Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on April 21, 2017, 06:55:35 PM

Title: Why is Rory Mc Ilroy getting married in the Free State?
Post by: T Fearon on April 21, 2017, 06:55:35 PM
I thought he went out of his way to remain politically neutral?
Title: Re: Why is Rory Mc Ilroy getting married in the Free State?
Post by: Itchy on April 21, 2017, 06:58:39 PM
Simple, the harsh west coast environment would be very inhospitable to the insects that carry Zika virus so Rory and his golf buddies can turn up without any risk to their health.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on April 21, 2017, 07:25:45 PM
Not that I'm all that interested in anything you do or say but I am intrigued as to why you refer to the ROI in the way that you do. It's obviously to wind people up but I'd just lije to inderstand the thinking and who you're trying to wind up and why.  It'll help me learn further just how big a bell end you really are
Post by: The Iceman on April 21, 2017, 07:30:18 PM
most people in Armagh would call it the free state... At least it was that way when I grew up and before I left...
Post by: maddog on April 21, 2017, 07:38:31 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 21, 2017, 07:30:18 PM
most people in Armagh would call it the free state... At least it was that way when I grew up and before I left...

Not my experience about the town. Down south would have been more prevelant I think. Free state would have used possibly more by grand parents generation but not as an insult.
Post by: The Iceman on April 21, 2017, 07:40:53 PM
Quote from: maddog on April 21, 2017, 07:38:31 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 21, 2017, 07:30:18 PM

Not my experience about the town. Down south would have been more prevelant I think. Free state would have used possibly more by grand parents generation but not as an insult.
definitely not as an insult... but i grew up calling it the free state and the occupied 6 or the north... maybe you lived in a more proddy side of the town... ;)
Post by: Avondhu star on April 21, 2017, 07:47:14 PM
Free state is used by those still living in the time capsule of 1922 and who are usually poorly educated
Much similar to their political opponents who are still living in the year 1690
Post by: Avondhu star on April 21, 2017, 07:48:58 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 21, 2017, 06:55:35 PM
Wherever he got married some gobshite would find some reason to whinge
Post by: Tubberman on April 21, 2017, 07:52:45 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on April 21, 2017, 07:48:58 PM
Wherever he got married some gobshite would find some reason to whinge

Amen brother!
Post by: The Iceman on April 21, 2017, 07:57:41 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on April 21, 2017, 07:47:14 PM
Free state is used by those still living in the time capsule of 1922 and who are usually poorly educated
poorly educated...I've forgotten more than you know
Post by: Avondhu star on April 21, 2017, 08:02:55 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 21, 2017, 07:57:41 PM
poorly educated...I've forgotten more than you know
It's important to be able to distinguish between intelligence and education. Those online correspondence degrees you have are as useful as the tokens on a cornflakes box
Post by: The Iceman on April 21, 2017, 08:16:06 PM
what do they say about boys in real estate........ well known for their intelligence and education.... dirty dubs....
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 21, 2017, 08:23:04 PM
Has anyone ever stayed in Ashford Castle, what was it like?
Post by: Orior on April 21, 2017, 09:07:33 PM
My parents called it the Free State.

When I'm in east Belfast I call it the free state to wind up the locals.
Post by: Orior on April 21, 2017, 09:09:13 PM
McDowell clearly not invited - he is playing in Texas
Post by: Avondhu star on April 21, 2017, 09:12:36 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 21, 2017, 09:07:33 PM
My parents called it the Free State.

When I'm in east Belfast I call it the free state to wind up the locals.
It's understandable how Her Majesty's subjects from both traditions would get mixed up
Post by: Orior on April 21, 2017, 09:42:16 PM
The term is derived from being free from british rule. Seems reasonable.
Post by: omochain on April 21, 2017, 10:05:39 PM

So you are well read on the history of Ireland 1918 thru 1949. Pity you are not showing much sign of it. Try reading some in depth stuff about the Boundary Commission and you will start to notice the lack of empathy that successive Dublin governments had for northern nationalists. Even the soldiers of destiny under Dev gave them the cold shoulder on many occasions. The Free State was the last entity in modern Ireland they thought might bring them to freedom. They soon lost that illusion when the new constitution (courtesy of John Charles McQuaid and DeValera) were introduced in 1937 and the Repubublic Act of 1949 was enacted. Both of which paid lip service to northern nationalists. So the term "Free State" can be a term of fondness and derision for northern nationalists. Fondness in that it was their last shot at realizing the freedom they had fought for and derision because of the hypocrisy of particularly the anti-treaty party who scoffed at their pragmatic approach to negotiating partition when the Boundary Commission was in session.
Post by: yellowcard on April 21, 2017, 10:31:18 PM
In my experience very few people in the north refer to the 26 counties as the free state, most would just term it as down south. I think it's more of an older generation thing as I have heard a few people, mostly older people, refer to it as such.

Post by: rrhf on April 21, 2017, 10:35:14 PM
Quote from: omochain on April 21, 2017, 10:05:39 PM

So you are well read on the history of Ireland 1918 thru 1949. Pity you are not showing much sign of it. Try reading some in depth stuff about the Boundary Commission and you will start to notice the lack of empathy that successive Dublin governments had for northern nationalists. Even the soldiers of destiny under Dev gave them the cold shoulder on many occasions. The Free State was the last entity in modern Ireland they thought might bring them to freedom. They soon lost that illusion when the new constitution (courtesy of John Charles McQuaid and DeValera) were introduced in 1937 and the Repubublic Act of 1949 was enacted. Both of which paid lip service to northern nationalists. So the term "Free State" can be a term of fondness and derision for northern nationalists. Fondness in that it was their last shot at realizing the freedom they had fought for and derision because of the hypocrisy of particularly the anti-treaty party who scoffed at their pragmatic approach to negotiating partition when the Boundary Commission was in session.
Dublins approach to shame is ostrich and forgetfulness. Very well put.
Post by: T Fearon on April 21, 2017, 10:46:46 PM
The Free state has had a lot of names since it's foundation,Free State,Eire,Irish Republic,Down South,26 counties etc.I have no doubt that when the Free State is used everyone knows immediately where people are referring to.I remember years ago,a club mate bemoaning the fact that a "free state"referee was appointed to an Armagh Louth game.
Post by: seafoid on April 21, 2017, 10:57:09 PM
We call Norn Irn the Orange Free State in our house. The kids make jokes about the Voortrekkers who went in their wagons from South Belfast to the promised land of North Down .
Post by: bennydorano on April 21, 2017, 11:16:57 PM
I still hear Free State used ocassionally. Why do the Mexicans find it so offensive?
Post by: weareros on April 21, 2017, 11:35:52 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on April 21, 2017, 08:23:04 PM
Has anyone ever stayed in Ashford Castle, what was it like?

Good while ago with the missus. Found the rooms dated with wallpaper geared towards grandmothers, the food excellent and the grounds lovely, in particular the view of Lough Corrib.
Post by: BennyCake on April 21, 2017, 11:59:45 PM
I can just picture Rory and the missus flying round the streets of Cong on a tandum.
Post by: illdecide on April 22, 2017, 12:14:50 AM
Tony do you think it's any of your business where Rory gets married? and more importantly who gives a f**k.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 22, 2017, 12:18:12 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 21, 2017, 10:57:09 PM
We call Norn Irn the Orange Free State in our house. The kids make jokes about the Voortrekkers who went in their wagons from South Belfast to the promised land of North Down .

Does that include Newtownards? You know that place you said was well off  ;D ;D ?

It's funny how we hear the name for the South, free staters was common enough (i'm 45) when I was young in Belfast,  we heard it a lot, deserters could be used depending on how you viewed history. A sense of how the South left the North behind and basically washed its hands of the troubles...
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2017, 12:19:47 AM
The most important question is what sort of service are they having. Priest, minister, civil? The public have a right to know!
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2017, 12:34:18 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 22, 2017, 12:31:56 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2017, 12:19:47 AMI was at a wedding in Tipp a couple of years ago and some of the guests (students to he fair) had a a bottle of vodka and a bag of Bud hidden in a bush outside the venue.
The most important question is what sort of service are they having. Priest, minister, civil? The public have a right to know!
??
The important questions are:
1) How much is a pint?
2) Could you keep drink in your room to do ye?
Post by: ONeill on April 22, 2017, 12:35:11 AM
3) If ye have a bottle of vodka in yer bag would you be turfed out?
4) Can you bring in a manbag?
Post by: ONeill on April 22, 2017, 12:39:12 AM
Surely it's a free bar.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2017, 12:39:58 AM
Arriving at the bar asking for a mixer whilst getting progressively drunk will blow your cover. Go the whole hog and take yer mixers in with you. That's if you're soft enough to need a mixer with yer vadka.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2017, 12:40:27 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 22, 2017, 12:39:12 AM
Surely it's a free bar.
Only on pints of Tuborg.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2017, 12:44:11 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 22, 2017, 12:42:38 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2017, 12:40:27 AM
Surely it's a free bar.
Only on pints of Tuborg.
Plus you could top up your Glens Vodka bottle with that Gay Goose good stuff.
You're an expert at this.
Post by: ONeill on April 22, 2017, 12:46:51 AM
Surely it's a free bar.
Only on pints of Tuborg.

That'd be deadly disappointing. If I was taking the missus I'd be telling her not to bring a purse. Surely it's free.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2017, 12:50:37 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 22, 2017, 12:49:26 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2017, 12:44:11 AM
Surely it's a free bar.
Only on pints of Tuborg.
You're an expert at this.
You want to see me at stealing handbags, coats & wallets.
LOL. Throw them out the windy and collect them on the way home?
Post by: Puckoon on April 22, 2017, 01:03:32 AM
The bigger question is how did the wankerish OP not win free tickets to the reception?
Post by: Avondhu star on April 22, 2017, 01:06:43 AM

Do you find that big chip on your shoulder uncomfortable?
Maybe you should get one of those highly paid jobs  Michelle and the lads have up in Stormont built on the sacrifice of young men lying in Milltown cemetery
Post by: Avondhu star on April 22, 2017, 01:09:17 AM
Surely it's a free bar.
Only on pints of Tuborg.
'Gay Goose' It's more like peacocks in Ashford
Post by: omochain on April 22, 2017, 03:11:21 AM
Quote from: Avondhu star on April 22, 2017, 01:06:43 AM

Maybe you should get one of those highly paid jobs  Michelle and the lads have up in Stormont built on the sacrifice of young men lying in Milltown cemetery
I would have thought an "educated man" like yourself would have been able to do better than an "ad hominem" attacking response like that. Take time and do a bit of research.. you will find that the soldiers of destiny worked very hard at keeping the history of that time out of the classrooms in the Free State for most of the 20th century.
Post by: Avondhu star on April 22, 2017, 10:42:51 AM
Quote from: omochain on April 22, 2017, 03:11:21 AM

I would have thought an "educated man" like yourself would have been able to do better than an "ad hominem" attacking response like that. Take time and do a bit of research.. you will find that the soldiers of destiny worked very hard at keeping the history of that time out of the classrooms in the Free State for most of the 20th century.
No. I will not find that that was the position. If you wish to believe that go ahead.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 22, 2017, 12:45:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 22, 2017, 12:18:12 AM

It's funny how we hear the name for the South, free staters was common enough (i'm 45) when I was young in Belfast,  we heard it a lot, deserters could be used depending on how you viewed history.

45?  Your missus is a quare bit older than you if she only has 15 years left to work as a teacher given the retirement age is 67!
Post by: T Fearon on April 22, 2017, 01:04:03 PM
Back in the day, there was a widely used saying up here about something or someone not in good shape as being "in a worse state than the free state!"  ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 22, 2017, 01:28:42 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on April 22, 2017, 12:45:54 PM

It's funny how we hear the name for the South, free staters was common enough (i'm 45) when I was young in Belfast,  we heard it a lot, deserters could be used depending on how you viewed history.

45?  Your missus is a quare bit older than you if she only has 15 years left to work as a teacher given the retirement age is 67!

How many 67 year old teachers do you know??
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 22, 2017, 02:28:07 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 22, 2017, 01:28:42 PM

Not too many now but given the new pension age there will be plenty in the future or a lot of poor old ex-teachers who didn't make it to pension age and had to take badly reduced pensions long before their retirement was due at 67.  Not too many have come to that realisation yet.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 22, 2017, 03:00:23 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on April 22, 2017, 02:28:07 PM

Not too many now but given the new pension age there will be plenty in the future or a lot of poor old ex-teachers who didn't make it to pension age and had to take badly reduced pensions long before their retirement was due at 67.  Not too many have come to that realisation yet.

If you're doing it right you'll not see your pension, if my wife gets to 60, she'll stop... teaching over 20 odd years and each year the work load has got worse... don't know any teacher that's 65 that didn't coast the last few years... badly reduced pension still better than what's on offer in the private sector
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 22, 2017, 04:17:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 22, 2017, 03:00:23 PM

If you're doing it right you'll not see your pension, if my wife gets to 60, she'll stop... teaching over 20 odd years and each year the work load has got worse... don't know any teacher that's 65 that didn't coast the last few years... badly reduced pension still better than what's on offer in the private sector

As usual you're not listening.  The average salary pension is poor compared to worst aspects of the final salary deal, no lump sum and a very small annual payment based on a pension pot you build up over the years.

Then you lose 5% of your pension for each year you take your small average salary pension before the age of 67.  If your wife goes at 60 that's another 35% reduction!

Pity your wife is over 40 and not able to build a LISA, not too late to consider AVC to supplement the pension, i.e. get a private sector provided pension.
Post by: seafoid on April 22, 2017, 04:25:19 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 22, 2017, 01:04:03 PM
Back in the day, there was a widely used saying up here about something or someone not in good shape as being "in a worse state than the free state!"  ;D
That was when NI had an economy. Belfast used to be wealthier than Dublin. Education and the EU plus stability changed the dynamic.
Post by: T Fearon on April 22, 2017, 04:45:53 PM
Really? I don't remember us Northerners having to be bailed out,or swallow extreme austerity measures
Post by: Hardy on April 22, 2017, 05:01:26 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 22, 2017, 04:45:53 PM
Really? I don't remember us Northerners having to be bailed out,or swallow extreme austerity measures

;D  You get a £5Bn bailout every year.
Post by: Rois on April 22, 2017, 05:11:24 PM

Absolutely stupid comment. Two of our four main banks here are the same banks that were bailed out in the south, and don't forget the NAMA loans up here...
Post by: T Fearon on April 22, 2017, 05:20:36 PM
The fact is even our mainly ineffective Governments/Administrations managed at least to live within their means,the block grant,which as a constitutionally integral part of the UK we were entitled to.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 22, 2017, 05:26:22 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on April 22, 2017, 04:17:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 22, 2017, 03:00:23 PM

As usual you're not listening.  The average salary pension is poor compared to worst aspects of the final salary deal, no lump sum and a very small annual payment based on a pension pot you build up over the years.

Then you lose 5% of your pension for each year you take your small average salary pension before the age of 67.  If your wife goes at 60 that's another 35% reduction!

Pity your wife is over 40 and not able to build a LISA, not too late to consider AVC to supplement the pension, i.e. get a private sector provided pension.

Won't work after 60 I've said, what she loses will be what it is, I'd rather have a fit wife than a dead one... can't wait to see these bricklayers at 67 years old
Post by: seafoid on April 22, 2017, 05:34:39 PM
Does everyone going to the wedding get a teacher's pension?
Post by: BennyCake on April 22, 2017, 06:02:40 PM

We were all f**ked by the banks and governments, and will continue to be.
Post by: T Fearon on April 22, 2017, 06:14:06 PM
We weren't in the North.Ordinary people did not suffer austerity measures on anywhere like the scale as down South.Banks were encouraged to lend and not properly regulated by Governments.
Post by: Avondhu star on April 22, 2017, 06:44:50 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 22, 2017, 05:01:26 PM

;D  You get a £5Bn bailout every year.
They deserve that for being part of the most oppressed people ever. Even Gerry aligned them to the slaves of Alabama
Post by: JoG2 on April 22, 2017, 07:17:27 PM
As a few have mentioned, I grew up with my grandparents calling a trip to the caravan in Donegal a trip to the free state. Why is it so offensive to some? Is it guilt? (I'm being genuine)
Post by: Rossfan on April 22, 2017, 07:21:08 PM
It's out if date terminology.
A bit like calling Gdansk " Danzig".
Post by: Avondhu star on April 22, 2017, 07:24:58 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on April 22, 2017, 07:17:27 PM
As a few have mentioned, I grew up with my grandparents calling a trip to the caravan in Donegal a trip to the free state. Why is it so offensive to some? Is it guilt? (I'm being genuine)

Is it offensive to the subjects of Her Majesty to have people call Derry by the name Londonderry?
Post by: Avondhu star on April 22, 2017, 07:27:19 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 22, 2017, 07:21:08 PM
It's out if date terminology.
A bit like calling Gdansk " Danzig".

Danzig. Ah ze good old days!
Post by: imtommygunn on April 22, 2017, 07:29:21 PM
The occupied six counties is another one. I would have thought the free state was more offensive to nationalist northerners than southerners.
Post by: T Fearon on April 22, 2017, 07:43:25 PM
Why? Wasn't the Free State once the official name of the Free State?
Post by: Rossfan on April 22, 2017, 07:49:18 PM
It was the "Irish Free State/ Saorstát Éireann".
Abolished by the 1937 Constitution.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 22, 2017, 08:14:27 PM

Maybe he realises what a wonderful county Mayo is.
Post by: OgraAnDun on April 22, 2017, 08:39:50 PM
It is not under British rule. Ergo 'free'.

The 26 is not a country, but part of a country. It is however a state.

Put the two of them together and you get Free State. I didn't think it was that difficult to work out.
Post by: omochain on April 22, 2017, 09:03:58 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on April 22, 2017, 10:42:51 AM

No. I will not find that that was the position. If you wish to believe that go ahead.

I am looking forward to hearing from you when you actually go looking into it
Post by: BennyCake on April 22, 2017, 09:49:34 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on April 22, 2017, 08:39:50 PM
It is not under British rule. Ergo 'free'.

The 26 is not a country, but part of a country. It is however a state.

Put the two of them together and you get Free State. I didn't think it was that difficult to work out.

It's under EU rule though. That's just as bad, if not worse.
Post by: Gmac on April 22, 2017, 09:52:05 PM
The thread title should read
Why is rory Mcilroy getting married ???? Gobshite
Post by: BennyCake on April 22, 2017, 09:53:00 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 22, 2017, 06:14:06 PM
We weren't in the North.Ordinary people did not suffer austerity measures on anywhere like the scale as down South.Banks were encouraged to lend and not properly regulated by Governments.

People suffer austerity everyday, North and South. Cuts, benefit reform, water charges, bedroom tax, household tax, zero hour contracts, makey-up taxes. The list goes on.
Post by: armaghniac on April 22, 2017, 10:26:57 PM
Quote from: Gmac on April 22, 2017, 09:52:05 PM
The thread title should read
Why is rory Mcilroy getting married ???? Gobshite

Were you not invited Gmac?
Post by: Avondhu star on April 22, 2017, 10:51:12 PM
Quote from: omochain on April 22, 2017, 09:03:58 PM

I have more to do with my time than educating you
Post by: omochain on April 23, 2017, 06:27:14 AM
Quote from: Avondhu star on April 22, 2017, 10:51:12 PM

El punto del ejercicio es que usted puede educarse. He terminado de tratar de discutir esto con usted.
Post by: Avondhu star on April 23, 2017, 04:22:42 PM
Quote from: omochain on April 23, 2017, 06:27:14 AM
Quote from: Avondhu star on April 22, 2017, 10:51:12 PM

El punto del ejercicio es que usted puede educarse. He terminado de tratar de discutir esto con usted.
Djeca bucale i pijani pravdu govore
Post by: Franko on April 24, 2017, 07:28:04 AM

So you're neither intelligent nor educated then.
Post by: Avondhu star on April 24, 2017, 10:24:30 AM
Quote from: Franko on April 24, 2017, 07:28:04 AM

So you're neither intelligent nor educated then.

Havent you some colouring books you could be working on?
Post by: johnneycool on April 24, 2017, 10:26:52 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 22, 2017, 09:53:00 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 22, 2017, 06:14:06 PM

People suffer austerity everyday, North and South. Cuts, benefit reform, water charges, bedroom tax, household tax, zero hour contracts, makey-up taxes. The list goes on.

Absolutely correct, the NHS is being run into the ground due to Austerity and the Tory's backdoor agenda of privatising it by running it down so badly.
Post by: Taylor on April 24, 2017, 10:27:30 AM
Rorys has definitely upgraded from the tennis player......
Post by: Orior on April 24, 2017, 11:12:10 AM
This is great news. Now that Rory is an oul married man he will become like the rest of us oul married men and use every excuse to get out of the house and play golf.

I fully expect a couple more majors now for Rory.