Mayweather v Mc Gregor

Started by Targetman, June 14, 2017, 11:19:59 PM

NetNitrate

Quote from: Syferus on August 27, 2017, 05:55:02 AM
Quote from: NetNitrate on August 27, 2017, 05:52:33 AM
Was painful to watch in the end. Circus over.

Don't let what actually happened ruin your party or anything.

Really entertaining fight. Anyone who follows boxing could tell you that was quite a good fight. McGregor could have been a serious boxer if he had concentrated on it.

Ah stop. A 40 year old who came out of retirement was beating him to a pulp. It was never about anything other than big paydays for both.

Quote from: NetNitrate on August 27, 2017, 06:00:49 AM

Really entertaining fight. Anyone who follows boxing could tell you that was quite a good fight. McGregor could have been a serious boxer if he had concentrated on it.

Ah stop. A 40 year old who came out of retirement was beating him to a pulp. It was never about anything other than big paydays for both.

That 40 year old will be remembered as perhaps the best pure boxer who has ever laced up.

GJL

Connor got taught a lesson in fight management. Mayweather was in complete control.

on the sideline

Can see McGregors complaint of that being stopped early. If you've watched any of his UFC fights that have gone the distance then his legs going isn't a new thing - but it doesn't mean he's done. Like he said look at the second Diaz fight. Maybe it wouldn't have lasted much longer after that or maybe he could have held out to the end of the round - remember Roddy told him to take the round off to save himself for a big finish.  Either way he acquitted himself very well.  Out of curiosity does anyone know the what the scores were up to that point?

He did very well, better than expected but there's no point pretending it was a close run ring.

McGregor swung for the fences a bit early and Floyd was cautious as he was facing a lad 20 lbs heavier than him. Then he started to do surgical work (the punch stats will show it) and finished it.

Cop the f**k on would you. It was shite.... no contest at all. If it was for an actual belt we would be calling this out as mayweather avoiding a fighter of quality yet again.

Quote from: on the sideline on August 27, 2017, 06:16:44 AM
Can see McGregors complaint of that being stopped early. If you've watched any of his UFC fights that have gone the distance then his legs going isn't a new thing - but it doesn't mean he's done. Like he said look at the second Diaz fight. Maybe it wouldn't have lasted much longer after that or maybe he could have held out to the end of the round - remember Roddy told him to take the round off to save himself for a big finish.  Either way he acquitted himself very well.  Out of curiosity does anyone know the what the scores were up to that point?

He was done. He wasn't protecting himself and he wasn't throwing any punches of his own. Nothing wrong with the stoppage at all.

JPGJOHNNYG

McGregor won the first 2 the 3rd could of gone either way but the rest were Mayweathers

Imagine McGregor in with Canelo and those boys! They would kill him. Mayweather was the best person he could fight. Get outclassed but not knocked cold and go away with 100m in the bank. Fair played to him. I will miss watching Mayweather in the ring, he's a boxing genius. Complete p***k outside of it though.

Quote from: gallsman on August 27, 2017, 06:19:44 AM

He was done. He wasn't protecting himself and he wasn't throwing any punches of his own. Nothing wrong with the stoppage at all.

Good stoppage. Most people want to see the fight go until someone is out cold. But it was the right decision, McGregor had nothing left and was unable to defend himself properly.

Quote from: thebigfella on August 27, 2017, 06:18:31 AM

Cop the f**k on would you. It was shite.... no contest at all. If it was for an actual belt we would be calling this out as mayweather avoiding a fighter of quality yet again.

It wasn't for a belt, though? Pointless statement.

I've seen a hell of a lot less competive, less entertaining boxing matches then that. In fact nearly every other fight involving Mayweather was less watchable than that.

Ye lads who expected Mayweather to make a fool of McGregor and tried to deride the fight for the last 12 months were sorely disappointed and now you're back-pedalling against stone cold reality. Good luck with that.

Quote from: Syferus on August 27, 2017, 06:28:50 AM

I've seen a hell of a lot less competive, less entertaining boxing matches then that. In fact nearly every other fight involving Mayweather was less watchable than that.

Ye lads who expected Mayweather to make a fool of McGregor and tried to deride the fight for the last 12 months were sorely disappointed and now you're back-pedalling against stone cold reality. Good luck with that.

No this is the pointless statement "Really entertaining fight. Anyone who follows boxing could tell you that was quite a good fight. ". Anyone who "knows" a bit about boxing could tell you this was no contest. Mayweather never got out of first gear.

The most entertaining part of this was Mayweather admitting he is a member of the RA. So cop the f**k on would you please. We all rubbernecked this farse but let's not get carried away, it was a farse.

Brilliant entertainment.  So the lad that never boxed before took it all the way to the 10th! Not bad, not bad at all.  Ref stopped it at the right time, he was clearly fatigued.

Quote from: thebigfella on August 27, 2017, 06:40:14 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 27, 2017, 06:28:50 AM

No this is the pointless statement "Really entertaining fight. Anyone who follows boxing could tell you that was quite a good fight. ". Anyone who "knows" a bit about boxing could tell you this was no contest. Mayweather never got out of first gear.

The most entertaining part of this was Mayweather admitting he is a member of the RA. So cop the f**k on would you please. We all rubbernecked this farse but let's not get carried away, it was a farse.

Again, you're trying to colour what actually happened to suit your own preconceptions rather than judging it with even a vague attempt at impartiality. I did ask who would own up to being wrong, knowing full well most would just start reversing and making lame excuses to save face.

Mayweather looked quite slow and unsettled at points in the fight, even after the first three rounds. The biggest takeaways from tonight ares that McGregor is better boxer than people gave him credit for, and that Mayweather is 100% done after have as much trouble as he did tonight.

square_ball

McGregor was given the first round on all 3 scorecards, the 2nd round by one judge otherwise every other round was given to Mayweather.