Living here vs USA, 2015

Started by 50fiftyball, July 26, 2015, 08:12:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

50fiftyball

I'm interested to hear from the Irish in America, and indeed young people (and old who may have returned from U.S.) how they would compare the way of life.
I've visited the states many times on holiday, but always wondered what it's like to live there (legally), would the current Irish say if gauntlet was laid down, it's better? They're happier and earning more? Or is it a case of that they can't come home due to VISA issues etc. and to any Irish that have returned, did they enjoy it but now that they are back home and in employment, they feel that they're better off....

I have a degree to my name and considered it a few times but never took the plunge in case all went wrong  ::)

Rois

Good question, have an open job offer in Boston but haven't pursued it. Would be interested to know what the US guys think -  what (if anything) would make you think about coming back?

Milltown Row2

Its the what if question, you'll never know till you try, one of my regrets (I thought at the time), but circumstances at the time of trying it didn't allow it to happen .

America ain't that far away anymore, if you've nothing holding you here give it a lash... There is no stigma attached to it not working out and you came home...
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought. Ea

whitey

Quote from: Rois on July 26, 2015, 10:44:46 PM
Good question, have an open job offer in Boston but haven't pursued it. Would be interested to know what the US guys think -  what (if anything) would make you think about coming back?

No downside to giving it a lash. Immediate network of friends/drinking pRtners if you get involved with a club. If you have specific questions PM me.....I'd be happy to help you out

Eamonnca1