Leitrim v Armagh

Started by illdecide, July 01, 2013, 09:52:45 AM

Quote from: Itchy on July 14, 2013, 06:36:35 PM
Are Armagh the most fickle fans in Ireland? I think so. Now ye want Cavan in the next round, a team that handed ye your arses on a plate! Some of yis still can't accept that ye were bet by a better team. I wanted to avoid Armagh just to have a change of scenery but you know maybe id like to see is beat yis again just to watch some of yis abuse your manager again.

Cavan deservedly won the first game but if I were a Cavan man I wouldn't be as confident as you arppear to be of winning a potential rematch. I think we have better players than Cavan and I know it's the game that the team would like the most. Everyone knows we got it tactically wrong the last day and those mistakes won't be made again.

Really, Grimley didn't seem too interested in changing his tactics after the game. Did he deploy a sweeper against the might of Wicklow and Leitrim. Ye may have slightly better players but I think we work harder and have a stronger team ethic. I wouldn't see much in it if it were to happen but I don't think Armagh should be looking down their noses. For me ye are nowhere near the team ye once were.

Quote from: yellowcard on July 14, 2013, 07:10:18 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 14, 2013, 06:36:35 PM
Are Armagh the most fickle fans in Ireland? I think so. Now ye want Cavan in the next round, a team that handed ye your arses on a plate! Some of yis still can't accept that ye were bet by a better team. I wanted to avoid Armagh just to have a change of scenery but you know maybe id like to see is beat yis again just to watch some of yis abuse your manager again.

Cavan deservedly won the first game but if I were a Cavan man I wouldn't be as confident as you arppear to be of winning a potential rematch. I think we have better players than Cavan and I know it's the game that the team would like the most. Everyone knows we got it tactically wrong the last day and those mistakes won't be made again.

I think there's about nothing between the relative qualities of the two panels.

Armagh were lucky not to be relegated to Division 3 this season, who cares if they were missing Cross players earlier in the League. Cavan were without the u21's for the majority of the league, only for that I think we would have been promoted.

Ye seem confident of beating us, lets hope we are drawn together again..

Armaghgeddon

Quote from: rodney trotter on July 14, 2013, 08:36:35 PM
Armagh were lucky not to be relegated to Division 3 this season, who cares if they were missing Cross players earlier in the League. Cavan were without the u21's for the majority of the league, only for that I think we would have been promoted.

Does anyone else see anything wrong with this post?

Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 14, 2013, 12:34:36 AM
[No offense to Leitrim, the gap has seriously widened. They badly need a intermediate competition. Have a Connacht competition where the other teams whose first team is Senior enters their Junior team into the intermediate championship.

The lack of interest shown by Leitrim today would suggest even less interest for a lower ranked competition. [/quote]

Maybe the GAA should suspend Counties who don't make an effort from all competitions for a year.
That might make Wicklow, Offaly and the Layhthrums buck up a bit in future  :D

Quote from: Itchy on July 14, 2013, 07:16:23 PM
Really, Grimley didn't seem too interested in changing his tactics after the game. Did he deploy a sweeper against the might of Wicklow and Leitrim. Ye may have slightly better players but I think we work harder and have a stronger team ethic. I wouldn't see much in it if it were to happen but I don't think Armagh should be looking down their noses. For me ye are nowhere near the team ye once were.

Don't be putting words in my mouth, I'm realistic enough to know the level we are at and so are most supporters. We COULD make a q-final but that would be about the limit of our capabilities. You could probably say the same for all the remaining counties left bar Tyrone. Yes, Cavan are a progressive side and you have a chance to challenge for an Ulster title in the next 2-3 years but I think you are getting ahead of yourself with your confidence about the likely outcome of a rematch.

Quote from: Armaghgeddon on July 14, 2013, 08:43:17 PM

Fair play you noticed I was making excuses too. We were in contention until the end of the league without the u21 players, Divison 3 was probably higher standard this year compared to Division 2. Fermanagh beating Westmeath in Mullingar, being a good example.

There wasn't much credit given to Cavan for beating Armagh more on the tactics used by Grimley, it wasn't as if Armagh had been coming on the back of a good league

Not really. Typical Dave Rodney Trotter logic!

Quote from: armaghniac on July 14, 2013, 10:34:57 PM

Not really. Typical Dave Rodney Trotter logic!

Ladies. I know you're proud of your handbags but this isn't the best way to show them off.

QuoteLadies. I know you're proud of your handbags but this isn't the best way to show them off.

Who are the Rossies playing in Round 3?

Quote from: armaghniac on July 14, 2013, 11:46:54 PM
QuoteLadies. I know you're proud of your handbags but this isn't the best way to show them off.

Who are the Rossies playing in Round 3?

We didn't fancy playing one of these small teams. Already in training for 2014. Donie's growing a beard.

ardchieftain

Syferus, have you any relations in the Grange by any chance?

Quote from: Rossfan on July 14, 2013, 08:55:19 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 14, 2013, 12:34:36 AM
[No offense to Leitrim, the gap has seriously widened. They badly need a intermediate competition. Have a Connacht competition where the other teams whose first team is Senior enters their Junior team into the intermediate championship.

The lack of interest shown by Leitrim today would suggest even less interest for a lower ranked competition.

Maybe the GAA should suspend Counties who don't make an effort from all competitions for a year.
That might make Wicklow, Offaly and the Layhthrums buck up a bit in future  :D

Says the mighty rossie. Wow.

Don Corleone

Is it yourself Larry  ::)

Would you, or you're carer have an optional plan  :'(
Why did you go to the police? Why didn't you come to me first?