PuC and the Liam Miller Fundraiser

Started by Baile Brigín 2, July 18, 2018, 03:46:53 PM

There is a time to the right thing, this is one of those times.

Some of the attempts on here to defend our position, are a mirror of the gombeen men on the CCCC that had to back down on the Newbridge debacle after embarrassing themselves on national radio.

Embarrassing and disgraceful in equal measure

It's a pity the GAA couldn't come up with a bit of nuance in this case. Turners Cross is 7K. Pairc ui Chaoimh is 45 K.  The children of a deceased sportsman surely deserve better. It is a very  sad story. 

inthrough

Croke Park can't buy a break at the moment with challenges to their authority coming from everywhere.

Couldn't happer to a nicer bunch.

It's just fookin anarchy ye want . There has to be rules .

Hopefully a solution will be reached but it's shocking disappointing to see so many who claim to be within the GAA community turning on them with such relish and glee.

smelmoth

This debacle does not deflect well on our organisation..

The game should go ahead in PuC.

To those who say it can't go ahead because of the rules: can we count at your enthusiastic support to change the rules at next Congress. If not, why not?

To those who say it shouldn't go ahead: why not? If Ulster Rugby had declined to facilitate a similar fund raiser coordinated aroun a GAA star what would the reaction have been?

That press release is horrendous. All the worst stereotypes of the GAA are being proven true this year.

Quote from: Syferus on July 21, 2018, 12:49:27 PM
That press release is horrendous. All the worst stereotypes of the GAA are being proven true this year.

It's too much like Apres Match
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BC7Xv7kHiZ4

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: LilySavage on July 20, 2018, 11:24:46 PM
[quote
Isn't landowner responsible in law unless they're specifically indemnified by the Insurance taken out by event organisers.

The FAI have both public liability and player insurance. Thats absolutely not a reason to reject the request

You sure about that?
[/quote] are you suggesting they dont?

smelmoth

Quote from: TheClubman on July 20, 2018, 11:21:26 AM
I want to start off by saying how sad I was to hear of Liam Miller's death. Really admired him as a player and seemed like a good lad. The reaction of his fellow pros and the big names getting involved in this event is testament to this. I hope the venture is a huge success and fitting tribute.

However I have to say this is a clear case here of the blame being put in the wrong place.

The GAA rules are clear and have been spoken about at great length over the years. In fact, so much so that a previous iteration of this rule has lent itself to the name of one of if not the biggest online sports journals in the country. GAA rules can only change every year at congress.

Unfortunately, GAA rules as currently stated, do not allow for a game like this to take place anywhere (bar Croke Park if Central Council agree).

Soccer in this country is administered by the FAI. By and large they do a shocking job. As we see today, their biggest soccer stadium in the second biggest city in the country has a capacity of 7000. Lansdowne Road, owned by the IRFU, was redeveloped with the government paying 2/3 of the cost. League of Ireland clubs can't pay wages. They have a CEO on astronomical money for doing a terrible job. They have a national team that are unwatchable with the coaching team getting paid colossal money.

Yet it's the GAA's fault that there isn't a ground of sufficient size in Cork to host this charity match? In typical Irish fashion we want to bend the rules when it suits and tomorrow we'll be giving out about corruption and rule bending that we don't favour. Maybe we should break health and safety rules and let 20000 into Turners Cross? Of course not. As a nation we seriously need to cop on to ourselves and do a bit of thinking rather than reactionary barstool yapping.

The FAI is an organisation that I neither know nor care a lot about. I'm not here to defend them.

But it should be pointed out that your argument is without merit. Cork might well be the second city of RoI but GAA is a 32 County organisation. The second city is Belfast. The fundraiser for Anto Duffy would no doubt have been hosted in a GAA stadium but none with a capacity to even 2000 could be mustered in a city 240% the size of Cork or an urban area 600% the size of Cork? Where was your ire directed then? Or was it silenced by shame?

Fair play to Ulster Rugby. No good reason why GAA could not follow that example

Being discussed right now on Newstalk.
What a shambles.
From a PR perspective, this has to be the association's annus horribilis.

Quote from: smelmoth on July 21, 2018, 12:57:33 PM

The fundraiser for Anto Duffy would no doubt have been hosted in a GAA stadium but none with a capacity to even 2000 could be mustered in a city 240% the size of Cork or an urban area 600% the size of Cork? Where was your ire directed then? Or was it silenced by shame?

What's this about? Who is / was Anto Duffy?

smelmoth

Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 21, 2018, 01:34:07 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on July 21, 2018, 12:57:33 PM

The fundraiser for Anto Duffy would no doubt have been hosted in a GAA stadium but none with a capacity to even 2000 could be mustered in a city 240% the size of Cork or an urban area 600% the size of Cork? Where was your ire directed then? Or was it silenced by shame?

What's this about? Who is / was Anto Duffy?

Slip of the thumb