GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on June 11, 2018, 10:59:29 AM

Title: Longford v Kildare Round 2 Qualifier Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, 7pm
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 11, 2018, 10:59:29 AM
The Longford chaps are awfully nice on this board so hard to get the spite up. If only we had drawn Tyrone or Meath...

If Longford go open they will lose, if they go tight they will win. To me it's as simple as that, I hope they go tight, if Kildare lose need to lose better else they are not learning.
Title: Re: Longford v Kildare Qualifier Round 2 2018 Date TBC
Post by: Jinxy on June 11, 2018, 11:13:25 AM
I went to college with a lad from Ballinamuck.
He reckoned horses were the least intelligent of all the domesticated animals.
There's your motivation.
Post by: thebuzz on June 11, 2018, 11:16:52 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 11, 2018, 10:59:29 AM
The Longford chaps are awfully nice on this board so hard to get the spite up. If only we had drawn Tyrone or Meath...

If Longford go open they will lose, if they go tight they will win. To me it's as simple as that, I hope they go tight, if Kildare lose need to lose better else they are not learning.

Well if Derry had got past Kildare and got Longford that would have been the end of us for sure. They are our bogie team in the qualifiers.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 11, 2018, 11:22:58 AM
That's very nice of you Dinny. We love Kildare folk too  :-*

Yiz gave us a trimming in Mullingar a few years ago so revenge will be on the minds. There was a challenge before our games v Meath and Carlow respectively and I believe Longford tore you to shreds. I am not sure what way we'll set up........cannot see either side go defensive.

We'll be missing James McGivney so that's a loss. He could get more than one game for taking out Cluxton but that's another story.

I cannot remember when Longford last beat Kildare in anything 'serious' other than the O'Byrne Cup.

Plenty of room for the parking of the 4be4s on the bypass so no excuses.

Don't mind Jinxy - he has feck all now to be doing till O'Byrne Cup 2019.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 11, 2018, 11:27:58 AM
Decent underage record against us including last years u21 Championship which you won by 2 points. Has to transfer at senior level at some stage. Your underage teams are more defensively set-up though. It's the template to beat Kildare.

Andy McEntee was crying after Meath's loss, where has their manliness gone...
Post by: Jinxy on June 11, 2018, 11:36:03 AM
It's with O'Leary in the grave.
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 11, 2018, 11:42:41 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 11, 2018, 11:36:03 AM
Bloody hell, McGivney must have a serious issue with Dublin goalkeepers.
Post by: Jinxy on June 11, 2018, 11:43:26 AM
By the way, crying tears of rage is as manly as it gets.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 11, 2018, 12:49:31 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 11, 2018, 11:42:41 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 11, 2018, 11:36:03 AM
Bloody hell, McGivney must have a serious issue with Dublin goalkeepers.

LOL - very good Owenmoresider
Post by: Billys Boots on June 11, 2018, 01:10:04 PM
QuoteThat's very nice of you Dinny. We love Kildare folk too  :-*

Except Anthony Rainbow.   >:(
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 11, 2018, 01:24:56 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 11, 2018, 01:10:04 PM
QuoteThat's very nice of you Dinny. We love Kildare folk too  :-*

Except Anthony Rainbow.   >:(

You may remind my what Rainbow did to upset Billy Boots?

P.S. Was at The The in Brixton Academy last Wed, great stuff!
Title: Re: Longford v Kildare Round 2 Qualifier Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, 7pm
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 11, 2018, 04:28:41 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 11, 2018, 11:22:58 AM
I cannot remember when Longford last beat Kildare in anything 'serious' other than the O'Byrne Cup.

1967 in a Leinster QF replay in Croke Park but Carlow hadn't beaten Kildare since 1953 so maybe its the year for these records to go.

We haven't met that often in championship football since. Kildare won in Athy in 1973 and in Longford the following year. Some man called Tompkins kicked 2-3 in Tullamore in 1983. Twenty year gap then to our next meeting in Mullingar in 2003 (David Lyons still has nightmares featuring Niall Sheridan I reckon). Then the last meeting three years ago in the qualifiers in the rain in Mullingar.

Feely's injury weakens our hand at midfield. Brophy is not as big of a loss given his indifferent form this year. Keith Cribbin had a fine game in Derry in his absence. I think O'Neill will start Johnny Byrne in place of Feely. Neil Flynn has to start for his frees alone. Niall Kelly will possibly the one to drop out: Donnellan, P Kelly, D Hyland, O'Grady, Murray, Doyle, Byrne, Moolick, Conway, K Flynn, P Cribbin, K Cribbin, Slattery, D Flynn, N Flynn.
Title: Re: Longford v Kildare Round 2 Qualifier Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, 7pm
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 13, 2018, 08:14:23 AM
51 years of hurt so DH. Not sure why the Boots has a thing for Rainbow.....did he beat us on his own in some match back in the olden days?

Looking forward to this one. Hopefully we'll get a good crowd of both locals and Lillies. As I said, plenty of parking on the by-pass. No excuse.

Post by: seafoid on June 13, 2018, 09:47:11 AM
Longford don't get a decent team very often . I expect them to give it bhfaca tu. Kildare are a bit flaky. The fans are given to nihilism. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GXCh9OhDiCI
Post by: Jinxy on June 13, 2018, 10:43:00 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 13, 2018, 08:14:23 AM
51 years of hurt so DH. Not sure why the Boots has a thing for Rainbow.....did he beat us on his own in some match back in the olden days?

Looking forward to this one. Hopefully we'll get a good crowd of both locals and Lillies. As I said, plenty of parking on the by-pass. No excuse.

They park wherever they want.

(https://i.pinimg.com/564x/65/69/8f/65698f06a6b8382119ef9bf610825b0f--range-rover-classic-pissed-off.jpg)
Post by: Itchy on June 13, 2018, 11:03:34 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 11, 2018, 11:13:25 AM
I went to college with a lad from Ballinamuck.
He reckoned horses were the least intelligent of all the domesticated animals.
There's your motivation.

Bullshit, ballinamuck people don't go to college unless it was some sort of country and western/Tractor College you went to.
Post by: Jinxy on June 13, 2018, 11:19:39 AM
He was only there for a day and that was all he said to me.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 21, 2018, 10:17:50 AM
I think we're looking ok for Sat - obviously we're missing James McGivney (suspended) and maybe Liam Connerton (injured). Not sure where the team is at. Camp has taken a vow of silence it seems, which is fine with me.

Can we expect a big crowd of good natured, ruddy-faced, Kildare folk on Sat?
Post by: mup on June 21, 2018, 10:48:03 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 21, 2018, 10:17:50 AM
I think we're looking ok for Sat - obviously we're missing James McGivney (suspended) and maybe Liam Connerton (injured). Not sure where the team is at. Camp has taken a vow of silence it seems, which is fine with me.

Unfortunately due to the clash with Royal Ascot there is unlikely to be any sort of crowd from Kildare.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 21, 2018, 10:49:59 AM
Quote from: mup on June 21, 2018, 10:48:03 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 21, 2018, 10:17:50 AM

Unfortunately due to the clash with Royal Ascot there is unlikely to be any sort of crowd from Kildare.

I know a few traveling including myself, expect more there than went to Derry.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 22, 2018, 11:58:11 AM
Any good parking advice?
Post by: Rossfan on June 22, 2018, 12:06:16 PM
N4 facing east will be grand for ye lads.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 22, 2018, 10:56:53 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 22, 2018, 11:58:11 AM
Any good parking advice?

Stay on the bypass but for God sake don't go beyant the Red Cow roundabout (the Longford version at the Red Cow filling station). As soon as you see the cars parked turn it for home and park it. No more than 10 mins walk. If you get stuck in the gripe the 4 wheels will help you get out.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 23, 2018, 07:27:34 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 22, 2018, 10:56:53 PM
Any good parking advice?

Stay on the bypass but for God sake don't go beyant the Red Cow roundabout (the Longford version at the Red Cow filling station). As soon as you see the cars parked turn it for home and park it. No more than 10 mins walk. If you get stuck in the gripe the 4 wheels will help you get out.

Thoul diff-lock is a mighty invention.
Post by: seafoid on June 23, 2018, 11:26:13 AM
Longford might nick this one. The Mullinalaghta boys can beat the Slashers and Clonguish so the Flourbags won't scare them.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 23, 2018, 11:34:01 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 23, 2018, 07:27:34 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 22, 2018, 10:56:53 PM
Any good parking advice?

Thoul diff-lock is a mighty invention.

Pray it goes all the way.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 23, 2018, 07:46:42 PM
Entertaining match. We pt up at half time. Rattled crossbar twice.

Longford 0-09
Kildare 0-08

Goal will win it
Post by: seafoid on June 23, 2018, 08:25:19 PM
55 mins

Longford 0-13 Kildare 0-12

Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 23, 2018, 08:46:30 PM
Feck
Post by: Hound on June 23, 2018, 08:49:20 PM
Sounded like a good exciting game (from text updates!)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 23, 2018, 09:08:26 PM
It was exciting but Kildare edged it. They took lead for first time with 5 to go. Goal killed us. Our goal was too little, too late.

Well done Kildare - Ye just about escaped
Post by: seafoid on June 23, 2018, 09:09:21 PM
Hard luck to the Larries
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 23, 2018, 10:53:22 PM
Phew! Kildare probably had more trust in their bench, Longford players were dead on their feet with 10 to go but no changes forthcoming. We finished much stronger but still foul too much. Definitely need a lucky draw Monday  to progress.
Post by: Qwerty28 on June 23, 2018, 11:00:59 PM
Why oh why did Longford not use bench? Whats the point of having subs if you dont utalise them...no point bringing 3 lads on with seconds left. It was deciding factor in the end as lads had run themselves into the ground.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 24, 2018, 08:30:01 AM
Happy to get the result. Better teams than that Kildare side have been turned over by Longford in their own back yard down the years. It's the first time in a while that this group of players have dug out a result so that is encouraging. It would have been interesting to see whether the heads would have dropped if Longford had shown a bit more composure on either of those goal chances in the first half.

The standard of football wasn't hectic although it was a fairly tense game and there were some nice scores. Paul Cribbin and Neil Flynn kept us in it at times. Agree with the comments above regarding the respective benches. Healy and Slattery were busy and got on a lot of ball while Feely produced two moments of real quality in his ten minutes on the field.

We will probably need a favourable draw on Monday to go much further.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 24, 2018, 10:08:18 PM
Obviously delighted with the win, but feel we nicked it a small bit as we shot ourselves in the foot so many times.
Then Longford hits the crossbar twice.

Kildare have so much to sort out, but Feely coming on really just settled the entire team and he is a real leader. Glad to get a bit of sun and get out OK and looking forward to another day.