GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: illdecide on May 06, 2019, 10:29:49 PM

Title: Down v Armagh (Park Esler 16:00) 19/05/2019
Post by: illdecide on May 06, 2019, 10:29:49 PM
Can't believe this has come around so quick and can't believe the little hype there has been. Sunday week and hardly a mention.

Anyway, it just came into my head when i was passing by this afternoon so just had a nosy for tickets and there was not a big selection left. I took the town terrace as i'm bringing my 10 year old son and I'm not 100% sure where that terrace/stand is but i think it's behind the goal and we've been allocated a seat number so assume it the we small section to the side of the bottom goal.

Title: Re: Down v Armagh (Park Esler 16:00) 19/05/2019
Post by: illdecide on May 06, 2019, 10:32:07 PM
On the match itself...Armagh have the slightly better team than Down and have been playing in a higher division than Down but that won't matter one iota. Down are always hard to beat in Newry no matter who they are playing but surely Armagh will win a first round Ulster game under KMcG going into the fifth year... We all know what happened 2 years ago going in as favourites
Post by: BennyCake on May 06, 2019, 10:59:17 PM
You'd think McGeeney can't go 5 years without a win in Ulster. Football don't work like that though. It's a 50-50 game.

If there's a draw, will there be extra time? Or go straight to a replay?
Post by: balladmaker on May 06, 2019, 11:04:38 PM
All the pressure will be on McGeeney for this game.  To go a 5th season as Armagh Manager without a win in the Ulster Championship would be an awful record.  The game is 50/50, there'll be little between them at the end I reckon.

Season ticket question: as the season ticket also covers first round of the championship, I assume it's just scanned at the gate at Pairc Esler ... But how do I know what stand or terrace that it admits to for an all ticket game? 
Post by: Orior on May 07, 2019, 05:02:25 PM
Both sets of supporters playing their chances down. It will be very different when the ball is thrown in.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 07, 2019, 05:48:23 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 07, 2019, 05:02:25 PM
Both sets of supporters playing their chances down. It will be very different when the ball is thrown in.

I think we are capable of blowing down away but it's more than likely to be a bit of an arm wrestle like last time out
Post by: BennyCake on May 07, 2019, 06:11:45 PM
Not seen Down play this year, but I'm not sure where Armagh's scores will come from. Clarke rarely get more than 0-3, Campbell same. Even less if one or both are curtailed by Down defence. Grugan might chip in with the bulk, but I can't see us putting up a big score.

I just have a feeling, home advantage and a more prolific scorer in O'Hare will see Down over the line by 1 or 2 points.
Post by: seafoid on May 07, 2019, 07:21:54 PM
Armagh should be a few points better than Down but the McGeeney factor means they are fragile .
4 years of losing matches in Ulster is suboptimal.

Post by: illdecide on May 07, 2019, 08:58:57 PM
Dunno if i could take it again walking out of that ground again having lost to a bad Down team, surely Armagh will win this one!!! KMcG will be under big P if he's on the wrong end of another loss. A run in the qualifiers will make everyone forget again ::)
Post by: balladmaker on May 13, 2019, 01:16:11 PM
Hard to believe this game is in 6 days time given the lack of talk or any sort of hype.  Shows how times have changed and where the Provincial Championships presently sit with the supporters.
Post by: Aristo 60 on May 14, 2019, 01:55:45 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 06, 2019, 10:32:07 PM
On the match itself...Armagh have the slightly better team than Down and have been playing in a higher division than Down but that won't matter one iota. Down are always hard to beat in Newry no matter who they are playing but surely Armagh will win a first round Ulster game under KMcG going into the fifth year... We all know what happened 2 years ago going in as favourites

Down are easy enough beat in Newry going on league form. Season ticket holders will have tickets emailed or posted to them I think. I've mine. Section G, which is fair enough.

Very low key is right. Need a bust up in the first 5 minutes to remind us all who we are / once were!

Post by: balladmaker on May 14, 2019, 02:11:54 PM
QuoteI've mine. Section G, which is fair enough.

What's the layout of the stand, how many sections ... A - ?
Post by: Aristo 60 on May 14, 2019, 02:22:13 PM
A is the first stand section at the road end
E is the centre section
I think it might go on to H or J

This stuff never matters in the Dr McK or league!

Post by: bennydorano on May 14, 2019, 06:05:25 PM
This thread gives us a great indicator of the future prospects of the USFC, they're not good. I expect a similar shit show to the last one, toss of a coin to see who wins.

I might try and avoid the score until the deferred coverage starts at 7pm on BBC2. Thats how interested I am these days.
Post by: Ambrose on May 14, 2019, 06:42:50 PM
It pains me to say this, but Armagh will win this with ease. That's not to say they are any great shakes, but this is one of the poorest Down teams I have ever seen. While we were unlucky to miss out on promotion, we had an awful lot of luck and could easily have been relegated. Losing to Louth was inexcusable.
Armagh to win by 6 or 7 points and a stay of execution for the McGeeney gravy train.
Post by: BennyCake on May 14, 2019, 07:03:11 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 14, 2019, 06:05:25 PM
This thread gives us a great indicator of the future prospects of the USFC, they're not good. I expect a similar shit show to the last one, toss of a coin to see who wins.

I might try and avoid the score until the deferred coverage starts at 7pm on BBC2. Thats how interested I am these days.

I do that with most games these days. If I don't get to this one, I might just avoid and watch the deferred coverage too. It's not easy sitting through a full match when you already know the score, even if it is your own team
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 14, 2019, 07:38:36 PM
Have a feeling Armagh will lose this game and then end up lasting longer in the championship than Down.
Post by: LCohen on May 14, 2019, 07:49:54 PM
Our season wouldn't be over if we're beat. That said McGeeney would need a serious run in the qualifiers to cover over a further failure in Ulster.
Down are poor and I fancy us for a reasonably comfortable victory.

The Armagh that plays with confidence and moves the ball quickly is definitely worth watching. When the confidence goes we hold the ball up and shovel it sideways. That isn't worth watching. The way attendances and probably viewing numbers are shaping up the GAA will want the more attractive footballing sides to progress
Post by: seafoid on May 14, 2019, 07:54:07 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 14, 2019, 06:05:25 PM

Real sign of the times for football. Attendances are down due to lack of interest
Post by: Targetman on May 14, 2019, 09:09:36 PM
Having followed Down all year it pains me to say I can't see anything other than an Armagh win, this is possibly the weakest Down team I can remember, our defence isn't bad but we've no midfield and a forward line that doesn't score enough, Armagh aren't great but should have enough to win by 3/4, but you just never know!!
Post by: dec on May 14, 2019, 09:15:11 PM
Former Armagh manager Fr Sean Hegarty passed way

http://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2019/05/14/news/fr-sean-hegarty-a-true-gael-of-great-team-spirit-1619085/

I remember him as Armagh manager and as a priest in our parish.

I heard that when he was away with the Armagh team he could get through a mass in about 10 minutes.
Post by: BennyCake on May 14, 2019, 09:28:02 PM
Quote from: LCohen on May 14, 2019, 07:49:54 PM
Our season wouldn't be over if we're beat. That said McGeeney would need a serious run in the qualifiers to cover over a further failure in Ulster.

The Armagh that plays with confidence and moves the ball quickly is definitely worth watching. When the confidence goes we hold the ball up and shovel it sideways. That isn't worth watching. The way attendances and probably viewing numbers are shaping up the GAA will want the more attractive footballing sides to progress

I want us to go all out in Ulster. Beating Sligo or Waterford in the qualifiers means feck all. It's just prolonging the inevitable. If we got a lucky draw and made the Super 8, we'd be slaughtered.

Go out and give Ulster a rattle. Even a final appearance would be an achievement. Anything else is pointless.
Post by: twohands!!! on May 14, 2019, 09:34:39 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 07, 2019, 07:21:54 PM
Armagh should be a few points better than Down but the McGeeney factor means they are fragile .

McGeeney going for his own special five-in-a-row in Ulster.
Post by: snoopdog on May 14, 2019, 10:10:37 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 14, 2019, 09:28:02 PM
Quote from: LCohen on May 14, 2019, 07:49:54 PM

I want us to go all out in Ulster. Beating Sligo or Waterford in the qualifiers means feck all. It's just prolonging the inevitable. If we got a lucky draw and made the Super 8, we'd be slaughtered.

Go out and give Ulster a rattle. Even a final appearance would be an achievement. Anything else is pointless.
Feeling would.be the same from a Down perspective.
Post by: illdecide on May 14, 2019, 11:26:21 PM
Holy f**k, not one person coming on shouting for their team believing their team will pump their rivals...Both sets of supporters are so pessimistic...lol.

I was cautious but feck it, lets go to Newry and (see how i didn't say Down as that old argument most of it's actually in Armagh :)) beat these hoors into submission...C'mon Armagh.
Post by: BennyCake on May 14, 2019, 11:43:45 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 14, 2019, 11:26:21 PM
Holy f**k, not one person coming on shouting for their team believing their team will pump their rivals...Both sets of supporters are so pessimistic...lol.

I was cautious but feck it, lets go to Newry and (see how i didn't say Down as that old argument most of it's actually in Armagh :)) beat these hoors into submission...C'mon Armagh.

Yeah! Let's lick kick some arse!! :D
Post by: tonto1888 on May 15, 2019, 05:45:20 AM

I think we are gonna click on the day and when we do it will be a similar score line to the 1999 final
Post by: seafoid on May 15, 2019, 06:12:51 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 14, 2019, 09:34:39 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 07, 2019, 07:21:54 PM

McGeeney going for his own special five-in-a-row in Ulster.
Down might be shite but McGeeney is worth a few points to them
Post by: PAULD123 on May 15, 2019, 01:32:47 PM
Lowest level of belief in any match I have ever seen between these two sides. I haven't seen Armagh, but I've seen Down and there is no way Armagh could be worse than us. Having said that I expect Down to be tight and hold Armagh and frustrate them. I would expect Armagh to gradually pull away in the second half. We have no midfield at all and have shown very little strategy to competing for kick-out ball.

I don't think our players are terrible. If sufficiently organised and working together then I think they could easily challenge Armagh and I would be quite optimistic. But there seems a lack of key strategy - especially midfield but also in moving ball and shooting.

Players seem scared to shoot, it reminds me of 07-09, when no one would shoot and the plan was "get it to Benny". Problem is that this time we have no Benny to get it to.

There appears no strategy to get the ball forward to on-running forwards - the strategy seems just to recycle it backwards over and over until maybe a break opens up by chance.

I have no seen any repetitive patterns of passing (set moves) that Down implement. You would expect to see some repeating patterns of movement when a team is acting as a unit. Instead every attack seems as individual and off-the-cuff as every other.

We don't play as a cohesive organised unit, and as such, rely on individual talent. Our talent s not that high to do that.
Post by: Armamike on May 15, 2019, 03:04:00 PM
Would have thought Tally would have Down organised, and set up very well defensively. Would expect to see Down get plenty of bodies back in defence. That in itself will cause this Armagh side a lot of problems. 
Post by: Aristo 60 on May 15, 2019, 03:18:48 PM
Prediction

Down 0-12 Armagh 1-08

Donal O'Hare 9 out of the 12 points

And Oisin telling BBC "Well Maaaaarrrrrccck, Donal is a quality player" glint in eye "but this Armagh team will have a say the next day whoever they meet you can be sure about that"
Post by: armaghniac on May 15, 2019, 03:36:41 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on May 15, 2019, 03:18:48 PM

And Oisin telling BBC "Well Maaaaarrrrrccck, Donal is a quality player" glint in eye "but this Armagh team will have a say the next day whoever they meet you can be sure about that"

Aren't yous lucky to get a Cross' woman into Down to provide you with footballers.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 15, 2019, 06:46:19 PM
Quote from: Armamike on May 15, 2019, 03:04:00 PM
Would have thought Tally would have Down organised, and set up very well defensively. Would expect to see Down get plenty of bodies back in defence. That in itself will cause this Armagh side a lot of problems.

Were you at our game with fermanagh
Post by: balladmaker on May 15, 2019, 07:15:36 PM
Less than 4 days to the game and we've just entered the third page of this thread!  I remember the days ye would hardly have slept for the last few days in anticipation of two great rivals clashing in a do or die championship game.  How times have changed.
Post by: Orior on May 15, 2019, 07:51:20 PM
Prediction:

Down 2-11
Armagh 0-14

Is there a curtain raiser?
Post by: naka on May 15, 2019, 07:57:42 PM
Down 0-13
Armagh 1-6
Down will suffocate Armagh and win this game handily enough. ;)
Post by: armaghniac on May 15, 2019, 08:48:06 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 15, 2019, 07:51:20 PM

Down v Tyrone minor, I think. Hard to know who to cheer for there.
Post by: Armamike on May 15, 2019, 09:44:56 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 15, 2019, 08:48:06 PM

South/North Armagh - Tyrone
Mid Armagh - Down

Post by: Armamike on May 15, 2019, 09:51:26 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 15, 2019, 06:46:19 PM

Fair enough, but this is the championship. I'm not sure one league game is enough to go on.  I hope we have found a way to deal with these tactics - we've struggled for a good few years now.
Post by: BennyCake on May 15, 2019, 10:59:35 PM
Quote from: Armamike on May 15, 2019, 09:44:56 PM

Mid Armagh - Down

I would imagine North Armagh would support Down.
Post by: dec on May 15, 2019, 11:00:53 PM

When did it change from being the same matchup as the senior game?
Post by: illdecide on May 15, 2019, 11:29:07 PM

Jasus what a conundrum...I hope Down get beat but then Tyrone get thrown out for fielding GOD and they don't reinstate Down as no one likes them so just give someone a bye in the next round
Post by: illdecide on May 15, 2019, 11:32:30 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 14, 2019, 11:43:45 PM

Yeah! Let's lick kick some arse!! :D

Yeah BC, that would be awesome :P
Post by: armaghniac on May 16, 2019, 12:20:08 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 15, 2019, 10:59:35 PM

Mid Armagh - Down

They were always a bit suspect up there, they never seem to sing Amhran na bhFiann properly.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 16, 2019, 06:14:57 AM

Mid Armagh - Down

Nope
Post by: tonto1888 on May 16, 2019, 06:15:57 AM
Quote from: Armamike on May 15, 2019, 09:51:26 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 15, 2019, 06:46:19 PM

I know it was just one game but it looked like we actually had a plan for playing against those types of teams. Worked that day hopefully it works on Sunday too
Fair enough, but this is the championship. I'm not sure one league game is enough to go on.  I hope we have found a way to deal with these tactics - we've struggled for a good few years now.
Post by: lurganblue on May 16, 2019, 11:52:37 AM

Mid Armagh - Down

F*ck
Post by: BennyCake on May 16, 2019, 02:41:06 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 16, 2019, 11:52:37 AM

Mid Armagh - Down

F*ck

The North West corner then. A few clubs there bordering Tyrone.
Post by: PAULD123 on May 16, 2019, 03:07:22 PM
Quote from: dec on May 15, 2019, 11:00:53 PM

When did it change from being the same matchup as the senior game?

The leaving cert messed it up because the Southern teams couldn't produce their players early in teh championship season so fixtures are moved to suit them but it means that we can no longer have the direct match ups
Post by: yellowcard on May 16, 2019, 04:22:58 PM
I have a feeling Armagh will win this game much easier than expected. Armagh narrowly missed out on promotion to division 1 due to a defeat to Meath early in the campaign whilst Down suffered similarly in division 3 only with a late defeat. Armagh simply have too much firepower up front compared with Down and they will be chomping at the bit to exact some revenge for the defeat of 2 years ago.   
Post by: BennyCake on May 16, 2019, 06:04:26 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on May 16, 2019, 04:22:58 PM
I have a feeling Armagh will win this game much easier than expected. Armagh narrowly missed out on promotion to division 1 due to a defeat to Meath early in the campaign whilst Down suffered similarly in division 3 only with a late defeat. Armagh simply have too much firepower up front compared with Down and they will be chomping at the bit to exact some revenge for the defeat of 2 years ago.

They do, but they still have to produce the goods on the day.
Post by: LCohen on May 16, 2019, 06:57:54 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 16, 2019, 06:04:26 PM

They defo have the fire power.
3 big questions are can they deliver in the Ulster Championship, do we have the tactical ability to unpick a packed defence and do have the organisation and prep to defend against a team that breaks out from a massed defence
Post by: tonto1888 on May 16, 2019, 08:22:41 PM
Quote from: LCohen on May 16, 2019, 06:57:54 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 16, 2019, 06:04:26 PM

They defo have the fire power.
3 big questions are can they deliver in the Ulster Championship, do we have the tactical ability to unpick a packed defence and do have the organisation and prep to defend against a team that breaks out from a massed defence

We done all that against fermanagh in the league. Granted championship is a different animal but there is definitely a plan in place
Post by: general_lee on May 16, 2019, 10:18:56 PM
Team named

1. Blaine Hughes
2. Patrick Burns
3. Aaron McKay
4. Paul Hughes
5. Ryan Kennedy
6. Brendan Donaghy
7. Aidan Forker
8. Charlie Vernon
9. Jarlath Og Burns
10. Aidan Nugent
11. Ethan Rafferty
12. Jemar Hall
13. Rory Grugan
14. Rian O'Neill
15. Jamie Clarke

Whether that's the team that takes to the field on Sunday remains to be seen
Post by: BennyCake on May 16, 2019, 10:21:53 PM
I'd imagine there'll be at least 1 or 2 changes. McGeeney and his mind games.
Post by: naka on May 16, 2019, 10:29:56 PM
Quote from: general_lee on May 16, 2019, 10:18:56 PM
Team named

1. Blaine Hughes
2. Patrick Burns
3. Aaron McKay
4. Paul Hughes
5. Ryan Kennedy
6. Brendan Donaghy
7. Aidan Forker
8. Charlie Vernon
9. Jarlath Og Burns
10. Aidan Nugent
11. Ethan Rafferty
12. Jemar Hall
13. Rory Grugan
14. Rian O'Neill
15. Jamie Clarke

Jeez that's not a great side
No Campbell, Morgan, Sheridan, grimley
As I said Downs to lose
Post by: illdecide on May 16, 2019, 10:39:54 PM
Quote from: naka on May 16, 2019, 10:29:56 PM
Team named

1. Blaine Hughes
2. Patrick Burns
3. Aaron McKay
4. Paul Hughes
5. Ryan Kennedy
6. Brendan Donaghy
7. Aidan Forker
8. Charlie Vernon
9. Jarlath Og Burns
10. Aidan Nugent
11. Ethan Rafferty
12. Jemar Hall
13. Rory Grugan
14. Rian O'Neill
15. Jamie Clarke

As I said Downs to lose

That's 4 big game players out for us, considering Down's mid field are sh1te then we've just decided to give them a fair shout at it...
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 16, 2019, 10:50:05 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 16, 2019, 10:21:53 PM
First championship game against Down and McGeeney needs to play the mind game card already?
Post by: smelmoth on May 16, 2019, 10:53:54 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 16, 2019, 10:39:54 PM
Team named

1. Blaine Hughes
2. Patrick Burns
3. Aaron McKay
4. Paul Hughes
5. Ryan Kennedy
6. Brendan Donaghy
7. Aidan Forker
8. Charlie Vernon
9. Jarlath Og Burns
10. Aidan Nugent
11. Ethan Rafferty
12. Jemar Hall
13. Rory Grugan
14. Rian O'Neill
15. Jamie Clarke

As I said Downs to lose

That's 4 big game players out for us, considering Down's mid field are sh1te then we've just decided to give them a fair shout at it...

4 big game players out or 4 names missing from a page?

McCabe and Shields so make that 6
Post by: yellowcard on May 16, 2019, 11:14:49 PM
If that's the Armagh team then I'm a China man. Geezer rarely ever lines out as selected it is just to keep Tally guessing.
Post by: BennyCake on May 16, 2019, 11:15:45 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 16, 2019, 10:50:05 PM
First championship game against Down and McGeeney needs to play the mind game card already?

Aye, apparently so.
Post by: Solo_run on May 17, 2019, 12:16:16 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 16, 2019, 11:15:45 PM

Aye, apparently so.
But it isn't his first championship game against Down
Post by: BennyCake on May 17, 2019, 12:46:05 AM
Quote from: Solo_run on May 17, 2019, 12:16:16 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 16, 2019, 11:15:45 PM

Aye, apparently so.
But it isn't his first championship game against Down

Aye, but he doesn't know that. So don't tell him ;)
Post by: tonto1888 on May 17, 2019, 06:08:57 AM
Team named

1. Blaine Hughes
2. Patrick Burns
3. Aaron McKay
4. Paul Hughes
5. Ryan Kennedy
6. Brendan Donaghy
7. Aidan Forker
8. Charlie Vernon
9. Jarlath Og Burns
10. Aidan Nugent
11. Ethan Rafferty
12. Jemar Hall
13. Rory Grugan
14. Rian O'Neill
15. Jamie Clarke

As I said Downs to lose

Grimley only had the cast from a broken hand removed not too long ago. I imagine a couple of changes before throw in
Post by: regal on May 17, 2019, 08:28:09 PM
Kennedy, paddy burns and nugent must have trained exceptionally well since the league finished to get a championship start. None of them showed anything in the league to give the impression they'd be in the championship 15.

Vernon looked clean done when he was taken of in this game two years ago when playing full back after 20 minutes. Now he starts at midfield.

Post by: BennyCake on May 17, 2019, 08:51:01 PM
Quote from: regal on May 17, 2019, 08:28:09 PM
Kennedy, paddy burns and nugent must have trained exceptionally well since the league finished to get a championship "start". None of them showed anything in the league to give the impression they'd be in the championship 15.

Vernon looked clean done when he was taken of in this game two years ago when playing full back after 20 minutes. Now he starts at midfield.

It's a long time until 4pm Sunday.
Post by: Orior on May 17, 2019, 08:52:33 PM
Tickets will be on sale outside the stadium on Sunday, yes?
Post by: tonto1888 on May 18, 2019, 12:38:22 PM
Quote from: regal on May 17, 2019, 08:28:09 PM
Kennedy, paddy burns and nugent must have trained exceptionally well since the league finished to get a championship start. None of them showed anything in the league to give the impression they'd be in the championship 15.

Kennedy had a very good game v Fermanagh. Agree about the other two. Vernon has been playing good football this year
Post by: Angelo on May 18, 2019, 01:00:23 PM
Are Murnin and Oisín O'Neill still involved this year?
Post by: ardchieftain on May 18, 2019, 01:34:49 PM
Quote from: Angelo on May 18, 2019, 01:00:23 PM

Both injured, Hopefully they will be back soon.
Post by: Main Street on May 18, 2019, 02:59:58 PM
There's an article penned by someone called Peter Canavan in the Indo today, he says that Armagh will have to discover their inner Tyrone hunger, in order to reverse the pattern of defeats in the UC.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 18, 2019, 04:40:01 PM
Quote from: Angelo on May 18, 2019, 01:00:23 PM

I believe Oisín was playing for cross last night
Post by: Ambrose on May 19, 2019, 07:19:25 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on May 16, 2019, 11:14:49 PM
If that's the Armagh team then I'm a China man. Geezer rarely ever lines out as selected it is just to keep Tally guessing.

Geezer's mind games usually end up with Geezer doing the guessing, his Championship record speaks for itself.
25 years ago we played Derry in the first round in Celtic Park, a game that will long be remembered as a classic and virtually assured us of a second All Ireland in 3 years. No one would have believed that we'd have won nothing in the next quarter of a century. The way things are at the minute you wouldn't be too confident of things changing over the next 25 years.
Post by: naka on May 19, 2019, 08:51:13 AM
Hopefully good match later
Waking this morning  first time I feel am confident that the orchard will win
Just put £20 on a 4-6 point victory at 9/2
Here's hoping.
Post by: Dubh driocht on May 19, 2019, 09:56:54 AM
Really don't know what to expect today. Tally is a cautious coach but has limited options due to injuries and unavailable players. Some gambles in selection but unlikely that we'll take a hammering as we did in two out of the three seasons under Eamon Burns. Armagh have looked good at times in the last two years but McGeeney is poor at reading the game and his usfc record is atrocious. If the supply to Down's full forward line is good, and they keep their discipline, there are scores there. However Armagh have a strong midfield diamond, Jarlath og likely to dominate the fielding and unfortunately set up a win for the visitors.
Post by: BennyCake on May 19, 2019, 10:34:01 AM
I think it will be low scoring and defensive. I'm hoping our forwards of Grugan ONeill Clarke etc can get enough to swing it. I'm worried about Harrison and OHare against our defence. They'll do damage if supplied well.

Down 2-11 Armagh 2-13 AET
Post by: Ambrose on May 19, 2019, 10:36:58 AM
(https://vignette.wikia.nocookie.net/gameofthrones/images/f/f5/706_Army_of_the_Dead_Beyond_the_Wall.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20170821092428)

The Cullyhanna contingent heading to the Canal Court for a few pre game drinks.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 19, 2019, 10:43:21 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 19, 2019, 10:34:01 AM
I think it will be low scoring and defensive. I'm hoping our forwards of Grugan ONeill Clarke etc can get enough to swing it. I'm worried about Harrison and OHare against our defence. They'll do damage if supplied well.

Down 2-11 Armagh 2-13 AET

Harrison didn't do a lot in the league. Seemingly the best down okay at the moment doesn't suit his game
Post by: LCohen on May 19, 2019, 03:44:38 PM
Sub goalie starting at centre half forward
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 19, 2019, 04:42:02 PM
Down 1 point ahead that goal on 22 minutes the difference so far. Armagh will need to step it up 2nd half.
Post by: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 04:47:54 PM
Caolan Mooney received a straight red on 35 mins.

Post by: armaghniac on May 19, 2019, 04:50:12 PM
Reasonable start, poor later on.
Post by: dec on May 19, 2019, 04:53:22 PM
Any radio commentary streaming online?
Post by: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 04:55:10 PM
Quote from: dec on May 19, 2019, 04:53:22 PM

https://t.co/pVSmpbTP99
Post by: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 05:20:33 PM
Armagh 1-12
Down 1-10

Mark Shields with the goal
Post by: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 05:26:16 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 19, 2019, 05:25:07 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 05:20:33 PM
Armagh 1-12
Down 1-10

Mark Shields with the goal
1-08 for Down?

Sorry, yeah 1-8
Post by: Blowitupref on May 19, 2019, 05:33:11 PM
Just 2 points in it now. Down not going down without a fight.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 19, 2019, 05:37:52 PM
Leveler in the 38th minute Down 2-10  Armagh 1-13 FT extra time to be played.
Post by: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 05:40:54 PM
Armagh had two wides in the last 2 minutes of injury time. They are going to pay dearly for that.
Post by: dec on May 19, 2019, 05:42:20 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 04:55:10 PM

Thanks, it must be blocked overseas, I am in the US. There is a Live icon but it doesn't play the commentary
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 19, 2019, 05:43:27 PM
Poor by Armagh unable to seal the deal when 1-13 to 1-8 ahead.  Down have all the momentum for extra time now.

Post by: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 05:43:41 PM
Quote from: dec on May 19, 2019, 05:42:20 PM

Thanks, it must be blocked overseas, I am in the US. There is a Live icon but it doesn't play the commentary

Have you got a VPN?
Post by: snoopdog on May 19, 2019, 05:45:33 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 05:43:41 PM

Have you got a VPN?
Extra time should e on rte radio 1 hopefully.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on May 19, 2019, 05:50:18 PM
Is this deferred later? If so what channel?
Post by: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 05:53:12 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on May 19, 2019, 05:50:18 PM

BBC  2 NI
Post by: DrinkingHarp on May 19, 2019, 05:54:38 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 05:53:12 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on May 19, 2019, 05:50:18 PM

BBC  2 NI

Thanks
Post by: dec on May 19, 2019, 05:56:30 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 19, 2019, 05:45:33 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 05:43:41 PM

Have you got a VPN?
Extra time should e on rte radio 1 hopefully.

Yes,  I can get the rte 1 feed and they have switched to the extra time commentary
Post by: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 06:02:34 PM
Armagh have put Gregor McCabe in the Full Forward Line - he is a defender.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 19, 2019, 06:08:41 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 19, 2019, 05:58:54 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 19, 2019, 05:43:27 PM
Poor by Armagh unable to seal the deal when 1-13 to 1-8 ahead.  Down have all the momentum for extra time now.
Criminal game management there.
Absolutely and lack of leaders on the field also. Outscored 1-5 to 0-1 since the 66th minute.
Post by: dec on May 19, 2019, 06:09:40 PM
The RTE commentary suggested that 1 of the Down extra time points should have been a wide.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 19, 2019, 06:17:18 PM
Goal for Armagh fisted to the net. They lead by 3
Post by: Blowitupref on May 19, 2019, 06:25:01 PM
A Down goal with less than a minute to go. Down 3-13 Armagh 2-17 FT
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 19, 2019, 06:26:56 PM
A rare Ulster championship win for Armagh under McGeeney.  Had to win that game twice and still only fell over the line. Old fashion route one tactics worked a treat in the 2nd half of extra time. Cavan will be the hot favourites for the semi final but will they be able to handle that favourites tag well?
Post by: snoopdog on May 19, 2019, 06:43:01 PM
Disappointing at the end. Downs lack of discipline cost them the game. Mooney getting sent off then Burns turned everything in Armaghs favour.  Did well though to get it to extra time. But then couldn't finish it off. Not much between them.
Post by: David McKeown on May 19, 2019, 06:43:52 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 05:40:54 PM
Armagh had two wides in the last 2 minutes of injury time. They are going to pay dearly for that.

Not that dearly through luck more than skill. Two poor teams produced a great (in terms of excitement) game.
Post by: RandyDupree on May 19, 2019, 07:26:13 PM
They said on BBC that Clarke doesn't play club football?
Post by: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 07:28:11 PM
Quote from: RandyDupree on May 19, 2019, 07:26:13 PM

Think he opted out of playing for Cross this year.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 19, 2019, 08:22:30 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 07:28:11 PM

Correct. Baffling that a man can play for his county yet refuses to play for his club.
Post by: Over the Bar on May 19, 2019, 08:24:37 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 19, 2019, 06:43:01 PM
Disappointing at the end. Downs lack of discipline cost them the game. Mooney getting sent off then Burns turned everything in Armaghs favour.  Did well though to get it to extra time. But then couldn't finish it off. Not much between them.

Entertaining enough fayre from the 2 teams currently regarded as 'toilet-brushes' of Ulster football.  Fittingly played in the 'bog' marshes!  ;D. Doubtful if Cavan will have anything to fear from an Armagh side who couldn't put 14-man Down away in 70 mins?
Post by: armaghniac on May 19, 2019, 08:38:44 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 19, 2019, 08:22:30 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on May 19, 2019, 07:28:11 PM

Correct. Baffling that a man can play for his county yet refuses to play for his club.

And a club where he is likely to get additional silverware.

Mind you, today he looks like he could do with the additional practice.
Post by: Over the Bar on May 19, 2019, 08:40:49 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 19, 2019, 08:26:41 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on May 19, 2019, 08:24:37 PM

Entertaining enough fayre from the 2 teams currently regarded as 'toilet-brushes' of Ulster football.  Fittingly played in the 'bog' marshes!  ;D. Doubtful if Cavan will have anything to fear from an Armagh side who couldn't put 10-man Down away in 70 mins?
Couldn't beat 10 men? That is bad.

Ah ha! Meant 14 I'll give you that ;)
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 19, 2019, 08:47:32 PM
Thought McGeeney came up trumps when it mattered. Key decisions were made under pressure on the line. A highly-rated manager, not just at Ulster-level, but at national level. 
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 19, 2019, 08:48:45 PM
Watching the game on BBC now, that was some pass and finish for that Armagh goal in extra time.
Post by: Tubberman on May 19, 2019, 08:51:46 PM
A fair few tanned legs in Armagh!
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 19, 2019, 08:52:42 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 19, 2019, 08:48:45 PM
Watching the game on BBC now, that was some pass and finish for that Armagh goal in extra time.
BBC not afford to show the score?! Very annoying.
Post by: Over the Bar on May 19, 2019, 08:57:11 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on May 19, 2019, 08:47:32 PM
Thought McGeeney came up trumps when it mattered. Key decisions were made under pressure on the line. A highly-rated manager, not just at Ulster-level, but at national level.

If it takes 5 years of trying to get your first SFC win and that makes you 'highly rated' then there can't be that many managers in the history of Ulster GAA who aren't regarded as 'highly rated'?  ??? ;D ;D
Post by: LCohen on May 19, 2019, 09:03:43 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on May 19, 2019, 08:47:32 PM

Presumably tongue in cheek.

Some crazy stuff from the line today. The decision to not push up on their kick outs from the off (again!!!!!!) instead of having the balls to go for it was baffling. Then not really doing it with the man advantage even more so. We have no real strategy on our own kick outs. Closing out the 70 mins by kicking each one long, conceding possession, conceding a score, building Down momentum and kicking it long again. All with the man advantage and the clock ticking down. No senior player talking to the keeper. Nobody making a run. Nobody from the the line trying to get the message out there. You would question whether we work on kick outs

Don't have to go gung-ho but we need to build a team and game plan based upon our attacking strength
Post by: bennydorano on May 19, 2019, 09:10:48 PM
Jesus, watched it there without knowing the score, entertaining but pretty pathetic from Armagh in the inability  to close that out in normal time.

Hopefully with a that bit of a monkey of our backs we'll settle down now and give Cavan a game.
Post by: An Watcher on May 19, 2019, 09:15:37 PM
Jesus lads, yes exciting but brutal to watch.  I could have cried when i seen there was going to be extra time.  Just wanted put out of my misery.  Can't just say it is only these 2 teams tho either, Gaelic football overall is getting worse
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 19, 2019, 09:47:19 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on May 19, 2019, 09:15:37 PM
Jesus lads, yes exciting but brutal to watch.  I could have cried when i seen there was going to be extra time.  Just wanted put out of my misery.  Can't just say it is only these 2 teams tho either, Gaelic football overall is getting worse

Very negative view. Just watched the full game and found it enjoyable.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on May 19, 2019, 10:05:40 PM

Did someone sit with a gun at your head and make you watch it?
Post by: Nanderson on May 19, 2019, 10:05:50 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 19, 2019, 09:47:19 PM

Very negative view. Just watched the full game and found it enjoyable.
Give me that type of game last night in Cavan an today in Newry any day over watching Dublin and Kerry steam roll their way through games. Yea its nice to watch but its boring as hell
Post by: yellowcard on May 19, 2019, 10:20:51 PM
The quality wasn't great but the closeness of the score and the local derby element kept it interesting. Armagh done their best to try and not win the match against a very ordinary Down side and you'd have to question the starting team and the game plan from management.
Post by: Over the Bar on May 19, 2019, 10:52:00 PM
McGeeney obviously took a leaf out of Pillar Caffrey's management book of failure today. Shouldering a blindsided Down player during the interval. Classlessness personified.
Post by: BennyCake on May 19, 2019, 11:48:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 19, 2019, 08:26:41 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on May 19, 2019, 08:24:37 PM

Entertaining enough fayre from the 2 teams currently regarded as 'toilet-brushes' of Ulster football.  Fittingly played in the 'bog' marshes!  ;D. Doubtful if Cavan will have anything to fear from an Armagh side who couldn't put 10-man Down away in 70 mins?
Couldn't beat 10 men? That is bad.

He's been watching too much of that soccerball
Post by: armaghniac on May 19, 2019, 11:48:22 PM
I'm sure you are an authority on classlessness, Over the Bar.
Post by: BennyCake on May 19, 2019, 11:50:08 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on May 19, 2019, 10:52:00 PM
McGeeney obviously took a leaf out of Pillar Caffrey's management book of failure today. Shouldering a blindsided Down player during the interval. Classlessness personified.

Aye he did let himself down there
Post by: Main Street on May 19, 2019, 11:59:05 PM
I thought Down had the game won after going 3 points up in ET. No fairy tales in the Ulster championship

2x 15 mins ET is too long,  2x 10mins is enough.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 19, 2019, 11:59:23 PM
Clarke gave his gloves to my nephew at the end of the game today. Absolutely made the wee mans day. Fair play to Jamie. Class on and off the pitch
Post by: tonto1888 on May 19, 2019, 11:59:51 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 19, 2019, 11:59:05 PM
I thought Down had the game won after going 3 points up in ET. No fairy tales in the Ulster championship

It was 2 ten minute periods
Post by: Main Street on May 20, 2019, 12:05:14 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 19, 2019, 11:59:51 PM

felt like 2 x 15 minutes
Post by: tonto1888 on May 20, 2019, 12:09:17 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 20, 2019, 12:05:14 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 19, 2019, 11:59:51 PM

felt like 2 x 15 minutes

Quite a few injuries so a fair bit of added time
Post by: Over the Bar on May 20, 2019, 12:12:01 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 19, 2019, 11:59:23 PM
Clarke gave his gloves to my nephew at the end of the game today. Absolutely made the wee mans day. Fair play to Jamie. Class on and off the pitch

+1. Unlike his manager
Post by: tonto1888 on May 20, 2019, 12:13:14 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on May 20, 2019, 12:12:01 AM

+1. Unlike his manager

McGeeney was very classy with everyone at the open morning a fortnight ago so will have to disagree. The incident you refer today was nothing at all
Post by: Over the Bar on May 20, 2019, 12:32:26 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 20, 2019, 12:13:14 AM

+1. Unlike his manager

McGeeney was very classy with everyone at the open morning a fortnight ago so will have to disagree. The incident you refer today was nothing at all

Open morning with the public has nothing to do with it. A manager is judged by he conducts himself during the game and McGeeney let himself down a bagful.  Blind-sided the Down player during the interval while he was running of the field. Could easily have put him out of the game. Shit-house tactics reminiscent of Pillar and we all know what those won in the long run.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 20, 2019, 06:59:40 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on May 20, 2019, 12:32:26 AM

+1. Unlike his manager

Open morning with the public has nothing to do with it. A manager is judged by he conducts himself during the game and McGeeney let himself down a bagful.  Blind-sided the Down player during the interval while he was running of the field. Could easily have put him out of the game. Shit-house tactics reminiscent of Pillar and we all know what those won in the long run.
A bit of an over exaggeration there
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 20, 2019, 08:14:50 AM

+1. Unlike his manager

The man's an embarrassment and the sooner he's out the door the better. Not the first time he's let the county down with his antics.
Post by: Armagh18 on May 20, 2019, 08:31:09 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on May 20, 2019, 08:14:50 AM

+1. Unlike his manager

The man's an embarrassment and the sooner he's out the door the better. Not the first time he's let the county down with his antics.
Some anti-McGeeney agenda bullshit being spewed on here. I'm no huge fan of his and I'd like him to do plenty differently, but theres a good few on here that wouldn't praise him if we got to an All-Ireland.
Post by: LCohen on May 20, 2019, 09:14:11 AM
By the letter of the law McGeeney could be in trouble but some of the descriptions on here of the incident are a joke.

In the game O'Neill could have had a red. It was the merest tsp to the side of the head but that's a red now. I actually think the antics of Guinness kept Rian on the pitch as the linesman didn't want to appear to have fallen for what was the worst play acting I have ever seen on a gaa pitch. If there is close footage of that incident then YouTube stardom beckons for Guinness. Shameful stuff

Post by: yellowcard on May 20, 2019, 09:45:40 AM
Let's get real, the McGeeney incident was nothing more than a bit of a dunt, to say that he could have put a well conditioned athlete like McKernan out of the game is pure hyperbole. McKernan didn't complain too much about it. Caolan Mooney was out gesticulating and finger pointing and this was after forcing his team to play with 14 men for 45 minutes, he should have been hiding in a corner not out trying to start another row.
Post by: Applesisapples on May 20, 2019, 09:45:55 AM
Quote from: LCohen on May 20, 2019, 09:14:11 AM
By the letter of the law McGeeney could be in trouble but some of the descriptions on here of the incident are a joke.

In the game O'Neill could have had a red. It was the merest tsp to the side of the head but that's a red now. I actually think the antics of Guinness kept Rian on the pitch as the linesman didn't want to appear to have fallen for what was the worst play acting I have ever seen on a gaa pitch. If there is close footage of that incident then YouTube stardom beckons for Guinness. Shameful stuff
It was slight and purely accidental in my view.
Post by: Armamike on May 20, 2019, 09:51:48 AM
Sorry guys but that was very poor from McGeeney.  You can't have a manager at that. Firstly, it makes himself look daft, it shows a lack of control and focus, and it sends a bad message out to the players.  We lack enough discipline as it is, without the manager at that.  I've never seen that from a successful manager.

Good resolve shown by us to come back in extra time when 3 points down.  Almost blew a golden opportunity in normal time with Down's red card and their keeper thinking he was a half back (an accident waiting to happen and probably the one bad piece of coaching by Tally).  The lack of game management is a problem as we've seen over the past couple of years.  We decided to sit back a bit and play keep ball at 5 up but we're not tight enough at the back to see out games that way - we don't close down the spaces and when we do we concede cheap frees.  I thought all over the pitch from the off we sat off too much in general and we weren't brave enough to close down and go for the ball. Down had far too much time to play around us.  I thought Down looked a very well coached and drilled team whereas we relied more on the individual talents of players like Clarke, O'Neill, Murnin etc.

But, any kind of win in the championship for this set of players will do at this point and it's a hurdle they've managed to overcome.  Hopefully it will spur the team on and they will take a bit of belief into the Cavan game.
Post by: Aristo 60 on May 20, 2019, 10:02:34 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 15, 2019, 03:36:41 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on May 15, 2019, 03:18:48 PM

Aren't yous lucky to get a Cross' woman into Down to provide you with footballers.

And in the end Cabra's Murnin stole it for Armagh  :(

Auld Andy of 1946 vintage will be spinning in his grave (RIP)

Post by: Armamike on May 20, 2019, 10:05:01 AM
Indeed. And we gave you Greg Blaney!
Post by: Aristo 60 on May 20, 2019, 10:30:49 AM
Sure Greg didn't play yesterday?

:o
Post by: JoG2 on May 20, 2019, 10:44:41 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on May 19, 2019, 10:52:00 PM

You questioning another man's class belongs in the WTF thread ! Comedy gold
Post by: johnnycool on May 20, 2019, 10:53:13 AM
Quote from: Armamike on May 20, 2019, 10:05:01 AM
Indeed. And we gave you Greg Blaney!

There's also a bit of Tyrone in Greg.

Square ball can correct me.

I'd expect McGeeney to get the same as wee Davy Fitz did a few years back when he dunted the Tipp lad.

A wee spell in the stands.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 20, 2019, 11:16:14 AM
A curate's egg of a performance.  Firstly, well done to all involved in the win. To win in the Ulster Championship has been a very big psychological hurdle for this group but an important thing was that there were 4-5 who have not played or played very little in Ulster so the baggage was not there and they had some freedom to play.  Also, beating Down in Newry is always a good result and given that they hadn't been beaten in 63 years in championship makes it even better.

The positives are there.  Some good defenders but still a bit below level as a unit.  Thought Kennedy out in a very good shift for a newbie and Morgan did well when he came in.    In MF Burns did well and I think he will compliment Niall Grimley very well when he gets back fully fit.  Vernon is not the man for MF anymore but may be useful on the square as some have suggested as there is a serious lack of strength back there.

Up front Nugent impressed on his debut and he has a good opportunity now to establish himself.  Clarke played better than he has for a while which makes his refusal to play for his club even more frustrating.  I have major reservations about this whole scenario and it seems to be being brushed under the carpet to an extent.  The notion that a player can openly refuse to play for his club and then play for the county is unsettling.  I recall during my playing days when we were going for an All Ireland and the Armagh management at the time threatened to have Oisin, the Twins and Paul Hearty suspended from the club scene as they wouldn't play National League.  We were playing in an Ulster Final the week after a National league game,  back when there were games pre-Christmas.  This notion of the county outweighing the club is something I find unfair and really it sends a bad message that a lad can play for the county and not play for the club.  It won't happen but questions should be raised as this open action of refusing to play for your club while playing for the county is wrong and goes against the ethos of the game in my opinion.

Anyway,  the performance of Rian was outstanding and he certainly has it all.  If Grimley, Murnin and Oisin O'Neill can get back fit I think between them there is a central spine from MF forward that can be devastating if properly utilized.  The pure talent these lads have is exceptional and if the right players are played round them then they can do anything in my opinion.  If I was picking the team from MF forward and all were fit I would play Grimley and Burns in MF, a half forward line of Clarke, O O'Neill and Nugent and a FF line triangle of 2 targets in Rian and Murnin with Soupy floating either side of them.  Soupy and Jamie could interchange from HF to FF lines. 

As you will see Grugan is not in the team and to be honest this brings me to my negatives.  I thought he was poor and has been poor for some time.  He is captain and it is not suiting him.  He is not a big game player and certainly not a leader.  I actually thought that was one of the big concerns yesterday in terms of leadership and calmness at key times.  The game should have been won in normal time.  Down were a busted flush with 14 men (rightly so,  clear red card), and with a keeper gone for a black card.  The game management was poor and the experienced players like Grugan, Donaghy, Forker, etc should have been taking control of the game at different times and calming the whole thing down.  Lying down, cramp etc, break up momentum.  This didn't happen.  Some of the football was kamikaze and the OG goal summed that up.  Leadership is needed.  There is no disputing the drive and desire but there needs to be a bit more cuteness.

As alluded to already there is an issue at the FB and GK position in my opinion.  I have suggested Vernon at FB but that is just a sticky plaster.  Blaine Hughes is a decent keeper but he is a weak link as he has limited presence.  I have heard a story about an outfield player was approached to play goals and he subsequently removed himself from the panel.  This player would have a significant better presence that Hughes so maybe that was the thinking.  Long term there needs to be a bit of clever thinking about this position.

Management made decent substitutions but also made a few head scratchers.  Also the whole McGeeney incident with McKernan was embarrassing and out of line for his part. As a manager you need to have a bit of coolness and leadership and in that one incident this was lacking.  If the rules are applied he could be looking at 12 weeks in the stand.

Finally,  and not to piss on people's chips,  but this is  a very poor Down team.  They couldn't get out of Division 3.  We played against 14 men for 40 minutes,  we were 5 points up with time almost up and drew and we were 4 up with time up in ET and conceded poorly again. This will not do against Cavan, whom I thought looked excellent on Saturday night. 

Some good some bad but the key thing is a win.  Confidence and momentum can hopefully build.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 20, 2019, 11:25:47 AM
A entertaining game for both sets of fans and neutrals id say.
Armagh are their own worst enemies, with a baffling starting 15 and team set up and a style of play that doesnt play to their strengths. They invited a more mobile and fluid Down side onto them by retreating into their own half with multiple sweepers even when 5pts up which was beggars belief. Down worked a similar system but worked it better it seemed. Armagh barged down blind allies carrying the ball into a swarm of red n black and repeatedly turned ball over. Individual flashes of quality and a jammy goal saw them over the line but only just.

Down impressed due to their hunger and energy and clear commitment to a system of play that suits their personnel/size. They looked a well coached and disciplined side and the more the game wore on they looked the side with more belief in what they were doing, even if the sending off and black card derailed them slightly. This young side demonstrated alot of the qualities that have been missing in recent years and the lesser-known players really stepped up at critical junctures in the game. There is definitely room for improvement in that side and with a bit of momentum and a few wins they could form a decent side.

For me, Mooney shouldnt have seen red. Yes he has a duty of care to the man he attempts to tackle but with the speed/angle he was going at and with Nugent checking back inside, any contact was going to look severe. There was no clear raising of an elbow or arm to make contact but rather a shaping to shoulder which clearly was mistimed or misdirected. His direct running and ability to punch holes in the Armagh defence was a massive loss.

Down also have an issue with goalkeepers it seems and thats worrying.

BCB1, i dont know the ins and outs whet youse have done on Clarke up there but i have to agree with you. Its not personal but no player has any business on a county panel yet alone playing unless they are there representing their club. Dont play for a club then you shouldnt be playing for county.

Rory Grugan shouldnt be starting for Armagh due to form and he certainly isnt fit to capt an intercounty team. Lacks leadership, presence and above all he doesnt inspire at all.

Team selection baffles too. Morgan has to start but only if he is muzzled and can behave. Armagh carrying too many older heads that McGeeney seems very loyal to, fellas that arent as mobile or fit for the athleticism of the modern game. You cant be starting Vernon, Forker, Donaghy and Ethan Rafferty all on the same team. There are more athletic and dynamic players on the bench and when you see Vernon being brought back on again youd have to ask yourself some questions if you were a sub.
Goalkeeping situation is a joke with Jack Grugan being asked to fill in as a goalkeeper in recent weeks and the Oisin O'Neil named as no 16 on matchday. Something not right there, but then again everyone knows McGeeney has no time for Goalkeepers.

He also needs to look at his conduct at full time. The macho bullsh!t and chest beating precipitates down through that team and it comes from the management team. Down had an inferior team on paper and are behind in terms of their development compared to Armagh but if i were an Armagh fan id be rippin at how that game went yesterday
Post by: Keyser soze on May 20, 2019, 11:34:25 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 20, 2019, 11:16:14 AM
A curate's egg of a performance.  Firstly, well done to all involved in the win. To win in the Ulster Championship has been a very big psychological hurdle for this group but an important thing was that there were 4-5 who have not played or played very little in Ulster so the baggage was not there and they had some freedom to play.  Also, beating Down in Newry is always a good result and given that they hadn't been beaten in 63 years in championship makes it even better.

The positives are there.  Some good defenders but still a bit below level as a unit.  Thought Kennedy out in a very good shift for a newbie and Morgan did well when he came in.    In MF Burns did well and I think he will compliment Niall Grimley very well when he gets back fully fit.  Vernon is not the man for MF anymore but may be useful on the square as some have suggested as there is a serious lack of strength back there.

Up front Nugent impressed on his debut and he has a good opportunity now to establish himself.  Clarke played better than he has for a while which makes his refusal to play for his club even more frustrating.  I have major reservations about this whole scenario and it seems to be being brushed under the carpet to an extent.  The notion that a player can openly refuse to play for his club and then play for the county is unsettling.  I recall during my playing days when we were going for an All Ireland and the Armagh management at the time threatened to have Oisin, the Twins and Paul Hearty suspended from the club scene as they wouldn't play National League.  We were playing in an Ulster Final the week after a National league game,  back when there were games pre-Christmas.  This notion of the county outweighing the club is something I find unfair and really it sends a bad message that a lad can play for the county and not play for the club.  It won't happen but questions should be raised as this open action of refusing to play for your club while playing for the county is wrong and goes against the ethos of the game in my opinion.

Anyway,  the performance of Rian was outstanding and he certainly has it all.  If Grimley, Murnin and Oisin O'Neill can get back fit I think between them there is a central spine from MF forward that can be devastating if properly utilized.  The pure talent these lads have is exceptional and if the right players are played round them then they can do anything in my opinion.  If I was picking the team from MF forward and all were fit I would play Grimley and Burns in MF, a half forward line of Clarke, O O'Neill and Nugent and a FF line triangle of 2 targets in Rian and Murnin with Soupy floating either side of them.  Soupy and Jamie could interchange from HF to FF lines. 

As you will see Grugan is not in the team and to be honest this brings me to my negatives.  I thought he was poor and has been poor for some time.  He is captain and it is not suiting him.  He is not a big game player and certainly not a leader.  I actually thought that was one of the big concerns yesterday in terms of leadership and calmness at key times.  The game should have been won in normal time.  Down were a busted flush with 14 men (rightly so,  clear red card), and with a keeper gone for a black card.  The game management was poor and the experienced players like Grugan, Donaghy, Forker, etc should have been taking control of the game at different times and calming the whole thing down. Lying down, cramp etc, break up momentum.  This didn't happen.  Some of the football was kamikaze and the OG goal summed that up.  Leadership is needed.  There is no disputing the drive and desire but there needs to be a bit more cuteness.

As alluded to already there is an issue at the FB and GK position in my opinion.  I have suggested Vernon at FB but that is just a sticky plaster.  Blaine Hughes is a decent keeper but he is a weak link as he has limited presence.  I have heard a story about an outfield player was approached to play goals and he subsequently removed himself from the panel.  This player would have a significant better presence that Hughes so maybe that was the thinking.  Long term there needs to be a bit of clever thinking about this position.

Management made decent substitutions but also made a few head scratchers.  Also the whole McGeeney incident with McKernan was embarrassing and out of line for his part. As a manager you need to have a bit of coolness and leadership and in that one incident this was lacking.  If the rules are applied he could be looking at 12 weeks in the stand.

Finally,  and not to piss on people's chips,  but this is  a very poor Down team.  They couldn't get out of Division 3.  We played against 14 men for 40 minutes,  we were 5 points up with time almost up and drew and we were 4 up with time up in ET and conceded poorly again. This will not do against Cavan, whom I thought looked excellent on Saturday night. 

Some good some bad but the key thing is a win.  Confidence and momentum can hopefully build.

Maybe it was just me but I thought Armagh did plenty of lying down, didn't count the number but it appeared to me that the Armagh players  hit the ground after any contact no matter how slight and the physio was on to give them a wee rub and a drink.  Not saying this didn't happen with the Down players too but it seemed to happen repeatedly for Armagh after there was any contact whatsoever.

In general this 'lie down after contact and don't get up until the physio comes on and says there there' is a complete PITA, big strong lads getting the slightest tap and lying down as if poleaxed, embarassing tbh. 

Also why both teams were f****** about with handpasses around the middle when it was clear if you kicked the ball in long you were gonna get a goal was beyond me. 
Post by: illdecide on May 20, 2019, 11:57:04 AM
I'm not a fan of KMcG TBH but don't think there was much in that incident yesterday to warrant any bans, I know he shouldn't have done it and he barely moved McKernan and to be fair to McKernan he just brushed on past...a nothing moment. I know you wouldn't see Micky Harte doing stupid stuff like that but hey...

When Down got a man sent off i was just hoping KMcG would have had the balls to throw an extra man up front (this would have forced Down to go long with their kick outs rather than letting them have possession every time from their own kick outs) and go for it instead of having another sweeper ::), the game was decent entertainment but not the best of quality but a win is a win and we'll take it. Cavan will be big favourites to beat Armagh and rightly so but i'd much rather face Cavan than Monaghan TBH.

Agreed Rory G was very poor yesterday along with E Rafferty, Vernon and A Forker was just ok (I'd imagine the 3rd minute yellow card curtailed him a bit) but to end on a positive there was 6-7 lads who played well...J Clarke, S Campbell, J Burns, R O'Neill, Morgan, Nugent & Murnin when he came on...
KMcG has some thinking to do for 2 weeks time as a few lads there who were benched yesterday played a lot better than the starters, M Shields done well when introduced and Ben Crealey too although I think Ben looks a bit light but really benefited yesterday that most of the players looked fecked in extra time and he'd a lot of energy around the middle. Assuming Murnin has no reaction to yesterday then he'll be in contention for 2 weeks time and if not starting be at least good for a full 35 mins, I believe O O'Neill is almost fit too...Jasus a win against Cavan and them lads getting more time to get fit from their injuries would leave us in a lot better shape...An ulster final leaves us to win one game to get into the Super 8's (a f*ck i'm getting carried away here...lol)...

Where is Cavan match in 2 weeks?
Did Sheridan get a bad injury yesterday?

Post by: lurganblue on May 20, 2019, 12:00:30 PM

As you will see Grugan is not in the team and to be honest this brings me to my negatives.  I thought he was poor and has been poor for some time.  He is captain and it is not suiting him.  He is not a big game player and certainly not a leader.  I actually thought that was one of the big concerns yesterday in terms of leadership and calmness at key times.  The game should have been won in normal time.  Down were a busted flush with 14 men (rightly so,  clear red card), and with a keeper gone for a black card.  The game management was poor and the experienced players like Grugan, Donaghy, Forker, etc should have been taking control of the game at different times and calming the whole thing down.  Lying down, cramp etc, break up momentum.  This didn't happen.  Some of the football was kamikaze and the OG goal summed that up.  Leadership is needed.  There is no disputing the drive and desire but there needs to be a bit more cuteness.

Heard a similar rumour about a big FF in our club being approached to play GK but he refused.  I passed it off as bullsh*t but maybe there was a little truth to it after all.

I was amazed that the team that was named was actually the team that started to be honest.  Surely our strongest team includes Morgan, Shields and Soup (Grimley and Murnin too but i'll give them a bye ball with injuries).  Real problems in the full back line and it's something that will have to be addressed very quickly.  How Donaghy retreats to the line instead of closing O'Hare down for the 2nd goal I will never know. Nobody seemed to read the flight of the ball for the 3rd.  I'd be disappointed at club level with those goals fs.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 20, 2019, 12:00:43 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on May 20, 2019, 11:25:47 AM
Armagh are their own worst enemies, with a baffling starting 15 and team set up and a style of play that doesnt play to their strengths. They invited a more mobile and fluid Down side onto them by retreating into their own half with multiple sweepers even when 5pts up which was beggars belief. Down worked a similar system but worked it better it seemed. Armagh barged down blind allies carrying the ball into a swarm of red n black and repeatedly turned ball over. Individual flashes of quality and a jammy goal saw them over the line but only just.

Down impressed due to their hunger and energy and clear commitment to a system of play that suits their personnel/size. They looked a well coached and disciplined side and the more the game wore on they looked the side with more belief in what they were doing, even if the sending off and black card derailed them slightly. This young side demonstrated alot of the qualities that have been missing in recent years and the lesser-known players really stepped up at critical junctures in the game. There is definitely room for improvement in that side and with a bit of momentum and a few wins they could form a decent side.

For me, Mooney shouldnt have seen red. Yes he has a duty of care to the man he attempts to tackle but with the speed/angle he was going at and with Nugent checking back inside, any contact was going to look severe. There was no clear raising of an elbow or arm to make contact but rather a shaping to shoulder which clearly was mistimed or misdirected. His direct running and ability to punch holes in the Armagh defence was a massive loss.

BCB1, i dont know the ins and outs whet youse have done on Clarke up there but i have to agree with you. Its not personal but no player has any business on a county panel yet alone playing unless they are there representing their club. Dont play for a club then you shouldnt be playing for county.

Rory Grugan shouldnt be starting for Armagh due to form and he certainly isnt fit to capt an intercounty team. Lacks leadership, presence and above all he doesnt inspire at all.

Team selection baffles too. Morgan has to start but only if he is muzzled and can behave. Armagh carrying too many older heads that McGeeney seems very loyal to, fellas that arent as mobile or fit for the athleticism of the modern game. You cant be starting Vernon, Forker, Donaghy and Ethan Rafferty all on the same team. There are more athletic and dynamic players on the bench and when you see Vernon being brought back on again youd have to ask yourself some questions if you were a sub.
Goalkeeping situation is a joke with Jack Grugan being asked to fill in as a goalkeeper in recent weeks and the Oisin O'Neil named as no 16 on matchday. Something not right there, but then again everyone knows McGeeney has no time for Goalkeepers.

He also needs to look at his conduct at full time. The macho bullsh!t and chest beating precipitates down through that team and it comes from the management team. Down had an inferior team on paper and are behind in terms of their development compared to Armagh but if i were an Armagh fan id be rippin at how that game went yesterday

Agree with a lot of this tho I don't think Forker was fit. Donaghy had a poor day at the office but is usually better.

Not sure I like the term muzzled but can see where you are coming from re Morgan. He's an old fashioned defender with some modern aspects too. Supports attacked very well. Hits hard and is aggressive but sometimes crossed the line
Post by: Mourne Rover on May 20, 2019, 12:03:48 PM
LCohen refers to the possibility of the O'Neill/Guinness incident appearing on YouTube but it was shown in full during the television coverage last night. There is no doubt that O'Neill's open hand caught Guinness on the side of the face. The level of contact was obviously less than in the Mooney episode but by the letter of the law both were potential red cards. Mooney walked before the break and O'Neill stayed on in extra time to hit what turned out to be the winning point and collect the man of the match award. Both sides could point to other questionable decisions but, in a game of tight margins, the absence of Mooney and the presence of O'Neill were probably crucial.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 20, 2019, 12:07:25 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 20, 2019, 12:00:30 PM

Heard a similar rumour about a big FF in our club being approached to play GK but he refused.  I passed it off as bullsh*t but maybe there was a little truth to it after all.

I was amazed that the team that was named was actually the team that started to be honest.  Surely our strongest team includes Morgan, Shields and Soup (Grimley and Murnin too but i'll give them a bye ball with injuries).  Real problems in the full back line and it's something that will have to be addressed very quickly.  How Donaghy retreats to the line instead of closing O'Hare down for the 2nd goal I will never know. Nobody seemed to read the flight of the ball for the 3rd.  I'd be disappointed at club level with those goals fs.

Brick Tamlin has mentioned the name I heard so there is obviously some substance to it. 

You'll find that there has been nothing but support for Jamie over the years and the club facilitated him to travel in and out of the team for his whole career. 
Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 20, 2019, 12:09:12 PM
Are the highlights available anywhere online?
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 20, 2019, 12:12:21 PM
Am i imagining this or was Ethan Rafferty also names as no16 2 years ago in the same fixture?

Some dicking about with ghoalkeepers all of McGeeneys tenure.
Courtney debacle in Cavan was another curve ball.
Post by: Solo_run on May 20, 2019, 12:14:52 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on May 20, 2019, 12:09:12 PM
Are the highlights available anywhere online?

Should be on BBC iplayer
Post by: In hiding on May 20, 2019, 12:22:01 PM
I'm kinda surprised at the opinion that James Morgan did well when he came on.
I thought he gave away some really stupid frees. Seems to be a bit of a liability to be honest
Post by: illdecide on May 20, 2019, 12:24:58 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 20, 2019, 12:00:30 PM

Yip, v true indeed. The lad declined KMcG's offer for to be reserve goal keeper for 2 reasons...1) he's deadly in front of goal and 2) he wanted to complete his degree and get his career up and running firstly before committing to County Football
Post by: tonto1888 on May 20, 2019, 12:31:46 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 20, 2019, 11:57:04 AM
I'm not a fan of KMcG TBH but don't think there was much in that incident yesterday to warrant any bans, I know he shouldn't have done it and he barely moved McKernan and to be fair to McKernan he just brushed on past...a nothing moment. I know you wouldn't see Micky Harte doing stupid stuff like that but hey...

When Down got a man sent off i was just hoping KMcG would have had the balls to throw an extra man up front (this would have forced Down to go long with their kick outs rather than letting them have possession every time from their own kick outs) and go for it instead of having another sweeper ::), the game was decent entertainment but not the best of quality but a win is a win and we'll take it. Cavan will be big favourites to beat Armagh and rightly so but i'd much rather face Cavan than Monaghan TBH.

Agreed Rory G was very poor yesterday along with E Rafferty, Vernon and A Forker was just ok (I'd imagine the 3rd minute yellow card curtailed him a bit) but to end on a positive there was 6-7 lads who played well...J Clarke, S Campbell, J Burns, R O'Neill, Morgan, Nugent & Murnin when he came on...
KMcG has some thinking to do for 2 weeks time as a few lads there who were benched yesterday played a lot better than the starters, M Shields done well when introduced and Ben Crealey too although I think Ben looks a bit light but really benefited yesterday that most of the players looked fecked in extra time and he'd a lot of energy around the middle. Assuming Murnin has no reaction to yesterday then he'll be in contention for 2 weeks time and if not starting be at least good for a full 35 mins, I believe O O'Neill is almost fit too...Jasus a win against Cavan and them lads getting more time to get fit from their injuries would leave us in a lot better shape...An ulster final leaves us to win one game to get into the Super 8's (a f*ck i'm getting carried away here...lol)...

Where is Cavan match in 2 weeks?
Did Sheridan get a bad injury yesterday?

Sheridan was helped off the pitch and it did look bad
Post by: Applesisapples on May 20, 2019, 12:33:04 PM
Jamie Clarke should not play county if he doesn't play club. I understood you needed to be a registered member of a club to play county, obviously not. I recall a dispute regarding an Armagh County hurler in the 80's/90's who wasn't playing with his club but registers with a football team to qualify. Maybe Jamie is going to turn out for Keady? 😂
Post by: illdecide on May 20, 2019, 01:06:03 PM
Has a venue and time been confirmed for cavan game?
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on May 20, 2019, 01:13:42 PM
Watched the deferred coverage without knowing the score.  Armagh need to learn how to put the foot on the throat and press down when presented with the chance. 

All credit to Down, Mooney is undoubtably their key man and players could have dropped their heads but dug deep to grind out the draw in normal time, and indeed lead in extra time.  Although they were beaten, Down will take away a lot more from this game than Armagh in my eyes. 

Regarding the goalkeeping situation, the second choice goalkeeper got injured a few days prior to the match, hence why O'Neil was down as the number 16, nothing more in that.  Heard the rumour that a player was approached to do nets also who would usually play FF.  Apparently he had goalkeeping experience from underage, and its not uncommon for outfield players to jump into nets, after all does Hughes not play outfield for his club??

Regarding the team selection, I can only assume players have been in the first 15 based on form and not merit, hence the omission of Campbell, Morgan and co.  I thought Grugan was poor enough yesterday and throughout the year tbh.  He may be more useful as an impact sub, but his staring place has to be questioned and the team needs to be cutthroat. 

Armagh now have two weeks to right the wrongs of yesterday and prepare for Cavan.  The team has the most potential it has had in 15 years, it would be a shame if it was not fulfilled. 
Post by: BennyCake on May 20, 2019, 01:37:19 PM
If Armagh's GK no 2 got injured last week, I don't see the issue with an outfielder as sub GK. the odds are that the sub GK is rarely needed.

Having said that, Down sub GK looked in trouble. If he had to go off, would Down have been criticised for not having a no 3 GK?
Post by: Gold on May 20, 2019, 01:39:34 PM
Quote from: In hiding on May 20, 2019, 12:22:01 PM
I'm kinda surprised at the opinion that James Morgan did well when he came on.
I thought he gave away some really stupid frees. Seems to be a bit of a liability to be honest

Some good, some bad

Kicked a score but kicked a fair amount of ball away
Post by: yellowcard on May 20, 2019, 01:43:45 PM

Coming from a Down man that is a good assessment of where Armagh stand. McGeeney still likes to go with physique over mobility and athleticism. Yet he marry's this by flooding the defence and playing a running game. If he is intent on playing a running game then he should be playing faster, more mobile & athletic players. Donaghy has never been the same after injuries and has been ordinary now for several years yet still gets the role of defensive general. Vernon is probably on the decline now whilst Rafferty does not suit that running game at all. Grugan was poor yesterday and does look a very unlikely captain because he has always appeared to me to be a confidence player. Lots of ability but can let things that happen during a game affect his performance.

Armagh were less than the sum of their parts yesterday and individual talent probably won them that match. O'Neill was brilliant on his debut and if Murnin gets back fit and Soupy starts as he should, then there is a seriously talented forward line there. But they need ball kicked into them to see them at their best not players constantly soloing head down. Burns had a good game on his debut in terms of winning possession yet he has an awful habit of putting the head down and solo running into cul de sacs which will not work against better opposition. The other lads like Kennedy and Nugent performed well on their debuts so you couldn't question any of the 4 new players yesterday, they were in fact 4 of the best performers overall.   
Post by: Gold on May 20, 2019, 01:46:13 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 20, 2019, 01:37:19 PM
If Armagh's GK no 2 got injured last week, I don't see the issue with an outfielder as sub GK. the odds are that the sub GK is rarely needed.

Having said that, Down sub GK looked in trouble. If he had to go off, would Down have been criticised for not having a no 3 GK?

Don't Cluxton and Niall Morgan play outfield for their clubs

Down sub keeper was nervous and ropey AF ...hoofing every kickout straight up in the air old school style....made for a better spectacle!!

Anytime i played id have wanted to face a wee goalkeeper. In my team i wanted a huge keeper, Paul Hearty style. Armagh keeper looks like a minor. Totally see the justification in putting a big man in there, whether he plays out the field for his club or not

Armagh  shouldve pushed up when Mooney sent off...not deploy a 2nd, do nothing, sweeper. Down just brought the ball in and then kicked it over the sweeper/s. How Down (and Armagh) didnt kick more long balls in i'll never know. 1st 2 long balls for Down resulted in Harrison point and Havern goal....then they just stopped. Madness

Post by: general_lee on May 20, 2019, 02:30:36 PM
Can't really add anything that hasn't been said. Entertaining but more because of two poor-ish enough teams

Jarly Og and O'Neill the two standouts for Armagh, Harrison and McKernan very good for Down. Debutants on both sides all put in good shifts.

On the incident with McGeeney, McKernan was acting the candyman all through the match slabbering away in players ears and demonstrating the lack of class one can only expect from someone from Burren so I have no qualms with Geezer giving him a gentle reminder to f**k up. Maybe not the best example for young fans watching but I'm sure the players didn't mind
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on May 20, 2019, 03:48:14 PM
Quote from: Gold on May 20, 2019, 01:46:13 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 20, 2019, 01:37:19 PM

Don't Cluxton and Niall Morgan play outfield for their clubs

Down sub keeper was nervous and ropey AF ...hoofing every kickout straight up in the air old school style....made for a better spectacle!!

Anytime i played id have wanted to face a wee goalkeeper. In my team i wanted a huge keeper, Paul Hearty style. Armagh keeper looks like a minor. Totally see the justification in putting a big man in there, whether he plays out the field for his club or not

Armagh  shouldve pushed up when Mooney sent off...not deploy a 2nd, do nothing, sweeper. Dwon just brought the ball in and then kicked it over the keeper. How Down (and Armagh) didnt kick more long balls in i'll never know. 1st 2 long balls for Down resulted in Harrison point and Havern goal....then they just stopped. Madness

A small keeper will always be crucified if a goal goes in from a high ball situation. But Beggan has been caught out a few times with it in the last few years too and there's not much said about it. Full backs aren't as good as dealing with it as they used to be either and keepers have to deal with less of it in todays game. Nothing worse than if you are coming out to take a high ball and the full back stands looking at you. The least they should do is keep the man out or make it difficult for them to get on top of the keeper. The Murnin goal was bad work from both the full back at the time (he's not a full back to be fair to him) and the keeper.

To be fair to the Down sub keeper that was a nightmare situation for him to come in there on the back of black card. I'm all on for keepers getting more involved in the game helping to keep possession at the back and helping out defenders under pressure but you shouldn't be out near the middle of the pitch unless the other team has completely dropped back. Its just too high risk in most cases for most keepers
Post by: Sportacus on May 20, 2019, 04:16:56 PM
When all the Armagh forwards are fit they will have a serious unit.  It's all their fouling machines at the back who will ensure they don't go far.  Never ceases to amaze me how many defenders just bog into the attacker, give away a free, and then moan about it.  That said, play acting when fouled is creeping in at an alarming rate.
Post by: Armamike on May 20, 2019, 04:50:20 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on May 20, 2019, 04:16:56 PM
When all the Armagh forwards are fit they will have a serious unit.  It's all their fouling machines at the back who will ensure they don't go far.  Never ceases to amaze me how many defenders just bog into the attacker, give away a free, and then moan about it.  That said, play acting when fouled is creeping in at an alarming rate.

And they never learn! Stand the forward up, make life difficult for him, and wait for a bit of cover. Don't bloody dive in.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 20, 2019, 04:51:41 PM
Morgan, McCabe, Donaghy, McKay and Burns all card magnets.
Morgan and McCabe would be especially poor at staying card-free or finishing out games and yet theyre lauded for being 'old-school' types. Armagh's tackling is woeful to say the least. Id love someone to explain to me why theres a need to thump a guy, barge clean into him or drop the knees on him on the floor AFTER the foul is given. Is it stupidity of misguided macho bullsh!t?

Be a proper defender, beat your man to the ball fairly, disposes him without taking his head off, force him into a mistake or pressure him into making a poor choice.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on May 20, 2019, 05:31:01 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on May 20, 2019, 04:16:56 PMNever ceases to amaze me how many defenders just bog into the attacker, give away a free, and then moan about it.

Many would rather give away a free than let yer man away - worst case there is a goal.

That said - some of the frees given away are wild stupid. Man heading away to the sideline with no room to work in and a cheap tackle gives them an easy out.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 20, 2019, 05:45:12 PM
What was going on between mooney and Morgan at full time? I assume Morgan must have been at him for getting sent off or was it more than that?
Post by: David McKeown on May 20, 2019, 07:16:00 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on May 20, 2019, 04:51:41 PM
Morgan, McCabe, Donaghy, McKay and Burns all card magnets.
Morgan and McCabe would be especially poor at staying card-free or finishing out games and yet theyre lauded for being 'old-school' types. Armagh's tackling is woeful to say the least. Id love someone to explain to me why theres a need to thump a guy, barge clean into him or drop the knees on him on the floor AFTER the foul is given. Is it stupidity of misguided macho bullsh!t?

Be a proper defender, beat your man to the ball fairly, disposes him without taking his head off, force him into a mistake or pressure him into making a poor choice.

I'd ordinarily agree and maybe a lot was down to the referee but I think Morgan only conceded one free yesterday and seemed a lot more disciplined o hope it's a sign of things to come as I think he's an excellent defender.
Post by: charlieTully on May 20, 2019, 10:27:12 PM
Quote from: general_lee on May 20, 2019, 02:30:36 PM
Can't really add anything that hasn't been said. Entertaining but more because of two poor-ish enough teams

Jarly Og and O'Neill the two standouts for Armagh, Harrison and McKernan very good for Down. Debutants on both sides all put in good shifts.

On the incident with McGeeney, McKernan was acting the candyman all through the match slabbering away in players ears and demonstrating the lack of class one can only expect from someone from Burren so I have no qualms with Geezer giving him a gentle reminder to f**k up. Maybe not the best example for young fans watching but I'm sure the players didn't mind

You make it real easy to despise Armagh. Hope Cavan destroy yis.
Post by: PAULD123 on May 21, 2019, 07:48:57 AM
On the goalkeeper issue. When we won the Sam in 1994 our sub goalkeeper Eammon Connolly generally played outfield for Warrenpoint because Kieran Rice was also a really good keeper but only played goal.
Post by: banker on May 21, 2019, 08:27:00 AM

I thought McKernan was awful for Down. He has been on a decline the last few years. Amazed at how little has been said about Down's captain Darren O'Hagan's performance on Sunday. Down's best player on the field. An old school defender that gets stuck in and drives his team forward. Rory Grugan couldn't get on the ball at all on Sunday as O'Hagan stuck to him all day. Probably the best defender in Ulster?
Post by: general_lee on May 21, 2019, 09:14:22 AM
Quote from: charlieTully on May 20, 2019, 10:27:12 PM

You make it real easy to despise Armagh. Hope Cavan destroy yis.
Enjoy the qualifiers our fella
Post by: mackers on May 21, 2019, 10:36:09 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on May 20, 2019, 07:16:00 PM
I'd ordinarily agree and maybe a lot was down to the referee but I think Morgan only conceded one free yesterday and seemed a lot more disciplined o hope it's a sign of things to come as I think he's an excellent defender.
The free he gave away for Down's penultimate point in normal time was criminal at a critical stage of the match and it's typical of the frees he gives away.  The Down player was heading straight for the sideline.....just stand him up!!!  That said, the referee missed a mark from Jarlath Og Burns in the run up to that.
Post by: David McKeown on May 21, 2019, 11:40:28 AM
Quote from: banker on May 21, 2019, 08:27:00 AM

I thought McKernan was awful for Down. He has been on a decline the last few years. Amazed at how little has been said about Down's captain Darren O'Hagan's performance on Sunday. Down's best player on the field. An old school defender that gets stuck in and drives his team forward. Rory Grugan couldn't get on the ball at all on Sunday as O'Hagan stuck to him all day. Probably the best defender in Ulster?

At the game I thought Grugan was very very poor. Having watched it back since my mind has changed somewhat. He got the assist for the first goal and at least four points in normal time. Not bad for a player who couldn't get on the ball.   That said he has had better games and does seem to be lacking in confidence
Post by: Gold on May 21, 2019, 01:43:51 PM
Quote from: mackers on May 21, 2019, 10:36:09 AM
The free he gave away for Down's penultimate point in normal time was criminal at a critical stage of the match and it's typical of the frees he gives away.  The Down player was heading straight for the sideline.....just stand him up!!!  That said, the referee missed a mark from Jarlath Og Burns in the run up to that.

At least 2 marks he missed!
Post by: dec on May 21, 2019, 03:14:48 PM
Are there any highlights available online?

Other than paying for GAAGO
Post by: APM on May 21, 2019, 03:17:05 PM
Iplayer has the full game
Post by: OgraAnDun on May 21, 2019, 05:44:26 PM
Quote from: Gold on May 21, 2019, 01:43:51 PM

A player needs to actually catch the ball, not drop it a split second after getting it.
Post by: Throw ball on May 21, 2019, 08:42:14 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on May 21, 2019, 05:44:26 PM
Quote from: Gold on May 21, 2019, 01:43:51 PM

A player needs to actually catch the ball, not drop it a split second after getting it.

On the Burns one he caught it and held on to it.
Post by: illdecide on May 23, 2019, 08:44:18 AM
Sorry for repeating myself here but didn't get a reply...

Is Armagh game v Cavan a neutral venue (Clones) and has there been a time given for thrown in yet?
Post by: The Gs Man on May 23, 2019, 08:47:24 AM
It's in Clones aye.

Think it's a 4pm throw-in on Sunday 2nd
Post by: tonto1888 on May 23, 2019, 09:20:17 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on May 23, 2019, 08:47:24 AM
It's in Clones aye.

Think it's a 4pm throw-in on Sunday 2nd

4pm is right
Post by: illdecide on May 23, 2019, 10:20:39 AM
That's great...thanks men. I'd rather have the 4pm throw in, it allows u to get an activity in that morning...
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 23, 2019, 10:48:11 AM
Quote from: illdecide on May 23, 2019, 10:20:39 AM
That's great...thanks men. I'd rather have the 4pm throw in, it allows u to get an activity in that morning...

Surely it doesn't take that long with Mrs. Illdecide ;) ;D
Post by: illdecide on May 23, 2019, 02:07:36 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 23, 2019, 10:48:11 AM
Quote from: illdecide on May 23, 2019, 10:20:39 AM

Surely it doesn't take that long with Mrs. Illdecide ;) ;D

;D Easy you...i like to take my time.

I was referring to a cycle ride ;)