GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 09:07:02 AM

Title: Kerry set to dominate Football at all age levels.
Post by: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 09:07:02 AM
Kerry set to dominate.

Kerry minors 4 in a row, by a score line like that, what a team and congrats to them.

If you look at Dublin, 1 minor in over 20 years, beaten by this Derry team, beaten by Meath also this year, U-17s beaten by Meath too (or does money only win you things starting at U-21  ;)) but Kerry look like they are a doing the right thing down there, putting the right men in place and putting the right amount of money into the development squads and they are certainly not short of a few bob with a billion Euro company sponsoring them. Looking now to build a centre on excellence, the Kerry fund raisers, especially in the states generate big amounts. I heard a story before that the Kerry U-16 girls team was using GPS trackers, that's serious.

Anybody nervous about this and if, say in 5 or 6 years start to dominate once again, win 3,4, 5 in a decade or 2 or 3 in a row, what then, will their be calls to split them like their regional championship teams. North Kerry Etc. Will their be calls to cut their funding and sponsorship. Will people say football is dead.

I say fair play to them and best of luck.

Title: Re: Kerry set to dominate Football at all age levels.
Post by: Rossfan on September 20, 2017, 09:45:23 AM
The 1.3 million people in Dublin and especially the 150,000 males between 18 and 35 will stop Kerry's 135,000 people and their 12,500  male 18 to 35 year olds dominating.
Post by: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 10:16:23 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 20, 2017, 09:45:23 AM
The 1.3 million people in Dublin and especially the 150,000 males between 18 and 35 will stop Kerry's 135,000 people and their 12,500  male 18 to 35 year olds dominating.

Doubtful, it has be proven, across the world since the start of time, population means nothing in sport. Your point is just following the narrative of the agenda.

Next . . . . ..

Post by: Dinny Breen on September 20, 2017, 10:20:32 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 10:16:23 AM

Doubtful, it has be proven, across the world since the start of time, population means nothing in sport. Your point is just following the narrative of the agenda.

Next . . . . ..

You are dead right that's why the poorest and one of the least populated countries in the World has dominated the Olympics, aka USA.
Post by: mup on September 20, 2017, 10:22:37 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 09:07:02 AM
Kerry set to dominate.

Kerry minors 4 in a row, by a score line like that, what a team and congrats to them.

If you look at Dublin, 1 minor in over 20 years, beaten by this Derry team, beaten by Meath also this year, U-17s beaten by Meath too (or does money only win you things starting at U-21  ;)) but Kerry look like they are a doing the right thing down there, putting the right men in place and putting the right amount of money into the development squads and they are certainly not short of a few bob with a billion Euro company sponsoring them. Looking now to build a centre on excellence, the Kerry fund raisers, especially in the states generate big amounts. I heard a story before that the Kerry U-16 girls team was using GPS trackers, that's serious.

Anybody nervous about this and if, say in 5 or 6 years start to dominate once again, win 3,4, 5 in a decade or 2 or 3 in a row, what then, will their be calls to split them like their regional championship teams. North Kerry Etc. Will their be calls to cut their funding and sponsorship. Will people say football is dead.

What age are you?
Post by: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 11:07:43 AM
Quote from: mup on September 20, 2017, 10:22:37 AM
Kerry set to dominate.

What age are you?

Its a fair point argument but sounds like its only suits the narrative when its Dublin, all the above is accurate, but nobody is stating it because its not Dublin.

And its why you never hear Kerry talk about Dublin the way others do and others on this site do, as they know this is coming down the line. 
Post by: AZOffaly on September 20, 2017, 11:11:53 AM
FWIW, I also believe Kerry are miles ahead of the pack in terms of their funding and their investment. That development in Firies/Farranfore is supposed to be top notch. That's why I mentioned Kerry as being similar to Dublin in their financial standing.

I suppose the main difference here is Kerry fundraise their Coaching and Games monies. They got something like 50k from the GAA as opposed to Dublin getting 1.3 million.
Post by: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 11:13:01 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 20, 2017, 10:20:32 AM

Next . . . . ..

You are dead right that's why the poorest and one of the least populated countries in the World has dominated the Olympics, aka USA.

Olympics has multiple different sports. Poor comparison.

I would look at International football.

Post by: Rossfan on September 20, 2017, 11:14:47 AM
Yeah right.
Haiti keep winning World Cups????
Post by: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 11:18:23 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 20, 2017, 11:14:47 AM
Yeah right.

Other way around, out of the top 10 most populated countries in the world, 1 of them has won a world cup. Just a small example, im sure there is better comparisons out there.

Anyway, are people worried that Kerry could dominate underage and senior for the foreseeable future?

Post by: The Hill is Blue on September 20, 2017, 11:37:48 AM
Kerry set to dominate.

Anybody nervous about this and if, say in 5 or 6 years start to dominate once again, win 3,4, 5 in a decade or 2 or 3 in a row, what then, will their be calls to split them like their regional championship teams. North Kerry Etc. Will their be calls to cut their funding and sponsorship. Will people say football is dead

No one seemed too concerned when Kerry were amassing 37 All Ireland titles.
Post by: Rossfan on September 20, 2017, 11:44:10 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 11:18:23 AM
Yeah right.

Other way around, out of the top 10 most populated countries in the world, 1 of them has won a world cup. Just a small example, im sure there is better comparisons out there.

China and India didn't do soccer much.
After all Antrim is the second biggest population County but haven't done anything in football since around 1910.
For one very good reason.
Post by: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 11:48:10 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 20, 2017, 11:44:10 AM
Yeah right.

After all Antrim is the second biggest population County but haven't done anything in football since around 1910.

Can use Antrim as an example, come on.

Soccer is played more in Dublin, it has one of the biggest amateur soccer leagues in Europe, a resource rich competitor in Leinster and vast tracks of areas with no GAA at all.

Next
Post by: Syferus on September 20, 2017, 11:51:45 AM
Why are ye feeding yet another nonsense thread lads? If you don't ignore them they'll keep making them.
Post by: Estimator on September 20, 2017, 11:53:44 AM
You cannot point at success at one level and state categorically that it will translate to another. Clearly minor success doesn't always translate to senior success. There are a lot of factors that will come in to play in the next few years. (Study, Travel, Drink etc)
Examples:
Kerry won one AI minor in the 90's (1994) yet picked up numerous senior titles between '97 and '08
Dublin have won one AI minor this century (2012) yet have won 5 of the last 7 Senior titles.
Laois reached three AI final's in a row in the 90's winning in two, all they have to show for it is one solitary Leinster Senior title.
Tyrone won the Al Minor in '04, '08 and '10.  Essentially 3 different teams.  They won Sam in '08, but haven't got to a senior final since.
In Hurling Galway have appeared in 18 AI minor finals, (since 1990) winning 10.  They have one solitary Senior success.
In club football, Glen (Derry) have dominated the underage scene since 2011.  They won 4 Ulster minor club titles in a row. They've won the last 3 U21 Ulster club titles.  They have yet to appear in a Senior county final since their winning streak started.  Slaughtneil on the other hand, last won a county minor title in 2000, but have won the last 3 senior county titles, won two Ulster titles and appeared in 2 All-Ireland club finals!
Underage success is good, but it isn't a barometer for future senior success.
Post by: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 12:07:09 PM
Quote from: Estimator on September 20, 2017, 11:53:44 AM
You cannot point at success at one level and state categorically that it will translate to another. Clearly minor success doesn't always translate to senior success. There are a lot of factors that will come in to play in the next few years. (Study, Travel, Drink etc)
Examples:
Kerry won one AI minor in the 90's (1994) yet picked up numerous senior titles between '97 and '08
Dublin have won one AI minor this century (2012) yet have won 5 of the last 7 Senior titles.
Laois reached three AI final's in a row in the 90's winning in two, all they have to show for it is one solitary Leinster Senior title.
Tyrone won the Al Minor in '04, '08 and '10.  Essentially 3 different teams.  They won Sam in '08, but haven't got to a senior final since.
In Hurling Galway have appeared in 18 AI minor finals, (since 1990) winning 10.  They have one solitary Senior success.
In club football, Glen (Derry) have dominated the underage scene since 2011.  They won 4 Ulster minor club titles in a row. They've won the last 3 U21 Ulster club titles.  They have yet to appear in a Senior county final since their winning streak started.  Slaughtneil on the other hand, last won a county minor title in 2000, but have won the last 3 senior county titles, won two Ulster titles and appeared in 2 All-Ireland club finals!
Underage success is good, but it isn't a barometer for future senior success.

Its a fair point and it doesn't mean senior success alright, but 4 in a row, with the resources and money Kerry have to bring these lads to the next level and transition to U-20 and senior will be carefully managed. Only time will tell but as Colm o Rourke believe the GAA is all about participation etc, is Kerry domination at minor not a concern as Dublin in the senior, if they win 5 or 6 minors (u-17) in a row, will there be concerns then.

Again, its a only time will tell issue.
Post by: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 12:21:33 PM
Another example on population. New Zealand Rugby, pop 4 million, dwarfed by France, England, Australia, South Africa, but dominate.

Post by: Owenmoresider on September 20, 2017, 12:27:21 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 11:48:10 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 20, 2017, 11:44:10 AM
Yeah right.

Can use Antrim as an example, come on.

Soccer is played more in Dublin, it has one of the biggest amateur soccer leagues in Europe, a resource rich competitor in Leinster and vast tracks of areas with no GAA at all.

Next
Sligo town has a strong local soccer tradition, Limerick city more so, and a strong rugby scene which isn't as class/school based as it might be in Dublin, plenty of other towns/cities would be similar too. It's not a problem exclusive to Dublin.
Post by: Owenmoresider on September 20, 2017, 12:35:37 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 12:21:33 PM
Another example on population. New Zealand Rugby, pop 4 million, dwarfed by France, England, Australia, South Africa, but dominate.
Because it is the undisputed main sport in the country, as it is in Wales. Their strength has sustained itself and their development of talent and the culture of success has made them the best rugby nation by a distance, indeed like the Dubs they showed an inability to win the big prize until 2011 and haven't looked back since, and going by last weekend they are pulling ahead to a worrying degree.
Rugby would probably be second to soccer in France, at best third in England behind soccer and cricket (and a clear North/South split between Rugbys League and Union), fourth in Australia behind Australian Rules, cricket and Rugby League, South Africa might be the exception but cricket is very prominent there too.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 20, 2017, 04:46:32 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 11:13:01 AM

Next . . . . ..

Ha! The Olympics doesn't count because it's multitude of sports, it's actually the perfect model population + finance = medals. Doesn't suit your narrative though.
Post by: Muck Savage on September 20, 2017, 05:57:09 PM
You seem to be forgetting that Dublin have won 4 U21 All-Irelands since 2010 and won all but 2 Leinster U21's since 2009. U21 can be a better reflection of what you will get at Senior level as the players are more developed, conditioned and can feed directly into the senior team. The first of the Kerry Minor 4 in a row team teams were beaten at the semi-final stage this year so that could show regression already.
Dublin appear to have a good development plan given they only contested 2 Minor AI finals since 2010 (1W 1L) yet have won 4 U21's. Some would suggest that money spent developing players in this area is more beneficial to the senior team. You have to have a base of players, which they clearly have with 5 Leinster Minor titles since 2009, then focus on physical development and conditioning from there.
Only time will tell, but any other county in the country would be ecstatic with 50% of the above success.
Post by: seafoid on September 20, 2017, 06:13:35 PM
There is something wrong with the Kerry transmission mechanism. They used to be able to beat the Dubs . They have been reduced to winning Sams against teams such as Cork and Mayo. If either team is washing its hair in September Kerry don't get Sam.
Post by: Seamus on September 20, 2017, 09:15:46 PM
Next year's U17 crop is also very talented and it will take a very good team to beat them. One concern I would have is for a much more physical, less skillful team blowing them out of the water, more evident at U17 than U18. But the general consensus on this board is that all the talent we have seen since 2014 will probably come to naught. That is very debatable. I'm fully in tune with the development squads from U14 up and am very excited about the future. It will still take 2019 at the earliest to see the first proper transition to senior. I would expect Kerry to also be very competitive if not winning U20s in the not too distant future with or without David Clifford and Sean O'Shea.
Post by: TheGreatest on September 21, 2017, 08:32:53 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 20, 2017, 04:46:32 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 11:13:01 AM

Next . . . . ..

Ha! The Olympics doesn't count because it's multitude of sports, it's actually the perfect model population + finance = medals. Doesn't suit your narrative though.

Disagree. International football.

Also I use that saying here.....
Post by: magpie seanie on September 21, 2017, 09:12:08 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on September 20, 2017, 12:35:37 PM
Because it is the undisputed main sport in the country, as it is in Wales. Their strength has sustained itself and their development of talent and the culture of success has made them the best rugby nation by a distance, indeed like the Dubs they showed an inability to win the big prize until 2011 and haven't looked back since, and going by last weekend they are pulling ahead to a worrying degree.
Rugby would probably be second to soccer in France, at best third in England behind soccer and cricket (and a clear North/South split between Rugbys League and Union), fourth in Australia behind Australian Rules, cricket and Rugby League, South Africa might be the exception but cricket is very prominent there too.

Soccer is by far the biggest sport in SA.
Post by: TheGreatest on September 21, 2017, 09:26:49 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 21, 2017, 09:12:08 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on September 20, 2017, 12:35:37 PM

Soccer is by far the biggest sport in SA.

As it is in Dublin too.
Post by: Orchard park on September 21, 2017, 09:29:47 AM
Quote from: Seamus on September 20, 2017, 09:15:46 PM
Next year's U17 crop is also very talented and it will take a very good team to beat them. One concern I would have is for a much more physical, less skillful team blowing them out of the water, more evident at U17 than U18. But the general consensus on this board is that all the talent we have seen since 2014 will probably come to naught. That is very debatable. I'm fully in tune with the development squads from U14 up and am very excited about the future. It will still take 2019 at the earliest to see the first proper transition to senior. I would expect Kerry to also be very competitive if not winning U20s in the not too distant future with or without David Clifford and Sean O'Shea.

kerry lucky that minor is changing in 2018 to u17 or there would be no 5 in a row
Post by: TheGreatest on June 12, 2019, 11:39:38 AM
Well how did Kerry do it?
Post by: kerryforsam19 on June 12, 2019, 11:50:01 AM
Hard graft. Didn't get millions unlike some.
Post by: TheGreatest on June 12, 2019, 11:56:36 AM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on June 12, 2019, 11:50:01 AM
Hard graft. Did get.millions unlike some

Ah i see, a great achievement.  ::)

Post by: Farrandeelin on June 12, 2019, 12:07:35 PM
Quote from: TheGreatest on June 12, 2019, 11:39:38 AM
Well how did Kerry do it?

Do What?
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 15, 2019, 08:32:46 AM
You could right TG. Were going well at all levels. Great credit to our county board
Post by: mup on July 15, 2019, 08:42:28 AM
Good team but definitively up there with the best with levels of cynicism.

It must be taught early.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 15, 2019, 11:23:27 AM
Quote from: mup on July 15, 2019, 08:42:28 AM

It must be taught early.

Our lads play football only. We might slow down games at times but wouldn't be cynical like the dubs
Post by: mup on July 15, 2019, 11:33:45 AM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on July 15, 2019, 11:23:27 AM

It must be taught early.

Our lads play football only. We might slow down games at times but wouldn't be cynical like the dubs

I witnessed it only a couple of weeks ago.

As for the 'supporters' I witnessed. Paidi was right....f***ing animals.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 15, 2019, 11:56:12 AM
Quote from: mup on July 15, 2019, 11:33:45 AM

It must be taught early.

Ah come on there no need for that type of  language   Kerry supporters are the best you find out there.
Post by: mup on July 15, 2019, 11:59:04 AM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on July 15, 2019, 11:56:12 AM
Quote from: mup on July 15, 2019, 11:33:45 AM

It must be taught early.

Ah come on there no need for that type of  language   Kerry supporters are the best you find out there.

I was only quoting Paidi.
Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2019, 12:11:50 PM

It must be taught early.
Since around 1928....
Post by: mup on July 15, 2019, 12:15:21 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 15, 2019, 12:11:50 PM

It must be taught early.
Since around 1928....

Nice to have 4 of them though.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 15, 2019, 12:17:26 PM
Please don't quote kerryforsam19. A total wum.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 15, 2019, 12:30:28 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 15, 2019, 12:17:26 PM

??
Post by: joemamas on July 15, 2019, 01:28:36 PM

Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 15, 2019, 02:48:33 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 15, 2019, 01:28:36 PM

?
Post by: rodney trotter on July 15, 2019, 03:05:06 PM
They are sick of the shite you type.. You keep putting ?? As if you're totally unaware of it all..
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 15, 2019, 03:17:03 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 15, 2019, 03:05:06 PM
They are sick of the shite you type.. You keep putting ?? As if you're totally unaware of it all..

What tripe??
Post by: Harold Disgracey on July 18, 2019, 08:26:19 PM
Fairly getting their asses handed to them by Cork in the U20s! Some super scores.
Post by: kerryforsam19 on July 21, 2019, 11:22:46 AM
Great win for our Junior against Galway. 4 Junior All Ireland in a row. Great to see players from small rural clubs representing  their county.