Recent posts

GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by ONeill - Today at 12:05:06 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on April 18, 2024, 07:17:32 PMThinking about how the lack of interest in games here reflect the general apathy in the community towards football. Used to be you'd have a thread for each of the big games here with multiple pages of craic, analysis and bickering. Now we've one amalgamated thread for all of ulster with very little interest or posts. You'll never see a 100page + thread of tyrone v Armagh banter ever again.

Came across this on YouTube the other day...

https://youtu.be/arMAgKKhltk?si=VJ9e3OEDG69jXF9u

It's a copy of the Sam 2005 dvd with extended highlights throughout that summer. Forgot how good these dvds were. What really stands out for me, outside of the crowds and quality of the football, was the general atmosphere in the games. The type of football played generated and sustained an almost constant noise throughout the match. The number of contests for the ball was significantly higher and its contests that generate that edge of the seat excitement that in turn created a cauldron of atmosphere and spectacle.

Youll still see unreal skills in today's game, mindblowing points and class goals. However, these are small peaks amongst the dredge we have to watch for 80% of the game. Watching games these days and I can't help but notice the level of general chat in the stands, people on phones and flatness. You'll hardly ever hear a chant outside of the odd come on you blues.

I've wrote this post as I've just completed the GAA games survey and hope that something will be found to return our game to its former glory. To me that is moving away from the obsession with possession based football and finding away to create more opportunities for contests in attack, midfield and forwards. Or maybe I'm a grumpy f**ker and will just have to accept transitions, 20+ passes back to the keeper and 30 players inside a 45 multiple times a game. What a load of shite.

The only way you can return to those days is a straight knockout from the start. It won't happen. 20 years ago I'd have sleepless nights about losing to Cavan. Now, whatever, still a lock a group games.

The GAA may be amateur but its money-making machine is as professional as the NFL in the States.
General discussion / Re: Funny comedy clips
Last post by AustinPowers - April 18, 2024, 11:58:39 PM
Bottom - Gas man!

It's hard to  beat a bit of frying pan violence
Last post by Armagh18 - April 18, 2024, 11:52:49 PM
Quote from: cornerback on April 18, 2024, 11:42:08 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 18, 2024, 11:32:54 PMDerry going with the same team as the league final.

No real surprise didn't think they'd risk McKinless from the start and he's a great impact sub.

No Murphy on the bench??

Can changes be made to the 26? Harte normally names his subs in alphabetical order. Doherty is out of place & Murphy would fit in at 25 alphabetically.
Yeah I think you name 4 lads in reserve who don't appear on programme but can come in last minute.
General discussion / Re: European Leagues.
Last post by Milltown Row2 - April 18, 2024, 11:43:44 PM
It's went from a double decker to a people carrier very quickly
Last post by cornerback - April 18, 2024, 11:42:08 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 18, 2024, 11:32:54 PMDerry going with the same team as the league final.

No real surprise didn't think they'd risk McKinless from the start and he's a great impact sub.

No Murphy on the bench??

Can changes be made to the 26? Harte normally names his subs in alphabetical order. Doherty is out of place & Murphy would fit in at 25 alphabetically.
Last post by screenexile - April 18, 2024, 11:32:54 PM
Derry going with the same team as the league final.

No Murphy on the bench??
Last post by Orior - April 18, 2024, 11:26:26 PM
Tyrone / Re: Tyrone County Football and...
Last post by HokeyPokey - April 18, 2024, 11:11:48 PM
It will be interesting to see if Mattie does play at 6. He could add real solidity there potentially if he is back to himself.
Last post by armaghniac - April 18, 2024, 11:06:39 PM
Hurling Discussion / Re: Hurling 2024
Last post by marty34 - April 18, 2024, 11:06:24 PM
Quote from: Delgany 2nds on April 18, 2024, 10:29:23 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on April 18, 2024, 10:18:41 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 18, 2024, 06:27:14 PM
Quote from: marty34 on April 18, 2024, 04:59:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 18, 2024, 04:45:00 PM"It's not just the removal of the helmet though, it's if you've to stop the play to allow a physio on at all."

If I have to stop play.

Though if a physio comes on and can administer a spray while play continues I'm happy with that, should I have to blow the whistle and the player requires assistance they have to go off, now seeing as it was my first real go at it, I waved the player on rather than waiting for a break, he was genuinely hurt from a tackle from the other team, its a bit unfair surely to disadvantage them twice? 

But is that not wrong, going by them new rules?

Completely

Bitta common sense needs to be applied and while I'm not against following it to the letter, sometimes it's actually counterproductive and not serving the reason why it's introduced

The reason for the new rules is to prevent cynical playacting,  faking injuries to slow the game down like nicky quaid getting something in his eye last year.
If its genuine then it's harsh but if they're acting the bollox then I'd make them wait for the next break in play.

This rule was apparently amended during the week, to include the goalkeeper! Doesn't make much sense.

I said that a few weeks ago that to circumvent all this is for the keeper to go down. The rule didn't mention keepers.

I'd make it another player must stand i  goals and team down to 14 players until next break in play.