GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: High Catch on November 22, 2006, 04:41:10 PM

Poll
Question: Best Armagh Player over the last decade?
Option 1: D Marsden votes: 17
Option 2: O Mc Conville votes: 12
Option 3: S Mc Donnell votes: 5
Option 4: Geezer votes: 33
Option 5: P Mc Grane votes: 12
Option 6: F Bellew votes: 8
Title: Best Armagh Player over the last decade?
Post by: High Catch on November 22, 2006, 04:41:10 PM
What yous think? I probably left some very obvious candidates out.
Title: Re: Best Armagh Player over the last decade?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on November 22, 2006, 04:45:04 PM
I think Mcgeeney would be the obvious choice of player who Lifted the team most and was the most consistent.  McGrane would run a close second
Post by: umgolaarmagh on November 22, 2006, 04:50:42 PM
McConville - lost count of the  number times he has hit big winners down through the years
Post by: Over the Bar on November 22, 2006, 04:53:25 PM
Marsden hasn't been playing for Armagh for a third of a decade however I'd place him well above the others in terms of ability.  Depends on your definition of best.
Post by: High Catch on November 22, 2006, 04:54:40 PM
I suppose 'Best' is the player you would miss the most if not available for a match. 
Post by: blasmere on November 22, 2006, 04:59:24 PM
Is Jarlath Burns not worthy of a mention?
Post by: botman on November 22, 2006, 05:20:35 PM
Michael Collins

Post by: hows she cutting on November 22, 2006, 05:30:15 PM
has to be stevie Mc

Post by: TORGAEL on November 22, 2006, 06:35:22 PM
Oisin McConville .he's been the bane of many's a team.
Post by: SandyHill on November 22, 2006, 06:51:33 PM
Geezer has been the heart of the Armagh Team for at least 8 years!
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 22, 2006, 09:29:38 PM
Voted for Geezer with Paul McGrane I would suggest closest. Oisin was immense up to 2003 whilst Stevie has been immense since 2002.  To my mind, they are the only four that could be considered for such an accolade.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 22, 2006, 10:49:22 PM
Mark Grimley

or

Stevie mcdonnell
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on November 23, 2006, 08:05:25 AM
IMO it has to be McGeeney.
Post by: bennydorano on November 23, 2006, 09:20:29 AM
Have to be McGrane for me, dont want to go revisionist on McGeeney, but MCGrane has always been 'the man' imo.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 22, 2006, 10:49:22 PM
Mark Grimley

Taking the piss or serious lynchboy?
Post by: maddog on November 23, 2006, 09:29:28 AM
For me its McGeeney with McGrane a very close second. Both are the driving force behind that side.
Oisin had been a match winner many a day for us and if we are asked this question in 4 years time i'd say we will be saying either Stevie or Clarke if he keeps going in the form he was in this year.
Post by: Spiritof98 on November 23, 2006, 09:42:19 AM
This one is hard, I have went with Marsden, boy have we missed him. Remember 99, struggling with injury he destroyed Donegal and Derry. (the buzz when he entered the pitch was unreal). And of course the point just before HT in the 2002 final, what a vital score. Still think we would have won the 2003 final if he hadn't been wrongly sent off.
Post by: Hank Everlast on November 23, 2006, 12:26:28 PM
tight one between mcgrane and geezer but il give it to paul as i just feel that his presence in the middle of the park will be the hardest to replace.
Post by: Armagh ABÚ on November 23, 2006, 03:49:41 PM
1. Geezer  ;)
2. J Burns
3. McGrane
4. McConville
5. McDonnell
6. Mardsen
7. Bellew  ???
8. J McEntee  ???
9. T McEntee  ???
10. Clarke  ???
Post by: Uladh on November 23, 2006, 05:06:28 PM

2 - jarleth?

credability gone.

the number of full championship games tony mcentee has played for armagh in this period hardly makes it into double figures due to injury
Post by: magpie seanie on November 23, 2006, 05:17:22 PM
QuoteStill think we would have won the 2003 final if he hadn't been wrongly sent off.

Such a crowd of whingers.
Post by: hows she cutting on November 23, 2006, 05:22:26 PM
Quote from: Spiritof98 on November 23, 2006, 09:42:19 AM
Still think we would have won the 2003 final if he hadn't been wrongly sent off.

As Eamonn Coleman once said
"if ye strake, ye must walk"
Post by: Tyrones own on November 23, 2006, 06:58:30 PM
Quote from: botman on November 22, 2006, 05:20:35 PM
Michael Collins

Post by: reddgnhand on November 23, 2006, 07:08:53 PM
Collie Holmes  :D
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 23, 2006, 09:42:31 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 23, 2006, 05:17:22 PM
QuoteStill think we would have won the 2003 final if he hadn't been wrongly sent off.

Such a crowd of whingers.

:D :D :D
Title: Don't mention the war...
Post by: Uladh on November 23, 2006, 10:37:59 PM

or "navan" as its known in sligo
Post by: stew on December 31, 2006, 02:32:30 PM
Marsden is the best player for Armagh by a Country mile with flappy sitting in second, dont confuse the best player with the most influencial player because for me that would have to be Geezer with McConville a close second.

Geezer is nowhere near as talented football wise and marsden or flappy but he drove us to sam in 02 and his legacy will say that he was one of the most important players of the current era no matter what county team you play for.
Post by: ROCKY BALBOA on January 19, 2007, 01:08:00 PM
Quote from: Spiritof98 on November 23, 2006, 09:42:19 AM
This one is hard, I have went with Marsden, boy have we missed him. Remember 99, struggling with injury he destroyed Donegal and Derry. (the buzz when he entered the pitch was unreal). And of course the point just before HT in the 2002 final, what a vital score. Still think we would have won the 2003 final if he hadn't been wrongly sent off.
[/quot

Have to agree with you there, marsden was a fantastic footballer for the county, and that point as was mentioned before was crucial to the outcome of Armagh winning the all ireland! McConville second!
Post by: realredhandfan on January 19, 2007, 01:22:49 PM
1) PTG is renowned as one if not the greatest Gaelic Footballer ever.
2) for years the cathedral quarters have touted Steve o as being as good as Mr C.  He even won the Player of the year in 2003.
3) Surely then this cant even be a close vote...
4) How can anyone vote for Francie with a straight face.
5) Armaghs done!
Post by: Goats Do Shave on January 19, 2007, 01:55:54 PM
Hast to be Paul McGrane! How are we going to cope with out him when he eventially leaves!???

We've coped without Marsden, we'll cope without the Geezer. Stevie can take Oisin's free kicks...but Floppy? Who is to replace him?
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 19, 2007, 02:35:24 PM
I voted McDonnell

shows how much I know

then again ,if this was titled 'most influential Armagh player'...maybe I'd have had someone different
Post by: Over the Bar on January 19, 2007, 02:46:13 PM
Anyone that thinks McGeeney is a better player than Marsden probably only started following Armagh in 2003.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on January 19, 2007, 02:51:30 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on January 19, 2007, 02:46:13 PM
Anyone that thinks McGeeney is a better player than Marsden probably only started following Armagh in 2003.

Why? Did McGeeney only start to perform when Diarmuid retired?
Post by: Over the Bar on January 19, 2007, 02:53:55 PM
No, my point was they obviously didnt see Marsden in his prime or the vote would have been no contest!
Post by: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 02:55:39 PM
youse Armaw biys are some craic hi,

'best player in last decade'

'hardest armaw player'

what next?

Armaw man with the nicest hair?

Get a grip you f**king tossers!!
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 19, 2007, 02:58:02 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 02:55:39 PM

Ger houlahan
Denis hollywood
Post by: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 02:59:35 PM
Flame haired Francie? might as well give it to him as well, as he's up there for best player  :D ;D and hardest man!

the amount of shite Armagh threads is a joke, imagine if they actually were one of the countrys top teams!!!

god job they aren't in the top 6! :D ;D
Post by: trueblue on January 19, 2007, 03:00:09 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 02:55:39 PM
youse Armaw biys are some craic hi,

'best player in last decade'

'hardest armaw player'

what next?

Get a grip you f**king tossers!!

this thread was started nearly 2 months ago ya clown. but on the nice hair thing has to be ger reids haircut just before he retired  :D :D
Post by: Mid Mon on January 19, 2007, 03:13:07 PM
McGeeney for me has been without doubt the best Armagh player of the past decade with McGrane and McConville fighting it out for second.
Post by: Border Fox on January 19, 2007, 03:24:34 PM
Geezer was the leader, but Óisín got the scores
Post by: trueblue on January 19, 2007, 03:27:28 PM
mc grane for me,with mc geeney 2nd and mc conville 3rd
Post by: maddog on January 19, 2007, 03:27:50 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 02:59:35 PM
Flame haired Francie? might as well give it to him as well, as he's up there for best player  :D ;D and hardest man!

the amount of shite Armagh threads is a joke, imagine if they actually were one of the countrys top teams!!!

god job they aren't in the top 6! :D ;D

Slim, if its a rise yer after maybe you should head down Marrons tonight.
Post by: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 03:30:27 PM
oh no, its yer wee brother that likes the pints in the sore hole inn!!

and i didnt want a rise, just stating the obvious. All these ''last ten years'' threads could be renamed ''since you started following Armagh''

as i said, tossers!!
Post by: trueblue on January 19, 2007, 03:36:51 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 03:30:27 PM
oh no, its yer wee brother that likes the pints in the sore hole inn!!

and i didnt want a rise, just stating the obvious. All these ''last ten years'' threads could be renamed ''since you started following Armagh''

as i said, tossers!!

ha ha ure sum craic  :D :D
Post by: full back on January 19, 2007, 03:37:03 PM
C'mon Slim, dont be jealous.
If it was an Antrim thread it would be empty because you pr*cks aint had a decent player, a hardman or indeed a player with a decent haircut in the last decade
If you dont like it stay out of it
Post by: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 03:43:48 PM
if every Armagh man on here was honest (but whats the chances like?!?!) then I reckon 90% of posters would not have seen a National League game before the year 2000, or in fact any Armagh game.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 19, 2007, 03:48:57 PM
I was supporting Armagh in the NL final in croker v down (which they lost) in 1982
:)
Post by: trueblue on January 19, 2007, 03:58:12 PM
i was at all 6 championship games in 1993 and i was 7 so go and shite ya homo.talking pure muck and ya havent a decent point to make,if ya dont want the thread in the top page dont write a comment on it
Post by: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 04:03:00 PM
''so go and shite ya homo''

classy!!

course you were, course  ;)
Post by: puskas on January 19, 2007, 04:05:58 PM
1983 lynchbhoy. a black day that was. many laughs were had however when down got dumped out in the first round of the ulster a couple of weeks later by fermanagh  :D although armagh then got dumped out in the first round a few weeks after that  :( dark days.
Post by: full back on January 19, 2007, 04:06:51 PM
 :D :D :D :D :D
Trueblue, you took the bait (did you have a bug party for your 21st?)
You got him Slim-congrats
Post by: Blue is the colour on January 19, 2007, 04:34:40 PM
Quote from: full back on January 19, 2007, 04:06:51 PM
:D :D :D :D :D
Trueblue, you took the bait (did you have a bug party for your 21st?)
You got him Slim-congrats

Full back why r u congratulating slimshady?wats dat all about??? i no true blue and i'd say he was deff at all those matches
Post by: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 04:39:07 PM
oh sweet jaysus, would ye look at the hack of this wan!!!  ;D

were you at them too blue is the colour? before you were born maybe!!
Post by: Blue is the colour on January 19, 2007, 04:45:35 PM
Ha ha good man. I was born in 86 and so was trueblue, did i say i was der no! and i wasent but true blue would ave been, and seein since dat last comment wasent directed at urself do us all a favour and F*CK OFF cus at d end of d day dis discussion has nothin ta do wit u.
Post by: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 04:47:18 PM
yeah, i was way off the mark! Armagh fans-tossers!! Never  :D ;D
Post by: Blue is the colour on January 19, 2007, 04:52:44 PM
Quote from: full back on January 19, 2007, 03:37:03 PM
C'mon Slim, dont be jealous.
If it was an Antrim thread it would be empty because you pr*cks aint had a decent player, a hardman or indeed a player with a decent haircut in the last decade
If you dont like it stay out of it

Ave 2 agree wit ya der fullback suppose he's only ere because Antrim like dnt really ave a hole lot ta b tlkin about  :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 04:54:34 PM
wel, we av nicer jerzees thn arma so der, nd ourz rnt orange neither so up urs.
Post by: man in black on January 19, 2007, 04:55:56 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 04:47:18 PM

In defence of our cousins across the river they are a sporting bunch, gracious losers in 2003. When we have the pleasure of meeting the shell suit saffrons in a similar white hot environment i hope we will be able to say the same.
Post by: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 04:57:20 PM
Quote from: man in black on January 19, 2007, 04:55:56 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 04:47:18 PM

In defence of our cousins across the river they are a sporting bunch, gracious losers in 2003. When we have the pleasure of meeting the shell suit saffrons in a similar white hot environment i hope we will be able to say the same.

they were too blocked to do anything else! probably hadnt even the energy for their traditional piss in the street in front of women and children.
Post by: Blue is the colour on January 19, 2007, 05:07:02 PM

Tanks men in black. Ya c slimshady even our old enemy issent really dat bad at d end of it all, unlike some tools on dis site!!!
and wel at least we were der in 03 dnt tink u can say d same for ur "GREAT" footballing county infact i dnt tink ull b der 4 quite sometime haha usless cu*ts
Post by: Border Fox on January 19, 2007, 05:08:45 PM
Quotethey were too blocked to do anything else! probably hadnt even the energy for their traditional piss in the street in front of women and children.

Spides in Belfast have traditionally shown that they dont need to go to football matches to piss in the streets
Post by: armaghniac on January 19, 2007, 05:16:31 PM
QuoteWhen we have the pleasure of meeting the shell suit saffrons in a similar white hot environment

If you ever think you are playing Antrim in an All-Ireland senior football final, then you should stop messing with the drugs! 
Post by: Final Countdown on January 19, 2007, 05:24:18 PM
Quote from: blasmere on November 22, 2006, 04:59:24 PM
Is Jarlath Burns not worthy of a mention?

Eh no!
Post by: Final Countdown on January 19, 2007, 05:29:07 PM
whats with all this polling best Armagh player hardest Armagh/county player etc etc etc...  sure lets not have have whole 100 greatest, series devoted to it on Channel 4!