Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Celt_Man on September 04, 2011, 01:53:20 PM

Title: Sky TV
Post by: Celt_Man on September 04, 2011, 01:53:20 PM
Anyone else getting a slap of TV Channels on Sky which they haven't signed up or paid for?  Yesterday and today for whatever reason, I seem to be able to watch 3e, Sky 1, Dave, Comedy Centtral, MGM Movies etc....
Title: Re: Sky TV
Post by: BennyHarp on September 04, 2011, 04:09:59 PM
Apparently the channels included in their various packages changed on September 1st so you may find different channels bring available to you! I only got sky 2 weeks ago and they said that the package would change on that date!
Post by: Celt_Man on September 04, 2011, 04:45:58 PM
(http://files.sharenator.com/excellent_Memebase_52-s438x438-192948-535.jpg)
Post by: nrico2006 on September 05, 2011, 08:40:16 AM
I know there was something that caused me to lose Sky Sports News for the month of August but it was to come back on 1st September and it did.  I haven't tried any other channels that I previously didn't get.  In saying that, I usually don't get TCM, but I flicked on to it the other night and could see it, will have to check again later.  When I got Sky HD in, I got all the Discovery and History HD channels for 7/8 months even though I didn't get the normal Discovery and HD Channels as I hadn't subscribed.  I don't get them now.
Post by: gerry on September 05, 2011, 09:16:31 PM
have to say sky go is great. my mate give me his password and now i have his sky sports, espn and sky movies for free via my pc and tv.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 06, 2011, 10:22:42 AM
Quote from: gerry on September 05, 2011, 09:16:31 PM
have to say sky go is great. my mate give me his password and now i have his sky sports, espn and sky movies for free via my pc and tv.

He's only entitled to 2 devices, so you're taking all of his Sky Go at this stage :)
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 06, 2011, 11:07:59 AM

How do you get it on your tv Gerry ?
Post by: gerrykeegan on September 06, 2011, 12:56:42 PM
Anyone have any success with Sky go and Windows 7?
Post by: gerry on September 06, 2011, 08:16:25 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 06, 2011, 10:22:42 AM

He's only entitled to 2 devices, so you're taking all of his Sky Go at this stage :)

you can register two computers, one is his and i am the other
Post by: gerry on September 06, 2011, 08:23:28 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 06, 2011, 11:07:59 AM

i have a hdmi connection on my pc, so i use a hdmi lead to connect to the tv.  the sound comes thought the tv speakers and i have a wireless keyboard to change the channels
Post by: laoislad on September 06, 2011, 08:24:15 PM

Would you not throw him a few quid to cover the cost ya tight arse.

*pm me the password like a good fella  ;)
Post by: laoislad on September 06, 2011, 08:29:22 PM
I don't have Sky I have UPC. My auld lad however has Sky.
I was just reading on the Sky website that Sky Go is free for Sky subscribers...
I wonder would it work if I use his Sky I.D and address?
Post by: AZOffaly on September 06, 2011, 08:31:14 PM
Answer = Yes.

My brother uses mine for the NFL.

You need to have access to his online account, and password. And then the first time you access it will register it as an approved device.

I use my IPOD as one device, and the brother's laptop is the other.
Post by: gerry on September 06, 2011, 08:32:41 PM
thats what i use, just ask him for his user name and passord or sign him up for one if he has not got one.

btw i offer him a few shillings but he did not want any, as he says it was costing him nothing extra
Post by: laoislad on September 06, 2011, 08:34:36 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 06, 2011, 08:31:14 PM
Answer = Yes.

You need to have access to his online account, and password. And then the first time you access it will register it as an approved device.

I'd say he won't have an online account,he is only just starting using text messages!!
What would I do so,just create one in his name using the home address or do Sky customers have a ID number that I need ?
Post by: ziggysego on September 06, 2011, 08:38:07 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 06, 2011, 08:34:36 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 06, 2011, 08:31:14 PM
Answer = Yes.

I'd say he won't have an online account,he is only just starting using text messages!!
What would I do so,just create one in his name using the home address or do Sky customers have a ID number that I need ?

You'll need his Sky ID.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 06, 2011, 08:38:50 PM
You'll need to sign 'him' up on sky.com, get the online account. You'll need his sky card number, or account number from his bill to register for the online account.
Post by: gerry on September 06, 2011, 08:41:35 PM
going by the site you need, his address details and the following

Please enter the last 6 digits of the credit card or bank account you use to make your Sky payments, your 9 digit viewing card number in full or your 12 digit Sky account number.
Post by: laoislad on September 06, 2011, 08:43:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 06, 2011, 08:38:50 PM
You'll need to sign 'him' up on sky.com, get the online account. You'll need his sky card number, or account number from his bill to register for the online account.

Good stuff.
Never knew it be that easy.
Does this work on wifi only or will 3G suffice? I'd say it eats up serious amount of data allowance.
Be great when you have to go shopping with herself.
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 06, 2011, 09:47:17 PM
Quote from: gerry on September 06, 2011, 08:23:28 PM

i have a hdmi connection on my pc, so i use a hdmi lead to connect to the tv.  the sound comes thought the tv speakers and i have a wireless keyboard to change the channels

fair play lads i'm all sorted on the pc with sky go, delighted as i was going to get sky sports just for the american football . 
Post by: AZOffaly on September 06, 2011, 09:49:52 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 06, 2011, 08:43:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 06, 2011, 08:38:50 PM

Good stuff.
Never knew it be that easy.
Does this work on wifi only or will 3G suffice? I'd say it eats up serious amount of data allowance.
Be great when you have to go shopping with herself.

Don't know about 3G, I'd assume so. I don't think it's as big as you'd think, usage wise. I obviously only use WI-FI as I have the IPod.
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 06, 2011, 10:01:16 PM

can anyone recommend a good wireless keyboard
Post by: gerry on September 06, 2011, 10:08:59 PM
i have using this one for the last year and works fine

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B002WB1JYQ/ref=asc_df_B002WB1JYQ4306944?smid=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&tag=googlecouk06-21&linkCode=asn&creative=22206&creativeASIN=B002WB1JYQ (http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B002WB1JYQ/ref=asc_df_B002WB1JYQ4306944?smid=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&tag=googlecouk06-21&linkCode=asn&creative=22206&creativeASIN=B002WB1JYQ)
Post by: gerry on September 06, 2011, 10:13:31 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 06, 2011, 09:47:17 PM

fair play lads i'm all sorted on the pc with sky go, delighted as i was going to get sky sports just for the american football .

you have about a two minute delay when watching via the pc
Post by: laoislad on September 08, 2011, 05:11:49 PM
I got that number from the auld lad and have Sky Go working now on my laptop!
Just another question though.
I also have a old PC hooked up to my TV,if I also register this to play SkyGo as my second device will I be able change it when I get the new iphone so I can use my iphone as the second device.?
Post by: AZOffaly on September 08, 2011, 05:19:44 PM
I think you can change devices once a month. They allow you to upgrade your iphone etc. If you go to 'Manage My Devices' on mysky.com or whatever it's called, you'll see it written there.
Post by: laoislad on September 08, 2011, 05:22:09 PM
Great stuff.
The auld fella asked me if I could get it working on his phone....
He still uses the Nokia 3210  :D
Post by: Boycey on September 08, 2011, 05:32:41 PM
Anyone else been wondering what Sky hope to achieve with this?? It seems to good to be true.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 08, 2011, 05:34:48 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 08, 2011, 05:32:41 PM
Anyone else been wondering what Sky hope to achieve with this?? It seems to good to be true.

I'd imagine they'll start charging a small fee per device when people get used to using it, maybe next year. They'll probably add all their channels to it at that stage, rather than just sports and movies, so that they can justify the change.
Post by: NP 76 on September 08, 2011, 09:13:24 PM
Only have sky a year and got a call today offering me an insurance for 8 - 25 a month . It covers call out fees if you have to get anyone out on a call out or if you have to get a new sky plus box . Was just wondering was it worth taking out or does anyone else have this
Post by: passedit on September 08, 2011, 09:19:52 PM
Any way of getting ESPN America on this?
Post by: Minder on September 08, 2011, 09:20:54 PM
Quote from: passedit on September 08, 2011, 09:19:52 PM

You, or the persons subscription you are using, has to have it on their home package.
Post by: passedit on September 08, 2011, 09:22:08 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 08, 2011, 09:20:54 PM

You, or the persons subscription you are using, has to have it on their home package.

I have but can't find the fcuker. funny enough I don't get ESPN Classic on the tv but do on Sky go?
Post by: laoislad on September 08, 2011, 09:22:46 PM
Watching Juve v Notts County here on ESPN on the SkyGo.
Excellent quality picture.
Post by: Minder on September 08, 2011, 09:23:27 PM
Quote from: NP 76 on September 08, 2011, 09:13:24 PM
Only have sky a year and got a call today offering me an insurance for 8 - 25 a month . It covers call out fees if you have to get anyone out on a call out or if you have to get a new sky plus box . Was just wondering was it worth taking out or does anyone else have this

Don't bother your arse, if you have a problem the customer has plenty of leverage with them, i.e. i am leaving !
Post by: Minder on September 08, 2011, 09:23:57 PM
Quote from: passedit on September 08, 2011, 09:22:08 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 08, 2011, 09:20:54 PM

I have but can't find the fcuker. funny enough I don't get ESPN Classic on the tv but do on Sky go?

It just seems to be ESPN & ESPN Classic on it.
Post by: heffo on September 08, 2011, 10:34:59 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 08, 2011, 09:23:27 PM
Quote from: NP 76 on September 08, 2011, 09:13:24 PM

Don't bother your arse, if you have a problem the customer has plenty of leverage with them, i.e. i am leaving !

Exactly. If you ever have any kind of problem ring and ask them to put you through to cancellations. They'll fix any problem then.
Post by: laoislad on September 12, 2011, 08:47:46 PM
Anyone else having problems with Sky Go tonight?
I'm watching the Newcastle QPR game and every few minutes the stream keeps re buffering.
My broadband is something like 25MB so surely that is good enough to keep the stream going?
Post by: gerry on September 12, 2011, 09:23:04 PM
its OK with me, i was watching eurosport last week on it and it kept buffering away
Post by: 5 Sams on September 12, 2011, 09:26:05 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 12, 2011, 08:47:46 PM
I'm watching the Newcastle QPR game and every few minutes the stream keeps re buffering.
My broadband is something like 25MB so surely that is good enough to keep the stream going?

Sky HD totally froze earlier for some reason....mite be wind related???
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on September 12, 2011, 10:18:03 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 12, 2011, 09:26:05 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 12, 2011, 08:47:46 PM

Sky HD totally froze earlier for some reason....mite be wind related???

Must have been that curry you had
Post by: BenDover on September 21, 2011, 09:45:23 AM
Free Sky Sports weekend
For Sky, Virgin, TalkTalk and Small World customers

What: Free Sky Sports weekend   Get by: 24 - 25th Sept 2011
How: From 6am Sat 25 Sept - 6am Mon 26 Sept, simply tune in to Sky Sports 1, 2, 3, 4 or Sky Sports News (HD or normal) and watch away.

What do I get? Free sports to watch all weekend, including programmes such as:

Football -   Man City v Everton, Sky Sports 2, Sat 12:30pm
   Cardiff v Leicester, Sky Sports 1, Sun 1:30pm
QPR v Aston Villa, Sky Sports 1, Sun 3:30pm

Rugby -   Lions v Blue Bulls, Sky Sports 2, Sat 2pm
   Cornish Pirates v Leeds, Sky Sports 2, Sat 4pm
Exeter v Wasps, Sky Sports 3, Sun 2:30pm

Cricket -   England v West Indies, Sky Sports 1, Sat 6pm

Golf -   US PGA Tour, Sky Sports 2, Sun 5pm
For full listings, see the Sky Sports TV guide.
The detail: Available to Sky, Virgin, TalkTalk TV and Small World customers only.
Post by: nrico2006 on September 21, 2011, 11:05:59 AM
Anyone know if there is channels that are free temporarily in order to tempt you into subscribing for them.  I am currently getting all the Discovery/Georgraphic channels etc as well as the cartoon channels but never had them before and never signed up for them.
Post by: nifan on September 21, 2011, 01:07:09 PM
nrico - happens all the time. Sky sport free in the uk this weekend apparently
Post by: nrico2006 on September 21, 2011, 02:09:32 PM
Aye, but was looking up about it earlier and it seems that Sky have simply restructured their packs and there is no longer the variety, knowledge, lifestyle, music, childrens and news & events options.  These have been replaced and consolidated into 2 packages - entertainment and entertainment extra.  It basically means that if you are going to get Sky now you will have to pay a minimum of £25 odd instead of the previous £19.50 or whatever it was, but existing customers will not have to pay any more for at least a year.  I love TCM.  Never saw The Searchers before and now have Rio Bravo to watch.
Post by: NAG1 on September 21, 2011, 02:48:51 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 21, 2011, 02:09:32 PM
Aye, but was looking up about it earlier and it seems that Sky have simply restructured their packs and there is no longer the variety, knowledge, lifestyle, music, childrens and news & events options.  These have been replaced and consolidated into 2 packages - entertainment and entertainment extra.  It basically means that if you are going to get Sky now you will have to pay a minimum of £25 odd instead of the previous £19.50 or whatever it was, but existing customers will not have to pay any more for at least a year.  I love TCM.  Never saw The Searchers before and now have Rio Bravo to watch.

Shame on you!  ;)
Post by: DownFanatic on January 30, 2012, 12:05:32 AM
Is anybody in the six counties not getting a signal on their box office tonight?
Post by: gerrykeegan on February 20, 2012, 03:35:14 PM

Sky go on Android Finally!
Post by: BenDover on February 20, 2012, 03:55:26 PM
i must be blind can't find it on the market place, even went to Sky Go website hoping to see a download link to the app there
Post by: gerrykeegan on February 20, 2012, 05:03:43 PM
Yes you are blind! its under apps, name  sky go, by bskyb its not on the first page mind you, works a treat
Post by: Gazzler on February 20, 2012, 05:11:35 PM
Its only available for Galaxy SII and one of the HTC phones
Post by: BennyCake on February 20, 2012, 06:44:28 PM
At the risk of sounding stupid, what is Sky Go?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 20, 2012, 06:47:13 PM
An app for watching Sky Sports, Sky Movies and other Sky Channels on up to 2 other devices, including iPhones, Laptops and Netbooks. You get it free if you have those channels and Sky Multiroom I think. I know I have it but I have every channel I think.
Post by: laoislad on February 21, 2012, 03:42:47 PM
Anyone else having trouble with sky go app on iPhone?
Mine keeps saying video unavailable unknown error please restart app and try again.
Post by: screenexile on February 21, 2012, 04:09:15 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 20, 2012, 06:47:13 PM
An app for watching Sky Sports, Sky Movies and other Sky Channels on up to 2 other devices, including iPhones, Laptops and Netbooks. You get it free if you have those channels and Sky Multiroom I think. I know I have it but I have every channel I think.

Don't think you need multiroom as we don't have it. Downloaded the SkyGo for Android and it works grand so no complaints from me. Glad to see it!!!
Post by: Megaman on February 21, 2012, 05:21:59 PM
Quote from: laoislad on February 21, 2012, 03:42:47 PM
Anyone else having trouble with sky go app on iPhone?
Mine keeps saying video unavailable unknown error please restart app and try again.

Just tried mine here at work and its working fine
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 21, 2012, 06:43:39 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 21, 2012, 04:09:15 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 20, 2012, 06:47:13 PM
Don't think you need multiroom as we don't have it. Downloaded the SkyGo for Android and it works grand so no complaints from me. Glad to see it!!!
Aye you just have to be a customer with the required packages like Sky Sports. Or in my case have a kind brother with Sky Sports who is willing to give you his login details.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 21, 2012, 06:55:48 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on February 21, 2012, 06:53:41 PM
"For rights reasons Sky Go is not supported on any Android device that has been rooted."

F*ck that! Looking at the comments in the Android market there's a lot of divided opinion on the app.
Downloaded it last night and was watching some dung match within 30 seconds.
Post by: laoislad on February 21, 2012, 06:59:22 PM
"For rights reasons Sky Go is not supported on any Android device that has been rooted."

F*ck that! Looking at the comments in the Android market there's a lot of divided opinion on the app.

My iphone is jailbroken I wonder have they blocked it for jailbroken phones aswell..
That would be a balls as I have a app from Cydia that allows me to connect my iphone to TV with unofficial leads,so no jailbreak means I can't watch sky go on big TV without paying for official iphone cables.
Post by: take_yer_points on February 24, 2012, 11:26:36 AM
Quote from: laoislad on February 21, 2012, 06:59:22 PM

My iphone is jailbroken I wonder have they blocked it for jailbroken phones aswell..
That would be a balls as I have a app from Cydia that allows me to connect my iphone to TV with unofficial leads,so no jailbreak means I can't watch sky go on big TV without paying for official iphone cables.

Was sky go blocked on your iphone? It's blocked on my iPad but there's a fella in the US who has bypassed jailbreak detection for a load of apps who is trying to bypass the sky go dedection - I seen on twitter this morning he was saying it's going to be tough to fix. You can follow him here: @unimp0rtanttech

What's the app from Cydia you're using to display on the TV? Is the picture good? I've tried using displayout but it doesn't work for the iPad
Post by: laoislad on February 24, 2012, 12:59:00 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on February 24, 2012, 11:26:36 AM
Quote from: laoislad on February 21, 2012, 06:59:22 PM

Was sky go blocked on your iphone? It's blocked on my iPad but there's a fella in the US who has bypassed jailbreak detection for a load of apps who is trying to bypass the sky go dedection - I seen on twitter this morning he was saying it's going to be tough to fix. You can follow him here: @unimp0rtanttech

What's the app from Cydia you're using to display on the TV? Is the picture good? I've tried using displayout but it doesn't work for the iPad
Yeah Sky Go blocked, cheers on the heads up from that twitter fella hopefully he will get a fix for it.
I use displayout and another Cydia program called Resupported 4.0+ and I can watch sky go when's it working plus any other video content I have on iPhone on the TV screen.
Post by: laoislad on August 03, 2012, 06:37:01 PM
My aul fella has a Sky HD+ Box.
He bought a new HD TV last week so I was trying to connect it up to the SKY HD box for him so he could avail of free HD channels available.
The last TV was connected to the box via scart and the only way I can get a picture on the new TV is by using the same scart, when I use the HDMI cable I can't get a picture.
Do I have to change settings on the SKY menu or anything ?
Post by: bennydorano on August 03, 2012, 07:02:09 PM
Does he pay the xtra for hd package? Open to correction but I think u have to even to get even the  free HD ones on sky, mines an  £10 a month for the privilege of gettin the hd channels - in the black north thou.
Post by: laoislad on August 03, 2012, 07:09:30 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 03, 2012, 07:02:09 PM
Does he pay the xtra for hd package? Open to correction but I think u have to even to get even the  free HD ones on sky, mines an  £10 a month for the privilege of gettin the hd channels - in the black north thou.
No don't think he does. Should you still not be able get a picture with the HDMI for the SD Channnels?
I thought RTE2 HD and BBC HD were free without having to have Sky Sports HD etc.
Post by: bennydorano on August 03, 2012, 07:17:01 PM
I could be wrong but i think not, it's using the Sky platform  so they can charge.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2012, 10:31:39 AM
Anyone having problems with Sky today? Seems I can't get a reception FFS. The dish is still up and there was no weather problems last night. It came on initially but went off fairly quickly. We've people over today so not really worried but kids going mental!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2012, 10:39:17 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2012, 10:31:39 AM
Anyone having problems with Sky today? Seems I can't get a reception FFS. The dish is still up and there was no weather problems last night. It came on initially but went off fairly quickly. We've people over today so not really worried but kids going mental!!
Fone here but the bror in law had to call them out the other day and it turns out the dish had shifted a little in the wind. You may ring them and see if a dish or box issue.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2012, 10:41:32 AM
Aye will do that, got another message after I turned it off, said to turn off for five miutes and turn back on, if persists phone Sky, On Boxing Day/St Stephens Day??????
Post by: DickyRock on December 26, 2012, 11:14:49 AM
There's a signal strength checker where you can check:

Settings menu then signal tab

Check the strength there and wether it has the lock indicator is 'OK'
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2012, 11:35:13 AM
Quote from: DickyRock on December 26, 2012, 11:14:49 AM
There's a signal strength checker where you can check:

Settings menu then signal tab

Check the strength there and wether it has the lock indicator is 'OK'

Is this at the signal test tab? input 1 lock indicator says not locked, input 2 lock indicator says not locked

I'm not getting up on the roof today, knowing my luck I'll fall off the dam thing and ruin xmas lol
Post by: glens73 on February 01, 2014, 12:46:55 PM
If you have a Sky HD box do you have to pay the £10 HD subscription per month, in order to watch RTE2HD?
Post by: gerrykeegan on February 01, 2014, 01:36:27 PM
No. comes free also BBCHD and ITV HD
Post by: Celt_Man on February 01, 2014, 05:07:04 PM
What's the story with connecting the Sky box to internet to access the full On Demand stuff??
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 01, 2014, 05:08:28 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on February 01, 2014, 05:07:04 PM
What's the story with connecting the Sky box to internet to access the full On Demand stuff??
They'll give you a wee wireless receiver which connects to the HD box.
Post by: CD on August 03, 2014, 04:42:21 PM
Does anyone else lose their sky signal during heavy rain showers? Just been a real thunderstorm there and my signal was gone for the duration. Bit of a nuisance in a country like this!!
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on August 04, 2014, 12:29:17 AM
Happens quite a lot. My Sky bill was £90-£100 per month. Nowadays if you do a bit of research you can get all you want free online. Cancelled all my Sky accounts and only have broadband. A great site for android streaming is Modbro.com. only learning the ways around streaming free online but its def the way to go.
Post by: JimStynes on August 04, 2014, 12:34:32 AM
The dodgy sky boxes are right and popular nowadays! Full sky package including box nation etc works out about £11 a month.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on August 04, 2014, 12:34:45 AM
Quote from: CD on August 03, 2014, 04:42:21 PM
Does anyone else lose their sky signal during heavy rain showers? Just been a real thunderstorm there and my signal was gone for the duration. Bit of a nuisance in a country like this!!

It is called rain fade, your dish is probably ever so slightly misaligned. Dishes are suppose to be set up to compensate for this.
Post by: Boycey on August 04, 2014, 09:09:41 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on August 04, 2014, 12:34:32 AM
The dodgy sky boxes are right and popular nowadays! Full sky package including box nation etc works out about £11 a month.

It can be got way cheaper than that, my sub is way cheaper than that. It was £27 annually but since the HD have been lost it's down to a tenner a year.
Post by: tyrone girl on August 04, 2014, 10:12:43 AM

Anyone care to point me in the direction of this?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 04, 2014, 10:17:53 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on August 04, 2014, 10:12:43 AM

I would have assumed you had one of these already (powered by the neighbours electricity)  :D
Post by: tyrone girl on August 04, 2014, 10:25:12 AM
 ;D ;D If i knew how i probably would
Post by: Boycey on August 04, 2014, 11:08:27 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on August 04, 2014, 10:12:43 AM

Just google cardsharing. You do need an internet connection and a sky dish but after that even simpletons like me were able to work it
Post by: orangeman on August 21, 2014, 11:24:56 PM
Is it possible to get a sky plus box that will hold a lot of hours recordings ? The standard boxes seem to hold only 40/50 hours worth of recordings.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 21, 2014, 11:30:59 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 21, 2014, 11:24:56 PM
Is it possible to get a sky plus box that will hold a lot of hours recordings ? The standard boxes seem to hold only 40/50 hours worth of recordings.
http://m.shop.sky.com/mt/www.sky.com/shop/tv/compare/ (http://m.shop.sky.com/mt/www.sky.com/shop/tv/compare/)
Post by: orangeman on August 22, 2014, 02:21:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 21, 2014, 11:30:59 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 21, 2014, 11:24:56 PM
http://m.shop.sky.com/mt/www.sky.com/shop/tv/compare/ (http://m.shop.sky.com/mt/www.sky.com/shop/tv/compare/)

Many thanks Tony.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 22, 2014, 05:07:01 PM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on August 04, 2014, 12:29:17 AM
Happens quite a lot. My Sky bill was £90-£100 per month. Nowadays if you do a bit of research you can get all you want free online. Cancelled all my Sky accounts and only have broadband. A great site for android streaming is Modbro.com. only learning the ways around streaming free online but its def the way to go.

Just started looking at this too after a fella at work was on about it, sounds pretty decent. How have you been getting on with it??
Post by: Jim Bob on March 17, 2018, 02:38:44 PM
Pulled the plug on sky yesterday after 20 years. Big switch off next month. Which tv channels will remain and available to view anyway through the sky does anyone know?
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on March 17, 2018, 04:28:43 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on March 17, 2018, 02:38:44 PM
Pulled the plug on sky yesterday after 20 years. Big switch off next month. Which tv channels will remain and available to view anyway through the sky does anyone know?

you're about 10 years too late, no one has sky anymore, everything is available online.

should still have all the free satellite channels
Post by: Syferus on March 17, 2018, 04:35:06 PM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on March 17, 2018, 04:28:43 PM

you're about 10 years too late, no one has sky anymore, everything is available online.

I don't even know many young people who don't have Sky or Virgin. Most live in house shares and the cost of a split sub isn't anything major. Cord-cutting is still a good bit from a saturation point.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 18, 2018, 09:38:57 AM

https://freesat.co.uk/whats/full-channel-list/

Post by: Main Street on March 18, 2018, 10:57:07 PM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on March 17, 2018, 04:28:43 PM

A skybox with a free uk card is excellent value for the many viewers who live outside the broadband zone. I'd say the satellite  HD channels would be rated at about 5MB/sec, a speed which would burn up my 4G monthly ration.
Post by: Itchy on March 18, 2018, 11:04:21 PM
If you have broadband over 8mb and if you have no limits on your broadband you can get sky channels easy enough. I'll not post here on open forum but you can pm if you want details.
Post by: Jim Bob on April 15, 2018, 06:18:13 AM

Was expecting the get the call from sky to try and encourage me to stay on. Big switch off next week and no word from them lol. Not sure whether I would deal even if they give me s really good offer. Have smart tv so have access to the iPlayers but wondering how good a deal will they offer to keep me on????
Post by: bennydorano on April 23, 2018, 09:05:51 PM
Noticed in my last Sky Bill that my HD Package had went up to £13 pm, as much as I like watching in HD I thought this was taking the piss so I rang today to cancel, turned out I got the same HD Channels package for £0 by changing my package - I lost Sky Sports Formula 1 HD - something that I have never ever watched, so I've been paying through the nose for some shite for a year or two unnecessarily. Worth checking out what's going on with packages!
Post by: Insane Bolt on April 24, 2018, 07:36:19 AM
Cancelled sky over 3 years ago and don't miss it, the number of times I flicked through channels and ended up watching Gold reruns of Only Fools and Horses.
Post by: tintin25 on April 24, 2018, 08:45:34 AM
How much is it for just the basic Sky and Sports Package?

I have an openreach modem already installed in my new home...is it better to get the BT in?
Post by: Jim Bob on April 24, 2018, 12:39:26 PM
It's gone a week now   The only thing I misss is the instant rewind. It's only now I realise how much I used it.
Post by: GJL on April 24, 2018, 04:24:37 PM
IPTV is the way forward.
Post by: screenexile on April 24, 2018, 04:27:21 PM
Quote from: GJL on April 24, 2018, 04:24:37 PM
IPTV is the way forward.

If I was someone who had IPTV I would heartily agree with that statement!!! ;) ;)
Post by: tyrone girl on April 24, 2018, 04:35:11 PM
Jim Bob if u go on to live chat u will get about 50% off for 12 months. I have seen people say that 40% is the most they will offer but try it and see. If you want to keep it that is.
Post by: Taylor on May 03, 2018, 09:14:44 AM
Have IPTV as an app on tv. Subscription is running out however it is freezing all the time so not worth a shite.

Anyone know someone that provides a code that is quality?
Post by: screenexile on May 03, 2018, 10:44:35 AM
I know someone who uses fabiptv and they say it's pretty good.

The only issue had was for the Joshua fight but then I'm sure that was the same all over.
Post by: Jules on May 03, 2018, 10:47:20 AM
Try ebay - i buy a new one each month for about £5. Rarely have i had a problem.
Post by: Taylor on May 03, 2018, 12:19:41 PM
Quote from: Jules on May 03, 2018, 10:47:20 AM
Try ebay - i buy a new one each month for about £5. Rarely have i had a problem.

Changing provider every month. Is that a bit of a pain in the bollox?
Post by: Itchy on May 03, 2018, 01:07:54 PM
Quote from: Taylor on May 03, 2018, 09:14:44 AM
Have IPTV as an app on tv. Subscription is running out however it is freezing all the time so not worth a shite.

Anyone know someone that provides a code that is quality?

I sent you a pm.

Ebay - total waste of time. 5 euro shite service. Ebay is where SKY find the next server to target. You need to go off word of mouth, small servers that are not aggressively advertising,.
Post by: Jules on May 03, 2018, 05:36:15 PM
eBay is only one I've come across doesn't be blocked when big football games on. I have a 3 month subscription on a separate deal and it is blocked all the time when big events are on. Obviously i'll Not renew with them when it's up.
Post by: Jules on May 03, 2018, 05:49:03 PM
Quote from: Taylor on May 03, 2018, 12:19:41 PM
Quote from: Jules on May 03, 2018, 10:47:20 AM

Changing provider every month. Is that a bit of a pain in the bollox?

Only a 5 minute job to set up new provider if you use the iptv app
Post by: Owen Brannigan on May 03, 2018, 08:00:13 PM
SKY has lost Pro14 rugby and the European Champions and Challenge Cups.

Good news SKY has taken English cricket from BT.

Post by: Tony Baloney on May 03, 2018, 08:36:09 PM
Anyone use Perfect Player on Firestick? Brother in law swears by it and watched Joshua fight on it although it was touch and go as it buffered right up to the start of the fight.
Post by: Itchy on May 03, 2018, 11:47:50 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 03, 2018, 08:36:09 PM
Anyone use Perfect Player on Firestick? Brother in law swears by it and watched Joshua fight on it although it was touch and go as it buffered right up to the start of the fight.

Use stb emu instead, much better.