Kerry v Cork - 2008 Munster final

Started by Kerry Mike, June 26, 2008, 08:17:27 PM

timmykelleher

Do Kerrymen have a sense of humour?

Here's one Kerryman trying to be funny anyway:

Cooper says Cork are favourites
18 June 2008

Colm Cooper has insisted that Cork are favourites to beat Kerry in next month's Munster SFC final, despite the Kingdom's annihilation of their near neighbours in last year's All-Ireland final.

The 'Gooch' reckons that home advantage could tilt the game in the Rebel County's favour.

He said: "It's a big game. I suppose Cork will come into it as favourites, it will suit them down to the ground that it's at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

"They will be really looking forward to it after the All-Ireland last year not going so well for them and the Munster final in Killarney.

"But it's always a huge day and there's usually nothing between the two sides, as we saw last year (in the Munster final). They will come in nicely under the radar and we'll just have to try to get ready for them."

Corcaigh - McGrath cup champions - 2009

Tatler Jack

QuoteDo Kerrymen have a sense of humour?

Here's one Kerryman trying to be funny anyway

Must find what bookie Gooch goes to as with Paddy Power Kerry are 2/7 with Cork at 9/4

I suppose old cute hoor habits die hard.

D4S

Quote from: Kerry Mike on June 27, 2008, 01:04:33 AM
Quotedoesn't seem like the GAA at all sure it doesn't!!

We have been waiting a long time for another crack at Down, will this be the year, only seems to come around once every 20 years or so. One of the few GAA hoodoos we still have to break.

Would be brilliant to get a game against the likes of Kerry and Dublin this year, hopefully we can progress and reach the knockout rounds i.e AI Quarter final.  Definitely think we're in with a good shout against armagh, would be unbelievable to beat them as a down team has never beaten armagh and tyrone en route to an ulster title! Although after beating them we would then have to beat a mighty fermanagh side in the final..their workrate is immense!

As for ticketmasters 2for1 in the munster final, I think that's hilarious they have to do this to sell tickets for a munster final....surely the gaa with a bit of promotion work good gee up 30-35000 paying supporters for a munster final? I know there is a lot of talk about open draws for the all ireland and champions league type structures, but I for one would hate to see that type of structure and we haven't been able to win an ulster title since 1994.  What is the feeling in munster about the provincial championship? Are Cork and Kerry sick of playing ALMOST every year in the munster final?
The secret of success in life is for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes.

D4S

Apologies...I just meant to quote the top piece!

Would be brilliant to get a game against the likes of Kerry and Dublin this year, hopefully we can progress and reach the knockout rounds i.e AI Quarter final.  Definitely think we're in with a good shout against armagh, would be unbelievable to beat them as a down team has never beaten armagh and tyrone en route to an ulster title! Although after beating them we would then have to beat a mighty fermanagh side in the final..their workrate is immense!

As for ticketmasters 2for1 in the munster final, I think that's hilarious they have to do this to sell tickets for a munster final....surely the gaa with a bit of promotion work good gee up 30-35000 paying supporters for a munster final? I know there is a lot of talk about open draws for the all ireland and champions league type structures, but I for one would hate to see that type of structure and we haven't been able to win an ulster title since 1994.  What is the feeling in munster about the provincial championship? Are Cork and Kerry sick of playing ALMOST every year in the munster final?
The secret of success in life is for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes.

TBT

Id imagine as the game is on in the Pairc it will be half empty again. The interest is gone out of Cork/Kerry games, in Cork anyhow.

I thought the 2 for 1 was a wind up.

It's good you are posting here D4S because this thread isn't the most popular, even if it is a provincial final.

If the Nordies didn't pay any attention, would Kerry GAA still exist here ?

Tatler Jack

QuoteThe interest is gone out of Cork/Kerry games, in Cork anyhow

Agree totally TBT - it still seems to mean a lot to some Kerry folk but the reality is that it is no longer the attraction it was in the 70s and 80s. Football in Cork is now a very poor relation of hurling and while it has its diehard fans most Cork GAA supporters follow the hurling team. I know in our own club only a very small minority go to Cork football games. Kerry still try to pretend that there is great rivalry and that somehow the year is all the better when they beat Cork. Easy to please them I feel.

D4S

Quote from: Main Street on June 27, 2008, 03:28:17 PM
I thought the 2 for 1 was a wind up.

It's good you are posting here D4S because this thread isn't the most popular, even if it is a provincial final.

If the Nordies didn't pay any attention, would Kerry GAA still exist here ?

Until Down's breakthrough in the 60s and then even during the troubles in the north until down again in the 90s, teams from the north used to win ulster and just go down to dublin to get a stuffing in the all ireland semifinal every year.  Now things are genuinely different and it is great to see it.  We have Armagh, Tyrone, Down, Derry, Donegal(ulster not north), Derry who have all won irelands in the not too distant past. 

In the past 7 years there are tyrone,armagh,donegal,derry,fermanagh and last year monaghan who have all challenged with some success stories.  I do believe strongly that the intensity and competitiveness of the ulster championship does hamper our teams chances of lifting sam in september as teams often need to be peaking for just after the league in may+june for games against tyrone, armagh etc. It is hard to keep that intensity going for the whole summer! 

I definitely wouldn't change it though as for some just to win Ulster can be every bit as gratifying as winning an all ireland!  If Fermanagh win this years final it'll be their 1st and if Down can get by armagh this weekend it will be our 1st since 1994...so wish us well and hopefully the ulster championship can be the romance of the 2008 championship.  Who knows what could happen in August and September :)

TBT

Quote from: Tatler Jack on June 27, 2008, 03:28:30 PM

Agree totally TBT - it still seems to mean a lot to some Kerry folk but the reality is that it is no longer the attraction it was in the 70s and 80s. Football in Cork is now a very poor relation of hurling and while it has its diehard fans most Cork GAA supporters follow the hurling team. I know in our own club only a very small minority go to Cork football games. Kerry still try to pretend that there is great rivalry and that somehow the year is all the better when they beat Cork. Easy to please them I feel.
Football has always been well down the list in the collective Cork conscience but the last few yrs has seen its stock has plummited to an all time low. In terms of public interest in the City it trails rugby and soccer never mind hurling. There is just no appetite to support the game after the abject performances of recent seasons. Im sure Cork will turn out to support the side against Kerry but it will be more because of a lack of any thing better to do rather than genuine interest in the game. That old Cork/Kerry magic has evaporated. Theres now a general exceptance that Kerry are just too good/ Cork too poor when it comes down to it. Cork have been caught trying to support 2 codes in an era where its v difficult to compete with those counties who specialise in one code.

Tatler Jack

It is noticeable that all the good dual players at minor level now opt for hurling - Cadogan would probably be on the football team but has elected to stay with hurlers even though he is just a panel member. A lot of people I know got fed up with football because of the tactics Cork have used since Tomkins was in charge. This short passing, ball going accross the field and backs playing in the forwards has meant that Cork are not very attractive to watch and not likely to win anything. 

TBT

Quote from: Tatler Jack on June 27, 2008, 04:37:09 PM
It is noticeable that all the good dual players at minor level now opt for hurling - Cadogan would probably be on the football team but has elected to stay with hurlers even though he is just a panel member. A lot of people I know got fed up with football because of the tactics Cork have used since Tomkins was in charge. This short passing, ball going accross the field and backs playing in the forwards has meant that Cork are not very attractive to watch and not likely to win anything. 

That style of football is played in Cork from U10 up. Its coached into them not to kickthe football. Go to any juvinile game and its all fist passing.The Nemo Rangers style. Putrid stuff to watch. Ciaran Sheehan is another dual star, off to Aussie RUles once theCork minor hurlers are gone. 

QuoteIf the Nordies didn't pay any attention, would Kerry GAA still exist here ?

Why dont ye feck off so that we can find out !!

Also, you should be more focused on why Monaghan crumbled as soon as anyone had any expectations of them. Choke artists.

jodyb

Quote from: TBT on June 27, 2008, 04:01:52 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on June 27, 2008, 03:28:30 PM

Football has always been well down the list in the collective Cork conscience but the last few yrs has seen its stock has plummited to an all time low. In terms of public interest in the City it trails rugby and soccer never mind hurling. There is just no appetite to support the game after the abject performances of recent seasons. Im sure Cork will turn out to support the side against Kerry but it will be more because of a lack of any thing better to do rather than genuine interest in the game. That old Cork/Kerry magic has evaporated. Theres now a general exceptance that Kerry are just too good/ Cork too poor when it comes down to it. Cork have been caught trying to support 2 codes in an era where its v difficult to compete with those counties who specialise in one code.

If the fact that the two counties have been given a virtual bye by the Munster council into the AI quarter finals from now on doesn't give yes appetite then yes need a kick in the fcukin ar$e >:( >:( >:(

Quotehave been given a virtual bye by the Munster council into the AI quarter finals

....what do you mean by a "virtual bye"  ?

Football in Cork is going nowhere at the minute for a lot of reasons.  First of all it is very much behind hurling in importane, particularly at county board level.  The hurlers are the drivers behind everything. They have all the backing of the big noises on teh board and as a result get what they want.  There needs to be a change at that level.

Secondly, the standard of coaching is shocking at underage level and at senior level.  I am coaching at senior level and the basic skills of senior players arre not there.  Very few know how to strike a ball further than 35 yards off the foot.  Those that do can only do it off one foot.  There is an inability to tackle and wjhen players do get hit hard to throw the head up as if they have been hit by a sniper.  This lack of individual discipline and lack of responsibility means that if one team, ie Nemo, develop a certain level of ability they can dominate.

The level of cross sport activity is also high, with rugby and soccer hitting hard against the smaller clubs. I live bnear Kinsale in a small village.  We are competeing with a very well run rugby club and soccer club.  My sos underage team have a good bunch of about 20 young lads but it is difficult to see them all sticking at it as half play other sports.  Unless the structure at their age level changes they will be lost.

Another big factor is that on a socio level a lot of young lads have more money than they had 15-20 years ago and are under more pressure form girlfriends than before to have the big lifestyles and this mitigates agianst spending 3 nights a week training hard with a team and doing a bit on your own.  This, I know is a country wide phenomenon but it is a factor no matter what.  It is all the harder too when your team is not winning consistently.

Anyway the game itself is Kerry's to lose.  Cork are a team in transition.  Counihan tried to set a marker down by not starting Masters the last day.  For what it is worth I think he was right but the problem is the players wthemsleves do not seem to have the belief/interest to bring it up to the next level.  But perhaps they will get the whole attitude that no one expects them to win and then they will do something special.

Corks injuries hit them harder than Kerry's misiing players and the do not have a player to deal with even a half fit Darragh O'Shea.  Kerry by 3.