GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Kingdom37 on March 02, 2020, 07:27:40 PM

Title: Ewan McKenna
Post by: Kingdom37 on March 02, 2020, 07:27:40 PM
I see Ewan calling for Jacko to step down. Does this man post when drunk or something? Jack will be massive addition to Kildare.

https://mobile.twitter.com/ewanmackenna/status/1226240888915087360
Title: Re: Ewan McKenna calls for Jack oconnor to step down.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on March 03, 2020, 10:42:08 AM
The best advice I could give you is basically do the opposite or think the opposite to McKenna. Better yet, just block him on twitter.

Ballbag of the highest degree.
Post by: Kingdom37 on March 03, 2020, 10:49:17 AM
Have to disagree.  Best journalist out there
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 03, 2020, 11:05:52 AM
I called Ewan out on this, he offered to buy me a pint and discuss.

Thickest skin of any man on the internet. Has has nailed the contrarian point of view.

Post by: Taylor on March 03, 2020, 11:38:51 AM
A good journalist who puts out some great pieces mixed with a mediocre book (McGregor book).

However you are as well ignoring his rants on Twitter - usually takes the contrarian point of view in order to generate publicity or keep himself relevant.
Post by: rosnarun on March 03, 2020, 12:08:49 PM
Quote from: Taylor on March 03, 2020, 11:38:51 AM
A good journalist who puts out some great pieces mixed with a mediocre book (McGregor book).

However you are as well ignoring his rants on Twitter - usually takes the contrarian point of view in order to generate publicity or keep himself relevant.
better than the 99% of twitter that agrees with itself and labels anyone else a contrarian or  lunatic and trys cancels their careers
Post by: RedHand88 on March 03, 2020, 03:26:20 PM
Ewan is bang on the money 90-95% of the time.

His takedown of Irish rugby is the stuff of legend.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=YeVWCkis_ak&t=545s
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 03, 2020, 03:29:03 PM
I agree with plenty of what he says but the odd time ye tip in and see him and ye just think jesus take a day off man
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 03, 2020, 04:09:34 PM
I suspect that he has a touch of the Timmy O'Leary syndrome. Maybe he should lay off the beer/wine/ whiskey or whatever his favourite tipple happens to be, when he goes on Twitter.
Post by: dublin7 on March 03, 2020, 06:43:31 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on March 03, 2020, 03:26:20 PM

Ewan has 2 obsessions. Belittling and insulting the dubs and the Irish rugby team/players any chance he gets.

Facts rarely get in the way of his opinions, especially on twitter. Some of the things he's posted on Twitter and then later deleted are a joke. Jim Gavin in particular has been a target of his vile opinions.

He's from the Dunphy, George Hook etc school of punditry. Being controversial gets you the spotlight and an easy way to make money
Post by: screenexile on March 04, 2020, 01:46:15 AM
Don't drink and go down a MacKenna rabbit hole... I'm not even sure why?? Well the drink obviously but even still I should know better!!
Post by: imtommygunn on March 04, 2020, 07:45:26 AM
Quote from: dublin7 on March 03, 2020, 06:43:31 PM

Ewan has 2 obsessions. Belittling and insulting the dubs and the Irish rugby team/players any chance he gets.

Facts rarely get in the way of his opinions, especially on twitter. Some of the things he's posted on Twitter and then later deleted are a joke. Jim Gavin in particular has been a target of his vile opinions.

He's from the Dunphy, George Hook etc school of punditry. Being controversial gets you the spotlight and an easy way to make money

I think Mickey Harte has been too. Ewen is a vile individual.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on March 04, 2020, 10:22:47 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 04, 2020, 07:45:26 AM
Quote from: dublin7 on March 03, 2020, 06:43:31 PM

I think Mickey Harte has been too. Ewen is a vile individual.

It's only a matter of reading his tweets (the ones that haven't been deleted) to see.

He works like this; put out a tweet to get people talking - fair enough, I get what he does.

Gets the response his tweet has loaded up.

Goes personal on X/Y/Z.

There was talk he was on this board at one stage was there not?
Post by: Taylor on April 07, 2020, 02:06:49 PM
Ewan has managed to get Gary Linekar engage with him on Twitter.

He will be creaming himself now even though Linekar just made a fool of him
Post by: imtommygunn on April 07, 2020, 02:58:07 PM
He is made a fool of quite regularly (mainly by himself) but it never seems to phase him.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on April 08, 2020, 12:14:46 AM
Quote from: Taylor on April 07, 2020, 02:06:49 PM
Ewan has managed to get Gary Linekar engage with him on Twitter.

He will be creaming himself now even though Linekar just made a fool of him

Really? I didn't read it like that.
Now, I'm no Ewan fan. In fact, I needed to search through Lineker's tweets as I stopped following Ewan some time ago, but:

Lineker reckons that the club (clubs) have realised the error of their ways and had a moral epiphany (obv major paraphrasing from me but this is the gist of it)
McKenna thinks it's more like the first was a commercial decision, and on realising the outrage the second was also a calculated commercial decision. That is, they realised the sh!t storm that had started and the damage to the brand would cost more in the long run.

McKenna's contrarian and downright insulting way of arguing makes it difficult to agree with him, but I think a lot of people have taken sides in this:
Liverpool fans - obviously
Rival club fans - deep down totally relieved it was Lpool and not their club, but using this as points in the bank for when the shoe is on the other foot
Lineker - Always takes the position that football is intrinsically good. Likes to cheerlead about the many good things that come about through football, but ignore all the nasty side. He will always take the players / clubs sides (where they dont differ) in things like pay disputes, financial wrongdoings etc
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 09, 2020, 12:53:13 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 07, 2020, 02:58:07 PM
He is made a fool of quite regularly (mainly by himself) but it never seems to phase him.

This. He got absolutely pounded on Coravid-19 by the medical establishment when he tried to claim that we could have stockpiled in January. He hadn't a notion but still he comes back. That people retweet his shit is what grates me.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 09, 2020, 07:18:50 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 09, 2020, 12:53:13 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 07, 2020, 02:58:07 PM

This. He got absolutely pounded on Coravid-19 by the medical establishment when he tried to claim that we could have stockpiled in January. He hadn't a notion but still he comes back. That people retweet his shit is what grates me.

Don't think I've ever seen Ewan admit he's got something wrong or been mistaken about something.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 09, 2020, 08:40:45 PM
Linekers told him hes not a very nice person earlier,
Ewan heads off and few hours later hes back with some tax evasion/avoidance story about him thats three yrs old...

A petty petty man
Post by: imtommygunn on April 09, 2020, 09:37:49 PM
Why is he so bitter? What is he bitter about?

I get Kimmage to a point but not this guy.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 09, 2020, 11:13:28 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 09, 2020, 09:37:49 PM

He has a few loose screws perhaps?
Post by: GetOverTheBar on April 11, 2020, 08:02:25 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 09, 2020, 11:13:28 PM

I think he started out the road of being a shock jock with decent enough intentions but there is something about having a blue tick on twitter turns people. Now he's basically an online bully with a following.
Post by: RedHand88 on April 11, 2020, 09:28:30 AM
He is serious for deleting tweets where he's been disproved/made a fool of.
Post by: Hound on April 11, 2020, 11:49:08 AM

Without doubt. And likes a drink even though he should steer clear.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 11, 2020, 10:59:36 PM
I see Ewan just called Grant Wahl (of Sports Illustrated) an "odious p***k" on Twitter. 24 hours after he lost his job.

Ewan seems to be in full scorched earth mode during lockdown. Lashing out left, right and centre.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 12, 2020, 12:40:07 AM
Jesus ye cringe for him at times, was close to hiding him tother day but just cant yet..

Man has never lost an argument in his life. in his own head
Post by: LilySavage on April 12, 2020, 12:41:56 PM
I honestly dont think hes into sport. He doesnt understand most of it for a start. His deleted tweets illustrate that. Its more about just taking people down a peg or two. Via google. Find a bit of dirt on a successful sportsperson and then make relentless accusations and arguments in order to tarnish their reputations. If you are not whiter than white in your personal life, watch out, Ewans gonna spout. No stranger to making stuff up either, my own favourite was when he told everyone on another forum that 2 Kildare players were legless drunk the night before a Super 8 match. And he was in Brazil yet he had no problem posting this absolute madeup bullshit on a public forum. He will read all this too as he scours messageboards looking for material that he can quote as first person stuff on twitter.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 12, 2020, 01:15:11 PM
Yeah I also don't think he knows anything about sport. He has been flat out on Mo farah at times and knows nothing about running. A Kildare man who doesn't even seem to like Kildare. Just a bitter contrary individual who without social media would probably have gone away. No I doubt really like him lol. The personal attacks on people like gavin and Harte are shocking and to be honest pretty cowardly.
Post by: gallsman on April 12, 2020, 01:20:42 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 11, 2020, 10:59:36 PM
I see Ewan just called Grant Wahl (of Sports Illustrated) an "odious p***k" on Twitter. 24 hours after he lost his job.

Ewan seems to be in full scorched earth mode during lockdown. Lashing out left, right and centre.

He's been torn apart for it by a few people. Appears to have a personal issue with Wahl, so is revelling in the absolute decimation going on at SI as it's has resulted in Wahl losing his job. Ewan thinks it's some sort of comeuppance. Man of the people indeed.

I agree with Mackenna on a lot of stuff, but he's a horrible little p***k.
Post by: Gael85 on April 18, 2020, 10:33:51 PM
https://twitter.com/DeletedMacKenna
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 18, 2020, 11:01:11 PM
Hes just called conor mcgregor an idiot and tagged him - it will get deleted no doubt 🙊
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 18, 2020, 11:59:12 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on April 18, 2020, 10:33:51 PM

No shortage of material anyway.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on April 19, 2020, 01:22:54 PM

This will be interesting when he sees this gaining popularity.
Post by: Main Street on April 19, 2020, 05:51:45 PM
Quote from: Hound on April 11, 2020, 11:49:08 AM

Without doubt. And likes a drink even though he should steer clear.
His tweet history, spout nonsense followed by delete, would suggest that very strongly.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 07, 2020, 11:54:39 AM

I see this account has been suspended.

Also I see he spent the weekend attacking Tony Holohan and Leo.
Post by: Taylor on July 07, 2020, 12:04:14 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 07, 2020, 11:54:39 AM

Commenting on a Trump tweet today that was actually a parody account.

Strangely enough he has deleted that tweet as well.

If he is doing all of this for attention and to keep getting work/remaining relevant then it will be interesting to see how it plays out - otherwise it is quite sad to watch

Post by: Cunny Funt on July 07, 2020, 01:20:02 PM

Attacked Leo for posting up a picture on a night out for a meal. I'm guessing cocooning has drove him more insane.
Post by: galwayman on July 07, 2020, 01:30:27 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 07, 2020, 01:20:02 PM

Attacked Leo for posting up a picture on a night out for a meal. I'm guessing cocooning has drove him more insane.
Complete arsehole that McKenna.
Post by: Gael85 on July 07, 2020, 04:03:55 PM

Yes I heard that account was closed down at weekend.  Disgusting tweet regarding Tony Holohan. He knew well about Holohan circumstances.
Post by: Gael85 on July 07, 2020, 04:05:18 PM
I see Conor Meyler and Conal McCann pulled him up on the tweet about Tyrone training.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 07, 2020, 04:12:03 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on July 07, 2020, 04:05:18 PM
I see Conor Meyler and Conal McCann pulled him up on the tweet about Tyrone training.

He's still sticking with his sources though  ;D
Post by: GetOverTheBar on July 07, 2020, 04:18:42 PM
I'd be willing to bet that McKenna hasn't a clue where Garvaghy is, let alone who is training there.

The locks have been on it from before lockdown ffs.
Post by: trailer on July 07, 2020, 04:27:56 PM
Complete stain is that MacKenna.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 07, 2020, 07:09:45 PM
Hes completely lost the run of himself lately.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 07, 2020, 07:22:55 PM
The weekend was particularly painful. He admitted his mistake but then proceeded to tear on and retweet every last sinner that was givin him abuse
Post by: dublin7 on July 08, 2020, 12:03:44 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 07, 2020, 07:22:55 PM
The weekend was particularly painful. He admitted his mistake but then proceeded to tear on and retweet every last sinner that was givin him abuse

Mackenna in a nutshell. Attacked Tony Holohan with his usual brand of toxic personal abuse, deleted it and then put out a tweet looking for sympathy for all the abuse he received for attacking Tony Holohan as if he was some innocent victim.

I did enjoy the Tyrone lads calling him for proof of Tyrone training, but as usual he couldn't or wouldn't support his facts with proof. It's depressing the number of people who support on twitter though, especially his constant criticisms of how we dealt with Covid 19 in Ireland
Post by: Taylor on July 08, 2020, 12:18:45 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on July 08, 2020, 12:03:44 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 07, 2020, 07:22:55 PM

Mackenna in a nutshell. Attacked Tony Holohan with his usual brand of toxic personal abuse, deleted it and then put out a tweet looking for sympathy for all the abuse he received for attacking Tony Holohan as if he was some innocent victim.

I did enjoy the Tyrone lads calling him for proof of Tyrone training, but as usual he couldn't or wouldn't support his facts with proof. It's depressing the number of people who support on twitter though, especially his constant criticisms of how we dealt with Covid 19 in Ireland

He doesnt have proof of most things he tweets.

Along with looking sympathy for abuse he received after he himself abused someone  :o he now mentions more and more how this podcast he is doing is for free.
Along with complaining he isnt getting paid during Covid he does himself no favours.

He called out City and their fans many many times about the owners and gave plenty of abuse - City fans then rubbished a book he launched (think it was McGregor) with shitty reviews and he complained about it.

I dont think he gets irony or hypocrisy considering the untruths he tweets
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 08, 2020, 01:15:40 PM
It's depressing the number of people who support on twitter though, especially his constant criticisms of how we dealt with Covid 19 in Ireland

The fellow behind @Care2much18 schools McKenna whenever he's critical of Ireland and Evan struggles with any comebacks leaving his followers disappointed and depressed.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on July 08, 2020, 02:12:44 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 08, 2020, 01:15:40 PM
It's depressing the number of people who support on twitter though, especially his constant criticisms of how we dealt with Covid 19 in Ireland

The fellow behind @Care2much18 schools McKenna whenever he's critical of Ireland and Evan struggles with any comebacks leaving his followers disappointed and depressed.

I think any followers of Ewan should understand the fact that he's in Brazil, apparently. And all he does is speak of Ireland.

Makes you wonder why he doesn't just come home.....
Post by: sid waddell on July 08, 2020, 03:01:29 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on July 08, 2020, 02:12:44 PM

I think any followers of Ewan should understand the fact that he's in Brazil, apparently. And all he does is speak of Ireland.

He's in Portugal now.
Post by: trailer on July 09, 2020, 10:21:21 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on July 08, 2020, 03:01:29 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on July 08, 2020, 02:12:44 PM

He's in Portugal now.

Lucky Portugal
Post by: reillycavan on December 13, 2020, 08:16:15 PM
Ewan calling Limerick professionals. FFS like the lads enjoy their victory. Great team who deserved their victory.
Post by: reillycavan on February 09, 2021, 10:02:20 PM
It kicking off between Ewan and Matt Cooper on the Twitter.
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 09, 2021, 10:52:07 PM

I'm a wee bit lost here. Is @Care2much18 Ewan Mac?
Post by: clarshack on February 09, 2021, 11:43:42 PM
McKenna is right on this one. How on earth can someone come out and say restrictions could be in place for 5 years when a lot of people are at breaking point.
Post by: Tubberman on February 10, 2021, 12:01:12 AM
Quote from: clarshack on February 09, 2021, 11:43:42 PM
McKenna is right on this one. How on earth can someone come out and say restrictions could be in place for 5 years when a lot of people are at breaking point.

I didn't hear the interview but it seems to be an incredibly ill-judged thing to say. As you said, people are really struggling, and the light at the end of the tunnel is the vaccine roll out - THIS YEAR.
Having said that, I can see some level of travel restriction staying in place for a few years, because there are certain parts of world that probably won't get their population vaccinated within the next few years (can't afford it, mismanagement of rollout etc), plus if boosters or a new vaccine are required for mutations that would also prolong things.
But there shouldn't be a need for national restrictions by end of the year I would hope.
Post by: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 12:14:52 AM
Quote from: clarshack on February 09, 2021, 11:43:42 PM
MacKenna clearly didn't even listen to the interview

McConkey said a 3 to 5 year plan would be needed

And it will - because the threat of another serious outbreak will be there for at least that amount of time - so it's absoutely incumbent on the government and public health experts that we are prepared, and have a genuine strategy to keep Covid out

A 3-5 year plan does not mean lockdown for 3 to 5 years

But typical MacKenna, he creates a straw man and then argues against that - he can't do anything else

He has gone completely round the twist lately, there are serious signs there that he's becoming radicalised in a far right direction,  he's liking tweets from far right Tories and actual fascists like a guy called Gearoid Murphy who describes himself as a national socialist, MacKenna is a peddler of pure bullshit and on Covid he's genuinely dangerous

Post by: Captain Obvious on February 10, 2021, 12:18:45 AM
Sam McConkey, enough said.

(https://media.tenor.com/images/caf901bc89d6d44ad611f0b9ab427123/tenor.gif)
Post by: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 12:25:08 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 10, 2021, 12:18:45 AM
Sam McConkey, enough said..
One of the most responsible voices during this whole pandemic

He has consistently refused to sugar coat things and how he was proven right

Instead of people sticking their fingers in their ears and singing la la la to themselves, they should actually listen to him, because he's a proper truth teller

MacKenna on the other hand is a blowhard clickbait spoofer who pontificates on stuff he knows the square root of f**k all about, and then when he gets his arse handed to him he blocks people

He's now reviled by pretty much all his former workmates in the Irish media, so is Colm Parkinson incidentally, they're well matched, two thundering gobshites
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 10, 2021, 12:51:54 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 12:25:08 AM

Instead of people sticking their fingers in their ears and singing la la la to themselves, they should actually listen to him, because he's a proper truth teller

MacKenna on the other hand is a blowhard clickbait spoofer who pontificates on stuff he knows the square root of f**k all about, and then when he gets his arse handed to him he blocks people

He's now reviled by pretty much all his former workmates in the Irish media, so is Colm Parkinson incidentally, they're well matched, two thundering gobshites

Good man.  ;D

Last spring he said 120,000 people will die in Ireland with up to four million infected within a year. Acts so responsible in public alright and thankfully proven wrong.

Post by: RedHand88 on February 10, 2021, 07:38:55 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 10, 2021, 12:51:54 AM

Good man.  ;D

Last spring he said 120,000 people will die in Ireland with up to four million infected within a year. Acts so responsible in public alright and thankfully proven wrong.

He's done a complete 180 now and believes the whole thing is blown out of proportion. Slowly becoming a full blown Jim Corr.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 10, 2021, 08:30:27 AM
I have two people blocked on twitter - him and Piers Morgan. They are both worth blocking as they are just complete morons.
Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 09:17:57 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on February 10, 2021, 07:38:55 AM

Good man.  ;D

He's done a complete 180 now and believes the whole thing is blown out of proportion. Slowly becoming a full blown Jim Corr.

Anyone who doesn't think the whole thing is blown out of proportion needs to look at themselves.

Can you remember how many people the experts were telling us would die from it around this time last year. The bottom line is that it is a dangerous virus for a very small % of the population who are either elderly or compromised.
Post by: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 09:26:53 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 10, 2021, 08:30:27 AM
I have two people blocked on twitter - him and Piers Morgan. They are both worth blocking as they are just complete morons.
MacKenna is basically a four year old child who has had waaaaaay too much Coca Cola to drink masquerading as a "journalist"

Post by: imtommygunn on February 10, 2021, 09:32:56 AM
He doesn't come across as a well balanced individual at all. He gets very bitter on various topics and it is hard to read something which is supposed to be investigative journalism from an objective viewpoint when he gets so toxic on it.
Post by: Louther on February 10, 2021, 09:36:41 AM
Have the papers distanced themselves from McKenna? He mentioned a lot that he was out of work due to covid and he was furlonged but every other journalist seems to be still working and papers still in print or online.

For a person so angry and critical of everything Irish he isn't half keen to comment and watch everything that goes on in it. Even in Brazil and now in Portugal I don't think he has missed a Late Late Show in years, yet he hates every thing about it.

And likely he reading this too....Hello Ewan, hows the weather?
Post by: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 09:42:44 AM
Ewan isn't out of work because of Covid

He's out of work because he decided to torch his own career in favour of becoming a pound shop David Icke
Post by: screenexile on February 10, 2021, 10:28:50 AM
Quote from: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 09:17:57 AM

Good man.  ;D

Anyone who doesn't think the whole thing is blown out of proportion needs to look at themselves.

Can you remember how many people the experts were telling us would die from it around this time last year. The bottom line is that it is a dangerous virus for a very small % of the population who are either elderly or compromised.

I remember Trump telling us that if the USA "did a good job" their death toll would be somewhere between 100-200k...

It's approaching 500k now very fast!

We're blowing it out of proportion though  ::) ::) ::)
Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 10:41:21 AM
Quote from: screenexile on February 10, 2021, 10:28:50 AM

Good man.  ;D

I remember Trump telling us that if the USA "did a good job" their death toll would be somewhere between 100-200k...

Why are you referencing Trump as someone credible?

Robin Swann told us we would have 15k deaths in the first wave. Nearly 12 months on we have around 2k deaths, 60%+ over the age of 80, 93% with underlying health issues.

Post by: clarshack on February 10, 2021, 11:00:29 AM
Quote from: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 10:41:21 AM

Good man.  ;D

Robin Swann told us we would have 15k deaths in the first wave. Nearly 12 months on we have around 2k deaths, 60%+ over the age of 80, 93% with underlying health issues.

https://www.finance-ni.gov.uk/publications/foi-dof2021-0031-weekly-death-totals-where-covid-19-sole-and-exclusive-reason-death

It looks like 113 people is the real number of people that died solely of Covid in the North during 2020. The remainder of the near 2k had underlying issues.

RIP to all those that died and sympathies to their families but there's no way these figures justify destroying the economy and most people's mental and physical healths.
Post by: screenexile on February 10, 2021, 11:12:06 AM

Good man.  ;D

Weird Angelo I distinctly remember you saying you only deal in facts. . . did Robin Swann tell us we would have 15k deaths in the first wave??

Or was this presented as the worst case 'nightmare' scenario if we did not have any measures in place to mitigate? There is a big disparity there and as someone who only deals in facts I presume you would want to clarify that!
Post by: five points on February 10, 2021, 11:18:29 AM
Quote"In our modelling for worst-case scenario – and I'm not being alarmist here, folks, I'm being factual – at an 80% infection rate and 1% mortality, we could be talking in the region of 9,000 deaths," he said.

"That is without the protections that we've put in place as an Executive and that's without the personal steps that we're asking individuals to take."

Minister Swann added: "The scale of the surge coming towards us is of biblical proportion."

https://www.itv.com/news/utv/2020-03-19/nine-new-cases-of-coronavirus-in-northern-ireland
Post by: screenexile on February 10, 2021, 11:35:59 AM
Exactly... possibly 15k deaths "without protections"
Post by: five points on February 10, 2021, 11:44:14 AM
Quote from: screenexile on February 10, 2021, 11:35:59 AM

No, 9,000 "if people don't adhere to measures". And he's been complaining all year about people not adhering to measures.

And his "The scale of the surge coming towards us is of biblical proportion" prediction was a mile off.

Post by: screenexile on February 10, 2021, 11:51:09 AM
Quote from: five points on February 10, 2021, 11:44:14 AM

No, 9,000 "if people don't adhere to measures". And he's been complaining all year about people not adhering to measures.

And his "The scale of the surge coming towards us is of biblical proportion" prediction was a mile off.

Did you even read the article you posted??

Ask some nurses working on COVID wards what the surge was like?! Just because it didn't affect you doesn't mean it didn't happen!
Post by: five points on February 10, 2021, 11:58:43 AM
Quote from: screenexile on February 10, 2021, 11:51:09 AM

Did you even read the article you posted??

Yes. Did you?

Ask some nurses working on COVID wards what the surge was like?! Just because it didn't affect you doesn't mean it didn't happen!
It did affect me. But that doesn't mean it was ever remotely of biblical proportion.
Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 12:14:50 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 10, 2021, 11:12:06 AM

Good man.  ;D

Weird Angelo I distinctly remember you saying you only deal in facts. . . did Robin Swann tell us we would have 15k deaths in the first wave??

Or was this presented as the worst case 'nightmare' scenario if we did not have any measures in place to mitigate? There is a big disparity there and as someone who only deals in facts I presume you would want to clarify that!

Yes, Robin Swann did say that. He said that we could have 15k deaths by April. 12 months on we have had the virus running rampant and the figure only at 2%. Over 60% of the victims are in their 80s  and 93% with underlying health conditions.

Is Covid as big a danger as cancer or heart disease? Why don't we stop taking half measures on those ailments?
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on February 10, 2021, 12:21:48 PM
once an underlining condition is identifed in a person we should just kill them off.. who cares if they could live 1/5/10/20 years with that condition. they dont count...

how at this stage of a pandemic or even just generally do people not understand modelling and predictions. there are built on assumptions, and based on certain criteria. if those assumptions and criteria changes then the outcome changes.

liverpool v crawley... prediction  is liverpool to win.. 2 days before the match liverpool decide to play their u-12s.  crawley win 43-0... as the assumptions and criteria changed the outcomr changed.

nobody can predict the future. What we saw in italy last march was a very real possibility..
Post by: trailer on February 10, 2021, 12:24:38 PM
MacKenna has completely lost the run of himself. It also interesting to see Parkinson go full Gemma O'Doherty as well. Once Joe.ie goes bang he'll be completely unemployable.
Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 12:31:37 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on February 10, 2021, 12:21:48 PM
once an underlining condition is identifed in a person we should just kill them off.. who cares if they could live 1/5/10/20 years with that condition. they dont count...

This is the type of hysterical nonsense you get from people who do not want discussion or debate on these things.

The only person trotting out those lines are the dogmatic posters who try and ram their own views down others throats.

It completely undermines their viewpoint that they have to act hysterical and misrepresent the other side of the argument.

There are a lot more consequences of lockdowns that there are from Covid, that is how I see it and we should be discussing this but the dogmatic nutjobs do not want discussion on the bigger picture.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on February 10, 2021, 12:33:43 PM
See Ewan and Wooly are doing a number on poor wee Máire Treasa Ní Cheallaigh last night. That will end well.
Post by: five points on February 10, 2021, 12:34:17 PM
Quote from: trailer on February 10, 2021, 12:24:38 PM
MacKenna has completely lost the run of himself. It also interesting to see Parkinson go full Gemma O'Doherty as well. Once Joe.ie goes bang he'll be completely unemployable.

Ireland, where if you honestly express opinions on current and social affairs, you risk career and financial ruin. And where if you always tell them what they want to hear, you'll be a made man.

What a kip.
Post by: clarshack on February 10, 2021, 12:36:06 PM

So people who see the bigger picture and want restrictions eased for the sake of peoples mental and physical healths are now the equivalent of Gemma O'Doherty?
Do you have kids of school age?
Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 12:36:33 PM
Quote from: five points on February 10, 2021, 12:34:17 PM

Ireland, where if you honestly express opinions on current and social affairs, you risk career and financial ruin. And where if you always tell them what they want to hear, you'll be a made man.

What a kip.

100% true.

It's a game and the journalist shills look after their own interests. Journalism is an absolute gutter professionalism, people without an ounce of professional integrity.
Post by: Louther on February 10, 2021, 12:37:11 PM

Parkinson is the ultimate me feiner. I'd not think he cares of anyone else's opinion or ever has, doesn't handle authority well. Fell out managers, clubs, counties, colleagues and his handling of the Eddie Brennan incident was typical - was someone else's fault.

With Joe.ie as is, I'd imagine the GAA hour on last legs. His sidekick, Conan, already moved on and it hardly warranted a mention by Parkinson. He has great guests and can get a conversion going but only where it fits his own way of thinking.

His covid discussions have been shocking.

He can't accept either that must people value club above county either going by his latest poll. Even with Inter county players saying it.
Post by: Taylor on February 10, 2021, 01:06:51 PM
MacKenna & Parkinson are cut from the same cloth.

Both are complete and utter click bait merchants & you can see their credibility falling.

Zero knowledge on the subject but shoving their opinions down peoples throats.

There is a former inter county player going the same way who is criticising everything as he isnt getting what he wants (wont bother mentioning him).

Louther summed it up perfectly - me feiner is an apt phrase for these guys
Post by: Rich Ricci on February 10, 2021, 01:12:31 PM
Agree on Parkinson. A total knob. One thing stood out to me on his Twitter. He follows nobody but yet doesn't miss a beat on it. Most people will probably see it as nothing major but too me that just reaked of total arrogance as if he thought he was really that important...
Post by: trailer on February 10, 2021, 01:14:43 PM

What a kip.

Parkinson has no interest in anyone outside of himself. Remember that.
Post by: RedHand88 on February 10, 2021, 01:15:07 PM
Quote from: five points on February 10, 2021, 11:44:14 AM

People for the most part are adhering to measures, but there are a few selfish people as always.

Also, I really understand this excuse that they were over 70, had underlying conditions etc. Would most of us here not have parents in this category?? Do they not matter?
Post by: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 01:16:32 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on February 10, 2021, 12:33:43 PM
See Ewan and Wooly are doing a number on poor wee Máire Treasa Ní Cheallaigh last night. That will end well.
Parkinson has proven form in being a misogynist

After the Jackson/Olding trial in 2018 he was vocal in supporting Laois footballer Gary "Psycho" Walsh's Twitter demands for the complainant, a young woman, to be publicly outed and named against the law

That's the sort of mindset he has

The likes of Parkinson and Walsh see stupidity as a badge of pride, absolute neanderthals

Post by: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 01:21:52 PM

What a kip.
If you're going to publicly express opinions on current and social affairs, it's good to be in some way informed about what you're talking about rather than a total bullshitter and a neanderthal loudmouth like Parkinson

MacKenna is little better

They use their platforms squarely to corrupt and dumb down public debate and create profile for themselves, hoping to coin it in from online grifting

The pile on attempt by them against Maire Treasa Ni Cheallaigh is just the latest example of how thy have used their platforms in a despicable way

They deserve every bit of criticism and professional consequences that happen them

Irresponsible actions carry consequences, that's the very essence of personal responsibility
Post by: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 01:25:12 PM
Quote from: Taylor on February 10, 2021, 01:06:51 PM

Both are complete and utter click bait merchants & you can see their credibility falling.

There is a former inter county player going the same way who is criticising everything as he isnt getting what he wants (wont bother mentioning him).

Bet anything he's a Meathman - and I'm not referring to Colm O'Rourke, who is bad enough, but the guy I'm thinking of is an even bigger gobshite
Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 01:31:50 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 01:21:52 PM

What a kip.
If you're going to publicly express opinions on current and social affairs, it's good to be in some way informed about what you're talking about rather than a total bullshitter and a neanderthal loudmouth like Parkinson

They use their platforms squarely to corrupt and dumb down public debate and create profile for themselves, hoping to coin it in from online grifting

The pile on attempt by them against Maire Treasa Ni Cheallaigh is just the latest example of how thy have used their platforms in a despicable way

They deserve every bit of criticism and professional consequences that happen them

Irresponsible actions carry consequences, that's the very essence of personal responsibility

You're letting your dogmatic tendencies out of the bag.

All you want to do is shout people down who disagree with you.
Post by: Louther on February 10, 2021, 01:33:13 PM

What a kip.

Maire also does work with OTB who Parkinson has constantly sniped at since he left but has ramped up in recent times.

Despite not following anyone on Twitter he knows what is going on, likely uses the GAA Hour account for that. Rich Ricci called it well.
Post by: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 01:39:11 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on February 10, 2021, 12:21:48 PM

how at this stage of a pandemic or even just generally do people not understand modelling and predictions. there are built on assumptions, and based on certain criteria. if those assumptions and criteria changes then the outcome changes.

liverpool v crawley... prediction  is liverpool to win.. 2 days before the match liverpool decide to play their u-12s.  crawley win 43-0... as the assumptions and criteria changed the outcomr changed.

nobody can predict the future. What we saw in italy last march was a very real possibility..
With some it's because they're genuine eejits with goldfish brains

With others it's because they have abhorrent views

The latter are more dangerous
Post by: trailer on February 10, 2021, 01:39:18 PM
What's Parky's beef with Kieran Cunningham? Is it that Kieran is an actual Journalist?
Post by: Louther on February 10, 2021, 01:44:49 PM
Quote from: trailer on February 10, 2021, 01:39:18 PM
What's Parky's beef with Kieran Cunningham? Is it that Kieran is an actual Journalist?

I think he challenged him on some of his views and using basic reasonable journalist skills to fact check what he was saying, Parkinson took the hump, blocked him and then throw snipe remarks his way since.

Parkinson has unique skills in discussing a match that he hasn't watched never mind attend but bases his opinion  on what he thinks should have happened based on reputations and what he'd like to have seen.
Post by: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 01:53:44 PM
Quote from: Louther on February 10, 2021, 01:44:49 PM
Quote from: trailer on February 10, 2021, 01:39:18 PM

I think he challenged him on some of his views and using basic reasonable journalist skills to fact check what he was saying, Parkinson took the hump, blocked him and then throw snipe remarks his way since.

Parkinson has unique skills in discussing a match that he hasn't watched never mind attend but bases his opinion  on what he thinks should have happened based on reputations and what he'd like to have seen.
For lads who proclaim themselves as freeze peach warriors, Ewan and Colin do a mean line in blocking people who don't agree with them

It's so funny how lads how proclaim themselves as freeze peach warriors are generally incredibly precious and delicate when they are challenged, the biggest snowflakes of all

Sure the whole thing is self evident hypocrisy and gaslighting

Post by: screenexile on February 10, 2021, 02:01:27 PM
Quote from: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 01:31:50 PM

What a kip.

And you're using half quotes trying to pass them off as facts!
Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 02:10:35 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 10, 2021, 02:01:27 PM

What a kip.

Nope I'm reporting what Swann said and it shows the type of hysteria elected officials are falsely creating over this.

Some people seem to be a bit slow to realise this.
Post by: Taylor on February 10, 2021, 02:27:40 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 01:25:12 PM
Quote from: Taylor on February 10, 2021, 01:06:51 PM

Bet anything he's a Meathman - and I'm not referring to Colm O'Rourke, who is bad enough, but the guy I'm thinking of is an even bigger gobshite

He isnt but I know who you are talking about and he could be put in the same catagory.

No point naming these boys as that is ultimately what they are looking for - attention - me fein
Post by: Taylor on February 10, 2021, 02:29:51 PM

What a kip.

I think that is the key point - if they had any shred of knowledge on the subject or indeed they were using their platform for the good of the people then fair play but it is clear they arent.

Its all about increasing profile to make €€€€ from other peoples confusion/misery
Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 03:02:37 PM
Quote from: Taylor on February 10, 2021, 02:29:51 PM

What a kip.

I think that is the key point - if they had any shred of knowledge on the subject or indeed they were using their platform for the good of the people then fair play but it is clear they arent.

Its all about increasing profile to make €€€€ from other peoples confusion/misery

That's a very subjective viewpoint of it.

Anyone who talks about the consequences of lockdowns is quickly shouted over by the dogmatic tones in the posts above. We should be having a discussion about the greater good, instead we just have Covid roared at us by a baying mob.
Post by: screenexile on February 10, 2021, 03:04:33 PM
Quote from: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 02:10:35 PM

What a kip.

Nope I'm reporting what Swann said and it shows the type of hysteria elected officials are falsely creating over this.

He said if we did nothing there could "possibly" be 15,000 deaths and you're trying to pass it off as if that was his minimum number including all the restrictions which is just flat out wrong!!

That's not even considering that his initial statement said 9,000 and when pushed he said it could be up to 15,000 if there were no restrictions in place.

You've been found out using half truths again!!
Post by: screenexile on February 10, 2021, 03:09:40 PM
Quote from: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 03:02:37 PM

What a kip.

Anyone who talks about the consequences of lockdowns is quickly shouted over by the dogmatic tones in the posts above. We should be having a discussion about the greater good, instead we just have Covid roared at us by a baying mob.

It's not a conversation though it's sniping at genuine people calling them sheep with no mind of their own.

You presume politicians and the medical community don't know the consequences of lockdown and haven't weighed this against the dangers of letting the Coronavirus run rampant? You seem to think there's a group of us happy out that we can't go on holidays/play sport/ visit our relatives?

I've yet to meet anybody happy with the situation but we believe that by doing this now it will save the lives of the older people in the population. Lads like you pretending that we want to ruin everyones lives and half quoting people do not help the situation.

Also Ewan MacKenna is a p***k and Digger the same. 2 self important twats crying about the fact that there's no positive news out there yet it's very rarely you see either of them posting or writing anything positive!!
Post by: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 03:16:42 PM

What a kip.

But literally nobody says lockdowns don't have consequences - most people see they are necessary and the least worst option in a particular situation

It is the opening up from lockdown without any plan that has us where we are - back into lockdown

Long term strategy has been poo-pooed, ridiculed at every stage - this is the ideology of the idiot

Those who advocate an end to lockdown now also have no handle whatsoever on how this will affect the population, they have no handle on psychology

Much or most of the population is scared, and with good reason

They will be much more scared than they already are in a let it rip situation where the virus is rampant - Ireland let it rip from December 1st - and that was not even with full opening - it was limited opening - and by December 25th, we were up to our neck in shit, with the population demanding Level 5 - why? - because they were petrified - and rightly so

You can't wish a pandemic away - you have to have a PLAN

At every stage the anti-lockdown crackpots have rejected plans and rejected long term strategy

By this stage, it is clear this is a matter of dogma, abhorrent ideology, and just plain ignorance

Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 03:19:30 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 10, 2021, 03:04:33 PM
Quote from: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 02:10:35 PM

What a kip.

He said if we did nothing there could "possibly" be 15,000 deaths and you're trying to pass it off as if that was his minimum number including all the restrictions which is just flat out wrong!!

That's not even considering that his initial statement said 9,000 and when pushed he said it could be up to 15,000 if there were no restrictions in place.

You've been found out using half truths again!!

Hold on now. Nowhere did I ever mention minimum, they are your words trying to misrepresent my words. Robin Swann said there could be 15k deaths in the first wave.

That statement was proven to be complete and utter scaremongering of the highest degree and a million miles off, so not only are you trying to deny history, you are also attempting to put words in my mouth that I have never said.

If you feel the need to spread fibs to pedal your agenda then I think that says a lot about how flimsy your argument is.
Post by: five points on February 10, 2021, 03:22:41 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 10, 2021, 03:09:40 PM
You presume politicians and the medical community don't know the consequences of lockdown...

I've yet to meet anybody happy with the situation but we believe that by doing this now it will save the lives of the older people in the population. Lads like you pretending that we want to ruin everyones lives and half quoting people do not help the situation.

You accused me earlier of not having been affected by Covid. I lost a beloved relative to it last year. She had been infected while in hospital for another ailment, because the hospital had insufficient PPE. This was at a time when you could buy any number of masks in Lidl.

I don't trust the people who caused her to die in agony. They're more interested in covering their backsides than in saving lives. And when this is all over and the cancer wards are full with people who should have been treated last year but weren't, these people will be still running the show and still evading the consequences of their actions.
Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 03:27:32 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 03:16:42 PM

What a kip.

But literally nobody says lockdowns don't have consequences - most people see they are necessary and the least worst option in a particular situation

It is the opening up from lockdown without any plan that has us where we are - back into lockdown

Long term strategy has been poo-pooed, ridiculed at every stage - this is the ideology of the idiot

Those who advocate an end to lockdown now also have no handle whatsoever on how this will affect the population, they have no handle on psychology

Much or most of the population is scared, and with good reason

They will be much more scared than they already are in a let it rip situation where the virus is rampant - Ireland let it rip from December 1st - and that was not even with full opening - it was limited opening - and by December 25th, we were up to our neck in shit, with the population demanding Level 5 - why? - because they were petrified - and rightly so

You can't wish a pandemic away - you have to have a PLAN

At every stage the anti-lockdown crackpots have rejected plans and rejected long term strategy

By this stage, it is clear this is a matter of dogma, abhorrent ideology, and just plain ignorance

There's a good reason why they are scared, the absolutely off the scale predictions that were made by the so called experts and level of deaths.

If you are under 40 you ought to be more scared about the next time you sit into a car or get behind the wheel as you have a greater chance of being killed by that than Covid - even when Covid is rampant. If you are in the 40-60 category, again your chances are very low. After that your vulnerability rises in accordance to the your age and health.

We were able to operate with minimal Covid from early Jun - end Sept with reasonable restrictions in place. The consequences of lockdowns are widespread, they will have far reaching and long term consequences - we are going to feel the effect so of them for decades financially, god knows what impact it will have on kids growing up in these times and their social development and education.

I cannot get the two faced reaction to Covid and flu. In January 2018 we had record death tolls in the north in a bad winter flu season and when I bring this up I am met with complete derision from the most fanatical of pro-lockdown people. Is absolutely incredible how they can dismiss the vast number of people who died in that month with flu cited by experts at the main cause of the spike in death, a figure Covid has not met yet they will justify the measures taken to fight Covid. It's rank hypocrisy.
Post by: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 03:39:59 PM
No, the reason they are scared is because Covid is a killer, ultra-transmissible disease which has laid waste to people in large numbers even in a lockdown situation

When it is allowed spread, it has proven to be a disaster for the country

Fear is therefore entirely rational and justified

You are living in a land of make believe and have decided to enter a mind space which involves the wholesale rejection of reality and the belief that you know everything, even about something about which you are demonstrably clueless

Therefore there is simply no arguing with you, you are totally irrational

Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 03:45:30 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 03:39:59 PM
No, the reason they are scared is because Covid is a killer, ultra-transmissible disease which has laid waste to people in large numbers even in a lockdown situation

You are living in a land of make believe and have decided to enter a mind space which involves the wholesale rejection of reality and the belief that you know everything, even about something about which you are demonstrably clueless

A killer to who?

If you are vulnerable or over the age of 60, you do have cause to be scared.

If you are under the age of 60 and not vulnerable then you should be much more scared about getting into a motor vehicle as you are statistically more likely to die.

60%+ of deaths are over the age of 80, 93% have underlying health conditions.
Post by: clarshack on February 10, 2021, 04:19:32 PM
Quote from: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 03:45:30 PM

A killer to who?

If you are under the age of 60 and not vulnerable then you should be much more scared about getting into a motor vehicle as you are statistically more likely to die.

Considering a lot of vehicles that are on the road atm haven't passed an MOT in a long time that stat would be very true.
Post by: dublin7 on February 10, 2021, 04:25:49 PM
Quote from: clarshack on February 10, 2021, 04:19:32 PM

A killer to who?

Considering a lot of vehicles that are on the road atm haven't passed an MOT in a long time that stat would be very true.

If you are under 60 and get into a car with your parents you can drive home safely, but at the same time pass on covid to them which could potentially prove fatal to them. That is why people under 60 should get the vaccine. Not for fear for themselves but for what they could pass on to the more vulnerable.

I watched some of the primetime show on the RTE player at lunch time and that scared me far more than ever getting into anybody's car.
Post by: five points on February 10, 2021, 04:38:00 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on February 10, 2021, 04:25:49 PM

If you are under 60 and get into a car with your parents you can drive home safely, but at the same time pass on covid to them which could potentially prove fatal to them. That is why people under 60 should get the vaccine. Not for fear for themselves but for what they could pass on to the more vulnerable.

He's talking about getting into a car and getting killed on the road, not dying from Covid.

11 months into this, there is no reason for any of us to be passing on Covid to our parents or other vulnerable relatives.

Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 04:38:58 PM
Quote from: clarshack on February 10, 2021, 04:19:32 PM

A killer to who?

I watched some of the primetime show on the RTE player at lunch time and that scared me far more than ever getting into anybody's car.

Well this post should win dumbest post of the day.

What vaccine prevents people from contracting and spreading the virus?

Maybe if RTE did a snuff piece on road traffic accidents, the shrewn wreckage and mangled corpses of fit and healthy young men and women then that might scare you too.

Every year over 1m people die from road traffic accidents globally, why do we tolerate this?
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on February 10, 2021, 04:45:02 PM
where is your outrage at this road deaths im 2018 angelo?? did you not care then. show me the posts!!!
Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 04:50:27 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on February 10, 2021, 04:45:02 PM
where is your outrage at this road deaths im 2018 angelo?? did you not care then. show me the posts!!!

You're the one who needs to show outrage here, not me. I'm not the one saying its alright for people to die from road traffic accidents but not from Covid

I'm not the one saying it's acceptable that over 1m people die from road traffic accidents annually (mostly fit and healthy young people) while conversely saying that everyone should give up their lives, their jobs, their financial security, their friendship, their social life, their hobbies and their daily interactions for a virus that it is of very little threat to 80% of the population.

Now tell me why you think it's ok for people to die from road traffic accidents but not Covid. Why do we take half measure on road traffic accidents but ask people to give their lives up for Covid?
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on February 10, 2021, 05:01:58 PM
angelo, i am using your logic. If you have not posted outrage at over 1m road deaths previously then you are accepting it is ok for 1m road deaths. that is your logic. show me the posts that you made previously showing outrage at 1m road deaths. if you cannot show these posts by yoir logic you are happy to accept 1m road deaths a year.

i dont think its ok for people to die from road accidents. what half measures are you referring too? what is your solution to prevent road deaths? sorry i forgot you are ok with 1m road deaths.
Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 05:43:44 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on February 10, 2021, 05:01:58 PM
angelo, i am using your logic. If you have not posted outrage at over 1m road deaths previously then you are accepting it is ok for 1m road deaths. that is your logic. show me the posts that you made previously showing outrage at 1m road deaths. if you cannot show these posts by yoir logic you are happy to accept 1m road deaths a year.

i dont think its ok for people to die from road accidents. what half measures are you referring too? what is your solution to prevent road deaths? sorry i forgot you are ok with 1m road deaths.

If you don't think it's ok for road accidents then why do we accept them?

Why don't we ban travel and hand out fine to people who are not on the road for essential trips?
Why don't we chip cars so they can't travel at excessive speeds?
Why didn't we drive the working from home initiative to save lives from road deaths?

Instead we take half measures on road deaths. Road deaths are going to kill more fit and healthy people every year than Covid will but we are happy to accept that through optics like wearing your seatbelt and penalty points.

On the other hand we full on Mad Max on Covid, you are not allowed go to work, visit family or friends, play sports, socialise etc.

How many people who die in road traffic accidents every year had underlying health conditions or were over the age of 80?

If you can't see the hypocrisy in your stance then you really need to open your eyes.

Why don't we ban alcohol and the amount of deaths and social ills it causes every year? Needless death and waste of resources spent every year on the ills of alcohol, not only do we not allow it, we enable and promote it.

The hypocrisy on Covid is shocking, we only care about one cause of death, a cause of death that is little threat to people who are young and in good health.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on February 10, 2021, 05:54:24 PM
based on that response and being unable to produce previous posts reagarding your outrage at road deaths you (angelo) accept 1m road deaths? is that correct?

you accept the half measures?
Post by: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 06:03:09 PM
Quote from: five points on February 10, 2021, 04:38:00 PM

He's talking about getting into a car and getting killed on the road, not dying from Covid.

11 months into this, there is no reason for any of us to be passing on Covid to our parents or other vulnerable relatives.
But that is what anti-lockdowners such as Angelo propose people do
Post by: dublin7 on February 10, 2021, 06:36:28 PM

No one passes on Covid deliberately. If you don't get the Covid vaccinations you are clearly leaving yourself open to get Covid and the possibility of passing Covid on to your friends/relatives.

How do you think Covid is transmitted? Do you not realize the whole point of of lockdown/social distancing is limit social interactions and stop the spread of the virus.

Same principle applies to the flu Angelo keeps saying no one cares about. Someone goes into work with the flu and ends up spreading it to everyone else. They didn't deliberately infect everyone but that happens regularly. I'm sure nearly every one can think of a situation were this has happened to them or a family member
Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 06:49:01 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on February 10, 2021, 05:54:24 PM
based on that response and being unable to produce previous posts reagarding your outrage at road deaths you (angelo) accept 1m road deaths? is that correct?

you accept the half measures?

You've changed the goalposts, this is about your hypocrisy and how you are happy to accept road deaths but want people to give up their lives to stop covid.

You need to address that issue.
Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 06:51:40 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on February 10, 2021, 06:03:09 PM

But that is what anti-lockdowners such as Angelo propose people do

Completely incorrect.

I don't propose that whatsoever. I do propose easing back on draconian lockdowns and living with reasonable restrictions for the forseeable.

That type of post you made there is exactly why you have zero credibility, you completely twist and misrepresent the views of others in order to suit your own flawed position. I want to look at the big picture, you want to lock people up for life over  a virus that for most people is not a threat.
Post by: Angelo on February 10, 2021, 06:53:00 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on February 10, 2021, 06:36:28 PM

No one passes on Covid deliberately. If you don't get the Covid vaccinations you are clearly leaving yourself open to get Covid and the possibility of passing Covid on to your friends/relatives.

How do you think Covid is transmitted? Do you not realize the whole point of of lockdown/social distancing is limit social interactions and stop the spread of the virus.

Same principle applies to the flu Angelo keeps saying no one cares about. Someone goes into work with the flu and ends up spreading it to everyone else. They didn't deliberately infect everyone but that happens regularly. I'm sure nearly every one can think of a situation were this has happened to them or a family member

This absolute stupidity.

Do some research on the vaccine ffs. It does not stop you picking up the virus or passing it on so it's of limited benefit to fit and healthy people.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on February 11, 2021, 08:30:08 PM
Did you know that he never won Sports Journalist or Sports Writer of the Year award like he claims?
Won a possibly less prestigous award called Sports Reporter of the Year in 2012. The only other person to receive that award was Roy Curtis in 2013 so he is in esteemed company.
http://journalismawards.ie/previous-winners/
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2021, 09:28:21 PM
His latest output. The holocaust was a public health measure therefore all public health measures are to be resisted.

The guy has lost it big time
Post by: yellowcard on April 08, 2021, 11:09:10 PM
At one point I liked Ewan due to his willingness to call out bullshit if he seen it. However he increasingly has involved himself in agenda driven commentary and although he still makes some valid arguments on some issues, this tends to get drowned out by all of his other obsessive ramblings. He has recently taken to straying into politics yet what he knows about this subject can be written on the back of a postage stamp.

There was a niche for him as an investigative sports journalist if he had gone down that route (that would be his strength) but he has just turned into an erratic Twitter crank who lashes out at everything.
Post by: Taylor on April 09, 2021, 10:10:45 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on April 08, 2021, 11:09:10 PM
At one point I liked Ewan due to his willingness to call out bullshit if he seen it. However he increasingly has involved himself in agenda driven commentary and although he still makes some valid arguments on some issues, this tends to get drowned out by all of his other obsessive ramblings. He has recently taken to straying into politics yet what he knows about this subject can be written on the back of a postage stamp.

There was a niche for him as an investigative sports journalist if he had gone down that route (that would be his strength) but he has just turned into an erratic Twitter crank who lashes out at everything.

I think he is stuck for money and is writing about the subject which is most relevant now or which will get most attention/attract the most noise.

You will see on his pieces now he is asking for donations - that would tell its own story
Post by: dublin7 on April 09, 2021, 03:47:03 PM
Quote from: Taylor on April 09, 2021, 10:10:45 AM

I think he is stuck for money and is writing about the subject which is most relevant now or which will get most attention/attract the most noise.

You will see on his pieces now he is asking for donations - that would tell its own story

He got dropped by the Indo and none of the Irish papers will touch him so he's gone down this route now. He seems to spend his life on twitter and uses that to stay relevant these days
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 09, 2021, 05:49:49 PM
Quote from: Taylor on April 09, 2021, 10:10:45 AM

Very short term though. He will never get a gig again now he linked up with Grift and the NP./fash  He should have done what other journalists do with down time and written a book

Any future output is 'but he is the guy who thinks its your moral duty to cough at old people because of the holocaust'. The boy is cooked.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on April 10, 2021, 03:07:28 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2021, 09:28:21 PM
His latest output. The holocaust was a public health measure therefore all public health measures are to be resisted.

Where would I find this?  Tried googling a few terms without success.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 10, 2021, 12:19:04 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on April 10, 2021, 03:07:28 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2021, 09:28:21 PM

Where would I find this?  Tried googling a few terms without success.

https://twitter.com/EwanMacKenna/status/1380131941190631427?s=19
Post by: From the Bunker on April 10, 2021, 12:24:12 PM
To be fair McKenna has been calling out the double standards in all this Covid BS. There is a tsunami of problems coming down the line. Our Government, our media and our public servants have their comfortable heads in the sand. 

Most people are drifting along in this made-up form of living. Others as sinking financially, mentally and health wise.

Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 10, 2021, 01:29:31 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 10, 2021, 12:24:12 PM
To be fair McKenna has been calling out the double standards in all this Covid BS. There is a tsunami of problems coming down the line. Our Government, our media and our public servants have their comfortable heads in the sand. 

Most people are drifting along in this made-up form of living. Others as sinking financially, mentally and health wise.

Or he has been a poor mans Dunphy/Brolly commenting on something he doesn't understand in alarming volume and alligning himself with the only group who agree with him in the fascist right?
Post by: macker15 on April 10, 2021, 01:43:25 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 10, 2021, 01:29:31 PM

Or he has been a poor mans Dunphy/Brolly commenting on something he doesn't understand in alarming volume and alligning himself with the only group who agree with him in the fascist right?

Is he still with the wife?
Post by: imtommygunn on April 10, 2021, 02:52:25 PM
Tbh he's probably a bit like a few posters on here on different subjects. He has decided he doesn't like a certain "narrative" and has just become more and more entrenched against it. The more entrenched he gets the more offensive he gets and the more ludicrous he gets.
Post by: Gmac on April 10, 2021, 04:40:06 PM

if you are against level 5 lockdown for whatever your reasons are you are a right wing fascist? Wow
Post by: dublin7 on April 10, 2021, 04:59:44 PM
Quote from: Gmac on April 10, 2021, 04:40:06 PM

if you are against level 5 lockdown for whatever your reasons are you are a right wing fascist? Wow

Have a read of Ewan's twitter posts. Nothing but angry, bitter misinformed rants. If you think Ewan's right then I'm sorry you're wrong
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 10, 2021, 07:23:59 PM
Quote from: Gmac on April 10, 2021, 04:40:06 PM

I didn't say that.

Read his twitter feed and output on far right sites.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 10, 2021, 07:24:23 PM
Quote from: macker15 on April 10, 2021, 01:43:25 PM

Says he is alone in the apartment so no idea
Post by: RedHand88 on April 10, 2021, 11:03:34 PM
He come across as a deeply unhappy man.
Post by: macker15 on April 11, 2021, 03:54:47 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 10, 2021, 11:03:34 PM

There a touch of Henry Sellers about him when he hits the bottle.
Post by: dublin7 on April 11, 2021, 07:11:25 PM
Quote from: macker15 on April 11, 2021, 03:54:47 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 10, 2021, 11:03:34 PM

There a touch of Henry Sellers about him when he hits the bottle.

You can tell when he's on the beer as his really toxic/abusive tweets tend to appear late at night or early hours of the morning. Then when he sobers up they tend to get deleted and he'll deny ever posting them.
Post by: macker15 on April 13, 2021, 10:23:51 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 10, 2021, 07:24:23 PM

He prob has the madras to keep him company.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 14, 2021, 01:11:06 AM
Quote from: macker15 on April 13, 2021, 10:23:51 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 10, 2021, 07:24:23 PM

He prob has the madras to keep him company.

https://twitter.com/EwanMacKenna/status/1381334352706072576
Post by: The PRO on July 21, 2021, 10:38:30 AM
As a Laois man, I've no great desire to see Kildare going well (not that we're even on their radar anymore) but surely O'Connor has done a decent job with Kildare this year? Promotion to Division 1 and a Leinster final spot.

MacKenna might amazingly have got something wrong! ;D
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 21, 2021, 11:54:26 AM
Quote from: The PRO on July 21, 2021, 10:38:30 AM
As a Laois man, I've no great desire to see Kildare going well (not that we're even on their radar anymore) but surely O'Connor has done a decent job with Kildare this year? Promotion to Division 1 and a Leinster final spot.

MacKenna might amazingly have got something wrong! ;D

O'Connor has done a solid job, with the players available and the draw for both league and championship he has delivered what was expected. Get a performance in the Leinster final and keep Kildare in Division 1 next year then we have progress and hope is restored. Kildare would be in the 9th to 12th best team the country group. Getting to 5th to 8th is the challenge since Geezer was moved on.
Post by: clarshack on July 21, 2021, 12:10:36 PM
Can Kildare give Dublin a close game?
Post by: TheMistro on July 06, 2022, 09:29:27 AM
Jack is doing a steady job with the kingdom. Won all Ireland in  first season in his first and second stint with kerry and beat the dubs both years. Expect Jack to repeat the dose again. The when kerry win one they will go on to dominante over next few years.
Post by: iorras on July 06, 2022, 08:37:50 PM
Right, well someone didnt read the rest of the thread
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 30, 2022, 05:58:07 PM
Fella is having a mare on Twitter, even by his standards. Talking about Greta Thunburgs tits in order to defend Tate and sating rape victims partially are to blame

It's past sad and into plain odd
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 30, 2022, 06:26:15 PM
The things you do to try stay "relevant"
I follow him but now scan over 90% his tweets
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 30, 2022, 06:31:35 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 30, 2022, 06:26:15 PM
The things you do to try stay "relevant"
I follow him but now scan over 90% his tweets

He has to be edgy to be noticed. Unfortunately it has also made him unemployable
Post by: Captain Scarlet on December 30, 2022, 08:37:56 PM
How long does he spend a day on Twitter
? He goes to war daily with everyone and anyone!

He has said so much batshit stuff no show or paper with sponsors will touch him.
Post by: RedHand88 on December 30, 2022, 08:40:13 PM
Is he working at the minute or just living it up in Portugal? How does he get by?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 30, 2022, 10:24:00 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on December 30, 2022, 08:40:13 PM
Is he working at the minute or just living it up in Portugal? How does he get by?
If he was living it up he wouldn't spend all day at home alone on Twitter. Was he not last doing some mad podcast?
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 30, 2022, 10:32:56 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 30, 2022, 05:58:07 PM
Fella is having a mare on Twitter, even by his standards. Talking about Greta Thunburgs tits in order to defend Tate and sating rape victims partially are to blame

It's past sad and into plain odd
Talking about tits while making a tit of himself that's Ewan alright.
Post by: screenexile on December 31, 2022, 02:27:42 PM

Has his own podcast called "think for yourself" . . . enough headers must listen to it to keep him solvent anyway. A complete clampit but if I remember correctly he used to write some decent sports articles back in the day. Now spends his time shouting at the world and abusing actual sports journalists who have a job saying they've sold themselves out because people will actually employ them!!
Post by: clonadmad on December 31, 2022, 03:01:29 PM
Sports Gemma

More to be pitied at this stage
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 31, 2022, 03:20:31 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 31, 2022, 02:27:42 PM

Has his own podcast called "think for yourself" . . . enough headers must listen to it to keep him solvent anyway. A complete clampit but if I remember correctly he used to write some decent sports articles back in the day. Now spends his time shouting at the world and abusing actual sports journalists who have a job saying they've sold themselves out because people will actually employ them!!

Is he a David Icke type punter?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 01, 2023, 09:30:52 PM
Ewan outraged at the darts now. OUTRAGED!!!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 02, 2023, 10:43:12 AM
Sorry for the updates but hes just shared a screenshot of the page where MR2 compares him to Icke. We're famous lads 😃
Post by: Cyril Farrell fan on January 02, 2023, 04:05:50 PM
Ewan's case shows the danger of social media. He has torched his career solely by what he says on Twitter.
In the past, we would have only heard from him weekly on an article that was run by a sub editor. No one would have known about any batshit views.
A person who has to delete so many poor posts made in haste and often gets caught out spreading fake Russian propaganda that then gets debunked really isn't suited to the Twitter format.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 02, 2023, 05:05:55 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 02, 2023, 10:43:12 AM
Sorry for the updates but hes just shared a screenshot of the page where MR2 compares him to Icke. We're famous lads 😃

What's the 'we're' shit  :D

Not a Twitter guy but lol who da feck reads this shit?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 02, 2023, 05:10:18 PM
Lolol ok then you are! Im gona pm him that youre an Antrim ref, once he gets hold of somethin thats it yer snookered 😉😃

Ah hes an expert on allsorts, prob cant even mind why he was angry last night. Todays a new day for him. Back to Russia/Greta whatever
Post by: Saffrongael on January 02, 2023, 05:18:53 PM
Is he a drinker ?

McKenna by the way not MR2  ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 02, 2023, 05:21:37 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 02, 2023, 05:10:18 PM
Lolol ok then you are! Im gona pm him that youre an Antrim ref, once he gets hold of somethin thats it yer snookered 😉😃

Ah hes an expert on allsorts, prob cant even mind why he was angry last night. Todays a new day for him. Back to Russia/Greta whatever

It will be detrimental to my career no doubt, death by twitter
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 02, 2023, 05:29:21 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on January 02, 2023, 05:18:53 PM
Is he a drinker ?

McKenna by the way not MR2  ;D

I think he is tbh. Peeps who follow him closer than me would say tweets deleted regularly next day etc

MR2 must be one too havin read some his stuff on here 😉😉
Post by: imtommygunn on January 02, 2023, 06:07:55 PM
I don't think his mental health would be in a great place tbh.
Post by: Saffrongael on January 02, 2023, 06:16:20 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 02, 2023, 06:07:55 PM

People can just be a dick without any mental health problems
Post by: imtommygunn on January 02, 2023, 06:19:57 PM
Agreed and it is a card some people can pull at times but I really think this guy has issues. He's ruining himself.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on January 03, 2023, 11:11:50 AM
'Got sent this'. 'Back in work'. My hole.
Post by: Taylor on January 03, 2023, 11:21:38 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on January 03, 2023, 11:11:50 AM
'Got sent this'. 'Back in work'. My hole.

Post by: Gmac on January 03, 2023, 02:40:02 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on January 02, 2023, 06:16:20 PM

taking pot shots at someone's mental health is fine if you disagree with their opinions #bekind
Post by: Main Street on January 04, 2023, 12:39:09 AM
How unfortunate for MR2 that his (probable) last remaining chance at achieving his 15 minutes of fame came at the árse end of a Ewan McKenna tweet  ;D
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FldSNnUWIAEElQz?format=jpg&name=large (https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FldSNnUWIAEElQz?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2023, 07:34:39 AM
Quote from: Main Street on January 04, 2023, 12:39:09 AM
How unfortunate for MR2 that his (probable) last remaining chance at achieving his 15 minutes of fame came at the árse end of a Ewan McKenna tweet  ;D
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FldSNnUWIAEElQz?format=jpg&name=large (https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FldSNnUWIAEElQz?format=jpg&name=large)

Devastated...

Suppose I'll just stick to winding people up here in, works a treat
Post by: imtommygunn on January 04, 2023, 07:47:52 AM
Quote from: Gmac on January 03, 2023, 02:40:02 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on January 02, 2023, 06:16:20 PM

taking pot shots at someone's mental health is fine if you disagree with their opinions #bekind

Is that referring to me? If so it's not a pot shot. The fella would be better away from a keyboard - I don't think all is well there.
Post by: The Wedger on February 27, 2023, 12:35:49 PM
I thought ye might enjoy this
https://twitter.com/EwanMacKenna/status/1629932708158644227

"Had misfortune of running into chunks of this Kildare panel in recent years. Gym monkeys. Single digit IQ. Huge talent for sure but unlikable idiots who think playing county and being humiliated is an achievement worthy of arrogance. Just morons. I'm embarrassed beyond results"
Post by: The PRO on February 27, 2023, 03:09:59 PM
Quote from: The Wedger on February 27, 2023, 12:35:49 PM
I thought ye might enjoy this
https://twitter.com/EwanMacKenna/status/1629932708158644227

"Had misfortune of running into chunks of this Kildare panel in recent years. Gym monkeys. Single digit IQ. Huge talent for sure but unlikable idiots who think playing county and being humiliated is an achievement worthy of arrogance. Just morons. I'm embarrassed beyond results"

He seems a nice fella. I've absolutely zero love for Kildare teams to be honest but that's a ridiculous statement. 
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 27, 2023, 06:40:16 PM
That's a disgrace for any man to say about a football team. Any them Kildare lads cross him, shouldn't miss him especially that IQ jab. Man's a dick!
Post by: From the Bunker on February 27, 2023, 10:26:40 PM
9 out of 10 times Ewan calls it as it is and upsets the applecart.

1 out of 10 times he has brain-fart moments that totally discredits all that good work.

There is some truth in what he says about Kildare Football, but his presentation is poor and comes across as bitter.
Post by: screenexile on February 28, 2023, 09:29:36 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 27, 2023, 10:26:40 PM

1 out of 10 times he has brain-fart moments that totally discredits all that good work.

There is some truth in what he says about Kildare Football, but his presentation is poor and comes across as bitter.

9 times out of ten is extremely generous!!
Post by: Captain Scarlet on February 28, 2023, 09:41:33 PM
The main thing is that he is ALWAYS right even if he contradicts himself at least twice.

You can't ALWAYS disagree with the widely held view.

Post by: Dreadnought on March 01, 2023, 08:25:19 AM

Think you got it the wrong way round. 5 years ago maybe, but he's off the deep end now. He'd be lucky if he's right 1 out of 100 now such is the absolute mad stuff he's spouting online
Post by: galwayman on March 01, 2023, 08:32:10 AM
Quote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2023, 08:25:19 AM

Think you got it the wrong way round. 5 years ago maybe, but he's off the deep end now. He'd be lucky if he's right 1 out of 100 now such is the absolute mad stuff he's spouting online
Have to agree with that. He has turned into nothing more than a contrarian about everything.
Think he has lost credibility at this stage.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on March 01, 2023, 08:46:55 AM

Don't think I've ever disagreed more with anything posted here than this, he's a total f**king clown.
Post by: Taylor on March 01, 2023, 08:50:12 AM

Strange take from a poster who is normally on point.

Its been a long long time since poor Ewan was correct 9 times out of 10.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 01, 2023, 08:50:40 AM
I can never see past the vitriol on Mickey Harte. Pure spite and hate. Tbh the guy needs help.

Post by: Captain Scarlet on March 01, 2023, 04:11:08 PM
There are days if you look at his feed he must send 1000 tweets and it's all rage and at all hours of the day and night.
It must be awful - but the main thing is that he is RIGHT! And others are just COWARDS for not saying it like it is.
Post by: Hound on March 01, 2023, 09:45:29 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on March 01, 2023, 08:46:55 AM

Don't think I've ever disagreed more with anything posted here than this, he's a total f**king clown.
Both of them are.
Post by: Dag Dog on March 01, 2023, 10:25:10 PM
He tweets the same stuff over and over every day. Either "I was right about Covid...cowards, ruined, destroyed etc" "Ukrainian Nazis, Zelensky scum".
Post by: Eire90 on March 02, 2023, 09:46:26 AM
A lot of people with high iq turned out to be serial killers but mckenna will not talk about that.
Post by: 03,05,08 on March 03, 2023, 07:32:11 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on March 02, 2023, 09:46:26 AM
A lot of people with high iq turned out to be serial killers but mckenna will not talk about that.

I would love to know mc kenna's IQ
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 04, 2023, 02:49:33 PM
Ewan outdoing himself today. Pictures of starving babies while talking about city newcastle match....
Post by: Dag Dog on March 04, 2023, 03:06:58 PM
Quote from: 03,05,08 on March 03, 2023, 07:32:11 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on March 02, 2023, 09:46:26 AM

I would love to know mc kenna's IQ
His IQ doesn't matter. He has zero emotional intelligence and dishes out abuse at a phenomenal rate.
These days, everyone seems to be a 'scum' in his mind.

Post by: bennydorano on March 07, 2023, 12:00:07 AM
I always come back to the idea that he'll say absolutely anything in an effort to grow his numbers to try & monetize his profile. Some Ukrainian related nonsense 2nite, I don't for a second think he honestly believes half the stuff he tweets.
Post by: Louther on March 07, 2023, 11:38:17 AM
I see Ewan has been reading the board.

Hello Ewan ya big bollix ;D ;D
Post by: Cavan19 on March 07, 2023, 01:27:34 PM
Quote from: Louther on March 07, 2023, 11:38:17 AM
I see Ewan has been reading the board.

Hello Ewan ya big bollix ;D ;D

:D :D :D :D
Post by: screenexile on March 08, 2023, 11:22:34 PM
Jesus wept he's got wee Seamy on his pod tomorrow!!!

🤦🏼‍♂️🤦🏼‍♂️
Post by: Nanderson on March 08, 2023, 11:40:53 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 08, 2023, 11:22:34 PM

🤦🏼‍♂️🤦🏼‍♂️
He knows Jamie's popular with the trolls so it will generate clicks
Post by: imtommygunn on March 09, 2023, 08:42:25 AM
Quote from: screenexile on March 08, 2023, 11:22:34 PM

🤦🏼‍♂️🤦🏼‍♂️

I will be sure to listen to that...

(Will I bollocks).

Two attention seeking arseholes.
Post by: yellowcard on March 09, 2023, 09:27:00 AM
Its actually a little bit sad to see the direction that he has gone down. A few years ago I thought he was a good sports journalist with a questioning mind who wasn't afraid to ask difficult questions. He really should have stuck to that. 

However since lockdown he has gone into history, politics, epidemiology, social issues and any other topic that he can get a reaction from by holding the contrarian view. I can only put it down to a shortage of work and a lot of frustration at the way his career has panned out. I don't think he is a bad fellow nor does he believe half of what he actually says either but he sure has become an insufferable know it all. This attracts a special little army of sycophantic freedom party types who keep him going. He purports to call out bullshit so the Bryson interview should be a dream for him as there is so much material to call out. It'll be worth listening to see how he gets on.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 10, 2023, 10:24:01 PM
Ewan jumping on the Lineker debate now. Youll NEVER guess what stance hes takin on this.....
Post by: RedHand88 on March 11, 2023, 07:05:07 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 10, 2023, 10:24:01 PM
Ewan jumping on the Lineker debate now. Youll NEVER guess what stance hes takin on this.....

I see Matt himself is coming in to it too.

(https://i.ibb.co/f2khBCx/Screenshot-20230311-070329-Chrome.jpg)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 11, 2023, 08:25:52 AM
For a sports journalist he can't even spell Lineker
Post by: Rossfan on March 11, 2023, 09:22:04 AM
Any chance RTÉ could abolish their waffle and just show action?
Post by: imtommygunn on March 11, 2023, 12:04:41 PM
This. Just think how much more of the games we could see. You're probably at 50% analysis these days and it's just getting more.
Post by: Franko on March 12, 2023, 08:38:43 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 09, 2023, 09:27:00 AM
Its actually a little bit sad to see the direction that he has gone down. A few years ago I thought he was a good sports journalist with a questioning mind who wasn't afraid to ask difficult questions. He really should have stuck to that. 

However since lockdown he has gone into history, politics, epidemiology, social issues and any other topic that he can get a reaction from by holding the contrarian view. I can only put it down to a shortage of work and a lot of frustration at the way his career has panned out. I don't think he is a bad fellow nor does he believe half of what he actually says either but he sure has become an insufferable know it all. This attracts a special little army of sycophantic freedom party types who keep him going. He purports to call out bullshit so the Bryson interview should be a dream for him as there is so much material to call out. It'll be worth listening to see how he gets on.

I used to think he was an exceptional journalist, had serious respect for him

I now genuinely pity him - he just oozes pathetic desperation
Post by: yellowcard on March 12, 2023, 09:04:36 PM
Quote from: Franko on March 12, 2023, 08:38:43 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on March 09, 2023, 09:27:00 AM

I used to think he was an exceptional journalist, had serious respect for him

I now genuinely pity him - he just oozes pathetic desperation

He was once a very good sports journalist. But that's not his target market anymore.

He knows exactly what he is doing as he manages to insert himself into every single controversial issue with the contrarian viewpoint. He has to keep playing to that 'fan base' that he has built up after all they are now his main source of income. The fact is that the truth has never really mattered on Twitter, it's often just used as a propaganda tool by charlatans for their own benefit. Trump being the poster boy for this form of propaganda.

I'd invite anybody to play a game of guess the Ewan take every time a controversial issue comes up. You'd be surprised how predictable he has become but it comes back to that idea of him playing to his gallery.
Post by: screenexile on March 12, 2023, 11:13:14 PM
He's on the sauce this evening 100%

Will be interesting to see how many of his tweets are deleted in the morning!

Just called BBC journo Rod Atkins a murderous p***k 🤷‍♂️
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 12, 2023, 11:45:33 PM
Tommy Tiernan was gettin it earlier also lol
Post by: Dag Dog on March 13, 2023, 09:42:10 AM
He still claims to be liberal and left wing, yet always takes the Tory, MAGA, Putin, right-wing, anti-vax etc standpoint.
It's a bit like Tucker Carlson, it's all done for show and attention.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on March 15, 2023, 03:13:08 PM
Today he is an expert in banking and solvency law.
Post by: The PRO on March 15, 2023, 08:41:11 PM
The sooner you all recognise that Ewan is never wrong about anything, the sooner you'll understand his magnificence.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on March 15, 2023, 09:47:17 PM
Quote from: The PRO on March 15, 2023, 08:41:11 PM
The sooner you all recognise that Ewan is never wrong about anything, the sooner you'll understand his magnificence.
He was explaining it all to a banker today.
Post by: The PRO on March 15, 2023, 11:03:23 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on March 15, 2023, 09:47:17 PM
Ewan is more intelligent than all the bankers in the world put together so he doesn't actually need to work in finance to know everything there is to know about it.
Post by: screenexile on March 15, 2023, 11:53:03 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 12, 2023, 11:13:14 PM

Tweet has been deleted!
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on March 16, 2023, 12:24:05 AM
Quote from: The PRO on March 15, 2023, 11:03:23 PM
Ewan is more intelligent than all the bankers in the world put together so he doesn't actually need to work in finance to know everything there is to know about it.

Being smarter than a banker is no boast, but the hubris was tremendous. It's not my fault you can't keep up with me with your actual technical knowledge
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 16, 2023, 07:46:26 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on March 16, 2023, 12:24:05 AM

Being smarter than a banker is no boast, but the hubris was tremendous. It's not my fault you can't keep up with me with your actual technical knowledge

Mask has slipped Ewan....
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on March 16, 2023, 09:25:22 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 16, 2023, 07:46:26 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on March 16, 2023, 12:24:05 AM

Mask has slipped Ewan....

Explain?
Title: Re: Ewan McKenna
Post by: bennydorano on March 16, 2023, 12:28:53 PM
The best line of tweets (from a week or 2 ago) was that the Ukraine War is over, you just don't know it yet, and he persisted with it. Must be a type of Schrodinger's war. :P
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on March 16, 2023, 12:52:45 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 16, 2023, 12:28:53 PM
The best line of tweets (from a week or 2 ago) was that the Ukraine War is over, you just don't know it yet, and he persisted with it. Must be a type of Schrodinger's war. :P

Today was a belter. He is covering the ministers Paddies day visit to Brazil for a Brazilian paper from Portugal. Because they wouldn't fly him over its an outrageous junket. When asked how he could cover an event from thousands of miles away he basically said it's already written and he is prioritising his podcast. Quite an admission about his first paid gig in years.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 17, 2023, 08:01:42 AM
Quote from: screenexile on March 15, 2023, 11:53:03 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 12, 2023, 11:13:14 PM

Tweet has been deleted!

I see Ewans screenshottin us now lolol. Benny/Baile Brigin 2 youre famous 😃

Now do this one Ewan, where you call people murderous pricks then delete 😃
Post by: seafoid on March 17, 2023, 12:24:41 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/EwanMacKenna/status/1636537887448772608
Post by: seafoid on March 17, 2023, 01:19:35 PM
His twitter feed is weird.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on March 21, 2023, 11:05:23 AM
Quote from: seafoid on March 17, 2023, 01:19:35 PM

He feeds off the notoriety. Nobody would be talking about him if he was being rational. I have to hold my hands up here, we should be ignoring him
Post by: seafoid on March 21, 2023, 06:54:28 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on March 21, 2023, 11:05:23 AM

He feeds off the notoriety. Nobody would be talking about him if he was being rational. I have to hold my hands up here, we should be ignoring him
I agree
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on March 22, 2023, 05:15:15 PM

If you want to find a really weird one have a look at Colm Parkinson's personal one. The man has gone full Graham Linehan as it seem his only personal thoughts are about trans women.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2023, 11:23:36 AM
He has gone plain nasty over the last couple of days. Constantly talking about fisting and bestiality and threatening gay folk. It's genuine breakdown territory - if anyone knows him can they check in on him.
Post by: Gmac on April 08, 2023, 04:37:05 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2023, 11:23:36 AM
He has gone plain nasty over the last couple of days. Constantly talking about fisting and bestiality and threatening gay folk. It's genuine breakdown territory - if anyone knows him can they check in on him.
from what I can see in his tweets he is
Pro peace in Ukraine
Wants biological men out of women's sports
Keeping books about blow jobs and fisting away from 10 year old kids
Was Against lockdowns and massive handouts which are coming home to roost now
Boosters a waste of time .
Seem ok view points to me
Post by: armaghniac on April 08, 2023, 04:45:23 PM
Everyone is pro 'peace' in Ukraine, some people are pro suurendet and rewarding the invaders.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 08, 2023, 05:36:38 PM
Quote from: Gmac on April 08, 2023, 04:37:05 PM
Pro peace in Ukraine

Yes, he's much maligned for swimming against the tide, giving reasonable opinion and asking questions.

But hey, just keep listening to your leaders and your mafia mainstream media.
Don't question anything and all will be ok.

Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 09, 2023, 11:40:09 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 08, 2023, 05:36:38 PM
Quote from: Gmac on April 08, 2023, 04:37:05 PM
Pro peace in Ukraine

Yes, he's much maligned for swimming against the tide, giving reasonable opinion and asking questions.

But hey, just keep listening to your leaders and your mafia mainstream media.
Don't question anything and all will be ok.

It is not reasonable to take a demonstrably false claim, there is a book on the curriculum that reaches kids fisting and scat, and then state that everyone who objects to the far right storming libraries is a groomer who wants lids taught fisting and scat.

There is a reason he is called sport Gemma and he proved it in a vicious way over the last few days