GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Leo on September 08, 2010, 09:22:18 PM

Title: Show Your Support
Post by: Leo on September 08, 2010, 09:22:18 PM
Great competition idea in Irish News today.
Club Down looking for best decorated town, school, etc.
I can't believe how little colour there is in places like Kilcoo and Hilltown. Maybe this competition will gee them up.
Castlewellan looks brilliant.
Fair play to Club Down for thinking of including the schools.
Title: Re: Show Your Support
Post by: Square Ball on September 08, 2010, 09:47:55 PM
Quote from: Leo on September 08, 2010, 09:22:18 PM
I can't believe how little colour there is in places like Kilcoo and Hilltown. Maybe this competition will gee them up.

a regular board poster is envolved in it. you can rule my local road out of the running  >:(
Post by: Leo on September 09, 2010, 06:01:33 AM
Quote from: Square Ball on September 08, 2010, 09:47:55 PM

a regular board poster is envolved in it. you can rule my local road out of the running  >:(

As you are Bredagh is your local road not the Ormeau Road? Thought it would be supportive enough. Is anywhere inn Belfast putting out the bunting?
Post by: Banana Man on September 09, 2010, 09:19:55 AM
Even Banbridge town is starting to get red and black, great belief in the county - great to see
Post by: CaptDun on September 09, 2010, 09:42:12 AM
You need to see the lower end of Dundrum - a credit to the club.
Post by: orangeman on September 09, 2010, 10:20:15 AM
I was in Guildford yesterday and was a bit surprised to see the Down and Tyrone flags there.
Post by: artisan2010 on September 09, 2010, 10:39:26 AM
I was in Newry yesterday and was told there was a door to door collection for funds to decorate Drumgullion/Lisgullion on the ARMAGH Road.
Clough needs to get its act together though  ;).  Not sure who they are supporting!!!!!
Post by: Banana Man on September 09, 2010, 11:53:40 AM
Gilford would be a very evenly split town/large village to be honest. Everyone thinks it's just unionist but it's because they shout louder, there is a very large nationalist population there
Post by: passedit on September 09, 2010, 11:54:18 AM
Quote from: artisan2010 on September 09, 2010, 10:39:26 AM
I was in Newry yesterday and was told there was a door to door collection for funds to decorate Drumgullion/Lisgullion on the ARMAGH Road.
Clough needs to get its act together though  ;).  Not sure who they are supporting!!!!!

Must be 100% for Cork as they have red and white AND the blue of Munster.

I'm told, though I didn't witness it myself, that a Down flag made a 20 minute guest appearance on a lamppost on the Brunswick Road in Bangor a couple of saturday mornings ago.
Post by: Leo on September 10, 2010, 02:05:23 PM
Massive display going up in Warrenpoiint today, fair play to them.
Rostrevor where are you?
If you don't have Down flags aren't your own red & black at least?
Post by: Pangurban on September 10, 2010, 08:21:04 PM
Loughinisland should win this hands down, they are a credit to the County
Post by: artisan2010 on September 11, 2010, 04:32:08 PM
Never mind Loughinisland Crossgar has been decorated this afternoon!!!!!!
Post by: Square Ball on September 11, 2010, 06:36:31 PM
Quote from: Leo on September 09, 2010, 06:01:33 AM
Quote from: Square Ball on September 08, 2010, 09:47:55 PM

As you are Bredagh is your local road not the Ormeau Road? Thought it would be supportive enough. Is anywhere inn Belfast putting out the bunting?

the short strand apparently has flags up :D. the ormeau road, the Down bit, is not totally welcoming to the GAA. There was one up for the semi final but it was taken down

the boys were out the other night putting new flags and bunting up, bless them, but it was not Down colors they were putting up
Post by: artisan2010 on September 11, 2010, 06:44:52 PM
Was it Cork Colours? the same as Clough.
Post by: Square Ball on September 11, 2010, 07:26:09 PM
Quote from: artisan2010 on September 11, 2010, 06:44:52 PM
Was it Cork Colours? the same as Clough.

two thirds of the way there, add in blue and your there
Post by: down6061689194 on September 11, 2010, 07:29:03 PM
Quote from: artisan2010 on September 09, 2010, 10:39:26 AM

I hear the lads from clough have acquired quite a few Down flags from cars at the roundabout.

Lots of London fans in Ballynahinch & Dromore
Post by: artisan2010 on September 11, 2010, 08:05:27 PM
Any chance of a by pass round Clough or a severe bout of legionaires disease so we wouldnt have put up with the hole.
Post by: Leo on September 11, 2010, 10:38:34 PM
Well done Loughinisland.
Was in Newry this evening. Pathetic effort at Park Esler with a cheap looking Shamrocks banner draped unevenly across the big signboard. Tacky and not even properly attached.
That signboard hasnt shifted since the old Club Down folded its tent - a very poor image from the home of Down football  - and its hijacking by na Seamrogai says it all.
Our county board are doing great work but their PR/media/advertising committee has been marked absent on this one.
The Greenbank shopping centre has followed their example - a few badly strewn buntings - VERY few - you wouldn't  know you were in the heart of a county that is in the All-Ireland final.

In contrast, great sign outside Murdock Hardwood on Rathfriland Road.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 11, 2010, 11:42:01 PM
The Armagh Road from Violet Hill to the 5 Ways looks great...Ballyholland have done a great job as well...Dee Raff's ma has a big banner outside the house on the Dublin Road....serious amount of flags on the Dublin Road as well....deadly buzz
Post by: Pangurban on September 12, 2010, 04:33:59 AM
Saw this painted on Gable Wall in Teconnaught today...Down Ready To Pop The Cork
Post by: Leo on September 12, 2010, 03:29:18 PM
The manager & 3 of the players are from the Burren club dut the level of display of support in Burren is practically non-existent.
Post by: Leo on September 13, 2010, 10:39:44 AM
Rostrevor has now got its act together.
Great show at Ballyholland.
Some Newry estates doing well.
A "brave" bit of colour uo in Annalong!
Post by: Banana Man on September 13, 2010, 11:07:15 AM
lawrencetown is looking the part, right bit in Gilford, annaclone too, smatterings around banbridge, poor effort in loughbrickland, 3 or 4 flags at most, right few in Ballyvarley, thought glen would have had a lot more up

i see the 3 down flags put up at the new road near the sheepbridge weren't long being pulled down and replaced with union flags - also heard 2 glenn lads got arrested for putting those down flags up
Post by: passedit on September 13, 2010, 11:48:57 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on September 13, 2010, 11:07:15 AM
lawrencetown Laurencetown is looking the part, right bit in Gilford, annaclone too, smatterings around banbridge, poor effort in loughbrickland, 3 or 4 flags at most, right few in Ballyvarley, thought glen would have had a lot more up

i see the 3 down flags put up at the new road near the sheepbridge weren't long being pulled down and replaced with union flags - also heard 2 glenn lads got arrested for putting those down flags up

Shame on you Banana man.

Plus ca change round the Sheepbridge, got stopped near there in 1985 for the heinous crime (Flags and Emblems act) of flying a down flag on the front of the motor on the way to the National League semi final.
Post by: Banana Man on September 13, 2010, 02:06:15 PM
my bad passedit
Post by: dodgy umpire on September 13, 2010, 02:26:03 PM
Plans have been made for the Ormeau Road. It will be decorated :)
Post by: Leo on September 13, 2010, 03:03:20 PM
Red & black horse on parade in Rostrevor - and the displays in that town will take some beating.
Hilltown and Mayobridge definitely asleep on the job - there's more up in Omeath!
Post by: amallon on September 13, 2010, 09:27:59 PM
(http://www.sys-sol.net/Down/shoprostrevor.jpg)
Spar in Rostrevor

(http://www.sys-sol.net/Down/bigflag.jpg)
The 20ft flag on the mountain in Mayobridge. 

Post by: Leo on September 14, 2010, 12:30:09 AM
amallon
I rest my case.
Post by: supersub on September 14, 2010, 01:15:27 AM
I think rostrevor looks brilliant at the moment with more still to come I believe! Williamsons spar looks spectacular and the bunting, flags and cars yes cars are quite a sight! Several black cars with red stripes and down crests on the front! A lot f the smaller estates have gone to a huge effort too! Great to see
Post by: amallon on September 14, 2010, 06:40:42 PM
More from the Bridge

(http://www.sys-sol.net/Down/mountain.JPG)

The Cove
(http://www.sys-sol.net/Down/macwaste.jpg)

(http://www.sys-sol.net/Down/thecove.jpg)

School
(http://www.sys-sol.net/Down/school.jpg)

(http://www.sys-sol.net/Down/school1.jpg)

Seven Bends
(http://www.sys-sol.net/Down/sevenbends.jpg)

(http://www.sys-sol.net/Down/sevenbends1.jpg)
Gormans is getting a paint job at the minute.  More banners to go up tonight or tomorrow.

Post by: amallon on September 15, 2010, 11:02:40 AM
Some wag on the Ryan Road Mayobridge has a banner up saying "Dentist Dan take Sam home to Wee James' Caravan"!.  Its not even a 100 yards from James' Da's house.  James was having a laugh about it at the breakfast this morning.
Post by: EagleLord on September 15, 2010, 02:03:16 PM
UP DOWN on the mountain and the huge flag, theyre my favourite.
Post by: Leo on September 15, 2010, 04:14:45 PM
I'm told there was a big entry from schools and pictures will be in Irish News tomorrow.
Post by: Banana Man on September 16, 2010, 09:06:29 AM
i hear the car in ballymartin got torched last night by 'loyal sons of ulster' either that or a secret unit from armagh  :D
Post by: lecale4 on September 18, 2010, 09:36:14 AM
(http://img826.imageshack.us/img826/3537/downflagsormo.jpg)

The Bredagh boys got the bunting and flags up on thr Ormeau Road at last ;D

You can see in "Munster Flag" in the distance  :P
Post by: amallon on September 18, 2010, 10:04:23 AM
Great photo Lecale!

A few signs stole last night from the Ryan road and Aughnagun roads were stolen last night.  The display at the Ardfrilan round about were vandalised/stolen the night before. 
Post by: EagleLord on September 18, 2010, 11:34:50 AM
Why do people insist on vandalising fans' flags and banners etc?
Im not going to jump to conclusions as to who it was, but whoever it is, needs to take a look atthemselves.
Post by: Square Ball on September 18, 2010, 12:15:39 PM
Quote from: EagleLord on September 18, 2010, 11:34:50 AM
Im not going to jump to conclusions as to who it was, but whoever it is, needs to take a look atthemselves.

Because they are scumbags.

Some cracking photos there amallon. Its a pity that our boys had to have a clandestine operation to put up bunting and flags. A lot of horn beeping and cheering from passng motorists but no abuse, well except for, Go on ya Fenian Baastrads, up Armagh!
Post by: Dubh driocht on September 18, 2010, 12:28:08 PM
Great to see the Ormeau Road showing it's true colours. Unfortunately the negative stuff has been a long tradition- in 91 the Down bus was stoned in Kilkeel !Also, I think O'Tooles was targeted in 94 because it was in the heart of a GAA stronghold- unsurprisingly, the Neanderthals from Lisburn helped by their Clough friends didn't think of the possibility that non-Catholics would be in the bar but that's the way we live in County Down.See the Opsahl report  ( A citizens inquiry)in 1992 which gave rise to the genesis of the Good Friday agreement for a piece on the fantastic role of the GAA. It's important to remember that for every half-wit who targets childrens' dreams in the Fin or the Bridge there are ten good people from the other side of the house who are full-square behind the lads- we'll have one in our company who is at his third game this year and as good a Down man as any of us.
Post by: fitzroyalty on September 18, 2010, 12:46:25 PM
Good luck to Down tommorrow. Not everyone in Armagh is behind ya but the way I see it, I've heard enough about the last five, what difference will one more make! 
Post by: MCMLX on September 18, 2010, 12:53:38 PM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on September 18, 2010, 12:28:08 PM
It's important to remember that for every half-wit who targets childrens' dreams in the Fin or the Bridge there are ten good people from the other side of the house who are full-square behind the lads- we'll have one in our company who is at his third game this year and as good a Down man as any of us.

A friend of mine from Newry is from the other side of the house as you would say. He married a good Down woman and rarely misses a game. If anything he would be an Armagh man which makes it a double conversion. I`ve had a lot of positive comments from people from the other side of the divide. Even in Belfast last night while shopping one lad in an NI top wished us luck.
Surprisingly a lot of Armagh people seem to be behind us, you get the odd bitter idiot, but you get them in any sport. Fair play to them its great to see.
Post by: dodgy umpire on September 18, 2010, 01:13:35 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on September 18, 2010, 12:15:39 PM
Quote from: EagleLord on September 18, 2010, 11:34:50 AM

Because they are scumbags.

Some cracking photos there amallon. Its a pity that our boys had to have a clandestine operation to put up bunting and flags. A lot of horn beeping and cheering from passng motorists but no abuse, well except for, Go on ya Fenian Baastrads, up Armagh!

One egg was thrown, but most likely by kids as opposed to Armagh ones
Post by: Square Ball on September 18, 2010, 07:18:16 PM
I went up to take a few photos on the Ormeau road and was uploading them onto my computer, thought thats a coincidence that I got someone in a Down top in the photo as well, but on closer inspection......

(http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t114/gizzmodev/S3400002.jpg?t=1284833705)
Title: Show Your Support
Post by: 5 Sams on September 18, 2010, 07:36:05 PM
Went to Rostrevor this morning to drop off a ticket and I decided to go home by Hilltown and the bridge...class displays. Have to say the best one of the lot is the "You are now entering the Kingdom of Benny".

Have yiz all seen the pics on the Down GAA facebook page....deadly stuff.
Post by: MCMLX on September 18, 2010, 08:05:21 PM
Looks like 5Sams and the woman went to Belfast for a spin as well.  ;)
Post by: Dubh driocht on September 20, 2010, 07:40:26 PM
I saw that boy in the Errigle.He made more sense than Tony Fearon.