Kerry Drink Driving Permit

Started by Bingo, January 22, 2013, 10:55:31 AM

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0122/363832-kerry-council-rural-vote/

Is this man for real? A permit system to allow designated drivers to drink drive in certain locations etc etc.

Interesting to note that councillors who voted for it where publicans. But this didn't influence their decision making according to Healy-Rae.  ;D

D'arcy gave him some abuse this morning on the wireless. Right enough in my view the man is a lunatic and not helping the stereotypical view of the Kerryman!

There are loads of people freely driving the roads every day who are much more dangerous sober than the type of guys this would be designed for are after a few pints.

I'm not saying this is the correct answer but the current situation might be costing as many lives as it's saving.

Quote from: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 11:10:28 AM
I'm not saying this is the correct answer but the current situation might be costing as many lives as it's saving.

What do you think is the correct answer?

Was real funny, fair play the likelyhood of them causing an accident in rural Kerry on those roads is very low I'd say and this would be to themselves (or some American tourist), they are only looking to have 3 pints ffs :o. He blamed suicide as one of the factors

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2013, 11:13:55 AM
Was real funny, fair play the likelyhood of them causing an accident in rural Kerry on those roads is very low I'd say and this would be to themselves (or some American tourist), they are only looking to have 3 pints ffs :o. He blamed suicide as one of the factors

So the solution to suicide from depression is to offer more alcohol  ???
Weird stuff to say the least

Quote from: NAG1 on January 22, 2013, 11:15:41 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2013, 11:13:55 AM

So the solution to suicide from depression is to offer more alcohol  ???
Weird stuff to say the least

I don't think the alcohol is the problem for suicide it was the living in the remote areas and not able to converse or socialise, have they no taxi services in Kerry?

Quote from: deiseach on January 22, 2013, 11:11:59 AM

I don't know. Certainly crap drivers should be taken off the road. That should have been the starting point. We have a test to make sure cars are roadworthy but nothing to make sure the driver is ok bar your original test. Does that seem ok to everyone? You can light and smoke a cigarette, put on a cd but can't hold a mobile to your ear. Is that consistent?

The bigger issue here is that public policy is weighted heavily against people who do not want to live in cities or large urban areas. Cost of petrol/diesel etc doesn't hit people living in Dublin cos they can get a bus/LUAS/DART. Same for going for a pint. No worries about getting home.

I'm not sure what the answers are but there's no doubt there's an imbalance.

Quote from: magpie seanie on January 22, 2013, 11:25:52 AM

I don't know. Certainly crap drivers should be taken off the road. That should have been the starting point. We have a test to make sure cars are roadworthy but nothing to make sure the driver is ok bar your original test. Does that seem ok to everyone? You can light and smoke a cigarette, put on a cd but can't hold a mobile to your ear. Is that consistent?

The bigger issue here is that public policy is weighted heavily against people who do not want to live in cities or large urban areas. Cost of petrol/diesel etc doesn't hit people living in Dublin cos they can get a bus/LUAS/DART. Same for going for a pint. No worries about getting home.

That is a bigger issue and I think a different one to that at hand. This law effectively allows drunk farmers to drive tractors around the countryside. Whatever about bad drivers and your point is valid I don't think there can be a case ANYWHERE that you're allowed to guzzle 3 pints and then get into a vehicle.

There's always going to be an imbalance of some sort. You can't make public policy perfectly symmetrical. Mass public transport in cities is a response to an inconvenience - major traffic problems - that rural people don't have to face. Allowing people to go out on the lash is a fringe benefit, not the reason for the existence of the mass public transport. There isn't a solution to that particular problem.

Quote from: screenexile on January 22, 2013, 11:40:28 AM

That is a bigger issue and I think a different one to that at hand. This law effectively allows drunk farmers to drive tractors around the countryside. Whatever about bad drivers and your point is valid I don't think there can be a case ANYWHERE that you're allowed to guzzle 3 pints and then get into a vehicle.

There really isn't a case for drinking and driving. Ashamed to say I did it once and will never do it again, wasn't caught but looking back it was sooooooo stupid and dangerous, had anything happened I would have struggled to live with myself.

The problem is a local thing, possibly the community (or publican) should run a better service in terms of transport for his locals. You are probably talking at most ten miles to the nearest pub, better to have locals getting home safe than not getting home at all

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2013, 11:53:01 AM
The problem is a local thing, possibly the community (or publican) should run a better service in terms of transport for his locals. You are probably talking at most ten miles to the nearest pub, better to have locals getting home safe than not getting home at all

A 'Rural Taxi Licensing' system has been suggested, ad nauseam by some, apparently, but no, heads firmly in the sand (or muck) whilst the lunatics blithely carry on.

Jesus - thon Healy-Reas are an awful shower of gobdaws.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 22, 2013, 11:57:06 AM
A 'Rural Taxi Licensing' system has been suggested, ad nauseam by some, apparently, but no, heads firmly in the sand (or muck) whilst the lunatics blithely carry on.

The logistics of it would be nightmarish. You can imagine the stink as the service conveniently always seems to get to the customers at Healy-Rae's pubs before anyone else...

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 22, 2013, 11:57:06 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2013, 11:53:01 AM

If they want to do that it is the best option with the publicans/vinters associations making a contribution to 'subsidize' it.  I am not going to be a hypocrit and say it is wrong to go to the pub and half 2-3 pints and then drive home.  I have done it many times.  I have been at weddings where I have had a few glasses of wine with my dinner or a few pints but I would always stop drinking 2-3 hours at least before I was due to leave.  Deaths by drink drivers are not caused by people who have 2-3 pints over a few hours, they are caused by people who get drunk and drive.  There is a major difference.  The taxi system is the best though.