Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: gallsman on August 08, 2008, 12:54:59 AM

Title: Attention OWCers
Post by: gallsman on August 08, 2008, 12:54:59 AM
I've always had time for you on this board and whilst not always agreeing with you opinions on certain matters, I have at least tried to understand your perspective and have been more than happy to engage in reasoned debate. On top of that, I've frequently defended you in Fearon's crusading threads.

Reading a thread on OWC yesterday, I decided to post for the first time in a long, long time. The thread was about the sight of Northern Ireland tops popping up in unexpected places such as Ballymurphy and Twinbrook. Everything was nice and dandy and people mentioned that GAA tops could also be seen in unexpected places these days and that hoefully this was a sign that times really are changing. However, some tosspot from Cregagh decided to mention that he found it "repulsing" (sic) to see people living near him wearing GAA tops. This statement was widely condemned as it was generally interpreted that what you man was trying to say was "I don't want any taigs living near me", a viewpoint reinforced by his later statement "so what if a am a biggot" (again, sic, he wasn't that bright). However, one of your moderators/admins, Sickboy, decided to weigh into the debate and mention that due to hs family history in the troubles he too found the sight of GAA tops "repulsing" as the first thing he thought of were clubs named after convicted IRA/INLA men such as Kevin Lynch. However he went on to attempt to score cheap political points by bringing in issues such as Sinn Fein, and somehow, the current issue of teen suicide in places like Ballymurphy and Ardoyne.

I pulled him on this immediately (I doubt he even knows as his post was over a year ago) and pointed out that it was cheap, sickening and disgraceful to drag an issue such as teen suicide into the equation. Of course, the usual dismissal of my post as some sort of "mock indignation" or "feigned concern" arrived quickly enough, and then the topic got dragged into a GAA vs. IFA, "we endorse terrorism/we don't debate". My points and rebuttals were made both politely and articulately, and I was addressing everyone's question in turn, and was happy to continue to do so. However I decided that it would be wise to point out (due to the minority of mouthpieces on the OWC board who would have no interest in debate, but merely give me abuse or call me "IRA supporting scum") that any sort of personal abuse directed against me or my close associates would be taken very seriously. BANG! In comes your Commander-In-Chief and asks me was I making a threat agaisnt the board. I believe my response was something along the lines of "I'd call it friendly advice" and that I thought the days of anyone dissenting getting slapped with an immediate ban were over. Apparently not, as my account has been temporarily suspended and I won't be free to continue the discussion untilm oh let's see, the 5th of may, 2011....

Clear, concise and articulate. Free of point scoring or abuse. Yet I still get banned? Like I said, I thought those days were over. I had grudging respect for certain OWC posters who stay away from this board, but alas no more. A shocking display of intolerance. I really hope this isn't a view shared by the majority of the "other side".
Title: Re: Attention OWCers
Post by: T Fearon on August 08, 2008, 09:01:31 AM
Having read my "crusading threads" it is with great pleasure that I now say, I told you so.
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 09:04:58 AM
Just read that "wazza"s comments - what a complete tube.

Tony your only a bit better, and thats cos your spelling in slightly better.
Post by: full back on August 08, 2008, 09:11:20 AM
Fearon is a sh1te stirrer, but he doesnt quite go as far as some of your OWCers
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 09:14:10 AM
Well I doubt wazza will ever have the intelligence prerequisite to start a shit stirring campaign by writing letters or phoning radio shows with outright lies.
Post by: full back on August 08, 2008, 09:18:53 AM
f**king typical nifan
Instead of just coming out & saying what a w4nker he is for saying that you have  to get a 'but' in somewhere  ::)
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 09:27:06 AM
I didnt get a but in.
I said hes a complete tube.

You said that tony wasnt as bad - i think the fact his winding up goes as far as this self proclaimed media campaign is ridiculous.

I only brought tony into it as he referenced his crusading threads - highlighting his own brand of bigotry.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 08, 2008, 09:38:40 AM
Which topic/thread are these comments in?
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 08, 2008, 09:40:06 AM
Quote from: full back on August 08, 2008, 09:18:53 AM
f**king typical nifan
Instead of just coming out & saying what a w4nker he is for saying that you have  to get a 'but' in somewhere  ::)

thats two 'I told you so's ' here
firstly the agreement with Tony on the owni brigade's lack of desire to integrate and move forwards in society
secondly the nifans pechant for trying to 'equalise' any thing that shows up his comrades in a poor light

typical

gallsman - your intent was noble and reflects a lot of modern day nationalist/Irish peoples ideal of creating a decent society through integration, dialogue and interaction !
However, the mindset of these people is set in stone it seems. there are a few who are like minded, but unfortunately they are still outnumbered. Their next generation will hopefully be ready for the 21st century !

Post by: Aerlik on August 08, 2008, 09:41:50 AM
Lads, lads, cornered rats I tell you.   Make one move on Our wee cesspit's site and they'll be on top of you like a numerator on a denominator.
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 09:44:27 AM
lynchboy your full of shit

I said the guy was an idiot
I happen to find tony an idiot too - his campaign against anything ni related.

Your constant commenting on me is getting tedious, especially when you make comments in the other thread and refuse to follow them up.
I dont need your permission to post and your cod psychology is a joke.
I am not a bigot or sectarian despite your claim to the contrary.
Post by: full back on August 08, 2008, 09:45:04 AM
Thats what I was trying to say Lynchboy - nifan was trying to equalise as usual
Would you have posted on the thread if Fearon hadnt posted?
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 09:47:40 AM
I would have actually.
Gallsman had pm'd me on the issue so I had already had a look at the thread in question and was going to comment.

I stated my opinion of wazza. My opinion of tony has been stated before. I wouldnt have mentioned tony at all if he hadnt posted his smug response.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 08, 2008, 09:50:09 AM
Quote from: full back on August 08, 2008, 09:45:04 AM
Thats what I was trying to say Lynchboy - nifan was trying to equalise as usual
Would you have posted on the thread if Fearon hadnt posted?
Thats what I occassionally point out on threads, the repetition just eventually peed me off so when I feellike it, I just point this out.
However, I am apparantly at fault and wrong for doing so.

I also aparantly have to respond whenever asked ?

Some are still living in (or wishing for) the good old overlording days !   :D

how can we ever get them to integrate with attitude and forked tonges like that (yet clear consciences in their own minds !)

(wait till you see them all rushing in now to defend each other!)
Post by: full back on August 08, 2008, 09:50:36 AM
So, lets try and make your feelings known on the thread in question & on gallsman getting banned without trying to equalise.......
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 09:52:02 AM
fair enough lynchboy, you follow my posts around, claiming to know about me, drop my real name in for some unkown reason and refuse to answer any questions

you think im bigoted and sectarian, like i said you havent got a clue
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 09:53:48 AM
Im not equalising.
I was responding to the original post when tony replied, i also chose to respond based on his comment.
as you responded to mine, as did lynchboy (again) - your response also not on topic - are you equalising?
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 08, 2008, 09:55:32 AM
Quote from: full back on August 08, 2008, 09:50:36 AM
So, lets try and make your feelings known on the thread in question & on gallsman getting banned without trying to equalise.......
I'd say thats all folk want to see.

I'd also expect singular condemnation when GAA/nationalists etc transgress
no equalisation or comparison. If folk were honest it would help a lot.

Poor Gallsman fell into a nest of folk that allowed their fears and prejudice to stiffle any decent debate or progression of a topic.
If they were in control of them selves and honest with themselves, without the fear and prejudice - things should have been a lot diff.
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 09:57:18 AM
gallsman himself said most people condemned that idiot, and there was a vast array of posts but sure thats probably him equalising ::)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 08, 2008, 09:57:46 AM
gallsman, am I reading this right?

You resurrected a thread over a year old, and pulled up a poster on a comment he made back then. Then you said that any attempt to label you as terrorist would be taken very seriously by you and your 'close associates'.

Sorry if I'm not getting it, but that seems a bit, confrontational I suppose.

OWC lads tend to ban people for that sort of stuff straight away alright, but in fairness that's their attitude to people they think are just on for a row.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 08, 2008, 09:58:11 AM
Quote from: nifan on August 08, 2008, 09:47:40 AM
I would have actually.
Gallsman had pm'd me on the issue so I had already had a look at the thread in question and was going to comment.

I stated my opinion of wazza. My opinion of tony has been stated before. I wouldnt have mentioned tony at all if he hadnt posted his smug response.

Can you point me in the direction of the thread in question please?
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 09:58:59 AM
go to owc and click last updated threads at the top
should be in the first page
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 10:04:02 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 08, 2008, 09:50:09 AM
how can we ever get them to integrate with attitude and forked tonges like that (yet clear consciences in their own minds !)

Im very well integrated thanks very much
Post by: full back on August 08, 2008, 10:05:04 AM
Quote from: nifan on August 08, 2008, 09:53:48 AM
Im not equalising.
I was responding to the original post when tony replied, i also chose to respond based on his comment.
as you responded to mine, as did lynchboy (again) - your response also not on topic - are you equalising?

All I was asking for was a frank assessment of your fellow OWCers behaviour...............
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 08, 2008, 10:05:49 AM
Quote from: nifan on August 08, 2008, 09:58:59 AM
go to owc and click last updated threads at the top
should be in the first page

you need special perms to do it, so if you get a chance tell me the section and thread title
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 10:06:53 AM
I said wazza was a twat.
As for the banning, it is known that OWC bans people for some things - as AZ stated it is consistant with others, even if some may find it harsh.

I dont post on OWC anymore as Ive sated on here before.
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 10:08:06 AM
fightback
Ballymurphy GAWA!, NI TAP seen in Ballymurphy!
Post by: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 10:20:23 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 08, 2008, 09:57:46 AM

You resurrected a thread over a year old, and pulled up a poster on a comment he made back then. Then you said that any attempt to label you as terrorist would be taken very seriously by you and your 'close associates'.

OWC lads tend to ban people for that sort of stuff straight away alright, but in fairness that's their attitude to people they think are just on for a row.

I have read the thread in question and that is more or less how I see it too.  Some posters were reasonably debating points with gallsman, and to be honest I found his post around his background interesting, however, posting this; Any abuse directed against family members from here on will be taken very, very seriously could easily be interpreted as a threat.

When asked to clarify what this statement meant it was not withdrawn but described as 'friendly advice' again IMO, could be interpreted as a thinly vailed threat.

BTW I am not a mod on the site and this is only my interpretation of what happened.
Post by: full back on August 08, 2008, 10:21:59 AM
Thats the boy Chris
Dont comment on your fellow OWCers behaviour ::)
Post by: Orior on August 08, 2008, 10:24:03 AM
Quote from: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 10:20:23 AM

Ah the whole thing just typifies unionist arrogance.

I have read the thread in question and that is more or less how I see it too.  Some posters were reasonably debating points with gallsman, and to be honest I found his post around his background interesting, however, posting this; Any abuse directed against family members from here on will be taken very, very seriously could easily be interpreted as a threat.

When asked to clarify what this statement meant it was not withdrawn but described as 'friendly advice' again IMO, could be interpreted as a thinly vailed threat.

BTW I am not a mod on the site and this is only my interpretation of what happened.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 08, 2008, 10:24:26 AM
Quote from: full back on August 08, 2008, 10:05:04 AM
Quote from: nifan on August 08, 2008, 09:53:48 AM
Im not equalising.

All I was asking for was a frank assessment of your fellow OWCers behaviour...............
reminds me of the time when some little lad was wearing a ni tap (with loyalist ni flag) on the back of it around the workplace in vodafone when I was contracting there (obv he was one of the call centre casual clothes wearing staff).
A few of the lads with me took offense to this, and wanted to go over and remostrate with him - say what exactly I dont know.
However I pointed out that people should be allowed wear and display whatever they wanted (though a few mins later regretted saying that after seeing a few fat lassies wearing belly tops), plus that kind of behaviour was ancient history and left to the bitter unionists to carry on indulging in. Common sense prevailed. Its a pity that this carry on still happens in ni though.

I did see a couple of celtic tops walkingup the shankhill road once, I heard it was some kind of trophy-esque gesture by the local unionist lads. I found it bizarre! Anyone know anything more about this kind of thing?
Post by: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 10:25:45 AM
Quote from: full back on August 08, 2008, 10:21:59 AM
Thats the boy Chris
Dont comment on your fellow OWCers behaviour ::)

Any particular poster I should be commenting on?  

I answered gallsman's question on why I think he was suspended/banned.
Post by: T Fearon on August 08, 2008, 10:32:54 AM
Believe it or not, I have a North of Ireland tap in my wardrobe myself. Won it in a competition a few years ago, but the silly bastards sent me a medium size...thats the reason I don't wear it ;D

Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 08, 2008, 10:43:39 AM
Lads, in fairness to nifan, he's normally very balanced with his views (occasionally sticks the head in the sand  ;)), I think youse actually jumped on him pretty quick there. At least he commented, chris eventually did, wouldn't expect anything from MW, EG, Sammy, GAWA etc...

nifan, curious as to why you don't post on OWC anymore? Granted it is boring as fcuk!
Post by: full back on August 08, 2008, 10:44:06 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 08, 2008, 10:32:54 AM
Believe it or not, I have a North of Ireland tap in my wardrobe myself. Won it in a competition a few years ago, but the silly b**tards sent me a medium size...thats the reason I don't wear it ;D

It wouldnt even go round your arm Fearon (BTW you were in a dream of mine last night - very,very disturbing)

Chris, any condemantion of some of the things that were posted in the thread Gallsman is referring to?
To me it smacks of bringing the country back to the dark ages
Post by: gallsman on August 08, 2008, 11:00:49 AM
Then you said that any attempt to label you as terrorist would be taken very seriously by you and your 'close associates'.

I mentioned nothing about being labelled as a terrorist.

I mentioned nothing of the sort about "close associates"- in my mind this implies some shady link (perhaps Provo related) which I flat out rejected from the off and anyone who knows me would laugh at the thought of it. I was merely pointing out that OWC, like most forums has it's minority of gobshites who would surely jump at the chance to launch a personal assault from the safety of a laptop and I was advising them to choos their words carefully as I had ventured personal information in the hope of convincing them that my post was genuine, not an attempt to flame/troll.

Don't let this thread turn into a "get nifan" affair. I agree with practically eveything he writes on this site. Fearon is as bad as any of the infamous OWC ones and everybody on this board knows it.
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 11:03:12 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 08, 2008, 10:43:39 AM
nifan, curious as to why you don't post on OWC anymore? Granted it is boring as fcuk!

Partly because there was so much going on. When i started work I cut down the amount of time i spent on it.
Also I like discussing things with people from "the other side" so to speak, and there is a problem on OWC that twats like wazza start shite like that - i used to argue with them myself but then i got bogged down in that shite.

In the end i just post here now, most of the contributors here are sound, even when they have some opinions i disagree with. There are some obvious exceptions but i dont hold you all responsible for them!
Post by: rosnarun on August 08, 2008, 11:25:05 AM
very hard thread to follow this if galls man made the 'close associates' comment he deserved to be banned
if he didn't some one is doing a Character asassination.
Own up whos telling lies?
Post by: Main Street on August 08, 2008, 11:34:00 AM
Fightback  ;D

The mentality I don't get is that the OWC are in general resentfull and hatefully bigoted against Gaelic Games
but they blame the GAA for causing them to be bigotted ???
'It's the GAA's fault that we are bigots'  ::)

If it wasn't Kevin Lynch it would some crest or some traitor like Casement or the focus would be on the terrorist tricolour or the sectarian AnbF.
Closed minds locked shut by bitterness.
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 11:41:28 AM
I dont think its fair to say in general their MS.
Post by: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 11:48:18 AM
Quote from: full back on August 08, 2008, 10:44:06 AM
Chris, any condemantion of some of the things that were posted in the thread Gallsman is referring to?
To me it smacks of bringing the country back to the dark ages

I didn't think any more condemnation was required.  Anyone with half a brain wouldn't have come out with the comment about people living near him with GAA tops.  But then the poster condemned himself by admitting he was a bigot.
Post by: full back on August 08, 2008, 11:52:47 AM
Quote from: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 11:48:18 AM
I didn't think any more condemnation was required. 

Especially not from you  - eh
Post by: Main Street on August 08, 2008, 11:55:56 AM
Quote from: nifan on August 08, 2008, 11:41:28 AM
I dont think its fair to say in general their MS.

Majority opinion  =  General opinion
The default opinion which overwhelms any thread.

Right down to some mild over intellectual sneering condescensding attitude to the GAA (EG?)  which for some insecure reason needs to repeated verbatim.
Post by: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 11:57:39 AM
Quote from: full back on August 08, 2008, 11:52:47 AM

Oh FFS! ::)
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 11:59:09 AM
Loudest voices dont always speak for the majority MS.
Post by: full back on August 08, 2008, 12:00:06 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 11:57:39 AM

Typical
Post by: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 12:06:14 PM
Quote from: full back on August 08, 2008, 12:00:06 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 11:57:39 AM

Typical

I don't know what your problem is Full Back.  In my original post I gave my opinion to gallsman on why I think he was banned which is the reason behind the thread.
Post by: full back on August 08, 2008, 12:12:15 PM
I dont have a problem
You saw fit to comment on gallsman getting banned but refused to say anything about your fellow OWCers comments.
Speaks volumes
Post by: gallsman on August 08, 2008, 12:14:03 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on August 08, 2008, 11:25:05 AM
very hard thread to follow this if galls man made the 'close associates' comment he deserved to be banned
if he didn't some one is doing a Character asassination.
Own up whos telling lies?

Again, these words wer not used. Chrisowc posted the exact quote in italics, and as mentioned my warning was issued as I had ventured personal information so as to convince of my genuine intentions.

I have no doubt that the original poster, wazza, is a 15 year old little fart who thinks he's hard as nails. I have no doubt that 99% of the OWC members would reject and widely condemn his remarks if they were made all over again. My disgust and indignation came from the fact that a senior OWC member, Sickboy, decided to somehow use the issue of teen suicide in working class republican areas to socre cheap political points. This criticism was flat out rejected and I was dismissed offhand. From there I somehow let myself het dragged into a political debate, largely concerning the political status of the GAA and certain clubs naming themselves after formoer IRA/INLA men such as Kevin Lynch.

Then, after clearly and articulately making my points and trying to understand the perspectives of others I was banned.
Post by: Main Street on August 08, 2008, 12:14:37 PM
Quote from: nifan on August 08, 2008, 11:59:09 AM
And a bird in the hand is worth ... ???

We are in a thread about the OWC board.
I'm referring to the OWC discussion board and when I say majority it refers to numbers as in a majority.
The majority is the default view so it's fair comment to say in general.
I have no way to tell the extent of the silent level of higher sporting awareness that may be reading any given thread where the GAA terrorist loving  prod hating organisation is discussed.

Post by: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 12:20:27 PM
Quote from: full back on August 08, 2008, 12:12:15 PM
I dont have a problem
You saw fit to comment on gallsman getting banned but refused to say anything about your fellow OWCers comments.
Speaks volumes

I saw fit??? ;D 

The thread is titled Attention OWCers and poses the question about why should gallsman should be banned.  I gave my opinion on that.

If you have any direct quotes that you want me to condemn or otherwise post them up.
Post by: gallsman on August 08, 2008, 12:27:03 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 12:20:27 PM
Quote from: full back on August 08, 2008, 12:12:15 PM
I dont have a problem
Speaks volumes

I saw fit??? ;D 

The thread is titled Attention OWCers and poses the question about why should gallsman should be banned.  I gave my opinion on that.

If you have any direct quotes that you want me to condemn or otherwise post them up.

You gave your opinion and I've offered a response. Would you care to comment on it? I initially intended to PM my main post but was then yapped and said "fcuk it, I may as well". You've read the thread andhave seen that there were varying amounts of personal information offered up which, if someone really really wanted, could lead to my being identified. I was thinking of the types of poster, like the aformentioned wazza, who may have been tempted to come out with some sort of abuse like "i know who you are. like. and my da's in the uvf so he is. like. and i'm gonna find out where you live and get him to kneecap you. like" and decide to pre-empt this with a friendly warning.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 08, 2008, 12:29:34 PM
Soory glensman, I was just going on the basis of your first post, I haven't looked at the thread in OWC, this is what you said..

QuoteHowever I decided that it would be wise to point out (due to the minority of mouthpieces on the OWC board who would have no interest in debate, but merely give me abuse or call me "IRA supporting scum") that any sort of personal abuse directed against me or my close associates would be taken very seriously.

I only saw Chris' post afterwards. I still think it's very strangely worded, and the 'Friendly advice' comment is also a bit odd, I can see where they might think you were insinuating something, even if you weren't.

And of course I meant to say 'terrorist supporting', not 'terrorist'. That was a typo.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on August 08, 2008, 12:31:22 PM
I registered on OWC about 3-4 months ago and remember reading this thread.....In fairness most of the posters on the site condemed this "wazza"......What a statement to come out with! The guy obviously hasn't the brains he was born with....

Never bothered posting any more on the site.....Nothing to do with this just nothing there i was interested in...Think theres a section closed off that i couldn't get in to....
Post by: full back on August 08, 2008, 12:31:37 PM

The ones highlighted would suffice

However, some tosspot from Cregagh decided to mention that he found it "repulsing" (sic) to see people living near him wearing GAA tops. This statement was widely condemned as it was generally interpreted that what you man was trying to say was "I don't want any taigs living near me", a viewpoint reinforced by his later statement "so what if a am a biggot" (again, sic, he wasn't that bright). However, one of your moderators/admins, Sickboy, decided to weigh into the debate and mention that due to hs family history in the troubles he too found the sight of GAA tops "repulsing" as the first thing he thought of were clubs named after convicted IRA/INLA men such as Kevin Lynch. However he went on to attempt to score cheap political points by bringing in issues such as Sinn Fein, and somehow, the current issue of teen suicide in places like Ballymurphy and Ardoyne.
Post by: gallsman on August 08, 2008, 12:33:14 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 08, 2008, 12:29:34 PM
Soory glensman, I was just going on the basis of your first post, I haven't looked at the thread in OWC, this is what you said..

QuoteHowever I decided that it would be wise to point out (due to the minority of mouthpieces on the OWC board who would have no interest in debate, but merely give me abuse or call me "IRA supporting scum") that any sort of personal abuse directed against me or my close associates would be taken very seriously.

I only saw Chris' post afterwards. I still think it's very strangely worded, and the 'Friendly advice' comment is also a bit odd, I can see where they might think you were insinuating something, even if you weren't.

And of course I meant to say 'terrorist supporting', not 'terrorist'. That was a typo.

Fair enough, I still think the most obvious train of thought would have been legal consequences, not bullet in the knee consequences. Maybe I'm too optimistic about the mindset of the modern day Northerner. Obviously OWC and it's admins/mods don't want any legal trouble whatsoever which is why I advised the the thread be closely moderated (something Chris kindly left out of his quote), to save ALL parties embarrassment.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 08, 2008, 12:38:34 PM
To be honest, that's what I thought as well, i.e. legal consequences. I wasn't thinking you were saying you'd be waiting outside the nearest NISC with an AK-47 :D

Either way, I suppose that constitutes a threat against 'the forum', rather than the individuals.

Also, I just realised I keep calling you glensman :D
Post by: gallsman on August 08, 2008, 12:44:14 PM
Perhaps it could be taken as a "threat" against the forum, but I did advise that the thread be closely moderated. Later on, I was asked by Marty if it was a "theat", and I said that no, it was just some "friendly advice". If there was any hint of a "threat" I would have been banned immediately and would have had no issues with it.
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 12:45:47 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 08, 2008, 12:14:37 PM

I'm referring to the OWC discussion board and when I say majority it refers to numbers as in a majority.
I have no way to tell the extent of the silent level of higher sporting awareness that may be reading any given thread where the GAA terrorist loving  prod hating organisation is discussed.

Sporting awareness is hardly what  is being talked about

You said "the OWC are in general resentfull and hatefully bigoted against Gaelic Games"
Based on how many posters opinion? There is over 7000 members and there is probably a small group that post negatively about the gaa (I could name most of the people who posted on the matter without reading the thread).

if some people do have issues with the gaa then they can post it it doesnt mean they consider the "GAA terrorist loving  prod hating organisation". Some obviously believe this and are rightly condemned by the majority.
Post by: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 12:54:01 PM
Quote from: full back on August 08, 2008, 12:31:37 PM

However, some tosspot from Cregagh decided to mention that he found it "repulsing" (sic) to see people living near him wearing GAA tops. This statement was widely condemned as it was generally interpreted that what you man was trying to say was "I don't want any taigs living near me", a viewpoint reinforced by his later statement "so what if a am a biggot" (again, sic, he wasn't that bright). However, one of your moderators/admins, Sickboy, decided to weigh into the debate and mention that due to hs family history in the troubles he too found the sight of GAA tops "repulsing" as the first thing he thought of were clubs named after convicted IRA/INLA men such as Kevin Lynch. However he went on to attempt to score cheap political points by bringing in issues such as Sinn Fein, and somehow, the current issue of teen suicide in places like Ballymurphy and Ardoyne.

They aren't direct quotes and in fairness to gallsman are a summary of what was said.

My original comments in the thread were based on actual quotes made by gallsman and I gave my opinion on them.
Post by: full back on August 08, 2008, 01:02:19 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 12:54:01 PM

They aren't direct quotes and in fairness to gallsman are a summary of what was said.

My original comments in the thread were based on actual quotes made by gallsman and I gave my opinion on them.

FFS, you asked me what I wanted you to comment on
but as they arent direct quotes you wont comment
Catch a f**king grip
Any chance someone can get me the 'DIRECT' quotes so he will comment on them?
Post by: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 01:10:04 PM
Quote from: full back on August 08, 2008, 01:02:19 PM

Catch a f**king grip

Why can't you get them?  Oh, you haven't read the thread but you want me to condemn something from someone else's interpretation?  Very good.

For the umpteenth time I answered gallsman's question honestly, and I believe that he has taken my response at face value.
Post by: gallsman on August 08, 2008, 01:16:57 PM
Non OWC members can't access the thread.
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 01:21:20 PM
Wazzas post
Quotethe neighbours surrounding my house wear gaa tops, and i live on the cregagh road and to be honest i find it very repulsing
Post by: full back on August 08, 2008, 01:31:27 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on August 08, 2008, 01:10:04 PM
Quote from: full back on August 08, 2008, 01:02:19 PM

Catch a f**king grip

Why can't you get them?  Oh, you haven't read the thread but you want me to condemn something from someone else's interpretation?  Very good.

For the umpteenth time I answered gallsman's question honestly, and I believe that he has taken my response at face value.

I dont want to give any personal details out, so I cant become a member ???
How the fcuk can I see the thread?

It wasnt wazzas post I was talking about - he is obviously a half-wit
It was more the moderator 'Sickboy' I was referring to
Post by: gallsman on August 08, 2008, 01:35:16 PM
Quote from: nifan on August 08, 2008, 01:21:20 PM
Wazzas post
Quotethe neighbours surrounding my house wear gaa tops, and i live on the cregagh road and to be honest i find it very repulsing

Wazza's post isn't the issue here, I've said several times that he was widely condemned. My outrage stemmed from the fact that someone tried to score cheap points by using the issue of teen suicide in an attack against Sinn Fein.
Post by: Main Street on August 08, 2008, 01:41:22 PM
Quote from: nifan on August 08, 2008, 12:45:47 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 08, 2008, 12:14:37 PM

Sporting awareness is hardly what  is being talked about

You said "the OWC are in general resentfull and hatefully bigoted against Gaelic Games"
Based on how many posters opinion? There is over 7000 members and there is probably a small group that post negatively about the gaa (I could name most of the people who posted on the matter without reading the thread).

if some people do have issues with the gaa then they can post it it doesnt mean they consider the "GAA terrorist loving  prod hating organisation". Some obviously believe this and are rightly condemned by the majority.
FFS sake will you ever grow out of your pedantry where every last word has to be spelled out to the nth degree.

Go read any thread where the GAA is mentioned and the belligerent sneering bitter attitude drops in like a ton of bricks.
It is the default attitude that is expressed.
If you have opposition then write something there.
If you do not write anything on that board then it does not count.
Silence can not be rated.

STATEMENT ALTERED FOR PEDANTS

The general attitude that is expressed on the OWC is resentful and hatefully bigoted against Gaelic Games

Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 01:53:10 PM
I read it, and i saw posts by sturtg, cregaghboy and ripley for example that are the opposite of that.
Take your straw poll if you want, but I wont take the attitude of a small number of posters on a thread that plenty of people wont even have read as the "general view"

As for silence not being rated, fair enough, but statistics would demand at least a reasonable number of participants to make a judgement of "general"

As I said there is plenty of apathy. i disagree witht the sort of comments you come out with "terrorist supporting bigots" being the general.
Post by: ONeill on August 08, 2008, 01:55:47 PM
This thread is hilarious. I'm actually starting to believe people consider online forums and debates with anonymous people to be an important facet to life. Definitely not enough ridin going on.
Post by: Evil Genius on August 08, 2008, 02:35:03 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 08, 2008, 01:55:47 PM
This thread is hilarious. I'm actually starting to believe people consider online forums and debates with anonymous people to be an important facet to life. Definitely not enough ridin going on.

You offering, Big Boy?  ;)
Post by: nifan on August 08, 2008, 02:46:34 PM
Definitely not enough ridin going on.

Certainly easier to pretend im working  when im on here than when ridin
Post by: ONeill on August 08, 2008, 03:09:23 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on August 08, 2008, 02:35:03 PM

Isn't that what King Billy used to say?
Post by: Evil Genius on August 08, 2008, 03:11:11 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 08, 2008, 03:09:23 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on August 08, 2008, 02:35:03 PM

Isn't that what King Billy used to say?
Aye, but never within earshot of Iris Robinson...
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 08, 2008, 03:36:53 PM

Thing is on OWC posting from a "nationalist" perspective is often enough to be labelled as "on for a row". I think the few nationalist posters on the site are just about tolerated more than anything as long as they toe the party line. As soon as they pop up in a thread arguing something opposite the OWC party line invariably the rest come down on them like a ton of bricks.

Now very possibly from their perspective they look similiarly on the GAA board but I find that OWC posters generally receive far more leeway on here (which they should be entitled to). If you were to argue your position vehemently enough on OWC I always feel a potential banning would never be too far away.

And of course it doesn't help that some of the mods are among the most hardline. ;D
Post by: his holiness nb on August 08, 2008, 03:48:24 PM
They love to round up on a gaaman indeed. I posted after someone was giving out about Nicky Brennan saying "north of Ireland GAA" or the likes instead of saying the words "northern Ireland". They thought it was bitterness that stopped him from uttering the words. I merely posted that, in fairness to him, he was speaking in reference to an intercounty game between 2 Ulster teams, one of which was outside of "northern Ireland". Cue every gripe and accusation anyone could ever have with the GAA being thrown my way, whether on topic or not. Then if I didnt answer them I was accused of avoiding questions put to me. I've even had that point made over here by an owc member, but lets not get into that again  ;)
By order of the mods  ;)
All in all, dress it up how you like, and theres many a decent bloke over there, but due to the silence of the good guys and the vulture like nature of the others, its not a welcoming place for a GAA man by any means.

The carry of of their mods really sums them up, the likes of sickboy and our own sammy g are meant to be the sensible fair guys, great examples them!!
Post by: Niall Quinn on August 08, 2008, 04:05:26 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 08, 2008, 03:48:24 PM
Nicky Brennan

hmmm, maybe that is the NB.
Post by: Orior on August 08, 2008, 05:00:43 PM
They love to round up on a gaaman indeed. I posted after someone was giving out about Nicky Brennan saying "north of Ireland GAA" or the likes instead of saying the words "northern Ireland". They thought it was bitterness that stopped him from uttering the words. I merely posted that, in fairness to him, he was speaking in reference to an intercounty game between 2 Ulster teams, one of which was outside of "northern Ireland". Cue every gripe and accusation anyone could ever have with the GAA being thrown my way, whether on topic or not. Then if I didnt answer them I was accused of avoiding questions put to me. I've even had that point made over here by an owc member, but lets not get into that again  ;)
By order of the mods  ;)
All in all, dress it up how you like, and theres many a decent bloke over there, but due to the silence of the good guys and the vulture like nature of the others, its not a welcoming place for a GAA man by any means.

The carry of of their mods really sums them up, the likes of sickboy and our own sammy g are meant to be the sensible fair guys, great examples them!!

I expect no less from owc. What I cant fathom are the dublin soccer heads that agree with them.
Post by: his holiness nb on August 08, 2008, 05:32:35 PM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on August 08, 2008, 04:05:26 PM
Nicky Brennan

Post by: the Deel Rover on August 08, 2008, 05:33:49 PM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on August 08, 2008, 04:05:26 PM
Nicky Brennan

might it be  His Holiness no bother
Post by: Main Street on August 08, 2008, 05:47:09 PM
I went with the conservative interpretation -   note bene.
Post by: fred the red on August 08, 2008, 05:47:35 PM
Badness happens when good guys do nothing.
Post by: Rossfan on August 08, 2008, 07:57:41 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 08, 2008, 05:00:43 PM

I expect no less from owc. What I cant fathom are the dublin soccer heads that agree with them.

The biggest anti GAA bigots in Ireland can be found among 26 Co Soccerites. I know a few Athlone dickheads and have come across some Sligo townies too and bigotted is a mild description.
Remember the antics of the FAI's party coming back from Belfast after they won qualification for the world Cup singing " You can stick your GAA up your hole".
Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 08, 2008, 08:29:19 PM
Very true rossfan.
Post by: Main Street on August 08, 2008, 11:03:08 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 08, 2008, 07:57:41 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 08, 2008, 05:00:43 PM

The biggest anti GAA bigots in Ireland can be found among 26 Co Soccerites. I know a few Athlone d**kheads and have come across some Sligo townies too and bigotted is a mild description.
Remember the antics of the FAI's party coming back from Belfast after they won qualification for the world Cup singing " You can stick your GAA up your hole".
It's a myth
Thats just a story, a good one, but still a story all the same, invented by one journalist who is prone to such exaggerations for the sake of making a story sound good.

Post by: Orior on November 18, 2018, 11:23:55 PM
What's this? The occupied six playing soccer on a Sunday?

Disgraceful, lol
Post by: Orior on November 19, 2018, 08:20:45 AM
My pleasure.