Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: tbrick18 on September 12, 2011, 09:09:48 AM

Title: Android Phone
Post by: tbrick18 on September 12, 2011, 09:09:48 AM
Thinking of getting a new phone, mine is ancient. Looking at the Androids as I dont really buy into the whole Apple think (more style than substance for me).
From what I can make out the HTC seem to be market leader but there any gods amount of models. Does anyone have one or know what the latest HTC is?
Or would the likes of a Blackberry/Samsung/Sony Ericson be a better option?
Title: Re: Android Phone
Post by: Minder on September 12, 2011, 09:24:30 AM
Mate has the HTC Sensation, which I think is their latest model and it looks a great bit of gear.

http://www.stuff.tv/review/htc-sensation
Post by: maddog on September 12, 2011, 11:51:32 AM
I have one. Its sound but i only have interest in either texting or phoning. All the other stuff i dont bother with. Although the map app has come in handy a couple of times when out cycling in the back of beyond.
Post by: Olly on September 12, 2011, 02:47:24 PM
A lot of people are going retro these days. The all singing all dancing mobile phones are starting to wreck people's lives as the police etc can now trace your steps and other people are crashing their cars because they're updating their statuses.

I'd recommend the below effort, simply because it does the simple things.

(http://blog.dialaphone.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2008/06/oldcellphones2_18_06_08.jpg)
Post by: tbrick18 on September 12, 2011, 03:16:16 PM
Quote from: Olly on September 12, 2011, 02:47:24 PM
A lot of people are going retro these days. The all singing all dancing mobile phones are starting to wreck people's lives as the police etc can now trace your steps and other people are crashing their cars because they're updating their statuses.

I'd recommend the below effort, simply because it does the simple things.

(http://blog.dialaphone.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2008/06/oldcellphones2_18_06_08.jpg)

That's remarkably like the phone I have! I just cant fit it into my pocket is the problem.
Post by: Hardy on September 12, 2011, 03:24:52 PM
It's hauling the batteries around behind you in the cart that's a drag.
Post by: front of the mountain on September 12, 2011, 04:51:29 PM
does anyone else have a samsung galaxy???

Mines only few months old, great phone but it would turn itself off a least once a day. only way to turn on again is to take battery and out put it in again!! very annoying!!!???

Is this a fault these phones??
Post by: tbrick18 on September 12, 2011, 04:57:50 PM
Quote from: front of the mountain on September 12, 2011, 04:51:29 PM

Mines only few months old, great phone but it would turn itself off a least once a day. only way to turn on again is to take battery and out put it in again!! very annoying!!!???

Funny you should say that, I have a samsung....not even sure what model but its a fair age....it does exactly the same. It also tends to drop calls or not receive calls even when I have a signal. Puts me right off Samsung...but I just assumed my particular phone was fecked.
Post by: andoireabu on September 12, 2011, 06:05:31 PM

have one of those yokes and it does the same though less often than yours.  Can be annoying but mine turns back on without the battery having to come out.  I took it to the O2 shop and asked was there a fault in these phones but the said no and they had never heard of the problem.  If your phone isn't too old it might still be covered by the warranty
Post by: Nally Stand on September 12, 2011, 06:58:55 PM
Have the galaxy s2. No such problems at all (at least not yet)
Post by: stew on September 12, 2011, 07:23:56 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on September 12, 2011, 06:05:31 PM

have one of those yokes and it does the same though less often than yours.  Can be annoying but mine turns back on without the battery having to come out.  I took it to the O2 shop and asked was there a fault in these phones but the said no and they had never heard of the problem.  If your phone isn't too old it might still be covered by the warranty

You are supposed to reboot the phones by taking the battery out every other day or so, this helps with battery life tremendously in some phones.

I hate the android phone I have, the Iphone is a far more user friendly handset.
Post by: Boycey on September 12, 2011, 07:29:06 PM
Seriously pal get yourself an iPhone, you know it makes sense.
Post by: blast05 on September 12, 2011, 07:46:26 PM
I-phone 4, while still a brilliant phone, is completely outdated compared to the leading model of all other major smart phone manufacturers. The I-phone 5 (if rumoured specs are to be believed) will only compare with specs of competeters current leading models .... so with dual core processors, full 1080HD cameras, games support from SonyEric to compare with Sony PSP and with HDMI output to TV .... then Apple will be left even further behind.
Of course all these types of facts will be lost on the wider public cos of the marketing genius's at Apple.

My current model .... SonyEricsson Xperia Arc (ex I-phone). For me, it's up near the top (if not the top) cos of:
- 720p HD video camera (quality when displaying it on my 47" TV is hard to believe - incredible to think it comes from a mobile. Well ahead of watching a non HD channel and on a slightly smaller TV it would be difficult to determine any difference compared to a full HD channel). I spent over a grand on a top full HD camcorder about 2 years ago that still costs about 650 but realise now that a standard handset will compare in another 2-3 year's !
- Still picture camera really good in low light.
- HDMI cable output to TV..... brilliant for kids cartoons on YouTube !
- Sony Bravia technology in screen displaying giving exceptional picture quality on the device.

For anyone buying and wishing to compare various brands, just do a search comparing 2 models. Any amount of reviews online.
Post by: tbrick18 on September 13, 2011, 09:43:53 AM
Quote from: blast05 on September 12, 2011, 07:46:26 PM
I-phone 4, while still a brilliant phone, is completely outdated compared to the leading model of all other major smart phone manufacturers. The I-phone 5 (if rumoured specs are to be believed) will only compare with specs of competeters current leading models .... so with dual core processors, full 1080HD cameras, games support from SonyEric to compare with Sony PSP and with HDMI output to TV .... then Apple will be left even further behind.
Of course all these types of facts will be lost on the wider public cos of the marketing genius's at Apple.

My current model .... SonyEricsson Xperia Arc (ex I-phone). For me, it's up near the top (if not the top) cos of:
- 720p HD video camera (quality when displaying it on my 47" TV is hard to believe - incredible to think it comes from a mobile. Well ahead of watching a non HD channel and on a slightly smaller TV it would be difficult to determine any difference compared to a full HD channel). I spent over a grand on a top full HD camcorder about 2 years ago that still costs about 650 but realise now that a standard handset will compare in another 2-3 year's !
- Still picture camera really good in low light.
- HDMI cable output to TV..... brilliant for kids cartoons on YouTube !
- Sony Bravia technology in screen displaying giving exceptional picture quality on the device.

For anyone buying and wishing to compare various brands, just do a search comparing 2 models. Any amount of reviews online.

I agree with you on the I-Phone and all Apple technology, more style over substance if you ask me.
I was looking at the HTC Sensation seemed like a good phone but Sony Ericsson you say...interesting. Whats the bettery life like? I'm told the HTC needs charged every day.
Post by: AbbeySider on September 13, 2011, 11:43:00 AM
iPhones are Ok but you cant really multi task and you are generally tied down to other apple products like iTunes etc

The Samsung Galaxy S2 or the HTC Sensation are the two phones I would recommend.
But I am an Android developer so maybe I am biased!
Post by: tbrick18 on September 13, 2011, 12:51:37 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on September 13, 2011, 11:43:00 AM
iPhones are Ok but you cant really multi task and you are generally tied down to other apple products like iTunes etc

The Samsung Galaxy S2 or the HTC Sensation are the two phones I would recommend.

That's the type of advice I'm after, being a developer myself. HTC it is...reason being I dont like my current Samsung.
Cheers.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on September 13, 2011, 01:22:22 PM
Got a HTC Desire S a couple of months ago (had been with Nokia for 10 years) very good phone, my friend has a blackberry and I find it awkward to use, now that I have discovered touch screen  :)
Would recommend the HTC, one annoying point is battery life, I do find that I'm charging it every day!
Post by: tbrick18 on September 13, 2011, 01:39:22 PM
Just ordered my HTC Sensation on the web...probably quicker to get in a shop but I could get a £100 cashback offer with Phones4U.
A pain in the proverbial claiming it back, but sure might as well.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 13, 2011, 04:07:21 PM
I've only got my Samsung Galaxy a couple of weeks and it knocks itself off, dead, I'd say a couple of times a day at least. Its not out of power. I just hold the power button in a couple of times and it comes back on. Interestingly, a mate of mine rang me one time the phone was off like this and he told me it rang as normal, it was as if I just didn't answer. What should I do? Take it back to the O2 shop? I'm delighted with it besides this.

I never heard about rebooting the phone like Stew mentioned - should I be doing this?
Post by: amallon on September 13, 2011, 04:11:03 PM
My galaxy knocks off like that every now and again as well.  I can feel it get very hot just below the camera lense on the back of the phone.  Powering it off and back on sorts.  It doesn't happen very often maybe once or twice a month.  Still think its a better phone than the iPhone 4 which I had previously.
Post by: front of the mountain on September 13, 2011, 04:13:17 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 13, 2011, 04:07:21 PM
I've only got my Samsung Galaxy a couple of weeks and it knocks itself off, dead, I'd say a couple of times a day at least. Its not out of power. I just hold the power button in a couple of times and it comes back on. Interestingly, a mate of mine rang me one time the phone was off like this and he told me it rang as normal, it was as if I just didn't answer. What should I do? Take it back to the O2 shop? I'm delighted with it besides this.

I never heard about rebooting the phone like Stew mentioned - should I be doing this?

Snap!! very hateful is this a fault in phone???????
Post by: AbbeySider on September 13, 2011, 04:52:25 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on September 13, 2011, 12:51:37 PM

That's the type of advice I'm after, being a developer myself. HTC it is...reason being I dont like my current Samsung.
Cheers.

The Androids on my desk right now include a:
1 x Vodafone Joy -  Piece of sh!t
1 x Samsung Galaxy Spica - Passed the test of time, not a bad phone for an oldie, running Android 1.6 I think
1 x HTC Desire - One of the first phones to use Android 2.1 and HTC Sense
2 x HTC Desire s - Upgraded version of original Desire, less buggy and slightly better battery
2 x HTC Desire z - Upgraded version of Desire s, really nice phone
1 x Samsung Galaxy II - Although blocky and big looking; its my favourite. It feels like a computer in your paw
1 x HTC Sensation - Cooler looking than the Galaxy II but every so slightly slower processor, maybe not as good battery life, but not much in it though. I dont think there is a huge difference in performance.
I think I prefer the Galaxy as I have used HTC so much the Galaxy is still kinda new to me.
Post by: blast05 on September 13, 2011, 11:06:16 PM
For those looking for a battery boost, try the app Juicedefender .... should typically see an approx 50% boost in battery charge.
A good list of top phones linked below .... still the number 3 phone for me - the SE arc: best looks and although doesn't have dual core processors like Samsung, there are no features on any phone or on Android yet that need that horsepower imho
http://www.techradar.com/news/phone-and-communications/mobile-phones/20-best-mobile-phones-in-the-world-today-645440?artc_pg=19  (http://www.techradar.com/news/phone-and-communications/mobile-phones/20-best-mobile-phones-in-the-world-today-645440?artc_pg=19)

Also re iPhone 5 .... wait for the marketing suggesting another massive leap forward, complete technology shift. Features they will shout about to support this:
iCloud ... Once people here the word cloud they will think, wow, cool, without having much of a clue what it adds. It's 20 year old technology which doesn't really offer much value add to the end user
LTE support (4G).... won't be the first phone and not really needed for another 6 month's or more - not until Verizon and AT&T fully launch in the states
Near Field Communication (NFC): first step in allowing phones to be used as credit cards. Not the first phone to have it of course. However, to be fair, if this gives NFC the momentum to become more widely used and replace credit card in 5 years instead of 10th then all the better.
Full 1080p HD camera .... but of course not the first camera to have it
Post by: tbrick18 on September 13, 2011, 11:27:15 PM
Quote from: blast05 on September 13, 2011, 11:06:16 PM
For those looking for a battery boost, try the app Juicedefender .... should typically see an approx 50% boost in battery charge.
A good list of top phones linked below .... still the number 3 phone for me - the SE arc: best looks and although doesn't have dual core processors like Samsung, there are no features on any phone or on Android yet that need that horsepower imho
http://www.techradar.com/news/phone-and-communications/mobile-phones/20-best-mobile-phones-in-the-world-today-645440?artc_pg=19  (http://www.techradar.com/news/phone-and-communications/mobile-phones/20-best-mobile-phones-in-the-world-today-645440?artc_pg=19)

Also re iPhone 5 .... wait for the marketing suggesting another massive leap forward, complete technology shift. Features they will shout about to support this:
iCloud ... Once people here the word cloud they will think, wow, cool, without having much of a clue what it adds. It's 20 year old technology which doesn't really offer much value add to the end user
LTE support (4G).... won't be the first phone and not really needed for another 6 month's or more - not until Verizon and AT&T fully launch in the states
Near Field Communication (NFC): first step in allowing phones to be used as credit cards. Not the first phone to have it of course. However, to be fair, if this gives NFC the momentum to become more widely used and replace credit card in 5 years instead of 10th then all the better.
Full 1080p HD camera .... but of course not the first camera to have it

The idea of cloud is old, but its only now that the network infrastructure supports it to a level where it can be really useful. It doesnt really do much for a phone user, but for a company the cloud can be a real money saver particularly around hardware (HaaS).
Post by: gallsman on September 14, 2011, 12:04:11 AM

Are you on Android 2.2 or 2.3? My Desire HD did this every few days before the 2.3 upgrade arrived but works fine now. I think it was something to do with the interaction between Android and the "skin" the handset developers put on as overlay - Sense for HTC, TouchWiz for Samsung.
Post by: laoislad on September 14, 2011, 08:38:33 AM
I've have a Sony Ericsson Experia Android phone for about 12 months now and I have to say it is the biggest pile of dung.
Had a iphone 3Gs but I dropped it and broke it beyond repair so needing a phone quick that didn't cost a fortune I bought the Sony as I am a huge fan of Sony products.
It freezes all the time,it's slow and unresponsive it knocks itself off for no reason,the menu system is a nightmare.
Also don't like the Android app store,I think the apple one is far better.
The one thing I do like about Android is the widgets,I have a few excellent ones for automatic news updates and live scores but as the phone freezes so much it hardly matters anyway.

My contract has been up a few months but I'm holding out for the iphone5,I had a look at the Samsung Galaxy SII but while it is a impressive high spec phone now doubt I just think it looks rotten,plain ugly in fact and if you are spending a good bit of money on something you will be using 100 times a day you want it to look decent.
The HTC Sensation as someone pointed out already is a fine looking phone far better looking than the Galaxy and with similar specs but it isn't available with 02 Ireland so I might have considered that one if it had been available.
One thing is for sure, it will take some convincing for me to buy another Sony Ericsson again.
Post by: HiMucker on September 14, 2011, 10:15:10 AM
Just got a HTC wildfire the other day.  What you make of them Abbeysider.

How do you send whats app messages were the recipent actually hears you saying the message to them.  At the minute it only sends the message in text format after I have spoken into the phone?
Post by: blast05 on September 14, 2011, 01:08:37 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 14, 2011, 08:38:33 AM
I've have a Sony Ericsson Experia Android phone for about 12 months now and I have to say it is the biggest pile of dung.
One thing is for sure, it will take some convincing for me to buy another Sony Ericsson again.

I'd agree re the original Xperia .... but the Xperia arc is from a different planet - check any review.
Post by: AbbeySider on September 14, 2011, 01:59:23 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on September 14, 2011, 10:15:10 AM

How do you send whats app messages were the recipent actually hears you saying the message to them.  At the minute it only sends the message in text format after I have spoken into the phone?

Wildfire is a nice entry level smartphone, only difference between it and the Desires is memory and processor speeds.
I dont understand that second bit!
Post by: HiMucker on September 14, 2011, 02:11:54 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on September 14, 2011, 01:59:23 PM

Wildfire is a nice entry level smartphone, only difference between it and the Desires is memory and processor speeds.
Right the missus told me that her mate sends Whats app messages to her mates.  When they open them, tehri phone reads the messages in her voice.  Like a voice mail, only in an instant mesage.  Is this balls or what?  Hope you can understand this tripe that I have wrote  ???
Post by: gallsman on September 14, 2011, 07:29:01 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on September 14, 2011, 02:11:54 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on September 14, 2011, 01:59:23 PM

Right the missus told me that her mate sends Whats app messages to her mates.  When they open them, tehri phone reads the messages in her voice.  Like a voice mail, only in an instant mesage.  Is this balls or what?  Hope you can understand this tripe that I have wrote  ???

Speaking into the phone is a voice-type function. What what's app allows you to do is to send files as well as messages via attachements, so you have to record your voice using the Voice Recorder app. Cumbersome but then again that's not what What's App is for.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 14, 2011, 07:36:07 PM
iPhones are Ok but you cant really multi task

Yes you can
Post by: blewuporstuffed on October 03, 2011, 01:42:08 PM
my brother recently lost his phone, a samsung galaxy. no big deal as it was insured so he just cancelled it and got a new one.
turns out though someone handed it into the bar a few days later, so he got the old one back again!
problem is it is now locked or barred or whatever they do to it.
is this phone completely useless now or can it be unlocked or used for anything?
Post by: Main Street on October 03, 2011, 04:22:23 PM
Sadly I lost my faithfull button phone last month and replaced it with a samsung galaxy gio. After a month of use, I find it user hostile, finger/thumb repellant and generally an awkward piece of software to navigate around.  Probably I will give it my daughter and find something else.

Post by: front of the mountain on October 13, 2011, 10:19:57 AM

I recently heard it is a fault to do with the Wifi being left on all the time, when wifi is off it doesnt seem to switch itself on, so only turn on wifi when u need or looking it!
Post by: Nally Stand on October 13, 2011, 10:25:10 AM
Quote from: front of the mountain on October 13, 2011, 10:19:57 AM

I recently heard it is a fault to do with the Wifi being left on all the time, when wifi is off it doesnt seem to switch itself on, so only turn on wifi when u need or looking it!
Galaxy S or S2 Magpie?

I thought I was alone with that problem! I have a Galaxy S2 and I'm having the exact same issue, however I often notice it happening when I'm away from the house, during which times my Wifi is barely ever switched on.

Also having issues where the internet stops working on wifi every so often, and once you turn the wifi off and on again, it's OK again (at least for while). Starting to p1ss me off, because like yourself magpie, I think it's a great phone outside of that.
Post by: AbbeySider on October 13, 2011, 01:42:08 PM
There could be some apps running services in the background that is killing memory...
Post by: North Longford on October 13, 2011, 01:50:24 PM
Have a similar problem with my Samsung. Love the phone but almost solely when I am listening to a voice message or leaving one the screen becomes dead. Can still hear the message in the background etc etc but can only hang up by taking out the battery. its extremely annoying. Gonna bring it back to the shop tomorrow see what they say. If they've heard of the problem I'm gonna direct them to this thread!!!!
Post by: Nally Stand on October 13, 2011, 01:52:39 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on October 13, 2011, 01:42:08 PM
There could be some apps running services in the background that is killing memory...

Nope  :-\ I use the 'task manager' fairly regularly to kill off any background running apps or processes I don't need. Might bring it back myself to see what they have to say.
Post by: Link on October 13, 2011, 02:20:32 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 13, 2011, 01:52:39 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on October 13, 2011, 01:42:08 PM

Nope  :-\ I use the 'task manager' fairly regularly to kill off any background running apps or processes I don't need. Might bring it back myself to see what they have to say.

+1, task manager is easily used and can clear RAM with one touch
Post by: laoislad on October 19, 2011, 06:09:50 PM
The new Samsung Nexus looks the dags ballix...

Is 4.6inches too big though...(not often you hear that being said)
Post by: gallsman on October 19, 2011, 11:48:13 PM
Nally, task killers are redundant on Android 2.2 or anything above and actually end up costing you battery life.

LL, not too sure about the Nexus itself, although the curve will reduce the effect of the size in your hands. Ice Cream Sandwich looks incredible. I'd wait and see.
Post by: Nally Stand on October 20, 2011, 12:20:35 AM
Gallsman, I was actually just looking up that ice cream sandwich lark a few minutes ago and didn't have a clue what it was at first. Any word when it will be available on the Galaxy S2? Can you download the upgrade or would it only be available on new phones? Probably a stupid question but I wouldn't pretend to be too clued in about all this kind of thing!!
Post by: gallsman on October 20, 2011, 12:32:07 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 20, 2011, 12:20:35 AM
Gallsman, I was actually just looking up that ice cream sandwich lark a few minutes ago and didn't have a clue what it was at first. Any word when it will be available on the Galaxy S2? Can you download the upgrade or would it only be available on new phones? Probably a stupid question but I wouldn't pretend to be too clued in about all this kind of thing!!

A while I imagine, I don't know what kind of spec phone is needed to run it. It takes Android to a whole new level. Assuming the Galaxy S2 can run it, I imagine  it will be along in a few months, via over-the-air update.
Post by: tbrick18 on October 20, 2011, 12:54:53 PM
Like a mentioned earlier, I eventually bought a HTC Sensation which was great. But over the last week or so, it has been switching itself off and this is becoming very annoying. There doesnt seem to be any pattern as to when it happens. Sometimes it does it while sitting idle, other times when I'm composing a message or just about to make a call. It doesnt seem to switch off mid call mind you.
Anyone any ideas before go back with it?
Post by: HiMucker on October 20, 2011, 01:41:45 PM
I have a HTC wildfire and Im struggling to find a flash player app??
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 10, 2011, 04:19:49 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 13, 2011, 11:29:00 PM
If you're not afraid to doing a bit of modding and you can shop up north, the Orange San Francisco is worth considering as a budget Android handset. Very very easy to remove the network lock while removing the Orange branded firmware to a generic one isn't too difficult if you know what you're doing - it will invalidate your warranty in theory but if something goes wrong you can flash the firmware back to Orange's before sending it in for repair. The camera's not the greatest and there's now LED flash, but if you can live without that and the need for Flash it's a very good phone.

Bought one of these a couple of weeks ago. Very easy to unlock, root and flash. Have CM7 installed on it and well impressed. The camera is ok for 3.2 megapixels and I can get by without it. Managed to upgrade it to gen2 and get flash working on it as well, it is indeed a very good phone for the price. That said Ice Cream Sandwich and the Samsung Galaxy Nexus looks the dogs proverbials and will be keeping an eye out for it.
Post by: keeping an eye on things on November 11, 2011, 09:17:09 AM
I've just got a new Sony Ericsson Arc S, having to return it as every other call I make / receive causes it to freeze and shut down, anyone else have this problem? 

Also as this is my first Android phone (not a great intro as it's knackered within 3 days!!) what are the best free apps that people have found?  Cheers in advance!!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 11, 2011, 09:58:39 AM
Quote from: keeping an eye on things on November 11, 2011, 09:17:09 AM
I've just got a new Sony Ericsson Arc S, having to return it as every other call I make / receive causes it to freeze and shut down, anyone else have this problem? 

Also as this is my first Android phone (not a great intro as it's knackered within 3 days!!) what are the best free apps that people have found?  Cheers in advance!!

What OS is it running? Had a similar problem with mine, after making/receiving a call the screen would go black and lock so that I couldn't hang up after the call. Fixed it by calibrating the proximity sensor which for me is in ZTE Blade Settings, not the generic Settings. If that doesn't work a quick google might throw something up.
Post by: keeping an eye on things on November 11, 2011, 11:01:19 AM
QuoteWhat OS is it running? Had a similar problem with mine, after making/receiving a call the screen would go black and lock so that I couldn't hang up after the call. Fixed it by calibrating the proximity sensor which for me is in ZTE Blade Settings, not the generic Settings. If that doesn't work a quick google might throw something up.

How would someone simple like me find that out?!  Not much good with this technology craic!!  That's exactly what's happening with mine, O2 are sending me out a new handset today anyways as it's less than 28 days old.  I'm still within my 14 days cooling off period so not sure whether to keep it or not if there's going to be probs with it!!  Have you had much bother with yours or how would you rate it?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 11, 2011, 11:53:20 AM
Quote from: keeping an eye on things on November 11, 2011, 11:01:19 AM
QuoteWhat OS is it running? Had a similar problem with mine, after making/receiving a call the screen would go black and lock so that I couldn't hang up after the call. Fixed it by calibrating the proximity sensor which for me is in ZTE Blade Settings, not the generic Settings. If that doesn't work a quick google might throw something up.

How would someone simple like me find that out?!  Not much good with this technology craic!!  That's exactly what's happening with mine, O2 are sending me out a new handset today anyways as it's less than 28 days old.  I'm still within my 14 days cooling off period so not sure whether to keep it or not if there's going to be probs with it!!  Have you had much bother with yours or how would you rate it?

http://www.o2online.ie/o2/shop/phones/sony-ericsson-lt18i-arc-s/190/ (http://www.o2online.ie/o2/shop/phones/sony-ericsson-lt18i-arc-s/190/)

Not much on the o2 site but a further google of the specs reveals it's probably Android 2.3.3. If O2 are replacing it I would let them do the worrying. No bother since setting mine up, great phone for the money.
Post by: tbrick18 on November 11, 2011, 12:12:41 PM
The problems with my HTC Sensation persist....after a factory reset the phone worked ok again for a week or so.
Then it started shutting off again, screen wasnt always responsive and it would heat up to the point where it was almost too hot to touch. HTC have taken it back but there's no guarantee they'll fix it under warranty. They say if there's evidence of it being broken as a result of water damage (which there isnt) or evidence of it being dropped (which it hasnt) they wont fix it but will give me a price for fixing it!
I'll post on the outcome, but for now I'm not particularly happy.
Post by: keeping an eye on things on November 11, 2011, 12:15:38 PM
Cheers for the info / advice.  It's running Android version 2.3.4.  Yeah going to just get a new handset and let O2 sort it!!
Post by: Jonah on November 11, 2011, 12:30:12 PM
Suffered through 3 Android handsets over the last two years. A HTC a Sony and a Samsung Galaxy.
I had problems with them all.
I purchased my first iPhone a few weeks ago, the new 4s,and I have to say there is no comparison the iPhone is the best phone I ever had.
Can't see me going back to Android anytime soon.
Post by: FermGael on December 14, 2011, 03:11:00 PM
In need of a new phone before Christmas.
the Wildfire has died a death.
Any recommenedations??
Any one using any of the phone with the new ice cream sandwich stuff yet??
Post by: lurganblue on June 14, 2012, 07:16:04 PM
I just bought a galaxy note at the weekend there and it is my first android phone. The only thing I'm having difficulties with is the emails. I have set up my yahoo address to run through the phone. I seem to be getting not only all my normal inbox emails but all my junk emails at the one time and in the one place. I'm getting a load of emails every min. I've searched the settings and can't seem to fix it. Never had this prob on the iphone
Post by: ziggysego on June 14, 2012, 07:34:28 PM
I've made the jump from iPhone to Android. Ordered a Samsung Galaxy SIII today.
Post by: oakleafgael on June 14, 2012, 09:50:06 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 14, 2012, 07:34:28 PM

Some job Ziggy, got one last week, still getting the hang of it, bit of a change from a Nokia 6300!
Post by: ONeill on June 14, 2012, 10:09:16 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on June 14, 2012, 09:50:06 PM

Some job Ziggy, got one last week, still getting the hang of it, bit of a change from a Nokia 6300!

Same here again. Got it last week and a lot to learn. Will sit down in a couple of weeks and get the hang of it. I think the video quality is much better but also struggling with the email yet haven't given it the time.

Oakleaf - have you been able to set up an account on the email?
Post by: oakleafgael on June 14, 2012, 10:23:05 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 14, 2012, 10:09:16 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on June 14, 2012, 09:50:06 PM

Same here again. Got it last week and a lot to learn. Will sit down in a couple of weeks and get the hang of it. I think the video quality is much better but also struggling with the email yet haven't given it the time.

Oakleaf - have you been able to set up an account on the email?

Its was set up by the IT man at work, have the work email and my own gmail/hotmail accounts sending and recieving the best. Has done away with the need to lug a laptop about the place. The biggest change for me was moving to a touchscreen.
Post by: lurganblue on June 15, 2012, 12:21:26 AM
You having the same email problem as myself o'neill?
Post by: ONeill on June 15, 2012, 02:04:05 PM
At least you've set up the Yahoo mail. My phone won't recognise the username/password. Probably something simple.
Post by: ziggysego on June 22, 2012, 05:25:31 PM
Got the phone on Wednesday. Still haven't a clue how to use it.
Post by: laoislad on June 22, 2012, 10:43:22 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 22, 2012, 05:25:31 PM
There's a picture circulating the tech forums of a Galaxy s3 that went on fire while on charge in someone's car.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 22, 2012, 10:50:30 PM
Turn it on.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 22, 2012, 10:52:16 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 22, 2012, 10:50:30 PM
Turn it on.

:D :D :D
Post by: Christmas Lights on July 30, 2012, 05:31:04 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on July 30, 2012, 05:16:27 PM
Anyone got their hands on the Huawei Ascend G300? It's currently a Vodafone exclusive on both its Irish and British networks, but I've been hearing some very good reviews with only a problem about low loudspeaker volume being the only blot and apparently fixable with some firmware patch. Looks like an absolute bargain at £100/€130 for its specifications and what users are saying about it.

(http://blogs.lasoo.co.nz/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/huawei-ascend-g300_11.jpg)

Looks a bit like a HTC wildfire phone, for that money, you cant really go wrong.
Post by: Capt Pat on August 17, 2012, 12:43:27 PM
Is there any way of hooking a samsung galaxy up to a tv to stream live events?Does it need to be a HD tv? I have a conventional old tv. I think I need a HDMI .lead or adaptor?
Post by: LeoMc on September 11, 2012, 10:25:50 AM
I have the Samsung Galaxy Ace but I don't like the standard calendar on it. Are there any good App's which will take your phone book contact details and populate the calendar?
Post by: laoislad on November 22, 2012, 10:16:51 PM
My iphone 4s got water damaged last week so I decided to buy a second hand phone off ebay as my contract is due for renewal anyway in March so haven't long to wait to get a new phone.
Bought the HTC Sensation,it's in fairly good condition and I got it at a decent price.
I can't get over how good it is and how much better Android is to ios.
This is my first real Android phone,I had a Sony on the android platform a few years ago but it was fairly shite but things have come on in leaps and bounds since then.

I always thought I'd stay with an iphone but I'm not so sure anymore now after using the HTC for a few days.
I downloaded utorrent onto the phone and now I can download straight from piratebay onto the phone.Just downloaded a new episode of The Walking Dead onto it in about 4 mins.
Brilliant phone and I think I'll be staying with Android when I renew the contract in March.

I was actually able fix the iphone 4s myself.
The dock connector had gotten wet and wouldn't work so the phone wouldn't charge or turn on.
I bought a new dock connector off ebay for €6 and replaced it myself by following a youtube video,they wanted €70 off me to repair it in a phone repair shop.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 22, 2012, 10:26:01 PM
The wife got a Samsung Galaxy S3 and it is an absolute flying machine for web access. I thought the access on my phone was reasonable but there is a really noticeable difference.
Post by: ONeill on November 22, 2012, 10:43:22 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 22, 2012, 10:26:01 PM
The wife got a Samsung Galaxy S3 and it is an absolute flying machine for web access. I thought the access on my phone was reasonable but there is a really noticeable difference.

Porn?
Post by: laoislad on November 22, 2012, 10:48:41 PM

Do you know if there is any way to get podcasts on Android? I like The Anfield Wrap one.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 22, 2012, 10:52:22 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 22, 2012, 10:48:41 PM

Do you know if there is any way to get podcasts on Android? I like The Anfield Wrap one.
I have never really investigated automated downloading - I just download manually and listen on the music player. Podcasts are the only radio I listen to these days.

Quote from: ONeill on November 22, 2012, 10:43:22 PM

Porn?
She has a password on it so not sure what she is looking at.
Post by: laoislad on November 22, 2012, 10:54:22 PM
She never leaves me alone on facebook.
Post by: FermGael on November 22, 2012, 11:13:21 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 22, 2012, 10:48:41 PM

Carcast. Great wee app for podcasts.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 22, 2012, 11:17:15 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 22, 2012, 10:54:22 PM
She never leaves me alone on facebook.
Must be why she that password on.

Trying a podcast download manager here.
Post by: BenDover on January 15, 2013, 03:22:12 PM
If like me anyone has the Galaxy S3 mini and has trouble downloading the SkyGo app from the Play store the .apk file can be googled and sideloaded and works a treat. As ye can see from this Sky are constantly blaming other sources for it not installing from the Play store.
http://helpforum.sky.com/t5/Sky-Go-on-Android/Sky-Go-Samsung-Galaxy-S3-Mini/td-p/793168/page/3
Post by: laoislad on March 12, 2013, 05:39:58 PM
The new Galaxy S4 is being announced on thursday.
Some serious specs are rumored.Full HD screen,wireless charging,13mp camera,8 core processer etc.
If the leaked pics are anything to go by it won't look that much different than the S3.
Post by: BenDover on March 29, 2013, 03:56:12 PM
i have the samsung galaxy s3 mini, does anyone else? Have set XBMC up on it and woudl now like to use MHL to display onto connected tv, but I've seen mixed reviews about the support for MHL to HDMI output. Does anyone know for sure if it does and what type of MHL adapter I need as I see the S3 requires an 11-pin adapter whatever d feck that means.
Post by: gallsman on November 01, 2013, 10:42:48 AM
Galaxy S3 has gone kaput on me. Ordered the new Nexus 5 yesterday - it looks like a fantastic phone and in high end smartphone terms, is a "bargain". Hopefully they don't have the supply issue they had with the Nexus 4.
Post by: laoislad on November 01, 2013, 01:16:40 PM
Does anyone know if you can tether your Android phone to an ipad.
In other words can you use your phones mobile internet to get the interent on an ipad.
Post by: gallsman on November 01, 2013, 01:26:54 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 01, 2013, 01:16:40 PM
In other words can you use your phones mobile internet to get the interent on an ipad.

Not sure about via cable, but you should certainly be able to set it up as a mobile hotspot - just connect the iPad to the WiFi broadcast from the phone.
Post by: laoislad on November 01, 2013, 01:42:57 PM
Quote from: gallsman on November 01, 2013, 01:26:54 PM

Not sure about via cable, but you should certainly be able to set it up as a mobile hotspot - just connect the iPad to the WiFi broadcast from the phone.
Yeah I meant as a hotspot. I know you can do it from android phone to android tablet but wasn't so sure about Android to Apple.
Post by: gallsman on November 01, 2013, 01:53:23 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 01, 2013, 01:42:57 PM

Yeah I meant as a hotspot. I know you can do it from android phone to android tablet but wasn't so sure about Android to Apple.

Shouldn't be a problem at all - iPad sees it as any other WiFi signal.
Post by: laoislad on November 01, 2013, 02:03:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on November 01, 2013, 01:53:23 PM

Cheers. Was thinking of buying the new ipad but wasn't sure if I could use my S4 to tether to it.
Post by: gallsman on November 01, 2013, 02:30:37 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 01, 2013, 02:03:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on November 01, 2013, 01:53:23 PM

Cheers. Was thinking of buying the new ipad but wasn't sure if I could use my S4 to tether to it.

Wait a few weeks - Google meant to be announcing a new Nexus 10 if you want to keep everything on Android.

Nexus devices have always been cheaper that the highest end Androids (HTC One, Samsung GS4 at the minute) as they've always lacked something, e.g. bigger storage or LTE capability. Not so with the Nexus 7 or the Nexus 5 - they're right up there with everything else. Might be the same for the Nexus 10 if they really want to take on the iPad.
Post by: BenDover on November 01, 2013, 10:10:51 PM
any of ye's have any experience of buying a mobile from dx.com?
Post by: Syferus on November 01, 2013, 11:02:37 PM
Thanks to imbibing a tad too much at a Halloween party last week I lost my beloved iPhone 4. Reduced (temporarily) to using an Android.

At least I rooted the Samsung bloatware out of the machine by flashing Cyanogenmod onto it, making the indignity of it all as painless as possible.

I'll be with you again soon, my precious iOS.
Post by: theticklemister on November 01, 2013, 11:40:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 01, 2013, 11:02:37 PM
Thanks to imbibing a tad too much at a Halloween party last week I lost my beloved iPhone 4. Reduced (temporarily) to using an Android.

At least I rooted the Samsung bloatware out of the machine by flashing Cyanogenmod onto it, making the indignity of it all as painless as possible.

I'll be with you again soon, my precious iOS.

Yes I concur..........................

(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-oyiKZ9zt6T4/UFXyQ-8vRlI/AAAAAAAABeQ/AXi50GRyYY0/s1600/8-avril-lavigne-what+the+hell-lyrics-shattalyrics.blogspot.com.jpg)
Post by: gerrykeegan on November 10, 2013, 08:11:26 PM
Anyone take the new Jellybean 4.2 update on the Samsung 3 with Vodafone. I have a pain in my hole with it. It tells me about every 5 minutes that I have downloaded 20 or so pdf files in the notification screen, Cannot get rid of it.
Post by: pullhard on September 25, 2014, 04:38:16 PM
Contract is up shortly and i'm due an upgrade. I've had an S2 for two years. Happy with it, still seems as quick as it every did. Battery is terrible but always has been.

I've had a play with the latest phones, some of them are huge! I quite like the S5 mini, battery is suppose to be decent and its waterproof, so the salesman says.

Anyone got any experience of living with this phone?
Post by: gerrykeegan on September 25, 2014, 05:09:23 PM
I have the s5 (not the mini) it's a cracking phone, not having to charge your phone every other minute is a joy, Camera excellent, only small bug is it has two different charging spots, side by side, I think one is for a new faster charger (I don't have) because of that it is fiddly to get the lead into the slot.
Post by: gallsman on September 25, 2014, 05:37:05 PM
If getting an Android, get a Nexus. Cheaper than flagship phones from HTC, Samsung etc with 90% of the specs and the best software. Better to buy outright and move to a SIM only contract.

Alternatively, if you could figure out how to get your hands on a OnePlus One, it's pretty much the best phone on the market at an unbelievably good price.
Post by: armaghniac on September 25, 2014, 06:13:12 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 25, 2014, 05:37:05 PM
If getting an Android, get a Nexus. Cheaper than flagship phones from HTC, Samsung etc with 90% of the specs and the best software. Better to buy outright and move to a SIM only contract.

Alternatively, if you could figure out how to get your hands on a OnePlus One, it's pretty much the best phone on the market at an unbelievably good price.

In a similar view the Moto G or even Moto X are great possibilities, Motorola were owned by Google and you get the latest unembellished Android.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 26, 2014, 10:36:21 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 25, 2014, 06:13:12 PM

In a similar view the Moto G or even Moto X are great possibilities, Motorola were owned by Google and you get the latest unembellished Android.
The moto G is fantastic for a buget smartphone. At around 100 quid PAYG you cant go wrong
Post by: gallsman on September 26, 2014, 10:50:09 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on September 26, 2014, 10:36:21 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 25, 2014, 06:13:12 PM

The moto G is fantastic for a buget smartphone. At around 100 quid PAYG you cant go wrong

Agreed. Better value for money than the Moto X in my opinion. They've just released an updated version of the Moto X that has been met with mixed reviews.
Post by: pullhard on September 26, 2014, 11:30:51 AM
what the battery life like in the moto g?

I was thinking about carrying on with the s2, replacing the battery suppose to be some high capacity job thats business. Getting a sim only deal
Post by: deiseach on September 26, 2014, 11:42:26 AM
Assuming you are not watching Netflix while out and about, you should get a day out of the Moto G battery.
Post by: armaghniac on September 26, 2014, 12:05:17 PM
I've had a Moto G and while on holiday earlier in the summer I was happy with the battery life which with a bit of care was lasting all day while checking maps, gaaboard etc. My perception is that the battery life is now declining a tad after 8 months. Not sure about the new version which has bigger screen which presumably uses more juice.

They also have a dual sim version, which could be very handy, e.g. get a northern and southern sim or have one for data and one for calls, or one for calls to the wife and one for the girlfriend.
Post by: deiseach on September 26, 2014, 12:08:58 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 26, 2014, 12:05:17 PM
I've had a Moto G and while on holiday earlier in the summer I was happy with the battery life which with a bit of care was lasting all day while checking maps, gaaboard etc. My perception is that the battery life is now declining a tad after 8 months. Not sure about the new version which has bigger screen which presumably uses more juice.

Some holiday! ;)
Post by: laoislad on September 26, 2014, 12:29:22 PM
Anyone ever buy one of those Chinese Android phones?
There's a thread on boards.ie and a lot say some of them are great phones.
Post by: gallsman on September 26, 2014, 12:51:07 PM
Quote from: pullhard on September 26, 2014, 11:30:51 AM
what the battery life like in the moto g?

I was thinking about carrying on with the s2, replacing the battery suppose to be some high capacity job thats business. Getting a sim only deal

I'd splash out on a new one to be honest. The S2 is the best part of four years old at this stage and will seriously struggle to run Android L, which is claimed to have a huge improvement in battery life. At least that's what Google say. They did have a specific team working on it in fairness to them.
Post by: gallsman on September 26, 2014, 01:08:19 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 26, 2014, 12:29:22 PM

The OnePlus One is pretty much the best Android phone you can('t) get your hands on at the minute and the value is unreal.

As for the other Chinese phones, a guy in work paid less than €110 for a Galaxy S4 imitation and it worked perfectly for him for about 18 months until he bought a Moto G. I imagine some of them are hits and some are misses.
Post by: pullhard on September 26, 2014, 01:12:32 PM
where can these Chinese copies be found?
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 26, 2014, 01:19:08 PM
Quote from: pullhard on September 26, 2014, 01:12:32 PM
where can these Chinese copies be found?
China.
Post by: pullhard on September 26, 2014, 01:41:03 PM
(http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/image/serverpage/image-id/44743i9450766F1A9CA0ED/image-size/original?v=mpbl-1&px=-1)
Post by: J OGorman on September 26, 2014, 03:46:07 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 26, 2014, 12:05:17 PM

They also have a dual sim version, which could be very handy, e.g. get a northern and southern sim or have one for data and one for calls, or one for calls to the wife and one for the girlfriend.

which network are you on? 3 is cross border ie, i could sit in Cork and still work away on data at no extra cost to what I pay in the black north
Post by: armaghniac on September 26, 2014, 04:00:23 PM
Quotewhich network are you on? 3 is cross border ie, i could sit in Cork and still work away on data at no extra cost to what I pay in the black north

I'm aware of that. Although improving, 3 have shíte coverage in many parts of the black North.
Post by: J OGorman on September 26, 2014, 04:33:11 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 26, 2014, 04:00:23 PM
Quotewhich network are you on? 3 is cross border ie, i could sit in Cork and still work away on data at no extra cost to what I pay in the black north

I'm aware of that. Although improving, 3 have shíte coverage in many parts of the black North.

was only trying to help
Post by: armaghniac on September 26, 2014, 05:13:37 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on September 26, 2014, 04:33:11 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 26, 2014, 04:00:23 PM

was only trying to help

Three has a lot to offer. The 2 SIM phone thing in border areas might be as much about increasing your chance of getting a signal as anything else.
Post by: JohnDenver on December 10, 2014, 02:31:36 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 26, 2014, 01:08:19 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 26, 2014, 12:29:22 PM

The OnePlus One is pretty much the best Android phone you can('t) get your hands on at the minute and the value is unreal.

As for the other Chinese phones, a guy in work paid less than €110 for a Galaxy S4 imitation and it worked perfectly for him for about 18 months until he bought a Moto G. I imagine some of them are hits and some are misses.

For anybody interested in the OnePlus One phone, they seem to have an offer on now that doesn't need the invite scheme

https://oneplus.net/uk (https://oneplus.net/uk)
Post by: deiseach on December 10, 2014, 03:33:01 PM
TheOnePlus One looks absolutely ace. Well worth €289, give or take.
Post by: Family guy on December 10, 2014, 08:29:49 PM
Does anyone know if you can claim the vat back on a phone?i was looking at an iPhone 6 on the apple store site and I see there is 89 pound of vat on the one I clicked on,is there a way of claiming that back before I buy it?can get it for 70 quid cheaper on ebay but if I could get the vat back I would go that way as I don't trust buying of ebay
Post by: gallsman on December 10, 2014, 08:56:13 PM
I've had the oneplus one a couple of months now. It is exceptional. Needs a case though.
Post by: BenDover on December 10, 2014, 09:49:21 PM
Upgraded to the Sony Z3 Compact last week. Excellent handset by far the best I've used.
Post by: gallsman on December 10, 2014, 09:52:16 PM
Quote from: BenDover on December 10, 2014, 09:49:21 PM
Upgraded to the Sony Z3 Compact last week. Excellent handset by far the best I've used.

There's a tech reviewer I follow closely on YouTube who gave it an absolutely brilliant review.
Post by: BenDover on December 10, 2014, 10:12:24 PM
I've been really impressed didn't want a big 5+ inch screen fone so it was either this or a S5 mini glad I chose this. Did do a fair bit of research on it so would recommend it to anyone on the look out for a new handset
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 20, 2015, 09:57:20 AM
Invite for a OnePlus One if anyone wants one? You can get it shipped directed to Ireland now as well.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on March 20, 2015, 10:19:41 AM
Quote from: BenDover on December 10, 2014, 10:12:24 PM
I've been really impressed didn't want a big 5+ inch screen fone so it was either this or a S5 mini glad I chose this. Did do a fair bit of research on it so would recommend it to anyone on the look out for a new handset
I was exactly the same, didnt want one of the big phone/tablet things that the top of the line phones have all morphed into now, so went with the Z3 compact and think it is fantastic little phone.
Post by: deiseach on March 20, 2015, 10:20:15 AM
You can buy a OnePlus One on a Tuesday without an invite. How do you find it? I'm not in the market for a phone at the moment, but it looks the business.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 20, 2015, 10:27:26 AM
Quote from: deiseach on March 20, 2015, 10:20:15 AM
You can buy a OnePlus One on a Tuesday without an invite. How do you find it? I'm not in the market for a phone at the moment, but it looks the business.

Exactly how I got it, except had to route it internationally, took bleedin ages >:( Excellent phone, was worried it might have been too big but it fits nicely in the one hand. Needs a flip cover if you want to properly protect it.
Post by: gallsman on March 20, 2015, 10:48:28 AM
I've had the OPO for about five months. Exceptionally good phone and when you take the price into consideration, it's hard to beat.

Android 5 update due at end of the month too.

Worth noting that they've announced Euro area purchases will be more expensive from next week on due to the slumping fx rate.
Post by: deiseach on March 20, 2015, 10:53:25 AM
The poetics?

I've had Lollipop on my Moto G for a couple of months now. It's a great upgrade.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 20, 2015, 10:55:34 AM
Quote from: gallsman on March 20, 2015, 10:48:28 AM
I've had the OPO for about five months. Exceptionally good phone and when you take the poetics into consideration, it's hard to beat.

Worth noting that they've announced Euro area purchases will be more expensive from next week on due to the slumping fx rate.

What exactly is a One Plus One?? I've never heard of one and having googled it, it just looks like another phone??
Post by: gallsman on March 20, 2015, 10:56:28 AM
Quote from: deiseach on March 20, 2015, 10:53:25 AM
The poetics?

I've had Lollipop on my Moto G for a couple of months now. It's a great upgrade.

Fixed - price!

Which Moto G do you have? The first one was a cracking phone.
Post by: gallsman on March 20, 2015, 10:59:10 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 20, 2015, 10:55:34 AM
Quote from: gallsman on March 20, 2015, 10:48:28 AM
I've had the OPO for about five months. Exceptionally good phone and when you take the poetics into consideration, it's hard to beat.

What exactly is a One Plus One?? I've never heard of one and having googled it, it just looks like another phone??

It's a phone that has the hardware specs of some of last years's flagship phones from HTC, Samsung, LG etc at the price of Nexus 5.

It also comes with cyanogenmod, which is a customised ROM which tweaks stock android to give all sorts of little advantages and improvements here and there. However, I believe OnePlus and Cyanogen have had a falling out, so future models won't come with it.
Post by: deiseach on March 20, 2015, 11:01:12 AM
Autocorrect, eh? :D

I have the 2nd gen Moto G. It's slightly better than the original, which I was ridiculously chuffed with - right up the moment I cracked the screen. It's great having an SD card and the bigger screen has its uses, but it's not as comfortable to hold as the original.  Nothing major, just feels slightly off in terms of thickness. I would not recommend it as an upgrade if you have the original or if you can get the original for €50 less.
Post by: gallsman on March 20, 2015, 11:04:37 AM
Quote from: deiseach on March 20, 2015, 11:01:12 AM
Autocorrect, eh? :D

Always a risk with Swype-like keyboards, nothing to do with the phone!

A friend of mine bought the first gen moto g second hand for about €130 to replace his Nexus 4 and loves it.
Post by: deiseach on March 20, 2015, 11:21:40 AM
I got the original Moto G from Tesco in the UK. With a voucher, Parcel Motel and an unlock code, I got change out of €110. I thought I was so clever - right up the moment . . . forking out nearly €190 for the 2nd gen one didn't feel quite so clever :-\
Post by: FermGael on March 20, 2015, 12:17:16 PM
Has anybody installed the cyanogenmod rom on their android?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 20, 2015, 12:17:46 PM
1 gone, 1 left. Anyone for the last of the choc ices?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 20, 2015, 12:18:43 PM
Quote from: FermGael on March 20, 2015, 12:17:16 PM

Yep. Easy enough if you're able to follow directions.
Post by: gallsman on March 20, 2015, 12:19:09 PM
Quote from: FermGael on March 20, 2015, 12:17:16 PM

I have it native on the OPO and flashed it on both a Nexus 7 and a Samsung Galaxy S4. Haven't tried the Android 5 version.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 20, 2015, 01:45:31 PM
OPO flip covers and screen protectors 75% off today only. Phone itself now able to buy 7 days a week.
Post by: gallsman on April 20, 2015, 02:11:07 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 20, 2015, 01:45:31 PM
OPO flip covers and screen protectors 75% off today only. Phone itself now able to buy 7 days a week.
I can't recommended the phone highly enough, especially at its price point, even accounting for the recent increase in light of the crap euro.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 20, 2015, 02:41:32 PM
I installed the new android update there the other day on my Sony Z3 compact and the battery life on it has taken a massive hit.
It went from easily getting a good day & a half out of it with normal use, to yesterday it going from fully charged in the morning to completely dead at 4 oclock having made no phone calls at all (recieved 1 1-2 minute call and had a few textx/whatsapps during the day)
Today agins, itw as fully charged over night and at the minute i am down to 24%and havent made a single all, just a few whatsapp messages
surely something is badly up there?
has anyone else experienced this with the new update?
Any suggestions of how to fix it? can I go back to teh previous version?I was more than happy with the phone before  :-\
Post by: deiseach on August 20, 2015, 09:49:03 AM
Having trouble with my Moto G, the second time in six months that a software update means I can't switch on the phone and they are playing awkward with the warranty. I'm not too bothered, it's not as if I spent big bucks on it. However, I get the feeling the time has come to spend bigger bucks (about €300) on a phone.  Anyone care to recommend the OnePlus One? Available for €249 without an invite. Argos are doing the L3 G3 for €325 and while I'm sceptical about 'half-price' it has had some great reviews.
Post by: NAG1 on August 20, 2015, 10:48:42 AM
Samsung 6 anyone?

Time to change, had a Samsung 4 was happy with it but wondering if the 6 is a big enough improvement.
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 11:45:18 AM
Quote from: deiseach on August 20, 2015, 09:49:03 AM
Having trouble with my Moto G, the second time in six months that a software update means I can't switch on the phone and they are playing awkward with the warranty. I'm not too bothered, it's not as if I spent big bucks on it. However, I get the feeling the time has come to spend bigger bucks (about €300) on a phone.  Anyone care to recommend the OnePlus One? Available for €249 without an invite. Argos are doing the L3 G3 for €325 and while I'm sceptical about 'half-price' it has had some great reviews.

The OPO is an exceptional phone. I love mine.

However, if interested in saving yourself a few quid, check out the Vodafone Smart Ultra 6. There's a great thread about it on Boards - available for €175 and reviews so far have been exceptional. It's obviously not quite same level as the flagship phones, but probably the best value for money on the market. If not on Vodafone, you can buy an unlock code online for 3 or 4 quid.
Post by: deiseach on August 20, 2015, 12:12:33 PM
That does look tasty. I'm with Tesco and have found them very agreeable - a tenner topup does me for the month - but they don't have 4G. Thanks for that, gallsman.
Post by: laoislad on August 20, 2015, 12:39:21 PM
I bought that Vodafone phone to have as a second phone and its a very good phone for the price.
Bit heavier and bulkier compared to a Samsung etc but I cant fault it other than that.
Post by: ludermor on August 20, 2015, 01:22:24 PM
Anyone go their hands on the One Plus 2?
Post by: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 01:50:47 PM
Quote from: ludermor on August 20, 2015, 01:22:24 PM
Anyone go their hands on the One Plus 2?

Nah. Don't think it's a big enough improvement to make me jump from the One. I love cyanogenmod on the One, and the lack of it on the Two is another big factor in why I wouldn't change up just yet.
Post by: pullhard on August 27, 2015, 10:14:21 PM
Due an update, currently got an s2, gone a bit slow lately. thinking of the s5, any use?
Post by: BenDover on August 28, 2015, 08:51:53 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on August 20, 2015, 10:48:42 AM
Samsung 6 anyone?

Time to change, had a Samsung 4 was happy with it but wondering if the 6 is a big enough improvement.

Wife got one of these this week, upgrading from an S3 Mini an impressive bit of kit and very easy to transfer the contents of the old S3 to this one. Battery wouldn't be the greatest but sure like most smartphones these days a daily charge is required.
Post by: tbrick18 on August 28, 2015, 10:38:58 AM
Just recently got an Elephone P8000 through work.
Its basically a Samsung Galaxy Note, only a bit thicker and the chip not just as good, but its a top notch phone.
Battery life is amazing, I get about 2-3 days. 15M camera too which is nice.
I think they are about £160.
Post by: gallsman on August 28, 2015, 11:02:39 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on August 28, 2015, 10:38:58 AM
Its basically a Samsung Galaxy Note, only a bit thicker and the chip not just as good, but its a top notch phone.

Read about this on Boards. Some people very keen on it. Would be interested in hearing how you get in with it over next few weeks!
Post by: deiseach on October 06, 2015, 10:19:00 AM
Quote from: gallsman on August 20, 2015, 11:45:18 AM
However, if interested in saving yourself a few quid, check out the Vodafone Smart Ultra 6. There's a great thread about it on Boards - available for €175 and reviews so far have been exceptional. It's obviously not quite same level as the flagship phones, but probably the best value for money on the market. If not on Vodafone, you can buy an unlock code online for 3 or 4 quid.

I picked up the Smart Ultra 6 last week and it is a cracking piece of kit for the price. The size of the phone is a matter of taste - I think the comfortable-to-hold ship sailed when I bought the 2nd gen Moto G - but almost everything else about it is fantastic. Vivid screen, huge amount of storage, lightning fast. The best part is the battery. I would be a heavy user (Father) and the battery sails through the day without going anywhere near 20%. If I had splashed out on a €300+ phone I'd have been sick to see this. Much obliged, gallsman.
Post by: tbrick18 on October 06, 2015, 02:18:51 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 28, 2015, 11:02:39 AM

Read about this on Boards. Some people very keen on it. Would be interested in hearing how you get in with it over next few weeks!

I have to say, its a really good phone. The only minor issue is that if you have wifi access and data on at the same time, it seems to get a bit confused as to which to use and so pages can hang when browsing. However, switching one or the other off resolves this.
The styling of the back cover of the phone leaves a bit to be desired too (its a bit like a disco ball), but all in all I'm very happy with it.
I had a Galaxy S4 before it, and I rate this as a much better phone.
Post by: deiseach on March 15, 2016, 09:45:34 AM

Still feeling the love for the Elephone? Anyone else bought from them? Thinking of picking one up for my wife so I can give her my now-antique Smart Ultra.
Post by: laoislad on March 15, 2016, 10:03:14 AM
Quote from: deiseach on March 15, 2016, 09:45:34 AM

Still feeling the love for the Elephone? Anyone else bought from them? Thinking of picking one up for my wife so I can give her my now-antique Smart Ultra.
I was just about to press buy it now on eBay last night on one of these when I had a change of heart. I searched a bit further and ended up buying a LG G3 for €120
Post by: gallsman on August 22, 2016, 02:59:23 PM
Have been using the OnePlus 3 the last month or so and it's a big step up from the One. The fast ("Dash") charge is absolutely unreal.
Post by: take_yer_points on August 22, 2016, 03:41:56 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 22, 2016, 02:59:23 PM
Have been using the OnePlus 3 the last month or so and it's a big step up from the One. The fast ("Dash") charge is absolutely unreal.

I've been using a OnePlus Two since early June after seeing it recommended on here. Great phone, won't be rushing back to an iPhone anytime soon
Post by: ludermor on August 22, 2016, 03:51:20 PM
Did you try the Oneplus 2 at all?
Like take_yer_points i have been using it since last autumn and i think its a great phone.
Post by: gallsman on August 22, 2016, 05:18:16 PM
Quote from: ludermor on August 22, 2016, 03:51:20 PM
Like take_yer_points i have been using it since last autumn and i think its a great phone.

No, I skipped it as I didn't think the improvement on the One was was big enough to upgrade. The Three is a different story though. Best phone I've had by a mile.
Post by: BenDover on September 08, 2016, 12:55:48 PM
any recommendations for a new upgrade? Due to renew in the next few weeks and toying with the idea of buying the Moto G4 and going SIM only.
Post by: oakleaflad on September 08, 2016, 01:18:10 PM
Quote from: BenDover on September 08, 2016, 12:55:48 PM
any recommendations for a new upgrade? Due to renew in the next few weeks and toying with the idea of buying the Moto G4 and going SIM only.
I've got it and can't fault it. I think it's the best value for money phone there is.
Post by: ludermor on September 08, 2016, 01:38:48 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 22, 2016, 05:18:16 PM

No, I skipped it as I didn't think the improvement on the One was was big enough to upgrade. The Three is a different story though. Best phone I've had by a mile.
Apologies Gallsman only seen this now, i think ill treat myself to the Three :)
Post by: gallsman on September 08, 2016, 02:05:08 PM
Depending on if you're in the north or south I think they might have introduced sales restrictions as, despite getting rid of the invite system, they couldn't cope with demand. Think it ends next week.

Have had the phone a good while now and am delighted with it. The battery isn't exceptional which is disappointing but with the Dash charging, that doesn't really matter.
Post by: BenDover on September 21, 2016, 01:55:12 PM
http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/redmi-note-3-pro-prime-networks-16-32gb-rom-aliexpress-xiaomi-authorized-108-93-2514458?utm_source=Newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_content=09212016&utm_campaign=Daily%2BHot

Do any of ye's have one of these? It's a toss up between this and the Moto G4 for my next phone atm.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on September 21, 2016, 03:45:23 PM
Quote from: BenDover on September 21, 2016, 01:55:12 PM
http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/redmi-note-3-pro-prime-networks-16-32gb-rom-aliexpress-xiaomi-authorized-108-93-2514458?utm_source=Newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_content=09212016&utm_campaign=Daily%2BHot

Do any of ye's have one of these? It's a toss up between this and the Moto G4 for my next phone atm.

I have a Xiaomi Redmi 3S. Great phone. Battery lasts forever.
Post by: armaghniac on September 21, 2016, 05:00:46 PM

I got a Oneplus X, as a replacement for the original Moto G. I wanted the smaller screen and it is cheaper than a Oneplus 3.
Happy enough with it, although the battery life isn't anything special.
Post by: BenDover on November 29, 2016, 08:29:59 AM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on September 21, 2016, 03:45:23 PM

One of these arrived yesterday, purchased for £105 in the 11/11 sale from GearBest, so far an excellent phone. MIUI8 update installed as soon as I turned it on and connected to Wifi, Google Play already installed so no hassle setting it back up to the way I had my Z3 Compact. Battery life on down 30% from yesterday afternoon and that's after me messing around testing different features. Works on my EE Sim.
Good shout Geoff Tipps
Post by: laoislad on January 08, 2017, 10:58:03 PM
Quote from: BenDover on November 29, 2016, 08:29:59 AM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on September 21, 2016, 03:45:23 PM

One of these arrived yesterday, purchased for £105 in the 11/11 sale from GearBest, so far an excellent phone. MIUI8 update installed as soon as I turned it on and connected to Wifi, Google Play already installed so no hassle setting it back up to the way I had my Z3 Compact. Battery life on down 30% from yesterday afternoon and that's after me messing around testing different features. Works on my EE Sim.
Good shout Geoff Tipps
Ordered one today for the wife. Is it still going OK for you?
Post by: BenDover on January 09, 2017, 12:32:04 PM
No regrets LL, all going well one thing I have noticed Live streaming through the BT Sport app wouldn't be great (very stop/start) which is a pain in the ass, I don't have this issue with any streams to watch Utd from twitter and all other video playback is spot on. Go for it this a great piece of kit. My next move will be for a Mi 5.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on January 09, 2017, 02:25:04 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 09, 2017, 01:22:50 PM
Cheers. I'm buying it for the wife. I read it can't get 4G though.Is that true? Doubt it will bother her though.

I can get 4G on mine. I'm with Vodafone. I think there may be issues with other networks though.
Have a look at this and you'll be able to tell:
http://willmyphonework.net/

1 issue I have had with the phone is that periodically (every 3 months or so) every time the phone is in sleep mode and
after I wake it up, the phone locks. An ad may then appear taking up the whole screen.
When I close the ad everything works fine. It's quite annoying though. I googled and was able to change some google ad settings.
I'm pretty sure it's related to an app called "File Manager" which I'm unable to uninstall. I am able to stop it and that along with
changing the ad settings I mentioned seems to get rid of it for a few months.

Post by: BenDover on January 10, 2017, 08:54:46 AM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on January 09, 2017, 02:25:04 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 09, 2017, 01:22:50 PM
Cheers. I'm buying it for the wife. I read it can't get 4G though.Is that true? Doubt it will bother her though.

I can get 4G on mine. I'm with Vodafone. I think there may be issues with other networks though.
Have a look at this and you'll be able to tell:
http://willmyphonework.net/

1 issue I have had with the phone is that periodically (every 3 months or so) every time the phone is in sleep mode and
after I wake it up, the phone locks. An ad may then appear taking up the whole screen.
When I close the ad everything works fine. It's quite annoying though. I googled and was able to change some google ad settings.
I'm pretty sure it's related to an app called "File Manager" which I'm unable to uninstall. I am able to stop it and that along with
changing the ad settings I mentioned seems to get rid of it for a few months.
Geoff I'm not having that issue but I'll keep an eye out for it. LL I have 4G on mine I'm with EE up here. Use the link provided by Geoff and you'll see what provider works on the 4G bands. Great phone for a sim only plan I'm on 4GB unlimited calls/texts for £9.95. Battery life is excellent 2 days easily.
Post by: laoislad on January 26, 2017, 05:20:44 PM
That phone came today.  Have to say I'm seriously impressed with it.  So much so I think I'll keep it for myself and give the wife my battered S6!
For the price it's a very good piece of kit.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 29, 2017, 11:30:02 PM
Any recommendations for an android maps/navigation app other than Google maps??
Post by: macdanger2 on June 01, 2017, 09:41:27 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 29, 2017, 11:30:02 PM
Any recommendations for an android maps/navigation app other than Google maps??

Anyone?
Post by: gallsman on June 02, 2017, 12:27:57 AM
Can't recommend one as have no reason to use anything other than Google maps? It's the best by a mile.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 02, 2017, 01:39:29 AM
Waze app is what i use here in the states. Its very popular.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 02, 2017, 11:35:27 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on June 02, 2017, 01:39:29 AM

Cheers, will try that.
Post by: armaghniac on June 02, 2017, 06:11:48 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 02, 2017, 11:35:27 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on June 02, 2017, 01:39:29 AM

Cheers, will try that.

Google own Waze, the main thing it adds is more traffic information and this is a function of the number of people using it where you are.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 06, 2018, 08:47:10 PM
I bought a new SD card for my phone the other day as the internal storage was filling up. When I transferred my photos to it (using the phone app), ~90% of the photos are now showing as just a black screen. Same thing when I view them on a laptop.

Are the photos f*cked or is it possible to recover them? I backed up the phone ~4 months ago so not everything is gone but still a decent amount of photos

Thanks
Post by: macdanger2 on February 07, 2018, 11:05:46 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on February 06, 2018, 08:47:10 PM
I bought a new SD card for my phone the other day as the internal storage was filling up. When I transferred my photos to it (using the phone app), ~90% of the photos are now showing as just a black screen. Same thing when I view them on a laptop.

Are the photos f*cked or is it possible to recover them? I backed up the phone ~4 months ago so not everything is gone but still a decent amount of photos

Thanks

Anyone?
Post by: gallsman on February 07, 2018, 11:09:04 PM
What phone is it? Some gallery apps struggle to read from SD cards, of you moved the files, you'll still be able to see them on a PC, they should be safe on the card.

Best option is to back them up on Google Photos.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 07, 2018, 11:50:32 PM
Quote from: gallsman on February 07, 2018, 11:09:04 PM
What phone is it? Some gallery apps struggle to read from SD cards, of you moved the files, you'll still be able to see them on a PC, they should be safe on the card.

Best option is to back them up on Google Photos.
It's a Sony. Not able to view them on a PC either, from what I've read, they're probably gone but was hoping someone here might have something different to say
Post by: gallsman on February 07, 2018, 11:56:42 PM
All you did was move the files onto an SD card?
Post by: macdanger2 on February 08, 2018, 12:01:40 AM
Quote from: gallsman on February 07, 2018, 11:56:42 PM
All you did was move the files onto an SD card?

Yeah. Not all of them are corrupted either, but most are
Post by: gallsman on February 08, 2018, 12:05:53 AM
What happens if you move them back?

How old is the phone?
Post by: macdanger2 on February 08, 2018, 08:48:32 AM
Quote from: gallsman on February 08, 2018, 12:05:53 AM
What happens if you move them back?

How old is the phone?

Haven't tried moving them back to the phone actually, will give that a go. Phone is ~6 months old
Post by: armaghniac on February 08, 2018, 12:48:14 PM
There are SD Card scan apps that can find lost files and the like on SD cards. One of these might be worth a try.
Post by: FermGael on September 16, 2018, 12:58:04 PM
Looks like my oneplus3 has bit the dust.
Any recommendations ?
Was looking at the Xiaomi Mi 8.
Any one any experience of Xiaomi's and getting one ?
Post by: gallsman on September 16, 2018, 01:20:56 PM
Quote from: FermGael on September 16, 2018, 12:58:04 PM
Any recommendations ?

If you like OnePlus the new ones are incredible and the 6T will be coming shortly. They've got pricier though.

A budget option is the new Pocophone they is being touted as a OnePlus challenger.

The Motorola G series are always good budget phones too.
Post by: laoislad on September 16, 2018, 01:26:43 PM
I've the Motorola G6 and it's a great phone.
Post by: bennydorano on October 05, 2018, 10:16:50 AM
I got a new fairly basic Samsung contract phone in June, it's now saying my memory is near full (16gb), how the f**k could that be??? I've done the file clearing and App uninstalling, something I'm missing?? Only thing I can think of is the mp3 player on it, i was using a YouTube converter link for it, but theres only only 20 odd songs on it. Not insured either.
Post by: gallsman on October 05, 2018, 10:34:33 AM
16gb is nothing these days. The operating system probably takes up close to half of that.
Post by: Taylor on October 05, 2018, 10:36:24 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 05, 2018, 10:16:50 AM
I got a new fairly basic Samsung contract phone in June, it's now saying my memory is near full (16gb), how the f**k could that be??? I've done the file clearing and App uninstalling, something I'm missing?? Only thing I can think of is the mp3 player on it, i was using a YouTube converter link for it, but theres only only 20 odd songs on it. Not insured either.

Same - its an absolute nightmare.
Spend my time clearing things and have almost no apps on the phone.

Waste of time.

Dont even think you can add memory to the phone  ::)
Post by: Stall the Bailer on October 05, 2018, 10:45:57 AM
If you get a lot of photos and videos through WhatsApp these will be stored on your phone and will take up a lot of space.
Post by: Boycey on October 05, 2018, 11:10:35 AM
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on October 05, 2018, 10:45:57 AM
If you get a lot of photos and videos through WhatsApp these will be stored on your phone and will take up a lot of space.

You can turn that storage of in WhatsApp I think...

As stated above 16gb is feck all nowadays but there is a way to claw back a couple of gb regularly.. If you know the passwords to your social media accounts simply delete the apps and reinstall this will remove all the crap that's built up in the app, Everytime you update it adds to the size of the app

In iOS I think you have to delete and reinstall but in Android you can go into settings>storage and go down though each app. I have plenty of free space anyway but gained 3gb there by clearing storage and cache from Facebook, Snapchat and spotify. Remember be sure you know passwords before you clear storage, cache can be removed anyway.
Post by: gallsman on October 05, 2018, 11:12:50 AM
You don't even need to do that, just go into the individual apps in settings and clear their caches.
Post by: Boycey on October 05, 2018, 11:19:03 AM
Quote from: gallsman on October 05, 2018, 11:12:50 AM
You don't even need to do that, just go into the individual apps in settings and clear their caches.

Some apps seem to storage intensive, some cache intensive. No harm doing both.

How's Root going for u?
Post by: take_yer_points on October 05, 2018, 12:23:17 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 16, 2018, 01:20:56 PM
Quote from: FermGael on September 16, 2018, 12:58:04 PM
Any recommendations ?

If you like OnePlus the new ones are incredible and the 6T will be coming shortly. They've got pricier though.

A budget option is the new Pocophone they is being touted as a OnePlus challenger.

The Motorola G series are always good budget phones too.

I had a OnePlus 2 and upgraded to the 5T earlier in the year. Brilliant phone
Post by: bennydorano on October 05, 2018, 12:47:34 PM
Would a new SD card make any difference? I've one in this that's been in a couple of phones and must be quite full
Post by: armaghniac on October 05, 2018, 01:09:17 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 05, 2018, 12:47:34 PM
Would a new SD card make any difference? I've one in this that's been in a couple of phones and must be quite full

Not all apps use the SD card, so it might help that much.

A  good cleaning app will identify where the space is being used, if you have space to install it!!
Post by: spuds on October 05, 2018, 03:34:07 PM
If you use the Samsung pass app to transfer data from old phone you may be clogging up new phone with photos, files, apps etc.
Post by: bennydorano on October 12, 2018, 12:33:22 PM
Would anybody know what is the general rule if thumb for breaking a phone contract - cost wise? I'm only 5 months into a 2 year deal with Three.
Post by: square_ball on October 12, 2018, 12:57:14 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 12, 2018, 12:33:22 PM
Would anybody know what is the general rule if thumb for breaking a phone contract - cost wise? I'm only 5 months into a 2 year deal with Three.

I've found that it was remaining months x monthly cost less the VAT. That was a few years ago so I'm not sure if it's still the way they do it. I'd say it'll be costly unless your monthly fee is low.
Post by: bennydorano on October 12, 2018, 02:04:32 PM
Cheers & bollix to that
Post by: Square Ball on October 12, 2018, 09:06:29 PM
Quote from: square_ball on October 12, 2018, 12:57:14 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 12, 2018, 12:33:22 PM

I've found that it was remaining months x monthly cost less the VAT. That was a few years ago so I'm not sure if it's still the way they do it. I'd say it'll be costly unless your monthly fee is low.
Yip that what I was quoted from 3 as well. Cant wait to get away from 3, live in south Belfast and signal is pathetic. Thinking of a Huawei as the camera seems to be one of the best around and 128gb to boot
Post by: Abble on October 13, 2018, 11:29:25 AM
i currently have a windows phone lumia 920 and want to switch to android. i am eyeing up huawei p20 pro and want to know in terms of any android device, is there a decent app to handle visual voicemail (ie a list displaying missed phone call messages) ?
Post by: Square Ball on October 13, 2018, 07:14:44 PM
Some good deals here on the p20
https://www.mobilephonesdirect.co.uk/o2-contract-mobile-phones/huawei-p20-pro-128gb-black
Post by: Solo_run on October 23, 2018, 05:33:14 PM
Bought the OnePlus 6 a few months back and I have not had a single problem with it.

For anyone looking to buy a new android phone the One Plus 6T version is coming out this month and worth the £530 odd price tag. Would prefer it to the Samsung flagship phone which is approx double the price.

Post by: laoislad on December 19, 2018, 09:16:30 PM
Got a Galaxy S9 the other day. Already starting to notice a few scratches appearing on the screen. Anyone recommend a decent case, and screen protector.  There are dozens online with varying reviews. Don't mind spending a bit to get a good one as I'm going through 2 phones a year from breaking them so be cheaper now just get a good case and screen protector than have to replace phone in a few months.
Post by: JoG2 on December 19, 2018, 09:48:12 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 19, 2018, 09:16:30 PM
Got a Galaxy S9 the other day. Already starting to notice a few scratches appearing on the screen. Anyone recommend a decent case, and screen protector.  There are dozens online with varying reviews. Don't mind spending a bit to get a good one as I'm going through 2 phones a year from breaking them so be cheaper now just get a good case and screen protector than have to replace phone in a few months.

Otterbox defender, you're only man. Have had 5 for 5 different Samsungs down the years.
Post by: laoislad on December 19, 2018, 09:58:45 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on December 19, 2018, 09:48:12 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 19, 2018, 09:16:30 PM

Otterbox defender, you're only man. Have had 5 for 5 different Samsungs down the years.
Cheers will take a look
Post by: gallsman on December 19, 2018, 10:07:58 PM
Laoislad, is there no pre installed factory screen protector on the phone? Most phones ship with one these days and I'd be surprised if they were scratches on the screen rather then the protector.

Tempered glass protectors the ones to buy.
Post by: laoislad on December 19, 2018, 10:15:43 PM
Nothing preinstalled on screen from what I can see.Scratches are on the screen alright. I'm always shoving screwdrivers and whatnot into my pocket and forgetting my phone is there.  They aren't bad yet really but it be nice to have a phone longer than 6 months so time for a case, don't like having one on the phone but needs must.
Post by: PMG1 on December 19, 2018, 11:31:11 PM
Changing phone for work, is the iPhone X a good option? I am not paying for it as such so getting a free bat but want to make sure it's decent
Post by: gallsman on December 19, 2018, 11:47:56 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 19, 2018, 10:15:43 PM
Nothing preinstalled on screen from what I can see.Scratches are on the screen alright. I'm always shoving screwdrivers and whatnot into my pocket and forgetting my phone is there.  They aren't bad yet really but it be nice to have a phone longer than 6 months so time for a case, don't like having one on the phone but needs must.

If that's the kind of treatment you're going to be subjecting it do, an otterbox case as suggested by JoG2 definitely worth it.
Post by: Taylor on December 20, 2018, 08:13:11 AM
Quote from: PMG1 on December 19, 2018, 11:31:11 PM
Changing phone for work, is the iPhone X a good option? I am not paying for it as such so getting a free bat but want to make sure it's decent

While you will get the usual Apple haters have to say I swear by them.
The only negative is the fecking updates.
Have the IPhone X and it is a great job - would be a no brainer if it is free
Post by: gallsman on December 22, 2018, 09:06:03 AM
Have had the OnePlus 6T for a day or now and absolutely love it. The battery life on it is class.
Post by: take_yer_points on August 14, 2019, 08:08:34 PM
Any recommendations for an android phone around £150. Father in law is after one, will be used for a bit of browsing, skygo and maybe casting the likes of Netflix and TeaTv/Terrarium, etc...

I've a OnePlus 5T and recommended it but he doesn't want to go to that price range. I saw a OnePlus 5 at £200 which he might go to - anyone had a 5? I'm assuming there isn't much difference in the 5 and the 5T?

Any other recommendations?
Post by: armaghniac on August 14, 2019, 09:17:12 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on August 14, 2019, 08:08:34 PM
Any recommendations for an android phone around £150. Father in law is after one, will be used for a bit of browsing, skygo and maybe casting the likes of Netflix and TeaTv/Terrarium, etc...

I've a OnePlus 5T and recommended it but he doesn't want to go to that price range. I saw a OnePlus 5 at £200 which he might go to - anyone had a 5? I'm assuming there isn't much difference in the 5 and the 5T?

Any other recommendations?

Moto G6 or G7
https://www.argos.co.uk/product/8492964
Post by: gallsman on August 14, 2019, 10:00:52 PM
Pocophone F1, secondhand?

Don't buy Motorola, Lenovo are shite for issuing updates.
Post by: Solo_run on August 14, 2019, 10:33:06 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 22, 2018, 09:06:03 AM
Have had the OnePlus 6T for a day or now and absolutely love it. The battery life on it is class.

Can't beat them. The one plus 7 pro is phenomenal
Post by: general on August 14, 2019, 11:05:48 PM
Look at the Huaweis. I have a P30. Absolutely the best phone I've ever had. Used apple and Samsung b4
Post by: Brick Tamlin on August 15, 2019, 08:48:28 AM
General tell me more...im at a crossroads myself with an upgrade due. Had considered the Huawei P30 but is there not some issue with being able to use google on it or is it not restricted in some way..ive always had samsung and loved the simplicity of it, drag n drop music and photo files etc.
Its either a Samsung Galaxy 10 or the P30....any info welcome.
Post by: lurganblue on August 15, 2019, 09:34:48 AM
No issue with Google on it.  There was a bit of a scare going round but Mr Trump and China came to a trade agreement i believe.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on August 15, 2019, 09:36:17 AM
so terms of functionality there is no real difference?
I can still easily transfer data files etc?
Couldnt be bothered with any oul hassle with new phone so ive been holding back on getting it
Post by: lurganblue on August 15, 2019, 09:49:07 AM
I have a P20 Pro and before that i had an S7.  I didnt find it difficult to change at all.  The Huawei EMUI operating system is maybe slightly different to Samsung so of course that would take a little getting used to.  Camera is great, battery life great etc.  Ive had it now for well over a year and i would have no complaints.  Look out for deals that sometimes accompany the Huawei phones.  I got a set of Bose QC2s with mine and the wife got a decent tablet with her P30.

Do you mean transferring files from PC to phone? That's something I've never had to do so i couldn't comment really.
Post by: general on August 15, 2019, 10:10:39 AM
I've a Samsung S10 work phone and a Huwawei P30 for my personal phone - both run android.

The Huwawei however is running so much faster and huge importance to me is battery use - I can have it on all day and have apps running all day where i would normally have them all closed on the samsung.

come 10pm in the evening i may stil have 45% battery. that could be after watching 30 mins news on the phone at lunch time as well.

Transfer can all be done via Google Accounts i believe - i have my whattsapp and photos all backed up on my gmail so it was a matter of signing in and recovering.

https://www.mobiles.co.uk/huawei-p30?filter_upfront_cost=0

https://www.mobilephonesdirect.co.uk/brand/huawei?page=2

there are some unbelivable deals available at the minute - huge data allowances. These are for the north of the boarder unfortunately for anyone in the south
Post by: gallsman on August 15, 2019, 11:47:44 AM
One thing to note about Huawei is that they are beginning to push their own OS.

If you are interested in a phone but aren't really sure if it's what you want or need, watch the reviews by MKBHD, Unbox Therapy and Dave Lee on YouTube.
Post by: Jim Bob on August 15, 2019, 02:21:06 PM
My Samsung galaxy a5 2017 does not give me any notification of receiving text messages. Nothing appears on home screen or it's screen icon and no sound is made. I tried finding a setting but doesn't appear to be one. Had led to grief about me not replying to texts etc...

any pointers to solve this?
Post by: Solo_run on August 15, 2019, 02:34:30 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on August 15, 2019, 02:21:06 PM
My Samsung galaxy a5 2017 does not give me any notification of receiving text messages. Nothing appears on home screen or it's screen icon and no sound is made. I tried finding a setting but doesn't appear to be one. Had led to grief about me not replying to texts etc...

any pointers to solve this?

Should be somewhere under settings "Apps & Notifications" Then select the app you want notifications for and enable them.

I accidentally disabled notifications for SMS a few weeks ago and just fixed it.
Post by: fearsiuil on August 16, 2019, 07:44:24 PM
Anyone recommend a device or phone for downloading podcasts and listening to live radio (not via internet)?

Device/phone won't to be used as a phone.
Post by: Orior on October 05, 2021, 10:36:29 PM
I am new to Android phone and am using an Outlook/Hotmail email on it. Problem is, when I send an email the recipient sees it coming from a person called "Action Require" instead of "Orior"

Any ideas?
Post by: dec on October 05, 2021, 10:57:34 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 05, 2021, 10:36:29 PM
I am new to Android phone and am using an Outlook/Hotmail email on it. Problem is, when I send an email the recipient sees it coming from a person called "Action Require" instead of "Orior"

Any ideas?

Change your name by deed poll to "Action Require"
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on October 05, 2021, 11:31:26 PM
Quote from: dec on October 05, 2021, 10:57:34 PM

Any ideas?

Made me laugh.  ;D

That is all
Post by: Orior on October 06, 2021, 09:39:52 AM
Quote from: dec on October 05, 2021, 10:57:34 PM

Any ideas?

lol
Post by: tyroneman on October 06, 2021, 09:49:56 AM
I have a Huawei P20 Pro and internet connection continunally drop outs - either it goes completely and I'm on 4g or says it's conencted, but with no internet service.

Aanyone else get same issue + have a fix that works?
Post by: lurganblue on October 06, 2021, 11:00:27 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on October 06, 2021, 09:49:56 AM
I have a Huawei P20 Pro and internet connection continunally drop outs - either it goes completely and I'm on 4g or says it's conencted, but with no internet service.

You mean when you are at home say and it doesnt connect to your wifi?  I used to have that phone and a vaguely remember that in certain parts of the house it would think the signal is too weak and try to revert to 4g.  I think at that point if you check wifi settings you can select to stay on the weak signal, as it would work fine.
Post by: lurganblue on October 06, 2021, 11:03:27 AM
While i'm here, anyone got one of the foldable phones yet?  I'm not due a change just yet but i do like the idea of the z fold.  I'd hope the next gen gets a bit thinner.
Post by: woakeme on October 06, 2021, 01:19:47 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on October 06, 2021, 11:00:27 AM

You mean when you are at home say and it doesnt connect to your wifi?  I used to have that phone and a vaguely remember that in certain parts of the house it would think the signal is too weak and try to revert to 4g.  I think at that point if you check wifi settings you can select to stay on the weak signal, as it would work fine.

Yes I have exact same problem. Not connecting properly to wifi both at work and at home. Been like that as few days. Wifi works grand on other devices. I have Huawei P20 Pro also. Did you get it resolved?
Post by: Main Street on October 06, 2021, 03:49:42 PM
Quote from: woakeme on October 06, 2021, 01:19:47 PM

Yes I have exact same problem. Not connecting properly to wifi both at work and at home. Been like that as few days. Wifi works grand on other devices. I have Huawei P20 Pro also. Did you get it resolved?
Have you done a search, for example
'why does my Huawei phone keep losing Wi-Fi connection?'

Then you can follow established lines of inquiry and probable solutions
Post by: tyroneman on October 06, 2021, 08:00:15 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 06, 2021, 03:49:42 PM

Unfortunately I have tried all the solutions offered online and nothing works.

Was just hoping I'd missed something that I hadn't tried which had maybe worked for a poster here. 
Post by: Main Street on October 06, 2021, 08:18:12 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on October 06, 2021, 08:00:15 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 06, 2021, 03:49:42 PM

Unfortunately I have tried all the solutions offered online and nothing works.

Was just hoping I'd missed something that I hadn't tried which had maybe worked for a poster here.
Have you already tried all the suggestions listed here?
https://thedroidguy.com/fix-huawei-p30-wifi-keeps-disconnecting-1101764