longball

recent reads:
Hard Cash
Harry Potter and the deathly hallows
50 Cent pieces to weight
Robbie Fowler
Mickey Harte Kicking down heavens door

Gonna look for JAck O'Connors next as hear its an excellent read!
Spotted any unladylike behaviour report within:
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13209.0

longball

Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 10, 2007, 02:55:28 PM
What was Mickey Hartes book like?

its ok intersting enough- it doesnt go that in depth just sort of a dairy. i like the way he lines out each of his teams, including errigal, and names scorers etc. he kept good record of them.
Spotted any unladylike behaviour report within:
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13209.0

Drumanee 1

have just read paul mcgrath book and a pretty good read but my favorite book of all time would be killing pablo,fascinating look of the life of pablo escobar the biggest crime lord of all time.

Just started reading Peter Kays autobiography, only 2 chapters in, very funny so far...

QuoteI've been struggling since 'Hotel New Hampshire' myself.

Meant to reply earlier BB - Read the latest Irving one on holliers. Found it hard going but got through it. Didn't really all hang together for me and some of the subject matter a bit uncomfortable- child molestation etc. Also found it hard to sympathise with the main character. 

QuoteJust read 'Damned United' about Brian Clough's ill fated spell at Leeds and also his rise through management - it's an excellent read, part fact and fiction, highly recommended.

I loved this - read it in one sitting.  Highly recommended, for Leeds fans, or for folk who remember the era and the man.  Believeable, if you can strtetch the imagination far enough to picture Johnny Giles as evil incarnate.   :P

Yeah Declan, I've given up on Irving for my Americana fix - have transferred my allegiances to Harlan Coben (light) and John Updike (thinking).

Recently

My wicked wicked ways - the story of Errol Flynn
The road to McCarthy - Pete McCarthy
The triggermen & Bandit Country

Anyone fans of Carl Hiassen or Lee Child?

Hurler on the Bitch

The Road to McCarthy --- Feck me, an awful book! If you are trying not to write a cliched book about Ireland, don'y stick nuns in full habit drinking Guiness on the front!!! My fav book of all time is Filth by Irvine Welsh .. Tapeworms, sex, violence, sectarianism, racism, murder and pornography ... and that's from the cop! Welsh was trying to take the piss out of Ian Rankin's Rebus and suceeds spectacularly...

Im not sure who wrote it, but Round Ireland with a Fridge is a great read. Its been out a while now, should be easy to pick up in paperback.

Just about to finish The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.

Blurb - The Kite Runner tells the story of Amir, a well-to-do Pashtun boy from the Wazir Akbar Khan district of Kabul, who is haunted by the guilt of betraying his childhood friend Hassan, the son of his father's Hazara servants. The story is set against a backdrop of tumultuous events, from the fall of the monarchy in Afghanistan through the Soviet invasion, the mass exodus of refugees to Pakistan and the United States, and the Taliban regime.

Best i've read since Arthur and George.

Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on September 10, 2007, 10:11:47 PM
The Road to McCarthy --- Feck me, an awful book! If you are trying not to write a cliched book about Ireland, don'y stick nuns in full habit drinking Guiness on the front!!! My fav book of all time is Filth by Irvine Welsh .. Tapeworms, sex, violence, sectarianism, racism, murder and pornography ... and that's from the cop! Welsh was trying to take the piss out of Ian Rankin's Rebus and suceeds spectacularly...

I actually enjoy petes writing style. Granted McCarthys bar was much much funnier, this is still worth a read on the can.

McCarthy's Bar - I've read that - it was ok. Met the man himself in my local a few years back.

The name of the local - McCarthy's of course  :D :D

Mack the finger

The road - Cormac McCarthy.

Father and young son in post apocalyptic America.

Short book, short sentences that snap and crackle. Some of it will stay with me a long time.
Long tim since I read a book as good.

The Forfeit Point

Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 10, 2007, 01:46:28 PM
Finished Jack O`Connors book, Keys to the Kingdom recently. Very good book even if he does feel that the whole world is against him. Great insight into some of the players and what they go through.
Also bought "The GAA Book of Lists" which has some interesting facts and figures. Certainly well worth a tenner of anyones money.

i have that aswell by Eoghan Corry, i really enjoyed it especially reading about the competitions that no longer exist such as the World Cup  :D

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 10, 2007, 10:46:49 PM
McCarthy's Bar - I've read that - it was ok. Met the man himself in my local a few years back.

The name of the local - McCarthy's of course  :D :D

Yeah great book,I read another book by him can't think of the name right now..
Unfortunately he died a few years back,he was a great writer