Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Maximus Marillius

Well....Mc Gourty has said that he wants to see the rest of the world and that football is not the 'be all' ....and the younger was saying something similair. Taking that into account and the assessing the way they folded against Cavan Gaels makes me think they are more vulnerable than they have been for a while.

milltown row

sure Creagan had that other Ex Derry manager and they are a major force ;)

Paddy Crozier is a great signing for Cargin, whats his Club record like Max?

plenty of football left at Milltown Row.

fair play to Madden but will his venture be  a sucesss? im not so sure

£85 per head per night is pricy enough for a basic package in the current economic climate.

Although this service would take the organisation off the shoulders of the 1/2 men in most clubs who take on such roles usually with little help from the majority

davincicode

Got a look at the new experimental rules last night for the 09 NHL/HFL, jesus its a nightmare! Any opinions on this lads, would,nt fancy being a ref this season. MR whats your opinion on these?

bannside

Gold, Id say £85 quid per head would be money well spent. I can see a lot of progressive clubs (or county teams) making use of all these facilities under one roof. What kind of player wouldnt be prepared to pay for this, or pay some of the costs. If you played golf, or were a skier, or followed a soccer team every week, or even followed your county team around the country, it would cost a helluva lot more.

Id say in the cases of clubs, some clubs might subsidise the costs, leaving the player with a bit less to fork out.

It would depend on the ambition of the club or the individual to better itself. Can see Breakforball being a real hit.

NAG

Not to put a dampner on this venture Bannside but I think most clubs already have contacts that they would use to organise this type of trip. Plus then they would have prefered places to stay and team to play in challenge games. I think that for the sake of a few phone calls most clubs could do this cheaper than the price. Take a normal squad that is working out at roughly 3K. Expensive for a training weekend.

culchie11

85 quid is a bit much to go on a weekends rip!!!   :-\
realistically thats what it is!!!

any club could organise a friendly, go paintballing, etc. themsleves!!
sure its like going on a package holiday, its always going to be cheaper if you book everything yourself!!
just because of who it is thats came up with the idea, i wouldnt be jumping to the front of the que to be going on it!!

any other managerial positions filled in div 1.

whos taking over at creggan?

Most clubs would be able to organise this a lot cheaper than "Break The Ball". Do they offer anything that would not ordinarily be available for clubs? Obviously it is being run as a money making venture but it seems pretty expensive.

Mhic Easmuint

Comment from BFB
"The unique selling point of break for ball is that clubs will not purchase the accomodation any cheaper by booking directly with the hotel. The level or service e.g. High profile coaches, video analysis, access to pitch facilities, access to specialists in areas such as strength and conditioning and nutrition are things that most club teams would have difficulty in organising for their weekend. The media training is an option, but more likely to be availed of by top clubs and county teams. Breakforball established that there is a demand for such a service by surveying over 50 clubs, 95percent of whom indicated they would use the service. The pricing structure was based on the information that clubs relayed on the questionnaires. "

NAG

Im not sure what sort of impact media would have for the ordinary club which would be using this service?
In reality there are only a limited number of counties and the club scene is the biggest market.

milltown row

Quote from: davincicode on December 18, 2008, 07:27:03 AM
Got a look at the new experimental rules last night for the 09 NHL/HFL, jesus its a nightmare! Any opinions on this lads, would,nt fancy being a ref this season. MR whats your opinion on these?

brought this topic up ages ago, think it will be a nightmare, the Monaghan boss pointed out a fatal flaw right away, you put on a dummy to wind someone up (their best player) and both get yellow cards, they replace their best player with a dummy and you bring on your best player.

if a certain team have a free taker who hits 8-10 points per game and he is yellow carded because it was tactical by the other team, then i dont see it as being fair

mattockranger

Hi lads just wondering what you make of the new additions to the antrim squad....especially the johnnies boys
A douglas and mcglinchey

there must be a large player base 14 is a large turnover of new players i know in louth that would be impossible!
and you are like us also some players not involved for external reasons....
will to win is important the will to prepare to win is vital

bannside

Personally speaking I think big Mc Glinch has possibly the best hands in Antrim. Definitely in the squad on merit. Go very close to a place on first 15.

milltown row

Quote from: bannside on December 21, 2008, 11:53:53 AM
Personally speaking I think big Mc Glinch has possibly the best hands in Antrim. Definitely in the squad on merit. Go very close to a place on first 15.

would need to get fit

bannside

Definitely MR. But could create some havoc on the edge of the square!