Kerry set to dominate Football at all age levels.

Started by TheGreatest, September 20, 2017, 09:07:02 AM

TheGreatest

Kerry set to dominate.

Kerry minors 4 in a row, by a score line like that, what a team and congrats to them.

If you look at Dublin, 1 minor in over 20 years, beaten by this Derry team, beaten by Meath also this year, U-17s beaten by Meath too (or does money only win you things starting at U-21  ;)) but Kerry look like they are a doing the right thing down there, putting the right men in place and putting the right amount of money into the development squads and they are certainly not short of a few bob with a billion Euro company sponsoring them. Looking now to build a centre on excellence, the Kerry fund raisers, especially in the states generate big amounts. I heard a story before that the Kerry U-16 girls team was using GPS trackers, that's serious.

Anybody nervous about this and if, say in 5 or 6 years start to dominate once again, win 3,4, 5 in a decade or 2 or 3 in a row, what then, will their be calls to split them like their regional championship teams. North Kerry Etc. Will their be calls to cut their funding and sponsorship. Will people say football is dead.

I say fair play to them and best of luck.

The 1.3 million people in Dublin and especially the 150,000 males between 18 and 35 will stop Kerry's 135,000 people and their 12,500  male 18 to 35 year olds dominating.

TheGreatest

Quote from: Rossfan on September 20, 2017, 09:45:23 AM
The 1.3 million people in Dublin and especially the 150,000 males between 18 and 35 will stop Kerry's 135,000 people and their 12,500  male 18 to 35 year olds dominating.

Doubtful, it has be proven, across the world since the start of time, population means nothing in sport. Your point is just following the narrative of the agenda.

Next . . . . ..

Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 10:16:23 AM

Doubtful, it has be proven, across the world since the start of time, population means nothing in sport. Your point is just following the narrative of the agenda.

Next . . . . ..

You are dead right that's why the poorest and one of the least populated countries in the World has dominated the Olympics, aka USA.

mup

Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 09:07:02 AM
Kerry set to dominate.

Kerry minors 4 in a row, by a score line like that, what a team and congrats to them.

If you look at Dublin, 1 minor in over 20 years, beaten by this Derry team, beaten by Meath also this year, U-17s beaten by Meath too (or does money only win you things starting at U-21  ;)) but Kerry look like they are a doing the right thing down there, putting the right men in place and putting the right amount of money into the development squads and they are certainly not short of a few bob with a billion Euro company sponsoring them. Looking now to build a centre on excellence, the Kerry fund raisers, especially in the states generate big amounts. I heard a story before that the Kerry U-16 girls team was using GPS trackers, that's serious.

Anybody nervous about this and if, say in 5 or 6 years start to dominate once again, win 3,4, 5 in a decade or 2 or 3 in a row, what then, will their be calls to split them like their regional championship teams. North Kerry Etc. Will their be calls to cut their funding and sponsorship. Will people say football is dead.

What age are you?

TheGreatest

Quote from: mup on September 20, 2017, 10:22:37 AM
Kerry set to dominate.

What age are you?

Its a fair point argument but sounds like its only suits the narrative when its Dublin, all the above is accurate, but nobody is stating it because its not Dublin.

And its why you never hear Kerry talk about Dublin the way others do and others on this site do, as they know this is coming down the line. 

FWIW, I also believe Kerry are miles ahead of the pack in terms of their funding and their investment. That development in Firies/Farranfore is supposed to be top notch. That's why I mentioned Kerry as being similar to Dublin in their financial standing.

I suppose the main difference here is Kerry fundraise their Coaching and Games monies. They got something like 50k from the GAA as opposed to Dublin getting 1.3 million.

TheGreatest

Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 20, 2017, 10:20:32 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 10:16:23 AM

Next . . . . ..

You are dead right that's why the poorest and one of the least populated countries in the World has dominated the Olympics, aka USA.

Olympics has multiple different sports. Poor comparison.

I would look at International football.

TheGreatest

Quote from: Rossfan on September 20, 2017, 11:14:47 AM
Yeah right.
Haiti keep winning World Cups????

Other way around, out of the top 10 most populated countries in the world, 1 of them has won a world cup. Just a small example, im sure there is better comparisons out there.

Anyway, are people worried that Kerry could dominate underage and senior for the foreseeable future?

The Hill is Blue

Kerry set to dominate.

Anybody nervous about this and if, say in 5 or 6 years start to dominate once again, win 3,4, 5 in a decade or 2 or 3 in a row, what then, will their be calls to split them like their regional championship teams. North Kerry Etc. Will their be calls to cut their funding and sponsorship. Will people say football is dead

No one seemed too concerned when Kerry were amassing 37 All Ireland titles.
I remember Dublin City in the Rare Old Times http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T7OaDDR7i8

Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 11:18:23 AM
Yeah right.

Other way around, out of the top 10 most populated countries in the world, 1 of them has won a world cup. Just a small example, im sure there is better comparisons out there.

China and India didn't do soccer much.
After all Antrim is the second biggest population County but haven't done anything in football since around 1910.
For one very good reason.

TheGreatest

Quote from: Rossfan on September 20, 2017, 11:44:10 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on September 20, 2017, 11:18:23 AM
Yeah right.

China and India didn't do soccer much.
After all Antrim is the second biggest population County but haven't done anything in football since around 1910.
For one very good reason.

Can use Antrim as an example, come on.

Soccer is played more in Dublin, it has one of the biggest amateur soccer leagues in Europe, a resource rich competitor in Leinster and vast tracks of areas with no GAA at all.

Next

Why are ye feeding yet another nonsense thread lads? If you don't ignore them they'll keep making them.

Estimator

You cannot point at success at one level and state categorically that it will translate to another. Clearly minor success doesn't always translate to senior success. There are a lot of factors that will come in to play in the next few years. (Study, Travel, Drink etc)
Examples:
Kerry won one AI minor in the 90's (1994) yet picked up numerous senior titles between '97 and '08
Dublin have won one AI minor this century (2012) yet have won 5 of the last 7 Senior titles.
Laois reached three AI final's in a row in the 90's winning in two, all they have to show for it is one solitary Leinster Senior title.
Tyrone won the Al Minor in '04, '08 and '10.  Essentially 3 different teams.  They won Sam in '08, but haven't got to a senior final since.
In Hurling Galway have appeared in 18 AI minor finals, (since 1990) winning 10.  They have one solitary Senior success.
In club football, Glen (Derry) have dominated the underage scene since 2011.  They won 4 Ulster minor club titles in a row. They've won the last 3 U21 Ulster club titles.  They have yet to appear in a Senior county final since their winning streak started.  Slaughtneil on the other hand, last won a county minor title in 2000, but have won the last 3 senior county titles, won two Ulster titles and appeared in 2 All-Ireland club finals!
Underage success is good, but it isn't a barometer for future senior success.
Ulster League Champions 2009