 pm. Tell everyone you're really happy even though it sounds like a horrendous life.
Post by: johnnycool on October 26, 2023, 10:49:18 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 26, 2023, 10:12:04 AMWhat I like about Linkedin is people offering me jobs!!!!

Nosey hoor like yourself will be checking whose viewed your profile and say you're being head hunted  ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 26, 2023, 10:52:20 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on October 26, 2023, 10:49:18 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 26, 2023, 10:12:04 AMWhat I like about Linkedin is people offering me jobs!!!!

Nosey hoor like yourself will be checking whose viewed your profile and say you're being head hunted  ;D

If there are buck eejits headhunting me then they are in the wrong job!

I only nip into it maybe once a month just to scroll through the pure backslapping shite people post!

I hate lickarses
Post by: imtommygunn on October 26, 2023, 11:08:19 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on October 26, 2023, 10:49:18 AM

;D  Wife's cousin running round telling everyone in family that he was head hunted. Aka someone sent a phishing email on linkedin and you happened to get the job  ;D
Post by: tintin25 on October 26, 2023, 11:14:47 AM
It has its uses and to be honest I found a new job after being 'headhunted' myself lol but the amount of disingenuous posts and people blowing smoke up each others arses is off the scale these days.  Your true friends aren't made on LinkedIn that's for sure.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 26, 2023, 11:19:02 AM
Yeah tbh I would use it if I wanted to change job. Some amount of shite on it like you say.
Post by: Deerstalker on October 26, 2023, 12:22:01 PM
So are we to assume this Tom Smyth character is money laundering, going by that Bel Tel article & this guru shit is just a front ?

I just can't believe for a minute anyone would give this brain dead clown a penny for mentoring or advice
Post by: RedHand88 on October 26, 2023, 01:15:22 PM
A quick look through Companies House tells you all you need to know...
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 27, 2023, 10:50:41 AM
This is a thread ive been waiting on for a long time.

The world has increasingly become full of people who, if they were a bar of chocolate, would lick themselves to death and this all feeds into it. The lack of humility and self-awareness is astounding.

LinkedIn is an absolute cesspit for narcissists and self-obsessed idiots. Its awash with recruiters not to mention materialistic pricks with little or no substance. I guess its all a reflection of society and how social media and self-promotion are the only games in town for people.

I get that businesses need to be promoted and some platforms are key to this. We are saturated and bombarded with self-help gurus, life coaches, property gurus, self-made success stories, genius entrepreneurs and business experts from all walks of life. If they arent back-slapping and blowing smoke up each others arses, they are telling the world how great they are.
Its a total dumbing down of society and people are so thick they slavishly follow and buy into it all.
Post by: Armagh18 on October 27, 2023, 11:31:56 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on October 27, 2023, 10:50:41 AMThis is a thread ive been waiting on for a long time.

The world has increasingly become full of people who, if they were a bar of chocolate, would lick themselves to death and this all feeds into it. The lack of humility and self-awareness is astounding.

LinkedIn is an absolute cesspit for narcissists and self-obsessed idiots. Its awash with recruiters not to mention materialistic pricks with little or no substance. I guess its all a reflection of society and how social media and self-promotion are the only games in town for people.

I get that businesses need to be promoted and some platforms are key to this. We are saturated and bombarded with self-help gurus, life coaches, property gurus, self-made success stories, genius entrepreneurs and business experts from all walks of life. If they arent back-slapping and blowing smoke up each others arses, they are telling the world how great they are.
Its a total dumbing down of society and people are so thick they slavishly follow and buy into it all.
What do half these boys actually do? Like I've a lot of pts and stuff on social media that have made themselves millionaires but they've literally changed thousands of lives. What do these other gobshites do/sell? Other than courses of them talking shite?

And don't get me started on these day in the life influencers. Post every moment of their day bar taking a shite.

Post by: general_lee on October 27, 2023, 12:06:12 PM
It's the ugly side of social media and unfortunately there is money to be made.

Every **** and his granny has started a podcast, become a PT, thinks they're an influencer, a food reviewer, an interior designer, a lifestyle guru.

TikTok seems to be the platform of choice where for some reason one post can go viral much easier than Facebook, instagram etc. The GAA ones are the best, some pube barely out of minor giving nutritional advice and telling people what training they should be doing. It's a laugh at times but also incredibly cringey.
Post by: theskull1 on October 27, 2023, 12:38:45 PM
Has Johnny Adair and Tommy Smyth ever been seen in the same room together? That's who he reminds me of (adding the turkey teeth and hair transplant)

Post by: Taylor on October 27, 2023, 12:46:07 PM
Quote from: general_lee on October 27, 2023, 12:06:12 PMIt's the ugly side of social media and unfortunately there is money to be made.

Every **** and his granny has started a podcast, become a PT, thinks they're an influencer, a food reviewer, an interior designer, a lifestyle guru.

TikTok seems to be the platform of choice where for some reason one post can go viral much easier than Facebook, instagram etc. The GAA ones are the best, some pube barely out of minor giving nutritional advice and telling people what training they should be doing. It's a laugh at times but also incredibly cringey.

Post by: trailer on October 27, 2023, 12:54:22 PM
There's a couple of sides to this. I don't mind influencers and some are pretty good, certain food ones, I follow a few others GAA, Travel, Homes etc. And if they can make a few pound out of a company good luck to them. Some for sure aren't my cup o tae so I ignore them. Rory's stories for example, but good luck to him all the same.

For me Smyth, Cardone, Kym Calvert they're all in a different box. They're peddling some bullshit lifestyle. They for me are poison.
Post by: clonian on October 27, 2023, 01:18:55 PM
Quote from: trailer on October 27, 2023, 12:54:22 PMThere's a couple of sides to this. I don't mind influencers and some are pretty good, certain food ones, I follow a few others GAA, Travel, Homes etc. And if they can make a few pound out of a company good luck to them. Some for sure aren't my cup o tae so I ignore them. Rory's stories for example, but good luck to him all the same.

For me Smyth, Cardone, Kym Calvert they're all in a different box. They're peddling some bullshit lifestyle. They for me are poison.

This is the big one for me. Day hired motors, apartments and office areas for videos and instagram shoots making it look like they own it. bullshit

There was a young woman from somewhere in the US being shared on twitter basically fed up after a few months in full time office hours having to travel in and out of the city while doing a 9 to 5. A lot of people were slagging her off but the problems is dickheads have been telling young ones they can do whatever they want and make a fortune - that's not really achievable for most though. The girl was just thinking how are you meant to have a life if your travelling to work from 7 to 7 every day. And she has a point.
When I cam out of uni in 03, we knew the first few years were going to be shite, working long hours to get up the ladder but everyone wants to miss that part now.
Post by: trailer on October 27, 2023, 01:22:19 PM
Quote from: clonian on October 27, 2023, 01:18:55 PM
Quote from: trailer on October 27, 2023, 12:54:22 PMThere's a couple of sides to this. I don't mind influencers and some are pretty good, certain food ones, I follow a few others GAA, Travel, Homes etc. And if they can make a few pound out of a company good luck to them. Some for sure aren't my cup o tae so I ignore them. Rory's stories for example, but good luck to him all the same.

This is the big one for me. Day hired motors, apartments and office areas for videos and instagram shoots making it look like they own it. bullshit

There was a young woman from somewhere in the US being shared on twitter basically fed up after a few months in full time office hours having to travel in and out of the city while doing a 9 to 5. A lot of people were slagging her off but the problems is dickheads have been telling young ones they can do whatever they want and make a fortune - that's not really achievable for most though. The girl was just thinking how are you meant to have a life if your travelling to work from 7 to 7 every day. And she has a point.
When I cam out of uni in 03, we knew the first few years were going to be shite, working long hours to get up the ladder but everyone wants to miss that part now.

You gotta earn your stripes.