GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tonto1888 on May 03, 2016, 07:49:24 PM

Title: Armagh v Cavan 29/5/2016
Post by: tonto1888 on May 03, 2016, 07:49:24 PM
I'm home from Manchester the weekend if the game. Is it likely to be all ticket?
Title: Re: Armagh v Cavan 29/5/2016
Post by: Throw ball on May 04, 2016, 12:40:06 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 03, 2016, 07:49:24 PM
I'm home from Manchester the weekend if the game. Is it likely to be all ticket?

http://ulster.gaa.ie/ulsterchampionship2016/tickets/#USC16-3

Post by: tonto1888 on May 04, 2016, 07:26:39 AM
cheers. Any word on Dyas or McKeever? Either likely to play?
Post by: seafoid on May 04, 2016, 08:19:38 AM
Cavan v the demoralised gym bunnies without any tactical leadership
Post by: illdecide on May 04, 2016, 09:03:32 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 04, 2016, 07:26:39 AM
cheers. Any word on Dyas or McKeever? Either likely to play?

Not sure if its true but on Armagh site someone said KMcKeever came on as a sub for his club team at the weekend, I think Dyas should be given every opportunity but realistically should not and could not be anywhere near fit enough for Championship football. At this stage he's not in my first 15 i'd select for Cavan
Post by: naka on May 04, 2016, 12:13:22 PM
dyas and murnin are not going to play this year
was at the race day on Monday and dyas still not training outside
mc keever will be there are therabouts
Post by: tonto1888 on May 04, 2016, 02:01:17 PM
Quote from: naka on May 04, 2016, 12:13:22 PM
dyas and murnin are not going to play this year
was at the race day on Monday and dyas still not training outside
mc keever will be there are therabouts

I had completely forgotten about Murnin
Post by: BennyCake on May 04, 2016, 04:26:19 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 04, 2016, 08:19:38 AM
Cavan v the demoralised gym bunnies without any tactical leadership

Kildare play in Leinster, seafoid.
Post by: seafoid on May 04, 2016, 04:54:50 PM
Surely Cavan must be favourites for this wan
Post by: Itchy on May 04, 2016, 05:42:32 PM
Seafood, look I'm sorry we beat you two years in a row. I am. If I could turn back time I'd let Galway win those games, I'd free Palestine and all the nipples of the world too. Anything to make you happy Seafood.
Post by: Westside on May 04, 2016, 05:56:23 PM
Cavan currently in Portugal for a training camp. Strange given that our coffers are empty, perhaps it's player funded.

Going to be a difficult game for Cavan, Armagh will be sore from the tanking they got on their last trip to Breffni, they ended the league well though and will be hoping to carry that momentum into this game.

Cavan ended the league proper on a high before Tyrone (in second gear) gave us a little reminder of how far we still have to go in the Final. Hopefully the defeat won't have had the same effect on the squad as the 2014 League Final defeat did.

I think Killian Brady is most likely to lose his place from our last few League outings and he could feel slightly hard done by if he does. I just have a feeling Terry will be reluctant to start without Feargal Flanagan if he's fit and Gunner can be hit and miss. Other than than that I think Johnston will keep his place despite a bad showing against Tyrone and James McEnroe will force his way onto the 26 after his late return.

Cavan are now a Division 1 side, Armagh are Division 3. Cavan simply have to win this game if we have serious aspirations of giving Ulster a rattle or making it to a Quarter Final.

Also looking forward to welcoming the wonderful Armagh supports to Breffni again, let's see if they can break their 2013 Championship record for elderly men threatened in the stands and the word "c***" roared at the ref and Cavan players.
Post by: Itchy on May 04, 2016, 06:13:13 PM
Good man westside. You tell them the feckers
Post by: Westside on May 04, 2016, 06:23:21 PM
First two rows of seats in the stands are being cordoned off to try stop Armagh supporters punching Cavan players (again)

Cavan's team Doctor also being given some body armour for his forays onto the field. Can never be too careful around these Oooormagh lawds.
Post by: Itchy on May 04, 2016, 07:23:41 PM
I heard that every gym in the county is booked out for the week before the game.
Post by: seafoid on May 04, 2016, 08:16:33 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 04, 2016, 05:42:32 PM
Seafood, look I'm sorry we beat you two years in a row. I am. If I could turn back time I'd let Galway win those games, I'd free Palestine and all the nipples of the world too. Anything to make you happy Seafood.
Thanks Itchy. Now kick on and win the all Ireland. We'll be back winning Sams as soon as we have a new batch of Donnellans.
Post by: mrdeeds on May 04, 2016, 10:12:35 PM
Westside from what I heard McEnroe not fully back. Still bases in London. Ramor not even sure what his story is.
Post by: BennyCake on May 04, 2016, 10:36:54 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 04, 2016, 07:23:41 PM
I heard that every gym in the county is booked out for the week before the game.

Sounds like all Armagh supporters are getting beefed up for this one too.
Post by: general_lee on May 04, 2016, 11:39:22 PM
Will yous boys watch it on tv or will ya part with a few euro and go to the match?  ;)
Post by: armaghniac on May 05, 2016, 12:49:27 AM
Quote from: general_lee on May 04, 2016, 11:39:22 PM
Will yous boys watch it on tv or will ya part with a few euro and go to the match?  ;)

They'll probably stand on a neighbouring Drumlin to save the cost of the electricity.
Post by: illdecide on May 05, 2016, 09:37:01 AM
Quote from: Westside on May 04, 2016, 05:56:23 PM
Cavan currently in Portugal for a training camp. Strange given that our coffers are empty, perhaps it's player funded.

Going to be a difficult game for Cavan, Armagh will be sore from the tanking they got on their last trip to Breffni, they ended the league well though and will be hoping to carry that momentum into this game.

Cavan ended the league proper on a high before Tyrone (in second gear) gave us a little reminder of how far we still have to go in the Final. Hopefully the defeat won't have had the same effect on the squad as the 2014 League Final defeat did.

I think Killian Brady is most likely to lose his place from our last few League outings and he could feel slightly hard done by if he does. I just have a feeling Terry will be reluctant to start without Feargal Flanagan if he's fit and Gunner can be hit and miss. Other than than that I think Johnston will keep his place despite a bad showing against Tyrone and James McEnroe will force his way onto the 26 after his late return.

Cavan are now a Division 1 side, Armagh are Division 3. Cavan simply have to win this game if we have serious aspirations of giving Ulster a rattle or making it to a Quarter Final.

Also looking forward to welcoming the wonderful Armagh supports to Breffni again, let's see if they can break their 2013 Championship record for elderly men threatened in the stands and the word "c***" roared at the ref and Cavan players.

You're a Division 1 side and Armagh are a Division 3 side, you beat Armagh by 17 pts in league so you have a handy path to semi finals...nothing to fear from Armagh ;D

I'm an Armagh fan and you're putting me in with that, you get half a dozen balloons going to a game and you compare the other 5000 to them ::), I'm sure you Cavan men are all well behaved, big friendly Farmers who don't use bad language and like to splash their dosh following their beloved team ;)
Post by: armaghniac on May 05, 2016, 12:11:45 PM
Given Cavan's cheating training trip, the only fair solution is to expel them forthwith from the Ulster championship.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/monaghan-and-cavan-in-dock-for-breaking-training-camp-ban-34686550.html

Post by: SimonSays on May 05, 2016, 03:43:38 PM
Def not looking forward to going to cavan for this one,,,sure you cant move for tractors and flustered looking sheep
Post by: BennyCake on May 05, 2016, 06:42:39 PM
Quote from: SimonSays on May 05, 2016, 03:43:38 PM
Def not looking forward to going to cavan for this one,,,sure you cant move for tractors and flustered looking sheep

The potholes don't get a mention? They must have disappeared so.
Post by: Itchy on May 05, 2016, 10:52:12 PM
Cavan Co Co have brought a record amount of portable toilets in an attempt to stop drunken Armagh people pissing all over the streets.
Post by: tommysmith on May 06, 2016, 07:22:59 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 05, 2016, 10:52:12 PM
Cavan Co Co have brought a record amount of portable toilets in an attempt to stop drunken Armagh people pissing all over the streets.

Well done.
Post by: Westside on May 06, 2016, 03:03:35 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 05, 2016, 09:37:01 AM

You're a Division 1 side and Armagh are a Division 3 side, you beat Armagh by 17 pts in league so you have a handy path to semi finals...nothing to fear from Armagh ;D

I'm an Armagh fan and you're putting me in with that, you get half a dozen balloons going to a game and you compare the other 5000 to them ::), I'm sure you Cavan men are all well behaved, big friendly Farmers who don't use bad language and like to splash their dosh following their beloved team ;)

The half dozen must position themselves around me in the stands at every Cavan v Armagh game! If I were to generalise, I'd say they're a vile bunch. A slightly less arrogant version of Tyrone fans. Probably a few decent folk mixed in there somewhere so don't take it personally.

Armagh will give us lots of it and it wouldn't be too shocking if they beat us. But at the end of the day they're a very ordinary side and if we can't beat them with what's the best panel we have assembled in a number of years then we aren't as improved as we would like to think.

McEnroe was in Portugal with the team anyways mrdeeds  so I'd say he's involved at some level at least.
Post by: Throw ball on May 06, 2016, 03:17:57 PM
Quote from: Westside on May 06, 2016, 03:03:35 PM

The half dozen must position themselves around me in the stands at every Cavan v Armagh game! If I were to generalise, I'd say they're a vile bunch. A slightly less arrogant version of Tyrone fans. Probably a few decent folk mixed in there somewhere so don't take it personally.

Armagh will give us lots of it and it wouldn't be too shocking if they beat us. But at the end of the day they're a very ordinary side and if we can't beat them with what's the best panel we have assembled in a number of years then we aren't as improved as we would like to think.

McEnroe was in Portugal with the team anyways mrdeeds  so I'd say he's involved at some level at least.

We are generally a very civilized bunch in Armagh!

In truth Armagh are short 5 first choice players this summer even before any squad injuries are taken into account - Morgan, Dyas, Murnin are injured long term and Caolan Rafferty and Jamie Clarke are abroad. As these are also 5 of our better players any team that cannot beat Armagh will probably not be up to much.
Post by: BennyCake on May 06, 2016, 04:36:13 PM
Galway, Tyrone and Derry failed to beat us. They're all obviously useless.
Post by: illdecide on May 13, 2016, 09:21:34 AM
8/15 Cavan 15/2 Armagh 15/8

Strong favourites there Cavan. Cavan -2pts 11/10 is free money
Post by: Applesisapples on May 13, 2016, 11:46:14 AM
Quote from: Westside on May 06, 2016, 03:03:35 PM

Ever think that maybe just maybe your demeanour as displayed in your insightful posts on here might have something to do with those around you becoming agitated?
Post by: illdecide on May 13, 2016, 12:05:19 PM
Correct Apples :D
Post by: County Man on May 13, 2016, 12:22:57 PM
Looking forward to this game. Could be one of the games of the summer.

Armagh got smashed by Cavan in the league and will look to avenge that.

Geezer will have them ready.

A Cavan team on the up.
Post by: seafoid on May 13, 2016, 02:01:49 PM
Did Mylestheslasher transfer to Kildare?
Post by: Denn Forever on May 13, 2016, 04:27:22 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 13, 2016, 02:01:49 PM
Did Mylestheslasher transfer to Kildare?

I miss his reports on matches.
Post by: naka on May 14, 2016, 10:57:51 PM
Really looking forward to this game
Fancy Cavan
But they will have to work for it
Post by: JP on May 16, 2016, 10:15:37 AM
Quote from: Westside on May 04, 2016, 06:23:21 PM
First two rows of seats in the stands are being cordoned off to try stop Armagh supporters punching Cavan players (again)

Cavan's team Doctor also being given some body armour for his forays onto the field. Can never be too careful around these Oooormagh lawds.

As long as Cavan don't start a fight again or a player (Dunne) doesnt break his wrist punching an Armagh player there should be no problems.
Post by: illdecide on May 16, 2016, 12:00:01 PM
(http://d1fy0av4tqnmwr.cloudfront.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/cavan-vs-armagh.jpg)
Cavan are bigger, stronger, and play in Div 1. What chance have we?

The guy with the straw hat is shouting..."a little closer, i can reach".
Post by: No wides on May 20, 2016, 10:22:21 AM
Quote from: JP on May 16, 2016, 10:15:37 AM

As long as Cavan don't start a fight again or a player (Dunne) doesnt break his wrist punching an Armagh player there should be no problems.

The Irish News will report any misdemeanor objectively and fairly!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 21, 2016, 11:43:02 AM
I see Jamie has at least extended his medal collection before he left winning the AOH Cup with the Wheelers! C'mon ye boy ye!
Post by: Westside on May 21, 2016, 11:57:32 AM

People who asked for it against Armagh:

-Old men in the stands.
-The young girl in the band that McKeever roared abuse at.
-That little doctor from Donegal.
-Feargal Flanaganf when the Armagh supporter punched him.

Am I forgetting anyone?
Post by: tommysmith on May 21, 2016, 12:14:03 PM
Take a chill pill Westside you are embarrassing the good people of Cavan.
Post by: Westside on May 21, 2016, 12:24:31 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on May 21, 2016, 12:14:03 PM

Bah.. Nobody from Cavan needs me to embarrass them they're all well capable of that themselves!

Terry's 'Horses for Courses' comments would imply that he may go for a physical side. I think Johnston will drop to the bench with Keating coming in. I think he will want to start Flanagan and Gunner so I wouldn't be surprised to see Ciaran Brady or perhaps Argue lose out.

The focus will naturally be drawn to the hammering Armagh took in Breffni a few months ago and people may forget they turned it around and finished the league strongly. We will need to be at our best to win next Sunday.
Post by: Armamike on May 21, 2016, 12:43:05 PM
Quote from: Westside on May 21, 2016, 11:57:32 AM

-Old men in the stands.

Am I forgetting anyone?

You don't like Armagh very much do you.
Post by: BennyCake on May 21, 2016, 01:47:01 PM

-Old men in the stands.

Am I forgetting anyone?

All of County Tyrone.
Post by: Itchy on May 21, 2016, 01:51:37 PM
Willie Frazer is from Armagh.

There will be some bating at this match as the half mad gorillas of Armagh are released from their cages for the first time this summer. I doubt Hyland will drop Johnston unless he's got one of those championship injuries he was always plagued with. He will look for Keating and Givney to win the ball and Johnston to feed of them and finish.
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2016, 01:59:41 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on May 21, 2016, 12:14:03 PM

???
Post by: armaghniac on May 21, 2016, 02:45:07 PM
Abuse is the only thing a Cavan person will readily give you without expecting to get it back with interest.
Post by: Westside on May 22, 2016, 09:39:23 AM
Quote from: Armamike on May 21, 2016, 12:43:05 PM

-Old men in the stands.

Am I forgetting anyone?

You don't like Armagh very much do you.

Does anyone? I'm not even sure the Armagh folk themselves do..
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 22, 2016, 12:28:37 PM
Unlike Donegal and Monaghan, Cavan never lent any support to the O6 during the troubles.

They should probably be plying their trade in Leinster or Connacht.

Post by: twohands!!! on May 22, 2016, 02:02:32 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on May 22, 2016, 12:28:37 PM
Unlike Donegal and Monaghan, Cavan never lent any support to the O6 during the troubles.

<Insert obligatory Cavan lending joke here>

They play in the Leinster Junior Football Championship.
Post by: Itchy on May 22, 2016, 04:33:11 PM

Except elect a hunger striker who got more votes in Cavan than Monaghan. Anyway all your "freedom fighters" in Armagh want to do is make money out of the border smuggling fuel, lining their own pockets.
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2016, 04:37:50 PM

They lack the sophistication required for Leinster.
They'd fit right in over in Connacht alright.
Post by: general_lee on May 22, 2016, 05:04:24 PM
I've a lot of time for Cavan, they're the true aristocrats of Ulster football unlike that bunch of pretenders to the east of ourselves. Looking forward to the game, going in as underdogs suits Armagh, I reckon it will be a lot closer and think we can actually nick a win ourselves.

Itchy, il bomber is a bog dweller from Tyrone, clearly he is on a high and obviously getting a bit too big for his britches and doing a bit of twistin! all because tyrone hammered a team of jessies that was scared shitless of them anyway  ;)
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 22, 2016, 05:41:32 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 22, 2016, 04:33:11 PM

Except elect a hunger striker who got more votes in Cavan than Monaghan. Anyway all your "freedom fighters" in Armagh want to do is make money out of the border smuggling fuel, lining their own pockets.

Is that Cavan's sole contribution to the troubles? Giving more votes to a candidate in an election than another county who they have a bigger population than?

I find it a bit ironic you take issue with the fuel smugglers when Cavan people dementedly champion a white collar criminal (Sean Quinn) who has cost his state far more than the fuel smugglers.

Post by: Itchy on May 22, 2016, 06:01:08 PM
Quinn is a Fermanagh man you clown. I'm confused as to which state you are referring to. Listen go back to playschool now like a good wee boy.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 22, 2016, 06:06:23 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 22, 2016, 06:01:08 PM
Quinn is a Fermanagh man you clown. I'm confused as to which state you are referring to. Listen go back to playschool now like a good wee boy.

I didn't mention anything about where he was from.

I did mention the way Cavan people revere a white collar criminal yet you (a Cavan man) get on your high horse about how other people regard fuel smugglers.

I would brush up on my comprehension skills if I was you.
Post by: Itchy on May 22, 2016, 06:22:59 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on May 22, 2016, 06:06:23 PM

I did mention the way Cavan people revere a white collar criminal yet you (a Cavan man) get on your high horse about how other people regard fuel smugglers.

Listen I was going to argue but you're a moron so I'll leave it be.
Post by: under the bar on May 22, 2016, 06:45:02 PM
Jamie Clarke back from his wild-oat sowing and playing away at amateur soccer.  Why is he not coming back into the Armagh fold then???
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2016, 08:59:31 PM
Lads, a small bit of cop on please.
Post by: redzone on May 22, 2016, 09:13:00 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 22, 2016, 08:59:31 PM
Lads, a small bit of cop on please.
[/
Quote from: Westside on May 22, 2016, 07:44:22 PM

We're just not as morally superior as counties where you could, let's say, murder your father and have the County Manager speak in your defence.

The lad had a severe mental breakdown u sad ****.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 22, 2016, 09:15:11 PM

We're just not as morally superior as counties where you could, let's say, murder your father and have the County Manager speak in your defence.

And the mask slips.
Post by: Orior on May 22, 2016, 09:40:39 PM
Hard to see anything except a Cavan win. They should save their efforts for Tyrone.
Post by: yellowcard on May 22, 2016, 09:53:02 PM

Despicable comment in an age where mental health is such an issue.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 22, 2016, 10:07:13 PM
Take that shit down Westside. Disgraceful comment.
Post by: cavanmaniac on May 23, 2016, 02:38:45 AM
On the game itself, I think Cavan are a little vulnerable here. We can give a game to most sides but despite an overall upwards trajectory in recent seasons, excusably v Kerry in 2013, inexcusably v Monaghan in 2015 and v Tyrone in the league final all shows that no real progress is being made in getting close to challenging the leading lights. There's still the look of a raw, inexperienced team in the earlier stages of a learning curve - instead of a seasoned enough team with a culture of winning underage that has been together for a decent length of time under the same manager. They say the right things about feeling they're good enough to make a breakthrough, but while Kerry '13 could be glossed over and explained away as the first bite at the cherry, since then (especially Monaghan last year) there was the real lack of learning, cuteness and craft evident that you look to pick out in a team that's really ready to go places.

Similarly v Tyrone a few weeks ago, it looked like Cavan were being kept comfortably at arm's length after a bright enough opening. While not beating Tyrone is hardly an embarrassment, a team that has designs on making a real impact should show something a little better than they did and overall they still look quite a bit short.

Against Armagh, it leaves the situation poised nicely. Will the failure to challenge Tyrone in any real terms check Cavan's progress and raise question marks after a league campaign that put plenty of wind in our sails? Armagh won't lack for motivation and will have learned a lot in the interim. I'd be very worried about this game and if Cavan win it I can't see it being by more than a point or two.
Post by: Itchy on May 23, 2016, 08:27:53 AM
Cavanmaniac- Armagh today are no more experienced or cute than Cavan are. Your argument might hold water against Tyrone who are all those things due to some of the old dogs still hanging about. Cavan simply have to beat Armagh, we are a better team with better players now we need to have a game plan and attitude/balls to win it no matter what Armagh throw at us.
Post by: mackers on May 23, 2016, 10:19:17 AM
I'd normally be an optimist but this is little to be positive about from an Armagh perspective.  It's looking like we will have some of our more experienced players available but they are very lightly raced and it's hard to know what sort of impact they will have on Sunday.  A large problem in the league game was Shea Heffron getting roasted at CHB and being left there for 70 minutes.  Cavan marched up the middle of our defence at will that evening with Heffron's bag out early doors. It was unfair on Heffron who is one of our better prospects going forward.  You would imagine that Ciaran McKeever will not allow that to happen.  A lot also rests on Ethan Rafferty's shoulders.  He finished the league off well in MF and he's a tremendous athlete but he needs to get us some ball in the MF sector against a very strong Cavan middle third.  We've had problems in MF for some time now.
Derry's performance yesterday puts a different light on the feel good factor generated by the win against them in the final league game.
I'd expect this one to go to Cavan with 4 or 5 points to spare.
Post by: illdecide on May 23, 2016, 10:55:48 AM
Armagh are motoring rightly and finished off the league positively (although we still got relegated the damage was done in the 1st half of the league). Armagh have beaten a few decent teams recently in Challenge games and are in decent shape with good motivation for this Cavan game, I think the game will be close and Armagh can sneak it.
It will be interesting to see the team selection as KMcG may not even play some of the guys who were injured and may have them in reserve for final 20 mins where we can win this, defensively we're looking stronger and i just hope our forwards can click and get enough scores on the board. Believe it or not i think the lads are playing better without Jamie Clarke in the team and that's no way a dig at Jamie (who is pure class) i think when Jamie is playing we're always looking for him to give the ball too but without him they're kinda stepping up to the plate more themselves and taking more responsibility. Looking forward to this...
Post by: yellowcard on May 23, 2016, 10:58:10 AM
The key to this game for Armagh will rest with Micheal McKenna. He is the playmaker and if he can get his hands on enough ball I think Armagh have a chance. Big games will be needed from him and Soupy Campbell up front as they are our 2 best forwards. Cavan are a functional team with an effectively ingrained system but they are more than beatable and Armagh will have no fear of them. I'd expect a proper Ulster championship match unlike the previous 2 damp squibs.
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2016, 12:33:26 PM
Cana are fragile enough. But armagh are too...
Post by: Orior on May 23, 2016, 01:26:52 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on May 23, 2016, 10:58:10 AM
The key to this game for Armagh will rest with Micheal McKenna. He is the playmaker and if he can get his hands on enough ball I think Armagh have a chance. Big games will be needed from him and Soupy Campbell up front as they are our 2 best forwards. Cavan are a functional team with an effectively ingrained system but they are more than beatable and Armagh will have no fear of them. I'd expect a proper Ulster championship match unlike the previous 2 damp squibs.

However, if McGeeney gets the tactic wrong, then another damp squib is definitely on the cards. He will probably play a blanket defence, and when Armagh get the ball there are 4 possible options
1) Defence hand-pass the ball out at a pedestrian pace, until the player in pocession is swamped and loses it
2) Defence panic and kicks the ball away to a 50/50 contest
3) Defence manages to find an attacker who kicks into the keepers arms
4) Defence manages to find an attacker who kicks a wide

I'm so good at this and so pessimistic that I had to stop for my own sake.
Post by: rrhf on May 23, 2016, 01:52:26 PM
For some reason I suspect this to be a cracker.  Two formerly negatively balanced teams will surprise us all and go at it gung ho.. 
Post by: Harold Disgracey on May 23, 2016, 08:33:18 PM
Eddie Kinsella to referee the game, he'll be a disaster for at least one of the teams. He cannot keep up with the pace of the game and the majority of his decisions appear to be mostly guesswork.
Post by: yellowcard on May 23, 2016, 09:21:29 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on May 23, 2016, 08:33:18 PM
Eddie Kinsella to referee the game, he'll be a disaster for at least one of the teams. He cannot keep up with the pace of the game and the majority of his decisions appear to be mostly guesswork.

So you've identified the scapegoat before the game even throws in.
Post by: bennydorano on May 23, 2016, 09:37:05 PM
Nobody will ever convince me that McGeeney wasn't acting the maggot with our line out v Cavan in the league, but I dont think it will matter come Sunday. Cavan are no Donegal, who extinguished a helluva peoples faith in Armagh's potential last year, so we've every chance.

Cant see too many surprises selection wise this year, something like -
Morrison
Murray, CV, Mallon,
Morgan, McKeever, Shields
Rafferty & Findon
Grugan, McKenna, TK
McParland, Campbell, OHanlon

Heffron loses out to accomodate Morgan, Findon & TK could very easily miss out.
Post by: ardchieftain on May 23, 2016, 10:04:27 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 23, 2016, 09:37:05 PM
Nobody will ever convince me that McGeeney wasn't acting the maggot with our line out v Cavan in the league, but I dont think it will matter come Sunday. Cavan are no Donegal, who extinguished a helluva peoples faith in Armagh's potential last year, so we've every chance.

Morrison
Murray, CV, Mallon,
Rafferty & Findon
Grugan, McKenna, TK

Murray is injured. I'd put Donaghy or Aidan Forker in. In the forwards it would be harsh to drop Watters, i'd maybe go for him over McParland. I read earlier that both goalkeeper's are injured, not sure how true it is.

?
morgan, vernon, mallon
Shields, mckeever, donaghy or forker
rafferty, findon
o'hanlon, grugan, kernan
watters, campbell, mckenna

I really hope the tactics used in the latter stages of the league are employed and if they are it's game on.  Starting to get championship fever at long last.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 23, 2016, 10:46:27 PM
Bloody hell Orior, Armagh's defence must be doing rightly!
Post by: Itchy on May 23, 2016, 11:25:55 PM

Morrison
Murray, CV, Mallon,
Rafferty & Findon
Grugan, McKenna, TK

You think he threw the game and pretty much relegated Armagh just to play a sly trick on Cavan? If he did them he's an even worse manager than I already thought.

I'm enjoying the talk about mckeever at ctr back. He's nothing more than a thug in my opinion and I reckon Gearoid mckiernan will run across the top of him if he plays there.

Armagh best chance is to target cavans midfield where we have two hard working lads but neither outstanding midfielders. That said hyland might but Killian Clarke in there and I really think he is the real deal. That would depend on whether Rory Dunne is up to speed to go full back.
Post by: cavanmaniac on May 24, 2016, 01:02:33 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 23, 2016, 08:27:53 AM
Cavanmaniac- Armagh today are no more experienced or cute than Cavan are. Your argument might hold water against Tyrone who are all those things due to some of the old dogs still hanging about. Cavan simply have to beat Armagh, we are a better team with better players now we need to have a game plan and attitude/balls to win it no matter what Armagh throw at us.

I agree, we have to be beating Armagh because as a team we are, or should be, more developed and settled, but that league win will count for nothing and besides, as yet I've seen nothing to suggest that Cavan are ready to take a step up or are in a position where they can afford to take anyone lightly. Basically, I'm wondering how many more times our players can state big ambitions, talk the talk, fail to deliver in a big game or reach their targets and then keep coming back with a spring in their step.

There are still big question marks over Cavan IMO, although I still think we should squeak it v Armagh.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 24, 2016, 07:20:12 AM
I'm going to the game in the hope that I see a good display from Armagh. I don't think we will win but I would like to see something that leaves me optimistic about getting a decent run in the qualifiers
Post by: bennydorano on May 24, 2016, 07:52:55 AM
Forgot about Aidan Forker,  no way he doesn't start.
Post by: general_lee on May 24, 2016, 09:42:28 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 23, 2016, 11:25:55 PM

Morrison
Murray, CV, Mallon,
Rafferty & Findon
Grugan, McKenna, TK

I'm enjoying the talk about mckeever at ctr back. He's nothing more than a thug in my opinion and I reckon Gearoid mckiernan will run across the top of him if he plays there.
I think the hope is McKeever would stop McKiernan from doing that.

I will honestly be surprised by anything other than a Cavan victory. They have a slightly better set of players who are much further on in their development. Armagh's only hope lies with a bit of motivation, they'll put in a good fight and the league match plus previous Cavan antics will be fresh in the mind. I think Armagh are light up top in terms of score takers, not just for this game but in general, if Campbell isn't in full flow who will take responsibility?
Post by: illdecide on May 24, 2016, 10:15:24 AM
I don't think McKeever will start but will be on for last 20 mins r so. Will be interesting alright but one thing for sure is the team named on Thurs nite will not be the team that starts on Sunday...FACT.

Post by: JP on May 24, 2016, 11:30:48 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 23, 2016, 11:25:55 PM

Morrison
Murray, CV, Mallon,
Rafferty & Findon
Grugan, McKenna, TK

You think he threw the game and pretty much relegated Armagh just to play a sly trick on Cavan? If he did them he's an even worse manager than I already thought.

Armagh best chance is to target cavans midfield where we have two hard working lads but neither outstanding midfielders. That said hyland might but Killian Clarke in there and I really think he is the real deal. That would depend on whether Rory Dunne is up to speed to go full back.

Don't worry about your midfield that's our weakest sector.

The closer I get to this match the more optimistic I become. There was something there in the last 3 games of the league and there is a big performance in these lads. Cavan are favorites and rightly so, but I don't think there is a huge gap between the teams. I think it should be a good close game, looking forward to it.
Post by: Orior on May 24, 2016, 12:43:46 PM
My prediction.

Cavan: 4 yellow, 1 black, 1 red
Armagh: 5 yellow, 2 black, 2 red

What? The final score? Who cares!
Post by: Beffs on May 24, 2016, 03:18:24 PM
How many black eyes, cracked ribs and split lips are the marching band and flag carriers going to have?  ::)
Post by: Itchy on May 24, 2016, 06:13:49 PM
What this game needs is Marty Duffy.
Post by: Jinxy on May 24, 2016, 07:40:03 PM
Quote from: Beffs on May 24, 2016, 03:18:24 PM
How many black eyes, cracked ribs and split lips are the marching band and flag carriers going to have?  ::)

I'll feel a bit shortchanged if McKeever doesn't belt one of the Cavan lads with a trombone.
Post by: Throw ball on May 24, 2016, 10:14:12 PM
To be fair if Cavan cannot beat Armagh at home this Sunday it will take something special in the qualifiers to satisfy their supporters. They are physically superior to Armagh in most areas of the field, Armagh have no midfield and they have 4 first choice forwards unavailable for the summer. Many Armagh supporters are staying at home to watch it on TV. A close encounter in a game of quality football would satisfy most that are travelling.
Post by: DuffleKing on May 24, 2016, 10:17:53 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 24, 2016, 06:13:49 PM
What this game needs is Marty Duffy.

It'll have effin Eddie kinsella - next best thing!
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on May 25, 2016, 12:01:53 AM
at a post wedding party so i cant attend otherwise i would be there but we always travel in numbers and im hoping its the same this weekend. However there does seem to be a lot of apathy towards these currant Armagh squad.

Sometimes teams can turn corners and maybe this is our time, a few lads step up and a few lads come off the bench and make a mark on the game and you never know.
Post by: JP on May 25, 2016, 02:35:30 PM
The last time we got relagated to Division 3 and played Cavan in the first round we got to the AI quarterfinal.

I'm flying home from London for this one, hope people make the short journey to Breffni park and give the lads some support.
Post by: naka on May 25, 2016, 09:28:30 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 24, 2016, 10:14:12 PM
To be fair if Cavan cannot beat Armagh at home this Sunday it will take something special in the qualifiers to satisfy their supporters. They are physically superior to Armagh in most areas of the field, Armagh have no midfield and they have 4 first choice forwards unavailable for the summer. Many Armagh supporters are staying at home to watch it on TV. A close encounter in a game of quality football would satisfy most that are travelling.
Tbf most Armagh supporters realise that these guys are committed to the jersey and will do there best
They mightn't win but they won't be found wanting
Looking forward to it
We will be okay
Post by: Itchy on May 26, 2016, 06:38:46 AM
Jason McLaughlin out for Cavan, massive loss.
Post by: naka on May 26, 2016, 09:51:03 PM
Morrison
Morgan vernon shields
Mallon a Forker mc keever
Donaghy Rafferty
Grugan kernan o hanlon
Watters Campbell mc Parland

Surprised mc Kenna not at 11
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 26, 2016, 10:06:53 PM
Quote from: JP on May 25, 2016, 02:35:30 PM
The last time we got relagated to Division 3 and played Cavan in the first round we got to the AI quarterfinal.

In fairness the Armagh team of two years ago was stronger team than now. How many starters from that team is starting Sunday six or seven?
Post by: regal on May 27, 2016, 08:28:16 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 26, 2016, 10:06:53 PM
Quote from: JP on May 25, 2016, 02:35:30 PM

In fairness the Armagh team of two years ago was stronger team than now. How many starters from that team is starting Sunday six or seven?

7 I think. McKenna is a massive loss if he isn't available. What forwards will we have available from the bench - sforker / mcverry / hall?
Post by: illdecide on May 27, 2016, 09:10:23 AM
Quote from: naka on May 26, 2016, 09:51:03 PM
Morrison
Morgan vernon shields
Donaghy Rafferty
Grugan kernan o hanlon

I was told earlier in the week that the team named will not be the team to play...but sure that's the norm anyway
Post by: lurganblue on May 27, 2016, 09:54:55 AM
Quote from: illdecide on May 27, 2016, 09:10:23 AM
Quote from: naka on May 26, 2016, 09:51:03 PM
Morrison
Morgan vernon shields
Donaghy Rafferty
Grugan kernan o hanlon

I was told earlier in the week that the team named will not be the team to play...but sure that's the norm anyway

I'd say McKenna will def come in.  Probably for either watters or mcpartland.
Post by: naka on May 27, 2016, 10:45:44 AM
Chatting last night
Feeling was that we had too many small men last time and have gone for physical presence
Whilst very good mc Kenna is quite smal and Cavan do try and run from deep
If a change it may be findon coming on

Donaghy moving back
And Forker going into forward line
Grugan to drop to bench?
Post by: mackers on May 27, 2016, 11:12:02 AM
Quote from: naka on May 27, 2016, 10:45:44 AM
Chatting last night
Feeling was that we had too many small men last time and have gone for physical presence

Donaghy moving back
Grugan to drop to bench?
That would be as bad a move as not playing McKenna.  As illdecide has said Geezer is a big man for naming dummy teams and there will be changes from that listed.  McKenna and Grugan both have to play because these two along with Soupy are our only chance of unlocking a tight Cavan defence.  Findon may play at full back as Charlie got roasted in the league game and had to be switched.  Givney and McKiernan caused all sorts of bother in the league and the physicality in the centre of our defence had to be addressed.  Morgan and McKeever will help with this side of things. 
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on May 27, 2016, 11:17:52 AM
Grugan to drop to bench?

Given Grugan's form in the latter stages of the league, I would hope not. I thought he began showing glimpses of the player that we hoped he would become from his minor days. Given his own personal circumstances, that was particularly worthy of praise. A starting Championship place would recognize that and hopefully increase the lad's confidence. 
Post by: seafoid on May 27, 2016, 11:22:25 AM
Quote from: mackers on May 27, 2016, 11:12:02 AM
Chatting last night

Donaghy moving back
Grugan to drop to bench?
That would be as bad a move as not playing McKenna.  As illdecide has said Geezer is a big man for naming dummy teams and there will be changes from that listed.  McKenna and Grugan both have to play because these two along with Soupy are our only chance of unlocking a tight Cavan defence.  Findon may play at full back as Charlie got roasted in the league game and had to be switched.  Givney and McKiernan caused all sorts of bother in the league and the physicality in the centre of our defence had to be addressed.  Morgan and McKeever will help with this side of things.

Cavan do a lot of backwards passing
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaa-statistics-cavan-s-sideways-passing-shows-no-faith-in-talent-1.2660698

a Cavan team who kicked only 26 per cent of their passes in that game. A Cavan team who kicked or handpassed 41 per cent of their passes laterally. And 16 per cent of them backwards.

Against Tyrone Cavan handpassed 159 times – it was no surprise then that it took 13 minutes for Givney to touch the ball. He would only touch it seven times over the 70 plus minutes.
Post by: you take er! on May 27, 2016, 11:30:49 AM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on May 25, 2016, 12:01:53 AM
at a post wedding party so i cant attend otherwise i would be there but we always travel in numbers and im hoping its the same this weekend. However there does seem to be a lot of apathy towards these currant Armagh squad.

Sometimes teams can turn corners and maybe this is our time, a few lads step up and a few lads come off the bench and make a mark on the game and you never know.

I'm not sure apathy is the right term to use. I think as GAA supporters we can look to positive signs or signs of momentum to encourage more numbers. I remember us playing Tyrone back in 2000 in clones in the championship - we were Ulster Champions and there was little expected of Tyrone with a young team. Tyrone didn't travel in numbers, I'd say we outnumbered them at least 2:1 and those who were there were very quiet (it was bliss!) a 4 point win masked our control of the game but fast forward a couple of years and Tyrone would've filled Croke park on their own almost.  Our league campaign & relegation along with squad departures have left supporters a little devoid of hope. A good performance (or even an unlikely win) would bring back that optimism along with greater numbers.
Post by: Itchy on May 27, 2016, 01:27:47 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 27, 2016, 11:22:25 AM
Chatting last night

Donaghy moving back
Grugan to drop to bench?

Cavan do a lot of backwards passing
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaa-statistics-cavan-s-sideways-passing-shows-no-faith-in-talent-1.2660698

a Cavan team who kicked only 26 per cent of their passes in that game. A Cavan team who kicked or handpassed 41 per cent of their passes laterally. And 16 per cent of them backwards.

Against Tyrone Cavan handpassed 159 times – it was no surprise then that it took 13 minutes for Givney to touch the ball. He would only touch it seven times over the 70 plus minutes.

That really is stupid article Seafood. I thought we'd moved on from Pat Spillane counting the number of hand passes in a match
Post by: JP on May 27, 2016, 01:59:24 PM
The amount of lateral handpassing Cavan play should work into our hands. The defensive plan was evident in the last 3 games in the league. I expect Armagh will drop back to the 50 and create a line across this. Potentially McKeever will play just behind this line and fill in any gaps that appear.

This system is at its weakest against team playing a counter attacking kickpassing game. If Cavan play a slow methodical approach this game is winnable.

Like the previous posters I would to see Mckenna come into the team. With Mckenna,Grugan and Campbell we have technically gifted players who can do damage.

I'm starting to convince myself we can win this.
Post by: regal on May 27, 2016, 03:45:55 PM
Chatting last night

Donaghy moving back
Grugan to drop to bench?
That would be as bad a move as not playing McKenna.  As illdecide has said Geezer is a big man for naming dummy teams and there will be changes from that listed.  McKenna and Grugan both have to play because these two along with Soupy are our only chance of unlocking a tight Cavan defence. Findon may play at full back as Charlie got roasted in the league game and had to be switched.  Givney and McKiernan caused all sorts of bother in the league and the physicality in the centre of our defence had to be addressed.  Morgan and McKeever will help with this side of things. 

In fairness, I think Findon was getting more of a roasting than Vernon in the first half. They switched at HT but nothing much changed.

I think the team named will probably start, although like most, I can't understand McKenna not starting
Post by: omagh_gael on May 27, 2016, 10:26:08 PM
Off topic here but appears to be no traffic on Armagh county section. Was at a funeral today in Camlough and tea etc afterwards was in Carrickcruppen clubrooms. On the drive over there I noticed another club, Shane O'Neills, less than a quarter a mile from it. Even in a large town it would be unusual to have two clubs so close together, never mind a small place like Camlough. What's the story there? Internal fall out then new club created?
Post by: Orior on May 27, 2016, 10:27:16 PM
We have a forward who would be worth 4 or 5 points, but who chooses not to play. I find that disappointing just in the same that a Cavan forward might choose to play for Kildare. I seem to recall the latter got a fair amount of abuse from Cavan fans - or did everyone wish him all the best?
Post by: Orior on May 27, 2016, 10:29:11 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 27, 2016, 10:26:08 PM
Off topic here but appears to be no traffic on Armagh county section. Was at a funeral today in Camlough and tea etc afterwards was in Carrickcruppen clubrooms. On the drive over there I noticed another club, Shane O'Neills, less than a quarter a mile from it. Even in a large town it would be unusual to have two clubs so close together, never mind a small place like Camlough. What's the story there? Internal fall out then new club created?

The orchard county forum is where it is at. I seem to recall the fallout was caused by politics
Post by: bennydorano on May 27, 2016, 11:48:59 PM
There was a 3rd team there for a while as well - Geraldines. Think they were pretty much Cruppen's Juniors tho.
Post by: No wides on May 28, 2016, 08:37:53 AM
Beginning to get excited about this hopefully Armagh play to their potential and give Cavan a game.
Post by: seafoid on May 28, 2016, 08:53:43 AM

Seanie Johnston firmly back in the Cavan fold

Experienced forward delighted to be donning Breffni blue in the championship again

50 minutes ago

Malachy Clerkin

The question hangs there, a bubble of awkwardness suspended in midair for Seánie Johnston to either pop or leave alone.

We're talking about the last time he played a championship match for Cavan, a qualifier defeat to Longford away back in June 2011. Johnston was 26 at the time, eight years on from his debut near enough to the day.

If he could go back and talk to that guy now, what would he say to him? Would he tell him to maybe stick at it?

"It's a good question," he says, finally.

"I don't know what I'd want to say to it. I think I'm not even going to answer it, actually. Because it's a very poisoned chalice, whatever way I answer it. It's a good question though – I might answer it again for you whenever I finish up."

It's a thoroughly unfair question, of course. Hypothetical and ultimately pointless. But his reluctance to explore it is, obviously, telling to a certain extent. Whatever he does, however well or otherwise his second life with Cavan turns out, he will always be Seánie Johnston, the guy who went to Kildare.

Unfounded certainty
He knows that too, of course. Knew it a long time ago. Resigned himself to it, dealt with it, moved on from it. Spent some time wishing that people would come and ask him about it rather than yakking amongst themselves with unfounded certainty but eventually realised that was pointless too.
If he hadn't long since let go of trying to change people's minds, life would be torture.

Yet here he is again, the one place just about everyone presumed he'd never be. Back in a blue jersey, heading out of the tunnel in Breffni Park for an Ulster Championship match. It always felt like too much poison had seeped into the well, that he and they had moved on. If only in the interests of a quiet life, it was presumed Johnston wouldn't have fancied a comeback.

Related Clare and Tipperary set to progress to Munster football semi-finals 
John Allen: Cork hurling's product line in severe need of major overhaul
GAA 'professionals' no longer dedicated followers of career path

Not so. He wanted back and he wanted it badly. Indeed, The Irish Times understands that it was him who made the initial approach to the Cavan management rather than the other way around. Much as he hoped it might happen, the honest truth is that he didn't imagine it would.

"No, I didn't. I wouldn't say that I had made peace with the fact that it wouldn't come around but in my own head, I was thinking that the chance was probably gone. Years become more important from a football point of view the older you get and there were a couple of years there where it didn't come around so I wouldn't have been saying to myself that it wasn't going to happen. I'm just delighted that it did.

"I wasn't really thinking about what outsiders would think. I was thinking about contributing. I probably in my subconscious alright would have thought that it if I did well, things would be okay and if I didn't, things would probably get worse. It was just about being able to help in any which way. If you're playing well, there's no problems. If you're not, then things will probably kick up again.

A risk
"But that's the risk you take in life. It probably would have been easier not to go back and just to move on with life and live your life. But you take a risk with anything you do. It could have gone terribly. Cavan could have lost seven games in the league.
"It was looking like a completely different season after two games. My first game, we were down seven points at half-time and you'd be thinking that things were looking dodgy at that point. But in fairness to the lads, we pulled it out of the fire that day and things have gone well since."

The chance came around in the middle of December last year. He met Terry Hyland for a chat the week before Christmas and they talked about what he might be able to bring. They talked a lot about positivity, about the sort of person he was going to be in the set-up.

Johnston was coming back from an ankle injury and knew there was no guarantee he'd be at concert pitch straight away. So he made it clear that if all he could do was be there and give advice to younger players, then so be it. No dice, said Hyland. Come back as a footballer, come back and contribute.

"There's no point saying I wasn't nervous meeting the lads again. It's like any time you go and do something out of your comfort zone. There's trepidation and things are difficult out of your comfort zone. But I went in and I suppose what made it easier was we went on a night out together around the 23rd of December. After that, it was 100 per cent. We sat around slagging each other and I got to talk to a lot of the lads again and after that it was fine. It's been good ever since."

Nothing stands still. The Cavan team he left was, rightly or very often wrongly, the Seánie show. He played like a guy convinced that if he didn't score a hatful, there was no point being there. He was one of those players who'd shoot from anywhere and just when you were giving him the bird for it, would land one from the endline on an impossible angle. Cavan are different now. If anyone has licence to shoot on sight, it's more likely to be Gearóid McKiernan. Johnston is a worker bee, albeit that it hasn't come totally naturally to him.

At ease
"It probably hits your ego, does it?" he wonders aloud. "It does a bit I suppose. But I'm fine with it. I'm completely at ease with where I'm at in my career. I'm delighted to have got this opportunity to play again. I'd like to think I would have been okay with it back then as well but there are probably a lot of people who'd say the opposite.
"I just want Cavan to win. If that involves me playing for 70 minutes or for 10 minutes, scoring 10 points or scoring no points, that's what it is. As long as Cavan win, that's all that matters.

"It's how can I contribute. I realise now that it's not just on scoring. It's being a positive influence, being a provider, setting up scores, working hard as a team, getting more tackles in, getting turnovers up the field. There's so much more to it now that scoring. I probably did put pressure on myself early on in my career, maybe I felt I had to score six, seven, eight points a game. There are better players than me in there now and they're doing most of the scoring. If I can get them the ball, I'm happy enough."

The league went better than he could have imagined. He was exceptional in the second half against Meath, when Cavan turned their spring around (and Meath's too, which didn't hurt his popularity). He started scoring goals, which he'd never really done in his previous life. In a couple of games, he was substituted late on and given genuinely warm ovations from the Cavan support. He wasn't sure how something like that would go and as much as he tried to ignore it, he's only human.

"I'm not sitting here saying I wasn't thinking about those things either. You'd want to have a heart of stone not to wonder what people would make of it. But it comes back to the control factor. I'm not in the stand, I can't control what's said there. All I can do is concentrate on being the best I can be.

External factors
"That control thing is key – if someone wants to shout or roar, I can't do anything about it. Obviously, I wish I could. But there's no point. You can't please everyone no matter what you do in life. It's hard to fully buy into it, the idea of only being able to control the controllables.
"But I think if you didn't, you'd go mad. You wouldn't even be able to focus on the game because you would just be thinking about external factors.

"Of course it's difficult when you're going into it but the reality was different. There was nothing at all bad that I could hear, which was great."

So here he is, moving well and putting himself out there again. Whatever you think about the path he chose five years ago, it's a ballsy move. Hard not to admire him for it.
Post by: No wides on May 28, 2016, 07:09:12 PM
Weres the best place to park lads?
Post by: Itchy on May 28, 2016, 07:43:11 PM
Come in off the by pass early (cootehill or ballyhaise turn off), head into the town. Have a few beers and head up then.
Post by: mrdeeds on May 28, 2016, 08:18:34 PM
Cavan rally on so parking going to be a nightmare.
Post by: cluaineois on May 28, 2016, 10:09:10 PM
Just to let anybody travelling from Armagh know. The Clones-Cavan road has been closed all day Saturday due to a bomb scare. If travelling through Monaghan probably best to check or go via Cootehill.
Post by: Denn Forever on May 29, 2016, 09:48:34 AM
Also, allow plenty of time as the Cavan Stages Rally is on as well.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 29, 2016, 09:51:35 AM
Some day for it.
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 29, 2016, 10:16:08 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 29, 2016, 09:51:35 AM
Some day for it.

I think we are due a televised 0-11 to 0-9 match. Lots of  high-scoring matches so far.
Post by: thejuice on May 29, 2016, 11:05:57 AM
Is this on bbc ni?
Post by: timmyot501 on May 29, 2016, 11:12:28 AM
It is on both rte and bbc ni from 2.15pm
Post by: Denn Forever on May 29, 2016, 12:15:27 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 29, 2016, 11:05:57 AM
Is this on bbc ni?

yes.  says the championship from 15.15.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on May 29, 2016, 12:40:40 PM
Hoping for a good competitive game with decent bite to it. I like both counties so don't mind who wins, just hoping the winner bursts Tyrone's bubble. Cavan probably have the more potential to do that but Armagh are still capable of the odd big performance.
Post by: armaghniac on May 29, 2016, 03:09:36 PM
At least we in Armagh got a minor victory.
Post by: trentoneill15 on May 29, 2016, 03:21:08 PM
There would be some bad brogues at the ground today
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 29, 2016, 03:50:38 PM
That Armagh keeper as good as the Derry keeper lol
Post by: twohands!!! on May 29, 2016, 03:55:30 PM
Intense competition from the Armagh lads to see who can get sent off first.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 29, 2016, 03:57:19 PM
Armagh are a joke
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 29, 2016, 03:57:30 PM
Football lesson today being handed out... Mcgeeney be better coming on
Post by: BennyCake on May 29, 2016, 03:58:47 PM
Someone shut that stable door and keep that horse in!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 29, 2016, 03:59:55 PM
Armagh will get a man sent off, i don't understand ref constant cope out booking both players when one causing the niggle, why would a forward want to pull and drag a man off the ball, its always a defender
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 29, 2016, 04:01:50 PM
Armagh emptying the bench already.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 29, 2016, 04:03:25 PM
Some boy in an Armagh jersey giving the missus a dirty look there. "you had to get!!"
Post by: Jinxy on May 29, 2016, 04:04:10 PM
The Armagh keeper has some Rossie blood in him I'd say.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 29, 2016, 04:04:35 PM
Not a great Armagh performance  ???
Post by: twohands!!! on May 29, 2016, 04:05:57 PM
WTF - what an effort from that free.

1 point from play for Armagh.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 29, 2016, 04:08:05 PM
Armagh and Derry be a classic!!!
Post by: cavanmaniac on May 29, 2016, 04:12:06 PM
Armagh blessed to be only 5 down at half-time, in fairness Cavan got a bit sloppy towards the end of the half. Armagh might feel it's worth their while starting the handbagging and slabbering again now.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 29, 2016, 04:14:25 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 29, 2016, 04:05:57 PM

In front of goal 14 yards out..... My wee girl would pop that over, feck even Diana Ross would have scored that
Post by: AQMP on May 29, 2016, 04:15:57 PM
It started off badly with the most out of tune version of the Anthem ever, football isn't much better
Post by: BennyCake on May 29, 2016, 04:20:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 29, 2016, 04:14:25 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 29, 2016, 04:05:57 PM

In front of goal 14 yards out..... My wee girl would pop that over, feck even Diana Ross would have scored that

Brilliant! :D
Post by: joemamas on May 29, 2016, 04:21:22 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 29, 2016, 04:15:57 PM
It started off badly with the most out of tune version of the Anthem ever, football isn't much better

Joe brolly spot on with his analysis of county scene and specifically inability to move all Ireland's forward two weeks
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 29, 2016, 04:21:52 PM
Handy 2 pts in Div 3 next year  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on May 29, 2016, 04:24:27 PM
Seriously though, the Armagh keeper... what's that all about?
Looks like a bit of a loose cannon.
Post by: armaghniac on May 29, 2016, 04:24:58 PM
A good outcome here would be the rain holding off.
Post by: joemamas on May 29, 2016, 04:30:25 PM
Ref is way way to fussy
I hate that advantage free cop out for ref's
Post by: Jinxy on May 29, 2016, 04:41:01 PM
That Argue lad is some length.
Post by: cavanmaniac on May 29, 2016, 04:48:48 PM
Good reffing there with the black cards. ::)

And Grugan who shouldn't be on the field threads the pass for the penalty.
Post by: AQMP on May 29, 2016, 04:50:38 PM
Campbell watching too much soccer
Post by: Jinxy on May 29, 2016, 04:51:01 PM
Or not enough.
Post by: AQMP on May 29, 2016, 04:51:25 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on May 29, 2016, 04:48:48 PM
Good reffing there with the black cards. ::)

And Grugan who shouldn't be on the field threads the pass for the penalty.
A shirt pull is not a black card
Post by: joemamas on May 29, 2016, 04:54:29 PM
Ref's need to start carding goalkeepers for mouthing off to penalty kickers
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 29, 2016, 04:55:02 PM
Is it not if he brings the player down?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 29, 2016, 04:56:13 PM
I remember that lad Courtney playing midfield for Queens along with Vernon, always wondered where he went to
Post by: Jinxy on May 29, 2016, 04:56:50 PM
Should have been a yellow + a yellow = off, for Grugan.
Post by: joemamas on May 29, 2016, 04:57:20 PM
Canning points out that goalie was off line for penalty
Carney responds "sure aren't they all it"
Post by: Zulu on May 29, 2016, 04:58:28 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 29, 2016, 04:55:02 PM

He didn't bring him down though, the Cavan lad went down or at least the jersey pull wasn't enough to bring him down. The ref correctly didn't issue a black card IMO.
Post by: AQMP on May 29, 2016, 04:58:54 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 29, 2016, 04:55:02 PM

I think the ref penalised him for a shirt pull. It has to be a deliberate drag down to be black. I admit that could have been interpreted either way
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 29, 2016, 05:00:37 PM
C McKeever is done i fear, offered nothing to Armagh today leadership wise.
Post by: AQMP on May 29, 2016, 05:02:00 PM
Armagh look like a Div 3 side
Post by: twohands!!! on May 29, 2016, 05:03:08 PM
No way will Cavan get the same amount of domination on the kickout front against Tyrone - both their own and Armagh's.
Post by: BennyCake on May 29, 2016, 05:10:17 PM
I would say we are giving Antrim a run for the worst team in Ulster.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 29, 2016, 05:11:04 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 29, 2016, 05:02:00 PM

Are they not? ::)
Post by: cavanmaniac on May 29, 2016, 05:12:18 PM
Tyrone won't be having any sleepless nights ahead of the semi-final. If the peno had gone in it might have been different and bad and all as Armagh were there were crucial junctures in the game where they might have engineered a way back into it. Comfortable in the end for Cavan though but plenty of improving to do to prevent a rerun of the Div 2 final.

And when will Brolly stop haranguing McGeeney?
Post by: AQMP on May 29, 2016, 05:13:11 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 29, 2016, 05:11:04 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 29, 2016, 05:02:00 PM

Are they not? ::)

Whoosh
Post by: Jinxy on May 29, 2016, 05:14:00 PM
Brolly's going to be on the receiving end of a prolonged sleeper-hold before long.
Post by: Jinxy on May 29, 2016, 05:19:10 PM
How is Seanie Johnston allowed to wear that necklace?
Post by: OgraAnDun on May 29, 2016, 05:21:25 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 29, 2016, 05:14:00 PM
Brolly's going to be on the receiving end of a prolonged sleeper-hold before long.

I thought he was making some decent points to be fair. The overtraining and control of player's lives, and not exclusively at inter county level, is an issue that may be come more and more to the fore in the near future.
Post by: square_ball on May 29, 2016, 05:22:10 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 29, 2016, 05:19:10 PM
How is Seanie Johnston allowed to wear that necklace?

Cos it looks really cool!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 29, 2016, 05:32:47 PM
Dreadful. To concede 2-16 while playing a 'Blanket' defence is unforgivable. I'd love to know what the S & C coach is doing as nearly man for man Armagh were bullied. TK and Campbell only forwards to show anything. A lot of players not good enough. No game plan and no intensity. Time to look at the whole system and invest in the schools rather than the seniors and look to 8-10 year plan
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 29, 2016, 05:35:58 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 29, 2016, 05:32:47 PM
Dreadful. To concede 2-16 while playing a 'Blanket' defence is unforgivable. I'd love to know what the S & C coach is doing as nearly man for man Armagh were bullied. TK and Campbell only forwards to show anything. A lot of players not good enough. No game plan and no intensity. Time to look at the whole system and invest in the schools rather than the seniors and look to 8-10 year plan

Cavan took a lot of long range points and Armagh gave away a lot of frees
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 29, 2016, 05:45:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 29, 2016, 05:35:58 PM

Cavan took a lot of long range points and Armagh gave away a lot of frees

They did but the also cut the defence open repeatedly. The reason they gave away frees is because they didn't know how to tackle and often had men isolated by runners.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on May 29, 2016, 05:46:22 PM
Great to see him doing well now, he should never have been frozen out in the first place. Cavan would have made progress sooner if he was involved the last few years.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 29, 2016, 05:55:15 PM
Armagh senior football in a bad place looked every bit like a division three team today. Well done to Cavan they need to keep playing direct football and less of the cautious stuff against Tyrone next.
Post by: SHEEDY on May 29, 2016, 05:56:03 PM
i've a feeling that us down supporters will be writing something similar this time next week.
Post by: Itchy on May 29, 2016, 07:06:10 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on May 29, 2016, 05:46:22 PM
Great to see him doing well now, he should never have been frozen out in the first place. Cavan would have made progress sooner if he was involved the last few years.

Horse poo. The dropping of a few players was where this all started for Cavan.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 29, 2016, 07:08:59 PM
Poor from us. Didn't think we would win but wanted to see something that could give some optimism for qualifiers. That said I've a sneaking suspicion we will have a few more games this year
Post by: mrdeeds on May 29, 2016, 07:09:56 PM
Exactly itchy. Not only lad in that panel today dropped.
Post by: T Fearon on May 29, 2016, 07:20:21 PM
Worst and most depressing Championship performance since Derry in 1995 which precipitated a change of management.No positives whatsoever
Post by: seafoid on May 29, 2016, 07:26:43 PM
All Jamie Clarke's fault I imagine...
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on May 29, 2016, 07:29:00 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 29, 2016, 07:20:21 PM
Worst and most depressing Championship performance since Derry in 1995 which precipitated a change of management.No positives whatsoever

Tony Kernan's outstanding point taking(2 terrific scores)  and Stefan Campbell with the exception of the free kick, (which he shouldn't have tried to take as he was injured) and the penalty miss, was outstanding.
Post by: rrhf on May 29, 2016, 07:30:14 PM
Armagh have a lot of work to do. Mc keever is not great at all.
Post by: redzone on May 29, 2016, 07:42:45 PM
Martin mchugh was sayin before the game that Alan brogan wrote that geroid mckernan wouldn't make the Dublin team. He'd walk onto any team.

Armagh problems run deep. When u have the likes of mckeever and Mallon leavin there home clubs to play for Dublin clubs, that's sad. This has happened for years with mcgeeny and mcnultys at it.

Julie Davis was there strength coach last year. One of the best about.
Post by: naka on May 29, 2016, 08:12:38 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 29, 2016, 07:20:21 PM
Tony stop talking crap
We missed a penalty
Their first goal was a school boy error allowing the ball to bounce over the head
We are rebuilding it was tough for all
But credit the lads who want to play for the jersey
Jeez
3 years ago in Cavan was worse
As was last year
Post by: T Fearon on May 29, 2016, 08:19:49 PM
Rebuilding? With three thirty somethings in defence? We were comfortably beaten by Cavan today who will be comfortably beaten by Tyrone the next day.We are in Division 3 and have won two Ulster Championship games in six seasons,against mighty Down and Cavan.There is no legacy from the golden years,no game plan,no progress and no hope.
Post by: Throw ball on May 29, 2016, 08:21:56 PM
Without quoting every post. A few points:
1. It can be in a forwards interest to instigate a bit of wrestling as if his marker is booked he can get more freedom.
2. Bit rich Cavan people on about Armagh starting verbals and handbags.
3. Armagh are so physically inferior to the better teams in many positions.
4. Although I take the points on Campbell missing the 14 yard free can someone tell me how it can be blocked by a player on the edge of the square when the defender is meant to be 14 yards back.
5. Armagh were brutal but if they had have scored the penalty anything could have happened. Tyrone will be confident.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on May 29, 2016, 08:27:23 PM
McGeeney has managed to transform this Armagh team into the Theon Greyjoy of Gaelic football.
Post by: Itchy on May 29, 2016, 08:28:34 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 29, 2016, 08:21:56 PM
Without quoting every post. A few points:
1. It can be in a forwards interest to instigate a bit of wrestling as if his marker is booked he can get more freedom.
2. Bit rich Cavan people on about Armagh starting verbals and handbags.
3. Armagh are so physically inferior to the better teams in many positions.
4. Although I take the points on Campbell missing the 14 yard free can someone tell me how it can be blocked by a player on the edge of the square when the defender is meant to be 14 yards back.
5. Armagh were brutal but if they had have scored the penalty anything could have happened. Tyrone will be confident.

Maybe I'm blind but what Cavan poster commented on Armagh verbals.

Look, it came down to this. Cavan area better team with better players than Armagh. I actually believe we played poor enough at times and can be much better. Armagh kick out strategy was a shambles
Post by: T Fearon on May 29, 2016, 08:38:03 PM
Most entertaining part of the day for me was when Mc Geeney gave Seanie Johnston verbals as he prepared to take a free.A witty Cavan chap in my vicinity said "Mc Geeney don't be giving him any more bad advice!"😂😂😂😂
Post by: Itchy on May 29, 2016, 08:42:14 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 29, 2016, 08:38:03 PM
Most entertaining part of the day for me was when Mc Geeney gave Seanie Johnston verbals as he prepared to take a free.A witty Cavan chap in my vicinity said "Mc Geeney don't be giving him any more bad advice!"😂😂😂😂

Says a lot about mcgeeney. Whatever people think about terry hyland he would never lower himself to give verbals to an opposition player. Anyway, mcgeeney most overhyped manager in history.
Post by: Syferus on May 29, 2016, 08:58:11 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on May 29, 2016, 08:27:23 PM
McGeeney has managed to transform this Armagh team into the Theon Greyjoy of Gaelic football.

Reek.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 29, 2016, 09:08:55 PM
Armagh were very poor for the most part today, they did have a couple of five minute spells where they kicked some decent points.

A long time since I've seen an Armagh side so physically dominated - they're quite a small team and Cavan physically bullied them today.

Granted they are missing some key players who would be starting in Dyas, Rafferty, Clarke, Murnin. I think Armagh are as good a team as Cavan but clearly there must be something to a lot of the talk about McGeeney driving players away when you think of some of the players not committing. I'd say you could easily pick a 15 in Armagh that were not playing today that would beat that team.

They probably need a Cross man back at the helm.
Post by: seafoid on May 29, 2016, 09:11:12 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 29, 2016, 08:19:49 PM
Rebuilding? With three thirty somethings in defence? We were comfortably beaten by Cavan today who will be comfortably beaten by Tyrone the next day.We are in Division 3 and have won two Ulster Championship games in six seasons,against mighty Down and Cavan.There is no legacy from the golden years,no game plan,no progress and no hope.
very few counties do much after winning an all Ireland or two. Meath are nearly as bad these days. Galway are a good bit away from a decent team. Meath won 3 years before Armagh and Galway 1 year before. Tyrone are impressive in what they have achieved since 03.
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 29, 2016, 09:13:36 PM
Cavan reaping major dividends after sticking it out with Terry Hyland.

Armagh have to be brave and stick with McGeeney. He's one of the highest rated managers nationally and the pieces of the jigsaw need time to be put in place.
Post by: Throw ball on May 29, 2016, 09:27:47 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on May 29, 2016, 04:12:06 PM
Armagh blessed to be only 5 down at half-time, in fairness Cavan got a bit sloppy towards the end of the half. Armagh might feel it's worth their while starting the handbagging and slabbering again now.

Itchy I assume this is a Cavan man?

Post by: armaghniac on May 29, 2016, 09:59:57 PM
As they said on the radio after the game, Cavan have become increasingly offensive.
Post by: LCohen on May 29, 2016, 10:21:55 PM
I wasn't that impressed with Cavan. I thought it was a very poor game and Armagh were very poor. I don't think Kieran Mcgeeney's biggest fan could argue that in any way we looked well coached, well managed, mentally robust or even well competent.

Cavan have a big weapons that Armagh don't have the players to counteract. So we needed to post a decent score. We had no gameplan to post such a score. None. Absolutely none. We dropped players back. Cavan knew we would and had a plan. We knew that that they would drop players back but had no plan to cope with this. Typical Mcgeeney though. No ball or quality ball into the 2 corner forwards because we surrendered the middle third. Both corner forwards off before the second half is thrown in. An abject failure by the sideline to identify the problem (for the umpteenth time) and so once again they do they same thing that they do in all games - take off the corner forwards and hope that the actual problem just goes away. When we are dumped out of the qualifiers I hope that some of the broadcasters pick up Geezer as a pundit and we get to hear what geezer's thoughts are about playing against a defensive teams. These thoughts remain under wraps.

Strength and conditioning is a big worry. We are way off the pace. Whatever we are doing is not working and "more of the same" is a recipe for continued failure

We lack intensity and when we rarely attempt to do anything about this we cough up frees. We do not know how to tackle. The focus has to be on how to press the ball and win possession legally.

These are the real issues. Thanks Kieran for your "bread and circuses" short kick out strategy today but where was the progress on the real and ever-present issues?

Failed in the league. Failed in the championship. Without something meaninngful in the qualifiers the whole year is a failure. There is no 5 year plan and there is no upward trajectory
Post by: Beffs on May 29, 2016, 11:21:22 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on May 29, 2016, 09:13:36 PM

Armagh have to be brave and stick with McGeeney. He's one of the highest rated managers nationally and the pieces of the jigsaw need time to be put in place.

No, he's not. Loved and adored for what he achieved as a player, yes. Hyped up beyond belief, by the national media, who buy into his cult of personality, yes. Feared and admired for his legendary intensity and drive? Ok, then.

Rated nationally for what he has achieved as a manager? I doubt it.

What has he achieved exactly? What has he won? What big scalps has he taken? What other big name manager has he taken on and beaten? What silverware has he won? What big games has he won in Croke Park? What new talent has he taken on and nurtured and developed? What old timer has he invigorated, due to finding a new way to use him? What new tactical systems has he thought up?

Zero, zero, zero, zero, zero and zero.
Post by: SkillfulBill on May 29, 2016, 11:32:49 PM

Who rates him highly ? Two championship skeelpings and a drop into Div 3. I am a Tyrone man and I am even concerned for the future of our neighbours under McGeeney. He is totally cluesless and motivated by other things other than the good of Armagh. Well done to Cavan yous can only beat whats in front of you.
Post by: LCohen on May 29, 2016, 11:38:24 PM
Quote from: Beffs on May 29, 2016, 11:21:22 PM

No, he's not. Loved and adored for what he achieved as a player, yes. Hyped up beyond belief, by the national media, who buy into his cult of personality, yes. Feared and admired for his legendary intensity and drive? Ok, then.

Rated nationally for what he has achieved as a manager? I doubt it.

What has he achieved exactly? What has he won? What big scalps has he taken? What other big name manager has he taken on and beaten? What silverware has he won? What big games has he won in Croke Park? What new talent has he taken on and nurtured and developed? What old timer has he invigorated due to finding a new way to use him? What new tactical systems has he thought up?

Zero, zero, zero, zero, zero and zero.

There are good reasons why Geezer should not have been given the Armagh job but that time has been and gone and the decision was made.

Our season is not yet dead but when it does eventually expire then surely we have to make a decision. A successful run in the qualifiers (i.e. victories over Divsion 1 and 2 sides) might extend Geezer's tenure but in their absence then we have to look at the degree of progress.

The league campaign was a failure and specific failures can be laid at Geezer's door. Today was shocking. Maybe the result was not a shock but the performance fell below any standard that longterm fans (good times and bad) would accept
Post by: SkillfulBill on May 29, 2016, 11:40:18 PM
Time for Oisin McConville ?
Post by: LCohen on May 29, 2016, 11:44:58 PM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on May 29, 2016, 11:40:18 PM
Time for Oisin McConville ?

Oisin and John McEntee are available. Tony McEntee is tied up with Mayo this year (earning valuable experience in Inter county football actually playing football) and Gareth O'Neill is tied up with Crossmaglen for a few years. Tony and some of the others above would appear to have more to offer than the current incumbents unless a 2014 rags to riches transformation can be magicked up
Post by: ashman on May 29, 2016, 11:56:30 PM
Armagh were awful

Cavan ok but sloppy and lacked ruthlessness.

That might be not bad thing as they will have to improve to bate Tyrone .

Think they will be a quarter final team via back door . 
Post by: Catch and Kick on May 30, 2016, 12:08:48 AM
Last year v Donegal was shocking. Big mistake was moving ball slowly and laterally. No change in that today. In contrast Cavan counter attacked at blistering pace.
Biggest issue I saw today was the damage done by dropping Paddy Morrisson after selecting him and playing an outfield player ion goal to play as a sweeper!
That was foisted on the team in the last few days.
It was clear from looking at the game that the team did not buy into it and were totally confused as to what their roles were.
Shocking man management and an insult to a goalie who was named to start.
The rot set in from there.
Post by: cavanmaniac on May 30, 2016, 01:45:57 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 29, 2016, 09:27:47 PM

I was alluding to an off-the-ball incident where the crowd was enflamed by McKiernan ending up on his back, before he slotted a point shortly afterwards and ran across the field to celebrate in the Armagh lad's face. You might well interpret that differently to me but McKiernan to my mind prefers to get on with his business and is not a player to instigate the mouth, unless provoked. Vernon too was doing a bit of grappling around the square and there were a few incidents of runners being blocked and Seanie was getting buffeted around before the ref elected to move the free closer to goal.

I'll be honest enough to say that Cavan started a bit of this messing after the break too, to run the clock down - Reilly blocked Donaghy I think and got a slap in the face for his troubles, Cavan lads were delaying frees etc. - but the above comment was written at half-time.
Post by: BennyCake on May 30, 2016, 01:56:18 AM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on May 30, 2016, 01:45:57 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 29, 2016, 09:27:47 PM

I was alluding to an off-the-ball incident where the crowd was enflamed by McKiernan ending up on his back, before he slotted a point shortly afterwards and ran across the field to celebrate in the Armagh lad's face. You might well interpret that differently to me but McKiernan to my mind prefers to get on with his business and is not a player to instigate the mouth, unless provoked. Vernon too was doing a bit of grappling around the square and there were a few incidents of runners being blocked and Seanie was getting buffeted around before the ref elected to move the free closer to goal.

I'll be honest enough to say that Cavan started a bit of this messing after the break too, to run the clock down - Reilly blocked Donaghy I think and got a slap in the face for his troubles, Cavan lads were delaying frees etc. - but the above comment was written at half-time.

Think that was Tony K who shouldered McKiernan in the back. Very dirty and very dangerous. Could have seriously injured the fella. I hope the CCCCCCC look at it because that deserves a ban.
Post by: cavanmaniac on May 30, 2016, 05:56:27 AM
I called it handbagging and slabbering. Wind your neck in mate.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 30, 2016, 07:59:30 AM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on May 30, 2016, 05:56:27 AM

True tho it was Kernan. The Cavan lad picked the wrong player to celebrate in front of. Cavan well worth their win and I'd like to see you go on and win Ulster. The one thing I didn't like was the antics of the keeper before and after the penalty. I know it's coming into the game a lot but I wish it wouldn't. Personally I blame Tyrone  ;)
Post by: Throw ball on May 30, 2016, 08:54:47 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 30, 2016, 07:59:30 AM

True tho it was Kernan. The Cavan lad picked the wrong player to celebrate in front of. Cavan well worth their win and I'd like to see you go on and win Ulster. The one thing I didn't like was the antics of the keeper before and after the penalty. I know it's coming into the game a lot but I wish it wouldn't. Personally I blame Tyrone  ;)

To be honest I saw McKiernan on the ground but did not see incident - was told it was Kernan though. Did see Clarke take Campbell out of play with a foot trip in first half though. I will echo the bit about the penalty though. Drives me mad this and it is definitely not just Cavan. It could also be noted that there was none of that crap when Cavan were taking their penalty. Anyway bar a couple Armagh have no one capable of being physical with anyone. The majority were well behaved though even Forker and Findon avoided bookings!

Anyway I was more annoyed with the standard theory that Armagh are this hard, dirty team which many suggest. They aren't even any good at that anymore.

Best of luck to Cavan in the next game. I will be cheering them on!
Post by: tonto1888 on May 30, 2016, 10:12:41 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 30, 2016, 08:54:47 AM

To be honest I saw McKiernan on the ground but did not see incident - was told it was Kernan though. Did see Clarke take Campbell out of play with a foot trip in first half though. I will echo the bit about the penalty though. Drives me mad this and it is definitely not just Cavan. It could also be noted that there was none of that crap when Cavan were taking their penalty. Anyway bar a couple Armagh have no one capable of being physical with anyone. The majority were well behaved though even Forker and Findon avoided bookings!

Anyway I was more annoyed with the standard theory that Armagh are this hard, dirty team which many suggest. They aren't even any good at that anymore.

Best of luck to Cavan in the next game. I will be cheering them on!

Def not just Cavan but it is coming in more and more. I would like to see the refs give out black cards to those doing it regardless of what team they play for. There was a lot of encroaching at frees also. Esp the one Campbell had blocked. The guy was nowhere near far enough back. Ref was weak in that regard.
Anyway, it wasn't to be for us. Cavan worthy winners and I hope they go on to win Ulster.
Post by: yellowcard on May 30, 2016, 10:37:25 AM
Match went pretty much as expected result wise but I did think Armagh would have put up a better show before the match started. In all honesty Cavan were never in danger and seemed to sit back a bit in the second half. For Armagh it is back to the drawing board and the stark reality is that there has been little progress under McGeeney since he came in at the beginning of last year. I was one of his supporters at the beginning and believed that he was the right appointment at the start, however there are major question marks over his management now. The best players in the county such as Andy Mallon, McKeever, Vernon and Donaghy have probably seen better days and I don't see why they would remain given the huge committment levels needed whilst there is little prospect of success. Is McGeeney the right man to nurture and develop young players and build a new team? There will be a lot of questions in Armagh over the next few days and weeks.
Post by: cavan4sam on May 30, 2016, 11:07:20 AM

True he laughed in the face of the wrong man but he had no clue who had run straight through the back of him. His answer was to score a brilliant point and show the Armagh boys that they could try to rough him up as much as they wanted but he was just going to get on with what he's good at.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 30, 2016, 11:44:18 AM
Quote from: cavan4sam on May 30, 2016, 11:07:20 AM

True he laughed in the face of the wrong man but he had no clue who had run straight through the back of him. His answer was to score a brilliant point and show the Armagh boys that they could try to rough him up as much as they wanted but he was just going to get on with what he's good at.

And I've no problem him doing that it was a great score and just after he had been knocked to the ground off the ball.
I've a problem with your keeper and no 5 antics before the penalty tho. I don't think it was possible picked up on tho. You can bet if it was Tyrone it would have been picked up on
Post by: cavan4sam on May 30, 2016, 11:52:24 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 30, 2016, 11:44:18 AM

And I've no problem him doing that it was a great score and just after he had been knocked to the ground off the ball.
I've a problem with your keeper and no 5 antics before the penalty tho. I don't think it was possible picked up on tho. You can bet if it was Tyrone it would have been picked up on

Fair enough but until referees start clamping down on it and doing it consistently it will keep happening. I've never seen a black card given in an inter county match for lads mouthing (I have in club games) but it is something that needs to be done.
Post by: Itchy on May 30, 2016, 12:41:47 PM
Quote from: cavan4sam on May 30, 2016, 11:52:24 AM

Fair enough but until referees start clamping down on it and doing it consistently it will keep happening. I've never seen a black card given in an inter county match for lads mouthing (I have in club games) but it is something that needs to be done.

Didnt Johnstones free get brought forward too due to some Armagh lad mouthing at him as he was taking it? Part of the game now, but it would be nice to see a concerted effort to tackle it - but would have to be done consistently.

As for the game I thought Cavan were always in control and had 1 or 2 more gears to go up in the 2nd half if need be. However, I would prefer to see them go for the jugular when they are on top and not ease off. If that peno had gone in the game could have been turned on its head and there is no way that Cavan should have allowed that to happen. I was also not impressed with Killian Clarke, he was very loose in the 2nd half and got destroyed. He is a great player though so I am confidenet he will put that behind him.

Ray Galligan was immense in goals. Not sure if there is a better kicker of the ball in goals in the country, his ability to put ball over the top of midfield and into the path of lads running forward was incredible. Martin Reilly and McVitty were excellent and when Gearoid hit his purple patch he was unstoppable - mind you he could have scored double what he did. Keatings black looked a bit ridiculous for a bit of wrestling off the ball (when did that become a black card offence) but was delighted to see Jack come on and nail two points.

All in all a good win but I genuinely think that was Cavan playing well within themselves and I think they can lift it higher and beat Tyrone the next day.

Post by: tonto1888 on May 30, 2016, 12:44:44 PM

Agreed. I would like to see it being addressed at all levels of the game
Post by: Jinxy on May 30, 2016, 01:45:37 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 30, 2016, 12:41:47 PM

Didnt Johnstones free get brought forward too due to some Armagh lad mouthing at him as he was taking it? Part of the game now, but it would be nice to see a concerted effort to tackle it - but would have to be done consistently.

As for the game I thought Cavan were always in control and had 1 or 2 more gears to go up in the 2nd half if need be. However, I would prefer to see them go for the jugular when they are on top and not ease off. If that peno had gone in the game could have been turned on its head and there is no way that Cavan should have allowed that to happen. I was also not impressed with Killian Clarke, he was very loose in the 2nd half and got destroyed. He is a great player though so I am confidenet he will put that behind him.

Ray Galligan was immense in goals. Not sure if there is a better kicker of the ball in goals in the country, his ability to put ball over the top of midfield and into the path of lads running forward was incredible. Martin Reilly and McVitty were excellent and when Gearoid hit his purple patch he was unstoppable - mind you he could have scored double what he did. Keatings black looked a bit ridiculous for a bit of wrestling off the ball (when did that become a black card offence) but was delighted to see Jack come on and nail two points.

All in all a good win but I genuinely think that was Cavan playing well within themselves and I think they can lift it higher and beat Tyrone the next day.

Yeah, I noticed that a few times in the 2nd half alright (particularly out to his right half back).
If a kick-out like that goes to hand then before you know it you're inside the opposition 45m line with a lot of open country in front of you.
Dunno if it'll work as well against Throne though!
Post by: tiempo on May 30, 2016, 02:10:33 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/northern-ireland/36409294

The man, the myth, the haircut... apparently Gearoid McKiernan is the best player in Ireland and was the best player in NFL Div 2 this year. Right.  ;D ;D ;D :-X
Post by: twohands!!! on May 30, 2016, 02:12:08 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 30, 2016, 01:45:37 PM
Yeah, I noticed that a few times in the 2nd half alright (particularly out to his right half back).
If a kick-out like that goes to hand then before you know it you're inside the opposition 45m line with a lot of open country in front of you.
Dunno if it'll work as well against Throne though!

I'll be on a diet of hats if it works anyway near as well against Tyrone.

Armagh (from what I could see from BBC NI's woeful coverage) hadn't a clue how to deal with the Cavan kickouts - there's isn't a hope in hell the Mickey and Tyrone lads will fail to put any sort of pressure on Galligan and the Cavan lads out the field.
Post by: Jinxy on May 30, 2016, 02:17:27 PM
Quote from: tiempo on May 30, 2016, 02:10:33 PM

The man, the myth, the haircut... apparently Gearoid McKiernan is the best player in Ireland and was the best player in NFL Div 2 this year. Right.  ;D ;D ;D :-X

He reminds me of a young Joe Sheridan.
Post by: yellowcard on May 30, 2016, 02:26:25 PM

Probably could make a case for him being the best player in div 2 alright, definitely not the best player in Ireland though!!
Post by: Throw ball on May 30, 2016, 02:55:20 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on May 30, 2016, 02:26:25 PM

Probably could make a case for him being the best player in div 2 alright, definitely not the best player in Ireland though!!

A hell of a footballer. If he played for Dublin or Tyrone or Kerry many would be suggesting the same. Maybe not the best but well up the list.
Post by: Itchy on May 30, 2016, 03:15:27 PM
He never stole a medal by throwing the ball into the net.
Post by: Rudi on May 30, 2016, 09:51:50 PM
Like the cut of this rejuvenated Cavan side. Seem to be pretty strong all over the field. Some good ball carriers and very good finishers. Monyagh looks good at centre back. 2 wing forwards are excellent ball carriers. McKiernan seems liberated that the midfield duties are lifted from him. Johnston is a decent man to kick a score. Have my doubts about the full back and full forward. Good to see a county with good tradition and great supporters back in the big time, hope they give Tyrone a good game.
Post by: Itchy on May 30, 2016, 10:16:38 PM
Quote from: Rudi on May 30, 2016, 09:51:50 PM
Like the cut of this rejuvenated Cavan side. Seem to be pretty strong all over the field. Some good ball carriers and very good finishers. Monyagh looks good at centre back. 2 wing forwards are excellent ball carriers. McKiernan seems liberated that the midfield duties are lifted from him. Johnston is a decent man to kick a score. Have my doubts about the full back and full forward. Good to see a county with good tradition and great supporters back in the big time, hope they give Tyrone a good game.

I thought our full back line wasn't great but our best man market Jason McLaughlin was missing, hopefully he'll be back next day. I think Clarke played his worst half in a long time in the 2nd half.
Post by: seafoid on May 30, 2016, 10:41:17 PM
Itchy , how many of the u21s that won was it 2 or 3 ulsters are on the team now ?
Post by: Itchy on May 30, 2016, 11:44:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 30, 2016, 10:41:17 PM
Itchy , how many of the u21s that won was it 2 or 3 ulsters are on the team now ?

They won 4 in a row, something rte panellists didn't know.

Killian Clarke
Padraig Faulkner
Conor moynagh
Darragh mcvitty
Michael Argue
Fergal Flanagan
Niall Murray
Gearoid mckiernan

Subs that came on

Ciaran Brady
Jack Brady
Gerry Smith
Liam Buchanan

The year before the 4 in a row, Cavan lost the final. On that team you also had Givney and Rory Dunne. I think Keating was that age too but was injured that year.

The likes of Clarke, Jack Brady and Fergal Flanagan have 3 u21 medals.

Post by: cavanmaniac on May 31, 2016, 02:26:19 AM
I have to say Jack Brady looked like a man that hadn't been fed for a week when he came on. In his first two possessions he just gathered the ball, took a quick look at the posts and fired over, one off the left and one off the right, no fuss. He's reacting well to losing his starting spot, that's for sure, the problem is, would he be half as fired up if he started the next day?
Post by: mrdeeds on May 31, 2016, 07:17:18 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 30, 2016, 10:16:38 PM
Quote from: Rudi on May 30, 2016, 09:51:50 PM

I thought our full back line wasn't great but our best man market Jason McLaughlin was missing, hopefully he'll be back next day. I think Clarke played his worst half in a long time in the 2nd half.

Clarke got a roasting versus Laois too.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 01, 2016, 10:35:53 AM
Stats from the game

https://dontfoul.wordpress.com/

Standout stat has to be that Cavan won 14 out of 16 of their own kickouts where they went long (only went short once)  - I wouldn't be surprised if this turns out to be among the very top own kickout performances of the year. Galligan and his receivers did an excellent job here. However while Cavan were very good here, from what I saw Armagh were hopeless - really can't see Cavan being as successful in terms of getting the same amount of quality possession again (unless they come up against some no-hopers in the qualifiers)

Also makes mention of the poor quality of the camerawork and 9 missed kickouts [restarts if you are in Dublin]
Post by: imtommygunn on June 01, 2016, 11:58:55 AM
It wasn't just that they won the kickouts - when they won them oceans of space seemed to open up. I very much doubt that would happen against Tyrone.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 01, 2016, 12:32:40 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 01, 2016, 11:58:55 AM
It wasn't just that they won the kickouts - when they won them oceans of space seemed to open up. I very much doubt that would happen against Tyrone.

Yeah - it was serious quality go-forward possession.

Totally agree that there's no way they are going to get it against Tyrone.
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2016, 03:06:29 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 30, 2016, 11:44:05 PM

Killian Clarke
Padraig Faulkner
Conor moynagh
Darragh mcvitty
Michael Argue
Fergal Flanagan
Niall Murray
Gearoid mckiernan

Subs that came on

Ciaran Brady
Jack Brady
Gerry Smith
Liam Buchanan

The year before the 4 in a row, Cavan lost the final. On that team you also had Givney and Rory Dunne. I think Keating was that age too but was injured that year.

what happened the goalie?
Post by: Itchy on June 03, 2016, 07:41:08 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 03, 2016, 03:06:29 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 30, 2016, 11:44:05 PM

Killian Clarke
Padraig Faulkner
Conor moynagh
Darragh mcvitty
Michael Argue
Fergal Flanagan
Niall Murray
Gearoid mckiernan

Subs that came on

Ciaran Brady
Jack Brady
Gerry Smith
Liam Buchanan

what happened the goalie?

Alan O Mara is sub goalie.
Gilaenan was on panel last year but quit, supposedly because our current goalie was brought in.