GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tyroneman on June 11, 2018, 08:50:21 AM

Title: Carlow v Tyrone
Post by: tyroneman on June 11, 2018, 08:50:21 AM
If Brolly couldn't stand Carlow's blanket approach v Laois at the weekend, he's really gonna love Carlow v Tyrone....
Title: Re: Carlow v Tyrone
Post by: Jinxy on June 11, 2018, 08:54:09 AM
If yer man with the Palestinian flag sets up shop in the middle of the Carlow fans, the stewards will never find him.
Post by: rrhf on June 11, 2018, 09:10:50 AM
Brilliant  ;D
Post by: rrhf on June 11, 2018, 09:46:08 PM
True fiontamhnach I'm wrecking my head thinking back and I can't recall one to the early 80s anyway. But for some reason I'm doubtful. I wonder which side ex Moy Tyrone And Carlow legend John the new king Owens will be supporting.
Post by: ONeill on June 11, 2018, 11:15:36 PM
What about the Poacher factor? This man knows Tyrone insideout.
Post by: redcard on June 11, 2018, 11:28:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 11, 2018, 11:15:36 PM

With all due respect follow me up to Carlow on the rocky road to Dublin.
Post by: thewobbler on June 11, 2018, 11:32:23 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 11, 2018, 11:15:36 PM

I was chatting to him about this morning. He reckons that the wily Harte will field an under-20 team next weekend, just to outfox that knowledge. Poacher has a plan up in his sleeve in case that happens, whereby Carlow will all enter the field with bandaged head wounds, and then call so many blood substitutions that the ball is in play for less than 5 minutes per half.

There was something else about his freetaker Broderick kicking his first 3-4 attempts with his wrong foot, just to lull all them Tyrone lads who've never heard tell of him, into a false sense of security. Should be an interesting match with all this going on. Doubt Brolly will pick up on of it either. He will be too busy talking about how Seamus Downey never dropped a ball in his life. Apart from in the televised matches he played in. Something strange always happened him when the cameras were on.
Post by: ONeill on June 11, 2018, 11:52:05 PM
Yiz are underestimating the Poacher factor. This man is single-handedly taking the fight to Dublin in Leinster.

Added, he has a deep knowledge of Tyroniees by working for the Gaelic Life and takes courses and stuff. He is already inside McCarron's head. Poacher could be the winning of this.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 11, 2018, 11:57:04 PM
Cut the crap@ Tyrone by 10pts
Post by: BennyHarp on June 12, 2018, 12:02:43 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 11, 2018, 11:52:05 PM
Yiz are underestimating the Poacher factor. This man is single-handedly taking the fight to Dublin in Leinster.

Added, he has a deep knowledge of Tyroniees by working for the Gaelic Life and takes courses and stuff. He is already inside McCarron's head. Poacher could be the winning of this.

And he's married to a Tyrone woman I believe. All part of the master plan.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 12, 2018, 11:51:11 AM
For myself and all those others wondering, who is the poacher?

Are many of ye staying down the night?
Sure I might wander down mesel
Would there be bingo on anywhere in Carlow on a Sat night ??

Post by: Knock Yer Mucker In on June 12, 2018, 12:11:04 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 12, 2018, 11:51:11 AM

;D ;D he is the coach. We should be talking about their manager Turlough O Brien, as he is the leader and who has turned Carlow around, similar to Rory in Fermanagh, Mickey in Tyrone, Jim in Dublin
Post by: seafoid on June 12, 2018, 12:40:41 PM

Stephen Poacher the Carlow coacher.  From the north
Post by: Hound on June 12, 2018, 12:48:30 PM
Quote from: Knock Yer Mucker In on June 12, 2018, 12:11:04 PM

;D ;D he is the coach. We should be talking about their manager Turlough O Brien, as he is the leader and who has turned Carlow around, similar to Rory in Fermanagh, Mickey in Tyrone, Jim in Dublin
I'd never heard of him until the Kildare radio commentators were giving out about him, and then in the lead up to the Laois game there seemed to be lads from every county he's come up against moaning about his antics. And in Parkinson's preview show while he'd great praise for T O'Brien, he said when Poacher is interviewed, all he talks about is Poacher!

I positioned myself in the middle of the Hogan Stand for the first half of the Carlow-Laois game, and while there was a lull in the game (most of the first half!) I took to watching Poacher. Christ, the man covers some ground. Literally every stoppage he's off! Often he'll carry a water bottle, but a good few times he forgot it! 

He was doing plenty of cajoling to his lads, and the story is he gives it to the opposition lads too, although to be honest I couldn't say for sure that he did that on Sunday. The Laois coach was getting animated with him though, didnt confront him directly, but was trying to get the 4th official to stop him. Which was met mainly by a shrug in response!
Post by: omagh_gael on June 12, 2018, 02:21:03 PM
Wooly mentioned in his podcast that he was flat out waving imaginary yellow cards and at one point made the substitution signal to the Laois bench to get one of their men off. Fair to say, Colm hasn't much time for him!!
Post by: screenexile on June 12, 2018, 02:32:17 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 12, 2018, 02:21:03 PM
Wooly mentioned in his podcast that he was flat out waving imaginary yellow cards and at one point made the substitution signal to the Laois bench to get one of their men off. Fair to say, Colm hasn't much time for him!!

Think he coaches the St. Louis Kilkeel team in the MacRory cup as well. Marty Clarke seems to have an awful lot of time for him. . . Brolly is not a fan!!
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 12, 2018, 02:43:41 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 12, 2018, 02:32:17 PM

Think he coaches the St. Louis Kilkeel team in the MacRory cup as well. Marty Clarke seems to have an awful lot of time for him. . . Brolly is not a fan!!

Is he not St Columban's (the secondary) SE?
Post by: Nanderson on June 12, 2018, 03:00:30 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 12, 2018, 02:32:17 PM

He never coached St Louis. Was An Riocht manager when Martin came home from Aus the 1st time so would have been Martys coach. Think hes away to Lismore in Craigavon now that St Columbans has been merged with St Louis
Post by: Targetman on June 12, 2018, 09:00:39 PM
Surely the legendary Poacher deserves a thread of his own!!
Post by: Jayop on June 12, 2018, 09:51:31 PM
With all due respect to Carlow, I expect Tyrone to have this pretty handy. Carlow could only (in my opinion) beat a top team by catching them on the hop and at this stage everyone knows all about Carlow and Tyrone have played and played against every kind of defensive set up imaginable. Tyrone simply will have better players who will do more damage while Carlow will be praying for a free every time a Tyrone man touches them within 50. I'd expect the spread to be 6 points and Tyrone to just about beat it.

Created 5 good goal chances at least against Meath, if we can do that here and take 2 of them it's good night Carlow.
Post by: yellowcard on June 12, 2018, 11:03:20 PM
No assistant manager outside of Roy Keane appears to get as much media coverage as Steve Poacher.

If he is as good as they say he is, surely he must be the obvious candidate for the Down job which I'd expect to become vacant in the next few weeks. Could be the catalyst that Down football needs if someone as esteemed as Marty Clarke has put him forward as his choice.

Carlow put it up to Monaghan for long spells in last years qualifier match and I'd expect a similar encounter here with Tyrone coming through by 7-8 points. The only thing sure is that this will not be one for the traditionalists.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 12, 2018, 11:05:19 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on June 11, 2018, 08:50:21 AM
If Brolly couldn't stand Carlow's blanket approach v Laois at the weekend, he's really gonna love Carlow v Tyrone....
Tyrones in their last 3 championship games have conceded 2-17,1-18 and 0-19 a blanket that is full of holes?
Post by: Jayop on June 12, 2018, 11:25:50 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 12, 2018, 11:05:19 PM
Tyrones in their last 3 championship games have conceded 2-17,1-18 and 0-19 a blanket that is full of holes?

And barring 2 games in the last 2 seasons Tyrone have scored a load too.

Honestly, it would be nonsense for any Tyrone person to say that we haven't been defensive the last few years, but I have seen changes and different approaches being tried this year in both the League and the Championship. Time will tell, but even if Tyrone went man to man you'd still have people calling it puke football and devensive shite because that's what's been ingrained in the public consciousness by RTE since 2003
Post by: Main Street on June 13, 2018, 12:13:36 AM
I fancy Carlow for this one, though that could be the weed talking.
Post by: seafoid on June 13, 2018, 01:11:58 AM
Quote from: Jayop on June 12, 2018, 11:25:50 PM

Honestly, it would be nonsense for any Tyrone person to say that we haven't been defensive the last few years, but I have seen changes and different approaches being tried this year in both the League and the Championship. Time will tell, but even if Tyrone went man to man you'd still have people calling it puke football and devensive shite because that's what's been ingrained in the public consciousness by RTE since 2003
Jaysus

If Tyrone played attractive football RTE would show it. If Tyrone had good forwards maybe the tactics could be different 
Nobody cares otherwise. It is all a big circus. Most people wouldn't be able to remember as far back as 2003 either.
Maybe the border interferes with the optics.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 13, 2018, 03:47:58 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 13, 2018, 01:11:58 AM

Jaysus

If Tyrone played attractive football RTE would show it. If Tyrone had good forwards maybe the tactics could be different 
Nobody cares otherwise. It is all a big circus. Most people wouldn't be able to remember as far back as 2003 either.

Given Tyrones high scoring in championship games over the last two years, I'm at a loss as to what the anti-tyroneies want. Seriously what do you want???
Post by: seafoid on June 13, 2018, 07:43:51 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 13, 2018, 03:47:58 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 13, 2018, 01:11:58 AM

Jaysus

Given Tyrones high scoring in championship games over the last two years, I'm at a loss as to what the anti-tyroneies want. Seriously what do you want???
Tyrone can rack up big scores against Ulster teams alright.
Post by: WT4E on June 13, 2018, 09:56:03 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 13, 2018, 07:43:51 AM

So let me get this straight only scores against non ulster teams count????

2-14 against Meath this year

1-14
0-19
0-21
against non ulster teams in 2015

2-21 in 2014

Seafoid serious question - Why do you hate Tyrone so much can't understand it as you are a Galwegian.
Post by: seafoid on June 13, 2018, 10:07:13 AM
Quote from: WT4E on June 13, 2018, 09:56:03 AM

1-14
0-19
0-21

2-21 in 2014

Seafoid serious question - Why do you hate Tyrone so much can't understand it as you are a Galwegian.
I don't hate them. I just think they are not good enough. Racking up big scores against mediocre teams means nothing.
I thought after they got promoted in 2016 that they would kick on. I thought they might be good enough to challenge Dublin.  And they weren't.
I think they need a new approach.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on June 13, 2018, 11:51:42 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 13, 2018, 10:07:13 AM

1-14
0-19
0-21

2-21 in 2014

I don't hate them. I just think they are not good enough. Racking up big scores against mediocre teams means nothing.
I thought after they got promoted in 2016 that they would kick on. I thought they might be good enough to challenge Dublin.  And they weren't.

I think everyone in Tyrone is acutely aware that we arent on the same level as Dublin (who is?)
We are probably a level below Kerry/Mayo also, but still capable of beating them.

What counties do rack up big scores against Dublin?

The way some on here and those in the media go on you'd think Tyrone won every game 7 points to 6
Post by: longballin on June 13, 2018, 12:00:56 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on June 13, 2018, 11:51:42 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 13, 2018, 10:07:13 AM

1-14
0-19
0-21

2-21 in 2014

I think everyone in Tyrone is acutely aware that we arent on the same level as Dublin (who is?)
We are probably a level below Kerry/Mayo also, but still capable of beating them.

What counties do rack up big scores against Dublin?

The way some on here and those in the media go on you'd think Tyrone won every game 7 points to 6

Might be best to speak for yourself. I see nothing to indicate we are on level of Kerry or Mayo and havent been for 10 years.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on June 13, 2018, 12:02:28 PM
read my post again.
Post by: longballin on June 13, 2018, 12:17:50 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on June 13, 2018, 12:02:28 PM
read my post again.

Ok  fair enough though you do say we are capable of beating Mayo or Kerry which I see nothing to indicate that.
Post by: smort on June 13, 2018, 01:20:32 PM
Quote from: longballin on June 13, 2018, 12:17:50 PM
read my post again.

Ok  fair enough though you do say we are capable of beating Mayo or Kerry which I see nothing to indicate that.

Tyrone have already beaten Kerry and mayo this year
Post by: outsideoftheboot on June 13, 2018, 01:20:46 PM
read my post again.

Beat both of them comfortably in the league? surely that's an indication that its possible anyway.
Post by: Jayop on June 13, 2018, 08:54:17 PM
Quote from: smort on June 13, 2018, 01:20:32 PM
read my post again.

Tyrone have already beaten Kerry and mayo this year

LOL a good point well made
Post by: Jayop on June 13, 2018, 09:07:12 PM
I think where the various counties are at the moment is pretty obvious.

Dublin

Kerry/Mayo/Galway (yes I'd put Galway here after their league and beating Mayo again)

Tyrone/Donegal/Monaghan

Everyone else....
Post by: Rossfan on June 14, 2018, 12:08:48 AM
Time ye put Galway in their rightful place .......right alongside Dublin.
Post by: seafoid on June 14, 2018, 07:27:39 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 14, 2018, 12:08:48 AM
Time ye put Galway in their rightful place .......right alongside Dublin.
plámás.  Rossie psy ops
Post by: RedHand88 on June 14, 2018, 08:55:33 AM
read my post again.

Narrow championship defeats to these two teams in the last few years. We are absolutely capable of beating Kerry/Mayo.
Post by: trailer on June 14, 2018, 12:59:31 PM
Yeah they won a few games and got promoted out of Div 4. They've had their day in sun against Kildare. #carlowrising will become #carlowlowered Tyrone by 12.
Post by: JoG2 on June 14, 2018, 01:53:12 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 14, 2018, 08:55:33 AM
read my post again.

Narrow championship defeats to these two teams in the last few years. We are absolutely capable of beating Kerry/Mayo.

It's the hope that kills
Post by: Jayop on June 14, 2018, 03:29:16 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on June 14, 2018, 01:53:12 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 14, 2018, 08:55:33 AM
read my post again.

It's the hope that kills

Would I put us as favourites against either of those teams if we managed to meet later in the year? No. Would I be surprised if we won? No.

The only team I'd regard as a shock if we beat them at the moment is Dublin. That's not at all saying I think we're better than the other top sides, just that on our day we are certainly capable.

2016 Mayo only beat us by a point after a soft red for Cavanagh and a site of bad wides.
2015 Kerry beat us by 4 in a tight game that was refereed farcically one sided with crazy blacks for us and worse fouls let away with for them. We also as usual missed a load of goal chances.

The league this year we destroyed Mayo in what was a big game for both of us and we beat Kerry in what was a crucial game for us but not so much for them iirc. I don't think Tyrone look much better or worse than they did in 2015 or 2016 but Mayo to my eye look a worse team than they were and this young Kerry side are untested but look very good.
Post by: bogball88 on June 14, 2018, 03:36:42 PM
Carlow is under an hour on the train from Houston Station and Dr Cullen Park is a 15 minute walk from the station for anyone looking at that option
Post by: Jayop on June 14, 2018, 03:43:43 PM
I'm going to go to the Sligo Armagh game instead and try to get a rise out of a few Armagh bucks.
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 14, 2018, 03:58:52 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on June 14, 2018, 03:36:42 PM
Carlow is under an hour on the train from Houston Station and Dr Cullen Park is a 15 minute walk from the station for anyone looking at that option

Last train back to Dublin something like 7.30, so if there's extra-time you are on the streets of Carlow overnight.
Post by: bogball88 on June 14, 2018, 04:21:39 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on June 14, 2018, 03:58:52 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on June 14, 2018, 03:36:42 PM

Last train back to Dublin something like 7.30, so if there's extra-time you are on the streets of Carlow overnight.
8)
Post by: RedHand88 on June 15, 2018, 06:14:30 AM
Staying down for this one. Having never been to the great town of Carlow can anyone recommend anywhere good for a drink before hand? Or any establishments for the Saturday night?
Post by: Jinxy on June 15, 2018, 10:04:21 AM
First Navan, now Carlow.
Every Saturday is like culture night for Tyrone fans this summer.
Post by: WT4E on June 15, 2018, 10:06:23 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 15, 2018, 10:04:21 AM
First Navan, now Carlow.

Where you going next Saturday night?  ;D ;D
Post by: BennyHarp on June 15, 2018, 10:11:45 AM
I don't think I've ever even met someone from Carlow before. What are they like?
Post by: Jinxy on June 15, 2018, 10:14:27 AM
Colourful.
Post by: trailer on June 15, 2018, 10:29:23 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 15, 2018, 10:11:45 AM
I don't think I've ever even met someone from Carlow before. What are they like?

They're all like Derek Ryan.
Post by: laoislad on June 15, 2018, 10:30:24 AM
Hairy. And that's just the women.
Post by: JoG2 on June 15, 2018, 10:46:16 AM

Apparently Sean O'Brien is known as 'wee Sean'... Be afraid
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 15, 2018, 12:35:26 PM

(http://e-cdn-images.deezer.com/images/cover/def83d2a5c646a8feddd4fd64c50287a/500x500.jpg)
Post by: RedHand88 on June 15, 2018, 12:35:37 PM
Quote from: WT4E on June 15, 2018, 10:06:23 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 15, 2018, 10:04:21 AM
First Navan, now Carlow.

Where you going next Saturday night?  ;D ;D

Mass.
Post by: Jinxy on June 15, 2018, 02:00:39 PM
The pictures.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 15, 2018, 03:26:06 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 15, 2018, 06:14:30 AM
Staying down for this one. Having never been to the great town of Carlow can anyone recommend anywhere good for a drink before hand? Or any establishments for the Saturday night?

We should set up a whatsapp group RH88 so we can all stay in touch and meet up
If anyone interested PM me.
A good few of us TAD ones going down from Dublin on the Sat. I might go down on the train perhaps.
Post by: ONeill on June 15, 2018, 09:31:07 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on June 15, 2018, 03:26:06 PM

We should set up a whatsapp group RH88 so we can all stay in touch and meet up
If anyone interested PM me.
A good few of us TAD ones going down from Dublin on the Sat. I might go down on the train perhaps.

Fiach will do what Fiach will dare.
Post by: laoislad on June 15, 2018, 09:32:36 PM
The Foundry.
Post by: Gmac on June 15, 2018, 09:44:14 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 15, 2018, 09:32:36 PM
The Foundry.
the foundry a good spot for Saturday night
The Irishman's pub maybe before game one of the closer pubs to ground owned by ex Laois selector Declan o loughlin but should have plenty local supporters btw it's good 10/15 min walk out from any pub not much close by ground
Post by: ONeill on June 15, 2018, 09:46:25 PM
I'm driving but after the game have to drive to Maynooth to stay overnight. An hour from Carlow?
Post by: randomusername on June 15, 2018, 10:03:26 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 15, 2018, 09:46:25 PM
I'm driving but after the game have to drive to Maynooth to stay overnight. An hour from Carlow?

four hours from carlow to maynooth by car i hear
Post by: omaghjoe on June 15, 2018, 10:09:37 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 15, 2018, 09:32:36 PM
The Foundry.

Carlow had a foundry?
Post by: ose 14 on June 16, 2018, 07:56:52 AM
by all acounts the challenge match pre mckenna cup between these 2 was abandonded with 4 men lined with tyrone struggling to deal with carlows size. tyrone struggle against a blanket defence and a tight pitch something carlow will provide. tyrone are a sideways team both running and handpassing. this game will be a hell of a lot tighter than the majority of people on here think. meath allowed tyrone too much space for the likes of donnelly and mccann and burns to run into that wont happen v carlow. i believe WACO has gone into lockdown since the draw last monday with all sessions behind closed doors and mickey koresh extending his rte media ban to even the local rags. poacher v the preacher could come down to scientific analysis modern coaching versus divine intervention.
Post by: redzone on June 16, 2018, 09:40:42 AM
Take our scores we win well, if not it will be a dogfight.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 16, 2018, 12:42:32 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 15, 2018, 09:46:25 PM

Aye, at most.
Post by: rrhf on June 16, 2018, 11:35:36 PM
Have Carlow taken in their sidelines?
Post by: ONeill on June 17, 2018, 09:26:04 AM
Not only that - they've narrowed the goalposts and the 45 is now a 42.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 17, 2018, 02:43:13 PM
Paddy Power offering Tír Eoghain at evens at a handicap of -7 points, and with all due respect to Carlovians that's about right I'd say. Less of the sham modesty.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 17, 2018, 03:09:16 PM
***Sickening arrogance*** :D
Post by: Unlaoised on June 19, 2018, 10:40:03 AM
The original anti football county against a team thats taken it to a new level....Should be a cracker!! :P

All joking aside I think Carlow might trouble Tyrone and +7 looks decent !
Post by: WT4E on June 19, 2018, 10:46:41 AM
Any of the injuries cleared up - is Big Kyle really back?

Tyrone by a few here - foot of the gas in the last 10
Post by: the goal was on on June 19, 2018, 10:48:30 AM
Even if Carlow kep it tight they have no scoring power. If Tyrone get ahead early its game over. If not it will stay tigh but when game opens up after 55 mins tyrones higher quality will make it a comfortable evening. Everyone is awre of what Carlow bring to table now and thats gonna be there probelm as it was agianst Laois. Laois mirrored them largely. If tyrone do that there is only one winner. Likely though tyrone will be more aggressive on kick outs etc and if this brings joy early it will be a tough ask for Carlow.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 19, 2018, 11:38:31 AM
Jay Sus!
If Mickey wanted to lower fans expectations both inside and outside of the county he certainly has done so.

A narrow defeat to a very poor Meath team after extra time after a convincing loss to Monaghan who then lose to Fermanagh and now we're all wondering will we get it tight to Carlow.
Seems a long way from where we were last summer.
Talk of bringing back players of haven't been up to scratch before, certainly seems to show we are not in a good place.

Personally I just want a summer of exciting Sat night games and then a wee run in the last 8 and I'm happy.
I had my 4 kids all togged out in their Tyrone gear for the first time ever on Fathers day in the park and this Armagh lad cycled past with his kids and roared out "COME ON ARMAGH" to them.

Rebecca (9) shouts back "It's Tyrone NOT Armagh" ya gobshite".

OK maybe not exactly what she said.  ::)
Post by: Jinxy on June 19, 2018, 12:02:25 PM
At least your kids didn't attack each other.
#progress
Post by: Dire Ear on June 22, 2018, 12:45:27 PM
TV or radio, possibly only a local station ??
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 22, 2018, 12:50:16 PM
Curse and swear, Lord Kildare!
Mick will do what Mick will dare
Now O'Brien, have a care!
Fallen is your star, low!
Up with halberd, out with sword!
On we go, for by the Lord,
Mickey Harte has given his word:
"Follow me down to Carlow!"

;) :)
Post by: blewuporstuffed on June 23, 2018, 02:20:26 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on June 22, 2018, 12:45:27 PM
TV or radio, possibly only a local station ??

BBC iplayer?
Post by: omagh_gael on June 23, 2018, 04:33:05 PM
KCLR radio confirmed on Twitter that they're covering it.
Post by: Gmac on June 23, 2018, 04:46:57 PM
Tyrone should win by 10
Post by: seafoid on June 23, 2018, 05:13:54 PM
Carlow (ex D4) might try to horse Tyrone out of it and then target their fragile confidence.
Or else get hammered.
Post by: Jim Bob on June 23, 2018, 05:17:22 PM
http://listen.kclr96fm.com/livestream/
Post by: seafoid on June 23, 2018, 05:35:12 PM
Carlow 1-2 Tyrone 0-5
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 23, 2018, 05:36:31 PM
Tyrone edging in front now, should hold on once they get 3 or 4 clear.
Post by: Jayop on June 23, 2018, 05:38:26 PM
Have to say the coverage on Carlow radio is brilliant balanced coverage for a local station.
Post by: Jayop on June 23, 2018, 05:42:53 PM
3 up at half time with the usual butchered goal chance and a few bad wides by the sound of it. Fair play though they kept the head after the goal and scored 5 unanswered after it.
Post by: longballin on June 23, 2018, 06:07:24 PM
Bit of perspective needed is Carlow they're playing... like the Brazil manager going crazy after  a goal against Costa Rica ffs! ::)
Post by: Jayop on June 23, 2018, 06:15:13 PM
Game over
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 23, 2018, 06:45:55 PM
3-14 to 1-10 full time
Post by: Jayop on June 23, 2018, 06:49:36 PM
Very comfortable win in the end. Kinda kept about 9 points between them all through the last twenty. Bigger challenges to come but that's a good score against that kind of team.
Post by: Gmac on June 23, 2018, 06:58:01 PM
Quote from: Gmac on June 23, 2018, 04:46:57 PM
Tyrone should win by 10
your welcome
Post by: trileacman on June 23, 2018, 07:07:10 PM
Quote from: longballin on June 23, 2018, 06:07:24 PM
Bit of perspective needed is Carlow they're playing... like the Brazil manager going crazy after  a goal against Costa Rica ffs! ::)

Tyrone brazil comparisons. That's a new one.
Post by: longballin on June 23, 2018, 07:19:38 PM
Quote from: trileacman on June 23, 2018, 07:07:10 PM

Tyrone brazil comparisons. That's a new one.

Aye both had great teams and now believe they're contenders and overhype wins against the minnow teams now; while the top teams hammer them  Dublin-Germany
Post by: BennyHarp on June 23, 2018, 07:21:29 PM

F*ck it, i've the hotel booked for the All Ireland final.
Post by: longballin on June 23, 2018, 07:23:28 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on June 23, 2018, 07:21:29 PM

F*ck it, i've the hotel booked for the All Ireland final.

Have you watched Tyrone or Brazil recently?   :D
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 23, 2018, 07:30:00 PM
Strong, tight, won by 10 points. Well done Mickey Harte and team.
Post by: Jayop on June 23, 2018, 07:36:24 PM
Who's hyping anything? What idiotic statements.
Post by: longballin on June 23, 2018, 07:41:55 PM
I read load of press about the big challenge this would be... that's hype
Post by: Jayop on June 23, 2018, 07:43:30 PM
Quote from: longballin on June 23, 2018, 07:41:55 PM

Did you? Maybe share some of it for the rest if us. All I heard was predictions of a comfortable Tyrone win. That's what I said in this thread before the game.

You're talking shite.
Post by: longballin on June 23, 2018, 07:50:13 PM
Quote from: Jayop on June 23, 2018, 07:43:30 PM
Quote from: longballin on June 23, 2018, 07:41:55 PM

Did you? Maybe share some of it for the rest if us. All I heard was predictions of a comfortable Tyrone win. That's what I said in this thread before the game.

You're talking shite.

Petie Harte: "Carlow have shown they are good enough to beat anyone on their day" wtf!  Andy Watters Irish News.. "Carlow will give this Tyrone team a headache." ...mmm
Post by: Blowitupref on June 23, 2018, 07:59:40 PM
The same Carlow that beat Kildare by 7 points this summer. Tyrone beat Carlow today more comfortably than Monaghan,Dublin did last year.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 23, 2018, 08:03:14 PM
"A load of press" - FFS  ;D
Post by: longballin on June 23, 2018, 08:04:30 PM
Aye I suppose they have to hype up the games try whip up some interest.
Post by: redzone on June 23, 2018, 08:13:11 PM
Oh dear the mask slips again on long ball.
Post by: Jayop on June 23, 2018, 08:23:02 PM
What a load of bollocks. I hope you never listen to Jim Gavin talk before a game if you think that's hype.
Post by: The Trap on June 23, 2018, 08:23:29 PM
Don't be fooled as easily as last year lads..........
Post by: Jayop on June 23, 2018, 08:26:54 PM
Quote from: The Trap on June 23, 2018, 08:23:29 PM
Don't be fooled as easily as last year lads..........

Had an average league. Lost to an average Monaghan, scraped past Meath and won handy against Carlow. Hardly getting excited.

Compared to last year where we whipped everyone km sight before Dublin.
Post by: God14 on June 23, 2018, 08:34:59 PM
Another small step for Tyrone, the win was expected today. First time in Carlow and enjoyable day out. Thought Niall Sludden and Richie Donnelly impressive. regular game time helping both to find form. McKernan another growing into the side.
Tougher tests coming soon, and disappointing to concede another goal. Monday's draw be interesting. The way the fixtures fall, and with the super 8s potentially to come, 16-26 is now so important. Crucial a few of those lads step up. Thought RON could have been on sooner, I'd have emptied the bench a tad sooner looking at the bigger picture. We need one of Bradley or Brennan back soon. But happy enough with that today.
Post by: Jinxy on June 23, 2018, 08:59:18 PM
https://twitter.com/TyroneGAALive/status/1010576984932601856 (https://twitter.com/TyroneGAALive/status/1010576984932601856)
Post by: longballin on June 23, 2018, 09:02:50 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 23, 2018, 08:59:18 PM
https://twitter.com/TyroneGAALive/status/1010576984932601856 (https://twitter.com/TyroneGAALive/status/1010576984932601856)

Bring back John Hurson
Post by: RedHand88 on June 24, 2018, 10:55:48 AM

Big fuss over nothing. I could easily picture a commentator saying that.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 24, 2018, 11:22:23 AM
Poor aul Jinxy.
Leinster final day and another year gone with no sign of a Royal Revival.
Things are so bad now that even Laois are making Leinster finals before them.
Ahh well, at least there's some comfort in finding fault with a Tyrone Twitter Tit who should have saw black or red for such a disgraceful cut at the poor Carlow free taker.
This bad smell follows this Tyrone group everywhere, even in the web.

Well done Carlow fans so for being very pleasant hosts and graceful losers. Bit disappointed not to be offered a scallion all day though
Kildare next Leinster team up I presume though I'd settle for Leitrim.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 24, 2018, 12:25:37 PM

Sad, the lengths some folk go to for offence. >:(

And just to echo Fuzzman's sentiments re Carlow -- football aside, a thoroughly enjoyable experience, go raibh míle maith agat Carlow folk.

Post by: give her dixie on June 25, 2018, 01:04:35 PM
Quote from: longballin on June 23, 2018, 09:02:50 PM

Bring back John Hurson

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/tyrone-gaa-paul-broderick-tweet-carlow-165337
Post by: omagh_gael on June 25, 2018, 01:13:07 PM
Highlights up on YouTube now...

https://youtu.be/0eS1gK8yNJg