Depression

Started by Eamonnca1, October 25, 2013, 09:11:55 PM

Newbridge Exile

Without a doubt the most educational and enlightening thread I have come across in my time on the board.

Quote from: Hound on November 04, 2013, 03:59:09 PM
My limited experience indicates you need to be lucky to get a good psychologist. Of the two people I know who suffer, one's visits seemed to make no difference, and the other definitely got a lot worse afterwards (maybe they would got even worse without the visits, I dunno)
That's a factor. Another factor maybe, is that one of the people you know is more proactive than the other, with the process.

Fair play Fionntamhnach, tough on most getting their stories out but hopefully beneficial in the long run for yourself and others

Fionntamhnach, you have long been one of the best posters here for being able to articulate and express yourself and that post doesn't disappoint.

It must be very hard to write something like that, but if it is any consolation, it is wonderfully enlightening.

Thanks for that.

Quote from: muppet on November 04, 2013, 10:46:45 PM
Fionntamhnach, you have long been one of the best posters here for being able to articulate and express yourself and that post doesn't disappoint.

It must be very hard to write something like that, but if it is any consolation, it is wonderfully enlightening.

Thanks for that.
+1.

Fair play, F. Best of luck with things.

I agree with you on the SS thing. Those who actually make the proper steps to get themselves on the road to recovery  are punished, whereas those who know the loopholes aren't. In the end, the genuine people are forced off sickness benefits, out into the workplace/dole too soon and their health suffers again because of it. And now, non-health professionals make the decisions to cut benefits, going over the heads of GPs. That is disgusting. The stress alone from such things can be enough to push people over the edge.

Mighty stuff Bummer. I didn't realise. Hope you're keeping well.

Quote from: Newbridge Exile on November 04, 2013, 09:01:41 PM
Without a doubt the most educational and enlightening thread I have come across in my time on the board.

I consider it the great equalizer, refreshing and I applaud Eamonnica and everyone else that has contributed from a depressed state.

This is the best thread ever on this board, it has made lads that are polar opposites appreciate the pain of fellow gaels, that is wonderful in itself.

Eamonn, thank you for starting this thread and I wish you well, forget athiesiem/ Christianity/ Socialism/ Republicianism, this is tough subject matter and I am delighted you started this thred, i would never have had the balls to do so.

Stew.

CD

Quote from: stew on November 05, 2013, 12:16:29 AM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on November 04, 2013, 09:01:41 PM

I consider it the great equalizer, refreshing and I applaud Eamonnica and everyone else that has contributed from a depressed state.

This is the best thread ever on this board, it has made lads that are polar opposites appreciate the pain of fellow gaels, that is wonderful in itself.

I check this thread every morning - almost reassuring and a therapy to me - keep posting lads. Your bravery and honesty is fantastic.
Who's a bit of a moaning Michael tonight!

DennistheMenace

Very englightening thread without doubt. Hope to take some of the advice on board and be more knowledgable and aware of friends, colleagues who are having mental issues/suffering from depression.

With the winter nights upon us I can only imagine this might serve as a trigger for some people suffering from depression. Whilst I don't think it's the taboo subject it once was, i do think there is a general reluctance within Irish peope to talk about their feelings and even more so within the GAA fraternity to not appear 'weak'.

The whole suicide issue is one that confuses/scares me, reminds of Gary Speed and the picture of him with fans a few hours before he done it. It's nearly as if you can see it in his eyes, the trouble, his demons whatever. I'll not be afraid to admit I used to think it was the ultimate selfish act, but not anymore. The general public need educated and i'm glad to see it talked about more openly recently. Personally think it can only help those suffering on their own.

changed my name

Firstly, im sort of ashamed to say i changed my name!! and opened a new account to write on this thread. That probably makes me a total coward but have people who know me on here and would prefer to stay anonyomous if thats ok.

I guess im hoping that writing things down and stuff might help me. I dont even know if im suffering from depression or if im just down in the dumps and need a good kick up the backside. I always would have ups and downs in life, nothing major but times would get a bit fed up for a few days but snap myself out of it quick enough. I generally always would keep the smile on my face and get on with things.

Lately though im getting it tough and i mean very tough. I cant pinpoint anything in particular thats set it off just a number of things. I feel like my life is passing me by and that everyone and everything is moving on and im stuck in a rut. In a relationship that is far far from easy, yet i wont walk away. I find myself intensely jealous of everyone elses lives which i know sounds ridiculous.  I could have lived with them feelings and try to tell myself wise up to frig and catch urself on , be grateful for all you have. That worked for a while.

Its got to the stage now where i feel low as low can be. I dont know what is wrong with me and i ly in bed every single night crying myself to sleep begging god to snap me out of it and make me feel normal again. Im struggling to get out of bed in the mornings to face the day, its getting harder and harder. I just want to ly under a cover all day in the dark and not have to speak to anyone. I want to blank everything out. I see no future and all week just would love to drive my car into a wall and be done with it. I never would though cos i keep imagining the pain id cause my family. This makes me think maybe i dont have depression but am just low.

This post probably sounds ridiculous to u all and most of you are probably thinking wise up and snap out of it and pull yourself together. Believe me im trying. Im trying so hard to keep going but i cannot stop crying. I dread everything coming up.

Reading this back i probably seem like a fool. I have a great family but couldnt even begin to talk to them about this. I wouldnt even say to my friends as they would probably think im being foolish. I just dont have anyone to talk to so thought maybe this might help me.

Im praying to god that i go back to normal and just printed out st judes desperate cases novena that im gonna start praying every day to lift me out of this. Dont know where else to turn.

I know nothing of this stuff but sounds to me like writing that was a good first step. Maybe you should talk to your family and together look for some help and advise. I'm no expert but I know I don't think you sound stupid or ridiculous.

I feel obliged to respond but feel utterly powerless as to how to help or advise - even though i can relate on many of the things you are feeling. There are many good people out there to talk to and i'd ask you to contact one of them.

I'm really hoping that the better informed posters are PMing you with sound advice!

Quote from: changed my name on November 17, 2013, 09:49:49 PM
Firstly, im sort of ashamed to say i changed my name!! and opened a new account to write on this thread. That probably makes me a total coward but have people who know me on here and would prefer to stay anonyomous if thats ok.

I guess im hoping that writing things down and stuff might help me. I dont even know if im suffering from depression or if im just down in the dumps and need a good kick up the backside. I always would have ups and downs in life, nothing major but times would get a bit fed up for a few days but snap myself out of it quick enough. I generally always would keep the smile on my face and get on with things.

Lately though im getting it tough and i mean very tough. I cant pinpoint anything in particular thats set it off just a number of things. I feel like my life is passing me by and that everyone and everything is moving on and im stuck in a rut. In a relationship that is far far from easy, yet i wont walk away. I find myself intensely jealous of everyone elses lives which i know sounds ridiculous.  I could have lived with them feelings and try to tell myself wise up to frig and catch urself on , be grateful for all you have. That worked for a while.

Its got to the stage now where i feel low as low can be. I dont know what is wrong with me and i ly in bed every single night crying myself to sleep begging god to snap me out of it and make me feel normal again. Im struggling to get out of bed in the mornings to face the day, its getting harder and harder. I just want to ly under a cover all day in the dark and not have to speak to anyone. I want to blank everything out. I see no future and all week just would love to drive my car into a wall and be done with it. I never would though cos i keep imagining the pain id cause my family. This makes me think maybe i dont have depression but am just low.

This post probably sounds ridiculous to u all and most of you are probably thinking wise up and snap out of it and pull yourself together. Believe me im trying. Im trying so hard to keep going but i cannot stop crying. I dread everything coming up.

Reading this back i probably seem like a fool. I have a great family but couldnt even begin to talk to them about this.  I just dont have anyone to talk to so thought maybe this might help me.

Im praying to god that i go back to normal and just printed out st judes desperate cases novena that im gonna start praying every day to lift me out of this. Dont know where else to turn.

That bit in bold. Is that the substantive issue? I suspect it is. If so, you have to deal with it - and maybe get councelling to help you sort it out!

There is stuff in your post that suggests that you have an ideal/or others' expectations, that you feel you have to live up to.

'That probably makes me a total coward'
'need a good kick up the backside.'
'but snap myself out of it quick enough.'
'i probably seem like a fool.'

Like a lot of us males you think you have to be the man and get on with it and internalise stuff that's f**king with your head.

Forget about how how people might percieve you. They probably don t notice your inner turmoil, because as you say you get on with things and your friends probably see you as being good craic.

Even if your just thinking of driving the car into a wall then there is a possibility that you might. Writing this is a start but you need to take the next step. Unfortunately I m not a great believer in prayer, but it cant do any harm as long as you seek a pro to help you out. I m suspecting that relationship that you feel you cannot get out of is at the root of your depression.

Go talk to a professional.

Yeah, as said already seek professional help, I'm sure these are all done in confidence so that feeling of 'others' knowing things won't be the case.

Dealing with loved ones on issues of depression can be difficult, I've done it and  found it very difficult to understand their thoughts and feelings, but it was better knowing their fears, at least then you can make that move to sorting some things out and relieve hopefully some of that burden you are feeling.

Great post by the way, I think a lot of posters can relate to some of it, as someone has posted before he believed we all suffer from bouts of depression in our life but it's how we deal with it that makes it different to some people