GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: From the Bunker on July 03, 2017, 09:19:03 AM

Title: Clare v Mayo Round 3A Qualifier
Post by: From the Bunker on July 03, 2017, 09:19:03 AM
From a distance looks a decent draw. But Clare were the only team on this side of the draw to impress in the last round. Also away in Ennis will be no fun. This was/is always going to be the toughest fixture with the short turnaround.
Title: Re: Clare v Mayo Round 3A Qualifier
Post by: OgraAnDun on July 03, 2017, 09:20:11 AM
Unless Mayo improve a lot, Clare will give them their fill of it.
Post by: Halfquarter on July 03, 2017, 09:25:09 AM
Mayo are better off getting out of McHale Park, ir doesn't seem too suit them theses days.
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2017, 09:55:15 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 03, 2017, 09:19:03 AM
From a distance looks a decent draw. But Clare were the only team on this side of the draw to impress in the last round. Also away in Ennis will be no fun. This was/is always going to be the toughest fixture with the short turnaround.

Donegal or Meath away would have been tougher.
Post by: cornetto on July 03, 2017, 10:06:28 AM
Clare do perform in the qualifiers in fairness,but would expect mayo to advance.Lee Keegan would be a big loss but with
A o shea back in form,hard to see a shock from Clare.
I think meath will beat donegal,the league was donegals c/ship.
Post by: seafoid on July 03, 2017, 10:19:08 AM
Mayo will need to have scoring forwards to beat Clare.
Meath remind me of someone who has just left hospital. I don't think they are robust enough to deal with Donegal.
Post by: galwayman on July 03, 2017, 10:20:11 AM
Clare are still a better draw than Meath or Donegal away.
Post by: tippabu on July 03, 2017, 10:24:35 AM
Quote from: galwayman on July 03, 2017, 10:20:11 AM
Clare are still a better draw than Meath or Donegal away.

I dunno, dont think theres much between meath and clare, meath are like cork and get shown too much respect because they are a big name and their past success, neither team have done anything recently to warrant it (a win next weekend for meath would change that)
Post by: rosnarun on July 03, 2017, 10:30:48 AM
i hate enns must be the worst county ground in the country.
and the town seems to be booked out for the night already .
As for the Match it has tricky Tie written all over it. a no win for mayo lose its seen as a disgrace and win sure it was 'only clare'. Id be very wary
Post by: seafoid on July 03, 2017, 10:34:18 AM
Clare beat Down and Cork in D2 this year. They are fairly solid. Mayo are going to have to work.
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2017, 10:38:26 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 03, 2017, 10:30:48 AM
As for the Match it has tricky Tie written all over it. a no win for mayo lose its seen as a disgrace and win sure it was 'only clare'. Id be very wary

Cusack Park is a field of dreams. Saying it's worse than Salthill for a game is an insult.

I expect this one will be more straight forward than the Derry game for Mayo.
Post by: Ballaghman on July 03, 2017, 10:49:16 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 03, 2017, 10:38:26 AM

Cusack Park is a field of dreams. Saying it's worse than Salthill for a game is an insult.

I expect this one will be more straight forward than the Derry game for Mayo.
Have to agree Syf. Ennis is way ahead of Salthill. Also last years U21 and the 2006 one makes it one of my favourite venues......even if it's awkward to get in and out of.
This is a tough draw though, Clare have something Meath and Donegal don't have, momentum and belief in a style of play. Collins has them absolutely flying it. I expect a serious battle the next day. I if we're off form like we were against Derry then Clare will smell blood and go for us. I think we'll win but we don't do handy ones anymore so I'd expect it to be tight.
Although Loftus and Doc were very good the last day, I'd hold the two of them in reserve for now. We need an impact off the bench and the two boys give that. Definitely in the case of Loftus, he's still a bit light and I think bringing him in when the game has opened up suits him better. The other argument is to not start Andy and bring him on. Either way we need a strong 15 to finish the game. I'd expect Diarmaid to start the next day so one of the 'workhorses' may lose out.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 03, 2017, 11:17:14 AM
Mayo probably better off away from MacHale park lost to Cavan,Monaghan there already this year less than convincing for 70 mins against Derry while away from home Mayo have beaten Tyrone and Kerry. Ennis is also a happy hunting ground for Mayo with many of the current panel winning U21 All Ireland medals there.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 03, 2017, 12:05:21 PM
Two great wins in Ennis for Mayo, I'll always like the place and from what I remember not too bad a spot to get in and out of, coming back through Claregalway was a nightmare

I'd have much preferred Meath, they are red rotten useless at the minute
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 03, 2017, 12:19:21 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 03, 2017, 12:05:21 PM
I'd have much preferred Meath, they are red rotten useless at the minute
Only because of Carew Sligo somehow found a way to lose to Meath.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 03, 2017, 01:30:56 PM

It's a terrible ground. The terraces are literally crumbling under your feet. At least it's a short walk from the pubs.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 03, 2017, 01:32:00 PM
They did a lot of work on it there last year....
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 03, 2017, 01:34:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 03, 2017, 01:32:00 PM

Been a couple of years alright since I was there for a hurling match. I wondered how it even passed health and safety at the time.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 03, 2017, 01:39:42 PM
Will Clare stick Brennan on O'Shea? That will be a good battle.
Post by: shark on July 03, 2017, 01:47:33 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 03, 2017, 01:39:42 PM
Will Clare stick Brennan on O'Shea? That will be a good battle.

It would surely be the other way around. Brennan will be midfield no matter who Mayo have there. O'Shea may or may not be, as we have seen in the past. Brennan's midfield partner O'Connor is a fine player too. It will indeed be a good battle, and one that Clare will have to win if they are to come out on top. They have the ability to run up a high score, but they are used to winning midfield (even against Kerry). It may be hard for them against Mayo who have many options there.
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 03, 2017, 02:33:01 PM
I can't see what all the fuss is over Ennis. It's a fine big pitch which will suit Mayo if they revert to a fast running and passing game. As stated elsewhere it is also the ground in which many of the Mayo squad won All Ireland medals. Provided the lessons are learned from the games against Galway and Derry I think we will progress.
We started the last day with five half backs, Durcan, Keegan, Boyle, Coen and Vaughan. Given that neither Boland  or Aidan O Shea are prolific scorers it puts fierce pressure on Andy, Cillian and McLoughlinn to do the finishing. I'm not convinced about Coen. He made himself free to receive kick outs in the first half particularly and his distribution was okay but he is over-cautious when moving into attack. His best games for us were played from CHB ( replacing Keegan on Connolly after the dismissal) and in U21 final.
While Keegan seems okay to play, Harrison could be in doubt with a recurrence of the old injury, so perhaps the same full back line as started against Galway. I would like to see Keegan back on the wing with Boyle on the other .. which leaves Coen/Vaughan at centre back. Diarmuid O Connor and Doc/McLoughlinn on the wings with AOS in centre, Cillian at FF( where he did the most damage with lay offs) with Andy and Loftus/Doc/McLoughlinn in the corners. Parsons to be partnerred by Seamie with Kirby in reserve.The temptation to play AOS at midfield will be great but I feel he does better when given the freedom to roam from centre forward.
Intertesting day for Ballyhaunis man Eoghan Collins who declared for Clare under the "grandfather rule" this year. A cousin of Paudge and Sean he has hurled for Mayo and started in one or two FBD games.
Post by: Taylor on July 03, 2017, 02:45:25 PM
Game is live on RTE on Saturday with Kilkenny v Waterford on Sky after it
Post by: highorlow on July 03, 2017, 03:06:03 PM
QuoteIt's a fine big pitch

Is it?

The last time we played a championship game there it was against Tipp. We were nearly beaten.
Post by: WT4E on July 03, 2017, 03:07:29 PM
Quote from: Taylor on July 03, 2017, 02:45:25 PM

Great - Another 70 mins of AOS diving round the place winning handy frees for COC to knock over.

zzz
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2017, 03:10:09 PM

The Mayo lads must produce a rating spike only bettered by Dublin such is the frequency their games get chosen as the live game..
Post by: rosnarun on July 03, 2017, 03:14:23 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 03, 2017, 03:06:03 PM
QuoteIt's a fine big pitch

Is it?

The last time we played a championship game there it was against Tipp. We were nearly beaten.

im sure it was grand ground in the 70's or whenever it was painted last . reminds me of tuam if you were 1st in the ground you would not be sure of a good view of the game.
i've worries about the pitch or the mach  more my own and mayo fans comfort. like the town a Dump
Post by: rosnarun on July 03, 2017, 03:15:19 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 03, 2017, 03:10:09 PM

The Mayo lads must produce a rating spike only bettered by Dublin such is the frequency their games get chosen as the live game..

and always give good value
Post by: highorlow on July 03, 2017, 03:16:32 PM
You're correct. Its a big field. I measured it there. In fact McHale is small in comparison.

I said coming out of the game the last day that we need to have an away match anyhow. It's as if the lads are under too much pressure at home. It will be interesting to see how we on.

Clare fairly tore Roscommon apart last year.

Quotelike the town a Dump

I don't know what part of Ennis you were in but the town centre and general pubs and atmosphere in the town is great.
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2017, 03:23:33 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 03, 2017, 03:16:32 PM
You're correct. Its a big field. I measured it there. In fact McHale is small in comparison.

I said coming out of the game the last day that we need to have an away match anyhow. It's as if the lads are under too much pressure at home. It will be interesting to see how we on.

I don't know what part of Ennis you were in but the town centre and general pubs and atmosphere in the town is great.

TBH we were a beaten docket that night and Clare had so many chances to finish us off fast but couldn't find the skill to actually do it. It was only late on that Clare put gloss on the game after Podge cheated Mulhooly out of the game with a scummy dive.

Most D2 or even good D3 teams would have beaten us off the field that night. Honestly wasn't impressed by Clare. Brennan is some operator but that was really all there was. Definitely not as good as Derry but they are at home.
Post by: shark on July 03, 2017, 03:29:58 PM

Agree. I like Ennis.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 03, 2017, 04:31:23 PM

Yeah, a Roscommon team who had six days to recover from a hiding from Galway. Their reward for drawing with Galway the first day! As we seen from the weekend with Mayo it was hard to get your head right 3 weeks after a defeat. A Provincial final loss for Roscommon would have hurt a lot more.

Post by: Rossfan on July 03, 2017, 04:55:47 PM
We were in a bad place in late July 2016.
Post by: ballinaman on July 03, 2017, 05:45:29 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 03, 2017, 04:55:47 PM
We were in a bad place in late July 2016.
Salthill on a wet day
Post by: Blowitupref on July 03, 2017, 06:04:34 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 03, 2017, 04:31:23 PM

Yeah, a Roscommon team who had six days to recover from a hiding from Galway. Their reward for drawing with Galway the first day! As we seen from the weekend with Mayo it was hard to get your head right 3 weeks after a defeat. A Provincial final loss for Roscommon would have hurt a lot more.

Was clear early on that Roscommon didn't want to know about a qualifier game so soon after losing a provincial final while the Mayo will be fully focus on winning this game and getting back to Croke Park.

Kerry with 14 men for all of the 2nd half outscored and beat Clare by 6 points in Ennis a few weeks ago. In the final NFL game where both had something to play for Meath beat Clare by 12 points in Ennis in April. Clare are conceding on average 1-14 per game this year. While Mayo only conceded 0-15 v Galway and 1-13 in 90 mins v Derry. All known logic points to a Mayo win and probably a more comfortably win than the one against Derry.
Post by: Mano on July 03, 2017, 06:20:48 PM
Paddy Power have Clare at 4/1 and handicap is +5. Given Mayo's awful performance yesterday and injury to Keegan and suspension for Durcan +5 is a great bet.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 03, 2017, 06:32:14 PM
We're none the wiser about Mayo after last weekend, I think they'll keep plodding away until whenever they meet Kerry whether thats a quarter final or semi final. If Galway beat Roscommon this weekend it would be a quarter final and its hard to make a case for this Mayo team beating Kerry when it would be Mayo's 4 game in 5 weekends.

In fairness I thought the same last year and looked what happened although Tyrone's forward line has nowhere near the talent of Kerry.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 03, 2017, 07:12:24 PM
It is the toughest possible draw for Mayo given how poor Donegal and Meath have become, Clare are very fit, well organised, have a great midfield and possess a very good running game. Their weaknesses from what I have seen of them is that they are only average defensively and lack a bit of real quality up front.
If Mayo play below par they will be in trouble.
Post by: shark on July 03, 2017, 07:20:06 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 03, 2017, 07:12:24 PM
It is the toughest possible draw for Mayo given how poor Donegal and Meath have become, Clare are very fit, well organised, have a great midfield and possess a very good running game. Their weaknesses from what I have seen of them is that they are only average defensively and lack a bit of real quality up front.

Agreed that Clare are not fantastic at the back, but they do have real quality up front. Cleary and Tubridy are very dangerous. Cleary won't miss much from placed balls either.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 03, 2017, 07:30:38 PM
Quote from: shark on July 03, 2017, 07:20:06 PM

Agreed that Clare are not fantastic at the back, but they do have real quality up front. Cleary and Tubridy are very dangerous. Cleary won't miss much from placed balls either.

I'm not saying they are bad up front, they are a handful and they work well as a unit but they are not top top players if you get what I'm saying. Eoin Cleary is the pick of them alright though and Keelan Sexton caused a lot Kildare trouble back last year.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 03, 2017, 08:25:53 PM
Quote from: shark on July 03, 2017, 07:20:06 PM

Kealan Sexton is dangerous too. Clare can score alright.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 03, 2017, 08:41:27 PM
Clare should have beaten Kildare in the League this year and could have beaten Kerry but Clare couldn't get over the psychological demons. They work on a lot on scoring goals and in particular the decision making process. Will be an interesting game and Mayo on the road might focus them a bit better. I like Eoin Cleary too defensively though they can be open.

What's the handicap I would fancy Clare +4?
Post by: FermGael on July 03, 2017, 09:17:32 PM
Clare are a good side.
Well drilled and a step up from Derry.
Interesting ....
Post by: From the Bunker on July 03, 2017, 10:06:53 PM
Ok lets be done with the Plámásing!

Clare won two games in the National League - Down and Cork.

Drew with Derry away.

They lost four in the League - Galway, Kildare, Fermanagh and Meath. Bar the Kildare game, Clare got some good beatings in some of those games.

Clare only survived Division 2 on Goal difference.

Clare beat Limerick by a point this year in the Munster Championship and were beat by six by 14 man Kerry in the second half.

Clare beat Laois who played the last 25 minutes with 14 men.

Clare biggest win of the past 15 months was beating Roscommon. A Roscommon team who had six days to recover from a hiding from Galway.

This is not putting Clare down, their heads are up presently and will be a formidable threat, but lets not lose the run of where they are at!

Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 03, 2017, 10:23:02 PM
They only really took a hammering from Meath in the last game, they were without Gary Brennan and were somewhat safe in the table. They lost by 8 against Galway but Galway are possibly a better team than Mayo at this stage so it is not too bad a result.
Post by: shark on July 03, 2017, 10:36:15 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 03, 2017, 10:06:53 PM

Drew with Derry away.

They lost four in the League - Galway, Kildare, Fermanagh and Meath. Bar the Kildare game, Clare got some good beatings in some of those games.

Clare beat Limerick by a point this year in the Munster Championship and were beat by six by 14 man Kerry in the second half.

Clare biggest win of the past 15 months was beating Roscommon. A Roscommon team who had six days to recover from a hiding from Galway.

This is not putting Clare down, their heads are up presently and will be a formidable threat, but lets not lose the run of where they are at!

There is a lot of truth in what you say. That's why this is a big game for Clare too. They will feel pressure that they need to show they've moved up a level.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 03, 2017, 11:02:39 PM
Clare will rightly see this as a huge chance to take down a "big" name team. You'd expect them to be fired up and ready to go in front of a home crowd so it'll all come down to where we are - if our shooting is as bad as it was on Saturday night then we're scuppered.  Same goes for the softness down the middle of our defence.
Post by: Mayo Club 51 on July 03, 2017, 11:31:27 PM
Sean Hurson has been named ref for the match.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DD1_mu2XUAINLGl.jpg)
Post by: Rossfan on July 03, 2017, 11:35:44 PM
Probably won't be a Clare "crowd" at it.
Big day out Sunday and all that.
Post by: criostlinn on July 03, 2017, 11:50:35 PM
What's the of capacity in Ennis

Can't get accommodation next nor near the place
Post by: mouview on July 04, 2017, 01:09:10 AM
Cusack Park ain't that bad, covered terrace across from main stand is fairly good.
Ennis is a hell-hole; full of knacks, gypos, refugees, social welfare types etc. Soon be much worse than Athlone, Ballinasloe or Mullingar --- and that's pretty bad.
Post by: Syferus on July 04, 2017, 01:14:01 AM
Quote from: mouview on July 04, 2017, 01:09:10 AM
Cusack Park ain't that bad, covered terrace across from main stand is fairly good.
Ennis is a hell-hole; full of knacks, gypos, refugees, social welfare types etc. Soon be much worse than Athlone, Ballinasloe or Mullingar --- and that's pretty bad.

Bit early in the week to be on the sauce, Mou.
Post by: mouview on July 04, 2017, 01:18:23 AM
Can't resist an open goal TBH!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 04, 2017, 07:36:20 AM

Drew with Derry away.

I think it's important to view Clare's league form in perspective. They drew with an already depleted Derry side missing the Slaughtneil contingent and beat a Down side at that stage devoid of confidence and in disarray in their first two league games. The only points they put on the board after that was against a gutless Cork side. Timing was everything for them surviving.

I think Mayo got their scare last week and will be much more focused for the challenge of a limited Clare side who do get the most out of themselves. I can see Mayo win by 6 or 7.

I do think this Mayo group are on the slide and I can't see them having enough for Kerry in the qf.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 04, 2017, 09:28:40 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 04, 2017, 07:36:20 AM

Drew with Derry away.

I think it's important to view Clare's league form in perspective. They drew with an already depleted Derry side missing the Slaughtneil contingent and beat a Down side at that stage devoid of confidence and in disarray in their first two league games. The only points they put on the board after that was against a gutless Cork side. Timing was everything for them surviving.

I think Mayo got their scare last week and will be much more focused for the challenge of a limited Clare side who do get the most out of themselves. I can see Mayo win by 6 or 7.

I do think this Mayo group are on the slide and I can't see them having enough for Kerry in the qf.

They are on the slide! But as proven last year, they are the type of outfit that could take out an AI contender on their day.  If (and it still is a big if) Mayo get to the quarter finals they could be a bit sharper in games played than a rested Kerry!
Post by: Gael85 on July 04, 2017, 09:40:49 AM

Drew with Derry away.

Clare have achieved greatly against the odds over last 4 years under Colm Collins who inherited a group of players that had little underage success compared to the hurlers. This season they lost 5/6 from last year panel so its a miracle they stayed in Division 2 and to progress in qualifiers working off a small pool of 21/22 players.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 04, 2017, 03:25:42 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on July 04, 2017, 09:40:49 AM

Drew with Derry away.

Clare have achieved greatly against the odds over last 4 years under Colm Collins who inherited a group of players that had little underage success compared to the hurlers. This season they lost 5/6 from last year panel so its a miracle they stayed in Division 2 and to progress in qualifiers working off a small pool of 21/22 players.

Can you name the 5 or 6 players because looking at last and this years reports they seem to have retained more or less the same 20 plus players.
Post by: rosnarun on July 04, 2017, 03:29:03 PM
Quote from: mouview on July 04, 2017, 01:09:10 AM
jaysus I know I was slagging it  off but its the clare  people and their shitty pitch  I object too .
I don't have time to be a racist as well
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 04, 2017, 03:41:16 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 04, 2017, 09:28:40 AM
They are on the slide! But as proven last year, they are the type of outfit that could take out an AI contender on their day.  If (and it still is a big if) Mayo get to the quarter finals they could be a bit sharper in games played than a rested Kerry!

Didn't take out any AI contender last year and you probably have to go back to 2012 (Dublin in the semi final) since Mayo did this? could say Donegal 2013 but they were in no shape to retain their All Ireland title that year. Beating Clare and probably Cork/Roscommon in round 4 is hardly a big if for Mayo to reach this years All Ireland quarter final in fairness!
Post by: PW Nally on July 04, 2017, 04:03:12 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 04, 2017, 03:41:16 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 04, 2017, 09:28:40 AM

Didn't take out any AI contender last year and you probably have to go back to 2012 (Dublin in the semi final) since Mayo did this? could say Donegal 2013 but they were in no shape to retain their All Ireland title that year. Beating Clare and probably Cork/Roscommon in round 4 is hardly a big if for Mayo to reach this years All Ireland quarter final in fairness!
Yep, team reaching all Ireland final will not have to beat contender to get there.

Captain oblivious reigns.
Post by: Gael85 on July 04, 2017, 04:30:52 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 04, 2017, 03:25:42 PM

Drew with Derry away.

Can you name the 5 or 6 players because looking at last and this years reports they seem to have retained more or less the same 20 plus players.

Shane McGrath
Shane Hickey
Enda Coughlan
Pat Burke
Podge Collins

Alan O'Neill,Jack O'Dea,Sean Haugh,Declan McMahon,Sean O'Donoghue,Damien Burke and Martin O'Leary were on panel also gone. Liam Markham, John Hayes, Ciaran Russell and Shane Brennan are back this year. Apart from John Hayes none of the bench against Laois has started a senior championship game for Clare
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 04, 2017, 04:47:42 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 03, 2017, 01:32:00 PM

That was just the stand though, didn't touch the terraces to the best of my knowledge
Post by: AZOffaly on July 04, 2017, 04:48:49 PM
Correct.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 04, 2017, 06:00:14 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on July 04, 2017, 04:30:52 PM

Drew with Derry away.

Shane McGrath
Shane Hickey
Enda Coughlan
Pat Burke
Podge Collins

Alan O'Neill,Jack O'Dea,Sean Haugh,Declan McMahon,Sean O'Donoghue,Damien Burke and Martin O'Leary were on panel also gone. Liam Markham, John Hayes, Ciaran Russell and Shane Brennan are back this year. Apart from John Hayes none of the bench against Laois has started a senior championship game for Clare

Thanks. Like every county not in the running for the All Ireland have a lost a number of players from their panel however it seems they have only lost a few starters from last years All Ireland quarter final.

V Laois last Saturday

Joe Hayes; Dean Ryan, Kevin Harnett, Gordon Kelly; Pierce Lillis , Sean Collins, Martin McMahon; Ciaran Russell, Gary Brennan; Cathal O'Connor, Jamie Malone, Cian O'Dea; Eoin Cleary, David Tubridy, Keelan Sexton

V Kerry in the All Ireland quarter final in 2016.

J Hayes; S Hickey, K Harnett, D Ryan; M McMahon, G Kelly, C O'Dea; G Brennan, C O'Connor; S Collins, P Collins, E Cleary; J Malone, D Tubridy, P Lillis.

Keelan Sexton for Podge Collins and Ciaran Russell for Shane Hickey the only changes to their first 15.

Post by: Zulu on July 04, 2017, 06:13:47 PM
I think this is a very difficult draw for Mayo, one they should win alright but one they could also lose. Clare will be underestimated by many but I reckon they ar definitely a division 2 standard team and are well coached and motivated. I don't think they'll win but if Mayo aren't focused they could be caught. Mayo by 4 after a close enough game.
Post by: Syferus on July 04, 2017, 06:38:39 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 04, 2017, 06:13:47 PM
I think this is a very difficult draw for Mayo, one they should win alright but one they could also lose. Clare will be underestimated by many but I reckon they ar definitely a division 2 standard team and are well coached and motivated. I don't think they'll win but if Mayo aren't focused they could be caught. Mayo by 4 after a close enough game.

Step back from the ledge, Zulu. No need to go out on such a limb.
Post by: Gael85 on July 04, 2017, 06:47:53 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 04, 2017, 06:00:14 PM

Drew with Derry away.

Shane McGrath
Shane Hickey
Enda Coughlan
Pat Burke
Podge Collins

Thanks. Like every county not in the running for the All Ireland have a lost a number of players from their panel however it seems they have only lost a few starters from last years All Ireland quarter final.

V Laois last Saturday

Joe Hayes; Dean Ryan, Kevin Harnett, Gordon Kelly; Pierce Lillis , Sean Collins, Martin McMahon; Ciaran Russell, Gary Brennan; Cathal O'Connor, Jamie Malone, Cian O'Dea; Eoin Cleary, David Tubridy, Keelan Sexton

J Hayes; S Hickey, K Harnett, D Ryan; M McMahon, G Kelly, C O'Dea; G Brennan, C O'Connor; S Collins, P Collins, E Cleary; J Malone, D Tubridy, P Lillis.

Keelan Sexton for Podge Collins and Ciaran Russell for Shane Hickey the only changes to their first 15.

Football is a 21 man game and the lack of options on bench will cost Clare. Most games their subs have only been used in last 5-10 minutes. In 10 games between championship and league none of subs have scored.It still been a good season for Clare football regardless of Saturday result.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2017, 09:36:56 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on July 04, 2017, 06:47:53 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 04, 2017, 06:00:14 PM

Drew with Derry away.

Shane McGrath
Shane Hickey
Enda Coughlan
Pat Burke
Podge Collins

V Laois last Saturday

Football is a 21 man game and the lack of options on bench will cost Clare. Most games their subs have only been used in last 5-10 minutes. In 10 games between championship and league none of subs have scored.It still been a good season for Clare football regardless of Saturday result.

Was just thinking of this. In the Kerry game, Kerry were able to bring on Stephen O'Brien at half-time and he scored 1-1 in the 2nd half. Sheehan also came on in the dying minutes and kicked a free/45. 1-2 from their subs bench in that game. They were also able to bring on Donaghy, Buckley, Lyne, Sheehan and Savage . Being able to bring on subs of that quality especially when down to 14 is a massive massive advantage.

Post by: Farrandeelin on July 05, 2017, 05:35:55 PM
Reality is setting in. Mayo cannot afford to shitehawk around with the ball for 65 minutes against any other team this year. Clare have nothing to lose imo and will throw everything at Mayo. What Mayo will turn up is another thing. Let's hope it's the one in extra time, although if Derry had the fitness levels Mayo had the last day in et it could be different.

I couldn't believe my ears last night when I was in conversation with a man who said that AOS had a bad game the last day. Then I told him that he kept Mayo in the game when the rest were falling badly. 'I suppose' was his response...
Post by: mayoman dan on July 05, 2017, 05:46:38 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 05, 2017, 05:35:55 PM
Reality is setting in. Mayo cannot afford to shitehawk around with the ball for 65 minutes against any other team this year. Clare have nothing to lose imo and will throw everything at Mayo. What Mayo will turn up is another thing. Let's hope it's the one in extra time, although if Derry had the fitness levels Mayo had the last day in et it could be different.

I couldn't believe my ears last night when I was in conversation with a man who said that AOS had a bad game the last day. Then I told him that he kept Mayo in the game when the rest were falling badly. 'I suppose' was his response...

Agree about O Se Farr but how do we best use him??? I think Andys days as a starter should be over he was badly beaten to a few balls against Derry when he had a few yards on the defender.Id keep Andy and Loftus in reserve and throw them in for the last 25 minutes.Could we use O Se at ff with Cillian and Doherty playing off himor is he needed further out the field???
Post by: Syferus on July 05, 2017, 05:55:54 PM
Quote from: mayoman dan on July 05, 2017, 05:46:38 PM

Agree about O Se Farr but how do we best use him??? I think Andys days as a starter should be over he was badly beaten to a few balls against Derry when he had a few yards on the defender.Id keep Andy and Loftus in reserve and throw them in for the last 25 minutes.Could we use O Se at ff with Cillian and Doherty playing off himor is he needed further out the field???

Moran is still Mayo's best forward. For all his failings Rochford at least realises that. If anything he should b e leaving him on longer. Probably cost them the Galway match taking him off and letting the likes of Regan on to shoot wild balls in the direction of the posts and Kirby who did absolutely nothing at all.
Post by: mayoman dan on July 05, 2017, 06:27:30 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 05, 2017, 05:55:54 PM

Moran is still Mayo's best forward. For all his failings Rochford at least realises that. If anything he should b e leaving him on longer. Probably cost them the Galway match taking him off and letting the likes of Regan on to shoot wild balls in the direction of the posts and Kirby who did absolutely nothing at all.

He is but when hes on the pitch our forward play is kick it into Andy who will win it and dish it off to runners.Im Andys biggest fan but i think we would be better to have O Se at ff for the first 50 minutes and bring a fresh Andy on for the last 20.Our critics can talk about marquee forwards till the cows come home but i believe Mayos single biggest weakness from the Horan era right up to today is the lack of respect for possesion.The amount of soft ball we give away is unreal especially for a team that works so hard to win it back
Post by: imtommygunn on July 05, 2017, 06:32:40 PM
He's your best forward so keep him on the bench for 50 minutes doesn't make sense...
Post by: mayoman dan on July 05, 2017, 06:46:43 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 05, 2017, 06:32:40 PM
He's your best forward so keep him on the bench for 50 minutes doesn't make sense...

Id rather have him for the last 20 minutes when the game might have opened up a bit
Post by: larryin89 on July 05, 2017, 09:08:57 PM
This game will most likely see out this core group of players,i really hope our brilliant support can show tjem appreciation in defeat. A massive thunderous clap when its over in a big grma to the lads for the massive gallant effort theyve put in these last few years.
Post by: joemamas on July 05, 2017, 09:12:25 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 05, 2017, 09:08:57 PM
This game will most likely see out this core group of players,i really hope our brilliant support can show tjem appreciation in defeat. A massive thunderous clap when its over in a big grma to the lads for the massive gallant effort theyve put in these last few years.

Larry,

I agree wholeheartedly with the latter part of your comments and I hope I am also present when that happens. It will not however happen next Saturday.
Post by: galwayman on July 05, 2017, 09:49:56 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 05, 2017, 09:12:25 PM

Larry,

I agree wholeheartedly with the latter part of your comments and I hope I am also present when that happens. It will not however happen next Saturday.
No I'd be very surprised if Mayo lose on Saturday.
I'd like to have seen Mayo-Donegal in this round.
Would have been a game to really look forward to from a neutral perspective.
Post by: moysider on July 06, 2017, 12:48:20 AM

Now, now, Larry! This is not the time to be going all sentimental and all.We can lose on Saturday. I'd be less scary cat than the Derry game and I can see it going a few ways really. I know damn all about Clare, but like last Saturday, I expect this will also come down to what Mayo are about. If we fart around again it could be close again and we could lose it - yeah. Management has to make sure we don't do the same messing. They had their wake-up call. I'd give them a pass on the Galway game because they couldn t legislate for Higgins and the conditions.
When the core of this team eventually shuffle off, I don't think a clap will be much consolation though Larry. Not what they played for. Anyway, like in the past, this group of players will drip away one after another like others before them. As another poster said on a different thread some time ago - Mayo players don't retire, they just don't get selected anymore. The rule is, if you haven't a few AI medals you cant retire. You just get dropped or piss off.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 06, 2017, 03:13:47 PM

Thing is, Cillian and Doherty do too much out the field. Even when Andy is the target there's not a whole pile else going on. I can't see Rochford changing the whole forward play of having Andy as a target man at this stage of the season anyway. As for AOS's best position, midfield all day long. Look at how weak in that sector Mayo become without him. I am worried about our backs, yes Boyle will start, but Durcan missing and Keegan taking two knocks in 3 weeks might take its toll. Caff is having a 'mare of a time at full back since he returned imo.
Post by: rosnarun on July 06, 2017, 05:00:11 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 06, 2017, 03:13:47 PM

Thing is, Cillian and Doherty do too much out the field. Even when Andy is the target there's not a whole pile else going on. I can't see Rochford changing the whole forward play of having Andy as a target man at this stage of the season anyway. As for AOS's best position, midfield all day long. Look at how weak in that sector Mayo become without him. I am worried about our backs, yes Boyle will start, but Durcan missing and Keegan taking two knocks in 3 weeks might take its toll. Caff is having a 'mare of a time at full back since he returned imo.
spot on ,
I think aidan loses concentration when he left up at full forward . reminds me of Liam mchale . he never really fulfilled his potential as he was constantly being shifted from misfield  CHF and Full forward.
look at donegal too they have make a top full forward in to an average Midfielder in Murphy but still ridiculously always give him the no 14 jersey , is that Ego? or an excuse that hes not 'really' playing at midfield when things go wrong.
Aidan should be given the responsibility of being the main man and he will grab it with 2 hands and show why hes the best player in the country 
Post by: shark on July 06, 2017, 06:18:38 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 06, 2017, 05:00:11 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 06, 2017, 03:13:47 PM

spot on ,
I think aidan loses concentration when he left up at full forward . reminds me of Liam mchale . he never really fulfilled his potential as he was constantly being shifted from misfield  CHF and Full forward.
look at donegal too they have make a top full forward in to an average Midfielder in Murphy but still ridiculously always give him the no 14 jersey , is that Ego? or an excuse that hes not 'really' playing at midfield when things go wrong.
Aidan should be given the responsibility of being the main man and he will grab it with 2 hands and show why hes the best player in the country

I suspect he always wears 14 for jersey sizing purposes. Every set made with a slightly larger number 14.
Post by: highorlow on July 06, 2017, 09:47:17 PM
Ease off the brandy.

AOS is the best most inconsistent player in the country. I'm afraid to say that but it's true.

I hope your right and he plays every game the same as last week but it's not in him unfortunately.

Saturday is a big test for our midfield so we will see what happens.

I'm with Larry on this one and Clare is likely the end of the road for this team.

No game plan, no brains on the line no forwards inconsistent midfield and dodgy backs says we are ripe for picking, that's the reality and there is no getting away from it.
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 07, 2017, 12:59:39 AM
Quote from: highorlow on July 06, 2017, 09:47:17 PM
Ease off the brandy.

AOS is the best most inconsistent player in the country. I'm afraid to say that but it's true.

I hope your right and he plays every game the same as last week but it's not in him unfortunately.

I'm with Larry on this one and Clare is likely the end of the road for this team.

No game plan, no brains on the line no forwards inconsistent midfield and dodgy backs says we are ripe for picking, that's the reality and there is no getting away from it.

Unless of course we win (which is still the most likely outcome despite Clare being elevated to stratospheric heights)  in which case the above criticism will be packed away to be brought out again and again in the hope of a knowlegeable "I told you so"
Post by: criostlinn on July 07, 2017, 01:19:39 AM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on July 07, 2017, 12:59:39 AM
Ease off the brandy.

Unless of course we win (which is still the most likely outcome despite Clare being elevated to stratospheric heights)  in which case the above criticism will be packed away to be brought out again and again in the hope of a knowlegeable "I told you so"

Yep. Exactly. The stopped clocked syndrome of some Mayo "supporters". Keep banging out the same auld shite and of course you're gonna be right sometime. You know its mad, the same gobshite's be sitting above in croke park on all ireland final day and it never dawns on them how a team with "no brains on the line no forwards inconsistent midfield and dodgy backs" could even end up here.

I wonder at times, what is the agenda of lads like this. 
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2017, 01:43:01 AM
Quote from: criostlinn on July 07, 2017, 01:19:39 AM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on July 07, 2017, 12:59:39 AM
Ease off the brandy.

Yep. Exactly. The stopped clocked syndrome of some Mayo "supporters". Keep banging out the same auld shite and of course you're gonna be right sometime. You know its mad, the same gobshite's be sitting above in croke park on all ireland final day and it never dawns on them how a team with "no brains on the line no forwards inconsistent midfield and dodgy backs" could even end up here.

I wonder at times, what is the agenda of lads like this.

To destroy your county from within.
Post by: highorlow on July 07, 2017, 08:58:07 AM
QuoteYep. Exactly. The stopped clocked syndrome of some Mayo "supporters". Keep banging out the same auld shite and of course you're gonna be right sometime.

I've supported this team and got to 90% of championship games over the last decade and will make the journey tomorrow so away with your quotation marks young lad.

Go back through my posts here over the years and I've been 100% behind the lads and tipped us when others were in doubt.

I'm entitled to state it as it I see it and don't get me wrong I hope we open up the floodgates tomorrow.

Based on a long line of evidence (even going back to Westmeath game last year) the first major banana skin we meet this year might catch us.

Maybe Rochford might let the lads throw off the shackles tomorrow and forget tactics and his over thinking of the game, I think it is this that is holding us back.

The kicking game simply doesn't work for us. We need to revert back to the way we played under JH. Hopefully this weeks players meeting might sort it.
Post by: rosnarun on July 07, 2017, 10:06:47 AM
because all teams with 'no brains on the line no forwards inconsistent midfield and dodgy backs' get to draw with dublin in the ALL Ireland final and then lose by a point in the replay.

May supporter really need to kop themselves on and realize what aspecial group of guy we have at the moment. they have neve fail to get back up after soe defeat that would have killed most teams
Post by: highorlow on July 07, 2017, 01:32:03 PM
Ros, I know what happened last year. Thanks.
Post by: joemamas on July 07, 2017, 01:51:54 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 07, 2017, 10:06:47 AM
because all teams with 'no brains on the line no forwards inconsistent midfield and dodgy backs' get to draw with dublin in the ALL Ireland final and then lose by a point in the replay.

May supporter really need to kop themselves on and realize what aspecial group of guy we have at the moment. they have neve fail to get back up after soe defeat that would have killed most teams

This special group of players have never quit, they deserve our unreserved support.

They will lose some day, but it will not be tomorrow, It is not a banana skin, Clare are a decent team, Mayo know that.
Post by: Ballaghman on July 07, 2017, 02:47:08 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 07, 2017, 01:32:03 PM
Glad to hear it. How can you justify saying there are no brains on the sideline so?
As for going back to the way JH did things, that didn't work out well for us ultimately. This group at this stage of their careers definitely couldn't sustain that kind of high octane football for 70+ minutes. Rochford knows this so give him a little credit for trying to play a more controlled type of game. He hasn't found the right balance yet this year, he did last year imo and needs to go back to that. To say he has no brains is harsh and uncalled for. Maybe he does overthink things a little but he's a very clued in guy.
Post by: rosnarun on July 07, 2017, 03:53:09 PM
hell be a genius Sunday morning
Quote from: highorlow on July 07, 2017, 01:32:03 PM
if you do then why the comment ?

Mayo had 17 wide . not a good think but shows their dominance and that did not come with out a proper plan  . If rochford does not do something about that then there may be a problem but lets wait for the death of the patient before the post-mortem
Post by: twohands!!! on July 07, 2017, 04:15:58 PM
Dont Foul posted some stats on Mayo's point attempts from play in their 3 championship games so far.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DECQXXPXYAA9nb2.jpg)

26 points from 65 attempts is grim stuff especially when you look at the expected points figures.
This takes into account how difficult the shot is.

Post by: highorlow on July 07, 2017, 07:12:24 PM
We will probably get 1-15 from play tomorrow now that we have a balanced team named.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 07, 2017, 08:57:39 PM
Thinking the team is struggling is not the same as not supporting them, you know. The head and the heart are two different things.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 07, 2017, 09:19:23 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 07, 2017, 08:57:39 PM
Thinking the team is struggling is not the same as not supporting them, you know. The head and the heart are two different things.

Bang on Iolar. Sick reading Mayogaablog people offering opinions on how to support teams. Our hearts are in the right spot all the time. Hopefully the team will be named before I go to bed. Best of luck to them all anyway. Safe travels to all travelling. Hope we're in the draw Monday morning. Up Mayo.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 07, 2017, 09:32:01 PM
Mayo will need to be better than they were against Derry to get through this one but they're well capable of that. They've been extremely poor by their standards so far and could still have won all those games. Last year had a similar pattern and I don't know where the Tyrone and Dublin x 2 performances came out of versus the rest of the games they played but they did it and that's why you can't write them off. I do think Clare are decent and a good bit better than Derry.
Post by: bucko on July 07, 2017, 10:00:41 PM
The Mayo team for tomorrow's qualifier against Clare in Cusack Park, Ennis at 5pm is:

David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites)
Chris Barrett (Belmulet)
Lee Keegan (Westport)
Colm Boyle (Davitts)
Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)
Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy)
Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy)
Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)
Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, captain)
Conor Loftus (Crossmolina).

Vaughan for Durcan. Loftus in for Andy. Higgins not named to start but no surprise if he does, just wonder at who's expense?
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 07, 2017, 10:22:46 PM
Has there been a settled team under Rochford at all yet? Durcan dropped is strange, Cafferkey is a big liability.
There still should be enough quality to see off Clare but they need to find their groove soon.
Post by: maigheo on July 07, 2017, 10:27:10 PM
Durcan is suspended for 1 game after his sending off last week
Post by: macdanger2 on July 07, 2017, 10:46:24 PM
Quote from: bucko on July 07, 2017, 10:00:41 PM
The Mayo team for tomorrow's qualifier against Clare in Cusack Park, Ennis at 5pm is:

David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites)
Chris Barrett (Belmulet)
Lee Keegan (Westport)
Colm Boyle (Davitts)
Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)
Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy)
Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy)
Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)
Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, captain)
Conor Loftus (Crossmolina).

Andy not starting. Hiigins in for Harrison and Vaughan for Durcan. Loftus in for Andy.

Is Higgins starting? You haven't listed him. Good to see Keegan back to 5
Post by: bucko on July 07, 2017, 10:52:34 PM
Sorry, corrected my error there. Higgins not starting.
Post by: oliverkelly on July 07, 2017, 10:53:22 PM
Surprised McLoughlin held onto his place had an absolute shocker the last day and Doherty probably deserved a start after his performance the last day. Saying that McLoughlin is a great player when on form but doesn't seem to be on form as of late maybe still feeling the effects of his injury picked up earlier this year
Post by: highorlow on July 07, 2017, 11:16:30 PM
McLoughlin will be back as sweeper tomorrow.

Maybe all this codology / experimentation was a long term plan.

Feels like SR will revert to what worked for him last season. No harm done.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 07, 2017, 11:29:36 PM
Quote from: oliverkelly on July 07, 2017, 10:53:22 PM
Surprised McLoughlin held onto his place had an absolute shocker the last day and Doherty probably deserved a start after his performance the last day. Saying that McLoughlin is a great player when on form but doesn't seem to be on form as of late maybe still feeling the effects of his injury picked up earlier this year

He had a shocker the last day but he's one of the first names on the teamsheet.

There's normally 1-2 changes so will be interesting to see what the starting team is
Post by: mayoaremagic on July 08, 2017, 04:36:26 PM
The dirty petrol has been well and truly emptied. We should rack up a big win and win well  to cruise to next round. The main aim is to avoid injuries/red cards for the kerry game in QF or SF.  Big mayo crowd around the town, good to see.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 08, 2017, 04:49:08 PM
Fergal Boland and Tom Parsons don't start for Mayo, replaced by Keith Higgins and Andy Moran.
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 04:55:12 PM
Why is that tanned arse on my tv?
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 05:16:01 PM
Vaughan is one hell of a liability for Mayo. This is nearly as bad as our performance versus Clare so far.
Post by: square_ball on July 08, 2017, 05:17:38 PM
Marty losing his shis over a straight forward save.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 08, 2017, 05:17:47 PM
Selfish from Malone there.
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 05:19:11 PM
This is hideous stuff from Mayo. Clare are not a team that you should be holding on for dear life again.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2017, 05:21:18 PM
Clare well on top and fired up. Need to be less wasteful if they want to cause upset though.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 08, 2017, 05:21:41 PM
Mayo lucky Clare haven't been a bit more clinical or it could already be game over.

The quality of the ball going in to the forwards is woeful from Mayo.
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 05:38:03 PM
That it's still Andy rescuing Mayo should be as alarming a sign as the scoreline. COC may as well not be on the field.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2017, 05:39:43 PM
HT Clare 0-8 Mayo 0-6.  Clare about 6 points the better team in that 1st half but the good news for Mayo is they only find themselves two points behind and Clares high energy levels will likely drop now
Post by: Rossfan on July 08, 2017, 05:41:05 PM
Morrissey must have mentioned every feckin town land in Clare at this stage.
Mayowestros will be relieved to be only 2 down.
The Westros man keeping them in it .
Post by: OgraAnDun on July 08, 2017, 05:45:26 PM
A pretty exciting game between two poor teams. Did they say that Clare were against the wind in that half? Doesn't look to be much movement in the flags. Clare seem afraid to shoot if they're further out than 30 metres.
Post by: joemamas on July 08, 2017, 05:46:07 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 08, 2017, 05:41:05 PM
Morrissey must have mentioned every feckin town land in Clare at this stage.
Mayowestros will be relieved to be only 2 down.
The Westros man keeping them in it .

He gives the usual bullshit geography class every week.
He is horrible
Post by: joemamas on July 08, 2017, 05:47:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 05:16:01 PM
Vaughan is one hell of a liability for Mayo. This is nearly as bad as our performance versus Clare so far.

Black card should never happened, it was a blatant push out over the sideline on McLoughlin.
Post by: Esmarelda on July 08, 2017, 05:48:42 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 08, 2017, 05:47:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 05:16:01 PM

Black card should never happened, it was a blatant push out over the sideline on McLoughlin.
Correct. How on earth is that not given?
Post by: galwayman on July 08, 2017, 05:55:47 PM
Andy Moran again the only Mayo forward performing up to standard.
His movement off the ball is something else.
Mayo will win this.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 08, 2017, 05:57:14 PM
Bit like Derry last week you'd fear that Clare have left the door open for Mayo and will eventually pay the price for it. Probably should be further ahead.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2017, 06:08:23 PM
Game turned on its head with an error. Very harsh scoreline on clare now and will likely get worse.
Post by: dublin7 on July 08, 2017, 06:18:06 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 08, 2017, 06:08:23 PM
Game turned on its head with an error. Very harsh scoreline on clare now and will likely get worse.

Clare committed football suicide and that has knocked the stuffing out of them. Don't know why Rochford took off Loftus. Needs to find forwards  and he won't improve sitting bon the bench. This is when he should be left on the pitch.  Clare are a spent force and this would be his chance to get some scores and boost his confidence
Post by: joemamas on July 08, 2017, 06:23:40 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 08, 2017, 06:18:06 PM

Clare committed football suicide and that has knocked the stuffing out of them. Don't know why Rochford took off Loftus. Needs to find forwards  and he won't improve sitting bon the bench. This is when he should be left on the pitch.  Clare are a spent force and this would be his chance to get some scores and boost his confidence

He was on a yellow
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 06:37:20 PM
Harrison deserved more than a black for slamming a lad into the ground. All-Star my arse.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 08, 2017, 06:38:52 PM
Harrison very lucky to avoid a red card there. Tipped your man up and dumped him down. Almost on his head.
Post by: joemamas on July 08, 2017, 06:41:26 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 06:37:20 PM
Harrison deserved more than a black for slamming a lad into the ground. All-Star my arse.

Yeah Mayo up by 6, you really think Harrison started that.
Post by: galwayman on July 08, 2017, 06:46:12 PM

Yeah but Loftus was rubbish this evening.
What's the point of leaving a lad on who isn't playing well just for the sake of it.
Post by: straightred on July 08, 2017, 06:53:35 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 08, 2017, 06:38:52 PM
Harrison very lucky to avoid a red card there. Tipped your man up and dumped him down. Almost on his head.

He should get a game for it. Madness - games was over.
Post by: joemamas on July 08, 2017, 06:55:22 PM
Quote from: galwayman on July 08, 2017, 06:46:12 PM

Yeah but Loftus was rubbish this evening.
What's the point of leaving a lad on who isn't playing well just for the sake of it.

He wasn't that bad. He also intercepted and laid on pass for first goal.
He needs playing time that's for sure.
He has not had a full season of senior football
Post by: Blowitupref on July 08, 2017, 06:57:08 PM
Clares high energy levels of the 1st half as expected dropped big time 2nd half. First goal a slice of luck for Mayo but in fairness to them they used all of their experience to close out that game comfortably.  Its looking like Kerry v Mayo quarter final a round earlier than expected the winner will go on to reach the AI final i can imagine.
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 06:58:45 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 08, 2017, 06:41:26 PM

Yeah Mayo up by 6, you really think Harrison started that.

You think it matters who started it when he was the one acting like he was in the WWE? Very silly boy.
Post by: thefont on July 08, 2017, 07:25:20 PM
What is with the niggle and high shots? Going for the red card three in a row today. It'll be the end of us.

Hard luck Clare shot themselves in the foot and didn't convert when they had their purple patch. Good looking team.

Best thing to come from today is Regan and Loftus getting game time (even if they weren't very good), must persevere with them or our season will end in familiar fashion.

We move on.
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 07:30:06 PM
Quote from: thefont on July 08, 2017, 07:25:20 PM
What is with the niggle and high shots? Going for the red card three in a row today. It'll be the end of us.

Hard luck Clare shot themselves in the foot and didn't convert when they had their purple patch. Good looking team.

Best thing to come from today is Regan and Loftus getting game time (even if they weren't very good), must persevere with them or our season will end in familiar fashion.

We move on.

Regan is way too long in the tooth now to be talking about needing game time to develop. It looks very much like he just isn't good enough.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on July 08, 2017, 08:15:37 PM

Not quite sure how Hurson thought two blacks were merited. Red card for Harrison all day long. Can't be revisited now though.
Post by: dublin7 on July 08, 2017, 08:41:34 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on July 08, 2017, 08:15:37 PM

Not quite sure how Hurson thought two blacks were merited. Red card for Harrison all day long. Can't be revisited now though.

Harrison was like something out of the wrestling WWE. Red card all day long. Mayo still have serious problems in the forward line. Andy Moran at 34/35 is their only reliable forward. Clare created plenty of goal chances but weren't good enough to take them
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 08, 2017, 08:48:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 07:30:06 PM

We move on.

Regan is way too long in the tooth now to be talking about needing game time to develop. It looks very much like he just isn't good enough.
Ah, Jaysus Syf, you really need to take a rest! ;D ;D
You're spending more time and effort on nitpicking every move Mayo made and you are not bothering about tomorrow when the wolves will be let loose against the sheep. Slaughter and gnashing of teeth on all sides as Armageddon will be upon ye. I'd be rattling the oul' rosary beads now if I were you and give the poor, long- suffering people of Mayo a breather.
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 09:49:09 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 08, 2017, 08:48:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 07:30:06 PM

We move on.

Ah, Jaysus Syf, you really need to take a rest! ;D ;D
You're spending more time and effort on nitpicking every move Mayo made and you are not bothering about tomorrow when the wolves will be let loose against the sheep. Slaughter and gnashing of teeth on all sides as Armageddon will be upon ye. I'd be rattling the oul' rosary beads now if I were you and give the poor, long- suffering people of Mayo a breather.

You could have just said "I disagree, Regan is good enough" and saved yourself some time, Lar.

It's fair comment at this stage when he hasn't delivered, it's not like I'm personally attacking the lad.
Post by: giveballaghback on July 08, 2017, 11:00:30 PM
Jaysus syf would you ever give it a rest, leave the feckin rhubarbs alone, we might be playing them shortly.
Post by: sans pessimism on July 08, 2017, 11:01:48 PM
Hmm-I dunno,mabye he won his all-star for his performances on the pitch during last year's campaign(May,June,July,August,September,October).But hey,you obviously know different.
Post by: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 11:05:22 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on July 08, 2017, 11:01:48 PM
Hmm-I dunno,mabye he won his all-star for his performances on the pitch during last year's campaign(May,June,July,August,September,October).But hey,you obviously know different.

I didn't rate him last year and his actions today haven't exactly changed my opinion. Brainless, dangerous stuff.
Post by: Halfquarter on July 08, 2017, 11:14:50 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 08, 2017, 11:05:22 PM

I didn't rate him last year and his actions today haven't exactly changed my opinion. Brainless, dangerous stuff.

You obviously got it badly wrong last year as well !
Post by: sans pessimism on July 08, 2017, 11:51:46 PM

The fact that you don't rate him is ample evidence that you know jack shit about what constitutes a good corner back.Harri is one of the finest.
Note to self-ignore idiots
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2017, 12:12:58 AM
Quote from: sans pessimism on July 08, 2017, 11:51:46 PM

The fact that you don't rate him is ample evidence that you know jack shit about what constitutes a good corner back.Harri is one of the finest.

Jaysis the Harrison defence force is out in full regalia tonight, the day he spear tackled a lad into the ground and should have received a suspension. Choose your battles lads, and stop attacking the messenger because you don't like the message.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 09, 2017, 12:16:53 AM
Derry peaked themselves out after 60 minutes last week and today Clare were maxed out by 30 minutes. Yet it was still was only 13 v 14 on points scored and the two goals in as many minutes clearly the telling difference. Mayo lucky they didn't draw Donegal or Meath away as i think both of those sides who are better than Clare would have led by far more than two points at half time.

Cork or Roscommon next in neutral venue (Can't play Galway or Croke park with the U2 concerts) Back to Ennis for Cork or back to Salthill for Roscommon? 
Post by: Rossfan on July 09, 2017, 12:29:29 AM
We're due a home Qualifier v Rhubarbia because we went to Castlebar in 2002.
What's the chances that agreement doesn't exist on paper any where?
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 09, 2017, 12:33:07 AM
Just looking on TV and there was not even a ,mention of a penalty shout for Clare...Sexton coming through...
Honestly looked dodgy at full speed but wasn´t even mentioned in passing.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 09, 2017, 12:33:57 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 09, 2017, 12:29:29 AM

There will be no home qualifier for Roscommon! Why? Because I honestly believe the Rossies will win a Connacht title this year.
Post by: Syferus on July 09, 2017, 01:08:00 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 09, 2017, 12:33:57 AM

There will be no home qualifier for Roscommon! Why? Because I honestly believe the Rossies will win a Connacht title this year.

G'wan ya good thing. A Ros win would make Mayo's path a bit easier too, we'd probably put in a shift if we had Mayo coming up in two weeks while Cork are as dead as a fish on a Killybegs trawler.
Post by: Gael85 on July 09, 2017, 09:34:53 AM
Mayo were always going to win. Clare didn't have the bench or fitness to sustain the first half pace. If had converted a couple of their goal chances could have been a different game. Mayo were more streetwise too. Martin McMahon hit with closed fist 3/4 times tried to play on whereas any contact with Colm Boyle he made sure to jump to ground and highlight to match officials. Jamie Malone continuously blocked off ball by Keegan. He be better rolling around the ground like Diarmuid O'Connor. Dublin, Kerry and Mayo are the best football teams but are streets ahead in cynical play too.
Post by: Ballaghman on July 09, 2017, 10:30:53 AM
A lot happier now a week on from the Derry game. The team is starting to take shape and play in Rochford's mould. A high tempo of hard running and interplay mixed with some good kick passing. It's still very much a work in progress but yesterday we saw the first signs of a team starting to click.
The main negative yesterday was how open we were at the back in the first half. On the plus side we shut that down big time in the second, with Keith Higgins and Chris Barrett cuttiing out a lot of ball. Higgins also reminded us yesterday what a huge loss he was against Galway but no point going over that one again
Keegan got his usual dose of off the ball abuse but rose above it as he always does and gave it back in spades, nothing more or less than he should have done. There was nothing angelic about Clare yesterday, why should there have been. They were playing a top team and had to do what it took to get in our faces. The amount of off the ball stuff was unreal but our lads are more than able for it.
Just one point on the criticism Harrison is getting. He did a great job marking his man out of it. Towards the end of the match number 15 (can't recall his name) became frustrated and started mauling Harrison off the ball, a champion boxer he is too I was informed by a Clare man. When Harrison found himself in a headlock he couldn't get out of, he did what he did. Over the top maybe but he risked more damage to himself and his own neck by doing it.
Also whoever said Loftus was rubbish, again clearly wasn't at the game. His movement was excellent, his ball retention, under serious pressure, was first class and of course he was instrumental in setting up the first, decisive goal. He didn't score and we'll need more out of him but he will deliver. To say he was rubbish is just absolute.......trufflais. I didn't think he was ready to start games of that intensity but he surprised me how well he did in his first true start in championship football.
On we go and another bit of improvement the next day should see us past whoever we get in the next round.
Post by: dublin7 on July 09, 2017, 10:44:48 AM
Quote from: Ballaghman on July 09, 2017, 10:30:53 AM
A lot happier now a week on from the Derry game. The team is starting to take shape and play in Rochford's mould. A high tempo of hard running and interplay mixed with some good kick passing. It's still very much a work in progress but yesterday we saw the first signs of a team starting to click.
The main negative yesterday was how open we were at the back in the first half. On the plus side we shut that down big time in the second, with Keith Higgins and Chris Barrett cuttiing out a lot of ball. Higgins also reminded us yesterday what a huge loss he was against Galway but no point going over that one again
Keegan got his usual dose of off the ball abuse but rose above it as he always does and gave it back in spades, nothing more or less than he should have done. There was nothing angelic about Clare yesterday, why should there have been. They were playing a top team and had to do what it took to get in our faces. The amount of off the ball stuff was unreal but our lads are more than able for it.
Just one point on the criticism Harrison is getting. He did a great job marking his man out of it. Towards the end of the match number 15 (can't recall his name) became frustrated and started mauling Harrison off the ball, a champion boxer he is too I was informed by a Clare man. When Harrison found himself in a headlock he couldn't get out of, he did what he did. Over the top maybe but he risked more damage to himself and his own neck by doing it.
Also whoever said Loftus was rubbish, again clearly wasn't at the game. His movement was excellent, his ball retention, under serious pressure, was first class and of course he was instrumental in setting up the first, decisive goal. He didn't score and we'll need more out of him but he will deliver. To say he was rubbish is just absolute.......trufflais. I didn't think he was ready to start games of that intensity but he surprised me how well he did in his first true start in championship football.
On we go and another bit of improvement the next day should see us past whoever we get in the next round.

That's a brilliant defence. "I body slammed him to protect myself". Incredibly dangerous to slam someone down on their back like that and should have been a red as pointed out by others. Poor innocent Mayo lads who just went out to play pure football and Clare tried to bully them ::)
Post by: ballinaman on July 09, 2017, 10:47:23 AM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 09, 2017, 10:44:48 AM

That's a brilliant defence. "I body slammed him to protect myself". Incredibly dangerous to slam someone down on their back like that and should have been a red as pointed out by others. Poor innocent Mayo lads who just went out to play pure football and Clare tried to bully them ::)
Harrison "powered down"  ;)
Post by: Ballaghman on July 09, 2017, 10:57:38 AM

As I said it was over the top but no way a red. Ref saw it, unlike Guckians eye gouge, so we move on and try and play our pure football. We'll leave the cynical stuff to the dubs and their banned convicts, sorry, community service victims! 😉
Post by: blast05 on July 09, 2017, 01:29:24 PM

Yes, just like MDMA instinctively stuck an arm out to protect himself and but happened to almost decapitate COC in the process....
Post by: blast05 on July 09, 2017, 01:32:18 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 09, 2017, 12:16:53 AM
Derry peaked themselves out after 60 minutes last week and today Clare were maxed out by 30 minutes. Yet it was still was only 13 v 14 on points scored and the two goals in as many minutes clearly the telling difference. Mayo lucky they didn't draw Donegal or Meath away as i think both of those sides who are better than Clare would have led by far more than two points at half time.

Cork or Roscommon next in neutral venue (Can't play Galway or Croke park with the U2 concerts) Back to Ennis for Cork or back to Salthill for Roscommon?

Game was over 15 minutes into the 2nd half yesterday. Mayo went into cruise control after we went 6 or 7 up
Post by: dublin7 on July 09, 2017, 01:50:11 PM
Quote from: blast05 on July 09, 2017, 01:29:24 PM

Yes, just like MDMA instinctively stuck an arm out to protect himself and but happened to almost decapitate COC in the process....

COC well able to throw elbows of his own. Just ask Rory O'Carroll or Philly McMahon. Don't see what has to do with a mayo player driving a player into the ground but each to their own
Post by: sans pessimism on July 09, 2017, 02:22:03 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2017, 12:12:58 AM

Jaysis the Harrison defence force is out in full regalia tonight, the day he spear tackled a lad into the ground and should have received a suspension. Choose your battles lads, and stop attacking the messenger because you don't like the message.
not defending the silly stuff yday-you questioned his talent.Two totally separate issues.
Then again if you have a chip on both shoulders about everything Mayo,why am I surprised at the rubbish you're spoutin about Harri.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 09, 2017, 03:36:59 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2017, 01:08:00 AM

G'wan ya good thing. A Ros win would make Mayo's path a bit easier too, we'd probably put in a shift if we had Mayo coming up in two weeks while Cork are as dead as a fish on a Killybegs trawler.

TOLD YA! :)
Post by: highorlow on July 09, 2017, 04:51:26 PM
Good call FTB
Post by: rosnarun on July 09, 2017, 06:10:59 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 09, 2017, 03:36:59 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2017, 01:08:00 AM

TOLD YA! :)
kudos .
but did you mention it to your bookie?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 09, 2017, 08:17:12 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 09, 2017, 12:12:58 AM

What is ur message? That he shouldn't have gotten an all star because he slammed a lad?
Completely unrelated
Should have gone yesterday, daft at that sage in the game

Was happy with yesterday, poor first half but really stood up in the second half. AOS is a monster, POTY awaits this year
Post by: ashman on July 09, 2017, 10:50:01 PM
The last year Kilkenny didn't play in croke park Mayo won the All Ireland .
Post by: OgraAnDun on July 09, 2017, 11:07:40 PM
Quote from: ashman on July 09, 2017, 10:50:01 PM

The last time Down went 23 years without an AI and beat Armagh in the first round in Newry, Down won the AI.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 09, 2017, 11:12:19 PM
Mayo looked good yesterday.

O'Shea is really on his game right now.
Post by: INDIANA on July 09, 2017, 11:14:22 PM
Hopefully action is taken against the Mayo players who stepped out of line yesterday.

Harrison must be training with Conor Mc Gregor these days
Post by: saffronandblue on July 09, 2017, 11:19:29 PM
Ya have to feel sorry for the poor auld Dubs.....God love them....
Post by: Ballaghman on July 09, 2017, 11:23:51 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 09, 2017, 11:14:22 PM
Hopefully action is taken against the Mayo players who stepped out of line yesterday.

Good man mossie, nice try! 😂 we'll see if he analyses dublins thuggery to the same degree
Post by: dublin7 on July 09, 2017, 11:33:24 PM
Quote from: Ballaghman on July 09, 2017, 11:23:51 PM

Good man mossie, nice try! 😂 we'll see if he analyses dublins thuggery to the same degree

If you don't see a problem with someone being driven in to the ground like that then there is something seriously wrong with you. That sort of tackle would get you a red card on rugby. I'm just thankful it wasn't Connolly or this message board would explode
Post by: criostlinn on July 09, 2017, 11:39:36 PM

Don't have the cuteness of the Kerry men. Mossy should have had a few notes. Let us know the offence and the punishment and leave the cccc with no choice but to look at it.

Maybe Indiana can start a social media campaign to get Harrison suspended. It has to be at least 12 weeks because you know, Dermo only touched a ref and what Harrison did was way worse. And Cillian O'Connor. Give that bollix 6 months. Did ya see what he bleeedin did to that clare fella. Well I didnt quite see it but the Sunday game were zooming in on it so it must be bad.

Come on hill16 army and All Dublin GAA Fans, lets get this trending. Call out to all the true blue dublin fans who feel Dermo was wronged and if the GAA ignore this its another example of the GAA bias against the Dubs.
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2017, 12:11:53 AM
In fairness, what Harrison did was incredibly dangerous.
There's a reason that's a straight red in rugby.
Post by: Throw ball on July 10, 2017, 01:42:05 AM
Before I start in will say I only saw this game on Sunday Game as I was travelling to Mullingar when it was on.

It annoys the hell out of me that the retaliation is considered worse than the instigation. In my opinion Of ' Connor would not have reacted if the Clare players had not have been at him. They deserve more grief.
The Harrison incident had similar undertones in that his opponent was trying to rile him. His reaction was very dangerous though. I would have sent both off and let Croke Park decide the punishment.
Post by: INDIANA on July 10, 2017, 06:58:19 AM
Quote from: criostlinn on July 09, 2017, 11:39:36 PM

Don't have the cuteness of the Kerry men. Mossy should have had a few notes. Let us know the offence and the punishment and leave the cccc with no choice but to look at it.

Maybe Indiana can start a social media campaign to get Harrison suspended. It has to be at least 12 weeks because you know, Dermo only touched a ref and what Harrison did was way worse. And Cillian O'Connor. Give that bollix 6 months. Did ya see what he bleeedin did to that clare fella. Well I didnt quite see it but the Sunday game were zooming in on it so it must be bad.

Come on hill16 army and All Dublin GAA Fans, lets get this trending. Call out to all the true blue dublin fans who feel Dermo was wronged and if the GAA ignore this its another example of the GAA bias against the Dubs.

Let's hope you don't train anyone that you think a dangerous UFC charge into the ground is an acceptable action on a GAA pitch . You're a bit of a joke I'm afraid . That could have broken the Clare's players neck. Only in the GAA with incompetent officials would that not be a red card
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 10, 2017, 08:01:57 AM
Quote from: ashman on July 09, 2017, 10:50:01 PM
Did they win in it 2013?
Post by: Taylor on July 10, 2017, 08:27:25 AM
Anyone have a link or a GIF od the Harrison incident?

It cant have been that bad?
Post by: highorlow on July 10, 2017, 08:38:04 AM
QuoteAnyone have a link or a GIF od the Harrison incident?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fC3xNSiRTDc
Post by: Gael85 on July 10, 2017, 09:38:19 AM
Quote from: Taylor on July 10, 2017, 08:27:25 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgv135Ee9Vc
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 10, 2017, 09:54:10 AM
Wasn't at the game as Coldplay concert tickets were got ages ago. Missed the first 20 minutes of it. Mayo must have been in bother at that stage. They slowly found their mojo afterwards. I thought it was harsh on Clare based on what I had seen that Mayo were only 2 points down at half time. Kudos to the players though, they definitely raised their game in the second half. I felt after the first goal went in that Mayo were always going to push on. The second one put the game to bed altogether then.

Harrison was stupid at best. He was as Ballaghman wrestled in a headlock, but he should have gone to ground to ensure the Clare player came out looking the worst in it. Easy for me to say such a statement says you.

Regards motm, I would have given it to Kevin McLoughlin. Thought he played at his best. AOS however was excellent too. On we go to the next game against Cork. I'm always wary when Mayo play them. Hope it's in Ennis again as it's a good hunting ground for Mayo teams.
Post by: Taylor on July 10, 2017, 10:29:53 AM
Quote from: Gael85 on July 10, 2017, 09:38:19 AM

Cheers.

I stand corrected. Incredibly stupid & dangerous in equal measures
Post by: highorlow on July 10, 2017, 10:33:09 AM
Credit to the team on Saturday. It was a sweltering day and a match that could have gotten away from us akin to Galway yesterday but the lads stood up to the challenge and made it comfortable in the end.

One pundit said that it was likely a plan to play in 2nd gear for the first half as a "rope a dope" strategy, risky but it paid off and fair play to the management if this was the plan. The black card and the ease of the first point I think may have caused lethargy also, who knows.

Management learned from the Kerry v Clare match when Clare ran out of steam. The whole team played well, including the subs. Loftus was impressive on the ball.

I've been critical of SR this year but it appears that the plan in these games is long ball for 1st half and a running game for 2nd half. The long ball still doesn't work too well but it improved a bit the last day. Gooch is correct last night we need AOS in a more forward role.

I'm more confident now than a few weeks ago and we should have the beating of a poor Cork team.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 10, 2017, 10:36:22 AM
Quote from: Taylor on July 10, 2017, 10:29:53 AM
Quote from: Gael85 on July 10, 2017, 09:38:19 AM

Cheers.

I stand corrected. Incredibly stupid & dangerous in equal measures
I have to agree. Dunno what came over Harrison. He's normally a fairly level-headed player. I saw nothing in the lead up to the incident that should have provoked that tackle so I can't say why he reacted in that way.
Post by: thewobbler on July 10, 2017, 10:46:37 AM
I've no problems with Harrison here.

If two players are happy to engage in a gun show, then both have to understand that one might have bigger guns. It looked worse than it was.
Post by: Taylor on July 10, 2017, 10:52:37 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 10, 2017, 10:46:37 AM

If two players are happy to engage in a gun show, then both have to understand that one might have bigger guns. It looked worse than it was.

Bigger guns??
He body slammed someone that had him in a headlock FFS - stupidity of the highest order.

The body slam naturally could have hurt the Clare lad but he could easily have had his own neck snapped.
Post by: INDIANA on July 10, 2017, 11:25:54 AM

No worries. If he ended up in a wheelchair he can console himself that his guns  just weren't big enough
What sort of a moron are you ?
Post by: rosnarun on July 10, 2017, 11:26:32 AM
I thought Harrison was definitely a red card . but the ref saw it and decided it wasn't. so I was wrong . so move along nothing to see here
Post by: INDIANA on July 10, 2017, 11:46:01 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 10, 2017, 11:26:32 AM
I thought Harrison was definitely a red card . but the ref saw it and decided it wasn't. so I was wrong . so move along nothing to see here

Just another poor refereeing performance .
Post by: Ballaghman on July 10, 2017, 11:51:09 AM
Quote from: Taylor on July 10, 2017, 10:52:37 AM

Bigger guns??
He body slammed someone that had him in a headlock FFS - stupidity of the highest order.

The body slam naturally could have hurt the Clare lad but he could easily have had his own neck snapped.
That's what I was getting at. Watching it in real time My first thought was he's going to injure his own neck. He risked far more injury to himself than the other lad. He wanted to get out of the headlock but it was a reckless and stupid way to do so, that I can totally agree with. The Clare lad was acting the maggot and was the instigator (constantly for a few mins off the ball before that) and he took on a stronger guy. As I said earlier,  what Harrison did was over the top but it has been dealt with. Both lads could have gotten a red, didn't think the black card was supposed to be used for incidents like that but there you go. The ref was happy with the action he took.
Mossie highlighting the COC incident was just sad and pathetic. COC has done plenty in the past but there was nothing in that incident. Embarrassing stuff from Quinn really. A Kerryman would have waited for the right moment to pull a stunt like that. If we continue to improve and are due to play Kerry, I expect 'analysis' like that in due course.
Our lads have to get smarter though. That game was over and both Harrison and Boyle risked getting sent off. AOS is a great example of constantly getting riled and harassed but never taking the bait, many could learn from him.
Post by: Halfquarter on July 10, 2017, 02:19:48 PM

Even after both players hit the ground together , Harrison head first, the Clare lad still had Harrison in a headlock.
Not sure that it is as onesided as some make out.
Post by: thewobbler on July 10, 2017, 02:37:09 PM
Quote from: Halfquarter on July 10, 2017, 02:19:48 PM

Even after both players hit the ground together , Harrison head first, the Clare lad still had Harrison in a headlock.

No it wasn't. It was wrestling. Not is it the most strategic of pursuits. You grab, you shove, you pull. If he doesn't let up, how your opponent fares isn't going to be a concern.
Post by: Taylor on July 10, 2017, 02:39:24 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 10, 2017, 02:37:09 PM

No it wasn't. It was wrestling. Not is it the most strategic of pursuits. You grab, you shove, you pull. If he doesn't let up, how your opponent fares isn't going to be a concern.

But you should have enough cop on to know not to do something that could be life changing for yourself?
Post by: thewobbler on July 10, 2017, 05:24:10 PM
Quote from: Taylor on July 10, 2017, 02:39:24 PM

But you should have enough cop on to know not to do something that could be life changing for yourself?

I know in these days of freeze frame technology, a dozen camera angles, and a thousand opinions it's easy to get confused. But we aren't computers, and we rely on instinct, not 10,000 calculations per second.

Given the choice between being dumped in the ground by Brendan Harrison or being shoulder charged at full tilt by Aidan O'Shea, I'd probably take the former. Just my opinion.

But hi it looks like we need to villify everything in the game these days. It annoys me greatly, but carry on.
Post by: mayo.mick on July 11, 2017, 01:52:41 PM
Some match video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y7bKl03iXM8
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 11, 2017, 02:06:55 PM
Quote from: Ballaghman on July 10, 2017, 11:51:09 AM

Mossie highlighting the COC incident was just sad and pathetic. COC has done plenty in the past but there was nothing in that incident. Embarrassing stuff from Quinn really.
I'm just after seeing what O Connor did now. Nothing in that incident? Cillian O Connor should miss the Cork game if the rules are applied here or maybe he will get lucky and this incident will be ignored.

(https://media.giphy.com/media/xUOrwqvfIqcNNUoHD2/giphy.gif)

Post by: Tubberman on July 11, 2017, 02:17:46 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 11, 2017, 02:06:55 PM
Quote from: Ballaghman on July 10, 2017, 11:51:09 AM

Mossie highlighting the COC incident was just sad and pathetic. COC has done plenty in the past but there was nothing in that incident. Embarrassing stuff from Quinn really.
I'm just after seeing what O Connor did now. Nothing in that incident? Cillian O Connor should miss the Cork game if the rules are applied here or maybe he will get lucky and this incident will be ignored.

(https://media.giphy.com/media/xUOrwqvfIqcNNUoHD2/giphy.gif)

You mean when he was being held by 2 Clare players and the 3rd came in and shouldered him into the chest, and O'Connor shoved him away?
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 11, 2017, 02:30:00 PM
TBH C O Connor will be lucky if he avoids suspension looking at that.
Post by: dublin7 on July 11, 2017, 02:39:23 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 10, 2017, 05:24:10 PM

I know in these days of freeze frame technology, a dozen camera angles, and a thousand opinions it's easy to get confused. But we aren't computers, and we rely on instinct, not 10,000 calculations per second.

Given the choice between being dumped in the ground by Brendan Harrison or being shoulder charged at full tilt by Aidan O'Shea, I'd probably take the former. Just my opinion.

But hi it looks like we need to villify everything in the game these days. It annoys me greatly, but carry on.

There is a reason rugby have clamped down on tackles like that in the last few years. Incredibly dangerous and the Clare player had no way to protect himself. To even claim taking a hard shoulder would be worse is simply idiotic.
Post by: Syferus on July 11, 2017, 03:12:30 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 11, 2017, 02:39:23 PM

There is a reason rugby have clamped down on tackles like that in the last few years. Incredibly dangerous and the Clare player had no way to protect himself. To even claim taking a hard shoulder would be worse is simply idiotic.

Post by: rosnarun on July 11, 2017, 04:12:57 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 11, 2017, 02:39:23 PM

main reason is rugby players are now pumped to the gill with EPA Stimulants steroids Blood doping gene doping Peptide Hormones and Analogues and jaffa cakes
Post by: thefont on July 11, 2017, 05:17:23 PM
The harrison one is dangerous. Judo throws like that can do a lot of damage if the head hits the ground awkwardly. We saw a Derry player going for the eyes to release himself from a wrestle and there were two throws this weekend (one by harrison and another in the Galway/Roscommon melee). Who started it is irrelevant, players need to face sanctions for these things. If I remember correctly (a good while ago now) a Fermanagh county player was left in a critical condition after being on the end of a judo throw when tangling with an opposition player in San Francisco club football. This isn't an anti-Mayo thing it needs to be stamped out for the safety of all players.

The Cillian thing on the other hand smells a bit. A bit like the Keegan thing. However we all know Cillian exacted some retribution on Philly McMahon last year which has infuriated the Dubs and it seems they are not going to let it go. He's a tough player who plays very close to the edge in the physical stakes (as does Philly McMahon) and he needs to be very careful now or we could lose him for a big match. Which begs the question who is our replacement free taker these days?

I would now say it is likely Cillian will get a red-card this year if he makes contact with the face of a player when tackling regardless of the intent. Referees can be effectively led as we have seen previously with the Keegan media stuff. No point complaining about it, management need to cognisant and plan accordingly.
Post by: blast05 on July 11, 2017, 11:58:31 PM
Quote from: thefont on July 11, 2017, 05:17:23 PM
The harrison one is dangerous. Judo throws like that can do a lot of damage if the head hits the ground awkwardly. We saw a Derry player going for the eyes to release himself from a wrestle and there were two throws this weekend (one by harrison and another in the Galway/Roscommon melee). Who started it is irrelevant, players need to face sanctions for these things. If I remember correctly (a good while ago now) a Fermanagh county player was left in a critical condition after being on the end of a judo throw when tangling with an opposition player in San Francisco club football. This isn't an anti-Mayo thing it needs to be stamped out for the safety of all players.

The Cillian thing on the other hand smells a bit. A bit like the Keegan thing. However we all know Cillian exacted some retribution on Philly McMahon last year which has infuriated the Dubs and it seems they are not going to let it go. He's a tough player who plays very close to the edge in the physical stakes (as does Philly McMahon) and he needs to be very careful now or we could lose him for a big match. Which begs the question who is our replacement free taker these days?

I would now say it is likely Cillian will get a red-card this year if he makes contact with the face of a player when tackling regardless of the intent. Referees can be effectively led as we have seen previously with the Keegan media stuff. No point complaining about it, management need to cognisant and plan accordingly.

You are right about Cillian and refs for the rest of the season.
The Sunday f**king Game have again set the tone re Cillian when they asked the Dublin GAA Commercial Manager to comment on Cillian defending himself. Same as that complete bolloux act last year when Ciaran Whelan put the icing on the cake as far as Dublin were concerned but sewing the seed firmly in the refs mind re Lee Keegan

'Defending himself' you ask re Cillian .... YES ....  incident linked below was seconds before Cillians attempt to defend himself:
https://youtu.be/sky8ojZPdKE (https://youtu.be/sky8ojZPdKE)
What was he supposed to do .... continue to be horsed about the place all games long ?

I tell you, if Cillian is sent off for a 'soft' incident later in the summer, then it would take all my restraint to not march on the Sunday Games Studio and ..... OK, well i'd probably do f*ck all but i would have a fair blast of steam that would need to be released somehow!

Post by: mayoaremagic on July 12, 2017, 10:43:39 AM
Quote from: blast05 on July 11, 2017, 11:58:31 PM

The Sunday f**king Game have again set the tone re Cillian when they asked the Dublin GAA Commercial Manager to comment on Cillian defending himself. Same as that complete bolloux act last year when Ciaran Whelan put the icing on the cake as far as Dublin were concerned but sewing the seed firmly in the refs mind re Lee Keegan

'Defending himself' you ask re Cillian .... YES ....  incident linked below was seconds before Cillians attempt to defend himself:
What was he supposed to do .... continue to be horsed about the place all games long ?

I tell you, if Cillian is sent off for a 'soft' incident later in the summer, then it would take all my restraint to not march on the Sunday Games Studio and ..... OK, well i'd probably do f*ck all but i would have a fair blast of steam that would need to be released somehow!

+1 Cillian needs more protection from referees
Post by: iorras on July 12, 2017, 12:55:42 PM
The Dubs constant jumping on any real or perceived disciplinary incident involving Mayo players is a back handed compliment in many ways, they know we are the only ones who have consistently put it up to them in recent years and they would no doubt love if Mayo were out.
The unfairness of the Sunday Game and the pro Dublin agenda is fecken sickening. If we had that advantage in Mayo I'd take it if it led to winning but I'd at least be honest enough to admit that unlike the one eyed Dubs who unfortunately make up an increasing number of their support.
And dont get me stated on Aslan :)
Post by: westbound on July 12, 2017, 02:14:50 PM
Quote from: blast05 on July 11, 2017, 11:58:31 PM

That 'incident' is fairly harmless to be fair. Nothing that no forward worth his salt doesn't regularly get.

Post by: Maroon Manc on July 12, 2017, 04:59:17 PM
I'm no fan of COC and he's up there as one of the most cynical players in the game but there's now way he should get a ban for that and there was certainly an agenda if that was shown on TSG.

Post by: rosnarun on July 13, 2017, 12:43:11 PM
some joke if a guy who is being manhandled by 3 opponents  end up getting the ban