The IRISH RUGBY thread

Started by Donnellys Hollow, October 27, 2009, 05:26:16 PM

an Ulsterman as captain when his team has been crap for the past few years?
two backs who wouldn't get on the Connacht team
a number 12 who has disimproved since he moved East

oh, and a Wales team who constantly cheat and get away with it - offside, going off feet, blocking catchers for garryowens, holding onto men at rucks. The list is endless

Ireland will still give England their fill next week, no doubts.

Wales v anyone tonight in that stadium was a likely home win.

Owen Brannigan

If Henshaw knew the laws of the game and didn't think the forwards need a big strong lad like himself then the game was won.  Don't know how Rory Best held himself back from kicking him up the backside

Quote from: Owen Brannigan on March 10, 2017, 11:03:14 PM
If Henshaw knew the laws of the game and didn't think the forwards need a big strong lad like himself then the game was won.  Don't know how Rory Best held himself back from kicking him up the backside
further example why Westmeath will never win anything

Only the English soccer media hype up an average team as much as the d4 brigade hype up this team. Perhaps RTÉ should put on a new program to remind us of the vintage performances in Feb/Mar.

Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 10, 2017, 10:43:50 PM
Ireland will still give England their fill next week, no doubts.

Wales v anyone tonight in that stadium was a likely home win.

...except Scotland or England, or any of the big three down south. So just us and the continually useless continentals.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

New documentary . 1 night in March

Capt Pat

Apart from Rory Bests Henshaw assisted effort we never really came close to scoring a try. I still fancy our chances against England as long as Murray is fit.

Both our star half backs had to leave the field due to injuries inflicted on them by the Welsh. Murrays injury when tackling North looked accidental. I'm not so sure about the knee Sexton took to the head, It looked accidental but could have been deliberate.       

Did anyone else think sexton was v poor.

Quote from: Itchy on March 11, 2017, 12:01:07 AM
Only the English soccer media hype up an average team as much as the d4 brigade hype up this team. Perhaps RTÉ should put on a new program to remind us of the vintage performances in Feb/Mar.
But but but they beat a reserve New Zealand team once in a pre season friendly.....

Again with the hyperbole in defeat "we're shite" "Bowe is finished" "Best is finished".

The reality is we are in a group of teams that can all beat each other on a given day. With the lads we have to come in we still have plenty coming through to make a real challenge in 2 years time. Had Henshaw not made that mistake joining the maul we would have won and for such small margins we would have won today and against Scotland.

Having said that we made critical mistakes at the wrong time but I fully expect us to win next week and learn from this going forward. Thankfully we have players and a management team who won't over react like many are doing here!!

Quote from: screenexile on March 11, 2017, 08:15:30 AM
Again with the hyperbole in defeat "we're shite" "Bowe is finished" "Best is finished".

The reality is we are in a group of teams that can all beat each other on a given day. With the lads we have to come in we still have plenty coming through to make a real challenge in 2 years time. Had Henshaw not made that mistake joining the maul we would have won and for such small margins we would have won today and against Scotland.

Having said that we made critical mistakes at the wrong time but I fully expect us to win next week and learn from this going forward. Thankfully we have players and a management team who won't over react like many are doing here!!

Agree completely.

Not being a major rugby head I notice that 3 of the 4 provinces are poorer than they have been in quite a while. Maybe Ireland are doing well to remain so competitive

Wales lost to Scotland and England. Ireland might be on for the reverse triple crown.

Quote from: laoislad on March 11, 2017, 07:32:55 AM
Quote from: Itchy on March 11, 2017, 12:01:07 AM
But but but they beat a reserve New Zealand team once in a pre season friendly.....
Totally agree with the pair of you. And all the sport pages are full 9f rugby this time of year.

Joe sticking the knife in on twitter...

Joe Brolly‏ @JoeBrolly1993  40m40 minutes ago
More
Amidst the wreckage of another 6 Nations, will Ireland's sport psychologist tour the studios accepting BLAME.

ouch..