Quote from: laoislad on July 23, 2018, 12:30:09 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 23, 2018, 10:22:56 AM
Quote from: TabClear on July 23, 2018, 10:02:33 AM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on July 23, 2018, 07:37:20 AM
Quote from: Boycey on July 22, 2018, 10:26:01 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on July 22, 2018, 10:03:52 PM
Molinari seems a very likeable fellow. It was great viewing for a Sunday at the Open. I feel Rory has to get rid of the yes men he has surrounded himself with if he is to win another major.

Aye he's miles off isn't he  ::)

No he's not, and that's what's so frustrating about him.

If his putting had even been average on the first two days he would have been about 3 clear on the final day.

Delighted for Molinari though, great pro and a great final days with all the big names in the mix

It would be interesting to see Rory's putting stats compared to others.

His driving sets up lots of short iron approach shots, but again the short irons could be better for a man of his talent.

We all have high expectations for Rory, and second wasn't bad in the big scheme of things and probably help his world ranking.
Joint second and no we all don't.
:-X

Do you like any British golfers?

Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2018, 01:22:30 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 23, 2018, 12:30:09 PM
Molinari seems a very likeable fellow. It was great viewing for a Sunday at the Open. I feel Rory has to get rid of the yes men he has surrounded himself with if he is to win another major.

If his putting had even been average on the first two days he would have been about 3 clear on the final day.

Delighted for Molinari though, great pro and a great final days with all the big names in the mix

His driving sets up lots of short iron approach shots, but again the short irons could be better for a man of his talent.

We all have high expectations for Rory, and second wasn't bad in the big scheme of things and probably help his world ranking.
Joint second and no we all don't.
:-X

Do you like any British golfers?
Where did I say I didn't like them!

https://www.pgatour.com/players/player.28237.rory-mcilroy.html

114th Strokes gained putting.
37th Strokes gained approach to the green
10th Strokes gained tee to green

It's not his caddie. It's his putting.

Quote from: trailer on July 23, 2018, 02:03:19 PM

When you see that, you'd wonder how on earth he came second!

Sorry, LL, I meant joint second (or in other words, joint best of all the losers)

Quote from: trailer on July 23, 2018, 02:03:19 PM

His wedge play is a notch below as well. From 100-120 yards he's generally 20-30ft away when others will be between 10-15ft which makes a real difference. He's not far away though.

Ah Jaysus lads, can't pitch, can't putt, his caddy is shit and he's still 2nd in a major  :D

Quote from: Boycey on July 24, 2018, 10:56:36 AM
Ah Jaysus lads, can't pitch, can't putt, his caddy is shit and he's still 2nd in a major  :D

Joint second ffs! You'll get pulled on that one

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 24, 2018, 12:09:02 PM

The thing is, second, and joint second is not what Rory wants.

He has the capability, and in my opinion (which I rate very highly) he simply needs to play competitive golf more often.

JPGJOHNNYG

Quote from: Orior on July 24, 2018, 12:22:39 PM

He has the capability, and in my opinion (which I rate very highly) he simply needs to play competitive golf more often.

Agree with this, with his natural ability he should be doing a lot better. He hasn't won a major now in the last 4 yrs when he should be at his peak. 2nd is great but he has defo left a few other majors slip away. Mixture of putting woes, poor mentality and external distractions has stopped him being another Tiger.

Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on July 24, 2018, 12:48:45 PM

Agree with this, with his natural ability he should be doing a lot better. He hasn't won a major now in the last 4 yrs when he should be at his peak. 2nd is great but he has defo left a few other majors slip away. Mixture of putting woes, poor mentality and external distractions has stopped him being another Tiger.

He was never as good as Tiger, those comparisons did him no favours

And I know this has been done to death on here

Quote from: screenexile on July 24, 2018, 09:21:04 AMHis wedge play is a notch below as well. From 100-120 yards he's generally 20-30ft away when others will be between 10-15ft which makes a real difference. He's not far away though.

Well - that's slightly wrong - he's 3rd best on the tour from 125 and in - https://www.pgatour.com/stats/stat.074.html

What does competitive golf mean? Hes 2nd in the world based on performances this year.

Quote from: Boycey on July 24, 2018, 01:38:22 PMHes 2nd in the world based on performances this year.

On what metric?

Insane Bolt

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 24, 2018, 02:00:18 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 24, 2018, 01:38:22 PMHes 2nd in the world based on performances this year.

On what metric?

Boycey's PlayStation 😜

dec

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 24, 2018, 02:00:18 PM

On what metric?

Points gained this year

https://www.pgatour.com/stats/stat.186.html

Only Molinari is higher

-- edited looks like Bubba is higher this year as well