Death Notices

Started by Armagh4SamAgain, April 05, 2007, 03:25:33 PM

Armagh4SamAgain

Dr Conn Murphy the former president of the GAA from Cork has died. May he rest in peace.
'We just go out to play our football and let the critics say what they want. They usually do anyway"

Blacksheep

RIP

Former President Murphy passes away
29 April 2007

The GAA is mourning the death of Cork Gael Con Murphy, who served as President of the Association from 1976 to 1979.

A four time All-Ireland winning hurler with the Rebel County, Con Murphy played on the three in a row winning side of 1942, '43, '44.

He later moved on to become a referee and took charge of the senior final in 1948 and '50.

He then moved into administration and took the reigns of the GAA in 1976 and took great pride in officially opening the 50,000 seater Pairc Ui Chaoimh in his own beloved Cork during his term.

In 1995 he was granted the freedom of Cork.

Con Murphy is the second former GAA President to pass away in a short space of time after Seamus O Riain's death in January.

©2007 Lynn Publications 
Blacksheep - a reckless and unprincipled reprobate!

FFA is dead and rigor mortis has well and truly set in. ;)

Armagh CĂșchulainns

Just like to inform you all of the untimely passing of

'Smoking in Enclosed Public Places' on Monday 30th April
Its all about the Hurling.

Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 08, 2007, 09:53:19 PM
The death has just been announced of Armagh senior football. Although it had been in the doldrums for over 100 years, it showed some signs of life in 2002, but this reader has the pleasure that that team is well and truly dead and buried.

When is Down football going to be exhumed. Would there be anything there at all?

downredblack

Quote from: maddog on July 09, 2007, 12:01:33 PM
The death has just been announced of Armagh senior football. Although it had been in the doldrums for over 100 years, it showed some signs of life in 2002, but this reader has the pleasure that that team is well and truly dead and buried.

When is Down football going to be exhumed. Would there be anything there at all?

I know this is pointless but Fcuk it .

All we have is Tradition , Something you orangies would know very little about , 1 in a row doesn't cut it .We also have a ground that matches our proud history . If you lot would stay out of La Manga and stopped believing your own hype you might have a ground that you could play a championship game in . Although once the bandwagon has finally ground to a halt , Cross will be big enough for ya's .
Dont mean to dance on anyone's grave but the amount of crap we have had to listen to about ancient history and so on I just hope you boys aren't dusting off the DVD in 20 years time wondering whether you will ever do it again . Jesus knows how many we will have by then .
All the best from your good friends and neighbours . ;D

QuoteJesus knows how many we will have by then .
We all know.

Quote from: downredblack on July 09, 2007, 12:46:39 PM
Quote from: maddog on July 09, 2007, 12:01:33 PM

I know this is pointless but Fcuk it .

All we have is Tradition , Something you orangies would know very little about , 1 in a row doesn't cut it .We also have a ground that matches our proud history . If you lot would stay out of La Manga and stopped believing your own hype you might have a ground that you could play a championship game in . Although once the bandwagon has finally ground to a halt , Cross will be big enough for ya's .
Dont mean to dance on anyone's grave but the amount of crap we have had to listen to about ancient history and so on I just hope you boys aren't dusting off the DVD in 20 years time wondering whether you will ever do it again . Jesus knows how many we will have by then .
All the best from your good friends and neighbours . ;D

It's not just Jesus that knows
But fair play to you for being optimistic :D

QuoteAll we have is Tradition

Like Cavan then.

downredblack

Quote from: maddog on July 09, 2007, 01:01:21 PM

Like Cavan then.

You say that like its a bad thing , Jaysus if you boys had half of what Cavan has won you wouldn't be sitting on 1 AI for a start . But sure look we all have to start with 1 . ;D

Quote from: downredblack on July 09, 2007, 01:41:05 PM

Like Cavan then.

You say that like its a bad thing , Jaysus if you boys had half of what Cavan has won you wouldn't be sitting on 1 AI for a start . But sure look we all have to start with 1 . ;D

Indeed, and the way things are for you you will have a sore neck looking over your shoulder for the next 20 years.

man in black

QuoteIndeed, and the way things are for you you will have a sore neck looking over your shoulder

Especially when Tyrone lift their 3rd Sam in September. ;) Its a champagne year amongst the bushes. ;D
'Till things are brighter, I'm the Man In Black

downredblack

Quote from: maddog on July 09, 2007, 02:30:35 PM

Like Cavan then.

Indeed, and the way things are for you you will have a sore neck looking over your shoulder for the next 20 years.

Looking over my shoulder at what ? Sure we are well used to having Armagh behind us  ;) Cant see anything changing there , Can you ?

Quote from: downredblack on July 09, 2007, 02:34:43 PM
Quote from: maddog on July 09, 2007, 02:30:35 PM

Like Cavan then.

Looking over my shoulder at what ? Sure we are well used to having Armagh behind us  ;) Cant see anything changing there , Can you ?

yep, man in black (rather chillingly) could be right. It's heartening though that with the state of Down football all the down lads can do is take a swipe at Armagh. We take it as a compliment you know. ;)