GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: From the Bunker on July 10, 2016, 01:14:11 PM

Title: Mayo v Kildare, Round 3B Football Qualifier July 16, 2016
Post by: From the Bunker on July 10, 2016, 01:14:11 PM
Well who would you want next? On paper Kildare look the easier draw. Cork away would be a stinker and could be the end of us.
Title: Re: Mayo v Cork/Longford/Kildare Saturday, July 16/17, 2016
Post by: inexile on July 10, 2016, 01:32:40 PM
As a Kildare supporter I'm in two minds on the one hand I think our best chance would be Longford in Newbridge, but then on the other hand if we really want to see how good we are or how ready we are for D2 football next year, I wouldn't mind a crack at Mayo in Castlebar.
Post by: Syferus on July 10, 2016, 01:36:22 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 10, 2016, 01:14:11 PM
Well who would you want next? On paper Kildare look the easier draw. Cork away would be a stinker and could be the end of us.

Cork can't barely end a sentence in any code these days.
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2016, 02:28:16 PM
Kildare or Cork. Not the Larries.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 10, 2016, 03:41:22 PM
Mayo in Newbridge would be a fantastic occasion and would be a good gauge as to how far away from a good team we are. Longford would be beatable but then we'd probably be back in an empty Croke park for the losers of Donegal and Tyrone.
Cork would be boring and liable to be a hammering either way.
Post by: LilySavage on July 10, 2016, 04:20:19 PM
Mayo at home. We're not going to win All Ireland so would prefer novelty of playing a big team in Newbridge with nothing to lose.
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2016, 05:41:41 PM
Quote from: LilySavage on July 10, 2016, 04:20:19 PM
Mayo at home. We're not going to win All Ireland so would prefer novelty of playing a big team in Newbridge with nothing to lose.
was Newbridge ever redeveloped?

Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 10, 2016, 05:51:08 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 10, 2016, 05:41:41 PM

The dog track was removed back in the 60's
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2016, 06:08:46 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 10, 2016, 05:51:08 PM

wasn't it declared a kip in 2006 or so? Could it not be included in a public private partnership , ? Is there no money to do it up?
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 10, 2016, 06:24:55 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 10, 2016, 06:08:46 PM

wasn't it declared a kip in 2006 or so? Could it not be included in a public private partnership , ? Is there no money to do it up?

Health and safety reduced capacity at the time the GAA needed Kildare in Croke park for the Dublin league games a few years ago but capacity is back up a little now thanks to some new barriers and a bit of yellow paint.
Kildare are still broke from building a centre of excellence at Hawkfield and the Leinster Council will not be helping as they are still dreaming of building a 40000 seater stadium on the M50 for Dublin. Kildare, Meath and Louth will be allowed to have the privilege of using it from time to time though.
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2016, 07:25:59 PM

Give them a break will you, if it wasn't for all the free ham they'd be starving to death.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 10, 2016, 08:23:05 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 10, 2016, 07:25:59 PM

Give them a break will you, if it wasn't for all the free ham they'd be starving to death.

(http://c0.thejournal.ie/media/2015/08/mick-odwyer-and-glenn-ryan-fuelling-kildare-success-with-brady-family-ham-ahead-of-the-big-game-on-sunday-752x501.jpg)
Post by: Syferus on July 10, 2016, 10:44:33 PM
Will O'Shea be making any lineup changes for the next day? Dillon looked sharp but he doesn't have 35 minutes in him anymore.
Post by: moysider on July 10, 2016, 10:58:45 PM

I think Aido will start Andy because he is has been into much into self gratification when brought in last 2 games. Dillon a clearer head to bring in. Actually Dillon looks fitter than a few years ago when he was tied up with injury. He's a half in him earlier.
Cillian O Connor clearly not right yet. Way off the pace still. There has to be an injury/fitness issue there still.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 10, 2016, 11:01:02 PM
In fairness Sy, McStay/FOD had a bit of a stinker today when it came to tactics. The laboured ball into the forward line has to be changed the next day! If they come up with the tactic to do this can they pass on a memo with tactic to Aido?
Post by: highorlow on July 10, 2016, 11:28:18 PM
Are we not in neutral venues the next day/evening?
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 10, 2016, 11:31:00 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 10, 2016, 11:28:18 PM
Are we not in neutral venues the next day/evening?
Nope. Round 4 games are though I think.
Post by: sans pessimism on July 10, 2016, 11:36:30 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 10, 2016, 10:44:33 PM
Will O'Shea be making any lineup changes for the next day? Dillon looked sharp but he doesn't have 35 minutes in him anymore.
Worry bout yer own house a mhac
Post by: highorlow on July 10, 2016, 11:41:55 PM
If we get a home draw it's likely the Connacht final replay will be a curtain raiser then.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 11, 2016, 12:07:32 AM
Quote from: highorlow on July 10, 2016, 11:41:55 PM
If we get a home draw it's likely the Connacht final replay will be a curtain raiser then.

Plus we get the pleasure of paying Connacht final prices to see a qualifier game!
Post by: moysider on July 11, 2016, 12:14:16 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 11, 2016, 12:07:32 AM
Quote from: highorlow on July 10, 2016, 11:41:55 PM

Plus we get the pleasure of paying Connacht final prices to see a qualifier game!

Can't see them play both games. Surely the Connacht final replay will fill the place alone after today's thrilling draw!
Post by: blast05 on July 11, 2016, 12:19:09 AM
Please let the game not be in McHale Park.
My long long standing bug bear with the ground is the pitch is too damn small... the 65's are on top of one another's and its also much too tight. It hasn't suited Mayo senior teams since about the late 80's.
Playing the likes of Stephen Coen in midfield in a championship game in McHale Park will never work. On the other hand, he would be much more effective in Croke Park. Same with Evan Regan i feel. The opposite is true for big Barry. We really should take out whatever seats  need to be taken out and make the pitch dimensions identical to Croke Park.

Another rant off my chest ... jeez, i feel great now  ;D
Post by: moysider on July 11, 2016, 01:01:13 AM
Quote from: blast05 on July 11, 2016, 12:19:09 AM
Please let the game not be in McHale Park.
My long long standing bug bear with the ground is the pitch is too damn small... the 65's are on top of one another's and its also much too tight. It hasn't suited Mayo senior teams since about the late 80's.
Playing the likes of Stephen Coen in midfield in a championship game in McHale Park will never work. On the other hand, he would be much more effective in Croke Park. Same with Evan Regan i feel. The opposite is true for big Barry. We really should take out whatever seats  need to be taken out and make the pitch dimensions identical to Croke Park.

Another rant off my chest ... jeez, i feel great now  ;D

Hmmm, you could be onto something.
I dunno what Rochford is thinking with the way he is setting us up with the roles McLoughlin and Higgins are playing but I suspect that he is looking down the road to Croke Park and open spaces. We'll have to wait and see if we get there and if it will work there.
I dunno. Keith is most effective attacking space from deep but not so much getting ball with his back to goal and immediately surrounded. Maybe Rochford feels that later he will have more time and space to turn and punch holes in defences on a bigger pitch.
McLoughlin appears to be playing a dual role of sweeper and attacking play maker. He is playing brilliantly but it is too complicated. We need him as a play maker imo. When he goes forward and  we get turned over we are completely exposed. That doesn t happen in likes of  Donegal where lads fill the void when a Paddy McGrath, Lacey or whoever goes up the field.
We're in a kind of limbo now. The runners taking a chance from the back are not doing it like the Horan years and we are very lazy getting cover back as well. Donegal burst themselves to get make runs and cover back. We do not. The support runs yesterday were half-arsed or non-existant for most of the game. In one play Keith put DOC up the wing with a nice pass and then stood up and made no supporting run. Diarmuid got isolated and turned over. Alarmingly after we had a lead near the end we had a one-on- one near our goals as well. At least we had Barry back there after so that is something. If we had that savvy against Kerry 2 years ago in the drawn game the Limerick nightmare would have been avoided.
How Boyle ended up isolated 1 on 1 with Quigley is beyond me! At the time I assumed it was Keane that was whoosed out of the way with an arse and couldn't believe it. The fact that Boyle was isolated without another back in the same timezone is unbelievable. How their wing back got 3 points from play is unforgivable as well. The shots were good but nobody bust a gut to chase him back the field and cover his runs. The days of 'he's not my man' are long gone. You go the immediate threat and thrust that others will be working back as well.
I was surprised Rochford went with the same roles for Kevin and Keith for yesterday and the first half looked like an extension of what we saw v Galway. I expect Rochford will persist with this and maybe he will be proved right in the long run. I can understand where he is comng from. He appears, as a new manager, to have nailed his colours to the mast with this tactic and unlikely to rein back on it now. To change tack now would be seen as weakness maybe. That's what coaches are like. Maybe it will work out yet.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2016, 08:46:30 AM
Kildare minors play Leinster final Sunday - hardly a double header Saturday? Please no, we get screwed enough on poxy double headers in Leinster.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2016, 08:56:47 AM
Mayo have never beaten Kildare in the championship. Mayo look a busted flush, all that energy over the last few years, the desperation of a player coup, players now diving and cheating to win games. I expect our young stallions who thrive away from Croke Park in proper atmospheric provincial venue to put these once proud warriors to peace. You were great Mayo, time to let go.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 11, 2016, 08:57:21 AM
Had a feeling Mayo would draw Kildare and get the added bonus of another home tie. What odds on Mayo drawing Westmeath in round 4, quarter final v the Ulster champions (avoiding Dublin and Kerry  until a possible All Ireland final ) and re match v Galway in the AI semi final.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2016, 09:00:39 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 11, 2016, 08:57:21 AM
Had a feeling Mayo would draw Kildare and get the added bonus of another home tie. What odds on Mayo drawing Westmeath in round 4, quarter final v the Ulster champions (avoiding Dublin and Kerry  until a possible All Ireland final ) and re match v Galway in the AI semi final.

Sickening arrogance
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 11, 2016, 09:29:05 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2016, 09:00:39 AM

Sickening arrogance

Ah here we won't get a word in edgeways with these fellahs.

Enjoy your 100 page+ thread lads.

Rossies and Seafoid - please stick to the Connacht Final thread.

Jinxy - no, we have no free ham to offer you for your tayto sandwich.

Aidan O'Shea is no Martin Lynch.

Kildare for Sam.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 11, 2016, 10:16:08 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2016, 09:00:39 AM

Sickening arrogance

He's not even a Mayo man. Cian O'Neill will know enough about our boys anyway.
Post by: moysider on July 11, 2016, 10:25:54 AM

Paddy Brophy and Seanie Johnstone ran riot last time we played them.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2016, 10:32:10 AM
Paddy Brophy our Pearce Hanley go do with him and 4 clones in this game. Such a talented footballer.
Post by: seafoid on July 11, 2016, 10:40:05 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2016, 08:56:47 AM
Mayo have never beaten Kildare in the championship. Mayo look a busted flush, all that energy over the last few years, the desperation of a player coup, players now diving and cheating to win games. I expect our young stallions who thrive away from Croke Park in proper atmospheric provincial venue to put these once proud warriors to peace. You were great Mayo, time to let go.

I think that is why Galway were underdogs in 1998  8)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__8jbndME4U
Post by: seafoid on July 11, 2016, 10:43:49 AM
Mayo and Kildare. 2 tortured souls.
Longford v Cork should be interesting
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 11, 2016, 11:00:45 AM
I hope Rochford has 'revenge for 1935' hung up on the dressing room door, walls and everywhere else too  :P
Post by: highorlow on July 11, 2016, 11:24:11 AM
4 wheel drives can be catered for in knock airport car park. the ground is an easy enough walk from there.
Post by: larryin89 on July 11, 2016, 11:29:52 AM
Really need to take the shakles off for this one, let them express themselves and i dont care if he got motm mgloughlin is wasted back in front of the fb line .
Post by: mayo.mick on July 11, 2016, 11:59:48 AM
https://twitter.com/AngelinaNugent1/status/752455361483927552

Angelina Nugent ‏@AngelinaNugent1  6m6 minutes ago
Connacht Final replay Sunday at 3.30pm! Looks like Mayo game stand alone Saturday-not confirmed yet.
Title: Re: Mayo v Kildare, July 16/17, 2016
Post by: ballinaman on July 11, 2016, 01:43:38 PM
Live on Shky @7pm Saturday.
Title: Re: Mayo v Kildare, July 16/17, 2016
Post by: From the Bunker on July 11, 2016, 01:54:03 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 11, 2016, 01:43:38 PM
Live on Shky @7pm Saturday.

Connacht final not on the Box?
Title: Re: Mayo v Kildare, Round 3B Football Qualifier July 16, 2016
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 11, 2016, 03:03:34 PM
Just doing some video analysis here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vr4oIUtCZig

It appears if you get stuck into Mayo early, they don't want to know.
Post by: moysider on July 11, 2016, 03:36:41 PM

I expect Aido to score a lot against Kildare.

(http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/mm197/Moysider12/628x4711_zpsag8coj6n.jpg) (http://s296.photobucket.com/user/Moysider12/media/628x4711_zpsag8coj6n.jpg.html)
Post by: PW Nally on July 11, 2016, 05:56:27 PM
(http://c8.alamy.com/comp/BJTEPX/toyota-landcruiser-4x4-vehicle-towing-horse-box-through-charlestown-BJTEPX.jpg)

Aidan O'Shea spotted getting lift to hurling trials in Kildare.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2016, 06:58:35 PM
Wouldn't have him, he'd be burdened by the expectation of being the next Martin Lynch wouldn't be mentally able to cope. Like SJ he'll only be comfortable being a big fish in a small pond.
Post by: moysider on July 11, 2016, 10:15:29 PM

Bringing him up for breeding maybe. If doul thoroughbreds get such big stud fees surely Aido is worth a few hundred a jump?
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2016, 10:38:08 PM
Imagine the amount of ham he'd go through in a year.
Post by: moysider on July 11, 2016, 11:01:37 PM

Imagine the amount of fillies he'd go through in a year.
Post by: Beffs on July 11, 2016, 11:28:41 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 11, 2016, 06:58:35 PM
Wouldn't have him, he'd be burdened by the expectation of being the next Martin Lynch wouldn't be mentally able to cope. Like SJ he'll only be comfortable being a big fish in a small pond.

Oh, he'll get on just fine.  He'll be in his natural element.  ;D
Post by: seafoid on July 12, 2016, 02:28:15 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 11, 2016, 03:03:34 PM
Just doing some video analysis here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vr4oIUtCZig

It appears if you get stuck into Mayo early, they don't want to know.
That stadium looks more modern than Newbridge
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2016, 08:48:02 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 11, 2016, 10:15:29 PM

Bringing him up for breeding maybe. If doul thoroughbreds get such big stud fees surely Aido is worth a few hundred a jump?

(http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f273/Cristian619/Misc%206/5e5f051286964490985.gif~original)

If we bring Aido to cover a few mares in we'd need to work on his balance. We could always use Joe Brolly as a teaser.
Post by: highorlow on July 12, 2016, 10:39:05 AM
3 reasons why we could lose this game:

1 - Complacency, Kildare are seen as not the force they once were. People are forgetting that Westmeath aren't a bad side. Kildare have a good midfield and always play a nice brand of football. They will know we are ripe for picking and if / when we let them go 6 ahead they will finish the job.

2- Tactics, in hindsight I can understand the sweeper the last day against the wind. If we play a sweeper the next day we will struggle, especially if it's McL.

3 - Selection, Barry Moran has to start. There is a lad in the forwards who started the last day who has had a number of years to prove himself. He hasn't, if he starts it will be a mistake.

All of the above outcomes are more than likely to happen the next day so I'm afraid to say this but we it's highly likely that we won't be crossing the Shannon this year.
Post by: Rossfan on July 12, 2016, 11:04:58 AM
Be some craic if Kildare win this...... ;D
Could be a 200 pager.
Post by: blast05 on July 12, 2016, 12:01:08 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 12, 2016, 10:39:05 AM

1 - Complacency, Kildare are seen as not the force they once were. People are forgetting that Westmeath aren't a bad side. Kildare have a good midfield and always play a nice brand of football. They will know we are ripe for picking and if / when we let them go 6 ahead they will finish the job.

2- Tactics, in hindsight I can understand the sweeper the last day against the wind. If we play a sweeper the next day we will struggle, especially if it's McL.

3 - Selection, Barry Moran has to start. There is a lad in the forwards who started the last day who has had a number of years to prove himself. He hasn't, if he starts it will be a mistake.

All of the above outcomes are more than likely to happen the next day so I'm afraid to say this but we it's highly likely that we won't be crossing the Shannon this year.

Your entire argument went down the toilet when you said 'Westmeath aren't a bad side' .... they have gone from Div 1 to Div 4 in 3 seasons.
If you said Westmeath have a lot of good players (i would take 5 if not 6 of them as starters with Mayo) but as a team are far poorer than the sum of their parts - then you had some argument!

Why is it 'more than likely' that we will be complacent ? I saw enough bite in the 2nd half the last day to be convinced that the lads are trying but it isn't coming together yet.

And re the sweeper .... i am certain the bigger picture is being looked at - and that is the open spaces of Croke Park with Dublin, Kerry etc in mind. I am convinced McLoughlin can have a huge impact if we get that far. A smart ball player who will develop a very good positioning sense as a sweeper if he gets a couple of more games; and who can break at real pace. In fact, he is the type of player Rochford was (OK, minus the pace!). There is no point reverting to a game plan that simply involves putting the players in the best positions, man against man, holding positions, etc in order to get us over Kildare .... that hasn't got us what we wanted at the latter stages in previous years so unless we work with something different and try to fine tune it - well definition of insanity springs to mind.
Post by: seafoid on July 12, 2016, 02:05:24 PM
Mayo should be using the qualifiers to try out a few scoring forwards
Imagine if ye won Sam this year. The Dubs are beatable

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9o2cV-FpoHo
Post by: highorlow on July 12, 2016, 02:50:03 PM
QuoteYour entire argument went down the toilet when you said 'Westmeath aren't a bad side' .... they have gone from Div 1 to Div 4 in 3 seasons.

What has the league got to do with anything?
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 13, 2016, 05:14:42 AM
Quote from: highorlow on July 12, 2016, 10:39:05 AM

I'd like to agree with you but I just don't, particularly the bit in bold. We've let both Westmeath and Offaly back from six points down.
Post by: highorlow on July 13, 2016, 09:22:52 AM
QuoteI'd like to agree with you but I just don't, particularly the bit in bold. We've let both Westmeath and Offaly back from six points down.

Maybe my point wasn't well made. Kildare hit a hot spot once each year. Last year Cork (that years league finalists would you believe!) got a taste of it and if ye play to 1/2 the potential of the demolition ye did that day we will be beaten.

I'm sure / hope our lads will have watched the video of that and it might knock the complacency out of them.

As for most of our supporters, they have changed hats again now back to the complacency in the Galway game and most expect this to be "business as usual". Expect a quiet day in the stands then.

I've a very bad feeling on this one.
Post by: Chimley on July 13, 2016, 11:28:23 AM
This could be a fascinating clash. It's definitely two teams with Jekyll and Hyde characteristics. Neither set of fans will be approaching this with any degree of confidence.

Will the Mayo who beat Donegal last year and won 5 Connachts in a row show up for the first time under Rochford.
Which Kildare will show up? The Cork or Kerry version from 2015?

It's a good chance for the winner to make something out of the year.
Post by: seafoid on July 13, 2016, 01:00:40 PM
I remember 2001 and being stunned after the Ros match. It felt like the year was lost. Every qualifier match was potentially the last. There was no certainty. Some of the matches were very close. But they won each one. And meath destroyed Kerry in the other semifinal. So it was underdog status in the final. But the rest is history.
Post by: Crete Boom on July 13, 2016, 02:43:09 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 13, 2016, 01:00:40 PM
I remember 2001 and being stunned after the Ros match. It felt like the year was lost. Every qualifier match was potentially the last. There was no certainty. Some of the matches were very close. But they won each one. And meath destroyed Kerry in the other semifinal. So it was underdog status in the final. But the rest is history.

That team had the memory of wining Sam in 98 along with the medals to prove it though!
Post by: seafoid on July 13, 2016, 03:14:05 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on July 13, 2016, 02:43:09 PM

That team had the memory of wining Sam in 98 along with the medals to prove it though!
Mayo have the memory of going so close
Post by: Jinxy on July 13, 2016, 03:38:29 PM
Quote from: Chimley on July 13, 2016, 11:28:23 AM
This could be a fascinating clash. It's definitely two teams with Jekyll and Hyde characteristics. Neither set of fans will be approaching this with any degree of confidence.

Will the Mayo who beat Donegal last year and won 5 Connachts in a row show up for the first time under Rochford.

I think you underestimate both sets of fans.
Post by: seafoid on July 13, 2016, 03:59:47 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 13, 2016, 03:38:29 PM

I think you underestimate both sets of fans.
Mayo fans (https://nyogalleristny.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/8850-munch-the-scream-e1336013995741.jpg)

Kildare fans
(http://www.lifeisspiritual.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/Despair.jpg)

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-V5uv-VSOZ_c/UguBPdXxZbI/AAAAAAAAHGw/l6O_11qoEoM/s1600/delusions.jpg)
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 13, 2016, 04:45:04 PM
It will be mostly Kildare supporters approaching this game with little or no confidence. Kildare played their league football in division 3 this year losing to Clare and Sligo. In the championship Kildare struggled against Wexford a division 4 team and lost to Westmeath who were relegated to division 4 and last Sunday conceded a big score against division 3 Offaly.

Lets be honest here Mayo division one playing at home and still considered All Ireland contenders not winning this game comfortably will be a major shock.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 13, 2016, 07:36:32 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 13, 2016, 04:45:04 PM
It will be mostly Kildare supporters approaching this game with little or no confidence. Kildare played their league football in division 3 this year losing to Clare and Sligo. In the championship Kildare struggled against Wexford a division 4 team and lost to Westmeath who were relegated to division 4 and last Sunday conceded a big score against division 3 Offaly.

Lets be honest here Mayo division one playing at home and still considered All Ireland contenders not winning this game comfortably will be a major shock.

Pretty much it, only hope really is that Kildare display some guts and courage and give them a good game. If they avoid conceding 7 goals it will be progress from last year.
Unfortunately Kildare wouldn't have a full back capable of dealing with AO'S so there is the possibility of him doing serious harm. Hopefully Barry Moran doesn't start either as he would comfortably dominate midfield.
On the other hand Niall Kelly and Neil Flynn can score heavily if service is provided to them but playing like they did against Westmeath would leave them starved.
Post by: seafoid on July 13, 2016, 07:52:29 PM
Kildare are 6/1
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 13, 2016, 08:45:34 PM
I'm still scarred from the 1st half continuation of the Galway game the last day against Fermanagh. I hope whatever happened at halftime the last day still has an effect on the performance on Saturday.
Post by: moysider on July 13, 2016, 09:53:27 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 13, 2016, 08:45:34 PM
I'm still scarred from the 1st half continuation of the Galway game the last day against Fermanagh. I hope whatever happened at halftime the last day still has an effect on the performance on Saturday.

What happened at half time is we got the wind Farr. Not much else happened.
Post by: larryin89 on July 13, 2016, 11:29:34 PM
KIldare are now 7/1 with ourselves being pushed out from 1/6 to 1/10 from opening odds to date . Handicap  has gone from -5 to -7 also.

I believe we are going to put in a very good show and the handicap will be well covered.

Twin towers tactic needs to be given a run for this one. I dont think kildare would cope.horses for courses.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 13, 2016, 11:43:09 PM
Have to say all these home games in McHale Park makes me realise how comfy those Dublin fans have things. No worries about travel. Breakfast at home. Dinner at home. Tea at home. No rushing for the train to Maynooth. Going to the game isn't even a decision! A lot of Money, time and stress saved.

Post by: Farrandeelin on July 13, 2016, 11:47:08 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 13, 2016, 11:43:09 PM
Have to say all these home games in McHale Park makes me realise how comfy those Dublin fans have things. No worries about travel. Breakfast at home. Dinner at home. Tea at home. No rushing for the train to Maynooth. Going to the game isn't even a decision! A lot of Money, time and stress saved.
The Dubs don't have cows to milk. I probably won't be there this Sat.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 13, 2016, 11:54:23 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 13, 2016, 11:47:08 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 13, 2016, 11:43:09 PM
The Dubs don't have cows to milk. I probably won't be there this Sat.

Milk them when you get home, sure it's only over the road! And sure you're off work for the summer!
Post by: seafoid on July 14, 2016, 01:45:18 AM
The core of the team is the 2006 u21

2006 - K O'Malley; T Howley, G Cafferkey, K Higgins; C Barrett, T Cunniffe, C Boyle; S O'Shea, B Moran; A Campbell, J Dillon, A Kilcoyne; M Ronaldson, M Hannick, M Conroy. Subs - S Ryder, K Costello, E Varley.

what happened to Ronaldinho?
Post by: From the Bunker on July 14, 2016, 07:09:14 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 14, 2016, 01:45:18 AM

2006 - K O'Malley; T Howley, G Cafferkey, K Higgins; C Barrett, T Cunniffe, C Boyle; S O'Shea, B Moran; A Campbell, J Dillon, A Kilcoyne; M Ronaldson, M Hannick, M Conroy. Subs - S Ryder, K Costello, E Varley.

Used to be - only 3 to 4 will start Saturday.
Post by: seafoid on July 14, 2016, 07:56:42 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 14, 2016, 07:09:14 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 14, 2016, 01:45:18 AM

Used to be - only 3 to 4 will start Saturday.
How many are injured and how many are past it?
Post by: larryin89 on July 14, 2016, 08:21:29 AM
From that team,  Caff (19) , Higgans, boyler, Barrett(19), SOS (19) and barry moran all still very much part of senior panel. Nobody can question their dedication to the cause . Lets see how this pans out , if you were an outsider lookin in, trying to figure out this years championship . Youd be confused about Mayo, people are writing them off but wont stop writing about them. Its a biteen strange . Sure if we're finished shut up about us and get on with the championship.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2016, 03:24:23 PM
Where is Kilcoyne nowadays?
He was very good, if I'm thinking of the right lad.
Post by: Crete Boom on July 14, 2016, 03:49:27 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 14, 2016, 03:24:23 PM
Where is Kilcoyne nowadays?
He was very good, if I'm thinking of the right lad.

Had three or four horrific injuries in a row which lead to him being 50% fit from 2010 on when he did play. In 2013 or 14 he had a freak knee injury in the warm up before a Mayo club semi and he is only just back playing a bit in goal for Knockmore trying to get back to a standard of fitness so he can play outfield!!!
Post by: From the Bunker on July 14, 2016, 04:03:33 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 13, 2016, 03:14:05 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on July 13, 2016, 02:43:09 PM

Mayo have the memory of going so close

2013 in Salthill is a beautiful memory!  ;)
Post by: seafoid on July 14, 2016, 05:53:42 PM
Mayo are close enough to the qfs and business as usual.
If Jennifer Aniston can get pregnant surely Mayo can land Sam.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2016, 06:43:22 PM
That's the weirdest thing you've ever said.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 14, 2016, 07:41:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 14, 2016, 05:53:42 PM
Mayo are close enough to the qfs and business as usual.
If Jennifer Aniston can get pregnant surely Mayo can land Sam.

Seafoid give up them funny pills!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 14, 2016, 07:48:23 PM
Seafoid has 4 obsessions in life Mayo, Kildare, Meath and Jennifer Aniston.
Post by: seafoid on July 14, 2016, 07:59:41 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 14, 2016, 06:43:22 PM

I dunno Jinxy. I am not even interested in her but there was a picture of her in the hairdressers and her pregnant. You would know her from womens magazines even if you didn't ever read them just like any women would be aware of the Mayo journey. And she was going out with Brad Pitt at some stage when Meath were a football team which is a VERY long time ago. But that other one took him. She is like Mayo in many ways. That tragic aspect plus the need for affection and all the questions . And now she is up the pole. Born 1969 so would be near the end of the body clock, not unlike the 2006 under 21s.  Nobody would have believed it after she lost to the Dubs in a replay last year or whatever it was. But the unthinkable has happened.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5EdmHSTwmWY
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 14, 2016, 08:04:24 PM
(http://i.imgur.com/q3iCWqE.jpg)
Post by: imtommygunn on July 14, 2016, 08:13:25 PM
Shit just got weird.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 14, 2016, 08:16:20 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 14, 2016, 07:59:41 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 14, 2016, 06:43:22 PM

I dunno Jinxy. I am not even interested in her but there was a picture of her in the hairdressers and her pregnant. You would know her from womens magazines even if you didn't ever read them just like any women would be aware of the Mayo journey. And she was going out with Brad Pitt at some stage when Meath were a football team which is a VERY long time ago. But that other one took him. She is like Mayo in many ways. That tragic aspect plus the need for affection and all the questions . And now she is up the pole. Born 1969 so would be near the end of the body clock, not unlike the 2006 under 21s.  Nobody would have believed it after she lost to the Dubs in a replay last year or whatever it was. But the unthinkable has happened.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5EdmHSTwmWY

You are not (yet) another alias for Syferus by any chance, are you?
Post by: seafoid on July 14, 2016, 08:23:15 PM
In Castlebar, a small but steadfast crowd was waiting in the heavy rain outside the Welcome Inn. Nothing official had been arranged, but these Mayo people stood vigil all the same. Their gesture choked Brady up in a way he hadn't felt in years. In the function room, he was overcome. That was when it hit him. Thirteen years of playing county football and this was how it ended. He had to lower his head, had to raise his hand to warn his friends away.
"The warmth of those people was incredible. It kind of dawned on me then. The whole thing hit me and in my heart and soul, I shed a tear or two inside. That is what I had been doing this thing for - the 13 years of breaking arms, legs, nose, jaws, the hundreds of training sessions, the whole lot - that is why. These were strangers standing in the pissing rain to greet a team that had been destroyed in the biggest football match of the year. I won't ever forget that."

Jack O'Connor came in and spoke with direct compassion about what had just happened on the field. He explained that the one, single year Kerry had been waiting since their All-Ireland final loss to Tyrone had been more cutting and salty than the half-century of constant keening that accompanied Mayo teams. He explained Kerry's need had been greater

Surely it is time to put a shtop to it .  The Galway result adds another twist to it
Post by: moysider on July 14, 2016, 08:42:15 PM

But Jennifer Aniston is not pregnant!!

And f**k Jack O Connor and shite talk after winning an AI. Easy to walk into a loser's space and patronise them about need and hurt. Bollocks. Kerry were much the better team, end of.
If anything, its a sense of entitlement/superiority that nourishes them not cut and salt.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 14, 2016, 08:43:23 PM
(https://media.giphy.com/media/wLbUyMWlFQic0/giphy.gif)
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 14, 2016, 09:08:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 14, 2016, 08:23:15 PM
In Castlebar, a small but steadfast crowd was waiting in the heavy rain outside the Welcome Inn. Nothing official had been arranged, but these Mayo people stood vigil all the same. Their gesture choked Brady up in a way he hadn't felt in years. In the function room, he was overcome. That was when it hit him. Thirteen years of playing county football and this was how it ended. He had to lower his head, had to raise his hand to warn his friends away.
"The warmth of those people was incredible. It kind of dawned on me then. The whole thing hit me and in my heart and soul, I shed a tear or two inside. That is what I had been doing this thing for - the 13 years of breaking arms, legs, nose, jaws, the hundreds of training sessions, the whole lot - that is why. These were strangers standing in the pissing rain to greet a team that had been destroyed in the biggest football match of the year. I won't ever forget that."

Jack O'Connor came in and spoke with direct compassion about what had just happened on the field. He explained that the one, single year Kerry had been waiting since their All-Ireland final loss to Tyrone had been more cutting and salty than the half-century of constant keening that accompanied Mayo teams. He explained Kerry's need had been greater

Surely it is time to put a shtop to it .  The Galway result adds another twist to it
Away to fûck with yer bollixing shit about Galway and your faux worrying about Mayo football. If Galway do win the AI before us, you'll be a hard hoor to listen to. Go away and annoy Syferus on the Connacht final thread.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 14, 2016, 09:22:09 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 14, 2016, 09:08:10 PM

Away to fûck with yer bollixing shit about Galway and your faux worrying about Mayo football. If Galway do win the AI before us, you'll be a hard hoor to listen to. Go away and annoy Syferus on the Connacht final thread.

Yes, go away with you plámásing sh1te! Ye have had enough bad days in the office the last 50 years. Plenty of Galway lads went to the well and got nothing for their troubles. Ye have plenty of players with Runners up AI medals and no AI from the 70's and 80's. Go research their plámás stories of so near yet so far. Your constant rhetoric is tired at this stage. 
Post by: moysider on July 14, 2016, 09:26:09 PM
Well it looks like our fertility Godess has gone and deserted us. Jennifer denied that she is pregnant 2 days ago and said she is fed up with likes of Seafóid over the years invading her privacy with idle speculation about her breeding condition.
Anyway if our chances of success were depending on the fecundity of a middle-aged actress we're cooked boys. It won t be happening.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2016, 09:28:40 PM
The Jennifer Aniston curse continues...
Post by: moysider on July 14, 2016, 09:31:09 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 14, 2016, 09:22:09 PM

Yes, go away with you plámásing sh1te! Ye have had enough bad days in the office the last 50 years. Plenty of Galway lads went to the well and got nothing for their troubles. Ye have plenty of players with Runners up AI medals and no AI from the 70's and 80's. Go research their plámás stories of so near yet so far. Your constant rhetoric is tired at this stage.

Well, seafóid translates as nonsense after all.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 14, 2016, 09:33:57 PM
Will someone tweet Jennifer and ask if she has any team news?
Post by: seafoid on July 14, 2016, 09:38:29 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 14, 2016, 08:42:15 PM

And f**k Jack O Connor and shite talk after winning an AI. Easy to walk into a loser's space and patronise them about need and hurt. Bollocks. Kerry were much the better team, end of.
If anything, its a sense of entitlement/superiority that nourishes them not cut and salt.
O Connor had some gall to say that
Post by: seafoid on July 14, 2016, 09:40:56 PM

They probably will.
Unless something happens this year.
Post by: moysider on July 14, 2016, 09:58:43 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 14, 2016, 09:38:29 PM

I'd show him the door. In the past I bit my tongue a few times in situations like that.
Post by: highorlow on July 14, 2016, 10:17:04 PM
Right time to change the subject.

Any word on the team?
Post by: blast05 on July 14, 2016, 10:36:59 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 14, 2016, 09:58:43 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 14, 2016, 09:38:29 PM

I'd show him the door. In the past I bit my tongue a few times in situations like that.

Ha, indeed ... reminds of one of my all-time favourite GAA moments when i was coaching/managing a club minor team and we won the county A title. However, there was also a Premier A championship which was only open to 4 clubs in the county (the 4 biggest (town clubs), no pre-qualification and final was on before the county senior final - insane sh*t).

The losing team in our A final were also one of the 4 'anointed' that competed in the premier A (the '4' got to compete in both competitions ... we beat 3 of them in our 'A' win in QF, SF and final - comfortably).

Their manager came into our dressing room after the game and said words along the lines of ... "well done lads, yeer not a bad side, in fact a small bit better and yee'd be worth your place in the premier A" ......My (roaring) reply - "shut your f**king mouth and get out. This bunch of lads are thee best minor team in the county - period. You can shove your premier A up your hole now fcuk off" ...... out he went (as my bunch of lads were standing and inching towards him and the door - all but frothing at the mouth).

As it panned out, that was the last year of the premier A nonsense. I like to think that it was something to do with the county secretary being outside the dressing room as i went on my rant!!
Post by: moysider on July 14, 2016, 10:43:50 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 14, 2016, 10:17:04 PM

Any word on the team?

It'll be tomorrow afternoon/evening before there is a team named I expect.

Doubt there will be much change in selection or approach. They're as well to start Andy and let him loose.
Post by: mayo.mick on July 14, 2016, 10:54:27 PM

Any word on the team?

Published last night (by mistake I'd say, got deleted again)
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 14, 2016, 10:59:35 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 14, 2016, 10:43:50 PM

Any word on the team?

It'll be tomorrow afternoon/evening before there is a team named I expect.

Doubt there will be much change in selection or approach. They're as well to start Andy and let him loose.
Who's would you drop?
Post by: highorlow on July 14, 2016, 11:15:53 PM
I'd start both Morans, drop Freeman.

If we can we should try and start with 16, we got away with cheating the last day so may aswell continue.

We are bollicized anyhow, can't see us winning this and I'm always optimistic.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 14, 2016, 11:39:49 PM
Kildare's team was supposed to be named after training this evening, they must still be training as it hasn't been released yet. I wouldn't expect many changes from the Offaly game. Ollie Lyons took a big knock the last day so he should be the only injury concern. I would be a big bonus if Daniel Flynn could recover enough to make the bench. Paul Cribbin won't play again for Kildare this season due to injury and is a massive loss against a team as athletic and physical as Mayo.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 15, 2016, 10:27:48 AM

I'm beginning to think that would mean annoying himself.  You couldn't possibly have two separate entities coming out with this sort of sh*te.
Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2016, 10:58:36 AM
Lar the Mayo story is a soap opera. You can't help being drawn into it.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 15, 2016, 11:34:06 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 15, 2016, 10:58:36 AM
Lar the Mayo story is a soap opera. You can't help being drawn into it.
;D ;D ;D
Don't I know....!
Post by: From the Bunker on July 15, 2016, 07:18:34 PM
1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
3. Kevin Keane (Westport)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)
8. Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy)
9. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)
10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
11. Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy)
12. Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)
13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)
14. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)
15. Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, captain)
Post by: barking mad on July 15, 2016, 07:25:27 PM
Looks good on paper thought 7 point handicap extreme but if he  start with them 6 forwards ye will easily beat it.
Post by: barking mad on July 15, 2016, 07:26:10 PM
Quote from: barking mad on July 15, 2016, 07:25:27 PM
Looks good on paper thought 7 point handicap extreme but if he  starts with them 6 forwards ye will easily beat it.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 15, 2016, 07:44:05 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 15, 2016, 07:18:34 PM
1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
3. Kevin Keane (Westport)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)
8. Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy)
9. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)
10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
11. Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy)
12. Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)
13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)
14. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)
15. Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, captain)
Need more from play from the inside forward line. Our fullback line needs to buck up. Durcan needs to up it. Vaughan can't be an onlooker at midfield. Aido needs to change his attitude a bit. Other than that we're grand.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 15, 2016, 08:01:42 PM
I hope Andy Moran is starting as stated. I think he needs to be starting games and used (for want of a better term) until he runs out of stream.

The full back line is an anomaly! We are really weak in this line.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 15, 2016, 08:10:49 PM
When is Barrett back from injury?
Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2016, 08:17:55 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 15, 2016, 08:01:42 PM
I hope Andy Moran is starting as stated. I think he needs to be starting games and used (for want of a better term) until he runs out of stream.

when is Caff back?.
Are the forwards same as last year?
Post by: From the Bunker on July 15, 2016, 08:24:04 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 15, 2016, 08:17:55 PM

when is Caff back?.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/mayo-blow-as-cafferkey-set-to-miss-rest-of-the-season-34822132.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/mayo-blow-as-cafferkey-set-to-miss-rest-of-the-season-34822132.html)

Forwards are the same as last year bar Regan and Higgins (as a forward)!
Post by: From the Bunker on July 15, 2016, 08:31:51 PM
(https://scontent-frt3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13690864_1124068697667114_2463813109783588113_n.png?oh=2487c63d85eae0c95a71c558a2f4a78c&oe=57F6C053)
Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2016, 08:43:15 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 15, 2016, 08:24:04 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 15, 2016, 08:17:55 PM

when is Caff back?.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/mayo-blow-as-cafferkey-set-to-miss-rest-of-the-season-34822132.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/mayo-blow-as-cafferkey-set-to-miss-rest-of-the-season-34822132.html)

Forwards are the same as last year bar Regan and Higgins (as a forward)!
have Cashelbar no forward  that can score? Ye should be using the road less travelled to find 2 forwards.

Does COC ever contribute many scores from play? Or is he a better version of Maurice Sheridan ?
Post by: macdanger2 on July 15, 2016, 08:44:04 PM
Interesting selection with Vaughan at MF, will he drop back and AOS go to MF? Would really like to see Higgins and McLoughlin switch roles

I fancy us by 3-4 points
Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2016, 09:14:40 PM
If Mayo reach the qfs with essentially the same team as last year something is wrong
Post by: From the Bunker on July 15, 2016, 09:21:12 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 15, 2016, 08:43:15 PM
have Cashelbar no forward  that can score? Ye should be using the road less travelled to find 2 forwards.

Castlebar are/were a collection of evenly spread decent footballers. Unlike Ballintubber/Breaffy they have no outstanding stars, but they do have a decent spread of good to very good players. Ballintubber/Breaffy have more a mixture of players at both end of the scale. The AI Club championship is a hindrance to an (new) inter-county Manager. Players are not available until April. Chances to see players firstly in the FBD (where there's no pressure on results and experienced players are resting) and to a lesser extent in the National League are gone.
Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2016, 09:23:59 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 15, 2016, 09:21:12 PM

Castlebar are/were a collection of evenly spread decent footballers. Unlike Ballintubber/Breaffy they have no outstanding stars, but they do have a decent spread of good to very good players. Ballintubber/Breaffy have more a mixture of players at both end of the scale. The AI Club championship is a hindrance to an (new) inter-county Manager. Players are not available until April. Chances to see players firstly in the FBD (where there's no pressure on results and experienced players are resting) and to a lesser extent in the National League are gone.
thanks
Could they not get a forward to be a Ronan o gara in that Wales match. Someone else gets the possession and he kicks it over . They do not have enough scorers
Post by: From the Bunker on July 15, 2016, 09:30:41 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 15, 2016, 09:23:59 PM

thanks
Could they not get a forward to be a Ronan o gara in that Wales match. Someone else gets the possession and he kicks it over . They do not have enough scorers

That is the Myth! Look at our stats the last couple of years! The real issue has been elsewhere on the pitch! Rochford is trying to address this problem. But in doing so, has to do a huge amount of tinkering!
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 15, 2016, 09:34:50 PM
Kildare make 2 changes: Ciaran Fitzpatrick in for Peter Kelly who was poor before being hooked against Offaly but Fitzpatrick was the one who got most destroyed against Kerry last year and is inconsistent too.
Eoin O'Flaherty is in for Adam Tyrell, different type of player and if he plays with confidence is better. Lack a reliable left footed free taker now though.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 15, 2016, 09:40:26 PM
Are you going to the Match - Kuwabatake Sanjuro?
Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2016, 10:18:11 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 15, 2016, 09:30:41 PM

thanks

That is the Myth! Look at our stats the last couple of years! The real issue has been elsewhere on the pitch! Rochford is trying to address this problem. But in doing so, has to do a huge amount of tinkering!
-You always need a few tinkers
-Sure we have you, sylvie
Post by: Jinxy on July 15, 2016, 10:27:39 PM
The last time Kildare beat Mayo in the championship, there was a coup in Turkey the week before....
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 15, 2016, 10:31:09 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 15, 2016, 09:40:26 PM
Are you going to the Match - Kuwabatake Sanjuro?

I had a hotel booked but had to cancel due to unforeseen circumstances, never been to Castlebar so was looking forward to seeing somewhere different. Sky sports in the local will do instead.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 15, 2016, 10:37:45 PM
I'll be there. Where should we park th'oul Land Rovers?

(https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-s/07/d3/c2/24/land-rover-experience.jpg)
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 15, 2016, 10:53:16 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 15, 2016, 09:30:41 PM

thanks

Well it was a huge problem in the first Dublin game last year, Mayo missed so many chances to score points that you'd expect a county player to convert; Think there was one period in the 2nd half where Mayo hit 5 wides or dropped the ball into Cluxton in a 5 minute period.

I've always considered Mayo the most attacking top team especially under Horan, always thought he played like this to compensate for his lack of quality in the forward line in comparison to the other top teams whilst he had no such issues individually in defence.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 15, 2016, 11:20:54 PM

Does COC ever contribute many scores from play? Or is he a better version of Maurice Sheridan ?

A very big part of the reason Mayo are having a poor championship is because COC is having a poor championship.
In the three championship games Mayo have played this year he has got 1 point from play.
He is by far and away the most important player Mayo have and unless his form turns around, Mayo aren't going to be at the business end of the summer.

Post by: Dinny Breen on July 15, 2016, 11:21:18 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 15, 2016, 10:37:45 PM

(https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-s/07/d3/c2/24/land-rover-experience.jpg)

Are you bringing the 162 - I took the yacht down the south of France so missing Saturday's game. One of the staff is setting up GAAGO I think. A performance Saturday and a win Sunday would be a good weekenday.  High scoring game Mayo to win by 5 and push on to win the All-Ireland. 
Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2016, 12:26:05 AM

You'll get to taste the intimidation of a large partisan Mayo crowd at McHale Park. As my wife (Leinster woman) says, ye are pure C()nts at home!
Post by: seafoid on July 16, 2016, 07:59:24 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 15, 2016, 11:21:18 PM

Are you bringing the 162 - I took the yacht down the south of France so missing Saturday's game. One of the staff is setting up GAAGO I think. A performance Saturday and a win Sunday would be a good weekenday.  High scoring game Mayo to win by 5 and push on to win the All-Ireland.
could you not netjet it to Knock?
Post by: rikihuntar24 on July 16, 2016, 05:21:06 PM
Watch Live =>> http://sports-newshd24.com/GaaLive/

Post by: larryin89 on July 16, 2016, 05:22:57 PM
Last time i was this confident was 2010 v longford.
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2016, 06:05:36 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 16, 2016, 05:22:57 PM
Last time i was this confident was 2010 v longford.
:D ;D :D ;D
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 16, 2016, 06:59:47 PM
Stuck at home :(
Post by: Chimley on July 16, 2016, 07:08:46 PM
Diarmuid O'Connor has made some start.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 16, 2016, 07:09:26 PM
Kildare getting killed on the turn overs so far.
Post by: Jinxy on July 16, 2016, 07:24:17 PM
Sounds like a proper game so far.
Pity I don't have shagging SKY!  >:(
Post by: beer baron on July 16, 2016, 07:26:34 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 16, 2016, 07:24:17 PM
Sounds like a proper game so far.
Pity I don't have shagging SKY!  >:(

http://cricfree.tv/sky-sports-5-live-stream-5

Decent stream there if youre on a laptop
Post by: joemamas on July 16, 2016, 07:27:48 PM
Watching Sky as per usual with Paul Earley, he hates Mayo. Questioning almost every marginal call we get from the ref. should not be commentating on Mayo games
Post by: rikihuntar24 on July 16, 2016, 07:29:58 PM
Watch Live  ▶ ▶ http://sports-newshd24.com/GaaLive/

===========================

Post by: Farrandeelin on July 16, 2016, 07:31:38 PM
Where is SOS?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 16, 2016, 07:36:18 PM
Kildare are slightly open at the back.
Post by: dublin7 on July 16, 2016, 07:37:02 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 16, 2016, 07:27:48 PM
Watching Sky as per usual with Paul Earley, he hates Mayo. Questioning almost every marginal call we get from the ref. a tool should not be commentating on Mayo games
Don't know what game you are watching. Earley is a poor pundit but certainly isn't anti Mayo. Mayo have got some very handy frees. Aidan O'Shea with another dive about 35m to try and win a free but ref didn't buy it.

Kildare don't have a defence worthy of the name. Defenders allow Diarmuid O'Connor to walk through to score a goal with comedy defending you woudn't see in junior football.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 16, 2016, 07:40:35 PM
Good finish to the half. Nerves settled with that flurry of scores.
Post by: joemamas on July 16, 2016, 07:41:16 PM
That is a general statement have heard him multiple times over the years.
For what it's worth I think he is one of the better pundits on TV
Post by: Chimley on July 16, 2016, 07:42:15 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 16, 2016, 07:37:02 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 16, 2016, 07:27:48 PM
Watching Sky as per usual with Paul Earley, he hates Mayo. Questioning almost every marginal call we get from the ref. a tool should not be commentating on Mayo games
Don't know what game you are watching. Earley is a poor pundit but certainly isn't anti Mayo. Mayo have got some very handy frees. Aidan O'Shea with another dive about 35m to try and win a free but ref didn't buy it.

Kildare don't have a defence worthy of the name. Defenders allow Diarmuid O'Connor to walk through to score a goal with comedy defending you woudn't see in junior football.

Ah in fairness, he did well to score that. If that was O'Donaghue or Kilkenny, everyone would be raving about it.
Post by: joemamas on July 16, 2016, 07:43:07 PM
Not sure how Kildare player who drew boot on DOC is still on field.
Lucky his leg is not broken, ref ticked him 😳
Post by: maigheo on July 16, 2016, 07:43:20 PM
By my account Kildare have won the kick outs 15 to 9 and still trail by 10 points.Mayos tackling is the difference in the first half.By the way Paul Early is not anti Mayo
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2016, 07:44:42 PM
That's an eleven point wind I reckon.

All to play for.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 16, 2016, 07:45:34 PM
Kildare had got themselves back into the game only to be let down by very loose defending. Game over after that second goal. SKY should have shown the Derry Cavan game instead.
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2016, 07:46:20 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 16, 2016, 07:41:16 PM
That is a general statement have heard him multiple times over the years.
For what it's worth I think he is one of the better pundits on TV

Really?? He's brutal IMO. On the game, Mayo looking decent and should win handy enough from here. Still have a few issues though - forwards not really taking their opportunities bar DOC and Kildare have had joy at both midfield and in their forwards.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2016, 07:49:08 PM
Need to call on our inner Westmeath here....
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2016, 08:06:25 PM
Mayo getting cleaned at midfield which must be a concern.
Post by: joemamas on July 16, 2016, 08:07:54 PM
Agreed
Plus Donal Vaughan greeting rounded way too easily
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 16, 2016, 08:12:44 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 16, 2016, 08:06:25 PM
If Kildare were any good, the defence would be under serious pressure.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 16, 2016, 08:35:15 PM
All subs making an impact. Still standing anyway. That's the main thing. Defence very good. As we're forwards indeed. COC seems very slow. Losing midfield is worrying for the future.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2016, 08:37:42 PM
At least we won the second half.
Post by: Mclf on July 16, 2016, 08:38:34 PM
Game 1 of 2 in castlebar this weekend was successful for Syferus, he and the other mayo heads must be happy with that result
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 16, 2016, 08:40:32 PM
Hope Keane isn't injured badly. Losing 2 fullbacks would be a hoor.
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2016, 08:43:35 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 16, 2016, 08:12:44 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 16, 2016, 08:06:25 PM
If Kildare were any good, the defence would be under serious pressure.

I thought the defence were leaking water and a better forward line or a one with a bit more luck would have got one or two goals. Forwards were poor IMO, with only DOC and Moran entitled to be happy. Regan was only ok despite his scores and McLoughlin played as a defender in the main while the rest were non-descript in the main.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2016, 08:47:48 PM
Mayo were more clinical, defensively very good but were destroyed at midfield when went long uncomfortable when going short. Architects of our own downfall with some stupid decisions in that 10 mins before half-time, goals win games perhaps if we took one of our goal chances it might have affected the game dynamic but I doubt it.

Saw some green shoots around our game plan, a lot more flexible and seem to suit us, just need to work on getting Niall Kelly on the ball more and Paul Cribben and Daniel Flynn would make a big difference to that type of game.

Anyway postmortems of Kildare's season can wait but well done Fionn Dowling, gets a lot of stick from Kildare fans but if Cian can get that kind of performance from Fionn it augers well for his man-management skils.

Well done Mayo, a lot of work to do but just keep winning and momentum will carry you far.

Post by: AZOffaly on July 16, 2016, 08:48:41 PM
Mayo seemed quite narky tonight. I haven't seen them much this year, is that a new development? Are they trying to become more 'streetwise'?
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 16, 2016, 08:57:08 PM
At least they didn't give up like last year. Some small positives to be taken from it but Mayo will need to improve to challenge for an AI. Fionn Dowling has always had ability only he has frozen on numerous occasions.  I don't like criticising individuals but Ciaran Fitzpatrick should never play for Kildare again. Cian O'Neill, Brennan and Murphy are at fault for selecting him and taking a look at the Kerry and Dublin games last year they should have known what to expect. Hopefully Paul Mescal commits next year.
Hyland's stupid shoving of CO'C was a turning point too.

O'Neill should get another season but needs to learn from mistakes as there is potential there. There needs to be 5 or 6 new players brought through to supplement the (u-21) class of 2013 though. Brophy and Hurley returning would be helpful too.

Mayo I can see improving but they need to, I was shocked to see Kildare clean them out at midfield for large sections of the game.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 16, 2016, 08:57:15 PM
A fairly routine win for Mayo where the contest was won by half time. After getting a trimming off Dublin tomorrow I expect Mayo to draw Westmeath in round 4.

Kildare so poor defensively they didn't learn much from their heavy defeats to Dublin,Kerry from last year.
Post by: muppet on July 16, 2016, 09:07:25 PM
A few obvious positives.

One massive negative. If Robbie Hennelly played tonight there are a plethora of people would have been calling for his head. It will be interesting to see what they say after that game. In slight mitigation, Donie Vaughan contributed very little as an orthodox midfielder. When you see substitutions such as Barry Moran for Boyle and Jason Doherty for Harrison, then you know positions mean absolutely nothing. But the return on our kickouts was probably the worst I've seen in a decade. Kildare obviously deserve credit for their efforts in this regard, but we would be slaughtered in, say, an AISF or AIF if we did what we did today.

We seemed to have a line somewhere between midfield and hf that consisted of COC, Keith Higgins and Paddy Durkan. I don't really understand that but, maybe I am just an old fart these days.

Back to some positives. DOC was awesome. Regan is getting to grips with senior IC football and Boyler was back to his best. AOS, Keegan, Andy were also good and Durkan put his poor performance last week behind him. However it looks as if Rochford is going to persist with swapping Higgins and McLoughlin and I think this is bad for both of them.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 16, 2016, 09:12:56 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 16, 2016, 09:07:25 PM
A few obvious positives.

One massive negative. If Robbie Hennelly played tonight there are a plethora of people would have been calling for his head. It will be interesting to see what they say after that game. In slight mitigation, Donie Vaughan contributed very little as an orthodox midfielder. When you see substitutions such as Barry Moran for Boyle and Jason Doherty for Harrison, then you know positions mean absolutely nothing. But the return on our kickouts was probably the worst I've seen in a decade. Kildare obviously deserve credit for their efforts in this regard, but we would be slaughtered in, say, an AISF or AIF if we did what we did today.

We seemed to have a line somewhere between midfield and hf that consisted of COC, Keith Higgins and Paddy Durkan. I don't really understand that but, maybe I am just an old fart these days.

Back to some positives. DOC was awesome. Regan is getting to grips with senior IC football and Boyler was back to his best. AOS, Keegan, Andy were also good and Durkan put his poor performance last week behind him. However it looks as if Rochford is going to persist with swapping Higgins and McLoughlin and I think this is bad for both of them.

I wouldn't be too optimistic on Regan, I've seen a near 40 year old intermediate club player roast the player who was marking him today.
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2016, 09:14:48 PM
Thought Regan looked like he might be like a few previous Mayo forwards, decent to good against average teams but won't cut it at the highest level. However, Moran very good as a target man and DOC is a Rolls Royce footballer, he'll be one of the top footballers in the country very soon, if he isn't already. Mayo are still better than most but they'd need an awful lot to go right to beat Dublin. Still in it and will be the nightmare draw for everyone else.
Post by: rrhf on July 16, 2016, 09:20:51 PM
Mayo impressed me tonight. They'll give anyone a game.  Certainly in the top 3 for Sam
Post by: Chimley on July 16, 2016, 09:29:40 PM
Fair play to Kildare. They came prepared to fight and although things went against them at crucial times, they never gave up and cleaned us out at midfield.

Mayo are still spluttering a bit and have not put in a good full 70 minutes this year. It looks like we may be down two full backs now if Keane has hurt his shoulder. AOS might even be pressed into service there again if that's the case. It might improve our defence of the high ball at least.

DOC is improving at a scary rate over the past year. He could drag us a long way if he stays fit.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 16, 2016, 09:51:11 PM
Thought Andy was excellent, made good runs, made the ball stick and passed it off well. Could do with adding a few scores though.

DOC was brilliant, we need him to stay fit and playing like that if we're to go anywhere

We were brutal at winning primary and secondary ball at midfield. I know he didn't make much of a difference when he came on but surely Barry should have been brought on sooner esp when we had to move AOS back.

Boyle was very good, Keegan and Durcan too.

Higgins and McLoughlin have to switch positions, both being under utilised.

Regan took his scores well but missed a couple. He'll need to improve further and hopefully he will. A bigger pitch should suit him.

Cillian is still not 100%, need him to improve

Keane going off is worrying, we're f*cked if he's out long term.

Good to have a lot to work on after a 9 pt win, hope we get the Ulster losers in the draw.
Post by: heffo on July 16, 2016, 10:06:22 PM
Think Mayo are back in the mix. A handy next game with  step up for the quarters will put them in good stead.

Whether they have the scoring power to make the difference in a tight game against the top trams is another question for another day.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2016, 10:25:29 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 16, 2016, 10:06:22 PM
Think Mayo are back in the mix. A handy next game with  step up for the quarters will put them in good stead.

Whether they have the scoring power to make the difference in a tight game against the top trams is another question for another day.

Think the Luas might be too much for them personally too much strike power.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2016, 10:30:59 PM
Firstly fair play to Kildare. The easiest thing to do was lie down after half time. They completely dominated Midfield and if they had scored an early goal in the second half we'd have been in a lot of bother. Just conceding points kept Kildare at arms length. Doc naturally our best player. Serious engine. I was delighted to see Andy starting. This has to be continued. The super-sub thing with 15 minutes to go has not been working. With him being replaced by Dillon, we get 70 minutes out of two good footballers, instead of two substitutions for the last 15, which can unnerve the starting forwards. Anyway, One thing with Rochford, you can have any player ending up playing in any position. He does not pigeon hole players - that's for sure! We'll end up like the Dutch soccer side from the 70's with total football. The qualifiers are probably what we needed this year. We learn more and more each week about our ups and our downs. I heard Parsons was 80% for this game, good to see management chance it without him. It was worth the chance even if we took a right pasting at midfield. Regan still on the upward curve, today was one of his easier assignments. He done ok! Boyler and Lee are some animals. Higgins looked shagged near the end and was caught. Vaughan and Cillian look a bit off the pace yet. Hopefully that will improve. Clarke is excellent under the high ball. Not as assured with kick-outs. McEntee was busy running around trying to cool down Mayo players that might go over the edge and do some thing silly. On at least 4 occasions he ran out to switch players away from trouble. Referee it seems watched the Sunday game last weekend. He was terrified of giving a penalty. Boyle took a Black for the team. As much of a cheat as Aido last week he stopped a player getting a definite Goal. There will be no headlines. No backlash on social media. Why because he is a back. And backs are allowed to cheat. It's a given.

So now Tyrone/Donegal/Westmeath/(and a very big maybe) Dublin await in the next round. I've heard pundits say that the Ulster losers would be a better draw than Westmeath (if they lose to Dublin). Because there will be big disappointment in losing an Ulster final and it would be hard to get back on the horse for a qualifier. Unlike Westmeath who are already (subliminally) getting ready for the qualifiers?
Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2016, 10:31:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 16, 2016, 08:48:41 PM
Mayo seemed quite narky tonight. I haven't seen them much this year, is that a new development? Are they trying to become more 'streetwise'?

The Kerry Mole has started it already!  :P
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2016, 10:47:05 PM
FtB, disagree entirely about Boyle. His black card was disgraceful but there is a penalty for it now so it's not going to be commented on too much. As a supporter of the black card it's clear that it isn't sever enough. Boyle is a gem of  footballer but it's a real shame you can do what he did without a genuine punishment.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 16, 2016, 11:01:51 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 16, 2016, 10:30:59 PM
Firstly fair play to Kildare. The easiest thing to do was lie down after half time. They completely dominated Midfield and if they had scored an early goal in the second half we'd have been in a lot of bother. Just conceding points kept Kildare at arms length. Doc naturally our best player. Serious engine. I was delighted to see Andy starting. This has to be continued. The super-sub thing with 15 minutes to go has not been working. With him being replaced by Dillon, we get 70 minutes out of two good footballers, instead of two substitutions for the last 15, which can unnerve the starting forwards. Anyway, One thing with Rochford, you can have any player ending up playing in any position. He does not pigeon hole players - that's for sure! We'll end up like the Dutch soccer side from the 70's with total football. The qualifiers are probably what we needed this year. We learn more and more each week about our ups and our downs. I heard Parsons was 80% for this game, good to see management chance it without him. It was worth the chance even if we took a right pasting at midfield. Regan still on the upward curve, today was one of his easier assignments. He done ok! Boyler and Lee are some animals. Higgins looked shagged near the end and was caught. Vaughan and Cillian look a bit off the pace yet. Hopefully that will improve. Clarke is excellent under the high ball. Not as assured with kick-outs. McEntee was busy running around trying to cool down Mayo players that might go over the edge and do some thing silly. On at least 4 occasions he ran out to switch players away from trouble. Referee it seems watched the Sunday game last weekend. He was terrified of giving a penalty. Boyle took a Black for the team. As much of a cheat as Aido last week he stopped a player getting a definite Goal. There will be no headlines. No backlash on social media. Why because he is a back. And backs are allowed to cheat. It's a given.

So now Tyrone/Donegal/Westmeath/(and a very big maybe) Dublin await in the next round. I've heard pundits say that the Ulster losers would be a better draw than Westmeath (if they lose to Dublin). Because there will be big disappointment in losing an Ulster final and it would be hard to get back on the horse for a qualifier. Unlike Westmeath who are already (subliminally) getting ready for the qualifiers?
Imagine poor Marty Morrissey trying to keep up with Aidan O'Shea, who was playing at full back, despite wearing number 11 on his back... ::)
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 16, 2016, 11:13:02 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 16, 2016, 10:30:59 PM
Boyle took a Black for the team. As much of a cheat as Aido last week he stopped a player getting a definite Goal. There will be no headlines. No backlash on social media. Why because he is a back. And backs are allowed to cheat. It's a given.
Are you trying to compare the two? O Shea dived for the penalty when the game in the balance and when Fermanagh were leading. Boyle took a black card for the team when Mayo were leading by ten points and the contest was already won.
Post by: highorlow on July 16, 2016, 11:17:38 PM
Boyle panicked and for some reason instinctively thought we could let a 10 point lead slip.
Post by: Zulu on July 16, 2016, 11:31:46 PM
No he didn't, it was a very calculated act from a player that knew replacing him with fresh legs was no penalty for saving a potential goal. Unfortunately the black card has proven to be a failure but only because the cynicism of our players is worse than we could imagine.
Post by: highorlow on July 16, 2016, 11:38:01 PM
Zulu we are both wrong. I watched the replay again, in fact we had moth issues tonight in mchale, a moth unbalanced him.
Post by: muppet on July 16, 2016, 11:38:18 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2016, 10:25:29 PM

I think this was a comet of a post.

Waaayyy over everyone's heads.  :D :D
Post by: highorlow on July 16, 2016, 11:42:18 PM
ya, I think he means top tramps. Take your pick?

Runs . .  .
Post by: PW Nally on July 17, 2016, 03:00:41 AM
Quote from: muppet on July 16, 2016, 11:38:18 PM

Absolutely, only you got it. Congratulations!
Post by: muppet on July 17, 2016, 05:55:20 AM
Quote from: PW Nally on July 17, 2016, 03:00:41 AM
Quote from: muppet on July 16, 2016, 11:38:18 PM

Absolutely, only you got it. Congratulations!

This post isn't very punny at all.  :D
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2016, 06:04:05 AM
Mayo should be working on the Dublin plans. The Rochford files.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 17, 2016, 10:13:30 AM
Glad to have won but not optimistic about the future....
The tendency to lift the foot of the pedal when totally in charge has now become a habit and not an occasional lapse.
This collective loss of concentration at crucial stages of the game has been there since James Horan took over but things are going from bad to worse.

Against Galway, Mayo, after an indifferent start, took firm control of proceedings in the second quarter. Going in at half time , you could tell by the body language of the heron chokers that they were expecting the inevitable. But a Galeway goal after a bad kick out and slack defending saw Mayo go completely off the boil.
Ditto against Fermanagh when the visitors got a string of unanswered points and the outlook was not great at the half way mark.

Yesterday saw the same thing all over again.
What's the odds that they will all nod of to sleep against who ever comes up against us? Luck ran out against Galway and neither Fermanagh nor Kildare had the firepower to finish Mayo off when they had control of proceedings.
It could well be a case of the higher you go, the tougher it gets and I wouldn't fancy either Donegal or Tyrone in the next game.

Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2016, 10:20:19 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 17, 2016, 10:13:30 AM
The tendency to lift the foot of the pedal when totally in charge has now become a habit and not an occasional lapse.
This collective loss of concentration at crucial stages of the game has been there since James Horan took over but things are going from bad to worse.

Against Galway, Mayo, after an indifferent start, took firm control of proceedings in the second quarter. Going in at half time , you could tell by the body language of the heron chokers that they were expecting the inevitable. But a Galeway goal after a bad kick out and slack defending saw Mayo go completely off the boil.
Ditto against Fermanagh when the visitors got a string of unanswered points and the outlook was not great at the half way mark.

What's the odds that they will all nod of to sleep against who ever comes up against us? Luck ran out against Galway and neither Fermanagh nor Kildare had the firepower to finish Mayo off when they had control of proceedings.
It could well be a case of the higher you go, the tougher it gets and I wouldn't fancy either Donegal or Tyrone in the next game.
Intinsity is fixable. The thing for Mayo is scoring from possession in the last 5 minutes
Post by: Chimley on July 17, 2016, 10:28:30 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 17, 2016, 10:20:19 AM
Intinsity is fixable.
Yes it's Intensity
Post by: ballinaman on July 17, 2016, 10:41:26 AM
What's story with the next fixture? Next weekend or the bank holiday weekend.
Aidan O Shea in full back? Coen? If Keane had a reoccurrence of his AC joint injury, big problem at full back.
Post by: Rossfan on July 17, 2016, 10:54:28 AM
Round 4B is 30th July I believe.
3A was a week behind schedule.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 17, 2016, 11:10:21 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 17, 2016, 10:41:26 AM

Can be any of three days - Saturday, July 30, 2016 to Monday, August 01, 2016
Post by: ballinaman on July 17, 2016, 11:12:52 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 17, 2016, 11:10:21 AM

Grandest....couple of weeks eases the pressure so.
Looking at the permutations....drawing Westmeath will be key....losers of Ulster would mean going through Dublin in 1/4s and Kerry in semi final ...
Post by: giveballaghback on July 17, 2016, 11:32:29 AM
Ye have yere share of handy (home) draws got, luck runs out here id say.
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2016, 11:37:26 AM
Quote from: Chimley on July 17, 2016, 10:28:30 AM
Intinsity is fixable.
Yes it's Intensity
Not in Mayo or Galway
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 17, 2016, 11:43:33 AM
DOC has turned into some player, heard many a Mayo man question what he was doing in the team after the league campaign in 2015 even I wasn't sure after seeing a couple of league games last year. He's certainly eclipsing his older brother who looks desperately short of match sharpness although he's had a lot of serious injuries for someone so young.
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2016, 12:07:10 PM
Colm O Rourke in the Sindo sez Mayo are a busted flush. Dressing room material like what do you think of that Joe Brolly.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 17, 2016, 12:23:53 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 17, 2016, 11:12:52 AM

Looking at the permutations....drawing Westmeath will be key....losers of Ulster would mean going through Dublin in 1/4s and Kerry in semi final ...
Kerry are in opposite side. Donegal, Tyrone and Dublin all in our side. Can't see us getting past quarters at most. That's if we do get WH.
Post by: Jinxy on July 17, 2016, 12:30:56 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 17, 2016, 11:12:52 AM

That's when you want to play them.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 17, 2016, 12:34:13 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 17, 2016, 11:43:33 AM
DOC has turned into some player, heard many a Mayo man question what he was doing in the team after the league campaign in 2015 even I wasn't sure after seeing a couple of league games last year. He's certainly eclipsing his older brother who looks desperately short of match sharpness although he's had a lot of serious injuries for someone so young.

He is a class act alright but he had nobody marking him in the first half last night. I think it was Emmet Bolton who was supposed to be on him but the only time I seen the two of them together was when Bolton swung the boot at him for the goal which he waslucky not to be sent off for.
Sad to think that could be his last act in a Kildare jersey as he was a great servant to Kildare football down the years but his legs have gone.
Keith Cribben did better on DO'C in the second half but unfortunately looked to be badly injured again, with a bit of luck it is only a pulled/slightly torn hamstring as he has had a terrible time with injuries.
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2016, 01:25:38 PM
2 Munster One Connacht one Ulster team left standing in the qualifiers after round 3. Leinster finalists Westmeath are D3. Has Leinster football ever been this bad?
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 17, 2016, 01:34:47 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 17, 2016, 10:13:30 AM

Intinsity is fixable. The thing for Mayo is scoring from possession in the last 5 minutes
If it's fixable, why hasn't it been fixed long ago?

It's been a problem since the departure of Deppity John. It was there during his reign too but it usually happened when the ref threw in the ball and only ended when he blew the final whistle. 
Scoring freely when the result is not in doubt is no big deal. Scoring  ditto when the opposition is taking the fight to you and the result is in very much doubt is quite another matter.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 17, 2016, 02:11:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 17, 2016, 12:07:10 PM
Colm O Rourke in the Sindo sez Mayo are a busted flush. Dressing room material like what do you think of that Joe Brolly.

What did he have to say about Galway? Was he impressed with their performance last weekend?
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2016, 02:24:34 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 17, 2016, 02:11:11 PM

What did he have to say about Galway? Was he impressed with their performance last weekend?
I think he is still fighting 2001
Post by: From the Bunker on July 17, 2016, 02:31:01 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 17, 2016, 02:24:34 PM

Ah, Colm likes ye fancy dans. He's never picked Mayo to win a Mayo/Galway championship game. If you think he has a problem with Galway, you should listen to his sub-text comments about Mayo. Not that you'd know anything about sub-text comments about Mayo, Seafoid! :P
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2016, 03:22:06 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 17, 2016, 02:31:01 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 17, 2016, 02:24:34 PM

Ah, Colm likes ye fancy dans. He's never picked Mayo to win a Mayo/Galway championship game. If you think he has a problem with Galway, you should listen to his sub-text comments about Mayo. Not that you'd know anything about sub-text comments about Mayo, Seafoid! :P
I hate patronising shite about Connacht sport. That is why the pro 12 result was so good.
Mind you Meath has become a diol trua , an object of pity, recently. None of the Meath gods could stop it 
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 17, 2016, 03:29:49 PM
Where did he say that?
Not in my Sindo he doesn't.
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2016, 04:24:28 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 17, 2016, 03:29:49 PM
Where did he say that?
Not in my Sindo he doesn't.
"if....then Mayo have run their course."

He also said Flynn 's goal was a result of a TYPICAL Mayo c**k up.

Very provocative stuff there. Coming from a man from a county whose last win in the championship was in 2014
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 17, 2016, 06:58:41 PM
Problem is that I have to agree with him.
Mayo leak goals at just about every opportunity. Talk about shooting oneself in the foot. Flynn's score was one of those c**k ups.
Michael Murphy's goal in the 2012 final and McFadden's as well; Bernard Brogan's when Mayo were flying in the '13 final; Donaghy's toe poke in the semi replay in Limerick; the list is a long and painful one.
It's a great pity that Mayo doesn't seem to be either willing or able to curb negative tendencies.  They would be a truly awesome side if they tightened ukp in a few areas.