Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Arthur on August 21, 2008, 07:45:23 PM

Title: Why is it ............?
Post by: Arthur on August 21, 2008, 07:45:23 PM
The why is it thread - for exmple.

Why is it that driving at 20mph behind a learner driver is often irritating but when you happen upon one doing a 3 point turn, you are happy to sit patiently back and let them get on with it?

Why is it that triangle sandwiches, with the same filling as a rectangle sandwich, always taste much much nicer?

Why is it in a sunny day you go to work with a spring in your step, yet on bad days you don't want to go.  When in reality on a sunny day you would rather be at home and on a bad day you may as well be in work?

Why is it ...
Title: Re: Why is it ............?
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 21, 2008, 07:47:30 PM
(http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa144/Primate_bucket/MeaningofLife.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 21, 2008, 08:18:41 PM
Why is it when your single it's impossible to pull a woman but when you have a girlfriend and you are out with the lads you get chatted up no bother
Post by: Minder on August 21, 2008, 08:38:59 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 21, 2008, 08:18:41 PM
Why is it when your single it's impossible to pull a woman but when you have a girlfriend and you are out with the lads you get chatted up no bother

Do you tell the fellas your not interested LL ? ? ?
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 21, 2008, 08:57:01 PM
why when a fly has got the whole house to die in he's been trying to die in my hair for the last hour?
Post by: lfdown2 on August 21, 2008, 09:22:51 PM
like flys round shite?!   ;D
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 21, 2008, 09:25:57 PM
Quote from: lfdown2 on August 21, 2008, 09:22:51 PM
like flys round shite?!   ;D
Yeah I may go for a shower and see will he f**k off.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 21, 2008, 09:55:54 PM
..... wimmin in queues for the supermarket only decide when it's their turn to look for the purse in the Black Hole that is their bag?
...... taxi drivers thing putting on their 'magic lights' makes them immune from traffic legislation?
Post by: Arthur on August 21, 2008, 10:14:50 PM
Why is it that when you're so tired you can't sleep?
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on August 21, 2008, 10:28:11 PM
Why is that everyday whether travelling to and from work I have to get stuck behind a feckin tractor?  >:(
Post by: Tyrones own on August 22, 2008, 05:25:33 AM
Why is it when some hewer drives out of a side road in front of you he'll always be making
the very next right hand turn causing you to slow up again to wait for uncoming traffic..... >:(
Post by: Puckoon on August 22, 2008, 05:38:11 AM
Why is a feed of beers always a great idea at the time....
Post by: under the bar on August 22, 2008, 08:59:59 AM
Why is it you never realise that maybe you are having too much to drink and slow down a bit before it's all too late?
Post by: Yes I Would on August 22, 2008, 09:17:01 AM
Why is it that after masturbation, there is always a hint of guilt for a couple of seconds, and you say to yourself, i have to stop this oul carry on, but never do??
Post by: The Corporal on August 22, 2008, 09:19:03 AM
why is it that work sucks so much??
Post by: kinghen on August 22, 2008, 10:02:53 AM
Quote from: Agnes Dipesto on August 21, 2008, 10:28:11 PM
Why is that everyday whether travelling to and from work I have to get stuck behind a feckin tractor?  >:(

you probably live in the countryside where there is a higher ratio of said vehicles
Post by: mouview on August 22, 2008, 11:18:49 AM
... there's no suh thing as 'minor' road works ahead?
Post by: Uladh on August 22, 2008, 11:25:44 AM
Quote from: Arthur on August 21, 2008, 07:45:23 PM
Why is it that driving at 20mph behind a learner driver is often irritating but when you happen upon one doing a 3 point turn, you are happy to sit patiently back and let them get on with it?

Can' say that applies to me

Why is it that triangle sandwiches, with the same filling as a rectangle sandwich, always taste much much nicer?

nope all the same

Why is it in a sunny day you go to work with a spring in your step, yet on bad days you don't want to go.  When in reality on a sunny day you would rather be at home and on a bad day you may as well be in work?

weather doesn't make abuton of difference
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 22, 2008, 11:31:29 AM
Why is it that every time you put something away in a safe place, you can remember the item alright but you forget where the bloody safe place is?
Post by: Longshanks on August 22, 2008, 12:03:13 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 22, 2008, 11:31:29 AM
Why is it that every time you put something away in a safe place, you can remember the item alright but you forget where the bloody safe place is?

Its called getting old, I rememeber it happening to my folks and now it happens to me :'(
Post by: Zapatista on August 22, 2008, 12:24:30 PM
Why is it if you are a doctor, lawyer or dentist you run a practice and if you are a grocer, fish monger or butcher you run a business/shop?
Post by: Hardy on August 22, 2008, 01:27:32 PM
Why is it that when you reach a certain age (not that old) you can't stoop down to pick something up without going "AAAAhhhhhh...."?

Why are all majorities "vast"?

Why do people say "the reality is"? Can you think of a sentence that wouldn't mean exactly the same with that phrase removed? And why do all these realities take place "at the end of the day"? What are people doing for the rest of the day?

Why do all dog owners insist their dog "wouldn't touch you", while he's trying to chew your foot off?

Why are economists, who predict on TV that house prices have stopped falling get invited back a month later when prices have fallen another 15% to be asked their opinion on what will happen to house prices?

What is Tommy Lyons for?
Post by: Hound on August 22, 2008, 01:32:43 PM
Why is it that we are all now expert boxing analysts?
Post by: Arthur on August 22, 2008, 01:35:16 PM
Wys is it that we Irish radio stations ALWAYS tell us about Sunderland now, like we care!
Post by: Hardy on August 22, 2008, 01:45:48 PM
Why was Sunderland's name changed to Roykeanesunderland?
Post by: Treasurer on August 22, 2008, 01:47:02 PM
Why is it that haemorrhoids aren't called asteroids?
Post by: Hardy on August 22, 2008, 01:49:18 PM
There's piles of reasons.
Post by: Zapatista on August 22, 2008, 01:59:47 PM
Why is it that Irish fairys are bad but all other fairys are good?
Post by: Arthur on August 22, 2008, 02:12:45 PM
Why is it the days I work from home I never get a minute, and when I come into the office I have bog all to do!
Post by: under the bar on August 22, 2008, 02:18:23 PM
QuoteWhy is it the days I work from home

No such thing as woeking from home.  When you are home you don't work, just like when you are in work you don't sit on your ar$e watching Sky (unless you are a barman)
Post by: Arthur on August 22, 2008, 02:23:57 PM
Quote from: under the bar on August 22, 2008, 02:18:23 PM
QuoteWhy is it the days I work from home

No such thing as woeking from home.  When you are home you don't work, just like when you are in work you don't sit on your ar$e watching Sky (unless you are a barman)

::) ::) If you have responsibilities and deadlines you work, if you don't you'll soon be taken to task.
Post by: under the bar on August 22, 2008, 02:39:19 PM
QuoteIf you have responsibilities and deadlines you work

In my experience the ppl working from home have usually already the job done before leaving work and then say they'll 'finish it off at home'.  Don't kid me that you put in an 8 hour day at home.  1-2 hours tops.   Working from home should receive half pay since there's less than half the work done.   

We put it to the test when we asked a manager who was working from home the following day to leave what he was doing and work on a one-day assignment from home, probably a good 6 hours work,  to be handed in the following morning.   

Believe it or not he opted to come into work the next day instead!
Post by: Puckoon on August 22, 2008, 02:44:57 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on August 22, 2008, 12:24:30 PM
Why is it if you are a doctor, lawyer or dentist you run a practice and if you are a grocer, fish monger or butcher you run a business/shop?

Because you practise medicine/dentistry/law

where as you sell fish, groceries or meat.
Post by: Arthur on August 22, 2008, 02:48:43 PM
Quote from: under the bar on August 22, 2008, 02:39:19 PM
QuoteIf you have responsibilities and deadlines you work

In my experience the ppl working from home have usually already the job done before leaving work and then say they'll 'finish it off at home'.  Don't kid me that you put in an 8 hour day at home.  1-2 hours tops.   Working from home should receive half pay since there's less than half the work done.   

We put it to the test when we asked a manager who was working from home the following day to leave what he was doing and work on a one-day assignment from home, probably a good 6 hours work,  to be handed in the following morning.   

Believe it or not he opted to come into work the next day instead!

You must have one cushey job - I worked 14hrs from hom yesterday - probably why i'm all done today.  ::)
Post by: Rois on August 22, 2008, 02:50:40 PM
I'm with you Arthur, I've done a good few days working from home and you get 100% concentration there, rather than being interrupted by phones, people etc at work.  My work is trying to encourage people to do it where they can.

It's all about trusting people to get the work done - if there's no trust, then both will agree you're in the wrong job!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 22, 2008, 04:54:09 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on August 22, 2008, 09:17:01 AM
Why is it that after masturbation, there is always a hint of guilt for a couple of seconds, and you say to yourself, i have to stop this oul carry on, but never do??
Funny because it's true   :D :D
Post by: Puckoon on August 22, 2008, 05:14:39 PM
Why is there no graceful way to eat a peach/pear.
Post by: downgirl on August 22, 2008, 05:26:52 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 22, 2008, 05:14:39 PM

Or corn on the cob with butter!
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 22, 2008, 09:50:41 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 22, 2008, 04:54:09 PM
What? I dont get that.

Hey Arthur, now that it's confirmed, welcome back  ;)
Post by: Doogie Browser on August 22, 2008, 09:54:20 PM
...pints always taste better on a Sunday, they must add something into them after a sat night because you can never get enough on a Sunday session.
Post by: fred the red on August 22, 2008, 09:56:41 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on August 22, 2008, 09:54:20 PM
...pints always taste better on a Sunday, they must add something into them after a sat night because you can never get enough on a Sunday session.

great call!
Post by: AFS on August 22, 2008, 09:57:34 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 22, 2008, 04:54:09 PM

;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 23, 2008, 06:56:51 PM
Why are the mentally unhinged posters on this board drawn to me?  :-\
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 23, 2008, 06:57:41 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 23, 2008, 06:56:51 PM
Why are the mentally unhinged posters on this board drawn to me?  :-\

Like flies around shit
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 23, 2008, 07:39:32 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 22, 2008, 05:14:39 PM
Peaches and pears are easy peasy. What about a kebab?
Post by: Puckoon on August 23, 2008, 09:48:06 PM
Much easier Lar - with a kebab you only have to worry about the sides of your lips. Pears and peaches get all over your face - its easier to bite something you can shape into your mouth than it is to try and get a mouthful out of a sphere.

Also - you are generally full whenst eatin a kebab, so there are no worries there.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 23, 2008, 09:54:05 PM
Why is it you can't look at the 'Users Online' anymore? I used to enjoy looking at what other posters were doing!
Post by: Square Ball on August 23, 2008, 10:01:36 PM
that someones else's chips are always nicer than yours.......
Post by: Arthur on August 23, 2008, 10:10:22 PM
Why is it Laoislad always defends POG - are they one in the same.  ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 23, 2008, 10:42:02 PM
Why is it women when asked always say they don't want crisps, chips etc but when you get them they always have to steal some!
Post by: Yes I Would on August 23, 2008, 10:44:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 23, 2008, 10:42:02 PM
Why is it women when asked always say they don't want crisps, chips etc but when you get them they always have to steal some!

Thats just the nature of them Tony, Awkward feckers!!
Post by: gerry on August 23, 2008, 10:45:03 PM
that "arthur" or his many other user names that come on here and slag other posters about the amount of time they spend on here,

spend more time to register, than they do to post.

BTW get a life
Post by: Arthur on August 23, 2008, 10:50:00 PM
Quote from: gerry on August 23, 2008, 10:45:03 PM
that "arthur" or his many other user names that come on here and slag other posters about the amount of time they spend on here,

spend more time to register, than they do to post.

BTW get a life

Ah gerry - do you know no I.T - it takes seconds to create a simple program to register and reregister - trust me, O'Neill give me all his tips.  :-*
Post by: gerry on August 23, 2008, 10:53:01 PM
i guess it does not take that that long, but have you nothing beter to do
Post by: Arthur on August 23, 2008, 10:56:11 PM
Quote from: gerry on August 23, 2008, 10:53:01 PM
i guess it does not take that that long, but have you nothing beter to do

I could take spelling classes.  :-*
Post by: gerry on August 23, 2008, 11:01:14 PM
keyboard sticking
Post by: Arthur on August 23, 2008, 11:08:06 PM
Quote from: gerry on August 23, 2008, 11:01:14 PM
keyboard sticking

Stop looking at hottest Olympians thread.  ;) :D
Post by: gerry on August 23, 2008, 11:11:52 PM
you have me lost with that comment
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 23, 2008, 11:12:15 PM
Quote from: Arthur on August 23, 2008, 10:10:22 PM

No we aren't but i do fancy him a little
Post by: Arthur on August 23, 2008, 11:32:16 PM
Quote from: gerry on August 23, 2008, 11:11:52 PM
you have me lost with that comment

I'm sure it wouldn't be difficult to lose you gerry!!!
Post by: ziggysego on August 23, 2008, 11:35:46 PM
... does it always rain on me?
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 23, 2008, 11:41:04 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 23, 2008, 11:12:15 PM
Quote from: Arthur on August 23, 2008, 10:10:22 PM

No we aren't but i do fancy him a little
Only a little?  :(
Post by: downgirl on August 23, 2008, 11:58:25 PM
We all fancy you pints!!  :D
Post by: ziggysego on August 24, 2008, 12:00:51 AM
I don't.
Post by: Puckoon on August 24, 2008, 12:02:06 AM
Nor me - someone else can lick his toes.

Downgirl I reckon you'd get up on what Laoislad wouldnt, and thats high praise.
Post by: ziggysego on August 24, 2008, 12:03:50 AM
Doesn't leave her much though Puck.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 24, 2008, 07:03:01 PM
Why doesnt chinese food fill you for more than a couple of hours?
Post by: gorm agus bui on August 24, 2008, 07:15:24 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 24, 2008, 07:03:01 PM
Why doesnt chinese food fill you for more than a couple of hours?

MSG
Post by: Arthur on August 28, 2008, 06:47:43 PM
Why is it the Champions league is called the champions league?

Why is it in English soccer a team can finished 6th play in Div 1 or 2 play at Wembley, get a big trophy - do those who finish second get a big trophy?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 28, 2008, 08:18:12 PM
when snooker and tennis players lose they "crash out"
why Ken Doherty is known as Dublinerkendoherty
Dublin always warm up at Hill16
Euro €5 notes are always manky
There are abandoned bicycles chained to lamp posts in Rathmines
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 28, 2008, 09:15:59 PM
.......when your in a rush every traffic light is red
Post by: Zapatista on October 01, 2008, 03:59:16 PM
....that camogs wear skirts and lady footballers wear shorts?
Post by: ziggysego on October 01, 2008, 04:21:57 PM
... when you meet a beautiful woman, you have an uncontrollable urge to fart and nothing... I repeat nothing can hold it in?
Post by: fred the red on October 01, 2008, 04:28:46 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 01, 2008, 04:21:57 PM
... when you meet a beautiful woman, you have an uncontrollable urge to fart and nothing... I repeat nothing can hold it in?

:o
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 01, 2008, 04:29:17 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on October 01, 2008, 03:59:16 PM

I reckon its something to do with their punany's....There would be more chance of catching a glimpse of one in the ladies Football i reckon
Post by: Derry Daisy on October 01, 2008, 04:31:58 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on October 01, 2008, 03:59:16 PM

Camogs now have skorts!!!!
Post by: the colonel on October 01, 2008, 04:35:06 PM
........cheques take 3-5 days to clear.

pissing me off cos i am skint til it clears!
Post by: el Chino on October 01, 2008, 04:35:51 PM
...........you always yawn when someone else beside you yawns???
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 01, 2008, 04:43:57 PM
Quote from: el Chino on October 01, 2008, 04:35:51 PM

It is possible that yawns are contagious because at one time in evolutionary history, the yawn served to coordinate the social behavior of a group of animals. When one member of the group yawned to signal an event, all the other members of the group also yawned. Yawns may still be contagious these days because of a leftover response (a "vestigial" response) that is not used anymore.
Post by: Puckoon on October 01, 2008, 04:46:39 PM
http://faculty.washington.edu/chudler/yawning.html (http://faculty.washington.edu/chudler/yawning.html)

You are supposed to acknowledge your sources LL. :D

Neuroscience for kids indeed!
Post by: ziggysego on October 01, 2008, 04:55:00 PM
... does Puck enjoy showing LL up?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 01, 2008, 05:00:17 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 01, 2008, 04:46:39 PM
http://faculty.washington.edu/chudler/yawning.html (http://faculty.washington.edu/chudler/yawning.html)

You are supposed to acknowledge your sources LL. :D

Neuroscience for kids indeed!

I thought I did have a link to it sorry.......... :-[
Post by: Puckoon on October 01, 2008, 05:07:11 PM
Ack Im just playing. Id have thought it was his own except for the bit in brackets. :P
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 01, 2008, 05:30:03 PM
why is it that women can never have enough handbags or shoes  ???
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 01, 2008, 05:38:50 PM
..............Lucozade tastes better from a can than a bottle?
Post by: fred the red on October 01, 2008, 05:39:58 PM
......that men have nipples?
Post by: Puckoon on October 01, 2008, 05:40:48 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 01, 2008, 05:38:50 PM

No way! Its much better from a bottle, but coke however is better from the can.

Fanta orange is best from the dispensing machines in fast food resturaunts or cinemas.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 01, 2008, 05:43:18 PM
Quote from: fred the red on October 01, 2008, 05:39:58 PM

Because we all start off the same its only the levels of estrogen and oestrogen that we get in the womb that make us male and female..or something like that
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 01, 2008, 05:43:50 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 01, 2008, 05:40:48 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 01, 2008, 05:38:50 PM

No way! Its much better from a bottle, but coke however is better from the can.

Fanta orange is best from the dispensing machines in fast food resturaunts or cinemas.

No way Lucozade is far nicer from a can
Post by: Puckoon on October 01, 2008, 05:44:07 PM
Right said fred would have had nothing to pierce if men didnt have nipples.
Post by: Puckoon on October 01, 2008, 05:44:56 PM
No way, its not.
Post by: fred the red on October 01, 2008, 05:46:48 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 01, 2008, 05:43:18 PM

Because we all start off the same its only the levels of estrogen and oestrogen that we get in the womb that make us male and female..or something like that

I thought the sex was determined at the moment of conception?
Post by: Treasurer on October 01, 2008, 05:49:16 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 01, 2008, 05:30:03 PM

I don't understand the fascination with handbags myself, shoes are a different story entirely :D

Post by: Puckoon on October 01, 2008, 07:03:45 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 01, 2008, 05:30:03 PM

They call it accessorising. I think its just that no matter how fat you get - you can still enjoy a pair of shoes or a hand bag.
Post by: J70 on October 01, 2008, 07:07:15 PM
Quote from: fred the red on October 01, 2008, 05:46:48 PM

What your sex will be is determined at the moment of conception. That doesn't mean that sexual dimorphism kicks in straight away.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 01, 2008, 07:38:03 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 01, 2008, 05:44:56 PM
No way, its not.

Yes way it is
Post by: Treasurer on October 01, 2008, 11:09:57 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 01, 2008, 07:03:45 PM
I think its just that no matter how fat you get - you can still enjoy a pair of shoes or a hand bag.

Charming!!!  :-\
Post by: Zapatista on October 02, 2008, 07:40:51 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 01, 2008, 04:43:57 PM
Quote from: el Chino on October 01, 2008, 04:35:51 PM

It is possible that yawns are contagious because at one time in evolutionary history, the yawn served to coordinate the social behavior of a group of animals. When one member of the group yawned to signal an event, all the other members of the group also yawned. Yawns may still be contagious these days because of a leftover response (a "vestigial" response) that is not used anymore.

....that evolution is used to explain everything about our behaviour we cannot explain?

Why is it that, considering the above explanation I don't go around picking fleas (imaginary or otherwise) from peoples backs in a show of affection.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on October 02, 2008, 09:00:49 AM
Quote from: J70 on October 01, 2008, 07:07:15 PM
Quote from: fred the red on October 01, 2008, 05:46:48 PM

What your sex will be is determined at the moment of conception. That doesn't mean that sexual dimorphism kicks in straight away.

We all start out as females, if there is a y chromosome present in the foetus then it will produce testosterone and limit the growth of the breasts.  if there is no y chromosome then the foetus can continue to develop unrestricted
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 02, 2008, 09:57:47 AM
why is it that having a can of bulmers at home never tastes as good as a can in the pub
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 02, 2008, 06:30:30 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 02, 2008, 09:57:47 AM
why is it that having a can of bulmers at home never tastes as good as a can in the pub

Why would you drink a can in a pub? I can never understand people that do that....
Post by: maggie on October 02, 2008, 09:21:59 PM
that chips always taste better when you eat them straight from the bag?
Post by: ziggysego on October 02, 2008, 10:50:43 PM
Quote from: maggie on October 02, 2008, 09:21:59 PM

leave them a while and they start to go stale maggie.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 02, 2008, 10:51:56 PM
............when you do a poo you always pee a little at the same time but not the other way around,though that could get messey  :o
Post by: maggie on October 02, 2008, 10:52:46 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 02, 2008, 10:50:43 PM
Quote from: maggie on October 02, 2008, 09:21:59 PM

leave them a while and they start to go stale maggie.

eh?
Post by: ziggysego on October 02, 2008, 10:58:16 PM
If you leave the chips for a while, they'll go stale and lose their chippy goodness taste.
Post by: maggie on October 05, 2008, 11:57:25 PM
That planes have to switch off the lights in the cabin when taking off and landing if you are flying in the hours of darkness?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 06, 2008, 12:24:02 AM
Quote from: maggie on October 05, 2008, 11:57:25 PM
That planes have to switch off the lights in the cabin when taking off and landing if you are flying in the hours of darkness?
Because if the plane crashes on take off  your eyes will be adjusted to the darkness and apparently that'll be a big help as you crawl out of a burning plane.
Post by: Keepthefaith93 on October 06, 2008, 09:24:41 AM
 why is it that everyime you take a piss you fart?
Post by: ziggysego on October 06, 2008, 01:20:58 PM
Why is it Keepthefaith93 thinks everyone farts when they pee?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on October 15, 2008, 01:10:36 PM
Why is that that a song gets stuck in your head?

I've that parody song from radio 1 about Domonic Byrne goin round in my head this 2 days!!!  >:(
Post by: the green man on October 17, 2008, 09:30:19 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 17, 2008, 09:25:32 PM
That Donagh gets his name at the top of the page and I don't?

As me ma would say 'just, thats the way it is'
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 17, 2008, 09:41:39 PM
Quote from: the green man on October 17, 2008, 09:30:19 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 17, 2008, 09:25:32 PM
That Donagh gets his name at the top of the page and I don't?

As me ma would say 'just, thats the way it is'
My da would say "that's the why"
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 25, 2008, 10:19:10 AM
Why is it that the english cant make bacon and sausages?  ???
Why have Denny or Galtee never stormed the english market, they'd blow the "competition" out of the water!
Post by: lurganblue on October 25, 2008, 10:29:18 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 25, 2008, 10:19:10 AM
Why is it that the english cant make bacon and sausages?  ???
Why have Denny or Galtee never stormed the english market, they'd blow the "competition" out of the water!

i´m in austria at the minute and these feckers cant do sausages or bacon either. whats the craic with that? cant wait to get a good fry back home!
their schnitzels are nice though  :)
Post by: The Watcher Pat on October 25, 2008, 02:05:23 PM
The last horse/football team that your waiting for in a bet is always the one that will get beat....
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2008, 02:08:04 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on October 25, 2008, 02:05:23 PM
The last horse/football team that your waiting for in a bet is always the one that will get beat....
I had a ten team accumulator going a few years ago,it all depended on Southamton beating Leeds..
They were until the 91st min when Ian Harte stuck a free kick into the top corner... :(
I stood to win over €5000 if it had come up  :'(
Post by: The Watcher Pat on October 25, 2008, 02:11:04 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2008, 02:08:04 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on October 25, 2008, 02:05:23 PM
I had a ten team accumulator going a few years ago,it all depended on Southamton beating Leeds..
They were until the 91st min when Ian Harte stuck a free kick into the top corner... :(
I stood to win over €5000 if it had come up  :'(

You should have covered your bet by putting 1000 on Leeds and 1000 on a draw then you would have made money no matter what the result was...
Post by: ziggysego on October 25, 2008, 05:37:59 PM
the English get annoyed when I refer to it as soccer? hehe
Post by: Onion Bag on October 29, 2008, 11:49:58 AM
Why do Prods pronounce the letter H different to Taigs

They pronounce it with the letter E

And we pronunce it as it is H

Post by: lurganblue on October 29, 2008, 01:25:45 PM
......some people are lazy fcukers and have no interest in working what so ever, even though they are fit and well...
Post by: wherefromreferee? on November 05, 2008, 03:22:37 PM
... that around this time everyday day, I struggle to keep my eyes open.  So tired.  Usually only last for an hour thou, but could easily fall asleep at the desk.  Every day.
Post by: lurganblue on November 05, 2008, 03:25:47 PM
drink a coffee and see if that helps
Post by: Denn Forever on November 05, 2008, 04:58:20 PM
that some people can't pronounce sixth.   ???
Post by: leenie on November 05, 2008, 06:24:25 PM
why is it.....

that they use strategy's on deal or no deal?   
Post by: maggie on November 05, 2008, 06:27:26 PM
people say tree for the number 3
English people say 'indoors' meaning in the house.
Post by: fred the red on November 05, 2008, 06:29:48 PM
some people call a cupboard a press?!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 05, 2008, 06:39:52 PM
Quote from: fred the red on November 05, 2008, 06:29:48 PM
some people call a cupboard a press?!

Because it is a press
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 05, 2008, 07:44:28 PM
Quote from: maggie on November 05, 2008, 06:27:26 PM

That's me, south armagh accents don't pronounce th.
Post by: maggie on November 05, 2008, 07:52:52 PM
either do the english- i 'fink' yea and my personal fav-'wiv'

Post by: pintsofguinness on November 05, 2008, 07:55:33 PM
Id have more of an issue with them using words like "brew", "butty" and saying "mate" every second word.
Post by: maggie on November 05, 2008, 07:57:58 PM
you must be up north.
down here in chav central it all about the 'innit'
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 05, 2008, 08:04:01 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 05, 2008, 07:55:33 PM
Id have more of an issue with them using words like "brew", "butty" and saying "mate" every second word.
The mate one does my head in. You hear tossers all the time ringing into Radio 1 and it's mate this, mate that and they've never met the f**ker before.

I also have an issue with the English referring to the ground outside as the floor. Do me a favour mate  :)
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 05, 2008, 08:08:28 PM
QuoteThe mate one does my head in. You hear t**sers all the time ringing into Radio 1 and it's mate this, mate that and they've never met the f**ker before.
I dont mind it if it's only used an odd time, it's quite nice in some ways but not every other word!

I've banned "butty" and "brew" at work, I think "mate" is going the same way.
Post by: maggie on November 05, 2008, 08:09:49 PM
That i hate orange jelly tots and orange starburst but love orange smarties ???
Post by: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 08:10:44 PM
You're a woman, that's why maggie. Fussy auld things.
Post by: maggie on November 05, 2008, 08:14:38 PM
I have an order for eating them, jelly tots that is-  yellow/green-first, then red and then purple last, throw the orange ones away.
Im sitting here with a half full packet of orange jelly tots left to throw away.

Its not for political reasons.

Post by: AFS on November 05, 2008, 08:38:10 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 05, 2008, 07:44:28 PM
Quote from: maggie on November 05, 2008, 06:27:26 PM

That's me, south armagh accents don't pronounce th.

That reminds me, why are so many people in Ireland incapable of pronouncing the 'th' in Matthew. It always comes out Mat chew. Ger Canning was deadly for it during the IR with Mat chew Boyd. It sounds f**king retarded.
Post by: Gnevin on November 05, 2008, 10:11:23 PM
Why is it that this thread has turn into a What grinds my gears part 2 ?
Post by: leenie on November 05, 2008, 10:29:03 PM
impossible to put on mascara with your mouth shut?
Post by: maggie on November 05, 2008, 10:59:56 PM
Why is it that one sock gets lost forever in the wash?
Where does it go?
Post by: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 11:02:26 PM
Quote from: leenie on November 05, 2008, 10:29:03 PM
impossible to put on mascara with your mouth shut?

people quote Peter Kay and pass it off as their own wit?
Post by: leenie on November 05, 2008, 11:09:19 PM
did he say that..........

it's be an age old mystery to women and some men
Post by: ziggysego on November 05, 2008, 11:11:20 PM
He also said Garlic Bread?!? Or was that one of yours too?
Post by: Franko on November 06, 2008, 09:49:31 AM
Some of them mexicans say 'so' at the end of sentences ('I'm grand so') - so.... what?  ???
Post by: leenie on November 06, 2008, 01:07:21 PM
in cork....

i will yeah....!              means NO
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2008, 01:19:41 PM
I left it so long to get my infected ear looked at, by an ENT Specialist?
Post by: Puckoon on November 06, 2008, 03:15:31 PM
Quote from: maggie on November 05, 2008, 08:09:49 PM

Why do women hate orange sweets? I mean holy crap they are the best ones in any packet of sweets.
Post by: billy the kid on November 06, 2008, 03:23:19 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on August 22, 2008, 01:59:47 PM
Why is it that Irish fairys are bad but all other fairys are good?

Its because the Catholic church taught us that Gays were an abomination. ;)
Post by: Mentalman on November 06, 2008, 03:34:23 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 06, 2008, 03:15:31 PM
Quote from: maggie on November 05, 2008, 08:09:49 PM

Why do women hate orange sweets? I mean holy crap they are the best ones in any packet of sweets.

Except chocolate orange, now they are an abomination - there must have been something in the bible about those?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 06, 2008, 03:38:50 PM
Quote from: maggie on November 05, 2008, 10:59:56 PM
Where does it go?

This is a problem I have been having with my housekeeper girlfriend lately..When I get my clothes back after she has washed and ironed them there is always missing socks,I let rip on her the other night and warned her not to be bringing my washing back with missing or odd socks from now on she has to do a a sock only wash and she is to make sure all the socks have a pair before she washes them...
Post by: leenie on November 06, 2008, 03:43:36 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 06, 2008, 03:38:50 PM
Where does it go?

This is a problem I have been having with my housekeeper girlfriend lately..When I get my clothes back after she has washed and ironed them there is always missing socks,I let rip on her the other night and warned her not to be bringing my washing back with missing or odd socks from now on she has to do a a sock only wash and she is to make sure all the socks have a pair before she washes them...

do your own feckin washing then!!!!

why is it

i can never spell definitely without uses spell check or embarrassing!!!!! 
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 03:45:50 PM
Quotei can never spell definitely without uses spell check or embarrassing!!!!!
Same here.

Why is it I cant get the key in the lock if I'm using my left hand  ???
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 06, 2008, 03:46:32 PM
Quote from: leenie on November 06, 2008, 03:43:36 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 06, 2008, 03:38:50 PM
Where does it go?

do your own feckin washing then!!!!

You don't keep a dog and bark yourself.........
Post by: lurganblue on November 06, 2008, 03:47:23 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 03:45:50 PM
Same here.

you'd get it in if there was hair round it  ;)  :P
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2008, 03:50:31 PM
Why woudl there be hair around the lock on my door ?  ???
Post by: leenie on November 06, 2008, 03:50:47 PM
charming as ever laoislad .....

why is it

when you're drunk and trying to send a text you close one eye....still doesn't help!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 06, 2008, 03:52:04 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 06, 2008, 03:47:23 PM
Same here.

So true! Though alot of the older ones prefer to go without the hair nowdays..or so I'm told
Post by: billy the kid on November 06, 2008, 03:52:53 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 06, 2008, 03:47:23 PM
Same here.

YYEEEEEOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWW  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Puckoon on November 06, 2008, 03:53:18 PM
Why do you raise one butt cheek when breakin wind.
Post by: kumquat on November 06, 2008, 04:52:46 PM
the south armagh man only rang into dermot on the radio twice?
Post by: gawa316 on November 08, 2008, 08:44:19 PM
Why is it when you walk up to a atm some **** always walks up to it before you
Post by: ziggysego on November 09, 2008, 12:09:27 AM
Why is it when you walk up to a atm some f**k always stands behind you
Post by: gawa316 on November 09, 2008, 12:10:35 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 09, 2008, 12:09:27 AM

Is that not called a queue? ;)
Post by: ziggysego on November 09, 2008, 12:13:21 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on November 09, 2008, 12:10:35 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 09, 2008, 12:09:27 AM

Is that not called a queue? ;)

My joke would have worked better if it remained on the same page as the last "Why is it.....?"
Post by: maggie on November 09, 2008, 06:51:41 AM
that when you go out lookin really real, the imp person that you all dolled up for, isn't even there FFS.......................... :-\
Post by: muppet on November 09, 2008, 01:26:26 PM
Why is it.....called 'Road Works'?

If it works it wouldn't need fixing would it?