GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Jinxy on June 10, 2016, 01:29:54 PM

Title: Former players you wish were still available to you now
Post by: Jinxy on June 10, 2016, 01:29:54 PM
I'm not taking about the All Stars.
The legends.
The 'go-to' guys.
I'm talking about the fringe players.
The lads who were 'in-and-around' your more successful teams but were probably never that highly-rated within their own county (relative to the superstars at least).
Or the lads that were considered solid and dependable and could play in a few different positions (and possibly suffered as a result by sacrificing their own game).
From 1999 onwards for us, that would be lads like Ray Magee, Daithi Regan, Donal Curtis, Nigel Crawford, Hank Traynor, Nigel Nestor etc.
Title: Re: Former players you wish were still available to you now
Post by: The Gs Man on June 10, 2016, 01:48:32 PM
1. Francie Bellew
2. Francie Bellew
3. Francie Bellew
4. Francie Bellew
5. Francie Bellew
6. Francie Bellew
7. Francie Bellew
8. Francie Bellew
9. Francie Bellew
10. Francie Bellew
11. Francie Bellew
12. Francie Bellew
13. Francie Bellew
14. Francie Bellew
15. Francie Bellew
Post by: Jinxy on June 10, 2016, 02:21:13 PM
Not sure if an entire team of Francie Bellews would have the mobility required for the modern game. :D
Post by: AZOffaly on June 10, 2016, 02:23:00 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 10, 2016, 02:21:13 PM
Not sure if an entire team of Francie Bellews would have the mobility required for the modern game. :D

And the other team wouldn't either...
Post by: tonto1888 on June 10, 2016, 02:43:44 PM
Andrew McCann
Post by: muppet on June 10, 2016, 02:46:42 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 10, 2016, 02:23:00 PM

And the other team wouldn't either...

:D :D
Post by: muppet on June 10, 2016, 02:52:38 PM
Non All-Stars.....

Trevor Mort.
Kevin Cahill.
Martin Carney.

Post by: theyellowbus on June 10, 2016, 03:02:35 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 10, 2016, 02:52:38 PM
Non All-Stars.....

Trevor Mort.
Kevin Cahill.
Martin Carney.

Brilliant footballer and brilliant attitude
Post by: FermGael on June 10, 2016, 03:47:00 PM
Paddy McGuinness from Devenish.
Most underrated full back we ever had.

Post by: blanketattack on June 10, 2016, 04:15:13 PM
35 of the 1997 to 2014 Kerry players won all-stars so there's hardly anyone left to pick from. Liam O'Flahery is probably the best of the Kerry non-All Stars.
Post by: muppet on June 10, 2016, 04:18:10 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on June 10, 2016, 04:15:13 PM
35 of the 1997 to 2014 Kerry players won all-stars so there's hardly anyone left to pick from. Liam O'Flahery is probably the best of the Kerry non-All Stars.

Yerra you used 58 players in the last 10 years alone, so there were some useless ones who didn't get All-Stars.

(http://gaelicstats.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/Total-Players-Used-2.jpg)
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 10, 2016, 07:22:06 PM
You can be sure they wouldn't. A team of Pat Spillane's grannies would run them off the pitch.
Post by: Look-Up! on June 10, 2016, 07:43:47 PM
Aidan Connolly
Damien O'Reilly
Peter Reilly
Dessie Brady
Massive talent there but unfortunately some of their careers were a bit too short.

I think Cillian Sheridan would have been a massive player for us if he hadn't made it in soccer.
Post by: Look-Up! on June 10, 2016, 07:53:21 PM
Quote from: Look-Up! on June 10, 2016, 07:43:47 PM
Aidan Connolly
Damien O'Reilly
Peter Reilly
Dessie Brady
Massive talent there but unfortunately some of their careers were a bit too short.

I think Cillian Sheridan would have been a massive player for us if he hadn't made it in soccer.

I forgot to stick Ger Pierson in there too
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 10, 2016, 07:58:01 PM
Forget about his all-stars, About 5 clones of Anthony Tohill, to play in 2 midfield slots, fullback, full forward and wing forward might make derry half decent again
Post by: bennydorano on June 10, 2016, 10:32:12 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 10, 2016, 02:43:44 PM
Andrew McCann
Good shout, a very under rated player.
Post by: armaghniac on June 10, 2016, 10:39:06 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 10, 2016, 10:32:12 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 10, 2016, 02:43:44 PM
Andrew McCann
Good shout, a very under rated player.

I was thinking of Andrew McCann, not one of the "names" of the Armagh team, but did a mountain of work and would be very helpful.
Post by: Jinxy on June 10, 2016, 10:54:05 PM
Aidan Connolly
Damien O'Reilly
Peter Reilly
Dessie Brady

Peter Reilly was pretty highly rated though, was he not?
I always thought he was the main man (or one of the main men) for Cavan in that era.
Post by: Gold on June 10, 2016, 11:00:58 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 10, 2016, 07:58:01 PM
Forget about his all-stars, About 5 clones of Anthony Tohill, to play in 2 midfield slots, fullback, full forward and wing forward might make derry half decent again

What a player

I was driving through Swatragh yesterday thinking how he put them on the map all on his own

He was an absolute force of nature....winning all ireland in 92....catching a ball a foot  over the bar to deny us in 2000....lording the skies

Best player I've ever seen
Post by: Look-Up! on June 10, 2016, 11:21:13 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 10, 2016, 10:54:05 PM
Aidan Connolly
Damien O'Reilly
Peter Reilly
Dessie Brady

Peter Reilly was pretty highly rated though, was he not?
I always thought he was the main man (or one of the main men) for Cavan in that era.

Yeah he was alright but he had a lot of injury problems and I would say he never fulfilled his potential. Had everything really
Post by: Jinxy on June 10, 2016, 11:57:53 PM
I'm talking more about lads who would not have been seen as 'naturally talented'.
The unsung heroes.
Post by: Look-Up! on June 11, 2016, 01:10:43 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 10, 2016, 11:57:53 PM
I'm talking more about lads who would not have been seen as 'naturally talented'.
The unsung heroes.

Fair enough but I would have thought Regan, Nestor, Crawford and Traynor would have been prominent enough for ye at some stage in their careers. They were certainly well known and respected outside Meath
Post by: Mayoffs on June 11, 2016, 02:46:00 AM
Michael Moyles
Alan Roche
David Nestor
Post by: rrhf on June 11, 2016, 08:59:03 AM
Harry McClure. Paul Donnelly. Francie Burke, John Owens
Post by: Samforever on June 11, 2016, 09:03:41 AM
Alan Molloy. Mr Reliable
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 11, 2016, 09:58:41 AM
Quote from: Mayoffs on June 11, 2016, 02:46:00 AM
Michael Moyles
Alan Roche
David Nestor

Nestor... You serious?

Colm McMenamon never shot the lights out, but he had a serious engine.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on June 11, 2016, 10:17:01 AM
Ciaran Gourley.
Post by: dĂșnros on June 11, 2016, 10:20:14 AM
agree, colm mcmenamon had a serious engine, got serious possession in games, but god help him, had the feet of a horse. Huge athlete though.

Post by: tonto1888 on June 11, 2016, 10:42:18 AM
John Toal
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 11, 2016, 11:09:19 AM
Sos Dowling, Ken Doyle and Paddy Murray.
Post by: Hardy on June 11, 2016, 11:13:45 AM
Mattie McCabe
Post by: Mayoffs on June 11, 2016, 11:49:28 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 11, 2016, 09:58:41 AM
Quote from: Mayoffs on June 11, 2016, 02:46:00 AM
Michael Moyles
Alan Roche
David Nestor

Nestor... You serious?

Colm McMenamon never shot the lights out, but he had a serious engine.

Ya, come to think of it, strike Nestor from that list. Became a peripheral player under Holmes and was useful off the bench for a score when things were tight. But he was a regular under Maughan.
Post by: Jinxy on June 11, 2016, 03:08:22 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 11, 2016, 11:09:19 AM
Sos Dowling, Ken Doyle and Paddy Murray.

Padraig Brennan maybe?
Always rated him but I dunno what Kildare folk thought of him.
Actually, a feature of a lot of these types is they tend to be more highly rated outside the county.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 11, 2016, 05:24:58 PM
Brennan was talented but lacked aggression (maybe a kind way of saying he was slightly on the cowardly side).
Murray probably shouldn't count as he was Kildare's star player for a couple of years before injuries ruined him.
Ken Doyle is a great shout, could do a job anywhere. We could also do with another Brian Flanagan as we generally struggle to win dirty breaking balls.
Andrew McLoughlin was our go to man marker for years, took serious abuse from a large number of "supporters" but since he has left the defence has got a lot worse.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 11, 2016, 06:19:32 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 11, 2016, 05:24:58 PM
Brennan was talented but lacked aggression (maybe a kind way of saying he was slightly on the cowardly side).
Murray probably shouldn't count as he was Kildare's star player for a couple of years before injuries ruined him.
Ken Doyle is a great shout, could do a job anywhere. We could also do with another Brian Flanagan as we generally struggle to win dirty breaking balls.
Andrew McLoughlin was our go to man marker for years, took serious abuse from a large number of "supporters" but since he has left the defence has got a lot worse.

He was only beginning to establish himself when he got injured. I still don't know how we took him off against Roscommon in 03 when he was playing great stuff. Remained one of the best club players in Kildare post his county career. He could have been a big player in those years between 09-11 when we never had a reliable left footed free taker.
Post by: The Subbie on June 12, 2016, 01:50:51 PM
Ray McCarron
Bernie Murray
Mick O'Dowd
Peter Duffy
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 12, 2016, 02:47:03 PM
Duffy and McCarron be seen was 2 very good high profile monaghan forwards at the time
Post by: T Fearon on June 12, 2016, 03:48:25 PM
Tierney,E Mc Nulty,F Bellew,J Mc Nulty,A O'Rourke,K Mc Geeney,A Mc Cann,P Mc Grane,J Toal,P mc Keever,J Mc Entee,O Mc Conville,S Mc Donnell,R Clarke,D Marsden.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 12, 2016, 03:58:15 PM
G Tony whats wrong you dont seem to need Jamie Clarke in that list lol
Post by: T Fearon on June 12, 2016, 04:03:32 PM
None of those players would have deserted the team
Post by: seafoid on June 12, 2016, 05:50:32 PM
Declan Meehan and Niall Finnegan
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 13, 2016, 12:02:09 AM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 11, 2016, 05:24:58 PM

Ken Doyle a great shout, not sure if he counts but I'd love a Declan Kerrigan playing for Kildare now.
Post by: The Raven on June 13, 2016, 12:42:45 AM
Greg Blaney
Post by: thejuice on June 14, 2016, 04:54:14 PM
Scaldy and Baldy
Post by: Jinxy on June 14, 2016, 05:07:05 PM
Quote from: The Raven on June 13, 2016, 12:42:45 AM
Greg Blaney

Again, we're not talking about the Greg Blaneys of this world.
It goes without saying you'd still want to have him available.
Would Gary Mason be a good shout from that era?
Post by: Rossfan on June 14, 2016, 05:16:16 PM
Peter Domican and Steven Ormsny
Post by: Syferus on June 14, 2016, 06:27:02 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 14, 2016, 05:16:16 PM

Big Seamie. When he was off the burgers of course.

(http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/b9/b5/3e/cbadf3fa65075cb32d7963de57af8235f632ce2ed4/INPHO_00279985.jpg)

He'd have bulled through Aidan O'Shea for a shortcut. Actually Seamie would have bulled his way through anyone wearing a Mayo or Galway jersey.
Post by: Jinxy on June 14, 2016, 10:04:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 14, 2016, 06:27:02 PM

When was that?
Post by: muppet on June 14, 2016, 10:42:12 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 14, 2016, 10:04:40 PM

When was that?

The mornin' of a Championship match. You have to draw a line somewhere.
Post by: Syferus on June 14, 2016, 10:42:25 PM

When was that?

He was on the steaks back in 2001 when he left the best team in the west since the 60s sobbing in his wake in the rains of Tuam.

Our lads are too nice these days. Cake, Francie Grehan, Seamie, Nidge Dineen and Frankie Dolan were some quare articles. Mayo and Galway players would probably have sooner met some Kinihans down a dark alley than those lads. The lads today could do with a few of that sort.
Post by: Rossfan on June 15, 2016, 01:05:55 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 14, 2016, 10:42:25 PM
. Cake, Francie Grehan, Seamie, Nidge Dineen and Frankie Dolan were some quare articles. Mayo and Galway players would probably have sooner met some Kinihans down a dark alley than those lads. The lads today could do with a few of that sort.
The Tan gave thema quick shift.
Apart from Cake the others wouldn't last 5 minutes in today's game with their Monday Club craic.
Post by: Syferus on June 15, 2016, 01:44:36 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 15, 2016, 01:05:55 AM
. Cake, Francie Grehan, Seamie, Nidge Dineen and Frankie Dolan were some quare articles. Mayo and Galway players would probably have sooner met some Kinihans down a dark alley than those lads. The lads today could do with a few of that sort.
The Tan gave thema quick shift.
Apart from Cake the others wouldn't last 5 minutes in today's game with their Monday Club craic.

Would growing up in the underage system we have now not tempered their exesses? Timing is everything in sport.
Post by: seafoid on June 15, 2016, 10:11:17 PM

When was that?

He was on the steaks back in 2001 when he left the best team in the west since the 60s sobbing in his wake in the rains of Tuam.

Our lads are too nice these days. Cake, Francie Grehan, Seamie, Nidge Dineen and Frankie Dolan were some quare articles. Mayo and Galway players would probably have sooner met some Kinihans down a dark alley than those lads. The lads today could do with a few of that sort.
"you always need a few tinkers"
'Sure haven't we got you, Sylvie"
Post by: 5 Sams on June 15, 2016, 10:50:30 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 15, 2016, 10:11:17 PM

When was that?

"you always need a few tinkers"
'Sure haven't we got you, Sylvie"

Great quote...we all had them. Some that spring to mind..we had Higgins who put manners on Brolly in Celtic Park in 94...Ricey for Tyrone...McKeever for Armagh...Galvin for Kerry...Ciaran Duff, The Doc and a few others for the Dubs.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 16, 2016, 08:05:29 AM
I opened this thread to nominate Ken Doyle only to see three other Lilies had already done it! Vastly under-rated, better and more consistent than the more-heralded Brian Lacey for us.
Post by: Jinxy on June 16, 2016, 09:23:13 AM
Willie McCreery?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 16, 2016, 12:30:13 PM
James and Clocker Grennan. A fearsome midfield or midfield/centre forward duo.
Post by: Jinxy on June 16, 2016, 07:37:22 PM
Yeah, James Grennan used to give John Mc a lot of bother.
Post by: Blue Island on June 16, 2016, 07:57:36 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 14, 2016, 05:07:05 PM
Greg Blaney

I would be biased coming from the same club, but I don't think Gary Mason would be a fringe player. He has two medals from 91 and 94 playing in defence and forwards. In 94 he declined to join the panel and when Down beat Derry he was not training with the team. Despite winning the match Pete McGrath  contacted Mason a day or two later and asked him to come back. He started in the very next game and that would indicate how highly McGrath rated him.
Post by: babarino on June 16, 2016, 08:55:59 PM
Tommy Freeman, not long gone, in his prime alongside McManus and Hughes would make for a formidable attack. Nudie Hughes in at half forward and Ray McCarron, from the same era, would do nicely as well.
Post by: angermanagement on June 16, 2016, 11:05:32 PM
Quote from: Blue Island on June 16, 2016, 07:57:36 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 14, 2016, 05:07:05 PM
Greg Blaney

I would be biased coming from the same club, but I don't think Gary Mason would be a fringe player. He has two medals from 91 and 94 playing in defence and forwardN. In 94 he declined to join the panel and when Down beat Derry he was not training with the team. Despite winning the match Pete McGrath  contacted Mason a day or two later and asked him to come back. He started in the very next game and that would indicate how highly McGrath rated him.

Was Mason not a half forward in 91 and corner forward in 94. It was later on in his career he played defence for the county.

A good shout Jinky, Mason wasn't a household name like others on them teams but the players and management knew what he brought to the teams from play and placed balls.
Post by: rrhf on June 16, 2016, 11:06:50 PM
Niall Socrates Mc Ginn
Post by: Jinxy on June 17, 2016, 12:04:01 AM
Quote from: babarino on June 16, 2016, 08:55:59 PM
Tommy Freeman, not long gone, in his prime alongside McManus and Hughes would make for a formidable attack. Nudie Hughes in at half forward and Ray McCarron, from the same era, would do nicely as well.

Damien Freeman would be a better shout than Tommy for this thread.
Tommy was the main man.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 17, 2016, 12:47:27 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 16, 2016, 09:23:13 AM
Willie McCreery?

He came down to our club to take a training session when he was at his peak, at one point he was setting up a shooting drill from 30 yards, talked us through the technique and then attempted to demonstrate... and put it in the ditch at the far sideline.
That sums up his kicking ability but the man had a serious engine and was tough as they come.
Post by: moysider on June 17, 2016, 01:18:45 AM

(http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/b9/b5/3e/cbadf3fa65075cb32d7963de57af8235f632ce2ed4/INPHO_00279985.jpg)

He'd have bulled through Aidan O'Shea for a shortcut. Actually Seamie would have bulled his way through anyone wearing a Mayo or Galway jersey.

Lol. Would he shite. David Brady bullied and he went back to his cheeseburgers for comfort. Catch a grip. He was washed up before he hit mid 20's and before he learned his trade. He could have been a stalwart for years. He was very talented but .....