GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Bart McQueen on November 15, 2017, 10:14:26 PM

Title: Time for roscommon to shit or get off the pot?
Post by: Bart McQueen on November 15, 2017, 10:14:26 PM
Were hearing how great this Roscommon team are but they always fold like a deck of cards. The Dalys, Peter Domican, Cathal Cregg, Donie and Cathal Shine, Tom Corcoran and Ultan Harney are back next year. Will we see Roscommon final making a impact at business end of championship??
Title: Re: Time for roscommon to shit or get off the pot?
Post by: rrhf on November 15, 2017, 10:31:56 PM
They definitely are the talk of the country. They are set to take Connaught by storm. Early Talk of Jim Gavin jumping ship at the prospect of the primroses dominating.
Post by: LooseCannon on November 15, 2017, 11:28:09 PM
Roscommon is famous for two things: Douglas Hyde and cryptosporidium. They've no problem sh*tting in Roscommon anyway with the influence of the latter on its water supply.
Post by: Avondhu star on November 16, 2017, 02:08:27 PM
Just try and avoid replays
Post by: seafoid on November 16, 2017, 03:15:12 PM
They are usually good early in the year. Mayo will fade at some stage and Galway are hit and miss so greatness is there for Ros unless Sligo feck it up for them.
Post by: giveballaghback on November 16, 2017, 07:38:22 PM
If we are playing Sligo seafoid both Mayo and Galway will have shit the pot, why are the rossies bothering ye, talk about London or New York or some of them other small counties.
Post by: seafoid on November 16, 2017, 09:23:21 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on November 16, 2017, 07:38:22 PM
If we are playing Sligo seafoid both Mayo and Galway will have shit the pot, why are the rossies bothering ye, talk about London or New York or some of them other small counties.
The stars may be aligning for Ros actually. I would love to see them achieving their potential.
Post by: Avondhu star on November 17, 2017, 08:05:57 PM
Counties like Roscommon need to have the benefit of every possible player of county standard. There's no room from big heads or stupid inter club rivalries
Post by: rrhf on November 18, 2017, 07:11:55 AM
Andy Moran is staying where he is. A true mayo warrior.
Post by: Substandard on November 18, 2017, 10:59:10 AM
On behalf of Roscommon, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for supporting our players at club and county level, and to apologise for having any degree of optimism or ambition whatsoever.  I would like to apologise for deriving any bit of joy or excitement from any games won in the past, and apologise profusely to any team Roscommon had the temerity to beat, even if it was a rarity.  I apologise for us not knowing our place.  I apologise for those players that try to be as good as they can be, and apologise for anyone that puts in time or effort trying to improve said players.  I hereby vow to leave all matters GAA and gaelic football to Mayo, Galway, Tyrone, Meath, Dublin and Kerry in future, and will pass on to all Rossies that we mustn't dare to dream, or look for the occasional day to enjoy, and we should desist from getting notions about ourselves...
Post by: Avondhu star on November 18, 2017, 06:17:55 PM
Quote from: Substandard on November 18, 2017, 10:59:10 AM
On behalf of Roscommon, I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for supporting our players at club and county level, and to apologise for having any degree of optimism or ambition whatsoever.  I would like to apologise for deriving any bit of joy or excitement from any games won in the past, and apologise profusely to any team Roscommon had the temerity to beat, even if it was a rarity.  I apologise for us not knowing our place.  I apologise for those players that try to be as good as they can be, and apologise for anyone that puts in time or effort trying to improve said players.  I hereby vow to leave all matters GAA and gaelic football to Mayo, Galway, Tyrone, Meath, Dublin and Kerry in future, and will pass on to all Rossies that we mustn't dare to dream, or look for the occasional day to enjoy, and we should desist from getting notions about ourselves...

Never mind the gobshites. Ross had a good league two years ago, won Connacht this year and put Mayo under pressure in the first game. Hopefully with a bit of unity in the camp they can kick on to be in the top six and do their bit in new playoff system
Post by: From the Bunker on November 18, 2017, 07:58:50 PM
I was thinking this headline could apply to Cork, Galway, Meath, Kildare, Tyrone, Cavan, Clare or Tipperary.

The headline will always apply to my own county as long as Sam is not won!
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 18, 2017, 08:13:41 PM
Bartholomew McQueen is a troll. If the admins/mods have any sense this thread will be deleted. Something Syf posted on another thread started this one off (I think). No need for apologising Substandard. I know I shouldn't have replied giving this troll the time of day.
Post by: Avondhu star on November 18, 2017, 10:33:52 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on November 18, 2017, 07:58:50 PM
I was thinking this headline could apply to Cork, Galway, Meath, Kildare, Tyrone, Cavan, Clare or Tipperary.

The headline will always apply to my own county as long as Sam is not won!

The Championship would have been very boring the last few years without Mayo. Hopefully you will have your day soon
Post by: Rossfan on December 12, 2017, 10:48:38 AM
€211k surplus last year,  spending on Co teams down €230k.
New Treasurer, the Dalys back on the panel.
GAA world beware!! the Rossies are coming !!!
Post by: LooseCannon on December 12, 2017, 07:03:16 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 12, 2017, 10:48:38 AM

I suppose Pearse's are going to win the championship as well. As much as I would like to see Offaly men win it, they won't.
Post by: Syferus on December 12, 2017, 07:20:50 PM
Pearses are wasting money getting Pat Flanagan. They are in a place where a big name manager might just get them over the line but Flanagan is neither that nor the man to beat Brigids.

Cake, Pearses' best manager of recent years, will be a selector under Frankie Dolan for Brigids this coming season too.
Post by: macdanger2 on December 12, 2017, 11:18:44 PM

How have they managed to reduce costs by that much? Or is it just more of it being paid under the table?
Post by: Syferus on December 13, 2017, 12:36:42 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on December 12, 2017, 11:18:44 PM

How have they managed to reduce costs by that much? Or is it just more of it being paid under the table?

Minor and U21 teams operated on a shoestring budget with all the preferred candidates walking away from the jobs. It's the main reason Sligo beat us in Kiltoom this year at U21 tbh.
Post by: sligoman2 on December 13, 2017, 02:25:15 AM
Dry your eyes Sy - we beat ye fair and square in ye're own back yard.

You are like the brits thinking they can say whatever they like about the Irish. 

Well guess what - Sligo says no...  and we will beat ye again next year if we meet ye in u-20.

You can be a total tool at times.  Ease off the drink it's only Wednesday.
Post by: Rossfan on December 13, 2017, 07:18:04 AM

Minor and U21 cutback.
5 man management reduced to 3.
42 man squad down to 33....
Post by: Maroon Manc on December 13, 2017, 09:54:04 AM
The best wum on the board has still not lost his touch, why oh why have you fallen for that Sligoman.

Post by: Blowitupref on December 13, 2017, 10:22:49 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 13, 2017, 07:18:04 AM

Minor and U21 cutback.
Less injuries/medial expenses from last year, no trip to New York and not playing home games in Sligo,Leitrim and Longford?
Post by: sligoman2 on December 13, 2017, 12:29:48 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on December 13, 2017, 09:54:04 AM
The best wum on the board has still not lost his touch, why oh why have you fallen for that Sligoman.
I know, i know, I know.... It won't happen again.  The sad part is he's not trying to wind us up, he has said this before...
Post by: Syferus on December 13, 2017, 01:21:59 PM
It's assuming that when someone dispenses with the mealy-mouthed plamasing and is honest some here can't see the forest for the trees and identify the difference between it what someone like this thread creator.

Get this - I'm not here to massage Sligo supporters or anyone else's egos. If you don't think the cutbacks effected the performance on the field you genuinely do not know what you're talking about.
Post by: weareros on December 13, 2017, 01:36:36 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 13, 2017, 01:21:59 PM
It's assuming that when someone dispenses with the mealy-mouthed plamasing and is honest some here can't see the forest for the trees and identify the difference between it what someone like this thread creator.

Get this - I'm not here to massage Sligo supporters or anyone else's egos. If you don't think the cutbacks effected the performance on the field you genuinely do not know what you're talking about.

This crop of Sligo players were better than us at U.18, too. We've had more than enough good years to give credit where it's due. You could also make the case that Sligo would have more underage success if they invested in development teams over the years.
Post by: Syferus on December 13, 2017, 01:50:53 PM
Quote from: weareros on December 13, 2017, 01:36:36 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 13, 2017, 01:21:59 PM

This crop of Sligo players were better than us at U.18, too. We've had more than enough good years to give credit where it's due. You could also make the case that Sligo would have more underage success if they invested in development teams over the years.

The minor win the previous year was just a case of them being better. But some key players were alienated at U21 this year and despite the poor preparations we were still competitive. It took a madcap finish in the minor game to achieve that because we were totally second best everywhere that day.

The CB essentially tanking the minor and U21 teams played a big role this year, I think even you would have a hard time arguing otherwise. The minors' stand in Salthill for 55 minutes this year was absolutely remarkable in that context. With good teams coming through at minor and U20 next year the same attitude cannot be allowed to repeat itself.
Post by: Rossfan on December 14, 2017, 03:22:05 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on December 13, 2017, 10:22:49 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 13, 2017, 07:18:04 AM

Minor and U21 cutback.
Less injuries/medial expenses from last year, no trip to New York and not playing home games in Sligo,Leitrim and Longford?
That certainly helped.
Post by: mayoaremagic on December 15, 2017, 11:00:41 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on December 13, 2017, 09:54:04 AM

+1 he was same on boards.ie until disappeared months ago
Post by: mayoaremagic on December 15, 2017, 11:02:14 AM
Quote from: Syferus on December 13, 2017, 12:36:42 AM

Minor and U21 teams operated on a shoestring budget with all the preferred candidates walking away from the jobs. It's the main reason Sligo beat us in Kiltoom this year at U21 tbh.

surely the 100k between Mcstay and Mchale should be cut an invested into county minor/u20 next year??
Post by: mayoaremagic on December 15, 2017, 11:04:28 AM

No Neil Collins now.The wheals are off coming now!
Post by: Rossfan on December 15, 2017, 11:08:56 AM
Quote from: mayoaremagic on December 15, 2017, 11:04:28 AM

No Neil Collins now.The wheals are off coming now!
Once the WHEELS stay on we'll be grand.
Post by: Avondhu star on April 01, 2018, 01:58:09 PM
Quote from: CumminsCiderLarry on April 01, 2018, 11:55:36 AM
Wild celebrations expected in Roscommon town. The stage is setup for tomorrow night.Who can blame them as this will be their All Ireland. Should beat Cavan handy enough. The McStay/McHale project is paying off.

Have their fun either way but the Super 8 ( I hate that term) must be their goal. We might be surprised how that new system could open the door for a few of the top 5 to 8 counties
Post by: tippabu on April 01, 2018, 02:00:31 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on April 01, 2018, 01:58:09 PM
Wild celebrations expected in Roscommon town. The stage is setup for tomorrow night.Who can blame them as this will be their All Ireland. Should beat Cavan handy enough. The McStay/McHale project is paying off.

Have their fun either way but the Super 8 ( I hate that term) must be their goal. We might be surprised how that new system could open the door for a few of the top 5 to 8 counties

they realistically only have to win one match to get there. connacht final or lose that and theyve one playoff round to win to get in
Post by: larryin89 on April 02, 2018, 12:56:46 PM
Quote from: tippabu on April 01, 2018, 02:00:31 PM

they realistically only have to win one match to get there. connacht final or lose that and theyve one playoff round to win to get in

On yesterdays show id be very worried if I were a rossie . Galway will cut loose on that defence and score a dozen goals.
Post by: Rossfan on April 02, 2018, 01:09:23 PM
As someone said on the Div 2 thread 2 weeks ago when it really mattered Ros and Cavan conceded NO GOALS.
If we meet the Rhubarbs or Herrins in a game that matters in June ir July you'll find our defence will be somewhat tighter to say the least .
At least I bloody well hope so :-\
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 02, 2018, 01:13:52 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 02, 2018, 12:56:46 PM
Quote from: tippabu on April 01, 2018, 02:00:31 PM

On yesterdays show id be very worried if I were a rossie . Galway will cut loose on that defence and score a dozen goals.
Mayo will likely beat Galway and Roscommon to win Connacht this year. The mileage on the clock of the majority of the Mayo players means they will be going all out to reach the last 8 via the front door this year.
Post by: larryin89 on April 02, 2018, 01:29:08 PM
My point was about Roscommons ridiculous leaky defence whether its Galway or Mayo is neither here nor there , I just said Galway as I think they might manage us unfortunately but it is probably a 50/50 game.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 02, 2018, 02:35:04 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 02, 2018, 01:29:08 PM
My point was about Roscommons ridiculous leaky defence whether its Galway or Mayo is neither here nor there , I just said Galway as I think they might manage us unfortunately but it is probably a 50/50 game.
Galway only managed 0-12 v Roscommon in the Connacht final last year so they can tighten up if they put their minds to it. I think that game in MacHale park will be 60/40 in favour of Mayo TBH.