Ballyragget GAC

Started by screenexile, October 25, 2017, 08:30:16 PM

PW Nally

Quote from: AZOffaly on October 26, 2017, 02:13:45 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 26, 2017, 02:11:07 PM
Obviously some kind of axe to grind there!!

To be fair I think a lot of people's teeth are on edge whenever they see things in the media like how great the GAA is, and how it's the heartbeat of the country/community,  and as Dinny said maybe there's a sense that it's a bit harder on soccer. (I don't think Rugby gets a bad rap). WWN must be run by soccer lads in Waterford, so they are going a bit OTT. Normally they are wittier than that.
Think main man for WWN is a Dub relocated to Waterford. Sounds like 50% of Dublin taxi men in the article moaning about the gah. Cue telling us about playing a bit of hurling in primary  school aka borstal.

Whatever about the wrongs and rights and morals involved I certainly wouldn't want my club to be in the headlines for this. Especially after winning a championship which I'm sure was hard won and fought for. I'd be particularly annoyed if I were part of the team......there's no excuse for videoing or taking pictures of this, let alone sharing it outside the group.

Quote from: HiMucker on October 26, 2017, 02:42:53 PM
Quote from: weareros on October 26, 2017, 02:34:32 PM
Quote from: inthrough on October 26, 2017, 10:33:17 AM
No sympathy for anyone involved.

What the hell ever happened to the ages old GAA tradition taking the cup round pubs, getting it filled & enjoying the craic with the people from your club & community?

In fairness, they maintained many of the traditional elements of a cup celebration. However, you'd have to question trying to fit a 46a sized cup into an intermediate sized  county hurling cup.

We may have gotten 10 more pages out of this.
The Dublin PR brigade cant be far off denying it didn't happen on the bus to Dun Laoghaire.

Esmarelda

Quote from: whitey on October 26, 2017, 03:00:05 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on October 26, 2017, 02:40:45 PM
I think it was largely a bit of craic and agree with the vast majority of opinions on here.

However, the bit that muddies the waters is the sex act. I'm guessing it's legal to hire a stripper to come and perform for you but I'm also pretty sure it isn't legal to hire a lady to perform oral sex on you. It seems odd to me that a stripper would make that step. Was she paid more? If so, wouldn't that be completely illegal?

I'm not sure what investigation the club are referring to when they say they're going to co-operate, but if the guards get involved I'd have thought that that's the part they'd be focusing on.

I seriously hope the Guards have more for doing than investigating this
If it's brought to their attention I assume they'd have to investigate it though.

The 2002 Roscommon footballers must be delighted, they're no longer the lewdest ever GAA team!

Saw a few more Pics/vids there last night. Oul bai with a young family stuck up on social media posing beside two escorts. 

Quote from: magpie seanie on October 26, 2017, 03:27:25 PM
Whatever about the wrongs and rights and morals involved I certainly wouldn't want my club to be in the headlines for this. Especially after winning a championship which I'm sure was hard won and fought for. I'd be particularly annoyed if I were part of the team......there's no excuse for videoing or taking pictures of this, let alone sharing it outside the group.
Videoing in inevitable these days and the "stripper" involvement isn't crime of the century but you would have thought  there would have been somebody with a cool enough head to tell the young lad to get his blowie elsewhere where there wasn't a squad of boys filming him.

Well said seanie. However in this day and age it seems everything has to be fired up on social media of some sort. I'm sure I'm not the only one who thinks videoing people's reactions to x, y, or z is funny and has to be on fb. And don't get me on this tag a mate shite.

Apparently the GAA have investigated it thoroughly and have decided that no regulations were breached. The girls were properly reimbursed for mileage and food expenses, but were not paid to play.

One of them did get a €500 fine for not having her stockings made in Ireland.

Jeepers Creepers

Quote from: AZOffaly on October 27, 2017, 10:14:49 AM
Apparently the GAA have investigated it thoroughly and have decided that no regulations were breached. The girls were properly reimbursed for mileage and food expenses, but were not paid to play.

One of them did get a €500 fine for not having her stockings made in Ireland.

They've agreed to do the halftime show on AI day. Dancing to a a Foster & Allen medley.

I know technically it's nothing to do with the GAA but imagine being a club member and then going into that EGM. . . where do you even start to discuss what happened!

Any time you're away and you're talking to people from all around the Country and you tell them you're from Ballyragget you'll be asked about it.

I know it's only a bit of fun but there's a lot of embarrassment for the locals there and a lot of people not happy at all!!

Videoing things is all part of modern life, especially for younger folks. There is always someone who wants to send the pic to the brother in Australia or whatever. AS George Bush is reputed to have said "When I was young and foolish, I was young and foolish".

Yeah - I'm fully aware of what goes on and what the norms are but I think it's ridiculous. Those pictures of lads at football matches with the cameras lined up to record a penalty being taken in front of them.....you're there to enjoy the game so enjoy it. You can watch it on TV later.

Glad I'm in my 40's and I was a young lad before phones with cameras were the norm.

MoChara