Offaly v Longford LSFC 15 May 2016 - Longford managment about to walk?

Started by Shamrock Shore, April 28, 2016, 06:24:54 PM

Well - as if we haven't enough bother.

- What with a 7 million price tag on building new stands in Pearse Park due to the ones that are less than 20 years old slowing sinking into the mud
- Money wasted on a Centre of Excellence
- and James 'Bonkers' Bannon not getting a 'sayte' in ayther the Dawl or the Shannid

we have this latest clusterfcuk:

Statement issued by Longford senior team management last night.

"This statement is issued on behalf of the Longford  Senior Management Team namely Denis Connerton, Ciaran Fox, Enda Macken and Derek Ryan.

Our Management Team held a meeting on Wednesday 27th of April to reconsider our situation in regard to continuing in our role with the Longford Senior Football Team.

At our meeting we discussed the difficulties in preparing our team to compete in the Leinster Championship. Our preparation has been made seriously difficult due to the fixing of League Games involving County players on the following dates: March 16th ,17th ,19th and 20th, April 8th, 9th, 10th, 13th, 19th, 23rd, 26th, 29th and May 1st.

After a productive training camp abroad funded by the players we met  with the Fixtures Committee to voice our concerns regarding players' welfare and fatigue and pleaded that Round 5 of the Club Leagues in Longford  be postponed to aid our preparation for the first round match in Leinster. We stressed that we had already lost home venue due to Glennon Brothers'  Pearse Park being unable to accommodate the expected crowd for this match even though the stadium was able to facilitate a Division 1 fixture involving our neighbours Roscommon with a very large attendance.

We further stated that our record in the Leinster Championship has been poor and as we celebrate the 50th Anniversary of our National League Victory surely everything that is possible within our own county to enhance our young players' chances  of progressing should be done.  Our request for postponement was not only denied  but games were fixed over three separate days  spanning from April 26th to May 1st.

This is the fourth time that a round of League Games couldn't be completed in one day. This has hampered our preparation for the Championship as we have had to cancel numerous training sessions and at this stage we unfortunately feel that we are unlikely to win the first round  versus Offaly. Therefore we feel we are now preparing for the Qualifiers and we hope our preparation for this competition will receive  greater support .Our Elite Players deserve better.

We have to  ask  how other counties manage to have much greater free time  leading up to their respective provincial championships and we can't. This was never an issue in Longford before as previous management teams got ample time to prepare."

Well eff me. I hereby surrender to AZOffaly and his colleagues as there is no point even discussing the match as it's just this side of a walk-over.

The Insider

Games will not be called off irrespective of any consequences with management.  He's had the panel since November had total access to them till 16th of March and now wants them till Longford exit the championship. Not on. The final round of fixtures before the Leinster championship last year was for the corresponding weekend .
The reason the games are not on the 1 day is accommodating the clubs with hurlers who play in the Laurie Maher Saturday and a big fundraiser for another club this weekend . What he is basically saying is stuff the club footballer. A further complication is one of the selectors is a son in law of the chairman

Looks like it's time to abolish Longford Shamrock :D
Amalgamate with Westmeath and be done with it.
Longmeath??.

Quote from: The Insider on April 28, 2016, 07:44:51 PM
Games will not be called off irrespective of any consequences with management.  He's had the panel since November had total access to them till 16th of March and now wants them till Longford exit the championship. Not on. The final round of fixtures before the Leinster championship last year was for the corresponding weekend .
The reason the games are not on the 1 day is accommodating the clubs with hurlers who play in the Laurie Maher Saturday and a big fundraiser for another club this weekend . What he is basically saying is stuff the club footballer. A further complication is one of the selectors is a son in law of the chairman

QuoteOur preparation has been made seriously difficult due to the fixing of League Games involving County players on the following dates: March 16th ,17th ,19th and 20th, April 8th, 9th, 10th, 13th, 19th, 23rd, 26th, 29th and May 1st.

I don't think he will have them for long with that pathetic schedule.

Quote from: Rossfan on April 28, 2016, 07:47:52 PM
Longmeath??.

Can we not go in with ye bize?

Advantages

(i) More chance of us celebrating a Provincial
(ii) County colours not too dissimilar
(iii) Ye've a smashing bus

Disadvantages

(i) We're not used to Connacht football
(ii) River Shannon in the way
(iii) Willie Hegarty would begin to champion us

Quote from: Rossfan on April 28, 2016, 07:47:52 PM
Longmeath??.

We're into assimilation, not amalgamation. Anyway, we're concentrating on our western flank at the moment, don't want to spread our resources too thinly.

Late april/early May is a very special time of the year . It's when the Longford  match threads appear.
They winter in the tropics or else in the bog perhaps.  Where they breed is unknown but they always appear just after the cherry blossoms

Quote from: seafoid on April 29, 2016, 10:06:29 AM
Late april/early May is a very special time of the year . It's when the Longford  match threads appear.
They winter in the tropics or else in the bog perhaps.  Where they breed is unknown but they always appear just after the cherry blossoms

Good man Seafoid - you are correct. The Longford v X LSFC thread is like the first call of the cuckoo. A sure sign that the misery of winter is behind us and we have a summer to look forward to.

Well, some of us have  :-\

In an update to the threatened walk-out it would appear nobody cares...........

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 29, 2016, 11:47:51 AM
Quote from: seafoid on April 29, 2016, 10:06:29 AM

Good man Seafoid - you are correct. The Longford v X LSFC thread is like the first call of the cuckoo. A sure sign that the misery of winter is behind us and we have a summer to look forward to.

Well, some of us have  :-\

In an update to the threatened walk-out it would appear nobody cares...........
I always look forward to it, Shamrock. And this winter was awful long .

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 29, 2016, 01:39:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 29, 2016, 11:53:23 AM
You don't fool us with your sneaky reverse psychology.

Feck - we're rumbled!

Could you not have Longtrim team, sure there wouldn't be enough in whole lot for a decent Dublin club.

What's the craic with playing a league round over four days?