GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: In hiding on September 15, 2018, 03:21:11 AM

Title: Has Colm Parkinson made himself the most influential voice in GAA ?
Post by: In hiding on September 15, 2018, 03:21:11 AM
Discuss ...
Title: Re: Has Colm Parkinson made himself the most influential voice in GAA ?
Post by: The Subbie on September 15, 2018, 04:06:00 AM
No Colm , go away and create more click bait shite.
Post by: dublin7 on September 15, 2018, 06:49:49 AM
Quote from: In hiding on September 15, 2018, 03:21:11 AM
Discuss ...

In fairness his gaa hour podcast every Monday after the football with cian ward is always good. Ward is a good pundit and I think it's the best gaa podcast out there
Post by: JoG2 on September 15, 2018, 07:20:30 AM
His podcast is excellent imo
Post by: Under Lights on September 15, 2018, 07:22:57 AM
Best podcast going imo.
Post by: square_ball on September 15, 2018, 08:26:47 AM
Great podcast and I enjoy his Twitter as well.
Post by: Jim Bob on September 15, 2018, 08:34:05 AM
Talking of Podcasts. What is a decent Podcast app out there for phones. I have one but it's shite. Full of ads and not user friendly.
Post by: Tubberman on September 15, 2018, 09:18:38 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on September 15, 2018, 08:34:05 AM
Talking of Podcasts. What is a decent Podcast app out there for phones. I have one but it's shite. Full of ads and not user friendly.

SoundCloud.  wooly's is by far the best GAA podcast
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on September 15, 2018, 10:17:14 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on September 15, 2018, 08:34:05 AM

I like Podcast Republic.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on September 15, 2018, 10:25:55 AM
no!
hes a gobshite!
Post by: didlyi on September 15, 2018, 10:28:21 AM
He has a wealth of Knowledge in lots of sports. However his strong opinions on matters are a bit painfull to listen to. He is supposed to be the host of the podcasts.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on September 15, 2018, 10:33:14 AM
Quote from: didlyi on September 15, 2018, 10:28:21 AM
He has a wealth of Knowledge in lots of sports. However his strong opinions on matters are a bit painfull to listen to. He is supposed to be the host of the podcasts.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Not sure if serious!
Post by: trileacman on September 15, 2018, 10:44:13 AM
I heard a thousand times how good Woolys podcast is from you lads on here, opened one a month ago and he was going on about hurling wasn't any better than football. He was shouting and roaring at some hurler about how it's not fair to compare the two etc etc. Such bullshit, Twas like two schoolboys arguing at the back of the bus. The man is a bit of craic but really he's an overgrown teenager.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on September 15, 2018, 10:44:13 AM
I was never over fond of him when he played with Laois, always seemed to be a drama.

It's easy to write him off but is a very good interviewer seems to get people to open up.

His Peter Leahy interview is top class.  I don't always agree with him but to be honest I am not listening to anyone else's podcast so the proof is in the pudding.
Post by: Schkite on September 15, 2018, 10:52:06 AM
His podcast is good alright, but to claim he's the most influential voice is just nonsense. He doesn't take criticism well at all, he can dish it out but can't take it.
Post by: Give and Go on September 15, 2018, 11:26:21 AM
Not a fan by any stretch. Like a lot of these podcast interviewers he comes with so much bias in his views and all of them fawning over current player guests is cringeworthy.... nauseating at times. Yet at other times has thrown up some gems...
Similar to Brolly, chases headlines and soundbites.
Used to listen but have tuned out as regular listener.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 15, 2018, 11:27:40 AM
Quote from: trileacman on September 15, 2018, 10:44:13 AM
I heard a thousand times how good Woolys podcast is from you lads on here, opened one a month ago and he was going on about hurling wasn't any better than football. He was shouting and roaring at some hurler about how it's not fair to compare the two etc etc. Such bullshit, Twas like two schoolboys arguing at the back of the bus. The man is a bit of craic but really he's an overgrown teenager.
Podcast would be better if he wasn't on it, needs to know when to shut up. Overgrown teenager is a good description of him
Post by: Rossfan on September 15, 2018, 01:17:28 PM
To answer the question posed NO!!
Is he even "in the GAA" any more?
Post by: trileacman on September 15, 2018, 01:26:05 PM
That's not even mentioning his spat with clerkin which has childish as fcuk.
Post by: CJ2017 on September 15, 2018, 01:37:40 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i3nFDNfq6Y8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i3nFDNfq6Y8)

I remember watching this game years ago, had to look into the game in question 2003 Leinster semi Dublin vs Laois

If i recall correctly the half time commentators dismissed what Colm said.

That sideline interview really stood out in my memory from the usual, I thought to myself this was different!

Laois went on to win the game!
Post by: tonto1888 on September 15, 2018, 01:46:08 PM
He does an excellent podcast anyway
Post by: Dubhaltach on September 15, 2018, 08:05:51 PM
I enjoy the podcast in general. He talks some shite in relation to administrative issues though, as if the complex fixtures issue could be sorted overnight by Wolly's magic wand. When he sticks to on-field topics, it's probably the best GAA podcast out there
Post by: Beffs on September 15, 2018, 10:09:59 PM
The PL interview was excellent. But calling him the most influential voice in GAA  is ridiculously over the top hyberbole. No single journalist can claim that title. Even if they could, it would be someone from RTE, or one of the other mainstream media outlets & not the mere host of a podcast.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on September 15, 2018, 10:38:10 PM
Ewan mckenna

End of thread
Post by: imtommygunn on September 16, 2018, 12:33:35 AM
Ewan mckenna is a man fighting to make himself relevant and failing miserably. A wannabe paul kimmage.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 17, 2018, 08:36:50 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on September 15, 2018, 10:38:10 PM
Ewan mckenna

End of thread

MacKenna is a contrarian, he'll talk about ethics and morals while writing for the Irish Independent and contributing to Newtalk/TodayFM. As always easier to write about morals than live by them.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 17, 2018, 08:42:38 AM
Why did Parkinson fall out with OTB, I saw him tweeting that they didn't credit him for his interview with the ladies Mayo manager, a bit narcissistic I thought.
Post by: Hound on September 17, 2018, 09:05:54 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 17, 2018, 08:42:38 AM
Why did Parkinson fall out with OTB, I saw him tweeting that they didn't credit him for his interview with the ladies Mayo manager, a bit narcissistic I thought.
Yeah, that'd be interesting to know.

His tweet did leave himself open to the accusation of trying to make the Mayo thing all about him.
But I think he's right. The OTB guys mentioning Leahy's comments but not mentioning who did the interview was (to my mind) clearly a deliberate omission and small minded.
Post by: galwayman on September 17, 2018, 09:10:58 AM
Ewan mckenna

End of thread
McKenna is a grade A arsehole.
His articles are one whinge after another.
Post by: Jinxy on September 17, 2018, 09:35:39 AM

He reckons a couple of the more high-profile people involved with OTB are spoofers (Joe Molloy isn't one of them).
I recall he was sticking the knife into them around the time they lost the radio rights to cover games.
Basically said they were only interested in GAA coverage when it suited them.
Post by: square_ball on September 17, 2018, 09:43:51 AM
Quote from: galwayman on September 17, 2018, 09:10:58 AM
Ewan mckenna

End of thread

He's got his teeth into this Sean Cavanagh incident. He hasn't seen the incident but is calling on the police to press charges. I have heard different accounts on whether it was accidental or deliberate so for McKenna to be calling for charges without seeing footage or being at the match is a bit much of this stage.

Either way he seems to have moved on from the Dubs anyway. Wonder what's next on his list?
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 17, 2018, 09:46:11 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 17, 2018, 09:35:39 AM

He reckons a couple of the more high-profile people involved with OTB are spoofers (Joe Molloy isn't one of them).
I recall he was sticking the knife into them around the time they lost the radio rights to cover games.

Did he think they should have got into a bidding war with RTE, the GAA made their choice and no surprise it was RTE, they control the narrative a lot better with RTE. I like OTB's coverage of GAA they get a lot right but by no means perfect. They must provide at at least 4 hours a week of GAA coverage, what do RTE Radio provide outside live coverage? Or Joe.ie for that matter.

Seems more personal to me, himself and Gilroy probably fell out, no doubt over money rather than creative differences.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 17, 2018, 09:49:01 AM
Quote from: square_ball on September 17, 2018, 09:43:51 AM
Ewan mckenna

End of thread

He's got his teeth into this Sean Cavanagh incident. He hasn't seen the incident but is calling on the police to press charges. I have heard different accounts on whether it was accidental or deliberate so for McKenna to be calling for charges without seeing footage or being at the match is a bit much of this stage.

Either way he seems to have moved on from the Dubs anyway. Wonder what's next on his list?

Rugby, he loves rugby more than Dublin GAA.
Post by: Jinxy on September 17, 2018, 09:54:58 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 17, 2018, 09:46:11 AM

Did he think they should have got into a bidding war with RTE, the GAA made their choice and no surprise it was RTE, they control the narrative a lot better with RTE. I like OTB's coverage of GAA they get a lot right but by no means perfect. They must provide at at least 4 hours a week of GAA coverage, what do RTE Radio provide outside live coverage? Or Joe.ie for that matter.

Seems more personal to me, himself and Gilroy probably fell out, no doubt over money rather than creative differences.

Reckon that's at the heart of it alright.
Post by: square_ball on September 17, 2018, 10:23:40 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 17, 2018, 09:49:01 AM
Quote from: square_ball on September 17, 2018, 09:43:51 AM
Ewan mckenna

End of thread

Rugby, he loves rugby more than Dublin GAA.

Must send him a tweet asking about the rumours of Ireland bidding for the rugby World Cup again.
Post by: rosnarun on September 17, 2018, 03:16:03 PM
still waiting for Parkinson podcast where he doesn't mention the he was a county player and won a minor title.
apart from that his most annoying habit is say 'What I cant understand is'
if you can t under stand it get some one to explain it to you and you might be a little bit more open minded and learn something.
he always listenable though
Post by: heffo on September 18, 2018, 08:54:04 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 17, 2018, 03:16:03 PM
still waiting for Parkinson podcast where he doesn't mention the he was a county player and won a minor title.
apart from that his most annoying habit is say 'What I cant understand is'

"I mean like, I've dropped off panels before..."

Yes Colm we know, you mention it twice per week
Post by: kopite on September 19, 2018, 03:11:34 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 17, 2018, 09:54:58 AM

Reckon that's at the heart of it alright.
And anyone that knows the two of us them so I'd say there's a pair of pricks in it..
Post by: dublin7 on September 19, 2018, 07:38:10 AM

He actually praised newstalk for their has coverage when they had the rights for the matches and has been highly critical of RTE's lazy efforts on radio/tv and the GAA's decision to give it to them exclusively.

Made the point that he was listening a game on a sat when travelling to another when the left the game for a horse race and missed 10 min of the game. Pointed out newstalk wouldn't have done that.
Post by: heffo on September 19, 2018, 08:28:00 AM

Did he think they should have got into a bidding war with RTE, the GAA made their choice and no surprise it was RTE, they control the narrative a lot better with RTE.

Also Newstalk weren't paying their bills to the GAA and had a significant debt built up
Post by: AZOffaly on September 19, 2018, 08:31:26 AM

Ger Gilroy *cough*
Post by: Jinxy on September 19, 2018, 09:02:58 AM
Quote from: heffo on September 19, 2018, 08:28:00 AM

Did he think they should have got into a bidding war with RTE, the GAA made their choice and no surprise it was RTE, they control the narrative a lot better with RTE.

Also Newstalk weren't paying their bills to the GAA and had a significant debt built up

Really?
That's interesting.
Post by: heffo on September 19, 2018, 09:11:41 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 19, 2018, 09:02:58 AM

Really?
That's interesting.

Yes indeedy. Offered airtime in lieu of payment to clear up the balance - airtime doesn't build clubhouses in Offaly though.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 19, 2018, 09:15:01 AM
Quote from: heffo on September 19, 2018, 09:11:41 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 19, 2018, 09:02:58 AM

Really?
That's interesting.

Yes indeedy. Offered airtime in lieu of payment to clear up the balance - airtime doesn't build clubhouses in Offaly though.

That's madness, was this reported in the media? Paints a different picture.
Post by: Jinxy on September 19, 2018, 09:15:58 AM
The GAA got a lot of flak for dropping OTB from the rights package.
Not least from them.
It's a wonder that angle didn't get a more public airing.
Post by: heffo on September 19, 2018, 09:23:25 AM
I'm not sure whether it was reported or raised at the time. I remember Alan Milton going on a few different media shows but can't say whether he mentioned it or not - maybe they felt mentioning it was a low blow or were better off concentrating on the benefits of the Sky deal
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 19, 2018, 09:33:07 AM
Quote from: heffo on September 19, 2018, 09:23:25 AM
I'm not sure whether it was reported or raised at the time. I remember Alan Milton going on a few different media shows but can't say whether he mentioned it or not - maybe they felt mentioning it was a low blow or were better off concentrating on the benefits of the Sky deal

Yea a difficult one to handle, Denis O'Brien doesn't like criticism and you could see him pulling GAA coverage from all Communicorp Radio Stations and INM print media. A sensitive one, yet OTB still play the mealy mouth.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 05, 2019, 02:14:54 AM
Ewan Mckenna is insufferable. A wannabe Paul kimmage.
Post by: Halfquarter on July 05, 2019, 07:56:48 AM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on July 05, 2019, 01:13:04 AM
Discuss ...

Was dome man to take his flute out on night out in his time in tralee.  Rumour has Wally I'd providing all the information for Ewan McKenna for his tweets. 2 lads great publicity the last few weeks on Dublin.

That post is a tough read !
Post by: rosnarun on July 05, 2019, 02:46:27 PM
Quote from: kerryforsam19 on July 05, 2019, 01:13:04 AM
Discuss ...

Was some man to take his flute out on night out in his time in tralee.  Rumour has Wally is providing all the information for Ewan McKenna for his tweets. 2 lads great publicity the last few weeks on Dublin.
they do have very similar views and both love starting a row . should make for a spectacular falling out  .
mind you Woolys is  the only one who really take football seriously and not some contractual obligation that had to be fitting in between hurling rugby soccer and and all those massively popular Women's sports (mind you good luck looking for a proper preview of the weekends Connaught final)