Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: lfdown2 on January 05, 2009, 03:01:48 PM

Title: Bucket List
Post by: lfdown2 on January 05, 2009, 03:01:48 PM
The woman was telling me her friend had just done a bucket list, ie to do before you die, havnt really thought about it much yet but my no. 1 is to drive the californian coast on a harley in the middle of doing it at the minute...

what would be your bucket list?
Title: Re: Bucket List
Post by: bigfrank on January 05, 2009, 03:05:16 PM
Love to play in the World Series of Poker in Las Vegas!!! :P :P
Bunjee Jump
Go to australia
Sky Dive
Win the lotto
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 03:05:53 PM
1. Swim with a Great White Shark
2. Visit Australia
3. Go on a ZERO-G flight
4. Play Guitar
5. Free Fall
Post by: wherefromreferee? on January 05, 2009, 03:08:24 PM
Quote from: lfdown2 on January 05, 2009, 03:01:48 PM
The woman was telling me her friend had just done a bucket list, ie to do before you die, havnt really thought about it much yet but my no. 1 is to drive the californian coast on a harley in the middle of doing it at the minute...

what would be your bucket list?

Let me get this right, you'd love to 'drive the californian coast on a harley in the middle of doing it'

Jesus, fair play til you.  I cant think about anything else when I'm doing it  ;D ;)
Post by: Hardy on January 05, 2009, 03:26:08 PM
Learn to fly (really fly, I mean)
Break a world record
Discover the cure for piles
Ride in the English Grand National (unrelated to No. 2 above)
Write several books (I've made a start on this one - I've read several books)
Attend another Meath All-Ireland win
See diving outlawed
Make a lot of money (only so that I can afford the horse for No. 3 above)
Give away a lot of money
Meet Larry Reilly
Post by: Orior on January 05, 2009, 03:33:55 PM
Open an orphanage for abandoned children
Have a threesome without paying for it
Have another threesome without paying for it
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 05, 2009, 03:35:00 PM
Become a Dad
Go back to Australia
Drive from one coast of the U.S to the other
Learn to play the guitar.
Be a successful enough business man that I can hire someone else to do all the work for me

Post by: Niall Quinn on January 05, 2009, 03:35:17 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 05, 2009, 03:33:55 PM
Open an orphanage for abandoned children
Have a threesome without paying for it
Have another threesome without paying for it

Would one fivesome suffice?
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 03:36:46 PM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on January 05, 2009, 03:35:17 PM
Would one fivesome suffice?

Get your coat Orior, you've pulled.
Post by: Onion Bag on January 05, 2009, 03:44:36 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 03:05:53 PM
2. Visit Australia
3. Go on a ZERO-G flight
4. Play Guitar
5. Free Fall

Ziggy, i aint blowing my own trumpet here or anything but i have done 4 of your 5,

i havnet been on a ZERO-G flight
Post by: Onion Bag on January 05, 2009, 03:50:31 PM
Just thought about that HS

The ability to do so would be on my bucket list!  ;)
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 03:51:38 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on January 05, 2009, 03:44:36 PM
2. Visit Australia
3. Go on a ZERO-G flight
4. Play Guitar
5. Free Fall

Ziggy, i aint blowing my own trumpet here or anything but i have done 4 of your 5,

Good were they?
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 03:57:09 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 05, 2009, 03:54:52 PM
Well, there you are now. Ziggy has done one thing on your bucket list and you have done 4 on his.

Only sponsored the orphanage. Didn't actually build it myself HS.
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 04:00:21 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 05, 2009, 03:59:38 PM
Didn't know that was on Onion Bag's bucket list. I know it was on Orior's.

Like I say, only two hours sleep last night HS.
Post by: Onion Bag on January 05, 2009, 04:00:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 03:51:38 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on January 05, 2009, 03:44:36 PM
2. Visit Australia
3. Go on a ZERO-G flight
4. Play Guitar
5. Free Fall

Good were they?

Fantastic, go for it
Post by: Rav67 on January 05, 2009, 06:12:57 PM
I thought this was gonna be a thread for pictures of ugly wemen
Post by: Puckoon on January 05, 2009, 06:46:17 PM
Id like to:

1. Finish this f@#King PhD.
2. Break 70 on the golf course
3. Hit a hole in one
4. Bowl a 300
5. Get completely sleeved in ink
6. Reach financial security without any "help" from Amway
7. Lay all bets on Hardy when he rides in the grand national (semi related to #6).
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 05, 2009, 06:50:20 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 05, 2009, 06:46:17 PM
Id like to:

3. Hit a hole in one

Been there done that  :)
Post by: The Iceman on January 05, 2009, 07:03:38 PM
1. Own a farm in America and a house in Ireland somewhere
2. Go back to Nicaragua
3. Design my own house
4. Get a black belt in BJJ
5. Run a marathon
Post by: DrinkingHarp on January 05, 2009, 11:05:06 PM
1.     Beat Phil Helmuth heads up on the Final Table at the WSOP  with a 10 3 off suit. (just to see him explode)

2.     Own my own little Pub.

3.     Fly in a Fighter Jet.

4.     Take a bicycle trip starting in Russia ending up in Ireland.

5.     Pan for gold for 1 year in Alaska.

6.     Eat the 72 oz steak at  " The Big Texan"   in Amarillo Texas under an hour to get it free.

7.     Announce a televised game for the Chicago Bears.

8.     Sing the 7th inning stretch of "take me out to the ball game"  at Wrigley Field for a Cubs game.

9.     Play a round of golf with Tiger, John Daly and Sergio Garcia.

10.   Own a little get away place on the water somewhere warm.

Post by: Treasurer on January 05, 2009, 11:11:44 PM
1. Visit Iceland (ok, ok, well do-able, no excuses)

2.  Take my mad cousin up on her suggestion of doing a "Thelma and Louise" trip - including Brad Pitt but excluding the drive off the cliff bit!

Hmm.....  have to think a bit more!
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 05, 2009, 11:15:10 PM
What's the point in coming up with things you want to do but probably will never do, very depressing.
Post by: bigfrank on January 05, 2009, 11:17:16 PM
Meet POG!!! :P :P
Post by: Treasurer on January 05, 2009, 11:19:20 PM
Quote from: bigfrank on January 05, 2009, 11:17:16 PM
Meet POG!!! :P :P

Dammit of course that should have been no. 1!
Post by: imtommygunn on January 05, 2009, 11:20:42 PM
Not meet POG ;)

I know of a few people that have a life "tick list". It's interesting.

I'd like to...
- get married to a woman I love
- have kids
- get to ~50k a year in my job and then not bother my arse working as hard any more
- spend some time in America
- do a mad event for charity - not sure what - and raise loads
- I would never sky dive but maybe a bungee jump
- run marathon
Post by: DrinkingHarp on January 05, 2009, 11:23:48 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 05, 2009, 11:15:10 PM
What's the point in coming up with things you want to do but probably will never do, very depressing.

POG, I can do 6 or maybe 7 of mine the other 3 would require some serious luck or good connections.

Life is a onetime shot, enjoy it or just watch it go by.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 05, 2009, 11:26:48 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on January 05, 2009, 11:23:48 PM

POG, I can do 6 or maybe 7 of mine the other 3 would require some serious luck or good connections.

Big difference between can do something and will do it. 
Post by: Tyronelass on January 05, 2009, 11:32:02 PM
Live a long happy life and pass away peacefully without much suffering and/or being a burden on others
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 05, 2009, 11:32:14 PM

Feck it your right Drinking Harp...
On that basis I would like to add another one to my list..

I would like to rub my face into Dolly Partons breasts and say "Num Num Num" as I'm doing it
Post by: DrinkingHarp on January 05, 2009, 11:36:53 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 05, 2009, 11:32:14 PM

Feck it your right Drinking Harp...
On that basis I would like to add another one to my list..

I would like to rub my face into Dolly Partons breasts and say "Num Num Num" as I'm doing it

Motor Boat Dolly Parton :...hhhmmmm.....maybe if she was 20-30 years younger. :o

RLL, I would pick someone more contemporary but its your list ::)
Post by: thebandit on January 05, 2009, 11:41:13 PM
Win a Championship medal as a player
Coach a championship winning team at underage level (both in the next 3 years)
Build a house (site already planned - 7-10 years)
Get over fear of commitment!!!! (God knows when)
Do more travelling (South America definately)
Be involved in a major charity event in 2010 that would become an annual thing (started planning)
Go to Cheltenham this/next year
Get through the recession intact

I agree with Tyronelass!!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on January 06, 2009, 12:04:41 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 05, 2009, 11:26:48 PM

Big difference between can do something and will do it. 

Ed McMahon to POG, "You are correct sir"

I have entered a contest to sing at the Cubs game (fingers crossed). I attempted the steak once before, didn't finish in an hour was driving 18 hours a day for three days when I got there so my heart/stomach was not into it- next time I will fly into Dallas then spend a nite in Amarillo to prepare. Need to save 1200 for the fighter jet ride, need to save roughly 9-15,000 for the bike trip, need to save 125-300,000 for the pub, need to save 250-450,000 for the warm water retreat, need 10,000 to enter WSOP and beat out roughly 9,000 other people and hope Phil Helmuth makes the final table with me. Would need to donate about 1 million to charity to set up the golf foursome. Announcing the Bears game would be the tough one, maybe donate 1 million to a charity the NFL supports. Revise the 1 year in Alaska to 1 month(3500) and find a 350 pound gold nugget (gold at 900 an oz) valued at $5,040,000 and that would cover everything , this is so simple :D

Life is but a dream    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=720CVjDLmvY

Post by: thebandit on January 06, 2009, 12:14:21 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 05, 2009, 11:44:52 PM
Quote from: thebandit on January 05, 2009, 11:41:13 PM
Are you female? If not, what in bejaysus f**k?

I'm very much male!!

Starting to get sick of the whole tricking about scene.... went steady for 2 years twice and ran like f**k when jewellery was mentioned, although history has since proved me a wise judge in both cases  ;)
Post by: leenie on January 06, 2009, 01:45:16 AM
Quote from: thebandit on January 06, 2009, 12:14:21 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 05, 2009, 11:44:52 PM
Quote from: thebandit on January 05, 2009, 11:41:13 PM
Are you female? If not, what in bejaysus f**k?

I'm very much male!!

Starting to get sick of the whole tricking about scene.... went steady for 2 years twice and ran like f**k when jewellery was mentioned, although history has since proved me a wise judge in both cases  ;)

ah so maybe you don't have a fear just a sixth sense
Post by: leenie on January 06, 2009, 01:49:49 AM
i would like to....

1= win an all ireland medal in scor
2= do missionary work for about a yr
3= cycle across Vietnam
4= find an ideal man for me!
4= have a wedding day.......
5= go to austrailia and do a skydive and bungee
6= be at a world cup final where ireland wins!
7= see tyrone have a bigger tally of all irelands then kerry!
Post by: stephenite on January 06, 2009, 04:30:23 AM
Saw the Club win a Senior All Ireland and that was top of the list, already did the jumping out of the plane also. So, Mayo to win Sam would be the one big thing I'd love to see happening in my lifetime.

If we're going into unlikely dreams, well Mayo to win Sam with me as Manager would be a nice thing to do.
Post by: Tyrones own on January 06, 2009, 04:56:42 AM

Bucket list: To be extremely thankful everyday for what I have been gifted :)
Post by: ziggysego on January 06, 2009, 02:38:17 PM
Quote from: Tyronelass on January 05, 2009, 11:32:02 PM
Live a long happy life and pass away peacefully without much suffering and/or being a burden on others

When I die, I want the next words people around me to say is

"Never thought he would do it..."
Post by: tyrone86 on January 06, 2009, 02:41:37 PM
Quote from: leenie on January 06, 2009, 01:49:49 AM

Jaysis, what age do you plan on living to?

I'd settle for beating Down and Cavan at the moment   :P
Post by: thejuice on January 06, 2009, 02:49:38 PM
In no particular order

1. Release an album, working on it in my spare time these days

2. Go to the Superbowl

3. See Meath win a few more A-I's

4. Coach Meath to an A-I victory (wont do it as a player anyway)

5. Own an emission free car

6. Climb Carrauntoohil

7. Restablish the Kingdom of Míde/Meath

8. See the 1st televised Shamrock Bowl on RTE, played to a sell out crowd in moderately sized stadium
Post by: SidelineKick on January 06, 2009, 02:54:31 PM
Is it sad that I have nothing that immediately springs to mind? I'm just happy with life at the minute everything seems to be going well (touch wood).

I have no aspirations to bungee jump, or swim with sharks or go to Oz. People often say "you have to to this, you have to do that, you have to see Oz, bla bla bla". I'm happy with my life in Ireland so I'm sticking with it.

(Plus if I left now I'd never get a job when I returned)  :D
Post by: full back on January 06, 2009, 03:01:45 PM
Cant think of any major ones at the moment

Jump out of plane
See Utd at a CL final
Keep my job during the recession
Stay alive long enough to see full back junior grow up
See Armagh win Sam once more (just once f**king more for the love of Christ)
Not crave a cigarette
See the club win a Senior Championship
Post by: lfdown2 on January 06, 2009, 03:06:54 PM
heres my provisional list, me and her agreed to laminate it put it away and take it out in a lock o years;

1.                   Ride the California Coast on Harley

2.                   Visit 7 Ancient/Medieval/Modern Wonders of The World

3.                   Not to work under someone for the rest of my life

4.                   To live in a hot place beside the sea for a substantial period (eg San Diego/Australia)

5.                   To Scuba Dive

6.                   Learn how to surf

7.                   To travel the course of the Tour de France

8.                   To go to the golf Masters

9.                   To go to a World Cup Final

10.               To go to a Champions League Final

11.               To go to Cheltenham

12.               To go to Ireland v England (Six Nations)

14.               To see Celtic at Ibrox

15.               To Bungee Jump

16.               To Sky Dive

17.               To run a marathon

18.               To go to Superbowl

19.               To speak a foreign language fluently

20.               To stay in ice hotel

All doable but need to make the effort, i think if i could look back from my death bed and said i had done all the above i would be a happy man!

Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 06, 2009, 03:09:44 PM
Quote from: lfdown2 on January 06, 2009, 03:06:54 PM

Do we all not do that as it is ?
Post by: full back on January 06, 2009, 03:11:21 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 06, 2009, 03:09:44 PM

You are just being twisty LL
Post by: leenie on January 06, 2009, 03:25:00 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 06, 2009, 03:09:44 PM

:D ;D :D ;D very quick!
Post by: SidelineKick on January 06, 2009, 03:34:36 PM
Quote from: full back on January 06, 2009, 03:01:45 PM
Cant think of any major ones at the moment

Jump out of plane
See Utd at a CL final
Keep my job during the recession
Stay alive long enough to see full back junior grow up
See Armagh win Sam once more (just once f**king more for the love of Christ)
Not crave a cigarette
See the club win a Senior Championship

I'd pay money to see that. Without a parachute fullback?  ;)
Post by: full back on January 06, 2009, 03:36:39 PM
 :D :D
Cheeky fcuker sk
Post by: SidelineKick on January 06, 2009, 04:54:04 PM
(http://videodetective.com/photos/046/000195_10.jpg)

Charlie Bucket

(http://www.ospreydesign.com/foreword/archives/kua03_17.jpg)

Hyacinth Bucket

(http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2280/1548371963_213717cc51.jpg?v=0)

Digger bucket

(http://www.lakewoodconferences.com/direct/dbimage/50338839/Mop_Bucket.jpg)

Mop bucket

(http://www.suck.uk.com/photos/FireBucket1.jpg)

Fire bucket

(http://www.lifeclever.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/01/bucket.jpg)

Bucket and spade
Post by: illdecide on January 06, 2009, 04:57:40 PM
Here goes...

1) Spend a few weeks in amsterdam with unlimited funds to spend on hookers
2) A 1st class Skiing holiday
3) A top of the range cruise
4) See the clans beating Crossmaglen in the championship final
5) See armagh beating Tyrone in the all ireland final
6) Own my own company, making lots od dosh and someone trustworthy to trun it for me
7) To get 3" removed from my penis so i can have the normal 6" like the rest of ya (sick of sitting on my own tool everytime i sit)
Post by: full back on January 06, 2009, 04:58:49 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 06, 2009, 04:57:40 PM
Here goes...

6) Own my own company, making lots od dosh and someone trustworthy to trun it for me
7) To get 3" removed from my penis so i can have the normal 6" like the rest of ya (sick of sitting on my own tool everytime i sit)

Stick it up your arse so you can fcuk yourself, you should enjoy that ;)
Post by: D4S on January 06, 2009, 05:09:22 PM
Quote from: full back on January 06, 2009, 04:58:49 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 06, 2009, 04:57:40 PM
Here goes...

Stick it up your arse so you can fcuk yourself, you should enjoy that ;)

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D That made me laugh!
I did 3 things last year that would be on a lot of peoples wishlists, got married, went to Thailand on honeymoon( I know a lot of you would want to go for a different reason but it was an amazing experience nonetheless - my wife's not a prude) and jumped out of a plane in July for charity(with a parachute from 13000feet)!  I'd like to do too many things to mention but my main one is probably to see much more of the world...I need to win the lottery first!
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 06, 2009, 10:57:58 PM
My list is a short one- only one item on my list.
Sooner or later, we all gotta go and I have come very close to doing just that a number of times.
Now, if I have my way, when it's time to pass on to greater things, I'd like to be shot.....
As long as it's on my 110th birthday, and the trigger is pulled by a jealous husband. ;D
Post by: Hardy on January 06, 2009, 11:20:24 PM
"But who wants to live to 110?"

- Every 109-year-old.
Post by: longball on July 03, 2009, 04:38:56 PM
How is everyone getting on with their bucket lists? read there someone wanted to release an album how'd that go?

mine is as follows:

Parachute.
Find out who the GAAboard mods are.
Suba Dive.
Watch the wire.
Hit a 180.
Get a turkish massage/shave.
Win a medal with the club.
Do the coke mentos experiment.
Kick points at croker.
Get a tatoo.
Sing in public.
Watch an eclipse.
Visit the Vatican.
Quit a job.
Use the line 'Do you know who I am'.
Cheat death.
Write a book even if its never published.
Ring into a radio station.
Build a machine from scratch.
Hunt.
Visit Quatar.
Climb a mountain.
Start a rumour that makes the paper/news.
Make up a word.
Meet Ziggy.

Theres more but un-postable  ;)(is this a made up word?) 

Things i'll never do:
Smoke
Read the Lions thread on the GAAboard.
Post by: SidelineKick on July 03, 2009, 04:41:34 PM
Sorry for busting your balls earlier longball, was unintentional!
Post by: longball on July 03, 2009, 04:49:12 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on July 03, 2009, 04:41:34 PM

Its OK SLK was gonna add to my list Kill SLK but since u said sorry
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on July 03, 2009, 04:51:12 PM
Quote from: longball on July 03, 2009, 04:49:12 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on July 03, 2009, 04:41:34 PM

Its OK SLK was gonna add to my list Kill SLK but since u said sorry

kill the fcuker!!! he said it with his fingers behind his back!!
Post by: ziggysego on July 03, 2009, 04:52:26 PM
2. Visit Australia
3. Go on a ZERO-G flight
4. Play Guitar
5. Free Fall

Update on my list.

1. Haven't looked into it.
2. Hoping to go for a month in April.
3. Haven't looked into it.
4. Can't find a small enough one.
5. Doctor won't sign the waiver to let me jump.
Post by: longball on July 03, 2009, 05:04:19 PM
Gonna add to mine meet Ziggy but that may be only on it for a couple of weeks!
Post by: SidelineKick on July 03, 2009, 05:11:22 PM
Quote from: longball on July 03, 2009, 05:04:19 PM
Gonna add to mine meet Ziggy but that may be only on it for a couple of weeks!

:o is he ok??
Post by: ziggysego on July 04, 2009, 01:40:05 AM
Eh?
Post by: Tyrones own on July 04, 2009, 06:47:13 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 03, 2009, 04:52:26 PM
2. Visit Australia
3. Go on a ZERO-G flight
4. Play Guitar
5. Free Fall

Update on my list.

Would this yoke scratch the itch Zig... if there's one anywhere around there that is.
It's damn good craic and though it simulates the free fall... it doesn't come close to actually jumping :-\

http://iflysfbay.com/index.php?page=676&size=photo&RECORD_KEY(galleryContentSource)=id&id(galleryContentSource)=758
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 04, 2009, 12:11:46 PM
I've always wanted to sleep with a black woman
Post by: gallsman on July 04, 2009, 12:28:26 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 04, 2009, 12:11:46 PM

The milky tones of one of my friends were a big hit in Jamaica last summer...
Post by: ludermor on July 04, 2009, 12:40:45 PM

it has to be one of the most underwhelming things i have ever done, not sure what i was expecting but it done nothing for me. You are put into a cage hanging off the side of the boat and they fire big chunks of bait for the shark to nibble on. Maybe if there was no cage it might have been more exciting!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 04, 2009, 12:52:56 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 04, 2009, 12:28:26 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 04, 2009, 12:11:46 PM

The milky tones of one of my friends were a big hit in Jamaica last summer...

I'll have to book my honeymoon for Jamaica so..
Post by: leenie on July 04, 2009, 02:22:48 PM
Quote from: leenie on January 06, 2009, 01:49:49 AM
i would like to....

1= win an all ireland medal in scor
2= do missionary work for about a yr
3= cycle across Vietnam
4= find an ideal man for me!
4= have a wedding day....... (could happen)..... (see no 4)
5= go to austrailia and do a skydive and bungee
6= be at a world cup final where ireland wins!

meet ziggy..... 8)

i kinda have but didn't know it.... he stalked me in omagh one day  :P ::)  :P  didn't even say hello, just told me later that he was watching me!
Post by: leenie on July 04, 2009, 02:46:32 PM

find out gaaboarders real identity........

small world!
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 29, 2009, 10:57:45 AM
Play Texas hold'em in Vegas
go to a champions league game
ride a horse
learn the drums
drive a mustang
build a house
run a marathon
own a racehorse
go back to austrailia/new zealand
run my own business

See :
the great wall of china
the grand canyon
niagra falls
the northern lights
my club win the oneill cup again  Wink
Post by: longball on July 29, 2009, 11:09:25 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 29, 2009, 10:57:45 AM
Play Texas hold'em in Vegas
go to a champions league game
ride a horse
learn the drums
drive a mustang
build a house
run a marathon
own a racehorse
go back to austrailia/new zealand
run my own business

See :
the great wall of china
the grand canyon
niagra falls
the northern lights
my club win the oneill cup again  Wink

What business would you like to set up BUOS?

Me and U belfast marathon next year get some stuffed cross off that list.

I done my list before on this would like to add:
Road Trip across Europe.
Post by: ziggysego on July 29, 2009, 12:48:54 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 04, 2009, 06:47:13 AM
2. Visit Australia
3. Go on a ZERO-G flight
4. Play Guitar
5. Free Fall

Update on my list.

Would this yoke scratch the itch Zig... if there's one anywhere around there that is.
It's damn good craic and though it simulates the free fall... it doesn't come close to actually jumping :-\

http://iflysfbay.com/index.php?page=676&size=photo&RECORD_KEY(galleryContentSource)=id&id(galleryContentSource)=758

The doctor did recommend that as an alternative, but I haven't found anywhere that has it. As for the Superman suit..... not sure it's me.
Post by: long sleves on October 13, 2009, 10:46:42 PM
I would like to write a book.

I have had a couple of ideas over last few years. However, much like most of my posts on internet forums, I am not too sure if these ideas would be of interest to others.
Post by: Caid on October 14, 2009, 02:24:56 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 06, 2009, 02:54:31 PM
Is it sad that I have nothing that immediately springs to mind? I'm just happy with life at the minute everything seems to be going well (touch wood).

I have no aspirations to bungee jump, or swim with sharks or go to Oz. People often say "you have to to this, you have to do that, you have to see Oz, bla bla bla". I'm happy with my life in Ireland so I'm sticking with it.

(Plus if I left now I'd never get a job when I returned)  :D

Agreed
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 09:25:48 AM
Quote from: long sleves on October 13, 2009, 10:46:42 PM

I have had a couple of ideas over last few years. However, much like most of my posts on internet forums, I am not too sure if these ideas would be of interest to others.

Also have always wanted to write a book - started one a few months back - hope its worth reading when its finished.
Post by: long sleves on October 14, 2009, 09:30:49 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 09:25:48 AM
Quote from: long sleves on October 13, 2009, 10:46:42 PM

Also have always wanted to write a book - started one a few months back - hope its worth reading when its finished.

Very good tyrone girl. What topic is in on. Are you going to give this forum a sneek peak at it? Give us the first few pages.
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 09:35:56 AM
Are you wise? Give this forum a sneak peek at it? Id rather run naked down the motorway. People on here without naming names delight in taking the piss out of others and i certainly aint having anyone bringing the book down before i have it finished or telling me its shyte.
Post by: long sleves on October 14, 2009, 09:42:06 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 09:35:56 AM
Are you wise? Give this forum a sneak peek at it? Id rather run naked down the motorway. People on here without naming names delight in taking the piss out of others and i certainly aint having anyone bringing the book down before i have it finished or telling me its shyte.

I'm sure people on here are not that harsh. What is it about?

You can always email a copy. I will give my honest opinion.
Post by: SidelineKick on October 14, 2009, 09:47:30 AM
I wouldn't mind a look at it either!  Always thought I could write a book but it would take an awful lot of thought and planning!  Whats the general storyline TG?  Not taking the piss!
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 09:49:25 AM
Wouldnt be like you
Post by: SidelineKick on October 14, 2009, 09:50:40 AM
I know  :P

Seriously though, whats the theme?
Post by: long sleves on October 14, 2009, 09:55:27 AM
I would image most people who post to internet forums would see themselves as being able to write a book. Everyone has their own ideas regarding topics that is of interest to them but it would be a challenge to come up with a topic that others would be interested in.

tyrone girl whats your theme share and share a like. I actually starting writing one some time back, a superhero children's book. Never went back to it thou.
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 09:57:06 AM
Hard to pinpoint a theme without going into what the general gist of the book is going to be and im not doing that. It will more than probably be dung anyway so il come down to earth with a bang when i finish it and someone edits it or watever they do. Still , always wanted to do one and its one thing im well capable of doing i think so why not .
Post by: SidelineKick on October 14, 2009, 09:59:27 AM
No point in keeping it to yourself, you have me intrigued now!

Give us the general storyline!
Post by: long sleves on October 14, 2009, 10:02:25 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 09:57:06 AM
Hard to pinpoint a theme without going into what the general gist of the book is going to be and im not doing that. It will more than probably be dung anyway so il come down to earth with a bang when i finish it and someone edits it or watever they do. Still , always wanted to do one and its one thing im well capable of doing i think so why not .

Agree with you here tyrone girl if your capable of writing it then why the hell not.

You have to give us something though tyrone girl as I am intrigued now. Forget Mickey Harte's book or Brian Cody's I want tyrone girl's.

Have you come up with a title yet.
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 10:08:13 AM
No cos if i start to tell u what its about id have to tell the whole storyline ffs and im not doing that so you neednt ask anymore.
Post by: redhugh on October 14, 2009, 10:16:13 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 10:08:13 AM
No cos if i start to tell u what its about id have to tell the whole storyline ffs and im not doing that so you neednt ask anymore.

Fair play to ye TG,I'm sure I know 20 people who want to write a book( myself included) but will never get of their arses and actually start it. Best of luck with it.
Post by: SidelineKick on October 14, 2009, 10:16:37 AM
Let me guess:

Boy meets girl.
Boy falls in love with girl.
Girl falls in love with boy.
Boy gives girl a good rogering.
Girl falls in love with girl.
Girl becomes pregnant.
Baby has two mammies.
Baby gets bullied for having two mammies (once it starst school)
Baby falls in love with boy.
Boy rogers first mammy.
Mammy rogers baby.
Mammy falls in love with boy.
Roger boys girl.
Girl rogers girl.
Roger roger roger.
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 10:19:06 AM
Slk how did u ever guess - u know me too well - u have the whole book so far down to a t  :o
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 10:23:15 AM
Quote from: redhugh on October 14, 2009, 10:16:13 AM

Fair play to ye TG,I'm sure I know 20 people who want to write a book( myself included) but will never get of their arses and actually start it. Best of luck with it.

Cheers redhugh - one of these things i always talked and thought about for years and never bothered myself getting of my arse to do it - figured its now or never - went to school for years and uni for years and sitting in a crap job i could have done years ago so decided got to have a bit of ambition somewhere. That was the main motivation for doing it
Post by: redhugh on October 14, 2009, 10:24:49 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 14, 2009, 10:16:37 AM
Let me guess:

Boy meets girl.
Boy falls in love with girl.
Girl falls in love with boy.
Boy gives girl a good rogering.
Girl falls in love with girl.
Girl becomes pregnant.
Baby has two mammies.
Baby gets bullied for having two mammies (once it starst school)
Baby falls in love with boy.
Boy rogers first mammy.
Mammy rogers baby.
Mammy falls in love with boy.
Roger boys girl.
Girl rogers girl.
Roger roger roger.

Jaysus man your head is a psychology field trip!! Sounds a great read though, I look forward to it.
Post by: long sleves on October 14, 2009, 10:25:43 AM

WOW its fun learning about your book tyrone girl.

Fair play to you anyway, if she can do it so can I. Next Christmas our books will go head to head tyrone girl.
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 10:29:22 AM
 :D :D Deal -
Though u may lose the childrens superhero theme as we be targeting diff markets then :P

Seriously though i actually thought about a childrens book as well - was sort of in 2 minds as to what i would go with first - wish in a way id have done a kids book first or attempted it first. Though if anything comes of this one it will be next avenue il explore.
Post by: long sleves on October 14, 2009, 10:33:01 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 10:29:22 AM
:D :D Deal -
Though u may lose the childrens superhero theme as we be targeting diff markets then :P

Seriously though i actually thought about a childrens book as well - was sort of in 2 minds as to what i would go with first - wish in a way id have done a kids book first or attempted it first. Though if anything comes of this one it will be next avenue il explore.

STAY THE FECK OUT OF MY MARKET
Post by: long sleves on October 14, 2009, 10:35:43 AM
At least let us know what genre you are going for.

What would be your target audience?
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 10:37:59 AM
Hmm theres one , 16 and up - mostly females id say - its all at a very very early stage though - may go nowhere - il eventually finish it and then see where i go from there.
Post by: long sleves on October 14, 2009, 10:43:06 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 10:37:59 AM
Hmm theres one , 16 and up - mostly females id say - its all at a very very early stage though - may go nowhere - il eventually finish it and then see where i go from there.

Fiction or non fiction?

So basically its going to be a book about adolescent girls growing up and encountering every day real live problems like boys, money, part time jobs, periods and vampires (the way the whole market is going at the moment).
Post by: SidelineKick on October 14, 2009, 10:53:13 AM
I knew it! So predictable TG  :D

Ah come on give us the general theme of it.  Dont want the ending just what its about.  Drugs? Football? Babysitters? Just to give us a small insight!
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 10:54:27 AM
Nope isnt gona be like that. Its fiction - couldnt see how id write a factual book - what would i write it on. Though i hate reading fiction books - would only read real life books
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 10:55:26 AM
Drink plays a big part in it - thats all im saying about it .
Post by: SidelineKick on October 14, 2009, 10:58:18 AM
College Girls Go Wild in Space 2130?

Space fiction no?

I dont like fiction  :( sorry TG.

Just not my cup of tea, but good luck with it!
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 11:01:14 AM
I wouldnt read fiction myself - and lots of bits of it are true in different senses if that makes sense but the book in general is suposed to be a fiction book.
Post by: Maiden1 on October 14, 2009, 11:09:52 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 11:01:14 AM
I wouldnt read fiction myself - and lots of bits of it are true in different senses if that makes sense but the book in general is suposed to be a fiction book.

It's a story about a girl who finds love, then finds out that her love is in love with another woman called 'Mark'.  It's a very sad story.
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 11:12:30 AM
Hence the reason was reluctant to say anything on this thread cos of pricks like yourself - go take the feckin piss out of someone else - or if laughing at someone elses misfortunes makes you feel like a man then u go right ahead and continue.
Post by: long sleves on October 14, 2009, 11:14:43 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 11:12:30 AM
Hence the reason was reluctant to say anything on this thread cos of pricks like yourself - go take the feckin piss out of someone else - or if laughing at someone elses misfortunes makes you feel like a man then u go right ahead and continue.

That's you told Maiden1.

More like Tyrone Girl 1  Maiden 0
Post by: redhugh on October 14, 2009, 11:15:59 AM

G'wan ye girl ye!Fcuk the begrudgers.
Post by: Maiden1 on October 14, 2009, 11:17:45 AM

Yikes, was only joking.  Sorry if I offended you.  Think I might have hit a raw nerve.
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 11:18:41 AM
Hilarious joke and you knew full well u were hitting a raw nerve hence the reason u did it.
Post by: haranguerer on October 14, 2009, 11:21:07 AM
No book is fiction to the writer.

Harsh on maiden there - you have to admit most people enjoy laughing at others misfortunes, so you've just given license to take the piss even more...unless...is her name mark??

Good luck with the book though, and if you are going to have it previewed by a select audience, I'll be one of them sure. No better critic could you have  :P
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 14, 2009, 11:41:04 AM
Quote from: Maiden1 on October 14, 2009, 11:09:52 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 11:01:14 AM

It's a story about a girl who finds love, then finds out that her love is in love with another woman called 'Mark'.  It's a very sad story.

Sounds interesting. How did she find out?
Post by: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 11:48:02 AM
Your another one - catch yourself on - if you have little to be at in your own life that laughing at that makes you feel good as i said to Maiden carry on with it.
Im off from this board , couldnt be bothered with tripe like this. Try to talk sensibly about something im doing and it turns into people taking the piss out of me for something that happened a long long time ago and still has me in bad form - nice boys you are.
Post by: long sleves on October 14, 2009, 12:00:04 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 14, 2009, 11:48:02 AM
Your another one - catch yourself on - if you have little to be at in your own life that laughing at that makes you feel good as i said to Maiden carry on with it.
Im off from this board , couldnt be bothered with tripe like this. Try to talk sensibly about something im doing and it turns into people taking the piss out of me for something that happened a long long time ago and still has me in bad form - nice boys you are.

Shame on this two posters.

Didn't Saffron Sam2 recently give out on the board about people making this personal. Pot Kettle Black.
Post by: Main Street on October 14, 2009, 12:02:32 PM
Where's Ziggy when you really need him around?
Post by: SidelineKick on October 14, 2009, 12:04:26 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 14, 2009, 12:02:32 PM
Where's Ziggy when you really need him around?

Probably tackling the brother's woman.
Post by: Maiden1 on October 14, 2009, 12:05:33 PM
Quote from: long sleves on October 14, 2009, 12:00:04 PM

Didn't Saffron Sam2 recently give out on the board about people making this personal. Pot Kettle Black.

Oh f*&k off.  It was a joke.  I didn't realise Tyrone_girl was sensitive about it.  When she posted about it at the time there was about 20 pages of people taking the p1ss.
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 14, 2009, 12:23:23 PM

Surely that this should be these.

The rest of the post makes even less sense.
Post by: long sleves on October 14, 2009, 12:26:34 PM
Yes it should be Saffron Sam2. Good spot thanks for that. You are very good at grammer and spelling. But could you do it in the cube?
Post by: SidelineKick on October 14, 2009, 12:29:36 PM
Quote from: long sleves on October 14, 2009, 12:26:34 PM
Yes it should be Saffron Sam2. Good spot thanks for that. You are very good at grammer and spelling. But could you do it in the cube?

:D unless that is some sorta personal joke that has to be one of the best posts of the year! Made me larf.
Post by: haranguerer on October 14, 2009, 01:14:24 PM
Quote from: Maiden1 on October 14, 2009, 12:05:33 PM

Oh f*&k off.  It was a joke.  I didn't realise Tyrone_girl was sensitive about it.  When she posted about it at the time there was about 20 pages of people taking the p1ss.

Missed all this - can anyone post a link, or give me a summary? Please?
Post by: Maiden1 on October 14, 2009, 01:41:12 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on October 14, 2009, 01:14:24 PM
Quote from: Maiden1 on October 14, 2009, 12:05:33 PM

Missed all this - can anyone post a link, or give me a summary? Please?
:-X
Post by: haranguerer on October 14, 2009, 01:45:23 PM
You've already kinda given a summary maiden, and she hates you anyway, so you might as well post a link  :D !!