Project Ireland 2040

Started by OgraAnDun, February 16, 2018, 03:08:10 PM

OgraAnDun

http://www.gov.ie/en/project-ireland-2040/

What are your opinions on Ireland 2040? I think that the bits I've seen and read are ambitious and positive. The question is, how much of it will it be carried out?

What does it say on a united Ireland

I don't think any long term projections are credible now. The economic system is going to have another Minsky moment in the next few years . Ireland is drowning in debt. There is no growth driver.
All projections are linear. Today leads smoothly to tomorrow and so on into infinity. Economic system collapses don't work like that. The Department of Finance is still shite. And when AIB collapses again they won't be able to shunt the cost onto the sovereign like last time.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TON3PORRDQ

Quote from: seafoid on February 16, 2018, 04:03:56 PM
I don't think any long term projections are credible now. The economic system is going to have another Minsky moment in the next few years . Ireland is drowning in debt. There is no growth driver.
All projections are linear. Today leads smoothly to tomorrow and so on into infinity. Economic system collapses don't work like that. The Department of Finance is still shite. And when AIB collapses again they won't be able to shunt the cost onto the sovereign like last time.

The economy is going to be grand, which seems like it's goong to make you very sad indeed.

The problem is that grand economy will remain positioned in Dublin and acting as a vacuum for the best young people from the rest of the country. Better that emigration in decades past, but not ideal.

Quote from: Syferus on February 16, 2018, 04:10:52 PM

The economy is going to be grand, which seems like it's goong to make you very sad indeed.

The problem is that grand economy will remain positioned in Dublin and acting as a vacuum for the best young people from the rest of the country. Better that emigration in decades past, but not ideal.
http://www.themarysue.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/post-64231-this-is-fine-dog-fire-comic-Im-N7mp.png

Global debt is 350% of GDP
In Roscommon terms that's like 6 million sheep on a tuesday sale in Castlerea.
They would stretch back all the way to Williamstown. The level of shite would be Augean

Quote from: OgraAnDun on February 16, 2018, 03:08:10 PM

What are your opinions on Ireland 2040? I think that the bits I've seen and read are ambitious and positive. The question is, how much of it will it be carried out?
Very little i can imagine, the Irish are too laid back to make any ambitious and positive plans to become a reality.

Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 16, 2018, 04:20:36 PM

Very little i can imagine, the Irish are too laid back to make any ambitious and positive plans to become a reality.

How did we go from a third-rate country to one of the tech capitals of the world in about 30 years? It requires a tiny bit of planning to overhaul a country as totally as Ireland has been in the last three decades. The cynicism your post typifies is much more the problem at governmental and social level for failures of plans like this than the populace being 'laid back'.

We'll all be rooned says Seafóid before the plan is out.
A first step would be to move Dáil,  Government, Top Civil Service, President etc to a new Capital in or around Athlone.
A new 10% Corporate tax rate for designated underdeveloped areas.

Quote from: Rossfan on February 16, 2018, 04:36:23 PM
We'll all be rooned says Seafóid before the plan is out.
A first step would be to move Dáil,  Government, Top Civil Service, President etc to a new Capital in or around Athlone.
A new 10% Corporate tax rate for designated underdeveloped areas.
Pension money should be invested regionally instead of speculated on bonds that are overvalued.
Underdeveloped areas shuld get more than tax reductions
Education should be overhauled. 
The marketing of Irish food abroad could be improved.

I think people need to accept that urbanisation is a global trend and the best jobs will be in cities and more and more people will live in cities. People in Ireland need to accept that, if they don't want to live in an urban center, commuting a long way to urban centers will be a way of life. People accept this in say New York. You might live in a nice suburban town but you'll have a good job in New York City and commute 60 to 100 miles. People need to stop fecking and blinding that there's no jobs in their little towneen. There won't ever be. But that does not mean it can't be a lovely little town that's a great place to live. Ireland 2040 needs to be about getting the transport to urban centers right.

Quote from: Syferus on February 16, 2018, 04:35:12 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 16, 2018, 04:20:36 PM

How did we go from a third-rate country to one of the tech capitals of the world in about 30 years? It requires a tiny bit of planning to overhaul a country as totally as Ireland has been in the last three decades. The cynicism your post typifies is much more the problem at governmental and social level for failures of plans like this than the populace being ‘laid back’.

We'll see what becomes a reality in 22 years time and if very little is done you can blame my cynicism if that makes you happy.

Quote from: weareros on February 16, 2018, 05:04:25 PM

I think people need to accept that urbanisation is a global trend and the best jobs will be in cities and more and more people will live in cities. People in Ireland need to accept that, if they don't want to live in an urban center, commuting a long way to urban centers will be a way of life. People accept this in say New York. You might live in a nice suburban town but you'll have a good job in New York City and commute 60 to 100 miles. People need to stop fecking and blinding that there's no jobs in their little towneen. There won't ever be. But that does not mean it can't be a lovely little town that's a great place to live. Ireland 2040 needs to be about getting the transport to urban centers right.
I am not sure about that.  Before neoliberalism there was a higher percentage of money in rural areas. There are 2 key things about neoliberalism.
1. Focus on finance
2 No investment in the greater good, no investment in people

FiNance generates "value". It generates jobs. So Dublin and London.
But now finance generates nothing.
In the next system the money will be spread around like it was before neoliberalism.

Quote from: seafoid on February 16, 2018, 06:45:29 PM

I am not sure about that.  Before neoliberalism there was a higher percentage of money in rural areas. There are 2 key things about neoliberalism.
1. Focus on finance

In the next system the money will be spread around like it was before neoliberalism.

Who does the high-paying jobs that are created, again?

Quote from: Syferus on February 16, 2018, 06:54:51 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 16, 2018, 06:45:29 PM

1. Focus on finance

Who does the high-paying jobs that are created, again?
When the money drains away from finance it won't be as important. It is all about how the money is distributed.
Maybe 2 in every 5 euros spent in Connacht are spent in Galway now. That is not a law of nature