GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 19, 2018, 03:12:50 PM

Title: Leinster Club Football Championship 2018
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 19, 2018, 03:12:50 PM
Here is the draw for this years Leinster Club Championship:

October 28th
Round 1
Meath v Wexford
Kildare v Westmeath
Wicklow v Offaly

November 11th
Quarter-finals:
1 – Meath/Wexford v Dublin;
2 – Kildare/Westmeath v Laois
3 – Wicklow/Offaly v Longford
4 – Louth v Carlow

November 25th
Semi-finals
1 v 2
3 v 4

December 9th
Final

Title: Re: Leinster Club Football Championship 2018
Post by: portlaoisekid on August 20, 2018, 10:23:16 AM
That's one hell of a tough side of the draw for the Laois champions.
Post by: Don Draper on August 20, 2018, 10:32:42 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on August 20, 2018, 10:23:16 AM
That's one hell of a tough side of the draw for Portlaoise

I fixed that for you.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on August 21, 2018, 12:58:49 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on August 20, 2018, 10:32:42 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on August 20, 2018, 10:23:16 AM
That's one hell of a tough side of the draw for Portlaoise

I fixed that for you.

It's still one hell of a tough draw...
Post by: The PRO on September 22, 2018, 09:13:22 AM
Both Courtwood and Annanough are guaranteed places in Leinster this year even before they play county finals.
Courtwood because Mountmellick Gaels aren't a club on their own and Annanough because O'Dempseys are a second team.
Post by: clonadmad on September 22, 2018, 09:44:54 AM
10-11-2018 (Sat)
Leinster Club IFC Quarter Final (Extra time if necessary)
Louth or Meath Reps​​v​Courtwood

Leinster Club JFC Quarter Final (Extra time if necessary)
Westmeath or Louth Reps​v​Annanough
Post by: SCFC on November 04, 2018, 06:21:11 PM
All three of our football representatives in Leinster are out next weekend.
Courtwood and Annanough are both away on Saturday to Louth teams.
And then Portlaoise are also away on Sunday to Moorefield.
Tough games I think. Could conceivably lose all three.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 04, 2018, 07:30:29 PM
Portlaoise won't lose, Courtwood are pretty decent intermediate champions.  I have no idea on Annanough.
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 04, 2018, 08:11:41 PM
If Portlaoise play the way they did against O'Dempseys they will be in bother. I don't know about Courtwood cause I know nothing about the louth champions. Same with Annanough . Courtwood recently got a 20+ point beating by Portlaoise in a recent challenge Game so I wouldn't be too excited about them .
Post by: Jd on November 04, 2018, 10:31:17 PM
I think Portlaoise will go well in leinster.  Their  championship  starts now and they are probably the second best team in leinster. I was impressed  with courtwood  in the intermediate  but they finished  up six weeks  ago and while I fancy them to advance I know  that the Louth team have had three hard matches in the past few weeks which will have them well ready for a tough battle.  I've seen annanough a few times and they never impress me but got the job done.  I think they're  not really set up for a run in leinster  but now they'll go and prove me wrong but I feel their lack of pace might be their undoing
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 04, 2018, 10:33:15 PM
Whose the best team in Leinster so ?
Post by: Helix on November 04, 2018, 10:34:44 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on November 04, 2018, 10:33:15 PM
Kilmacud Crokes?
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 04, 2018, 10:45:28 PM
Quote from: Helix on November 04, 2018, 10:34:44 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on November 04, 2018, 10:33:15 PM
Kilmacud Crokes?
They were the best in Dublin THIS year. Dosent necessarily mean they are the best in Leinster I'd imagine . Only time will tell I suppose
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 05, 2018, 09:40:21 AM
Moorefield seem to think its a matter of turning up against Portlaoise. I feel it might be tougher than they think and also Kilmacud could will be done over by Dunboyne.
Post by: Don Draper on November 05, 2018, 10:15:34 AM
Courtwood are a lovely side, but I would fear the heavier ground might not play to their players strengths. Annanough on the other hand might be built for this time of year. Time will tell.
Post by: SCFC on November 05, 2018, 01:54:16 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 05, 2018, 10:15:34 AM
Courtwood are a lovely side, but I would fear the heavier ground might not play to their players strengths. Annanough on the other hand might be built for this time of year. Time will tell.
That's not a bad theory at all. The forecast for the week is not great either.
Post by: From the Terrace on November 10, 2018, 12:29:55 AM
I think/hope portlaoise will win. I fear for annanough & courtwood game is a flick of a coin, hopefully they get through.
Post by: Helix on November 11, 2018, 05:08:19 PM
Good win for Portlaoise today. Much the better side overall  but missed good few chances up front. Tough conditions stepped up when needed. Another day out in 2 weeks in Parnell Park vs Kilmacud Crokes.
Post by: High Fielder on November 11, 2018, 05:35:55 PM
It was a real team performance and a deserved win. It's no mean feat beating Moorefield in their own back yard and I thought Portlaoise coped with all challenges put in front of them. I thought the young Finn lad was man of the match by a mile, as he had Hurley Lynch in his pocket. Cahir struggled with O Connor and it's going to be tough for him going week after week. O Connor instigated that mini row after their goal and sneakily took a dive when challenged by Healy. Classy players like him don't need to resort to that sort of stuff and I'm delighted he's licking his wounds tonight.

Work rate and togetherness were a big factor in today's performance. Of course Kilmacud in Parnell Parkwon't be easy, but Portlaoise need to take encouragement from today and build on it. Was Saunders dropped or is he injured?
Post by: Helix on November 11, 2018, 06:11:27 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on November 11, 2018, 05:35:55 PM
It was a real team performance and a deserved win. It's no mean feat beating Moorefield in their own back yard and I thought Portlaoise coped with all challenges put in front of them. I thought the young Finn lad was man of the match by a mile, as he had Hurley Lynch in his pocket. Cahir struggled with O Connor and it's going to be tough for him going week after week. O Connor instigated that mini row after their goal and sneakily took a dive when challenged by Healy. Classy players like him don't need to resort to that sort of stuff and I'm delighted he's licking his wounds tonight.

Work rate and togetherness were a big factor in today's performance. Of course Kilmacud in Parnell Parkwon't be easy, but Portlaoise need to take encouragement from today and build on it. Was Saunders dropped or is he injured?

Saunders was injured I heard. Benny Carroll injured too.
Post by: welcomehome on November 11, 2018, 06:17:37 PM
I thought it was portlaoise best performance yet..they played so well,Look very strong this year,,it was great to be able to bring on brian glynn.. saunders and benny carroll are injured. Iwas great to see portlaoise with a big support from all over the county..it will be a tought match against kilmacd,but i think we can di it...
Post by: Heshs Umpire on November 11, 2018, 08:04:37 PM
Didn't get there but delighted Portlaoise did the business today. Anytime a Laois team beats a Kildare team, it's a good days work.
That's the job our own lads have in 2 weeks time and it should be a tough one. TMH are very highly rated.
Yesterday, we had a poor first half up in Ardee but that six week lay off surely played some part. Good third quarter and dug it out in the last 10 minutes. #newbridgeornowhere 🙂
Post by: Jd on November 11, 2018, 09:16:48 PM
Was at both  Courtwood and Portlaoise  matches  Portlaoise looked very strong and I felt were never really in trouble  I felt they had that bit more class and were able to keep Moorefield at arms length both Lillis  and Mcevoy were strong at midfield and Bruno  is the fulcrum around which the forwards  revolve. I'd leading their experiences in previous years will stand to them  I said earlier  that their year is designed to start now and see no reason to change.  I think they'll give Kilmacud  a serious rattle.  Courtwood  looked awful yesterday for long periods and in my opinion  it was just from a long lay off.  Passes were going astray and balls dropped  that earlier  in the year were going straight  to hand.  That said Niall  Donoher  got injured after 5 min and was at around  quarter  pace for the match.  I found it strange  that they  left him on.  they got going well in the 20 minutes after half time and ate the other crowd up.   Young flynn appears  to be the real deal.  Every time I see him he's  getting  better.  They did enough  to hold on despite  giving away a shocking  goal at the end.  I feel  sorry for Annanough  cos they got a hiding but they did very well to win the junior  and will be happy enough with the year they've had.  It's good to see our club teams being so well supported  outside the county with all clubs bringing  big crowds with them
Post by: town1980 on November 11, 2018, 09:48:09 PM
A super performance today delighted with the boys and please god more to come, chair brilliant first half struggled second half,hard to see any club team beat us in laois as Moore field have a massive hold on Kildare club football,,well done boys all roads lead to Parnell par great support from the laois people we do hate Kildare
Post by: Don Draper on November 11, 2018, 10:11:24 PM
Quote from: town1980 on November 11, 2018, 09:48:09 PM
A super performance today delighted with the boys and please god more to come, chair brilliant first half struggled second half,hard to see any club team beat us in laois as Moore field have a massive hold on Kildare club football,,well done boys all roads lead to Parnell par great support from the laois people we do hate Kildare
You're f**king from Kildare
Post by: Blow-in on November 11, 2018, 10:44:17 PM
Quote from: town1980 on November 11, 2018, 09:48:09 PM

Can anyone translate this?
Post by: Unlaoised on November 12, 2018, 04:39:04 AM
Portlaoise were superb yesterday and really deserved their win .

They won the physical battle which many said they wouldnt .

They were helped by a shocking first half performance by the moorefield net minder who was so bad he was replaced at half time he gifted portlaoise 1-3 in the first half .

Portlaoise were a bit naive near the end and should have killed the game earlier but it made for a great spectacle the kildare crowd were sick around me but youd be happy cause some of the insults thrown at Portlaoise players was a disgrace.

I thought Mcevoy was outstanding as was P cahillane he kicked some wonder points .

Brody did well apart from the goal and his run at the end was as enjoyable as it was tense great stuff to watch .

That Flanagan chap has the makings of a great player despite kicking one stray one Bruno was excellent everything stuck with the veteran full forward.

Great to see so many from Laois there to support Portlaoise seen lads from Rathenskia Stradbally Ballyfin Borris castletown mountmellick and Ballyroan .

Hopefully a few more will travel in two weeks when they face the cocky Kilmacud in Parnell park .

Post by: Leixlad on November 12, 2018, 08:14:32 AM
A fine performance from Portlaoise.  No mean feat going to the home of the reigning Leinster champions and knocking them out.
I thought Portlaoise were much stronger all over the field with Moorefield still relying on Sweeney to carry them when it mattered most. Jesus they were shocking in the first half.

Portlaoise started brightly and seemed to have a grip on the game almost all over the field but especially at midfield. But for all the dominance they were on 2 points up and i felt they needed the goal badly and then it came, a gift from the goalie. Brody made couple of smart saves in the first half to keep them out which was important playing with the wind. Not sure what went through his head for the goal but he looked as stunned as anyone! Its not hard to forgive him in fairness, especially with the run he went on near the end, as someone said it was great drama and excitement! 

Thought Portlaoise reacted really well to the goal kicking 3 points without reply and that was game over really. Moorefield never looked like pulling Portlaoise back. Some great defending from Portlaoise you really have to admire how they defend. Huge work rate, they dont sit too deep everyone must pick up a lose man so the man in possession has little options. Result is opposition have to kick a ball to a man marked with turnover possible rather than passing handy balls around the middle.

Chris Finn was outstanding, came out with huge amounts of balls. Holland likewise. Healy had his hands full in second half with Jack O Connors son Eanna but he will come on a ton from that. He will need to as I would imagine he will be picking up a certain P Mannion next day out. 2 midfieldes very good, McEvoy really impressed me i have to say. Lillis the wise head rarely does wrong thing. Up front Bruno was Bruno and Cahilane played a big roll, as now is normal for him to be fair.

Semi final will be a cracker, Portlaoise have every chance especially with Saunders and Carroll to come back they will feel they go there with a chance of a upset.

Great support there as someone pointed out, from all over the county. I have 3 theories there though call me cynical if you like but someone might be able to shed some light  ;D Was there a big crowd there from around Laois to a) support Portlaoise, b)see Portlaoise lose or c) see a Kildare team lose? 
Post by: Blow-in on November 12, 2018, 09:02:07 AM
Why would people want Portlaoise lose? If every club in Laois worked harder they might win a club championship. Anyone who hopes Portlaoise don't win a Leinster should be ashamed. A fantastic side and best of luck to them, likewise with Courtwood
Post by: Don Draper on November 12, 2018, 09:04:49 AM
Why in the name of jaysus would anyone go to that shithole in Kildare to see Portlaoise lose. Silly statement. And I'm happy to see a Kildare side lose in anything to anyone.
Post by: Laois fan on November 12, 2018, 09:30:48 AM
Im not sure if healy would have the pace for mannion,they could easily put dillon on him he did well in leinster final marking him
Post by: Laois Rising on November 12, 2018, 09:34:05 AM
watching Healy yesterday you sense he is on the decline (perfectly understandable considering toll of injuries, travelling and being 33). He is still a top club player. However, I would be in favour of moving Gareth Dillon onto Mannion. You need someone with pace to mark a player like him and I don't see Healy having the speed required to keep pace with him.

Good performance yesterday. It is a pity that they threw away last year's game against Moorefield. It will be such a tough task going to Parnell Park where Kilmacud will be very familiar with playing at. This group of players deserve a Leinster club. They have had a few near misses and I fearful it could be the same this year. Kilmacud have really hit their stride in the last few weeks and were hugely impressive again yesterday.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 12, 2018, 09:35:11 AM
My rule of thumb is oppose Portlaoise within Laois, but once they leave the county boundaries become a supporter.  Unfortunately I was not there yesterday but if previous years are anything to go by Portlaoise's support was probably matched or equaled from those outside Portlaoise as has been the case in previous years.  Personally I think Portlaoise will win Leinster but will find it difficult against the giants of club football Crokes & Corofin they look well ahead of the rest.
Post by: High Fielder on November 12, 2018, 10:33:45 AM
I wouldn't even contemplate Healy on Mannion. It just has to be Dillon in my opinion. Cahir is killing himself with football, hurling, work and travelling. I don't think he'd want it any other way and to be honest, he's an absolute credit to himself and his club. Just saw the odds there and Portlaoise are 3/1 to win the match against Kilmacud. It just goes to show the size of the task, but I think those odds are a little bit exaggerated. I'd give them a better chance than that.
Post by: Helix on November 12, 2018, 10:49:22 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on November 12, 2018, 10:33:45 AM
I wouldn't even contemplate Healy on Mannion. It just has to be Dillon in my opinion. Cahir is killing himself with football, hurling, work and travelling. I don't think he'd want it any other way and to be honest, he's an absolute credit to himself and his club. Just saw the odds there and Portlaoise are 3/1 to win the match against Kilmacud. It just goes to show the size of the task, but I think those odds are a little bit exaggerated. I'd give them a better chance than that.

Thought Frank Flanagan played fierce well as well as Chris Finn mopping up ball in full back line. Ciaran McEvoy probably his best game in a Portlaoise Jersey. Like few lads think Dillon is the man for Paul Mannion. I'd imagine there'll be a great crowd again go to Parnell Park. I imagine whoever wins this will win Leinster. Anyone can tell when was the last time a Laois team beat a Dublin club in Leinster?

http://kildaregaa.forumotion.com/t1628p325-club-championship-2018#84070

See on the Kildare forum one not happy with the ref and that Moorefield were rode. 2nd best all day long. F**k them you couldn't beat a Kildare team by enough!

Post by: Heshs Umpire on November 12, 2018, 11:24:23 AM
Quote from: Leixlad on November 12, 2018, 08:14:32 AM
Great support there as someone pointed out, from all over the county. I have 3 theories there though call me cynical if you like but someone might be able to shed some light  ;D Was there a big crowd there from around Laois to a) support Portlaoise, b)see Portlaoise lose or c) see a Kildare team lose?
a) and c) I'd guess.
Post by: From the Terrace on November 12, 2018, 11:43:04 AM
I know portlaoise beat kilmacud 14-8 in 2004. Not sure if was the last time, hopefully that's a good omen anyway. I Think the 3 point head start on portlaoise on the handicap is a good bet. I think portlaoise have a great chance tbh. They seem a very well drilled outfit.
Post by: Don Draper on November 12, 2018, 11:53:20 AM
Quote from: From the Terrace on November 12, 2018, 11:43:04 AM
I know portlaoise beat kilmacud 14-8 in 2004. Not sure if was the last time, hopefully that's a good omen anyway.
Portlaoise roared into a 7 point lead in 2010 and solidly fucked it away, losing 2-4 to 2-7.

Granted there was other matters at play in 2010.
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 12, 2018, 11:58:19 AM
It's St Columba's Mullinalaghatas Leinster to lose
Post by: Don Draper on November 12, 2018, 12:04:55 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on November 12, 2018, 11:58:19 AM
It's St Columba's Mullinalaghatas Leinster to lose
Hon the Laurels.
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 12, 2018, 01:28:22 PM
I thought Portlaoise were excellent yesterday and they earned their victory . Kilmacud will be a step up in class again but I believe Portlaoise have more gears to go through.

I thought Finn ,Holland and Flanagan were excellent, all three do the basics well and are cracking young players.

On a side note I thought there was a nasty element to the Moorefield support, some of the comments flying at our players were disgusting. Even after the match they were trying to start arguments. Couldn't be happier to see them beaten .

Post by: High Fielder on November 12, 2018, 01:42:19 PM
Just makes it sweeter PK. I think they like the fact that they feel they can intimidate. They were killed with football yesterday and on a harder track, they'd have got a belly full. Conditions didn't suit either team yesterday but I would have thought they suited Moorefield better. On that basis, I think it's a significant win. The name calling and winding up is their idea of mood music. The Kildare crow has always been particularly hard to listen to, particularly when he has something to sing about
Post by: Giovanni on November 12, 2018, 05:14:39 PM
Would agreed with most of what was said above. Portlaoise looked to be in control all through but it was a bit worrying that they had to get away with a marginal penalty shout at the end. I think we've all seen them given.

I was a little surprised to see Cahir Healy left one on one with his man in acres of space in the second half. The forward always has a huge advantage in those circumstances. I don't really blame Healy - I thought more could have been done by the people in front of him to reduce the space (which will be very important next day, whoever is marking Mannion).

Overall though, it was a pleasure, as usual, to watch Portlaoise in action. They won't be easily beaten.
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on November 12, 2018, 05:31:52 PM
Anyone know the situation with the 2 injuries. Benny Carroll is a big loss.
Post by: From the Terrace on November 12, 2018, 06:40:33 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 12, 2018, 11:53:20 AM
I know portlaoise beat kilmacud 14-8 in 2004. Not sure if was the last time, hopefully that's a good omen anyway.
Portlaoise roared into a 7 point lead in 2010 and solidly fucked it away, losing 2-4 to 2-7.

Portlaoise really should have at least one if not two more leinster titles if your going to be critical. The quality of players are there last year another prime example.
Post by: Don Draper on November 13, 2018, 08:07:41 AM
Quote from: From the Terrace on November 12, 2018, 06:40:33 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 12, 2018, 11:53:20 AM

Portlaoise really should have at least one if not two more leinster titles if your going to be critical. The quality of players are there last year another prime example.
You'd give them a pass in 2010, but Boden and last year were ones that will stick in their throats.
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 13, 2018, 09:27:10 AM
Ballyboden was a total sickener but last year not so much, I don't think Portlaoise were as good last year as they are now.
Post by: Don Draper on November 13, 2018, 09:41:06 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on November 13, 2018, 09:27:10 AM
Ballyboden was a total sickener but last year not so much, I don't think Portlaoise were as good last year as they are now.
It was still left behind them. It was a tap in.

Jaysus when I think back on Boden, I nearly get sick meself. Michael Darragh f**king MacAuley scoring a goal, where would you see the life of it and he not fit to even solo a football.
Post by: From the Terrace on November 13, 2018, 11:06:19 AM
Agreed with all that. You'd forget about the Vincents one in 13 some f**king game.. I suppose you couldn't say it was a sickner cause vins were good that day but portlaoise were on it too!!
Post by: BallyroanAbbey on November 13, 2018, 11:21:08 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 13, 2018, 09:41:06 AM

Jaysus when I think back on Boden, I nearly get sick meself. Michael Darragh f**king MacAuley scoring a goal, where would you see the life of it and he not fit to even solo a football.

Yes the man that has won 6 all irelands and a former player of the year managed to score a goal, shock horror.

Going back to Sunday while Portlaoise were deserving of their victory looking at the negatives they did get 1-1 in the first half directly off goalkeepers mistakes whos replacement was a big improvement in the second half, Moorefield also got in for 2 good goal chances in the first half, also Moorefield pressed up in the second half on the Portlaoise backs which you would imagine Kilmacud will do for the duration of the game in Parnell Park, and Brody for as good as he is still has a major flaw under high balls. Maher was lucky to stay on too.

As for positives Ciaran McEvoy had as good a game as ive seen him play, the back were excellent bar Healy who struggled with O'Connor, Bruno won nearly everythjng that went to him, Rodgers got 1-2 for himself and felt it was harsh on him being taken off first, Glynn off the bench made a big impact too.

For the Kilmacud match id wonder will they consider putting Dillon back on Mannion considering how well he did on him in the Leinster final. I feel that Portlaoise will eventually have to beat a Dublin team, they are probably playing better now than they have for 5-6 years, and Crokes arent as strong as past teams from Dublin, especially Vincents. You would be hopeful that Glynn will be fit enough to go from the start the next day
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 13, 2018, 11:21:35 AM
Vincent's was the worst, if they had an ounce of cynicism they would have won that.  There is a softness to Portlaoise in tight games, this maybe my perception.  But you have Brigid's Leinster Final, Vincent's Leinster Final, Moorefield, Ballyboden and Kilmacud all games Portlaoise should have won.  I don't think Portlaoise's talent is in question but there is the aura of flat track bully's.  They will have to shed this to kick on to the next level.  This could possibly be coming from the way they go through our championship the lack of tight games.  It was nice to see them on Sunday overcoming that in a small way.
Post by: Don Draper on November 13, 2018, 11:25:54 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbbey on November 13, 2018, 11:21:08 AM

Yes the man that has won 6 all irelands and a former player of the year managed to score a goal, shock horror.

If you believe MDMA was a worthy winner of FOTY then I just don't even want to know you anymore.

Darren Daly has 6 All Irelands by the way. Just saying.
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 13, 2018, 12:00:55 PM
I'd actually agree with u Don . Michael Darragh dosent fill u with cofindence when he solos a ball .
Post by: redsetanta on November 13, 2018, 02:09:14 PM
He's an athletic basketballer who plays a bit of football
Post by: Giovanni on November 13, 2018, 03:48:23 PM
Reading article on Hoganstand there seems to be a bit of an issue about the fact that Kilmacud have home advantage. Does anyone know how the venue is selected?
Post by: Don Draper on November 13, 2018, 03:56:09 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on November 13, 2018, 03:48:23 PM
Reading article on Hoganstand there seems to be a bit of an issue about the fact that Kilmacud have home advantage. Does anyone know how the venue is selected?
Dublin teams get home advantage. Always. Always, always and always.
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 13, 2018, 04:10:08 PM
No issue with venue, it was determined before a ball was kicked.
Post by: BallyroanAbbey on November 13, 2018, 04:51:00 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 13, 2018, 11:25:54 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbbey on November 13, 2018, 11:21:08 AM

If you believe MDMA was a worthy winner of FOTY then I just don't even want to know you anymore.

Darren Daly has 6 All Irelands by the way. Just saying.

Never said that but the reality is his main attribute was driving runs down the middle of defences, which would require the odd solo, you wouldnt say no to him for laois would you? Anyway i dont want to be arguing the pros and cons of Michael Dara McAuley to be honest, and i dont care if you want to know me i dont want to know you, thus why its an anonymos fourm
Post by: on the hop on November 13, 2018, 05:25:13 PM
that Moorefield fella on the Kildare forum is some man to keep an argument going. :)
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 13, 2018, 05:36:11 PM
Why no love for MDMA caused some havoc when he came on in this years All Ireland.  I like him personally breaks up play, drags defenders good positional sense.  He offers something different,  you don't win 5 All Ireland's being a mug.
Post by: Don Draper on November 13, 2018, 05:39:26 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on November 13, 2018, 05:36:11 PM
Why no love for MDMA caused some havoc when he came on in this years All Ireland.  I like him personally breaks up play, drags defenders good positional sense.  He offers something different,  you don't win 5 All Ireland's being a mug.
He has many attributes, none of which should win him FOTY. He shouldn't have gotten within an arses roar of that goal.
Post by: Unlaoised on November 14, 2018, 10:43:25 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 13, 2018, 05:39:26 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on November 13, 2018, 05:36:11 PM
He has many attributes, none of which should win him FOTY. He shouldn't have gotten within an arses roar of that goal.

While I don't agree with Don on all issues this is one I have to agree with he isn't related to a footballer and if he wasn't with the Super machine that is Dublin he would have won very little in his career or got all stars

Back to the subject in hand it should be a great day out up in parnell I hope the county gets behind the Town in fairness they nearly always do its strange you find yourself shouting for them with gusto when they come out of Laois I suppose its the brand of football they play and the tradition they have they are a likeable team ..

Not too popular within the county because they are just so good and have such a big advantage pick wise but as a club they always conduct themselves well and this translates into the other clubs getting behind them .I even seen a Port man Sunday with Laois hat a green and white scarf :-)
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 14, 2018, 12:27:27 PM
Kilmacud Portlaoise should be a decent game but I think the Dublin side looked fairly strong against the Meath champions on Sunday . I'd expect St Columba's Mullinalaghta to beat Éire Og in the other semi . Tiny rural Longford club with a population of just over 400 people Mullinalaghta are ,but are making the most of what they have and have a few decent players.
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 14, 2018, 02:05:22 PM
Quote from: on the hop on November 13, 2018, 05:25:13 PM
that Moorefield fella on the Kildare forum is some man to keep an argument going. :)
Just had a look  he is on some campaign, I give him that. Apparently they were rode in 2010 as well. He will surely bring up 2003 Leinster final soon............
Post by: SCFC on November 14, 2018, 03:25:51 PM
Bad footballers just don't win 5 All Ireands and 2 All Stars. He mightn't be your classical player with all the silky skills but he wouldn't be part of the Dublin panel without being a very good footballer. If it was all about being an athlete, fecking David Gillick would have made it!!
Post by: Don Draper on November 14, 2018, 03:52:42 PM
Quote from: SCFC on November 14, 2018, 03:25:51 PM
Bad footballers just don't win 5 All Ireands and 2 All Stars. He mightn't be your classical player with all the silky skills but he wouldn't be part of the Dublin panel without being a very good footballer. If it was all about being an athlete, fecking David Gillick would have made it!!
My original point. Not worthy of FOTY and shouldn't have gotten in for that goal.
Post by: SCFC on November 14, 2018, 04:15:26 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 14, 2018, 03:52:42 PM
Quote from: SCFC on November 14, 2018, 03:25:51 PM
My original point. Not worthy of FOTY and shouldn't have gotten in for that goal.
TBH, can't remember that goal for Boden but have a vague recollection of it being a decent finish. No?
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 21, 2018, 12:11:32 PM
Seems to be a decent crowd going to the match Sunday from town, from what I hear there's numerous buses going. It would be great to get big support there from around the county. It would be big a big boost to the county to see off the Dubs for once.
Post by: The PRO on November 22, 2018, 12:51:15 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on November 21, 2018, 12:11:32 PM
Seems to be a decent crowd going to the match Sunday from town, from what I hear there's numerous buses going. It would be great to get big support there from around the county. It would be big a big boost to the county to see off the Dubs for once.
Can't get there myself on Sunday. Is it on TV?
Post by: Don Draper on November 22, 2018, 12:58:26 PM
Quote from: The PRO on November 22, 2018, 12:51:15 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on November 21, 2018, 12:11:32 PM
Can't get there myself on Sunday. Is it on TV?
Deferred
Post by: les Antiques on November 22, 2018, 02:20:52 PM
Yeah deferred until Monday night in the highlights package which is a pity . Connaught final been broadcast live followed by deferred showing of munster final which will be a waste of time .
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 22, 2018, 10:26:33 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on November 22, 2018, 02:20:52 PM
Yeah deferred until Monday night in the highlights package which is a pity . Connaught final been broadcast live followed by deferred showing of munster final which will be a waste of time .
Milltown Malbay will have other ideas
Post by: les Antiques on November 22, 2018, 10:37:00 PM
👌👍
Post by: les Antiques on November 22, 2018, 10:40:53 PM
From seeing both play recently I can't see Malbay getting within 10 points of Crokes .
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 23, 2018, 09:58:51 AM
The last time I seen a Clare football club written off a very certain Portlaoise got Their arses Handed to them by Kilmurry Ibrickane
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 23, 2018, 10:16:41 AM
That was a major disaster, Jack Nolan not the better of it since.  Never messed with Paddies Day again.
Post by: The PRO on November 23, 2018, 11:01:31 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on November 23, 2018, 09:58:51 AM
The last time I seen a Clare football club written off a very certain Portlaoise got Their arses Handed to them by Kilmurry Ibrickane
Ah well at least Portlaoise handed your lot their arses last week. Stop pretending you're from Laois. We're not that f**king stupid.
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on November 23, 2018, 06:20:52 PM
Any word on benny carroll being fit?
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 23, 2018, 10:56:15 PM
Quote from: The PRO on November 23, 2018, 11:01:31 AM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on November 23, 2018, 09:58:51 AM
Ah well at least Portlaoise handed your lot their arses last week. Stop pretending you're from Laois. We're not that f**king stupid.
Well if I was a Kildare man why would I be bothered commenting on a Laois forum all the time ?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 24, 2018, 12:23:43 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on November 22, 2018, 02:20:52 PM

Who said it was deferred until Monday night, these are the schedules from the TG4 website. According to this it's deferred until 3.35pm on Sunday afternoon..

(http://i65.tinypic.com/sweper.jpg)(http://i64.tinypic.com/vs13zs.jpg)
Post by: les Antiques on November 24, 2018, 09:13:10 AM
My apologies  Junior . I checked earlier this week and it had the Munster Final as the deferred match . Good to see its been changed .
Huge challenge for Portlaoise but one I think they can overcome . The Renaissance of Rogers has been a big factor this year . Portlaoise by 2 .
Post by: Don Draper on November 24, 2018, 09:11:56 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on November 24, 2018, 09:13:10 AM
My apologies  Junior . I checked earlier this week and it had the Munster Final as the deferred match . Good to see its been changed .
Huge challenge for Portlaoise but one I think they can overcome . The Renaissance of Rogers has been a big factor this year . Portlaoise by 2 .
That should be a concern, the one man is never wish to depend upon is Rogers
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 24, 2018, 09:34:14 PM
Rodgers is a serious player and always has been.
Post by: Don Draper on November 24, 2018, 10:25:34 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on November 24, 2018, 09:34:14 PM
Define serious
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 24, 2018, 11:07:42 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 24, 2018, 10:25:34 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on November 24, 2018, 09:34:14 PM
Define serious
Serious diver
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 24, 2018, 11:52:45 PM
One of the best Club Players in Laois over his career, him and Bruno make Portlaoise's forward line tick.  He is antagonist that's what makes others not so fond of him, but at club level he has been brilliant over his entire career.
Post by: Don Draper on November 25, 2018, 06:56:13 AM
Define brilliant?
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 25, 2018, 08:14:00 AM
Define 🎣
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 25, 2018, 08:42:26 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on November 25, 2018, 08:14:00 AM
Define 🎣
Thats brilliant   :D
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on November 25, 2018, 12:22:08 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 24, 2018, 09:11:56 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on November 24, 2018, 09:13:10 AM
That should be a concern, the one man is never wish to depend upon is Rogers

Don u comment for the sake of commenting. Anyone who thinks Rogers hasnt delivered for Portlaoise over the years hasnt watched much football or else they dont know what they are looking at.
Post by: town1980 on November 25, 2018, 02:38:59 PM
Half time and we have kicked I think 9 wides I think in saying that we are way to open and the kilmacud unit just have so much space ,, please god we convert a few of them chances were holding mansion well so far
Post by: Don Draper on November 25, 2018, 03:34:25 PM
I hate to say I told you so guys, but well, you know

Hard luck Portlaoise.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on November 25, 2018, 04:49:29 PM
Don Draper you're a miserable person.

Rogers came on and scored a goal..he also put himself forward and struck a decent penalty. It was an excellent save. That is life.

Do you ever do anything yourself or just try bring others down to your own level?
Post by: ollie12 on November 25, 2018, 04:57:08 PM
Hard luck portlaoise. Kicked some terrible wides. Rodgers is human, and humans miss penalties.  Don't go knocking the lad and throw him under a bus. He certainly owes that portlaoise team nothing.
Post by: Don Draper on November 25, 2018, 05:07:16 PM
Weekly hit at a nice height. I merely said he wasn't the quality others believed him to be, and that I wouldn't wish to depend on him, sorry if I don't blow smoke up their arses like some do. I didn't question his parenthood or anything.

This is a fine Portlaoise side who have yet again let another year pass them by, once is unfortunate, twice is careless, but this is too much now. We're a great county for a moral defeat. I don't believe Malachy or this Portlaoise side care for them, but it's another one and combined with last year and that sending off, they should really be going for back to back.
Post by: Jd on November 25, 2018, 06:40:07 PM
Not a Portlaoise  man by any means but I thought they deserved a lot more from that match.  Does anyone  else feel that kilmacud  got all the 50/50 decisions. Sadly I think Brunos  time has come.  Incredibly  wasteful  today.  And despite  Portlaoise  kicking wide after wide they should have at least taken it to extra time.  Very poor penalty.  I thought.  He actually tried to chip  the keeper into the top corner.  Was surprised  Cahalane  didn't take it!!
Post by: High Fielder on November 25, 2018, 07:28:53 PM
I think the best team won on the day. The first half was an eye opener and the pace of Kilmacud simply destroyed Portlaoise at times. You can't let teams carve you open that easily, and it was disappointing to see how easily Kilmacud got into scoring positions. Yes Portlaoise kicked wides, but they were under pressure or not clear cut chances. That was the difference between the two sides in the first half. Kilmacud worked their way into scoring positions far too easily, and their miss rate was low. Portlaoise worked hard for what they got and made a lot of bad decisions in their forwards when patience was needed. It was a massive bonus to go in only 3 points down.

The second half clearly showed that Kilmacud had started too quickly. They couldn't go that pace for an entire game, and they were getting turned over. When the game was in the melting pot, they found a way, and I don't know how, to go ahead again. They looked like a beaten team at that point, notwithstanding Portlaoise still making some bad decisions. Like all the previous years before, it was there for Portlaoise, but certain players were tiring and mistakes were kicking in. The penalty doesn't worry me, because a draw would not have been a fair result. With each passing year, a different type of team seems to present a different type of challenge, and Portlaoise just nook that little bit naive on each occasion. I would never doubt their ability but they need to find a cute whoor streak from somewhere. They also need to go in en masse to the Laois set up, because Sugrue will improve them and they will improve Laois.

All of the above said, I thought David Seale was awesome today.
Post by: Tony on November 26, 2018, 08:56:15 PM
Hard luck to Portlaoise but the better team won on the day. Completely agree with High Fielder in that if more portlaoise lads row in behind the laois setup, then it's a win win for everybody. It raises everybody's level, including their own and their club. I hope we get 8 - 10 or so Portlaoise lads in the Laois set up for 2019. They are so far ahead in Laois that I really don't think that 8-10 players from the town on the squad would be over doing it. And Don, this forum is doing well, generally. Do not bring it down the swan hole with that rubbish. There's a way to say anything without being disrespectful to players and management. Being disrespectful about amateur players online ANONYMOUSLY is just about the most pathethic and cowardly act I can think of. Hiding behind your faceless "don draper" username; knowing the person behind it just makes me cringe to be honest. Cut it out.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 26, 2018, 09:25:01 PM
What number was david seale?
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on November 26, 2018, 09:37:27 PM
Baffled as to why cahillane didnt take it. Is he not the regular penalty taker?
Very poor first 20 mins. Panic set in a little i though with erratic shooting.
Benny Carroll was a big loss.
Thought Seale was very good. Mcevoy too. Dillon again was excellent.
Hard on them continually falling just short.
Will mcnulty stay on? Bruno got another year in him?
Would be good to see seale and mcevoy join the laois panel. Maybe finn and saunders too.

Would be great if certain heads could raise above the pointless bitching & nit picking that goes on here.
Loads of great posters on here. Would be amuch bettter site without it.

Post by: Laoiseabu on November 26, 2018, 10:02:51 PM
Seale was number 3. Does anyone think that seale deserves another shot with Laois ? I know he was involved a few years ago and it didn't work out but he was thrown straight in at the deepend against Galway in division 2 and was on Damien Comer. Maybe he's worth another shot now as he's older and more mature.
Post by: Helix on November 26, 2018, 10:25:21 PM
Good to see a decent laois crowd there. Lads from Joseph's Clonaslee and Annanough as well as few others  scattered around. Left it behind them with wayward shooting in 1st half. Kilmacud probably go on and beat the Longford crowd. They were far more composed on the ball than Portlaoise and got their scores handier. That full back Andrew McGowan for Kilmacud very decent player came out with a fair amount of ball. He'll  be very decent for Dublin seniors in not too distant future.

Post by: Laoiseabu on November 26, 2018, 10:40:57 PM
Them Longford boys have a population of 350 human beings including man and woman ,young and old, babies  and grandparents . These are a different kettle of bananas these guys . Could give kilmacud a fair rattle .
Post by: les Antiques on November 26, 2018, 10:42:50 PM
Hard luck to Portlaoise. It just seemed they were always that little behind Crokes even when they pulled level .
Seale was immense and hopefully will be given another opportunity with the county . I'm sure he will . Rogers made a big impact when he came on and was a general nuisance .
Healys desire for the jersey is incredible but I think the pace of the game  this year has caught up with him . Regardless he owes portlaoise nothing .
Thought that brody save before half time was special .
Don't think the final will be that clear cut but expect Crokes to prevail .
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 26, 2018, 11:15:11 PM
Kilmacud for such a big club didn't bring many 1200 was the attendance seemed bigger
Post by: High Fielder on November 26, 2018, 11:45:36 PM
Is that what they said it was officially? I felt it was more like double that with more on top. Very dodgy. I'm always suspicious when I see a turnstile that doesn't stop.

Seale is a different player to the one who first went in. Things didn't work out back then, but I hope we can get him on board. He's very good. I'd have no problem putting Saunders straight into the Senior set up either. He has the makings of a special player. Kieran Lillis has improved beyond all recognition as a result of his commitment to Laois, and I don't believe that Portlaoise can get over the line in Leinster without some help. I think next year is their last throw of the dice and I would urge them all to think about that and how they can improve that last percentage or two. There is very little wrong with Portlaoise, but their marquee players will never be ready unless they go hard for a whole campaign.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on November 27, 2018, 07:43:08 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on November 26, 2018, 11:45:36 PM
Is that what they said it was officially? I felt it was more like double that with more on top. Very dodgy. I'm always suspicious when I see a turnstile that doesn't stop.

To be honest I was surprised at 1200 looked far larger than that.  Extremely suspect !
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 27, 2018, 08:55:57 AM
Tough result to take, in reality Portlaoise were always on the back foot. They didn't settle and really giving up 1-10 in the first half was too much.

There were some fine performances but our forwards never clicked and some awful wides and kicks into keeper and fullbacks hands crippled us.

Apparently Malachys future is very much up in the air. I hope he stays on because Portlaoise are not far away but some changes are needed to win a Leinster.
Post by: Laoiseabu on November 27, 2018, 12:37:40 PM
Was this Bruno's last roll of the dice? Portlaoise are going to get it very hard to replace a player of his caliber. Can't help but feel the days of them challenging for a club all Ireland are almost behind us . Many decent youngsters coming through In the town?
Post by: High Fielder on November 27, 2018, 11:06:52 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on November 27, 2018, 08:55:57 AM
Tough result to take, in reality Portlaoise were always on the back foot. They didn't settle and really giving up 1-10 in the first half was too much.

There were some fine performances but our forwards never clicked and some awful wides and kicks into keeper and fullbacks hands crippled us.

Apparently Malachys future is very much up in the air. I hope he stays on because Portlaoise are not far away but some changes are needed to win a Leinster.

I hope he stays. The margin between success and failure is too small to walk away from. Unfortunately, there are a number of factors preventing them from achieving what they want to, and just as one problem gets sorted, another one surfaces. A few years ago, it was midfield and the back line that worried me, now it's the forwards. Also, the fact that the opposition changes most years is not helping.

I'd be very confident that Portlaoise would beat Crokes next week, because they know now the type of challenge they'd be facing and could prepare accordingly. To say that Kilmacud was a step up on anything they faced this year would be a huge understatement, whereas they would have played and beaten strong teams to get out of Dublin. But that's the size of the task and the GAA world we live in right now. Hand on heart, I think the ship might have sailed, purely because I think Bruno is reaching the end and good scoring forwards (Cahillane aside) don't seem to be there. Bruno is almost impossible to replace, and in many ways, you would have to reinvent the wheel if he wasn't there. Any chance you could give a Garda a good home for a couple of years or just go shopping elsewhere in the county? I'm told anything goes with the right utility bill in your back pocket.
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2018, 07:35:45 AM
Would you not prefer to win it with your own?
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 28, 2018, 08:29:09 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on November 27, 2018, 11:06:52 PM

I hope he stays. The margin between success and failure is too small to walk away from. Unfortunately, there are a number of factors preventing them from achieving what they want to, and just as one problem gets sorted, another one surfaces. A few years ago, it was midfield and the back line that worried me, now it's the forwards. Also, the fact that the opposition changes most years is not helping.

I'd be very confident that Portlaoise would beat Crokes next week, because they know now the type of challenge they'd be facing and could prepare accordingly. To say that Kilmacud was a step up on anything they faced this year would be a huge understatement, whereas they would have played and beaten strong teams to get out of Dublin. But that's the size of the task and the GAA world we live in right now. Hand on heart, I think the ship might have sailed, purely because I think Bruno is reaching the end and good scoring forwards (Cahillane aside) don't seem to be there. Bruno is almost impossible to replace, and in many ways, you would have to reinvent the wheel if he wasn't there. Any chance you could give a Garda a good home for a couple of years or just go shopping elsewhere in the county? I'm told anything goes with the right utility bill in your back pocket.
Portlaoise will be fine, we were not far away on Sunday and have plenty of young lads coming through.The team is of a great age and our time will come.

With regards taking lads from the rest of the county its not a route the club will be going down, there have been a few that have tried to move over the past few years but the club have politely declined.
Post by: High Fielder on November 28, 2018, 09:10:28 AM
I was being a little tongue in cheek, but I do feel you have some shortcomings. I would never single players out, but there was one very obvious example on Sunday of the step up in grade and not being able to cope with that. There were 3 or 4 in total who in my opinion were just a bit shy at this level.

There are other factors too. Key players getting older. Dual players. Conditioning. The lack of competition in Laois. The mental scarring left by Dublin teams. I could go on. The difference in strength was noticeable on Sunday, particularly in the forwards. Too many times, lads were bottled up and turned over or forced into Hail Mary attempts.

Your time may indeed come and I genuinely hope it does, but changes would have to happen and quickly for this current team. The size of the task becomes bigger with every passing year, and realistically you're looking at Dublin sides who would probably hold their own with a lot of county teams. It would take a club the size of Portlaoise to meet that challenge, but importantly, they have a financial edge which allows them access to facilities and development well beyond our wildest dreams. So there are road blocks at every turn and the Dublin GAA climate is progressing rapidly.
Post by: The PRO on November 28, 2018, 09:56:09 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on November 28, 2018, 08:29:09 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on November 27, 2018, 11:06:52 PM

Portlaoise will be fine, we were not far away on Sunday and have plenty of young lads coming through.The team is of a great age and our time will come.

With regards taking lads from the rest of the county its not a route the club will be going down, there have been a few that have tried to move over the past few years but the club have politely declined.
To be fair, there was also a few you didn't politely decline. And I'd have great time for Portlaoise club.
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2018, 10:19:33 AM
Seeing as Portlaoise people raised this subject, I'm curious, why do they politely decline some, and go to the DRA for others?
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 28, 2018, 10:30:20 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 28, 2018, 10:19:33 AM
Seeing as Portlaoise people raised this subject, I'm curious, why do they politely decline some, and go to the DRA for others?
They were established at other clubs and at county level in 2 cases. They had no association with Portlaoise.

Yes players have arrived from outside town in the past and were warmly received.
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2018, 10:31:55 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on November 28, 2018, 10:30:20 AM
They were established at other clubs and at county level in 2 cases. They had no association with Portlaoise.

Yes players have arrived from outside town in the past and were warmly received.
And the DRA?
Post by: portlaoisekid on November 28, 2018, 10:32:50 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 28, 2018, 10:31:55 AM

And the DRA?
Portlaoise people who want to play for their club.
Post by: Don Draper on November 28, 2018, 10:35:52 AM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on November 28, 2018, 10:32:50 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on November 28, 2018, 10:31:55 AM

And the DRA?
Portlaoise people who want to play for their club.
You're a gas heure :)
Post by: Don Draper on December 09, 2018, 03:11:21 PM
Say what you like, thats another missed opportunity.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on December 09, 2018, 03:16:56 PM
🎣🎣🎣🎣
But your right,
Post by: Don Draper on December 09, 2018, 03:30:05 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on December 09, 2018, 03:16:56 PM
🎣🎣🎣🎣
But your right,
Not in the least. Its easy to call it 🎣 if you wish, but its ignoring the fact.
Post by: High Fielder on December 09, 2018, 03:34:39 PM
I'm not sure I agree with that. Portlaoise beat Moorefield who were something similar to Columbas, but they couldn't cope with the pace of Crokes and were deservedly beaten. Until Portlaoise prove that they can overcome every different type of challenge, then we could potentially have this conversation again. They are 3 or 4 short and that's the bigger issue
Post by: Laoiseabu on December 09, 2018, 03:37:20 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on November 26, 2018, 10:40:57 PM
Them Longford boys have a population of 350 human beings including man and woman ,young and old, babies  and grandparents . These are a different kettle of bananas these guys . Could give kilmacud a fair rattle .
Fair to say I wasn't too far off 😉😉
Post by: portlaoisekid on December 09, 2018, 08:36:43 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on December 09, 2018, 03:11:21 PM
Say what you like, thats another missed opportunity.
agreed . Fair play to the Longford lads for having the balls to take out the dubs and win it out.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on December 09, 2018, 08:46:57 PM
Mullinlaghta could be just one of those teams, that a certain time in a certain place all the stars fall right.  They beat Eire Og by 18 and beat Rhode in Tullamore if you look at it fairly that is decent form.  Maybe because they are small they are being underestimated.
Post by: High Fielder on December 09, 2018, 09:24:28 PM
Kilmacud were no great shakes. They were allowed to run at will into the Portlaoise defence and cause serious damage. Seale did as good a job on Mangan as was done on him today but Portlaoise went toe to toe all over the field and lost individual battles quite badly. It took them far too long to figure Kilmacud out. Columbas did what you should do to any Dublin team and that's hound them. Look how the wheels came off and the temperament wavered under pressure. Portlaoise are shy in that regard. There's a lack of sting in them. Technically sound and always dangerous but lacking a bit of devilment
Post by: Laoiseabu on December 09, 2018, 09:35:22 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on December 09, 2018, 09:24:28 PM
Kilmacud were no great shakes. They were allowed to run at will into the Portlaoise defence and cause serious damage. Seale did as good a job on Mangan as was done on him today but Portlaoise went toe to toe all over the field and lost individual battles quite badly. It took them far too long to figure Kilmacud out. Columbas did what you should do to any Dublin team and that's hound them. Look how the wheels came off and the temperament wavered under pressure. Portlaoise are shy in that regard. There's a lack of sting in them. Technically sound and always dangerous but lacking a bit of devilment
Very good post high fielder totally agree