Death Notices

Started by Armagh4SamAgain, April 05, 2007, 03:25:33 PM

winghalfun

I remember watching an interview with Ricky Gervais and he mentioned that Keith Harris was one of the few (if not the only person) who turned him down for a part in his television show 'Extras'.

Either foolhardy (think Robert De Niro, Kate Winslett, Ben Stiller, Samuel L Jackson) or showed great integrity.

Jeepers Creepers

Quote from: winghalfun on April 29, 2015, 11:13:27 AM
I remember watching an interview with Ricky Gervais and he mentioned that Keith Harris was one of the few (if not the only person) who turned him down for a part in his television show 'Extras'.

Either foolhardy (think Robert De Niro, Kate Winslett, Ben Stiller, Samuel L Jackson) or showed great integrity.

An interesting read below on his rags to riches then back again story, kinda heartbreaking when you think of all these entertainers from the 80s who probably share the same story. We explained to some younger members of our office who had never heard of him that this was entertainment as we knew it back in the day. They had a look of total bewilderment. Very funny. The article also explains his reason not to appear in extras. If you ever get the chance to watch the Louis Theurox interview/visit to Keith Harris house. Head behind hands stuff but worth a watch.

http://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-32498955

Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on April 29, 2015, 12:21:58 PM

An interesting read below on his rags to riches then back again story, kinda heartbreaking when you think of all these entertainers from the 80s who probably share the same story. We explained to some younger members of our office who had never heard of him that this was entertainment as we knew it back in the day. They had a look of total bewilderment. Very funny. The article also explains his reason not to appear in extras. If you ever get the chance to watch the Louis Theurox interview/visit to Keith Harris house. Head behind hands stuff but worth a watch.

http://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-32498955

Keith Harris was a breath of fresh air*. My entertainment was people like Mike Yarwood, Ray Allen & Lord Charles and Shari Lewis & Lamb Chop.

* joking

Aristo 60

I might be wrong but if Harris was intended to play the part that Keith Chegwin eventually played, then he was right to turn it down if it so disagreed with his sensibilities. It contained some pretty raw stuff if I remember it correctly.

QuoteThe entertainer spiralled into depression and even contemplated drowning himself, ironically, in a local duck pond.

:-\

dec

Was there a Doctor on Stand By?

redcard

Rebecca Ellison Rio Ferdinands wife

Quote from: redcard on May 02, 2015, 11:25:06 AM
Rebecca Ellison Rio Ferdinands wife

V sad. Three young children. Cancer is a bastard.

Cancer respects nothing. Not status, wealth nor creed.

David Goldberg, one of Silicon Valley's most high-profile, well-regarded and well-liked entrepreneurs, died suddenly last night of undetermined causes.

News of his untimely death was posted on Facebook by his brother and also confirmed by people close to his family. Goldberg, 47, was the husband of Facebook COO Sheryl Sandberg — they have two young children — and the CEO of SurveyMonkey.

Quote from: Orior on May 05, 2015, 11:39:40 AM
David Goldberg, one of Silicon Valley's most high-profile, well-regarded and well-liked entrepreneurs, died suddenly last night of undetermined causes.

News of his untimely death was posted on Facebook by his brother and also confirmed by people close to his family. Goldberg, 47, was the husband of Facebook COO Sheryl Sandberg — they have two young children — and the CEO of SurveyMonkey.

Apparently fell of his treadmill.

Seriously? Did he fall out a fecking window or something? Surely a fall off a treadmill wouldn't kill a 47 year old man?

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 05, 2015, 11:49:44 AM
Seriously? Did he fall out a fecking window or something? Surely a fall off a treadmill wouldn't kill a 47 year old man?

Apparently whatever he hit his head off caused serious damage.

Quote from: AZOffaly on May 05, 2015, 11:49:44 AM

I know of people falling big distances and being grand and others tripped over and dying because of how they hit their head.