GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Farrandeelin on May 08, 2017, 08:28:56 AM

Title: Mayo v Sligo CSFC 21st May 2017
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 08, 2017, 08:28:56 AM
Gives us something to talk about.
Title: Re: Mayo v Sligo CSFC 21st May 2017
Post by: seafoid on May 08, 2017, 08:56:11 AM
It depends which Mayo turns up. You would expect them to win but they may be thinking about September as they were last year.
Post by: Mano on May 08, 2017, 09:50:07 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 08, 2017, 08:56:11 AM
It depends which Mayo turns up. You would expect them to win but they may be thinking about September as they were last year.
It depends on what tactics Sligo employ on the day. If Sligo play the open style which Carew usually favours then the scoreline will be similar to Connacht final 2015. If its a containment, defensive approach then we may keep it competitive enough.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 08, 2017, 12:26:16 PM
Mayo we bad against Galway and Fermanagh early last year and will need to play at those levels for us to have a chance. Can't see it.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 08, 2017, 03:16:05 PM
Galway,Fermanagh last year and Monaghan,Cavan this year either beat or were competitive against Mayo in MacHale park because all have been playing a defensive system for years while Sligo have no system,shape or structure to their defence.

Current odds Mayo (1/14). Draw (18/1). Sligo (15/2).

Last Machale park championship meeting 2008 Mayo 3-11 Sligo 0-7. A Moran,K Higgins,C Boyle,D Clarke,T Parsons,C Harrsion,R Dovanan,D Kelly,M Breheny all started that game and will all likely feature again on May 21st.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 08, 2017, 10:21:09 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 08, 2017, 03:16:05 PM
Galway,Fermanagh last year and Monaghan,Cavan this year either beat or were competitive against Mayo in MacHale park because all have been playing a defensive system for years while Sligo have no system,shape or structure to their defence.

Current odds Mayo (1/14). Draw (18/1). Sligo (15/2).

Last Machale park championship meeting 2008 Mayo 3-11 Sligo 0-7. A Moran,K Higgins,C Boyle,D Clarke,T Parsons,C Harrsion,R Dovanan,D Kelly,M Breheny all started that game and will all likely feature again on May 21st.

Sadly I have to agree. We do get men back but they don't seem to have a notion what they're supposed to be doing when they get back.
Post by: Syferus on May 08, 2017, 10:44:42 PM
Is Rochford a better manager than Carew?
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 08, 2017, 11:00:35 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 08, 2017, 10:44:42 PM

Sure Rochford doesn't manage...
Post by: Syferus on May 08, 2017, 11:01:50 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 08, 2017, 11:00:35 PM

That was my point Farr.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 08, 2017, 11:18:03 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 08, 2017, 11:01:50 PM

That was my point Farr.

Carew unable to improve Sligo defensively is more like Kevin McStays management than Rochford to be fair.
Post by: Syferus on May 08, 2017, 11:53:04 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 08, 2017, 11:18:03 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 08, 2017, 11:01:50 PM

That was my point Farr.

Carew unable to improve Sligo defensively is more like Kevin McStays management than Rochford to be fair.

Last year's hammering handed out to Sligo and making the league semi finals are things neither O'Shea or Carew have achieved.
Post by: sligoman2 on May 09, 2017, 01:12:24 AM
It didn't take long for this thread to be hijacked.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 09, 2017, 06:58:26 AM
Quote from: sligoman2 on May 09, 2017, 01:12:24 AM

Indeed. Typical Syferus, he loves getting little diggíns at other counties. He must be the only Rossie able to do so as the team aren't worth a sicín's shite.
Post by: seafoid on May 09, 2017, 10:27:36 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 09, 2017, 06:58:26 AM

Indeed. Typical Syferus, he loves getting little diggíns at other counties. He must be the only Rossie able to do so as the team aren't worth a sicín's shite.

Ros had a FRED experience. I think it's from nuclear physics. Fast rise to D1 then exponential decay
Post by: sligoman2 on May 09, 2017, 12:40:49 PM
How many points are mayo faxoured by
Post by: Syferus on May 09, 2017, 04:14:34 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 09, 2017, 06:58:26 AM

When ye were looking for our help on the last day of the league it's not like yer much better Farr..
Post by: Rossfan on May 09, 2017, 04:50:18 PM
Jasus Syfīn do you have to be over every Mayowestros thread like a rash.
Give the hoors a break, even they don't deserve that much torture.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 09, 2017, 05:02:25 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 09, 2017, 04:50:18 PM
Arrah, give the poor hoor a break. If we didn't have our resident rosquito flying about the place and making a general tool of himself,  sure we start fighting with each other.
Post by: Syferus on May 09, 2017, 06:11:43 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 09, 2017, 05:02:25 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 09, 2017, 04:50:18 PM
Arrah, give the poor hoor a break. If we didn't have our resident rosquito flying about the place and making a general tool of himself, sure we start fighting with each other.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/holmesconnelly-on-mayo-revolt-aidan-osheas-selection-email-seamus-lobbying-for-hennelly-and-clashes-over-mass-times-35301012.html

Changed my IP address a few times and refreshed the page so they'd get a bit more ad revenue in case you don't click the link.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 10, 2017, 02:45:36 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on May 09, 2017, 12:40:49 PM

9 points according to Paddt Power. Mayo (-9) evens, Sligo (+9) 10/11, Handicap Draw (-9) 11/1.
Post by: rosnarun on May 11, 2017, 01:20:41 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 10, 2017, 02:45:36 PM

9 points according to Paddt Power. Mayo (-9) evens, Sligo (+9) 10/11, Handicap Draw (-9) 11/1.
thats a great beat i cant ee mayo winning by anymore than 8 points
Post by: MayoBuck on May 11, 2017, 11:54:42 PM
Sean Hurson from Tyrone named as referee. Don't remember us having him before.
Post by: Syferus on May 12, 2017, 01:08:21 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 11, 2017, 01:20:41 PM

We beat them by 9 by playing for 30 minutes in the second half and spotting them 8 points at the half. I know people on here have some sort of fetish for the poor mouth but if Mayo, a better team than us, want to they're fully able to beat Sligo by much more than 8 points.

Christ, their defense made AOS look like a forward the last time ye played..
Post by: sligoman on May 12, 2017, 06:51:04 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 12, 2017, 01:08:21 AM

We beat them by 9 by playing for 30 minutes in the second half and spotting them 8 points at the half. I know people on here have some sort of fetish for the poor mouth but if Mayo, a better team than us, want to they're fully able to beat Sligo by much more than 8 points.

A terrible shame for you that this superlative Roscommon side is only a little better than one of the poorest Sligo sides in decades. Is that the level you're striving for?
Post by: Rossfan on May 12, 2017, 11:14:32 AM
Sure everyone knows Fergal O'Donnell was managing the Ros team in the 1st half of that Sligo game but Syfín's cool clean superhero put on his cape at half time and managed the team for the 2nd half.
The bad Boyle boys have hidden his cape and won't give it back to him.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 12, 2017, 11:46:17 AM
Out of interest when did Sligo last beat Mayo in MacHale park in a senior football championship game?
Post by: maigheo on May 12, 2017, 11:56:46 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 12, 2017, 11:46:17 AM
Out of interest when did Sligo last beat Mayo in MacHale park in a senior football championship game?
1975??
Post by: Crete Boom on May 12, 2017, 11:58:30 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 12, 2017, 11:46:17 AM

I think it was probably 1975 when the great Mickey Kearns finally got a well deserved Connacht championship medal.
Post by: Syferus on May 12, 2017, 01:31:57 PM
Quote from: sligoman on May 12, 2017, 06:51:04 AM

A terrible shame for you that this superlative Roscommon side is only a little better than one of the poorest Sligo sides in decades. Is that the level you're striving for?

I think this is probably man-for-man one of the better Sligo squads in living memory. It's just some of them long since past their best. Sure they made two Connact finals since 2012, not many Sligo teams have done that. A chunk have even reached four and won one.

Roscommon doesn't worry much about Sligo, ever.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 12, 2017, 01:58:45 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 12, 2017, 01:31:57 PM

I think this is probably man-for-man one of the better Sligo squads in living memory. It's just some of them long since past their best. Sure they made two Connact finals since 2012, not many Sligo teams have done that. A chunk have even reached four and won one.

Good. Now toddle on to a different thread because this is Mayo Sligo.
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 12, 2017, 02:04:20 PM
An attention seeker requires attention, ignore him and he'd soon piss off.
Post by: Syferus on May 12, 2017, 02:09:31 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 12, 2017, 01:58:45 PM

I'm grand where I am. Mayo lads weren't too concerned with the titles of threads for Roscommon games stopping them commenting so I'm failing to see what if any point you have, besides a mistaken idea that game threads are supposed to only contain supporters from the counties playing.
Post by: sligoman on May 12, 2017, 02:44:43 PM

Glad to say that neither do Sligo worry about Roscommon much either. For the conceited outlook you display, your record against us in Championship isn't that great

The Sligo team over the last 3 or 4 years has been very poor, it's been made up of lads who are over the hill, some who are probably not up to the level required and some teenagers just in the door. We haven't really been expecting much but you have, it must hurt a lot more for you. Getting knocked out of the championship by underdogs in three straight years must hurt.

I hope we'll be back at a decent level in 3-4 years time though. Until then it's more or less damaged limitations for Sligo.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 12, 2017, 05:05:17 PM
They don't respect yiz....part 3,587.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=270161 (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=270161)
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 13, 2017, 10:03:02 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 12, 2017, 02:09:31 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 12, 2017, 01:58:45 PM

I'm grand where I am. Mayo lads weren't too concerned with the titles of threads for Roscommon games stopping them commenting so I'm failing to see what if any point you have, besides a mistaken idea that game threads are supposed to only contain supporters from the counties playing.

You keep mentioning Ros v Sligo. That'll do grand in a thread when the two of ye meet.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 13, 2017, 10:26:13 AM

Now, now Syf, pride goes before a fall and all that sort of stuff.
You were throwing shapes last year in the lead up to the Connacht final and the result sickened you so much, that you stayed off the board for over a month or do you remember that?
Sligo aren't Galway but they don't have any fear of you nor should they.
You'll never come across any genuine Mayo poster who mocks Sligo  or anybody else for that matter. We all damn well know that we've taken too much for granted sometimes, like the game v Galway last year and we got a sickener. It does happen to the best of them and your crowd got stuffed as often as anyone else in the province.
A little bit of respect for worthy opposition won't do you a bit of harm.
Post by: Rossfan on May 13, 2017, 11:08:12 AM
They are still waiting on stolen-sheep for Syfín to admit he got his League Final prediction wrong.
That was that Dublin would "hockey Kerry".
He's an absolute embarrassment to the rest of us.
Post by: Syferus on May 13, 2017, 11:16:31 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 13, 2017, 10:26:13 AM

You were throwing shapes last year in the lead up to the Connacht final and the result sickened you so much, that you stayed off the board for over a month or do you remember that?
You'll never come across any genuine Mayo poster who mocks Sligo  or anybody else for that matter. We all damn well know that we've taken too much for granted sometimes, like the game v Galway last year and we got a sickener. It does happen to the best of them and your crowd got stuffed as often as anyone else in the province.

No, I don't remember that at all, Lar.

Mainly because I was posting the whole next week since we played Clare the following Saturday: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=27168.0

There's a difference between plamas and saying it how it actually is, Lar. I've never had any interest in the fawning two-faced flattery some here waste their time on. I think some here are so indoctrinated by the idea of flattering the opposition they can't express what they really think no matter how hard they try, and when they see someone who does it's a shock to their system.

And you know well there's more than a few Mayo supporters who are too big for their boots..
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 13, 2017, 01:15:30 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 13, 2017, 11:16:31 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 13, 2017, 10:26:13 AM

No, I don't remember that at all, Lar.

Mainly because I was posting the whole next week since we played Clare the following Saturday: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=27168.0

There's a difference between plamas and saying it how it actually is, Lar. I've never had any interest in the fawning two-faced flattery some here waste their time on. I think some here are so indoctrinated by the idea of flattering the opposition they can't express what they really think no matter how hard they try, and when they see someone who does it's a shock to their system.

And you know well there's more than a few Mayo supporters who are too big for their boots..
Not on Mayo threads, you weren't. Peace and quiet was the order of the day back then. As regards plamás, I doubt if any Mayo fan would feel the need to talk up Sligo's chances or lull them into a false sense of security. Can you point out any time where you saw a genuine Mayo fan patronising Sligo players or followers? We remember how lucky we were in '12  and don't take anything for granted. Right now, if ye were playing Sligo, I'd put my 50c on Sligo because they know at least who their manager is.
And no, I don't know any Mayo supporters who are too big for their boots. There have been a few trolls from time to time but most of them don't hang around.
Unlike you, they can take a hint and f&*k off! ;D
Post by: rosnarun on May 16, 2017, 12:09:10 PM
QuoteNot on Mayo threads, you weren't. Peace and quiet was the order of the day back then. As regards plamás, I doubt if any Mayo fan would feel the need to talk up Sligo's chances or lull them into a false sense of security. Can you point out any time where you saw a genuine Mayo fan patronising Sligo players or followers? We remember how lucky we were in '12  and don't take anything for granted. Right now, if ye were playing Sligo, I'd put my 50c on Sligo because they know at least who their manager is.
And no, I don't know any Mayo supporters who are too big for their boots. There have been a few trolls from time to time but most of them don't hang around.
Unlike you, they can take a hint and f&*k off! ;D

no need for anyone to slag mayo . we provide all the negativity we need
Post by: Rossfan on May 16, 2017, 02:18:06 PM
Mayowestros to win by 6 or more.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 16, 2017, 09:43:11 PM
Any thoughts on teams??

I'd go with something like:

Clarke
Harrison Barrett Newcombe
Keegan Boyle Durcan
Parsons Kirby
Boland AOS Mcloughlin
Moran COC Higgins

Higgins playing sweeper
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 16, 2017, 09:47:22 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 16, 2017, 09:43:11 PM
Any thoughts on teams??

Clarke
Keegan Boyle Durcan
Parsons Kirby
Boland AOS Mcloughlin
Moran COC Higgins

Higgins playing sweeper

He's injured but a fit again Ger Cafferkey will likely start. I'd say Vaughan will get a start before Newcombe and maybe S O Shea instead Kirby.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 16, 2017, 09:56:52 PM
Is Caff fit again? Would be great to see him start
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 16, 2017, 10:00:04 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 16, 2017, 09:56:52 PM
Is Caff fit again? Would be great to see him start
Yes has played club championship football.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 16, 2017, 10:21:34 PM
Can't see Boland starting.
Post by: moysider on May 17, 2017, 12:13:32 AM

Things might change later but wouldn't be surprised if they go with Boland and Kirby for this.
Harrison will probably not make it and hearing Higgins is a doubt as well. That leaves our preferred 2 corner backs out. It will be interesting to see who the markers will be. Keegan and Durkan dropping back to last line like they did during league games? Cafferkey may well have to be started if Higgins and Harrison are out. Marren and Hughes are a handful for anybody.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 17, 2017, 09:25:05 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 17, 2017, 12:13:32 AM

Things might change later but wouldn't be surprised if they go with Boland and Kirby for this.
Harrison will probably not make it and hearing Higgins is a doubt as well. That leaves our preferred 2 corner backs out. It will be interesting to see who the markers will be. Keegan and Durkan dropping back to last line like they did during league games? Cafferkey may well have to be started if Higgins and Harrison are out. Marren and Hughes are a handful for anybody.

Would prefer to see at least one of Newcombe & O'Donoghue start in the corners rather than playing half backs there.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 17, 2017, 03:40:10 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 17, 2017, 09:25:05 AM

Would prefer to see at least one of Newcombe & O'Donoghue start in the corners rather than playing half backs there.

Chris Barrett will be in the mix to start at one corner spot.
Post by: galwayman on May 17, 2017, 07:23:58 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on May 17, 2017, 03:40:10 PM

Barrett will hardly weaken the team. A very tight, tough & tigerish corner back.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 17, 2017, 09:56:37 PM
When is Sligo's team due to be named. On Mayo G.A.A Facebook page it's due tomorrow night.
Post by: MayoBuck on May 17, 2017, 10:08:05 PM

He'd be next in line after Harrison and Higgins you would assume. I've a feeling Rochford will move Durcan to corner back if Higgins is out too since we've several options for half back.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 17, 2017, 10:29:37 PM

Yeah, I'd start Barrett even with everyone fit
Post by: moysider on May 17, 2017, 10:47:05 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 17, 2017, 10:29:37 PM

Yeah, I'd start Barrett even with everyone fit

So would I. Problem is though that Barrett is so often injured as well down the years.
Post by: Dubhaltach on May 17, 2017, 10:53:01 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 16, 2017, 09:43:11 PM
Any thoughts on teams??

Clarke
Keegan Boyle Durcan
Parsons Kirby
Boland AOS Mcloughlin
Moran COC Higgins

Higgins playing sweeper

Can't see Boland starting ahead of Diarmuid.
Post by: Owenmoresider on May 18, 2017, 01:39:54 PM
Both teams named for Sunday, or at least for the programme anyway  ;)

Sligo:

Devaney
Donavan Harrison McHugh
Keelan Cawley B Egan J Kelly
O'Connor McIntyre
Ewing M Breheny Kyle Cawley
Coen Hughes Marren

Mayo:

Clarke;
Barrett Cafferkey Higgins;
Boyle Keegan Durcan;
S O'Shea Parsons;
Boland D O'Connor C O'Shea;
McLoughlin C O'Connor Moran
Post by: sligoman2 on May 18, 2017, 01:42:04 PM
Anyone have an injury update on Sligo?

Hughes would be a huge loss if he is unable to play, McIntyre picked up an injury too apparently.

Missing your top midfielder and full forward would make this a very tough day for us (as if it's not tough enough already).

I expect us to put up a decent showing, we need to erase the scar of the 2015 Connacht final.  The reality is it's a mid-table division 3 team away against the All Ireland Finalists, but we somehow seem to put up a decent showing when nobody gives us a chance.
Post by: sligoman2 on May 18, 2017, 01:44:49 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on May 18, 2017, 01:39:54 PM

Sligo:

Devaney
Donavan Harrison McHugh
O'Connor McIntyre
Coen Hughes Marren

Mayo:

Clarke;
Boyle Keegan Durcan;
S O'Shea Parsons;

I can't see that being the starting team, Kevin McDonnell is too good to be warming the bench especially against a team of this calibre. 

Owenmore, you posted the team at the same time I had my questions above
Post by: sligoman on May 18, 2017, 06:18:37 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on May 18, 2017, 01:44:49 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on May 18, 2017, 01:39:54 PM

Sligo:

Devaney
Donavan Harrison McHugh
O'Connor McIntyre
Coen Hughes Marren

Mayo:

Clarke;
Boyle Keegan Durcan;
S O'Shea Parsons;

I can't see that being the starting team, Kevin McDonnell is too good to be warming the bench especially against a team of this calibre. 

Owenmore, you posted the team at the same time I had my questions above

They've just named the same team that started against New York. No chance that team will start. A lot will depend on who is available but if we had everyone fit I'd go with the following.

1. Devaney
2. Donovan 3. McDonnell 4. Harrison
5. Cawley 6. Egan 7. O'Kelly Lynch
8. McIntyre 9. O'Connor
10. Ewing 11. Murphy 12. C Breheny
13. Marren 14. Hughes 15. Kelly

Physicality is our weakness. I'd be worried if we start the likes of Johnny Kelly, Kyle Cawley and a few others right now, I've great faith in their ability but I don't think they'd be physically up to it just now. I'd also have worries about young O'Connor being thrown into midfield against a seasoned and proven pairing like Parsons and O'Shea but we're devoid of options here, Hughes is at his best in full forward but I think we may need him out around the middle to win some ball, not sure if he'll have the engine there but we'll need to alternate him in there with Murphy and O'Connor.

Hopefully Carew has been working on something to shore us up defensively and we can give a good showing on Sunday. What's the weather promised like?
Post by: Crete Boom on May 19, 2017, 11:17:21 AM
Interesting article here form Colm Keys which kinda captures what I am feeling heading into this championship, http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/colm-keys-can-mayos-longserving-core-of-heavy-lifters-put-the-shoulder-to-the-wheel-again-35732033.html.

I just don't know what to expect on Sunday i.e. will we play like the team in the first half of the league game v Donegal or the team in the second half of the league game v Donegal?
Post by: Mayo Club 51 on May 19, 2017, 08:26:59 PM
We have set up a championship prediction mini league with face the ball if anyone wants to join in?

Details how to join here http://mayoclub51.com/face-ball-prediction-league-2017/
Post by: moysider on May 19, 2017, 11:24:05 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on May 19, 2017, 11:17:21 AM
Interesting article here form Colm Keys which kinda captures what I am feeling heading into this championship, http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/colm-keys-can-mayos-longserving-core-of-heavy-lifters-put-the-shoulder-to-the-wheel-again-35732033.html.

I just don't know what to expect on Sunday i.e. will we play like the team in the first half of the league game v Donegal or the team in the second half of the league game v Donegal?

Yeah. I expect it to be a game we can control though without necessarily shooting the lights out.
This team's obituary has been written every year since - well since it emerged under Horan and especially since 2012 final. It's doomsday every year. I suppose they will be right some year.
Post by: Syferus on May 20, 2017, 12:18:18 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 19, 2017, 11:24:05 PM

Yeah. I expect it to be a game we can control though without necessarily shooting the lights out.
This team's obituary has been written every year since - well since it emerged under Horan and especially since 2012 final. It's doomsday every year. I suppose they will be right some year.

If ye can't win Connacht this year something has gone seriously wrong, Moy.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 20, 2017, 12:21:19 AM
Can't disagree with what Keys says. The heavy lifters have done their bit for the county year after year and in spite of the long string of heartbreaking near misses and they still keep coming back for more.
Sunday will tell a lot; I expect Mayo to win, who doesn't?
The manner of winning will tell us a lot of what to expect in the games that lie ahead. I don't expect Sligo to lie down and present us with a win but, even so, a result like the Connacht Final in 2012 won't engender confidence in anyone.
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2017, 01:16:24 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 20, 2017, 12:18:18 AM

Something has always gone seriously wrong every year in my time. Sometimes it happens in May. Sometimes in June, July or August. Sometimes in September as well.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 20, 2017, 02:21:49 AM

Not necessarily. Sometimes you just lose. Mayo had no realistic competition in Connacht for much of their 5 in a row. It was one very good team and 4 poor to average teams. They do now. They may still be good enough to regain their title though. They still have plenty of good players. I'd never view them as unbeatable though. Why would you? Unless you had a complex about them.

Post by: Syferus on May 20, 2017, 03:01:11 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 20, 2017, 02:21:49 AM

Not necessarily. Sometimes you just lose. Mayo had no realistic competition in Connacht for much of their 5 in a row. It was one very good team and 4 poor to average teams. They do now. They may still be good enough to regain their title though. They still have plenty of good players. I'd never view them as unbeatable though. Why would you? Unless you had a complex about them.

It's still Mayo and five very average sides (London aren't much off Leitrim). I think ye could be in for a bit of a revenge pasting in the semi-final and if we go to McHale and win it would amount to the biggest shock in Connacht since '94. I think any of the others bar Mayo in Connacht have their work cut out to make Croke Park at all.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 20, 2017, 07:12:43 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 20, 2017, 01:16:24 AM

Something has always gone seriously wrong every year in my time. Sometimes it happens in May. Sometimes in June, July or August. Sometimes in September as well.

Best way to describe every championship year moy.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 20, 2017, 10:48:27 AM
Any predictions? I'm going with a Mayo win by 5 or 6 or 7 points.
Post by: ballinaman on May 20, 2017, 11:02:42 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 20, 2017, 10:48:27 AM
The usual. Play poorly and win, written off.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 20, 2017, 11:23:38 AM
Oh Christ! I was hoping you'd predict a loss.  ;D
Every time you do, we manage to win. What do I do now?
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2017, 01:19:53 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 20, 2017, 11:23:38 AM
Oh Christ! I was hoping you'd predict a loss.  ;D
Every time you do, we manage to win. What do I do now?

Put the lump sum on Sligo!
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 20, 2017, 01:54:13 PM
I expect Mayo to win very comfortably and I expect them to win Connacht but its hardly going to be the greatest shock of all time if Galway beat them in Salthill but given what happened last year i think they'll just have enough to win.

Better Mayo teams were nearly caught cold by Sligo in 2012 and Roscommon in 2014, Mayo have been a very different team in June as opposed to the one we've seen in August/September.
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2017, 02:35:22 PM

I doubt they were better Mayo teams in 2012 and 2014.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 20, 2017, 10:14:15 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/the-outrageous-crime-of-being-aidan-o-shea-1.3089499 , good article by Duggan , although I love the standalone comment by one of Syferus/El Bomber/ Fuzzman ;D ;D
Post by: Syferus on May 20, 2017, 11:56:03 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on May 20, 2017, 10:14:15 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/the-outrageous-crime-of-being-aidan-o-shea-1.3089499 , good article by Duggan , although I love the standalone comment by one of Syferus/El Bomber/ Fuzzman ;D ;D

Author of the 'House of Pain: Through the Rooms of Mayo Football'.

Kinda like getting the press secretary to do a write up of how nice the lad is and then crowing about it. Some of Flynn's criticisms were petty but overall there is plenty of valid things to critique about how AOS has handled himself on the field and with behind-the-scenes politicking that have been laid bare.
Post by: maigheo on May 21, 2017, 01:35:08 AM
A call out to Lar Naparca to put Syfin back in his box.
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2017, 01:52:10 AM
Quote from: maigheo on May 21, 2017, 01:35:08 AM

It never worked before so it's hardly gonig to now.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 21, 2017, 07:38:44 AM
For a Roscommon man, Syf, you do spend an awful amount of time on Mayo related threads. You might say 'Mayo do the same on Ros related threads'. But your obsession is worrying. Cool the jets. Don't worry. We know that this present team is not going to win an AI. So focus on Roscommon's woes instead of ours. Because it seems to me ye have far more to worry about than we do at the moment. Up Mayo.
Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2017, 08:35:50 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 21, 2017, 01:52:10 AM
Quote from: maigheo on May 21, 2017, 01:35:08 AM

It never worked before so it's hardly gonig to now.
reminds me of this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vq6WyokXZRU
Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2017, 10:21:50 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 21, 2017, 07:38:44 AM
For a Roscommon man, Syf, you do spend an awful amount of time on Mayo related threads. You might say 'Mayo do the same on Ros related threads'. But your obsession is worrying. Cool the jets. Don't worry. We know that this present team is not going to win an AI. So focus on Roscommon's woes instead of ours. Because it seems to me ye have far more to worry about than we do at the moment. Up Mayo.
Would Cafferkey not make a difference ? And Clarke is back in goal. 
Post by: Rossfan on May 21, 2017, 11:01:42 AM

Most of us believe Syfīn is a Rhubarb.
We certainly have a lot to worry about - Finance,  Splits, residue of the 2 managerial heaves.........
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 21, 2017, 01:03:39 PM
All too easy for Mayos U17s. Mayo 2-19 Sligo 0-9
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on May 21, 2017, 01:16:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 20, 2017, 11:56:03 PM

Kinda like getting the press secretary to do a write up of how nice the lad is and then crowing about it. Some of Flynn's criticisms were petty but overall there is plenty of valid things to critique about how AOS has handled himself on the field and with behind-the-scenes politicking that have been laid bare.

What do you think would happen if AOS were a Ross Syf? Not picked, left on the bench, or refuse to play for them packa b**tards in the first place?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 21, 2017, 01:42:11 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on May 21, 2017, 01:16:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 20, 2017, 11:56:03 PM

What do you think would happen if AOS were a Ross Syf? Not picked, left on the bench, or refuse to play for them packa b**tards in the first place?

Syferus might have a different view but I think AOS would get the same treatment as Donie Shine if at Roscommon, e.g one of their most naturally talented players dropped off the panel because the belief is he isn't mobile enough for modern day football.

As for today's game I would expect a comfortable win for Mayo by about 9 points.
Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2017, 02:00:05 PM
https://www.facebook.com/TheSundayGame/videos/1039265502874263/
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2017, 02:08:42 PM

A few posts here and there is hardly an obsession, but thanks for your concern.
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2017, 02:21:14 PM
Incredible missed point by Boland.
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2017, 02:36:55 PM
Book it.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 21, 2017, 02:38:44 PM
Poor game with more wides than scores. Mayo ahead by 4 points having played against the strong wind should close out this game comfortably in the 2nd half now.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 21, 2017, 02:45:17 PM
Cant believe Carew started same team as NY, just such poor management, we are playing not to get hammered but with the wind against us now we are going to get massacred, some of the Sligo team arent fully fit, started Kyle cawley on wing forward is just stupid, its a inside man, mcdonnell and d kelly not starting ::), no real forward plan, lots of men back to but offering little, mayo in 2nd gear

Going to be a long second half, Only good thing about this summer is if we get rid of Carew, hope we fluke getting a good replacement,

Shocking bad u17 result too, was alot closer against the wind??????
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 21, 2017, 02:46:59 PM
The lack of application of the four step rule is ridiculous
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 21, 2017, 02:55:27 PM
Sligo will do better against the breeze
Post by: Fuzzman on May 21, 2017, 03:01:18 PM
Are his talking about Doc run for the goal. He got extra steps as he was being fouled. Ref had his hand up for advantage.
Post by: Hound on May 21, 2017, 03:04:04 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 21, 2017, 03:01:18 PM
Are his talking about Doc run for the goal. He got extra steps as he was being fouled. Ref had his hand up for advantage.
So when he over-carried the ref should have blown, and then brought it back for a Mayo free.
You don't get extra steps for being fouled. Although a lot of refs do it!
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 21, 2017, 03:09:02 PM
Credit to Sligo still in this game with 50 minutes gone and would be level if the ref spotted the steps on the O Connor goal!
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 21, 2017, 03:23:13 PM
64 minutes gone and just that goal separating the sides.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 21, 2017, 03:27:16 PM
COC gets the ball, dive.
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2017, 03:27:33 PM
Ouch.
That hurt I'd say.
Is it just me or do the Mayo lads get a lot of head injuries?
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 21, 2017, 03:35:10 PM
Poor contest. Mayo 9 point winners but in truth only 3 or 4 points the better team today.
Post by: Syferus on May 21, 2017, 03:40:33 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 21, 2017, 03:35:10 PM
Poor contest. Mayo 9 point winners but in truth only 3 or 4 points the better team today.

They were quite literally 9 points the better side.
Post by: Chimley on May 21, 2017, 03:43:53 PM
I'm not sure that either goal should have stood. DOC took way too many steps for the first and I thought Cillian was in the square before Loftus passed the ball for the second.

Sligo didn't give up and Mayo just did enough to keep them at arms length. Kevin Walsh won't have learned too much today about what sort of challenge Mayo will put up to the champions the next day.
Post by: shark on May 21, 2017, 03:46:15 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 21, 2017, 03:40:33 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 21, 2017, 03:35:10 PM

They were quite literally 9 points the better side.

Had to laugh. Marty makes a comment about how "we would have expected Mayo to be 8/9 points ahead at this stage". Minutes later, they are 8 up.

That game was a classic early championship game. Underdog gave everything and can walk away with their heads up, even though they won't be happy. Favourite will hear how they weren't very convincing, when they couldn't care less about being convincing in May.
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2017, 03:48:51 PM
https://twitter.com/DFB_93/status/866291941146857472 (https://twitter.com/DFB_93/status/866291941146857472)
Post by: From the Bunker on May 21, 2017, 05:27:01 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2017, 03:48:51 PM
https://twitter.com/DFB_93/status/866291941146857472 (https://twitter.com/DFB_93/status/866291941146857472)
(https://annesbirdpoems.files.wordpress.com/2017/05/lemon-eureka-348.jpg?w=700)
Post by: sligoman2 on May 21, 2017, 06:05:36 PM
I counted 12 steps, shocking referring.  Better team won, our naivety let us down, but Sligo gave a good account of themselves and tackled hard.  Mayo will improve big time after this.

Well done sligo, good honest performance and the stain of 2015 is banished, I think we are a team on the up
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 21, 2017, 06:15:20 PM
A win is a win. The match probably wasn't pretty to watch on tv as it didn't look pretty at the game itself. Hard to know where Mayo are at (again), they won by 9 in the end, but if Sligo had taken a few chances that went wide in the first half, and if Sligo got a goal when Boland got the ball over his head, then it would have been different. All said and done, I thought Mayo had Sligo at arm's length all through the match.
Post by: Mano on May 21, 2017, 08:35:33 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on May 21, 2017, 02:45:17 PM
Cant believe Carew started same team as NY, just such poor management, we are playing not to get hammered but with the wind against us now we are going to get massacred, some of the Sligo team arent fully fit, started Kyle cawley on wing forward is just stupid, its a inside man, mcdonnell and d kelly not starting ::), no real forward plan, lots of men back to but offering little, mayo in 2nd gear

Going to be a long second half, Only good thing about this summer is if we get rid of Carew, hope we fluke getting a good replacement,

Shocking bad u17 result too, was alot closer against the wind??????
I think we had to take a defensive approach considering what happened in 15 when we were too open and our 2 best forwards were injured. Having said that if we were playing defensive why did we start so many scoring forwards in defensive positions ( coen, cawley, marren) we're square pegs in round holes while McDonnell sat on the bench. Again Mayo got some dodgy referee in decisions against us. Overcarrying foe the first goal and pick off ground for second.
Post by: ballinaman on May 21, 2017, 08:54:33 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 20, 2017, 11:02:42 AM
The usual. Play poorly and win, written off.
8)
Post by: galwayman on May 21, 2017, 08:57:51 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 21, 2017, 06:15:20 PM
A win is a win. The match probably wasn't pretty to watch on tv as it didn't look pretty at the game itself. Hard to know where Mayo are at (again), they won by 9 in the end, but if Sligo had taken a few chances that went wide in the first half, and if Sligo got a goal when Boland got the ball over his head, then it would have been different. All said and done, I thought Mayo had Sligo at arm's length all through the match.
Yeah thought the same myself. Mayo never really looked in any danger of not winning that game.
Post by: ballinaman on May 21, 2017, 09:00:39 PM
A few of the Sligo haircuts very questionable....*stares at number 4 McHugh in the corner*
Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2017, 09:04:51 PM
It's the middle of May. Mayo did the needful. They can do a lot more.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 21, 2017, 09:06:19 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 21, 2017, 09:04:51 PM
Post by: ballinaman on May 21, 2017, 09:06:50 PM
With the tar melting and the cuckoos singing...ah sure isn't it great...
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 21, 2017, 10:17:00 PM

(https://irishelectionliterature.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/aldmtd1.jpg?w=300&h=640)
Post by: From the Bunker on May 21, 2017, 10:34:39 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DAXLxprWAAI00eT.jpg)
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 21, 2017, 10:41:22 PM
I always have to laugh at the Mayo supporters.

The amount of times Sligo would get a pretty obvious free and it would be followed by a massive chorus of boos at the decision.

You wouldn't mind but it was Sligo in the first round of the Connacht Championship, surely they shouldn't need the ref to be doing their bidding at this stage of the Championship. It's that kind of outlook which I think explains why they have came up that bit short over the years.

Wouldn't read too much into how abject Mayo were today as they'll be aiming for early August but the age profile of the squad must be a bit worrying. 6 of the team that started today are now in their 30s and are probably past their best, there's a lot of mileage there now and they really need some fresh blood to come in and start contributing in a big way.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 21, 2017, 10:51:00 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on May 21, 2017, 10:41:22 PM

The amount of times Sligo would get a pretty obvious free and it would be followed by a massive chorus of boos at the decision.

You wouldn't mind but it was Sligo in the first round of the Connacht Championship, surely they shouldn't need the ref to be doing their bidding at this stage of the Championship. It's that kind of outlook which I think explains why they have came up that bit short over the years.

Wouldn't read too much into how abject Mayo were today as they'll be aiming for early August but the age profile of the squad must be a bit worrying. 6 of the team that started today are now in their 30s and are probably past their best, there's a lot of mileage there now and they really need some fresh blood to come in and start contributing in a big way.

A lot of the booing is from kids. Who have little notion of what is going on. If this puts off the players or Referee, then they are in the wrong place!
Post by: From the Bunker on May 21, 2017, 11:01:00 PM
Very biased coverage in the highlights! Making Mayo look a lot better than they were. And not doing Sligo justice!
Post by: Ringfort on May 21, 2017, 11:13:28 PM
13 steps I counted. Wrecks my head that practice of getting free steps just cos a tackle is coming in. That's the f**king game. You can risk barreling through all you like but you still have to play the ball under physical pressure from the backs. And I used to be a forward.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 22, 2017, 08:35:58 AM

Good man. I'm glad I give someone to laugh about.

I know, shit happens though when the bandwagon gets bigger.

Along with other factors don't you think?

Amen to that.  :-\
Post by: Crete Boom on May 22, 2017, 10:25:21 AM

You will never get on the Sunday Game with that attitude!!
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 22, 2017, 10:42:34 AM
Hard to know what to make of Mayo, despite being poor for much of the 2nd half and Sligo getting within 3 points with 10 minutes to go Mayo still managed to win by 9 points. If Sligo had gone in a couple of points up at half time we'd have seen a different Mayo come out the 2nd half.

Post by: mayoaremagic on May 22, 2017, 11:02:24 AM
I thought Sligo utilised the tactical foul very effectively to stop Mayo breaking. It was a big factor in keeping the game so close in the first half. Fair play to them for that, but our lads were naïve in staying on their feet and not getting these guys a black card, which would have killed off this tactic early doors.

Personally, I thought the challenge on mcloughlin was nasty. The Sligo chb lined him up as he was picking up the ball. It was dangerous play
Post by: magpie seanie on May 22, 2017, 02:57:12 PM
Quote from: mayoaremagic on May 22, 2017, 11:02:24 AM
I thought Sligo utilised the tactical foul very effectively to stop Mayo breaking. It was a big factor in keeping the game so close in the first half. Fair play to them for that, but our lads were naïve in staying on their feet and not getting these guys a black card, which would have killed off this tactic early doors.

Personally, I thought the challenge on mcloughlin was nasty. The Sligo chb lined him up as he was picking up the ball. It was dangerous play

Such complete rubbish. You'd want to take the plank outta your own eye before taking the splinter out of others. Mayo's immediate fouling upon turning the ball over was systematic and largely unpunished by the ref. The yellow card count was a joke......Sligo lads getting carded very softly on occasion but the same rigours not applied to Mayo.

I thought the ref was brutal. The two goals - first one should have been blown for steps and a free in. The second one was a clear as day pick off the ground and square ball. Neither would have been allowed if we had scored them. That's not sour grapes (I think Mayo would have won in any event) but it needs to be highlighted.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 22, 2017, 03:16:00 PM
I had a bereavement during the week so didn't make Castlebar and was out of the loop regarding information on players etc but it appeared to me that yet again our management was shambolic. How can one of our best 3 players, Kevin McDonnell, not start? I know Niall Murphy had a long layoff but he looked ok when he came on so why not use him from the start when we had the wind? It's not like Pat Hughes looked particularly fit though he did battle bravely as always. Playing Kyle Cawley at wing forward is gross idiocy and incompetence that deserves a sacking alone. He's the most natural goalscoring inside forward I've ever seen in Sligo. And I can't think of who's second but whoever it is they're a distant second. Taking him off was a terrible decision too because even though you deployed him in the wrong position it's fair to say Lee Keegan wasn't doing anything either. And to make it a full gamut of stupidity he wasn't reintroduced in the second half when a goal for us could have turned the game upside down. There are several other inexplicable decisions re: personnel and positions as well as tactics - already mentioned above about over negative approach with the wind (we won toss). You can't tell the players "forget about 2015 - that was a one-off" and then base your entire tactical approach on 2015. That's the crap we've had to put up with.

Despite all that the players gave a spirited and committed display and played some good football at times. Hard to tell from TV whether we had a good defensive system (it would be new) or whether the numbers flooded back combined with Mayo's ineffective attacking largely stymied the hone side. Similar to Sligonian, I'm optimistic about the future if we can somehow get a semi competent manager for next and subsequent seasons.

Regards Mayo - I don't think they were fully up for that game and aren't arsed about Connacht. Last years approach will be repeated. August/September or bust. I can understand that. They're a battle hardened outfit and do lots of good things automatically and efficiently but yesterday were way off where they need to be and will be later in the year. I'd worry about them making the same mistakes over and over. Kevin McLoughlin taking frees from the right has to stop - he has a catalogue of ridiculous misses. You cannot afford one of them at the top levels.
Post by: Mano on May 22, 2017, 03:35:15 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 22, 2017, 03:16:00 PM
I had a bereavement during the week so didn't make Castlebar and was out of the loop regarding information on players etc but it appeared to me that yet again our management was shambolic. How can one of our best 3 players, Kevin McDonnell, not start? I know Niall Murphy had a long layoff but he looked ok when he came on so why not use him from the start when we had the wind? It's not like Pat Hughes looked particularly fit though he did battle bravely as always. Playing Kyle Cawley at wing forward is gross idiocy and incompetence that deserves a sacking alone. He's the most natural goalscoring inside forward I've ever seen in Sligo. And I can't think of who's second but whoever it is they're a distant second. Taking him off was a terrible decision too because even though you deployed him in the wrong position it's fair to say Lee Keegan wasn't doing anything either. And to make it a full gamut of stupidity he wasn't reintroduced in the second half when a goal for us could have turned the game upside down. There are several other inexplicable decisions re: personnel and positions as well as tactics - already mentioned above about over negative approach with the wind (we won toss). You can't tell the players "forget about 2015 - that was a one-off" and then base your entire tactical approach on 2015. That's the crap we've had to put up with.

Despite all that the players gave a spirited and committed display and played some good football at times. Hard to tell from TV whether we had a good defensive system (it would be new) or whether the numbers flooded back combined with Mayo's ineffective attacking largely stymied the hone side. Similar to Sligonian, I'm optimistic about the future if we can somehow get a semi competent manager for next and subsequent seasons.

Regards Mayo - I don't think they were fully up for that game and aren't arsed about Connacht. Last years approach will be repeated. August/September or bust. I can understand that. They're a battle hardened outfit and do lots of good things automatically and efficiently but yesterday were way off where they need to be and will be later in the year. I'd worry about them making the same mistakes over and over. Kevin McLoughlin taking frees from the right has to stop - he has a catalogue of ridiculous misses. You cannot afford one of them at the top levels.
Kyle Cawley was sick last week apparently. He probably shouldn't have started then. Agree about McDonnell. The logic for not selecting him is a lot of preparation work would have been done in New York for this game in McDonnells absence. Still you have to start your better players.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 22, 2017, 03:38:29 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 22, 2017, 02:57:12 PM
Quote from: mayoaremagic on May 22, 2017, 11:02:24 AM

Such complete rubbish. You'd want to take the plank outta your own eye before taking the splinter out of others. Mayo's immediate fouling upon turning the ball over was systematic and largely unpunished by the ref. The yellow card count was a joke......Sligo lads getting carded very softly on occasion but the same rigours not applied to Mayo.

I thought the ref was brutal. The two goals - first one should have been blown for steps and a free in. The second one was a clear as day pick off the ground and square ball. Neither would have been allowed if we had scored them. That's not sour grapes (I think Mayo would have won in any event) but it needs to be highlighted.

Surprised there wasn't a bigger deal made of the pick off the ground for the 2nd goal. Looked clearly like a rolling ball to me rather than a bouncing one.
Post by: weareros on May 22, 2017, 04:50:43 PM
The ref missed a lot. I thought Boland over carried as well for that fisted point in the second half. Mayo never looked like losing but a few crucial scores including the goals were questionable.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 22, 2017, 05:22:58 PM
Got the nine point margin of victory for Mayo correct but on the balance of play a 3 point win would be fair reflection of the game.

Mayo looked liked a group of players that have been through heavy training recently. The normal pace and intensity to their play wasn't there and a very game Sligo outfit where very much still in this match with less the ten minutes to go. Both Mayo goals should not have stood and unfortunately for Sligo they came killer times in the contest. After the 2015 horror show Sligo should now be commended on a competitive performance against a top 4 side in their own backyard and Sligo should have a decent summer yet if they bring the same performance levels into the qualifers.