Cavan vs. Monaghan - Sunday June 11th - Breffni (el clasico)

Started by GrandMasterFlash, June 05, 2017, 02:13:23 PM

Quote from: Itchy on June 06, 2017, 07:36:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 06, 2017, 06:36:28 PM
'Oh stony grey soil of Monaghan, you sicken my hole.'

Indeed Jinxy, I think that sums up his poetry alright. In fact, if he had just said that it would have saved us a whole lot of hassle in the leaving cert.

Anyway ya Monaghan hoors, here is some real poetry by the legendary Bard himself, Declan Nerney..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fmFNy87cS9g
Nerney is from Longford.
The song was written by a Cavan man. I didn't know John Joe Reilly also died young. Thet great Cavan team had tragedy as well as glory.. PJ Duke was still in his 20s when he died.

I know well where nerney is from, sure just look at his haircut. That's a drumlish special.

Do a google search for famous cavan poets,
and the reply comes "Did you mean: famous cuban poets" .

mrdeeds

Quote from: Main Street on June 06, 2017, 08:41:24 PM

Do a search for Monaghan All Ireland Winners and the reply is "sorry your search brought up no results."

Ah the el Classico where we will even fight over poetry.

I like to think of Cavan and Monaghan folk as the noble savages of Ireland.
And that's a compliment.

The Subbie

Quote from: Itchy on June 06, 2017, 07:36:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 06, 2017, 06:36:28 PM
'Oh stony grey soil of Monaghan, you sicken my hole.'

Indeed Jinxy, I think that sums up his poetry alright. In fact, if he had just said that it would have saved us a whole lot of hassle in the leaving cert.

Anyway ya Monaghan hoors, here is some real poetry by the legendary Bard himself, Declan Nerney..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fmFNy87cS9g

I will see your tenuous links to Declan Nearney and raise you the king of that genre himself , the Oram troubadour himself, Big Tom
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=KdUCtKTkOXA

Even when it's country music kudos at stake we will not yield one mm to the Cavan Philistines, in the words of Padraig Pearce , in matters of principle there can be no compromise.

Muineachain Abu !!!!

Quote from: mrdeeds on June 06, 2017, 09:10:48 PM

Do a search for Monaghan All Ireland Winners and the reply is "sorry your search brought up no results."
Eh? you cavan hillbilly wouldn't know context even if it hit you like a sledgehammer.

Quote from: Main Street on June 06, 2017, 10:31:38 PM

Eh? you cavan hillbilly wouldn't know context even if it hit you like a sledgehammer.

Mrdeeds should apologise for that comment. Below the belt. It's like teasing the poor for having no food.

Quote from: Itchy on June 06, 2017, 10:44:17 PM
Quote from: Main Street on June 06, 2017, 10:31:38 PM

Mrdeeds should apologise for that comment. Below the belt. It's like teasing the poor for having no food.
I'll have to talk to my great grand father to find out what you hillbillies are on about, after been brought to task about your utter lack of poetic heritage.

thebuzz

Quote from: Jinxy on June 05, 2017, 02:21:18 PM
Who won this game?

Am I missing something here? Why has the date not been corrected yet?  ;) ;) :)

GrandMasterFlash

Quote from: thebuzz on June 07, 2017, 10:43:23 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 05, 2017, 02:21:18 PM
Who won this game?
Am I missing something here? Why has the date not been corrected yet?  ;) ;) :)

No, you're not missing anything at all. It ended up a repeat of the 1888 Ulster Final: Monaghan 0-3, Cavan 0-1

tommysmith

Quote from: seafoid on June 07, 2017, 05:29:05 PM
Why haven't Monaghan won at least 1 Sam?

1. Stock car racing
2. Car Rallies
3. Jiving
4. Picking mushrooms

Quote from: seafoid on June 07, 2017, 05:29:05 PM
Why haven't Monaghan won at least 1 Sam?

I'm sure the Monaghan lads will tell you why!