Dublin over the next few years

Started by seafoid, November 07, 2019, 02:56:14 PM

Quote from: lurganblue on November 08, 2019, 09:16:10 AM
I'd expect that Kerry team to win it within the next 23 years.
There, fixed that for ya!  :D :D

Dublin Jimmy might want to keep on winning

Quote from: TheGreatest on November 08, 2019, 09:19:40 AM
Quote from: seafoid on November 07, 2019, 02:56:14 PM
Are they likely to win 6-7-8 and draw more and more criticism ?
Or would they throw 2020 and start the clock again in 2021 with no hassle ?

Being a Dublin fan, i think we can win it next year, however i dont think we will win 7 in a row and it will open up a bit. Nobody dominates forever, watching the Hurling in the 00s with Kilkenny so far ahead of the pack i probably felt the same as the begrudgers on here feel but look a the hurling now, wide open, tight games, different winners every year.

If you hear Cluxton in the media last week, he doesnt sound like he will be around for much longer, and few will join him, already two high profile players gone. Cracks will appear.

On the other hand, you will see Ciaran Archer join up with the panel(Hopefully), he has the potential to surpass the current talented crop of forwards and be one of the greatest, but must learn his trade.

The obvious problem with that analysis is that Kilkenny don't have the pick of the next ten counties put together.

Quote from: J70 on November 09, 2019, 11:56:03 AM

Being a Dublin fan, i think we can win it next year, however i dont think we will win 7 in a row and it will open up a bit. Nobody dominates forever, watching the Hurling in the 00s with Kilkenny so far ahead of the pack i probably felt the same as the begrudgers on here feel but look a the hurling now, wide open, tight games, different winners every year.

If you hear Cluxton in the media last week, he doesnt sound like he will be around for much longer, and few will join him, already two high profile players gone. Cracks will appear.

On the other hand, you will see Ciaran Archer join up with the panel(Hopefully), he has the potential to surpass the current talented crop of forwards and be one of the greatest, but must learn his trade.

The obvious problem with that analysis is that Kilkenny don't have the pick of the next ten counties put together.
You can add in that Kilkenny  during those years were so strapped for money that  AI winning players had to fundraise to pay for their overseas holiday. I don't think we are gonna see Dublin players standing outside church gates with plastic buckets cadging a few bob from mass goers for a while yet.

I laugh when I hear lines like Brogan and O'Gara retiring and cracks beginning to appear. Brogan and O'Gara have been hanging on the last 3 years. Connolly has made as much (or as little) of a contribution over the same period. Their contribution on match days has been minimal. They probably brought experience to training. Players have been falling away almost unnoticed from the Dublin panel since the breakthrough in 2011.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on November 09, 2019, 12:02:07 PM

You can add in that Kilkenny  during those years were so strapped for money that  AI winning players had to fundraise to pay for their overseas holiday. I don't think we are gonna see Dublin players standing outside church gates with plastic buckets cadging a few bob from mass goers for a while yet.

The Dublin panel have fundraised for their team holiday for each of their last seven wins. They've spent Oct-Dec each year touring pubs, garages etc

Football audiences won't hold up if the Dubs keep winning. People will start to think that the game is rigged.

Quote from: heffo on November 09, 2019, 02:32:09 PM

The Dublin panel have fundraised for their team holiday for each of their last seven wins. They've spent Oct-Dec each year touring pubs, garages etc
Really?
Is that sanctioned by the county board?

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on November 09, 2019, 09:02:26 PM
Quote from: heffo on November 09, 2019, 02:32:09 PM

Really?
Is that sanctioned by the county board?

Yes, 100% really.

I'm not privy to private communication between Jim Gavin & John Costello but I would say yes 99.99% sanctioned.

dublin7

Dublin footballers were fundraising for their holiday at an event I attended last Saturday.

Not all of them were there as despite what some might believe they had to work

Quote from: dublin7 on November 09, 2019, 11:07:17 PM
Dublin footballers were fundraising for their holiday at an event I attended last Saturday.

Not all of them were there as despite what some might believe they had to work
Freeloaders one and all

TheGreatest

If anyones up in Dublin, il give you a tour of Innisfails grounds.

PM me.

Quote from: TheGreatest on November 11, 2019, 08:08:08 AM

PM me.
Ah, Jaysus, will ya get away up the yard, will ya? ;D
I thought most normal Dub supporters would be still buzzin' after the five in a row and saving their energies for number six, instead of trolling half truths on mickey mouse boards like this one.
I s'pose it  takes all types. You should be gearing upp for Sanat now and stuff the oul' crap about the Dubs training on shitty grounds, worse than you'd find in most other counties.
Some months ago, in case you forgot, there was an unholy row when the county board threw a hissy fit when they removed some specialist training equipment from the sports centre in Adamstown.
They bought and installed the equipment but when they weren't allowed access to this gear at times that suited them, they removed it all in a big huff.
Now, where did they relocate this?
Hardly in Innisfails, did they??
Every county needs pitches for outdoor work and it's no big deal that the Dubs train in Innisfails but that's not even half the story. What centre)s) of excellence do they use and where does the barrage of sports specialists work? Dieticians and the rest of the backroom backups don't put on wellies and trot out the Malahide road, do they, not to mention physiotherapists and probably  psychiatrists also.
It's like saying that the Dubs fundraise for their holidays like everyone else but they don't have to stand out on the pissings of rain shaking plastic buckets at passersby, do they?
Look, make the most of what you have won so far and accept that the good times won't keep rolling forever and leave the coat-trailing and slagging until ye f**k up the AI series same as the Leinster championship.

TheGreatest

Quote from: Lar Naparka on November 11, 2019, 08:38:09 PM

PM me.
I thought most normal Dub supporters would be still buzzin' after the five in a row and saving their energies for number six, instead of trolling half truths on mickey mouse boards like this one.
I s'pose it  takes all types. You should be gearing upp for Sanat now and stuff the oul' crap about the Dubs training on shitty grounds, worse than you'd find in most other counties.
Some months ago, in case you forgot, there was an unholy row when the county board threw a hissy fit when they removed some specialist training equipment from the sports centre in Adamstown.
They bought and installed the equipment but when they weren't allowed access to this gear at times that suited them, they removed it all in a big huff.
Every county needs pitches for outdoor work and it's no big deal that the Dubs train in Innisfails but that's not even half the story. What centre)s) of excellence do they use and where does the barrage of sports specialists work? Dieticians and the rest of the backroom backups don't put on wellies and trot out the Malahide road, do they, not to mention physiotherapists and probably  psychiatrists also.
It's like saying that the Dubs fundraise for their holidays like everyone else but they don't have to stand out on the pissings of rain shaking plastic buckets at passersby, do they?
Look, make the most of what you have won so far and accept that the good times won't keep rolling forever and leave the coat-trailing and slagging until ye f**k up the AI series same as the Leinster championship.

A lar come on, we are all friends here, its a genuine offer, il show up their training base, and you can compare it to the multi million Euro facilities around the country. PM me and il send on my mobile. Kinsealy is a nice place, the reopened the old Campions pub there accross from the Graveyard, does a bit of food.

I remember the story, they moved the gear to a new Gym built in Parnell Park (makeshift).

I am enjoying it, its a great time to be a Dublin supporter and i know it wont last forever so will enjoy, i plan to  watch the 9 All Ireland finals played this decade the Dubs were in over the Christmas period. Il skip 2012 and 2014  :D and will throw in the Semi final v Kerry 2013, one of the greatest games ever played.

Quote from: TheGreatest on November 12, 2019, 09:42:49 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on November 11, 2019, 08:38:09 PM

PM me.

A lar come on, we are all friends here, its a genuine offer, il show up their training base, and you can compare it to the multi million Euro facilities around the country. PM me and il send on my mobile. Kinsealy is a nice place, the reopened the old Campions pub there accross from the Graveyard, does a bit of food.

I remember the story, they moved the gear to a new Gym built in Parnell Park (makeshift).

I am enjoying it, its a great time to be a Dublin supporter and i know it wont last forever so will enjoy, i plan to  watch the 9 All Ireland finals played this decade the Dubs were in over the Christmas period. Il skip 2012 and 2014  :D and will throw in the Semi final v Kerry 2013, one of the greatest games ever played.
It's a boring time to be a Dublin supporter. The reaction to the last few all Irelands showed it.
Compare to the reaction when Laois beat the hurlers or Mullinalaghta won Leinster.
Honest wins.   
An rud is annamh is iontach.