Recent posts

General discussion / Re: GP's & Hospitals - What is...
Last post by thebigfella - Today at 10:37:53 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on Today at 08:54:56 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on Today at 08:39:25 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 08:25:49 PMAre people just more sick? More people and less doctors?

Living longer, as I've said many times is a curse.

Yeah but why are we all so sick

Eating carbs

GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by Armagh18 - Today at 10:37:33 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on Today at 10:34:46 PM
Quote from: thebigfullforward on Today at 04:42:25 PM
Quote from: God14 on April 20, 2024, 10:22:49 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 20, 2024, 08:13:38 PMJust goes to show anyone can beat anyone on the day. Harte is a stubborn f**ker though so I'd put money on Lynch pushing up the next day too! Not many teams have the midfield to dominate Glass!

Derry are a class side, I've no agenda here... But Conor Glass is so overrated it's unreal..another shocker performance, he saves his shockers for when Derry are in a tight spot too
I'd agree with that. Even from what I've seen at club level he's able to take it up a notch in the final 10 minutes but before that it doesn't feel like he's in the game. Seems to be the same at county level as well. Capable of a few big plays during a game but it doesn't feel like he's there consistently for 45/50 minutes

As a famous son of Derry once famously said.. 'youse boys no nothing about football'.
Glass is some operator. Not too often he doesn't have a massive say in games and steps up when the game is in the melting pot.
Last post by Armagh18 - Today at 10:36:06 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on Today at 10:29:02 PMNot any lover of Tyrone, but it's very unfair a team having to play a big semi-final game just 6 days after a tight game. Def needs a 2 week breathing space between quarters and semi, plus a 2 week space to the qualifiers after the final for runners up
Absolutely. Scrap the group shite, 2 championships of 16 with a back door before the quarter finals or maybe just straight knockout be even better. Push the all ireland back to mid august.
Quote from: Tones on Today at 10:20:35 PMNo university course is free now, are you a doctor after a medical course or do you need advice, training and guidance via a paid private sector company or is that provided by say the NHS in the occupied 6?
I'm not sure what you are on about, are you saying doctors have to be public sector workers because the do a medical degree?

How Much Does It Cost To Become A Doctor In The UK? In 2021, it was estimated that the average medical student graduates with between £70,000 - £90,000 student loan debt. This is significantly larger than students in other degrees due to the length of the medical degree, charged at £9,250 per year.
Last post by JoG2 - Today at 10:34:46 PM
Quote from: thebigfullforward on Today at 04:42:25 PM
Quote from: God14 on April 20, 2024, 10:22:49 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 20, 2024, 08:13:38 PMJust goes to show anyone can beat anyone on the day. Harte is a stubborn f**ker though so I'd put money on Lynch pushing up the next day too! Not many teams have the midfield to dominate Glass!

Derry are a class side, I've no agenda here... But Conor Glass is so overrated it's unreal..another shocker performance, he saves his shockers for when Derry are in a tight spot too
I'd agree with that. Even from what I've seen at club level he's able to take it up a notch in the final 10 minutes but before that it doesn't feel like he's in the game. Seems to be the same at county level as well. Capable of a few big plays during a game but it doesn't feel like he's there consistently for 45/50 minutes

As a famous son of Derry once famously said.. 'youse boys no nothing about football'.
Last post by Wildweasel74 - Today at 10:29:02 PM
Not any lover of Tyrone, but it's very unfair a team having to play a big semi-final game just 6 days after a tight game. Def needs a 2 week breathing space between quarters and semi, plus a 2 week space to the qualifiers after the final for runners up
GAA Discussion / Re: Murder of a GAA Chairman
Last post by AustinPowers - Today at 10:27:05 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on Today at 09:11:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 03:00:44 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on Today at 02:19:48 PMI remember at the time it sent chills through the whole  nationalist community. Just listening to Talkback and Trevor Birney talking about and how attacking someone like Sean Brown was a deliberate ploy as he was decent and could not be associated with any paramilitary organisation. It was purely to put fear and Terror through a whole community by striking at its centre.

We had just won the AI and had beaten Bellaghy in the Ulster final before Christmas 1996. There was a crew of us living in Belfast and we had close relationships on and off the field with a lot of the Bellaghy lads. It struck hard. I remember travelling home at the time and we regularly changed out pick up spots etc. Going to matches in Lurgan and that was always a concern as well. How the f**k was that normal? 

Unfortunately we normalised it at the time and adopted

My dad handed me the book The Shankill butchers when it came out

Made me read it before I headed out that weekend, needless to say that put the willies up me for that period of heading out! 

Absolutely horrible book. Really tough. I read the book called committee. Really opened my eyes as a teenager growing up.

Only policeman you trust is a dead one.

Is that the  one by Sean mcPhilemy?
GAA Discussion / Re: Murder of a GAA Chairman
Last post by paddyjohn - Today at 10:25:30 PM
👆 What he said.
Arsenal are now asking questions of City. 5-0 tonight not only got them 3 points it improved their GD. They have 2 more games out of the way. If City draw - Arsenal have it in their own hands.
Derry / Re: Derry Club Football & Hurl...
Last post by Wildweasel74 - Today at 10:23:20 PM
Listen. it was over nothing.Not a bad tackle in the game. Kilrea lad run into McAtammney fairly easy after a ball passed off, little in it, Then he pushes the Kilrea lad, other lad pushes him back, seriously, that how it started, over nothing. Continued across the field, pushing, then grapping, then from what i seen ,there was a few of the grab the Jersey with a light jab to the face a few times, both ways, then the head butt, which split both open.Bad carry on, in a game of not 1 hard tackle, before or after.