Cheeky Dubs cash in on Xmas

Started by stephenite, November 16, 2006, 05:31:32 AM

;D ;D ;D

One rag highlights the launch of another ;)

From Irish Indo

THERE may be six months to go before the championship starts - but that hasn't stopped Dublin GAA coming out with a new team jersey just in time for Christmas.

In a move more usually associated with Premiership

soccer clubs such as Manchester United, Dublin GAA is bringing out yet another new shirt - just three years after its last change.

It may be February before any county football resumes, but Arnotts threw open its doors at 8am today to allow in the desperate hordes of diehard Dubs who couldn't survive another minute without the latest geansai.

They've ditched the usual practice of issuing the new kit in April just before the championships kick-off, in a thoughtful gesture which Arnotts said would facilitate those who want to buy new jerseys as Christmas presents.

The move should be greeted with cynicism and smacked of practices more common overseas, said Dublin City Councillor Tom Brabazon (FF).

"This kind of Manchester United commercialism is putting parents and children under financial pressure and it really is unfair of the County Board to do this," he said.

The price of children's jerseys has been increased from between €28 and €37 to between €30 and €40, and the adult version is unchanged at €55.

However, the timing coming up to Christmas is "incidental", and was based more on the fact that several counties were coming out with new kits shortly, and the launches had to be staggered, said sportskit-maker O'Neill's marketing manager Cormac Farrell. "Dublin supporters have been demanding a new shirt."

The decision on a new kit was agreed between the Dublin County Board, the sponsors Arnotts and themselves with each getting a share of the price.

liihb

Quotejust three years after its last change.

I thought that was standard practice for the Dubs and most county teams (though I know Offaly haven't changed theres since 1888 :))
Every time you open your mouth you have this wonderful ability to continually confirm what I think.

Cheeky and cyncical it seems  :o and that's coming from one of there own.

Seriously though this shite about jeries in any sport is utter nonsense. You don't have to buy the jersey. All counties now seem to bring out new strips early in the year, and I think supporters like the change. 3 years is great value to get out of any shirt anyhow!

I think that Counties should only be allowed to change their shirt after they have won the All Ireland or a provencial title (hurling or football). That way you reward success on the field with commercial success. Fermanagh would have to play in skins but I still think it would be a fair system.

liihb

Lads for gods sake a change every three years is not exactly ripping the paying public off.

Lecale, I have to say that suggestion below is crazy! Are you allowed to make more changes if you win the all-ireland than if you win the provincial title?
Every time you open your mouth you have this wonderful ability to continually confirm what I think.

dubnut

Jaysus, what a big deal over nothing!

So what if they change it, three years wear out of a shirt that costs £40? is fantastic, my children wear their GAA shirts constantly and saves buying a lot of other shirts

dubsnsubs

Just back from the launch. Brought the young fella and he got his jersey signd by Pillar "will deliver" Caffrey, Alan Brogan, Shane Ryan, Bryan Cullen and David Curtin from the hurlers. Bernard Dunne was expected but had'nt turned up while I was there. Anyway there was a nice crowd and it was a bit of crack. I did'nt feel one bit ripped off and it makess perfect sense to launch it before Christmas. Up the Dubs!

Quote from: Lecale2 on November 16, 2006, 08:12:32 AM
I think that Counties should only be allowed to change their shirt after they have won the All Ireland or a provencial title (hurling or football). That way you reward success on the field with commercial success. Fermanagh would have to play in skins but I still think it would be a fair system.

What a ridiculous statement, so would u have wicklow & fermanagh playing in the same jerseys they started out in 100 yrs ago?

tayto

Another nothing article from the indo. a new jersey every three years isnt exactly taking the piss is it? ... so what if it's in time for christmas, if they released it just before the championship the cynics would have a pop as well i suppose. Don't premiership clubs change jersey every year? I thought the launch was tonight!?  Hows it look in the flesh?

amallon

Mayo4Sam - I think Lecales comments might have been  tounge in cheek.  ::)
Disclaimer: I am responsible for MY comments only.  I don't own this site.

Northside Dub

A new Jersey every 3 years isn't that big of a deal :o
I mean its less than €20 a year and it will still be in fashion for the 3 years! ill hav one on my shopping list ;D
"Practice does not make perfect. Only perfect practice makes perfect."

dubsnsubs

Have to say I think I preferred the old jersey but maybe it just takes getting used to!

Quote from: Northside Dub on November 16, 2006, 09:45:27 AM
it will still be in fashion for the 3 years

It mightn't be out of date for 3 years but I don't think anyone could ever call a Dublin jersey as being in fashion!

dubnut

Another point is that releasing the jersey right before christmas will mean it still NEW in the minds of the kids.
If this means they ask for a Dublin jersey instead of a Liverpool one then thats gotta be a good thing.
Some kids may only get the one jersey per year at Christmas.
Might keep the Dubs in the minds of people year round too instead of just summer. Maybe some of the kids will even want to go to league games to show off their new jersey!
Wishful thinking but might make a tiny tiny difference.
Same goes for all counties.