Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BennyHarp on September 26, 2016, 11:11:51 PM

Title: Big Sam
Post by: BennyHarp on September 26, 2016, 11:11:51 PM
Looks like his England career is at least going to end with a perfect 100% record!

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/09/26/exclusive-investigation-england-manager-sam-allardyce-for-sale/
Title: Re: Big Sam
Post by: muppet on September 26, 2016, 11:17:34 PM
seen on twitter...

Big Sam's England career:

(https://media4.giphy.com/media/11gC4odpiRKuha/200w.gif)
Post by: clarshack on September 26, 2016, 11:24:27 PM
Can't see how he can survive this...
Post by: Asal Mor on September 26, 2016, 11:25:00 PM
 ;D That is a brilliant gif.
Post by: yellowcard on September 26, 2016, 11:40:13 PM
It seems like the big £3m salary or whatever he was on wasn't enough. You can argue about the merits of this type of journalism but big Sam was a fool and greed got the better of him. He'll do well to survive the next few days.
Post by: muppet on September 26, 2016, 11:41:26 PM
There could be two Sams gone west by the weekend!
Post by: sid waddell on September 26, 2016, 11:48:52 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 26, 2016, 11:41:26 PM
There could be two Sams gone west by the weekend!
Three, if the US win the Ryder Cup.
Post by: StGallsGAA on September 26, 2016, 11:55:43 PM
No, he'll ryde out the storm.
Post by: orangeman on September 27, 2016, 12:37:41 AM
It will be a rocky few days for him but nothing surprises me anymore. He could survive for a while but he's a dead man walking.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on September 27, 2016, 09:03:10 AM
The English media are a laugh and they moan when the team are sh1te but cant help themselves to sting yet another manager. Just surprised they didnt leave it until the eve of a big tournament for a bigger punch. Anyone who didnt think big Sam was a complete del boy were a bit naive to say the least. Who is next -Steve Bruce - that will end well lol. On the plus side for Sam, this makes him Englands most successfull ever manager!
Post by: mrdeeds on September 27, 2016, 09:07:35 AM
Only one man can save them. Alan Pardew. Horrible smug man. Be well suited.
Post by: seafoid on September 27, 2016, 10:15:23 AM
Big deal. Soccer is rotten.
Post by: No wides on September 27, 2016, 10:23:12 AM
Quote from: seafoid on September 27, 2016, 10:15:23 AM
Big deal. Soccer is rotten.

And shite - except for laoislads ex club liverpool.  ;D
Post by: ashman on September 27, 2016, 10:39:18 AM
Soccer is showbiz.  Anyone who takes it serious is a clown.
Post by: Denn Forever on September 27, 2016, 11:26:17 AM
Bring back Terry Venables.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 27, 2016, 12:03:17 PM
Delighted for him the big clown.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 27, 2016, 12:47:23 PM
Is there anything to be said for saying another mass?

If not, call 'Arry as I hear on the grapevine Big Sam has got the flick.

(http://cdn.caughtoffside.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/harry-redknapp.jpg)
Post by: seafoid on September 27, 2016, 01:05:44 PM
Why would anyone want that job?
Post by: magpie seanie on September 27, 2016, 01:33:36 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 27, 2016, 01:05:44 PM

£3m a year salary. Your job largely involves going to soccer matches.
Post by: lenny on September 27, 2016, 02:17:54 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 27, 2016, 01:33:36 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 27, 2016, 01:05:44 PM

£3m a year salary. Your job largely involves going to soccer matches.

£3m a year and it still wasn't enough for him. Greedy, greedy man and greed is what is destroying soccer. The worst thing is he'll be on some chat show in a few months time saying he didn't do anything wrong and that every other manager is doing the same thing. And he would be correct in a large number of cases.
Post by: LCohen on September 27, 2016, 04:04:56 PM
The investigation was not lead by a "lets get the England manager". It looks like legitimate journalism and that the individuals caught out will be drip fed into the media over the coming week. As England manager Big Sam was the first name to be put out there to get some traction behind the story but he was not targeted in the way that some are portraying.
Post by: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 04:40:54 PM
There's a great Vine going round of Sam dancing away at some party in Marbella.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 27, 2016, 07:31:54 PM
he's been sacked
Post by: Boycey on September 27, 2016, 07:39:36 PM
I wonder what else has to come out? I thought he'd have been able to muddle through based on what came out today..
Post by: mrdeeds on September 27, 2016, 07:41:55 PM
I've always hated him but I actually feel sorry for him.
Post by: laoislad on September 27, 2016, 07:50:48 PM
He's gone. Don't feel a bit sorry for him. Must be plenty more to come out yet.
Post by: ziggy90 on September 27, 2016, 07:52:49 PM
Good enough for the greedy Yam Yam cnut.
Post by: Cunny Funt on September 27, 2016, 07:54:51 PM
The buckeens on sky sport news want Glen Hoddle to replace big Sam  ::) Hoddle should never ever be allowed to manage England again after the disgraceful comments he gave.
Post by: maddog on September 27, 2016, 07:59:41 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on September 27, 2016, 07:52:49 PM

I didn't know he was a toys am we
Post by: mrdeeds on September 27, 2016, 08:00:12 PM
The press love Glenn. Pardew probably get it. Eddie Howe would be a likeable choice but probably too young.
Post by: laoislad on September 27, 2016, 08:05:22 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on September 27, 2016, 07:54:51 PM
The buckeens on sky sport news want Glen Hoddle to replace big Sam  ::) Hoddle should never ever be allowed to manage England again after the disgraceful comments he gave.
If he had made the same comments about black people or Gays he would never have been heard from again.
Disabled people though are fair game apparently.

I think Steve Bruce will get it. I agree with whoever said who would want it anyway.  It really is a poisoned chalice.
Post by: pullhard on September 27, 2016, 08:07:01 PM
manuel pellegrini could be a decent shout
Post by: BennyHarp on September 27, 2016, 08:07:23 PM
He really is a complete idiot. Clearly a job he sought his whole career then blows it like this over a few pound. Just sums up professional football where money and crookedness appear to trump everything else. I can't imagine Gareth Southgate will have too many skeletons in his closet. Looks like he will be the safe option.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 27, 2016, 08:08:11 PM
Hard to feel sorry for t'daft bugger.

I have as much interest in England as the next man - but I scream when I hear Hoddle mentioned.

He's a tool and his comments back in last 90s were unforgivable.

I'd love to see this man get a chance to rebuild his rep!

(http://www.showbiz.ie/images/stars2/staunton-latelate06.jpg)
Post by: Orior on September 27, 2016, 08:22:59 PM
I wonder does the reporter from the Daily Telegraph feel proud. Will be get a bonus? Did the end justify the means? Is entrapment legal?

You can be sure, some useless clown will get the job now.
Post by: LCohen on September 27, 2016, 08:27:13 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 27, 2016, 08:22:59 PM
I wonder does the reporter from the Daily Telegraph feel proud. Will be get a bonus? Did the end justify the means? Is entrapment legal?

What did the journo do wrong?

The Torygraph is not my paper of choice but it does have a history of picking up in the rumour of a scandal and doing the leg work to bring the story out. The expenses scandal being the best case in point. The grapevine says there is a lot more to come but not about Sam
Post by: seafoid on September 27, 2016, 08:27:52 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 27, 2016, 08:08:11 PM
Hard to feel sorry for t'daft bugger.

I have as much interest in England as the next man - but I scream when I hear Hoddle mentioned.

He's a tool and his comments back in last 90s were unforgivable.

I'd love to see this man get a chance to rebuild his rep!

(http://www.showbiz.ie/images/stars2/staunton-latelate06.jpg)
Cos he is the gaffer
Post by: LCohen on September 27, 2016, 08:30:45 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 27, 2016, 07:39:36 PM
I wonder what else has to come out? I thought he'd have been able to muddle through based on what came out today..

The recorded statements on third party player ownership were enough to do for him.

If the story is correct that 5 agents and 8 british based managers have been recorded saying similar then the FA will have to sit in judgement on those cases. How could they do that and retain Sam? What is clubs were to sack their manager to enforce an FA rule and the FA didn't sack theirs?
Post by: square_ball on September 27, 2016, 08:50:08 PM
Quote from: LCohen on September 27, 2016, 08:27:13 PM

The Torygraph is not my paper of choice but it does have a history of picking up in the rumour of a scandal and doing the leg work to bring the story out. The expenses scandal being the best case in point. The grapevine says there is a lot more to come but not about Sam

Which is probably why they have appointed southgate for a spell as it would be quite embarrassing if the next manager was on this list of names.
Post by: LCohen on September 27, 2016, 08:53:39 PM
Quote from: square_ball on September 27, 2016, 08:50:08 PM
Quote from: LCohen on September 27, 2016, 08:27:13 PM

Which is probably why they have appointed southgate for a spell as it would be quite embarrassing if the next manager was on this list of names.

I would guess that the FA know who is on the Telegraph list.

Southgate got the job because he is on the inside and the games are coming up soon.

FA chairman has just said that Southgate has what it takes to get the lads ready for Malta in 14 days. To be fair Thomas Cook could do the job if that is where they are setting the benchmark
Post by: pullhard on September 27, 2016, 08:57:24 PM
Should same be let to manager in England again?
Post by: seafoid on September 27, 2016, 09:00:00 PM
The English media are vicious with the England manager.  I remember Graham Taylor and the abuse. And the team is always useless. Very English.
Post by: ziggy90 on September 27, 2016, 09:16:20 PM
Quote from: maddog on September 27, 2016, 07:59:41 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on September 27, 2016, 07:52:49 PM

I didn't know he was a toys am we

Dudloi, ay e.
Post by: GJL on September 27, 2016, 09:55:08 PM
Got to laugh at Alan Shearer giving out about Big Sam making England a laughing stock. A bit late Alan, the laughing started a long time ago.  ;D
Post by: square_ball on September 27, 2016, 09:58:26 PM
Who else is on that list then? For a start id say Pardew, Redknapp and Bruce.
Post by: PW Nally on September 27, 2016, 10:00:25 PM
Quote from: GJL on September 27, 2016, 09:55:08 PM
Got to laugh at Alan Shearer giving out about Big Sam making England a laughing stock. A bit late Alan, the laughing started a long time ago.  ;D
Don't be tripping over your Man United teddy bear slippers there chuckling away.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 27, 2016, 10:19:51 PM
haven't read any post on the thread, i back track in a minute, surely this is classed as entrapment?? Used to think i hated the English football team, know now it wasn't them its the f**king English media who blow their team up so they can take managers and players down.

Big Sam an idiot , should know better, but it is english football which is left looking a laughing stock all courtesy of a paper who supposed supports them, they rob their mother to sell a few newspapers.
Post by: GJL on September 27, 2016, 10:26:49 PM
Quote from: PW Nally on September 27, 2016, 10:00:25 PM
Quote from: GJL on September 27, 2016, 09:55:08 PM
Don't be tripping over your Man United teddy bear slippers there chuckling away.

Ehh    oooookkk! 🤔
Post by: BennyHarp on September 27, 2016, 10:29:45 PM
Quote from: square_ball on September 27, 2016, 09:58:26 PM

They'll not touch Redknapp with a barge pole for the same reasons Big Sam was given the boot. I think they'll wait to the end of the season and Arsene Wenger will be approached.
Post by: Asal Mor on September 27, 2016, 10:31:17 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 27, 2016, 10:19:51 PM
haven't read any post on the thread, i back track in a minute, surely this is classed as entrapment?? Used to think i hated the English football team, know now it wasn't them its the f**king English media who blow their team up so they can take managers and players down.

Big Sam an idiot , should know better, but it is english football which is left looking a laughing stock all courtesy of a paper who supposed supports them, they rob their mother to sell a few newspapers.
Doesn't entrapment just relate to criminal law and the police? If a civilian leads someone into committing a crime they wouldn't have otherwise committed it's not entrapment afaik, but if a police officer did, then it would be.
Post by: Franko on September 27, 2016, 10:34:41 PM
A long-time club manager must find international management a breeze.  No wage negotiations, contracts, transfers, loans or pretty much any business related shite to worry about.  Football management at it's purest.  Maybe that's why Big Sam felt the need to spice it up a bit.
Post by: laoislad on September 27, 2016, 10:40:20 PM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/09/27/exclusive-eight-premier-league-managers-took-transfer-bungs-clai/

More allegations coming out tonight. 8 Premier League managers accepted bungs when signing players or in negotiations about the players wages.
If it's ex managers also I'd say Redknapp has to be one without a doubt.  Wouldn't surprise me if Rodgers was one. Why the fcuk else would he sign Super Mario or Benteke ffs!
Wouldn't shock me if Fergie was one either.
Post by: screenexile on September 27, 2016, 10:51:56 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 27, 2016, 10:40:20 PM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/09/27/exclusive-eight-premier-league-managers-took-transfer-bungs-clai/

More allegations coming out tonight. 8 Premier League accepted bungs when signing players or in negotiations about the players wages.
If it's ex managers also I'd say Redknapp has to be one without a doubt.  Wouldn't surprise me if Rodgers was one. Why the fcuk else would he sign Super Mario or Benteke ffs!
Wouldn't shock me if Fergie was one either.

If wishing made it so...
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 27, 2016, 11:00:08 PM
Is anyone shocked?? Feck Ferguson even admitted to having an 'envelop' in his drawer for a period of time in his days at Utd.. Nearly sure it was in his autobiography...
Post by: mikehunt on September 27, 2016, 11:38:37 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 27, 2016, 11:00:08 PM
Is anyone shocked?? Feck Ferguson even admitted to having an 'envelop' in his drawer for a period of time in his days at Utd.. Nearly sure it was in his autobiography...
Didnt Fergie stop talking to the beeb over some programme that highlighted shady dealings his son was up to as a football agent. Fergie has to be one of the eight.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 28, 2016, 12:07:30 AM
G its so dramatic, nearly like a western, why dont we call them the hateful eight!!
Post by: thejuice on September 28, 2016, 12:14:46 AM
From what I can tell, and I'm not speaking as someone who cares that much about soccer of any variety but since I live in England my impression of it is that the game is too entrenched in working class culture. It is a culture that has a very narrow (and often dim) way of viewing the world and most if not all the leading men in English football seem to come from that class and culture. They don't seem to be very bright or ever come in with new ideas. This doesn't just apply to the manager. Whereas the Dutch and Germans seem to have a more varied group of people that coach and organise the game coming from various strata of society. 

By contrast, you don't see a footballing equivalent of Clive Woodward. And Woodward doesn't even come across as anything special when you hear him speak but he was a very good organiser, with a keen attention to detail and would leave no stone unturned when looking for an advantage over the opposition.

Obviously its a bit unfair to compare football and rugby as rugby is not as competitive but English football appears to me that it needs to shake off the working class mentality and culture that surrounds it.
Post by: muppet on September 28, 2016, 12:29:47 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on September 27, 2016, 10:31:17 PM

Doesn't entrapment just relate to criminal law and the police? If a civilian leads someone into committing a crime they wouldn't have otherwise committed it's not entrapment afaik, but if a police officer did, then it would be.

I think entrapment is illegal in the States. i.e. If you fool someone into a situation where they commit a crime, then you have also committed a crime. But that is not the case afaik in Britain or Ireland.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 28, 2016, 01:14:07 AM
Quote from: muppet on September 28, 2016, 12:29:47 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on September 27, 2016, 10:31:17 PM

I think entrapment is illegal in the States. i.e. If you fool someone into a situation where they commit a crime, then you have also committed a crime. But that is not the case afaik in Britain or Ireland.

The key issue in the US for entrapment is whether the person being tricked was tricked into a crime he wouldn't otherwise have committed.  You can trick a prostitute/pimp into selling sex, and arrest them and that's not entrapment, because that's what they would have been doing anyway.   If there is such an entrapment law in England, then the issue would be whether Sam A. was tricked into doing something he otherwise never would have dreamed of, or whether he was just caught engaging in business as usual.
Post by: AFS on September 28, 2016, 03:12:03 AM
Quote from: thejuice on September 28, 2016, 12:14:46 AM
From what I can tell, and I'm not speaking as someone who cares that much about soccer of any variety but since I live in England my impression of it is that the game is too entrenched in working class culture. It is a culture that has a very narrow (and often dim) way of viewing the world and most if not all the leading men in English football seem to come from that class and culture. They don't seem to be very bright or ever come in with new ideas. This doesn't just apply to the manager. Whereas the Dutch and Germans seem to have a more varied group of people that coach and organise the game coming from various strata of society. 

By contrast, you don't see a footballing equivalent of Clive Woodward. And Woodward doesn't even come across as anything special when you hear him speak but he was a very good organiser, with a keen attention to detail and would leave no stone unturned when looking for an advantage over the opposition.

Obviously its a bit unfair to compare football and rugby as rugby is not as competitive but English football appears to me that it needs to shake off the working class mentality and culture that surrounds it.

http://www.football365.com/news/are-england-too-thick-to-win-anything
Post by: seafoid on September 28, 2016, 03:37:42 AM
English soccer is self regulating. Self regulation doesn't work.
The BT deal is worth £5.14 billion over 3 years. Even Sunderland earn more than Inter Milan. Journeymen players like Fellaini earn millions. Women throw themselves at players. Recently Adam Johnson and Ched Evans have been in the news.  If an agent can secure a new Robben or Iniesta clubs will do anything. It's business.
Post by: square_ball on September 28, 2016, 07:11:47 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 27, 2016, 10:29:45 PM

They'll not touch Redknapp with a barge pole for the same reasons Big Sam was given the boot. I think they'll wait to the end of the season and Arsene Wenger will be approached.

Oh jesus no not the list for the manager job but the list of people who have also been caught up in this trap. 
Post by: ashman on September 28, 2016, 08:48:30 AM
Quote from: seafoid on September 28, 2016, 03:37:42 AM
English soccer is self regulating. Self regulation doesn't work.
The BT deal is worth £5.14 billion over 3 years. Even Sunderland earn more than Inter Milan. Journeymen players like Fellaini earn millions. Women throw themselves at players. Recently Adam Johnson and Ched Evans have been in the news.  If an agent can secure a new Robben or Iniesta clubs will do anything. It's business.

Soccer is corrupt everywhere TBH not just England .  Anyone who takes it serious is a clown .  In most countries it is the game to under educated buffoons. 
Post by: Boycey on September 28, 2016, 10:08:53 AM
Haven't caught up with this yet today but is the evidence against these eight solely the word of that Uncle Fester looking agent? A man who was warned off football for 5 years and is currently unlicensed. I hope they have a bit more than that? 
Post by: BennyHarp on September 28, 2016, 12:23:02 PM
Quote from: square_ball on September 28, 2016, 07:11:47 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on September 27, 2016, 10:29:45 PM

Oh jesus no not the list for the manager job but the list of people who have also been caught up in this trap.

Ah right, that makes more sense!  :D
Post by: No wides on September 28, 2016, 01:03:08 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/37493794 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/37493794)

Ballbag - slap it up him.   ;D
Post by: Boycey on September 28, 2016, 10:00:00 PM
Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink, Tommy Wright and Massimo Ceillini are the latest three names in the frame...
Post by: ziggysego on September 28, 2016, 10:34:59 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 27, 2016, 08:05:22 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on September 27, 2016, 07:54:51 PM
If he had made the same comments about black people or Gays he would never have been heard from again.
Disabled people though are fair game apparently.

I think Steve Bruce will get it. I agree with whoever said who would want it anyway.  It really is a poisoned chalice.

Sadly that's true LL. Makes me feel we're "fair game" when it comes to this type of thing.
Post by: omaghjoe on September 28, 2016, 11:02:05 PM
Talk about inventing the news.

Soccer is so shite the supporters have to fight each other for entertainment, their reading material consists of players and their WAG lifestyles. And now to further keep the circus going, journalists make news by acting out hypothetical scenarios with the sports protagonists, so we can all tut tut at their lack of ethics.
Post by: Over the Bar on September 28, 2016, 11:51:00 PM
I have to say the pint of wine with his Chinese meal was impressive in the video! A fcukin pint glass of white wine!!!!  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: square_ball on September 30, 2016, 11:00:49 PM
And there's poor Harry being incriminated now in the latest revelations! Says players were betting in games involving them. Hardly earth shattering news!
Post by: BennyHarp on September 30, 2016, 11:17:40 PM
Quote from: square_ball on September 30, 2016, 11:00:49 PM
And there's poor Harry being incriminated now in the latest revelations! Says players were betting in games involving them. Hardly earth shattering news!

I think they are scraping the barrel at this stage. Harry in football corruption shocker.
Post by: LCohen on September 30, 2016, 11:29:14 PM
Quote from: square_ball on September 30, 2016, 11:00:49 PM

Earth shattering no buts worth reporting? Yes. Football needs to clean itself up and letting the corrupt get on with their corrupt ways is hardly the answer
Post by: seafoid on October 01, 2016, 07:37:47 AM
The Leipzig manager is being mentioned as a candidate
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on April 23, 2017, 09:23:04 PM
Looking at Sam today saving another club from relegation - where did this big scoop from the Telegraph go, about the dark side of football?
There has been absolutely nothing on this story since Allardyce got sacked.
A complete setup by the FA - Sam's face obviously didn't fit for some and they wanted him out.
Plus the seven figure handshake ensured he went quietly.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 24, 2017, 08:01:36 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on April 23, 2017, 09:23:04 PM
Looking at Sam today saving another club from relegation - where did this big scoop from the Telegraph go, about the dark side of football?
There has been absolutely nothing on this story since Allardyce got sacked.
A complete setup by the FA - Sam's face obviously didn't fit for some and they wanted him out.
Plus the seven figure handshake ensured he went quietly.

He sure is a great manager to battle off relegation. Every single season.