Stereo/Music Systems

Started by 5 Sams, July 05, 2007, 04:24:47 PM

Right lads and lasses while yiz are all in an advisory mode on technology stuff/Tellys/laptops etc.....

I'm in the market for a stereo......nothing fancy like Ipod docking stations and shit like that but a bog standard system that will play CDs and have a good radio included....sin é

I was half looking at one of those Bose Wave yokes that are advertised in the Sunday supplements...any opinions.

Ta in adavnce

Ta 5ive Times...I knew there was one in Mexico somewhere...can you just drop in and ask to buy one???

For a minute there I thought you were having a one-way conversation with yourself!

An Fear Rua

Ive had a few JVC midi/mini systems over the years, every last one of them has been superb.
Its Grim up North

An Fear Rua

Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 05, 2007, 05:11:44 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on July 05, 2007, 05:05:00 PM
Ive had a few JVC midi/mini systems over the years, every last one of them has been superb.

The likes of Bose or Bang & Olufsen are in a different league.

so is the price unfortunately!
Its Grim up North

My Brother-in-law swears by Marantz systems, which are pricy too, but not in the Bose or B&O range.

hectorsheroes

Check out richer sounds, they  are fantastic at sorting you out. I have just bought a really good system of them, a teac cr-h255. Its about £230 and speakers are extra but they will sort you out with good ones also. The teac system I bought has a dab and also a usb port as well as fm radio. Its a great system with great sound. I spent a very long time 6 months+ looking for one and am delighted with this.

Other ones worth looking at are an Onkyo cs515 (again it has a dab and is a great system) or a Goodmans 1104dab which plays cds comes with speakers and is only about £75 form argos - not very loud though and no fm radio but has dab again. Hope this helps!

PS How much is that Bose wave system? Seen it myself in the Sunday papers

Thanks lads for all the advice....I'll take my time and see what is what...

Hector I think the the Bose Wave Systems are about £5-600stg.....by the way wtf is a DAB?

SammyG

Quote from: 5 Sams on July 06, 2007, 10:55:34 AM
.by the way wtf is a DAB?

Digital Audio Broadcast - means you can tune into digital stations as well as the normal FM/AM.

Cheers Sammy.... you learn something new everyday.